Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 23, 1989
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 496 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
447
Mixed:
33
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
PatC.Jan 10, 2004
It's always o'dark 30 in Gotham. Even the original comics were better lit. Once again Hollywood takes a super hero and renders him into neither.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GlennM.Jul 1, 2005
I cant believe this movie even got decent reviews. It dragged on with a very dense and pointless plot and thats only the start. This had the worst filmed fight sequences ive ever seen. It made me nautious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CraiganU.Jul 28, 2005
I love Batman and I love Tim Burton...and seeing this as an 8th grader, thought it was a groovey breath of fresh comic-adaptation air, but this dark movie has not stood the test of time. It's dark, brooding, and boring with Dark I love Batman and I love Tim Burton...and seeing this as an 8th grader, thought it was a groovey breath of fresh comic-adaptation air, but this dark movie has not stood the test of time. It's dark, brooding, and boring with Dark Knight/Bruce Wayne taking a back seat to a cool Danny Elfman soundtrack and focus on a 1980's futuro-Gotham. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
YoonC.Sep 14, 2003
Heavy handed and cumbersome, about as fun as watching the logistics of modern war operations. Batman is a stiff, rigid, rubbersuited hero and the Batmobile has about as much glamour as a Soviet tank. Nicholson hams it up ugly with zero Heavy handed and cumbersome, about as fun as watching the logistics of modern war operations. Batman is a stiff, rigid, rubbersuited hero and the Batmobile has about as much glamour as a Soviet tank. Nicholson hams it up ugly with zero charm. Burton goes for schlock Wagnerianism about as inspired as Nazi aesethetics. Gothic gigantism with not an inkling of lighthearted fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
scorpius952Jun 5, 2012
I was 15 when I heard they were making a Batman movie. I couldn't wait. I went out and bought all of these Batman comics to prepare myself for this monumental occasion. Then the news starting pouring in. Tim Burton was directing.I was 15 when I heard they were making a Batman movie. I couldn't wait. I went out and bought all of these Batman comics to prepare myself for this monumental occasion. Then the news starting pouring in. Tim Burton was directing. REALLY??? The director of Beetlejuice was directing??? Then came the announcement of Michael (Mr. Mom) Keaton as Batman. WHAT??? Are you **** kidding me? It just got worse from there, but as a kid, I still had to see this for myself. I was there at the first showing with the rest of the poor suckers hoping to see a good superhero movie. Boy were we wrong. Wrong in the worst way. There is no way that someone can do this much stupid by accident! The acting was atrocious, no story, the worst Joker of all time, a rubber Batman costume, a city painted black, and a director that didn't seem to give even one **** about what he was doing and how many people he was hurting. The only way anyone could possibly like this movie is if they are legally retarded, or this is the fist movie that anyone has ever seen! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
papa_miguelJan 22, 2012
What do people see in this movie? I saw it when it came out when I was a little kid and hated it. Now that I'm an adult, I thought that perhaps I didn't have the ability to appreciate whatever it was that people loved about this movie, so IWhat do people see in this movie? I saw it when it came out when I was a little kid and hated it. Now that I'm an adult, I thought that perhaps I didn't have the ability to appreciate whatever it was that people loved about this movie, so I watched it again. And I still hate it, LOL. I don't know where to begin, frankly, because every aspect of this movie, from the completely unfaithful representation of the comic book characters to the cringingly awkward dialogue and perplexing moment to moment decisions to the stiff and contrived flow of action, made this one of the biggest wastes of time I've spent in a while. I just finished watching the scene where Bruce Wayne confronts the joker in Vicki Vale's apartment. Oh yeah, you fanboys know what I'm talking about and every one of you knows when you saw that scene even your reaction was, "And Bruce Wayne did that because....?". That reaction pretty much sums up my sentiments for almost every character in every scene in the entire movie. Don't waste your time with this movie. The new Chris Nolan ones are at least compelling and rational, even if they aren't completely adherent to the comic book themes. Stick with them and may this movie be buried for eternity at the bottom of the $5 DVD bin at your local Walmart! Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
3
Batman97Jun 18, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What the hell is this, this barely has anything to do with the comic first off Batman dosent kill people, second Joker disnt kill Batman's parents that is stupid Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
Cayton32Feb 21, 2014
So I watched this the other night having never seen the original batman movie by Tim Burton. I heard arguments from people that it was better than the Dark Knight Trilogy created by Christopher Nolan. Um....might be one of the worstSo I watched this the other night having never seen the original batman movie by Tim Burton. I heard arguments from people that it was better than the Dark Knight Trilogy created by Christopher Nolan. Um....might be one of the worst incarnations of the Caped Crusader ever made. First off, there is a major problem with michael keaton as batman. This fool was wearing glasses as bruce wayne, had kinda of curly hair and had absolutely no suave of any kind. I was trying to figure out if this guy was supposed to be a grown up peter parker or something instead of bruce wayne. But the bigger problem is Jack Nicholson as the Joker. You friken kidding me? Joker has always bean kinda of lean and skinny. Nicholson had too broad of shoulders to sell as the Joker. Didn't have the voice, didn't have the look, and minimized the craziness of the Joker. And the biggest flaw in the whole movie was that they changed Batmans orgin story of who killed his parents. A common thug kills his parents in the allyway. But not in this movie. Instead it was friken Joker when he was younger. Joker? Bullcrap man. And batman doesn't realize until near the end of the movie. The man who killed my parents was the Joker! Okay Tim Burton. Thanks for killing my fascination with batman. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews