Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 12, 2000
2.0
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 296 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
23
Negative:
231
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
"Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000" has everything messed up. The story is messy and disjointed, (with breath-taking slo-mo action popping up in the wrong time every 5 seconds), the dialogue is cheesy and obvious, as well as for the"Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000" has everything messed up. The story is messy and disjointed, (with breath-taking slo-mo action popping up in the wrong time every 5 seconds), the dialogue is cheesy and obvious, as well as for the movie's choppy editing. It sure did deserve a lot of razzies.... Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
0
cleanwillyFeb 9, 2005
Absolutely one of the worst films I've ever seen. We were laughing so hard in the theatre, I thought we might get kicked out. Travolta's entrance ranks as one of the most unintentionally funny of al time. This is the perfect film Absolutely one of the worst films I've ever seen. We were laughing so hard in the theatre, I thought we might get kicked out. Travolta's entrance ranks as one of the most unintentionally funny of al time. This is the perfect film to air for friends at home, armed with beer, pizza and a roomful of quick wits. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ApocalypseGamerJan 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watch ONLY 3 Minutes of the film. maybe, maybe not. Maybe see how BAD it looks for everyone who likes Sci-Fi film. This is one ofthe WORST movies I've seen. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Midge115Mar 28, 2012
Umm... No. Just don't do this. Ever. It's Passion of the Christ for Scientology. Don't watch this if you don't want to feel like you are clawing your eyes out with sharpened fingernails made of poop. So just avoid this movie at all costs.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
The worst film I have ever seen. The writing is absolutely horrible. The acting is very poor. I mean come on, John Travolta and Barry Pepper can be good actors, they deserve better than this crap! But most of all, the film is just downrightThe worst film I have ever seen. The writing is absolutely horrible. The acting is very poor. I mean come on, John Travolta and Barry Pepper can be good actors, they deserve better than this crap! But most of all, the film is just downright ugly. The characters are ugly and the film-making concepts that they used for this film are awful. I mean, why is every shot at a slant? This film just makes no sense whatsoever. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
cabritaMay 6, 2012
This film has so many wholes you could practically see right through it. The performances are so bad and the director was so lost with how to create an action scene. I see why this film won the worst film of the decade at the razzies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicMar 9, 2012
There are so many reasons why you should avoid Battlefield Earth:

1. Never make a dull and sleazy script from a novel. 2. A film needs more marketing campaigns. 3. Throw it in a landfill in New Mexico. The film is so bad, I will not
There are so many reasons why you should avoid Battlefield Earth:

1. Never make a dull and sleazy script from a novel.
2. A film needs more marketing campaigns.
3. Throw it in a landfill in New Mexico.

The film is so bad, I will not ever rent or buy a bad box office flop again. I think John Travolta needs to learn a couple of lessons from Pulp Fiction because every time when a critic comes to harass you, that's the reason why sci-fi and adventures don't mix. It's still one of the most disgusting movies since Showgirls and The Adventures of Pluto Nash. No sequel, no nothing. Total B.S. "Battlefield Earth" is so bad, I got a good review in a good way.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Ven-WedeJan 30, 2012
Battlefield Earth can be quite accurately summed up by just describing how John Travolta appears - bloated, clumsy, unintelligent, overbearing, uninteresting, ugly, ridiculous, pathetic... The list could go on, though there is a lot more toBattlefield Earth can be quite accurately summed up by just describing how John Travolta appears - bloated, clumsy, unintelligent, overbearing, uninteresting, ugly, ridiculous, pathetic... The list could go on, though there is a lot more to get to. The plot is mostly cliched, contrived nonsense; the characters look stupid, do stupid things and say stupid things; but where Battlefield Earth fails on such an IMMENSE scale is the direction. Seriously, the direction is ABHORRENT - never has a big-budget Hollywood movie been directed so awfully. The camera is almost permanently stuck on an absurd diagonal, making it very hard to concentrate, and also causing borderline motion sickness. On top of that, the colours and the lighting are so ugly that it almost defies you to continue watching. Every scene is either in this dull and lifeless blue, or a bewildering menagerie of green, yellow and purple. It's just baffling how anyone could look at this steaming pile and find it anything but excruciating! In addition to this abomination of direction is a cast of grossly unappealing actors, including the emotional flatline, Barry Pepper; the half-asleep Forest Whitaker; and of course, the ham and cheese deluxe, John Travolta. All the adjectives in the world fail to even touch on the complete depth of hopelessness that Battlefield Earth exudes in all facets of production. Let it be the saga of the year 2000, so that all will know of the first mistake humankind made in the new millennium. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
TheguyoffireMar 28, 2012
This was a terrible movie. One of the worst movies i've ever seen. Almost as bad as alone in the dark.................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
GagaForGhibliJun 4, 2012
Just No..
Never Will Win A Single Damn Thing..
One Of The Worst Movie's I Have Ever Seen
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
dante_finnJun 28, 2014
In my opoinion this is the wprst film of all time. The camera angles are annoying and the fuxking scene transitions with the "wipes" is annoying as hell. John Travolta's character is just really stupid and cheesy. The slow motion is **** TheIn my opoinion this is the wprst film of all time. The camera angles are annoying and the fuxking scene transitions with the "wipes" is annoying as hell. John Travolta's character is just really stupid and cheesy. The slow motion is **** The script is really poor with lots of plot holes and the design is just really bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
GravelordMar 1, 2013
Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000 is possibly the worst movie of all time, it comes complete with and incomprehensible plot, wooden and cheesy acting (the best kind) and some terrible camera angles. Now if you roll all of theseBattlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000 is possibly the worst movie of all time, it comes complete with and incomprehensible plot, wooden and cheesy acting (the best kind) and some terrible camera angles. Now if you roll all of these aspects together into one little deformed ball you will create the greatest disaster to ever hit the big screen. I would recommend this movie only to people who like to torture their own brain for 90 minutes (like me.)

0/10- Train wreck from Hell
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
mpmartinJul 10, 2013
Horrible, and difficult to watch the entire movie. Once was enough. I don't often have a reason to rate anything this low, but this is one of those times. I can't find anything about this movie that has any redeeming qualities and I like JohnHorrible, and difficult to watch the entire movie. Once was enough. I don't often have a reason to rate anything this low, but this is one of those times. I can't find anything about this movie that has any redeeming qualities and I like John Travolta, just not in this movie. I think as a parody of sci-fi it would have been better! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Leo9127Jan 20, 2014
Wow, this movie is bad, first John Travolta's acting is so over the top you will die laughing, the cinematography is the worst ever, almost every shot is leaning for some reason, the special effects are crap, and nothing makes sense. This isWow, this movie is bad, first John Travolta's acting is so over the top you will die laughing, the cinematography is the worst ever, almost every shot is leaning for some reason, the special effects are crap, and nothing makes sense. This is one of the worst movies ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
SNLover44Mar 1, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible same with every body's acting in this movie AWFUL JUST TERRIBLE IT'S WIERD AND STUPID SO IS THE BOOK this movie should be banned from shelves and HBO! The Screen play acting setting and cinematography department of this movie just made a star wars and star trek rip off IT DESERVED AND WON A LOT OF GOLDEN RASBERRYS AND I SHOULDVE AND IT DID

--- SPOILER BELOW ---

At the end someone blows up travolta's planet the bomb that travolta planted then barry pepper locks travolta up in a sell where he is surrounded by more than a million brick of gold than Forrest Whitaker is behind them gives the gun to pepper turns out he switched sides and than travolta is pissed that he changed sides and that the movie sucked terribly
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
WheelzFourReelzDec 29, 2014
These reviews aren't lying. This is one of the worst excuses for a film I've ever seen. Everything, from the acting to the costumes to the special effects to the story to the script to the plot holes to the action to the cinematography to theThese reviews aren't lying. This is one of the worst excuses for a film I've ever seen. Everything, from the acting to the costumes to the special effects to the story to the script to the plot holes to the action to the cinematography to the lighting, just sucks. This is the worst movie I've ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
Ugly, dumb, and predictable, Battlefield Earth has shown what it got to deserve the 0 rating. From John Travolta, this is his worst movie he has ever done so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
Battlefield earth now has another battle to deal with, keeping fans interested as this movie has bad dialogue, story, effects, characters, this is one of those huge messed up movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
SoulmanApr 3, 2007
Well... the film is bad. BUT it is not that bad then I thought after reading all the critics. Or maybe it's only not so bad because it is some sort of fun to see such a bad film. I had a good time!
4 of 5 users found this helpful
0
MichaelF.Aug 7, 2001
The worst movie ever made. But "Innerspace" comes pretty damn close (you can take that out if you want Marc). This movie is the reason I will never even be curious in joining the scientologists. The most piece-of-sh** movie ever made in the The worst movie ever made. But "Innerspace" comes pretty damn close (you can take that out if you want Marc). This movie is the reason I will never even be curious in joining the scientologists. The most piece-of-sh** movie ever made in the history of piece-of-sh** movies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
LeifOct 5, 2013
A bizarre ugly film with bizarre ugly characters. The ridiculousness of the story and the fact we have never seen anything like this weird mash-up of alien finance, blackmail, and uninspired Planet of The Apes derivative keeps it oddlyA bizarre ugly film with bizarre ugly characters. The ridiculousness of the story and the fact we have never seen anything like this weird mash-up of alien finance, blackmail, and uninspired Planet of The Apes derivative keeps it oddly entertaining. Travolta overacts to an obscene amount and stumbles around in a strange but intriguing moon boots and dreadlocks combo and makes the film watchable for his odd performance that certainly doesn't lack in conviction, he wants to do this movie and that adds to it even though it is messy schlock poorly directed by Roger Christian who never met a color filter he didn't like. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MissDraeMar 2, 2014
What the frisk frack paddy wack tittie smack penis whack supercalifragilisticexpialidocious son of a gun **** slap ass **** anal rape tight rope walk is this horse ****
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
georgeNov 4, 2008
After all the brutal reviews I expected BE to be the next Plan 9 on a big budget. Derivative, absolutely - and that's really its worst problem: for all the money and hoopla it looks and sounds like every other sci-fi schlocker, right After all the brutal reviews I expected BE to be the next Plan 9 on a big budget. Derivative, absolutely - and that's really its worst problem: for all the money and hoopla it looks and sounds like every other sci-fi schlocker, right down to the lighting, sound fx, etc; Travolta should never have cast himself in the lead - he's TRAVOLTA, and you can't get past that; at least duds like DUNE tried to create something visually unique. But hey, I've also defended ISHTAR - another movie undeserving of such universal derision; bad? Yep; the WORST? Not even close; if you're looking for TRUE PAIN then test yourself with Roberto B's PINOCCHIO. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
amf32Jul 28, 2014
This film had me rock hard from start to finish. John Travolta has never played a more convincing role; I think he really explored the roots of his own life in this motion picture.

The ending was simply "golden"
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
10
TomC.Mar 28, 2007
This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. Haven't you all suspected? THIS film is how I converted Katie. I assure you, watch this film and your E-Meter will be off the chart. Just pay 400 thousand dollars to the only true religion and 5 bucks to your local secular video store and you too can be a scientologist! Thanks for your time, and Viacom, f.ck off! I'm fine without you! Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.May 21, 2007
Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Just as I am ahead of my times for my ability to speak Chinese, so BattleField Earth is ahead of its time in presenting the inhabitants of Psyclo as non-native English speakers who need to tech their enemy their language before they can communicate with him. That aspect was misunderstood by the uni-lingual American masses. In a world where only 7% of the people speak English as their native language, I find it insulting to see SciFi movies where Romulans and Naboo-ians speak perfect English. The "cultural elite" often praise themselves on watching foreign films with subtitles, yet the same people scoff at the best bilingual scifi movie of all times - BattleField Earth. BattleField Earth gets 2 thumbs up from this critic. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful
9
MikeFeb 5, 2006
I was expecting it to be different having read the book. I thought it was not bad at all , i don't follow critics opinions, especially were sci fi is concerned. a worse piece of crap was hitchikers guide to the galaxy but you don't I was expecting it to be different having read the book. I thought it was not bad at all , i don't follow critics opinions, especially were sci fi is concerned. a worse piece of crap was hitchikers guide to the galaxy but you don't hear nothing about it, or Vin disel's attempt at sci fi. that moovie sucked so much i forgot the name. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
6
DetoxE.Apr 6, 2009
I have watched this movie several times. I enjoyed watching it. The Alien race is very interesting. The whole movie is somewhat different from the normal Hollywood output. May be not better but at least different! So it is not a very good I have watched this movie several times. I enjoyed watching it. The Alien race is very interesting. The whole movie is somewhat different from the normal Hollywood output. May be not better but at least different! So it is not a very good movie but it is worth watching if one likes the genre. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JebH.Jul 5, 2005
Come on guys, this isn't that bad! I thought this movie was a sci-fi treat, begining to end!
0 of 4 users found this helpful
5
TitaniumDragonJul 21, 2009
This movie IS terrible, but it crosses the line from "its awful" to "its so bad its good". It is completely ridiculous, but it is actually quite watchable so long as you laugh at it. There are definitely, definitely worse movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful