User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 221 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 221
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    This film had me rock hard from start to finish. John Travolta has never played a more convincing role; I think he really explored the roots of his own life in this motion picture.

    The ending was simply "golden"
  2. TomC.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. Haven't you all suspected? THIS film is how I converted Katie. I assure you, watch this film and your E-Meter will be off the chart. Just pay 400 This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. Haven't you all suspected? THIS film is how I converted Katie. I assure you, watch this film and your E-Meter will be off the chart. Just pay 400 thousand dollars to the only true religion and 5 bucks to your local secular video store and you too can be a scientologist! Thanks for your time, and Viacom, f.ck off! I'm fine without you! Expand
  3. DavidD.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Just as I am ahead of my times for my ability to speak Chinese, so BattleField Earth is ahead of its time in presenting the inhabitants of Psyclo as Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Just as I am ahead of my times for my ability to speak Chinese, so BattleField Earth is ahead of its time in presenting the inhabitants of Psyclo as non-native English speakers who need to tech their enemy their language before they can communicate with him. That aspect was misunderstood by the uni-lingual American masses. In a world where only 7% of the people speak English as their native language, I find it insulting to see SciFi movies where Romulans and Naboo-ians speak perfect English. The "cultural elite" often praise themselves on watching foreign films with subtitles, yet the same people scoff at the best bilingual scifi movie of all times - BattleField Earth. BattleField Earth gets 2 thumbs up from this critic. Expand
  4. Mike
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    I was expecting it to be different having read the book. I thought it was not bad at all , i don't follow critics opinions, especially were sci fi is concerned. a worse piece of crap was hitchikers guide to the galaxy but you don't hear nothing about it, or Vin disel's attempt at sci fi. that moovie sucked so much i forgot the name.
  5. JebH.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Come on guys, this isn't that bad! I thought this movie was a sci-fi treat, begining to end!
  6. RobS.
    Jun 18, 2001
    10
    This was the greatest film of all time! It really changed my life! Plot twists and non stop action make this movie a must see!
  7. DaleD.
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    A masterpeice, one of the best films ever made.
  8. GilbertMaloneycakes
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    It's fabulous! It's breathtaking! It's completely and utterly appalling! I love it!
  9. VinnyB.
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    Far ahead of its time, "Battlefield Earth" was never recognized for the masterpiece allegory that it is. The aliens in this movie are thinly veiled versions of Scientology proselytizers, and their adventures on planet Earth focus on the misunderstandings that often occur between members of the church and the general public. Travolta's character is an unsubtle archetype of every Far ahead of its time, "Battlefield Earth" was never recognized for the masterpiece allegory that it is. The aliens in this movie are thinly veiled versions of Scientology proselytizers, and their adventures on planet Earth focus on the misunderstandings that often occur between members of the church and the general public. Travolta's character is an unsubtle archetype of every Hubbard-worshiping movie star that has come before him - his natty dreads and over-the-top delivery an uncanny riff on Tom Cruise's performance in "Born on the Fourth of July." His large bulk and space-faring ways can not fail to invoke memories of Kirstie Alley in a far inferior sci-fi flick, "Star Trek II." Indeed, the film makes a case for L. Ron Hubbard as the supreme pop culture Sci-Fi guru of our time, not the overrated Gene Roddenberry. Indeed, "Battlefield Earth" may very well be viewed in the year 3000 much as we look back on near-forgotten masterpieces like "The Inferno" and "King Lear." Watch for Will Smith's brief but hilarious cameo as a Bible salesmen. Other Scientologists making brief cameos include Tom Hanks, Bea Arthur, the kid from "Jerry Maguire," and Fred "The Hammer" Williamson. Expand
  10. FredL.
    May 15, 2005
    9
    A provocative look at human nature's ability to overcome the worst hurdles imangiable. Set in the year 3000, Battlefield Earth is a beautiful piece of art. The writing was genious and I doubt I'll ever see a movie as well acted as this again.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Superbly acted, delving into the outer reaches of a humans survival. Flawless, I cryed in the end.
  12. Mar 13, 2015
    10
    Yes this is very bad film very very bad but i dont know i like it. I like movie setting in other world such as the lord of the rings and star wars. Not for harry potter.
Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 33
  2. Negative: 29 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    53
    It's a lock to pile up the honors during Hollywood's annual awards season next spring (at the Golden Raspberries and the MTV Movie Awards).
  2. 0
    A million monkeys with a million crayons would be hard-pressed in a million years to create anything as cretinous as Battlefield Earth.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    0
    In the pantheon of cinematic train wrecks, from "Ishtar" to "Waterworld," set a place at the table for Battlefield Earth.