Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2012
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 411 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
129
Mixed:
139
Negative:
143
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
iLightningApr 4, 2013
Battleship packs itself with action but still reserves some time for relationships between characters to be explored and for some very funny moments. Liam Neeson's performance is believable and engaging, however, the inclusion of many otherBattleship packs itself with action but still reserves some time for relationships between characters to be explored and for some very funny moments. Liam Neeson's performance is believable and engaging, however, the inclusion of many other characters such as that of Rhianna's just feel unnecessary and forced. The CGI, which probably takes up half the movie, is near-flawless and some of the ideas used in the story are new and stop it becoming as predictable as some might expect. As a whole, the movie cannot be taken seriously and is so cheesy in parts that people may actually have to look away to avoid dying of awkwardness, but for what it is, Battleship is a quality Sci-Fi action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Scaryscores15Aug 30, 2013
what I liked was it had really epic cgi effects and it is good as transformer 1 the movie with there very good cgi effects and what I did not like was where did the alien comes from and abrupt ending its was rushed on and I hope for battleship 2
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheApplegnomeJul 12, 2014
This movie blows my mind of, truly one of the most awesome film's of 2012!

This film got everything from a massive amount of action, great CGI and a touching soundtrack to awesome actors and spectacular science fiction. I totally love the
This movie blows my mind of, truly one of the most awesome film's of 2012!

This film got everything from a massive amount of action, great CGI and a touching soundtrack to awesome actors and spectacular science fiction. I totally love the mix between the navy and alien encounters, so unique and so original. I got to say, the first time I saw this film I was like WOW, how awesome isn't this film, and I know it doesn't got a high rating, but I totally love this movie, it's so damn good. I really enjoyed the special effects, especially the lens flares, and the movie overall got a fantastic story. It's not a 10, because it didn't feel as a 10, and there are some mistakes the director (who I never have heard of before) did, and the ending could have been better.

Battleship is a damn awesome and cool movie, that really deserves a high score.

Battleship gets a 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscJul 22, 2015
Universal pictures adapts Hasbro's board game, so why are they making a board game into a film? The board game has no substance and it's boring, Hasbro makes dumb excuses to make movies, but what their really doing is promoting productUniversal pictures adapts Hasbro's board game, so why are they making a board game into a film? The board game has no substance and it's boring, Hasbro makes dumb excuses to make movies, but what their really doing is promoting product placement into their movies, overall their blockbusters looks like a TV advertisement. The story, by brothers Erich and Jon Hoeber who have written the film Red, a clever aging-assassin, cheap fun action popcorn film, so maybe they can bring a little fun into this game adaptation. The script is beyond empty-headed, the film hits us with cliche's and cheesy dialogue also idiotic humor. The acting is mediocre but their trying, Taylor Kitsch tries to hard as a bad ass instead trying to be a better actor. Director Peter Burg is a better version of Michael Bay, Burg actually has proper storytelling and does not use shaky cam or does not have stereotypical characters, while Bay has no storytelling he just blows stuff up and has hot babes run in slow motion. In Battleship you don't get either of those in the movie. The plot is convoluted mess and trying to have the one story about having a Earth-like planet, but then they send a signal and the aliens respond but then the film rushes to next story which it's a cliche'd love story. "I've a got a bad feeling about this," says Alex Hooper (Taylor Kitsch) when he is a Navy lieutenant who stationed in Oahu, Hawaii, who gets caught up in the alien invasion at sea. He's a screw up who's dating a blonde Samantha (Brooklyn Decker), the daughter of Commander Admiral Shane (Liam Neeson) who hates him. He knows his brother (Alexander Skarsgård) is a way better solider than him. Sam is a physical therapist who stays on lad who helps a double paraplegic Army veteran Mick (played by the real Iraq hero Gregory D. Gadson) to make sure these aliens don't come home. Alex and his marine specialist played by Rihanna try to kill the aliens. It's dumb fun, Battleship meets "Independence Day" and "Transformers" but who cares if Battleship copied off of Transformers, the transformers trilogy were mediocre. The film is pure dumb but it was entertaining, Neeson was good and Kitsch was okay in the film, the effects were good and Burg's action sequences had a nice appreciable touch. Brooklyn Decker was basically Megan Fox in the film poorly written character. Grade B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
I was trying to decide between a 6 or a 7 because the storyline was non-existent. What saved the movie IMO was the special effects and the action within the movie. It had some good actors/actresses in it as well, but overall the movie had noI was trying to decide between a 6 or a 7 because the storyline was non-existent. What saved the movie IMO was the special effects and the action within the movie. It had some good actors/actresses in it as well, but overall the movie had no spark to it. I would recommend watching it, because it's an interesting movie, especially if you like action/military stuff, but other than that it's just another regular movie, nothing spectacular. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ifckedreedusSep 2, 2015
J'ai bien aimé ce film, même si l'histoire n'est pas extraordinaire (on sait déjà comment cela va se finir), on passe tout de même un bon moment en le regardant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 1, 2016
Indeed it was very exciting and enjoyable. It has action, thrill and comedy at the same time.
Watch the movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-23a1c9-Battleship-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 20, 2016
Loved it. Always liked the board game and making a movie out of it just makes me want to play it again.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2335177-Battleship-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Pama300Jan 14, 2017
The nicest touch is that Battleship has an honest-to-God third act, instead of just settling for nonstop fireballs and explosions, as Bay likes to do. I don't want to spoil it for you. Let's say the Greatest Generation still has the rightThe nicest touch is that Battleship has an honest-to-God third act, instead of just settling for nonstop fireballs and explosions, as Bay likes to do. I don't want to spoil it for you. Let's say the Greatest Generation still has the right stuff and leave it at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews