Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2012
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 411 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
129
Mixed:
139
Negative:
143
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CoN_MaN_94_xSep 3, 2012
People who say that this is a bad film need to go to a doctor because it is most defiantly one of the better films of the last 10yrs ! Its just people being negative about everything !
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
BrownSugarCMay 19, 2012
You all ready know the invaders are fake so what's the big deal! I am ex military and loved the variety of war heros. I enjoyed this better than the Avengers. Great, diverse cast and Rhianna was kick butt!
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
10
YoomanJun 5, 2012
I absolutely loved the movie. I go to movies for entertainment. If the movie keeps my attention and excites me, it has done its job. I enjoyed this movie more than I enjoyed Avengers!! Different strokes for different folks.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
SHANKROIDFeb 16, 2013
What a flick Battleships is. They said a movie of a board game could never be done but Battleships proved them wrong. And strictly speaking, you don't really use a board in the game. The game itself is just a heap of guessing and stuff, butWhat a flick Battleships is. They said a movie of a board game could never be done but Battleships proved them wrong. And strictly speaking, you don't really use a board in the game. The game itself is just a heap of guessing and stuff, but the movie ups the game and adds an alien invasion that you really don't see coming. This has Rihanna the pop singer. Bit of a boy's haircut in this but boy can she act. And Liam Neeson. YES, THAT Liam Neeson. From Taken 2. Brilliant A-list stars. And they're not even the main people in it. That's how crazy this movie is. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
10
xSe7ensinSxFeb 19, 2013
If you have never seen this movie, do not listen to these reviews. Battleship was an amazing movie and now one of my favorites. If you are that dumb and you cannot follow the story then just go watch Barney or something and stopIf you have never seen this movie, do not listen to these reviews. Battleship was an amazing movie and now one of my favorites. If you are that dumb and you cannot follow the story then just go watch Barney or something and stop discouraging people from watching good movies. Yes, their is a bunch of scenes in the movie that do not make sense 'IN REAL LIFE' but this is not real life, this is a movie. So if you want to watch an action packed movie about the US Navy destroying an alien invasion with few plot twists but still good ones then watch this movie. Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
9
EludiumQ36Oct 19, 2012
The battle sequences clearly make this movie. The characters/dialogue seem to be there because they have to be, and you can easily see the screw-up-redeems-himself theme from the beginning. But wow, the action sequences were First Rate! ThinkThe battle sequences clearly make this movie. The characters/dialogue seem to be there because they have to be, and you can easily see the screw-up-redeems-himself theme from the beginning. But wow, the action sequences were First Rate! Think Halo Invasion. Very tight with a jump-up and fist-pump-the-air ending sequence. Highly recommended. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
DarianAug 10, 2012
BATTLESHIP is a bit like JJ Abram's STAR TREK and a bit like Michael Bay's TRANSFORMERS, except that it is better than both of those films combined (it's more exciting, the explosions are handled with more finesse, and Brooklyn Decker is 3BATTLESHIP is a bit like JJ Abram's STAR TREK and a bit like Michael Bay's TRANSFORMERS, except that it is better than both of those films combined (it's more exciting, the explosions are handled with more finesse, and Brooklyn Decker is 3 times hotter than Megan Fox.) Only Decker's and Rihanna's stilted acting detracts a little from the overall excellence of the film, which works on so many levels. It is also ingenious how the writers managed to link it to the Hasbro game, and tie everything together nicely. I expected this movie to suck, but it turned out to be one the best films I have ever watched on the big screen. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
MakorovOct 31, 2012
Battleship really has got some stunning special effects and for that i take my hat off to it, but it is based on the battleships board-game,(Jesus what has life come to?) The film was mostly enjoyable but did have its (very) crap moments. GoBattleship really has got some stunning special effects and for that i take my hat off to it, but it is based on the battleships board-game,(Jesus what has life come to?) The film was mostly enjoyable but did have its (very) crap moments. Go out and buy it. Your worth it! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
TheApplegnomeJul 12, 2014
This movie blows my mind of, truly one of the most awesome film's of 2012!

This film got everything from a massive amount of action, great CGI and a touching soundtrack to awesome actors and spectacular science fiction. I totally love the
This movie blows my mind of, truly one of the most awesome film's of 2012!

This film got everything from a massive amount of action, great CGI and a touching soundtrack to awesome actors and spectacular science fiction. I totally love the mix between the navy and alien encounters, so unique and so original. I got to say, the first time I saw this film I was like WOW, how awesome isn't this film, and I know it doesn't got a high rating, but I totally love this movie, it's so damn good. I really enjoyed the special effects, especially the lens flares, and the movie overall got a fantastic story. It's not a 10, because it didn't feel as a 10, and there are some mistakes the director (who I never have heard of before) did, and the ending could have been better.

Battleship is a damn awesome and cool movie, that really deserves a high score.

Battleship gets a 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Daniel2651Feb 10, 2014
If you like action films packed will explosive special effects then Battleship will blow you away. In this film the explosions are even more realistic than the ones in 12 Rounds.
But the film isn't always great, the beginning does lack in
If you like action films packed will explosive special effects then Battleship will blow you away. In this film the explosions are even more realistic than the ones in 12 Rounds.
But the film isn't always great, the beginning does lack in action. And the film also gives the viewer a bit too much information at the beginning. This is bad because it can cause the viewer to become confused and lose interest. Although the beginning makes up for its lack of action by introducing a very funny shop-lifting scene. The lack of action at the beginning also gives the film a chance to introduce the characters and the plot, which is good because this helps the viewer to feel more involved in the film.
The film is about a group scientists who create a device that allows them to communicate with a planet that is similar to ours. But when they do communicate the planet sends five spaceships that are armed with guns and aliens, to our planet. Luckily the ship that is used to communicate crash lands into Hong Kong and is destroyed so now the four remaining ships have to use our device to communicate, with their home planet, which can only send one message per day.
The other four ships land in the middle of the ocean where they are soon met by a group of Navy Destroyer ships.
As I said before, the film does lack in action at the beginning but once the action starts it doesn't stop. The action starts when the Navy Destroyer ships meet the spaceships in the middle of the ocean. In this scene special effects are used to show how advanced the aliens' weapons are. Also in this scene slow-motion effects are used to show how close some of the explosives are to hitting the navy ships.
As well as explosive action scenes this film also has some great fight scenes. I think the best fight scene is when one of the aliens gets on one of the Navy Destroyer ships and in order to stop their ship from sinking the soldiers have to fight the alien. The thing that makes the fight interesting is that the alien is an armoured suit and the soldiers don't have any armour on at all. The scene also keeps the viewer interested with some comedy and an explosive ending.
But this fight scene is nothing compared to my favourite scene which is near the end of the movie, when the remaining soldiers are forced to use a 70 year-old battleship to fight against one of the spaceships. This scene is great because it builds up suspense by showing how advanced the aliens' weapons are and also when the captain of the ship, Alex Hopper (Taylor Kitsch), uses a unique technique to fight against the aliens, which builds up suspense.
I would recommend this film to anyone who like action films with great special effects, comedy and suspense and I would rate this film 9 out of 10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ThermalzombieMay 22, 2015
This was a good movie not sure why critics don't like it. I purchased it on blu-ray and have watched it numerous times. More movies like this should be made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Kj1Aug 22, 2015
On the back reviews I skipped this film at the cinema and only ended up watching it on TV because, despite 100 channels, there was 'nothing else on'. I have to say I really enjoyed it, and that's not just because I had such low expectations.On the back reviews I skipped this film at the cinema and only ended up watching it on TV because, despite 100 channels, there was 'nothing else on'. I have to say I really enjoyed it, and that's not just because I had such low expectations. The CGI is great, but so is the plot, really! Of course, there are holes the size of big black intergalactic ones, but if you can stop asking 'how can that happen' or 'why didn't they do that', and swallow the coke and popcorn like you've never drunk or eaten in a week, then I'm sure you'll enjoy it. It was long but not overlong - I guess if you aren't enjoying a film then 5 minutes is too long - and there were enough 'now we'll have to do this' bits to keep things ticking along nicely. Yep, I loved it, which all goes to show, don't believe everything you read. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 20, 2016
Loved it. Always liked the board game and making a movie out of it just makes me want to play it again.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2335177-Battleship-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
powersackersMay 28, 2012
Enjoyed it after the first 30 minutes were pretty lame. It got good and had a few moments i will remember. My 9 year old boy liked it too. A few scenes leave you shaking your head a bit because its out of place or has consistancy issues. IEnjoyed it after the first 30 minutes were pretty lame. It got good and had a few moments i will remember. My 9 year old boy liked it too. A few scenes leave you shaking your head a bit because its out of place or has consistancy issues. I enjoyed the naval ships and patriotic aspects too. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
i2ichardtAug 5, 2012
I passed over this movie because of the initial criticism of the movie. I recently watched the movie and i found it to be very entertaining. Overall the story was straightforward and you could see where it was going, and that was fine. II passed over this movie because of the initial criticism of the movie. I recently watched the movie and i found it to be very entertaining. Overall the story was straightforward and you could see where it was going, and that was fine. I still enjoyed the ride. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
OxcartApr 7, 2013
This is a film that really surprised me. Given what I'd heard said about it, I put this movie on one day mainly on a whim, kind of that "okay, let's see how bad this movie really is." Truth be told, Battleship is actually a really decent filmThis is a film that really surprised me. Given what I'd heard said about it, I put this movie on one day mainly on a whim, kind of that "okay, let's see how bad this movie really is." Truth be told, Battleship is actually a really decent film for what it seeks to do. I cannot understand how in a market where the Transformers franchise does well that this film was received so poorly. This is a great special effects-driven, action-based military sci-fi film. It's Independence Day at sea. The scriptwriting is certainly no worse than the average summer popcorn film today and is in many ways better. Is this a triumph of "filmmaking art?" Of course not. It's a movie based on a board game that centers around calling out random grid references. There's no plot in the game, so everything had to be created from scratch. And I'll tell you this: they did a good job creating something from nothing. The story is engaging if you let it be, and the characters really do have dimension to them (not much, but some). Taylor Kitsch did an acceptable job as the film's main character, and you can say what you like, but I thought Rhianna did a good job in her role, which is basically about trying to show how difficult it is to be a serving woman in a male military machine. Special effects were top notch (anybody familiar with how difficult small-scale water rendering is will appreciate what they've done here). There are a few clever homages to the game, too, which is unexpected. And humor? Plenty enough to keep it from being a downer and enough to make the film just plain fun. I'm giving it an 8, though, so here are the reasons for deductions. One, this is not a triumph of filmmaking, it's not destined to be a classic. But here's the thing: it NEVER WAS. This film does not pretend to be Battleship Potemkin, it just wants to be Battleship. Two, this film is heavily reliant on special effects and less on character driven plot, sort of the inverse of Independence Day which showed a surprising amount of character development for a special effects movie. Gripe if you must, but Battleship is and only ever was about a pure action film, and it succeeds in that goal. It's about cheering for your team during the alien invasion and watching debris flying all over the place. If you want a don't-need-to-think-about-it, pure fun action fest (and who doesn't from time to time?), then go watch Battleship; that was the mission it was built to complete. A well-earned 8 for a pure action film without pretense: it's just about the action and fun. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 24, 2014
The aliens are coming - this time at sea.

During naval combat games, the underdog and his crew are left stranded within enemy lines, and in order to protect the world they must do the unthinkable and beat an enemy with every trick in a
The aliens are coming - this time at sea.

During naval combat games, the underdog and his crew are left stranded within enemy lines, and in order to protect the world they must do the unthinkable and beat an enemy with every trick in a book - and outside it.

While the story of a troublemaker-turned-hero isn't new, it didn't take too much space from the overall story. I would have hoped to get a little more insight at the other core members of the cast, but the focus was on the action rather than the people (something that made the alien invasion feel like a background element since their motives weren't examined in detail, either). However, at places the lack of detail simply gave way to realism, which I choose to think most of the movie was about: without intel, without knowledge, it's all about operating blindly and trying your luck.

The visuals were awesome, as can be expected. The story was solid and good even when not scratching too deep beneath the surface; it delivered what it had to in order to make this an enjoyable film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
scoleyMay 18, 2012
I was surprised I really enjoyed the film I thought it was going to be a Transformers reject but it ended up being pretty decent plenty of action half decent story may be a little too long but well worth a watch..
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeJun 1, 2012
This movie was really good. No idea why so much hate. Lots of great action. Huge battleships firing all their weapons = sweeeeeet. Sure it may be a little cheesy at times but it really doesn't detract from the overall movie. If you are a fanThis movie was really good. No idea why so much hate. Lots of great action. Huge battleships firing all their weapons = sweeeeeet. Sure it may be a little cheesy at times but it really doesn't detract from the overall movie. If you are a fan of some high quality action with a decent enough story (I liked the story better than the avengers' one) then def see this movie if it is still around. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
XgashhJul 28, 2012
As critic i wouldnt give that much for this movie but... I enjoyed the movie and i dont regret watching it. Some moments were confusing but didnt f*ck up my movie experience.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
heime2003Oct 4, 2012
battle scenes were spectacular and alien battleships looked astoundingly cool. but i wished there were more larger scale of combat scenes which i really enjoyed in the movie.
It was like terran vs protoss struggle in sc2 and alien faces were
battle scenes were spectacular and alien battleships looked astoundingly cool. but i wished there were more larger scale of combat scenes which i really enjoyed in the movie.
It was like terran vs protoss struggle in sc2 and alien faces were very scary! LOL
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15Feb 23, 2013
People give "Cabin in the Woods" a good rating, but hate this? Come on people lol I thought it was a fun movie. They could get rid of some of the bad humor in the beginning, but thankfully they did not stick to them like I thought they would,People give "Cabin in the Woods" a good rating, but hate this? Come on people lol I thought it was a fun movie. They could get rid of some of the bad humor in the beginning, but thankfully they did not stick to them like I thought they would, so the movie was good. Yeah, some things are over the top, but it`s a fun movie full of action!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscJul 22, 2015
Universal pictures adapts Hasbro's board game, so why are they making a board game into a film? The board game has no substance and it's boring, Hasbro makes dumb excuses to make movies, but what their really doing is promoting productUniversal pictures adapts Hasbro's board game, so why are they making a board game into a film? The board game has no substance and it's boring, Hasbro makes dumb excuses to make movies, but what their really doing is promoting product placement into their movies, overall their blockbusters looks like a TV advertisement. The story, by brothers Erich and Jon Hoeber who have written the film Red, a clever aging-assassin, cheap fun action popcorn film, so maybe they can bring a little fun into this game adaptation. The script is beyond empty-headed, the film hits us with cliche's and cheesy dialogue also idiotic humor. The acting is mediocre but their trying, Taylor Kitsch tries to hard as a bad ass instead trying to be a better actor. Director Peter Burg is a better version of Michael Bay, Burg actually has proper storytelling and does not use shaky cam or does not have stereotypical characters, while Bay has no storytelling he just blows stuff up and has hot babes run in slow motion. In Battleship you don't get either of those in the movie. The plot is convoluted mess and trying to have the one story about having a Earth-like planet, but then they send a signal and the aliens respond but then the film rushes to next story which it's a cliche'd love story. "I've a got a bad feeling about this," says Alex Hooper (Taylor Kitsch) when he is a Navy lieutenant who stationed in Oahu, Hawaii, who gets caught up in the alien invasion at sea. He's a screw up who's dating a blonde Samantha (Brooklyn Decker), the daughter of Commander Admiral Shane (Liam Neeson) who hates him. He knows his brother (Alexander Skarsgård) is a way better solider than him. Sam is a physical therapist who stays on lad who helps a double paraplegic Army veteran Mick (played by the real Iraq hero Gregory D. Gadson) to make sure these aliens don't come home. Alex and his marine specialist played by Rihanna try to kill the aliens. It's dumb fun, Battleship meets "Independence Day" and "Transformers" but who cares if Battleship copied off of Transformers, the transformers trilogy were mediocre. The film is pure dumb but it was entertaining, Neeson was good and Kitsch was okay in the film, the effects were good and Burg's action sequences had a nice appreciable touch. Brooklyn Decker was basically Megan Fox in the film poorly written character. Grade B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeMar 6, 2015
This movie offers a great new alternative to the classic board game with aliens.The acting is pretty good even if Liam Neeson and Alexander Skarsgard stole the show.The action sequences are really well made and the graphics are amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
yashdanAug 30, 2015
SO many bad reviews but decent movie overall.
Yes part of the story sucks cos aliens are coming, Pentagon knows but rest of army doesn't and have no idea!
Good effects...
Rihanna = Good singer; bad actor...
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 1, 2016
Indeed it was very exciting and enjoyable. It has action, thrill and comedy at the same time.
Watch the movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-23a1c9-Battleship-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryMay 24, 2012
This movie is based on the Hasbro board game and they actually manage to slip in a bit of the game's design into the plot. However, most of it revolves around an alien invasion that two scrappy groups must scramble to stop. After a slow firstThis movie is based on the Hasbro board game and they actually manage to slip in a bit of the game's design into the plot. However, most of it revolves around an alien invasion that two scrappy groups must scramble to stop. After a slow first third that establishes Taylor Kitsch as a screw-up, it gets down to battling a superior military force. While nothing about the plot or procedures is original, the enemy's technology is impressive and the effects are convincing. There's plenty of cool combat to help distract from the cheesy writing. Overall, the action is solid, but not particularly novel or clever.
NOTE: Stay through the credits for an extended bonus scene.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
pcmwMay 19, 2012
Go in expecting a corny, fun movie with fun explosions, and you'll get a little more. Kitsch is great, and the supporting cast, though with some corny moments, are good as well. When things get corny, the movie is meta about it. Don't expectGo in expecting a corny, fun movie with fun explosions, and you'll get a little more. Kitsch is great, and the supporting cast, though with some corny moments, are good as well. When things get corny, the movie is meta about it. Don't expect it to be any better than the first "Transformers" film (though it is). All these bad reviews are from people expecting something from the film that the film is not, or people taking it too seriously. Enjoy yourself, suspend belief, and have a good time. It's got a little bit of sic-fi, a little bit of humor and a lot of action. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
wishmasterMay 22, 2012
What was the story of the protagonist and the end of the story was boring, unoriginal and spent way too, but the action, the highlight of the movie, that intensity! I was surprised and not disappointed. special effects very good, but smallWhat was the story of the protagonist and the end of the story was boring, unoriginal and spent way too, but the action, the highlight of the movie, that intensity! I was surprised and not disappointed. special effects very good, but small details that failed second and sound respectable and throughout the Transformers saga. perhaps because of diplomatic problems but it bothers me a little films that are so Americanized. but overall good. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
RogerSmith97May 28, 2012
Honestly When I Saw The Preview I Thought "Oh God No"
I Watched The Movie And I Have To Say The Effects Are Amazing!
The Plot Is Ok.. Somwhat Meh.. The Acting Is Pretty Good! Rihanna's Acting Debut Is Amazing! She Is A Great Actress, Cant
Honestly When I Saw The Preview I Thought "Oh God No"
I Watched The Movie And I Have To Say The Effects Are Amazing!
The Plot Is Ok.. Somwhat Meh.. The Acting Is Pretty Good!
Rihanna's Acting Debut Is Amazing! She Is A Great Actress, Cant Wait To See More Of Her In Movies!
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
haze166Jun 17, 2012
Like Transformer, exactly based on game, but what i found while watching it is that the film never made plot and script look great but the humor and visual made it looks okay however when i compared visual with Michael Bay"s Transformer bothLike Transformer, exactly based on game, but what i found while watching it is that the film never made plot and script look great but the humor and visual made it looks okay however when i compared visual with Michael Bay"s Transformer both of them look exactly similar because of its sound and cinematic style.
One same thing is that the visual sound in both Transformer and this film is noisy. Nevertheless this films still good with its action and more fun entertaining :D
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
FullmetalMay 20, 2012
First off, I gave this movie's preview hell. The premise seemed very stupid to me, especially since it was based on one of the first RTS games ever made. I heard alot about this movie being patriotic, so I was okay with at least trying to sitFirst off, I gave this movie's preview hell. The premise seemed very stupid to me, especially since it was based on one of the first RTS games ever made. I heard alot about this movie being patriotic, so I was okay with at least trying to sit through it. Surprisingly, this film caught me off guard. At times the acting was a little off, but the action was entertaining. I want to give props to the real life war veteran who lost his legs, the soldier in the movie named "Nick". He actually did a pretty good job. His performance seemed real. There was clapping in the theater when he stood up to the alien. Also, I think the most badass part of the film was when they got the USS Missouri Battleship into the picture. The old crew that helped get it operational was freakin' awesome. Those old guys were legit. I think overall, the premise was silly, but the delivery was great. I give props to the director, Peter Berg, for including members of the Navy in his picture. It added to the genuine factor. Go see this movie with an open mind, and you just might have a good time. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
7
noco71Aug 9, 2012
Just watched the movie with my kids and surprisingly considering all the negative reviews, had a blast. It is what it is . A well made over the top ridiculous action movie with some very funny moments. It doesnt pretend to be anything elseJust watched the movie with my kids and surprisingly considering all the negative reviews, had a blast. It is what it is . A well made over the top ridiculous action movie with some very funny moments. It doesnt pretend to be anything else unlike a movie such as Prometheus which was pretentious garbage in my opinion. Check brain at door and just go with it. Taylor Kitsch and Rihanna are both very good and the supporting cast is for the most part good too. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
GagaForGhibliMay 31, 2012
Rihanna Saves This Movie From Being A 4!
Thats All I Can Say Rihanna Is Amazing In his Film!
The Scrips Plot=1/10
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
iLightningApr 4, 2013
Battleship packs itself with action but still reserves some time for relationships between characters to be explored and for some very funny moments. Liam Neeson's performance is believable and engaging, however, the inclusion of many otherBattleship packs itself with action but still reserves some time for relationships between characters to be explored and for some very funny moments. Liam Neeson's performance is believable and engaging, however, the inclusion of many other characters such as that of Rhianna's just feel unnecessary and forced. The CGI, which probably takes up half the movie, is near-flawless and some of the ideas used in the story are new and stop it becoming as predictable as some might expect. As a whole, the movie cannot be taken seriously and is so cheesy in parts that people may actually have to look away to avoid dying of awkwardness, but for what it is, Battleship is a quality Sci-Fi action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Scaryscores15Aug 30, 2013
what I liked was it had really epic cgi effects and it is good as transformer 1 the movie with there very good cgi effects and what I did not like was where did the alien comes from and abrupt ending its was rushed on and I hope for battleship 2
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SiAScORCHNov 5, 2014
I was trying to decide between a 6 or a 7 because the storyline was non-existent. What saved the movie IMO was the special effects and the action within the movie. It had some good actors/actresses in it as well, but overall the movie had noI was trying to decide between a 6 or a 7 because the storyline was non-existent. What saved the movie IMO was the special effects and the action within the movie. It had some good actors/actresses in it as well, but overall the movie had no spark to it. I would recommend watching it, because it's an interesting movie, especially if you like action/military stuff, but other than that it's just another regular movie, nothing spectacular. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ifckedreedusSep 2, 2015
J'ai bien aimé ce film, même si l'histoire n'est pas extraordinaire (on sait déjà comment cela va se finir), on passe tout de même un bon moment en le regardant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Pama300Jan 14, 2017
The nicest touch is that Battleship has an honest-to-God third act, instead of just settling for nonstop fireballs and explosions, as Bay likes to do. I don't want to spoil it for you. Let's say the Greatest Generation still has the rightThe nicest touch is that Battleship has an honest-to-God third act, instead of just settling for nonstop fireballs and explosions, as Bay likes to do. I don't want to spoil it for you. Let's say the Greatest Generation still has the right stuff and leave it at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleMay 18, 2012
Like scoley, I'm very surprised at how much fun I had with this film. Definitely too long and packed with corny, flat humor, but again, Taylor K. is a solid lead (really liked him in John Carter) and the supporting cast brings heart andLike scoley, I'm very surprised at how much fun I had with this film. Definitely too long and packed with corny, flat humor, but again, Taylor K. is a solid lead (really liked him in John Carter) and the supporting cast brings heart and spirit to the proceedings. The connection to the old board game (no spoilers) is a little cheesy. And the special effects folks were obviously huge fans of Tall Man and his flying Cuisinarts from the Phantasm films, as those spherical chainsaws are a loving tribute to those 80's horror classics. And, of course, this film is leagues ahead of the Transformers films. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
KidoMay 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, the plot sucks, the acting sucks, the humors childish, the dialogues stupid, yet, the movie is quite satisfying in its own cheesy way. Like eating KFC when you are hungry.
The shots are colorful and expressive. Action scenes will keep you at the edge of your seat. It feels so cool seeing the old-fashion battleship blow up the "space"ship. The girl friend is totally hot.

**** the critics, this movie has made my evening a very enjoyable one.

I'm not a fan of navy or warships, but I'm sure people who dig these stuffs would find this even more entertaining.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroMay 26, 2012
Battleship is more like video game than a movie, I couldn't enjoy any frame as a movie. But for video game, it's really fun and exciting. I really praise the score, really enjoy it. Go see it!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
Movie2talkaboutAug 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a huge fan of action/sci-fi flicks, I was really looking forward to this particular movie. Unfortunately, it did not manage to live up to my expectations. Mega hype over nothing. The story itself wasn't as bad at all, but what did fall short is the casting. For example, you would imagine the character Mick to be this rough and tough, more grungier man, whereas instead he is just a soft spoken guy with a rough exterior. All in all, I would not recommend you to put this on the top of your movie watch list. It can wait. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Sgt_MorfoKillerMay 24, 2012
No es una película que realmente busque cautivar a la audiencia, sencillamente fue hecha para ser taquillera y solo para eso.
Las actuaciones son muy olvidables, a pesar de tener a alguien como Liam Neeson entre los protagonistas,
No es una película que realmente busque cautivar a la audiencia, sencillamente fue hecha para ser taquillera y solo para eso.
Las actuaciones son muy olvidables, a pesar de tener a alguien como Liam Neeson entre los protagonistas, y la "supuesta" novedad que debía ser (supongo) Rihanna que también acabó en ser una actuación cualquiera, ni siquiera me aprendí el nombre de los personajes.

La película no es mala, simplemente no es profunda, y es MUY predecible así como otras películas de "invasión extraterrestre". Es perfecta para una salida al cine con los amigos, solo para eso...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Chaseyo2Jun 12, 2012
It was alright. Entertaining, but very cliche. Mainly all action with little story. In the end it was an entertaining movie, but just entertaining. nothing special
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
iVaughtTVJul 17, 2012
"Battleship" is ultimately a disappointment. Most of the characters are dull, but the main characters are bearable. In the end, the action doesn't drag on too much, and the special effects are visually engaging, but the film doesn't warrant"Battleship" is ultimately a disappointment. Most of the characters are dull, but the main characters are bearable. In the end, the action doesn't drag on too much, and the special effects are visually engaging, but the film doesn't warrant watching it a second time. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
tjacobs38Oct 7, 2012
This was a good movie, based on the board game. Had some good action moments, but still left alot to be desired as far as a plot. The movie idea (based on a ship) made the ability to have action and a plot very limited. Still a decent job wasThis was a good movie, based on the board game. Had some good action moments, but still left alot to be desired as far as a plot. The movie idea (based on a ship) made the ability to have action and a plot very limited. Still a decent job was done with what was available. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GarianAug 8, 2012
The plot did seem a little flimsy, however overall I did enjoy watching the movie, the relationship between the main Japanese character and the main American character was hilarious while still very buddy-like.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
bradtheman123Mar 3, 2013
Stop it. This was a GOOD MOVIE. I have no idea why people are saying its bad. I'll honestly say the action didn't have the best effects but they really worn't too bad. But the plot was a little ''awkward''. But overall an okay movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
WayneThomas412Mar 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What this movie lacked in substance made up for it in heart. How can you not enjoy Veterans coming back to help save this earth from an alien invasion. Not a great movie but certainly not terrible. The comic relief saved this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarkMusicMar 19, 2013
I gave this a 6 because I was entertained. Lets get this out of the way the main thing about this film is finding out what the thing is, they aren't developing characters its just a film about finding out what it is. I tell you some partsI gave this a 6 because I was entertained. Lets get this out of the way the main thing about this film is finding out what the thing is, they aren't developing characters its just a film about finding out what it is. I tell you some parts become boring, but like Sucker Punch when that action kicks in you won't be able to take your eyes away. Rihanna yeah she was good in this. I can say it entertained me more then "Transformers, Revenge of the Fallen. Twilight, Avatar, The Last Airbender, Dont Be Afraid of the Dark, The Hunger Games) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MetalFoXJul 16, 2013
This film reminded me non-stop of Transformers. In fact sometimes I even thought I WAS watching transformers.

When it comes to films action and military are one of my tops, however that's all that was good in this. The visual effects were
This film reminded me non-stop of Transformers. In fact sometimes I even thought I WAS watching transformers.

When it comes to films action and military are one of my tops, however that's all that was good in this. The visual effects were amazing, they also had some great actors, however the story was generic, overly cliche and because of that just a tad boring. However some of the script is great and funny in parts, plus the portrayal of the military in this film was pretty damn good.

Recommend watching as a rental and then decide if you want to buy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BB_CriticJul 23, 2015
Battleship is far from being original. But as dumb action movies go, it's a very fun movie and has some pretty good action sequences and effects. If you liked the Michael Bay Transformers movie, you'll like this one. 6/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZephMay 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Battleship was OK. I mean, it is your prototypical action movie... heaps of mindless action with a bland story to bundle it all together in plastic wrap. If you are the type that will get a kick out of mindless action, then Battleship has you covered. However, if you want more than that, you may want to turn elsewhere. It has enough moments to distinguish itself as its own movie and story, but in the end, the story boils down to an immature character learning maturity the hard way, with a couple of stupid and dull romantic scenes to help the main character show off more of his personality. It is the number one way to cop out of dynamically developing a character on screen. The soundtrack is mostly rock but the soundtrack felt forced into the movie instead of really enhancing it. You could remove most of the music and it wouldn't really influence the quality of the movie. Long story short... go if you love your high octane mindless action movie, but think twice if you want something more than that. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
5
AkkharJul 6, 2012
With those awesome Effects and Director Peters amazing direction Battleship still doesn't work because of its low story and Lame screenplay . Every si-fi movie needs some explication without it its just unworthy . Taylor Kitsch unevenWith those awesome Effects and Director Peters amazing direction Battleship still doesn't work because of its low story and Lame screenplay . Every si-fi movie needs some explication without it its just unworthy . Taylor Kitsch uneven performance as the lead made it so bad . on the other hand Brook did surprisingly well in her 2nd movie . and Skarsgård's role should have more wide. Rihannas acting was better then I expected that coz my exceptions were 0. But still the movie is watchable and Enjoyable but only if anyone put that horrible story out of mind . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
nightblade00Dec 11, 2012
This was absolutely not the worst movie I have ever seen, which was a pleasant surprise. It was actually OK. Not Good mind you, but ok. Acting was flat and the premise was close to retarded, but the scenes flowed smoothly and the dialogThis was absolutely not the worst movie I have ever seen, which was a pleasant surprise. It was actually OK. Not Good mind you, but ok. Acting was flat and the premise was close to retarded, but the scenes flowed smoothly and the dialog (for an alien invasion sci fi pic) wasn't so bad it was laughable (Skyline, Battlefield: LA). I was mildly entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HappymonkJan 29, 2013
Battleship has the prestigious award of the worst film I saw in the cinema of 2012. Battleship is very CGI heavy. which is something you should come to expect from the genre of this film (which I like to call, trying to be Transformers). ButBattleship has the prestigious award of the worst film I saw in the cinema of 2012. Battleship is very CGI heavy. which is something you should come to expect from the genre of this film (which I like to call, trying to be Transformers). But here is something amazing, the film is quite a lot better than the Transformers movies for a couple of reasons: The premise is so ridiculous it almost works and the action sequences are better and less random to watch than the scenes of a similar nature that appear in Transformers. This is about as good as a film based on Battleship could be (especially considering they pulled in Rihanna for her unholy acting talent!). Droll, 50/100. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
dharmaJun 9, 2012
How about spending $200 million for an 'okay' movie? Well, that's what Universal did. By releasing it in the International Market way back in April, the studio managed to salvage a lot of dough to cover what many can consider as the mostHow about spending $200 million for an 'okay' movie? Well, that's what Universal did. By releasing it in the International Market way back in April, the studio managed to salvage a lot of dough to cover what many can consider as the most contrived movie project in recent years. The fact that it's watchable is a great testament to its production team, a semi miracle of sorts. But enough already! Michael Bay is a pretty decent director but stop 'aping' his style. Studios..if you want box office gold, make sure that the film itself has a great script..stop shooting yourself on the foot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
quincytheodoreMay 24, 2012
Seemingly possessed by the spirit of Michael Bay, Battleship, despite being a nautical eye candy, is sunk by terrible dialogues equal to last decade's corny action movie punch lines, patched poorly by shallow plot and loud crank of metal.Seemingly possessed by the spirit of Michael Bay, Battleship, despite being a nautical eye candy, is sunk by terrible dialogues equal to last decade's corny action movie punch lines, patched poorly by shallow plot and loud crank of metal. It's literally a cobbled up pieces from your typical invasion movies, predictable and empty. Inspired by a video game, it's also serves as homage to the navy, which hopefully unintentionally, becomes more ridiculous after each explosion and awful line. This is a 90's B-movie in soul but with top notch CG cosmetic.
The cinematic and explosive scenes are delightful, well created to showcase the action in more coherent way. It looks pristine, clear cut accompanied by vibrant colors. With more focus on naval battle, it uses plenty blazing and watery effect to exaggerate the action. For fans of action movie who simply seek for full blown extravaganza, it's serviceable. However it's not exactly novel, you'll get the strange familiar feeling that you have seen the carnage before. With fiery explosion like Transformers', thrilling alien contact similar to Armageddon's, popular old soundtracks and fan service like Megan Fox's ass, trust me, that déjà vu feeling will come.
Conversation is downright atrocious. With the characters spewing testosterone induced taunts and banters, even Rihanna does it, to the point of being a bit embarrassing to watch. I'm surprised it doesn't use "Hasta la Vista, baby." In that regard, the acting is decent at best. Honestly, it's very superficial and over-the-top, you just embrace the silliness of it all. You can pretty much tell with Taylor Kitsch (John Carter) and Liam Neeson (Zeus) recreating gruff manly role not far from their previous ones.
Alongside that, it carries a staggering amount of plot holes. The invader lacks characters' hostility judgment which gives our main characters plenty of occasions to survive their encounters of odd kind. Despite having nifty arsenals and able to travel through stars, their infantries are not given handgun adequately, thus ensuring dramatic melee fight scene between humans and aliens. Some characters also survive magically from sinking ship and car crash because the script demands it so. But hey, we've got explosion and babe, they look good. If you come for those, you might get some joy from Battleship, just ignore the outrageous premise. 5/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
diehard-gamerAug 31, 2012
I really wanted to like this movie, but I struggled. Fast forward to the action sequences and you'll be OK. The best character scenes come from the big black disabled soldier, his blonde physio and the geek (you'll spot them easy enough) andI really wanted to like this movie, but I struggled. Fast forward to the action sequences and you'll be OK. The best character scenes come from the big black disabled soldier, his blonde physio and the geek (you'll spot them easy enough) and they are worth watching. 8 for the three characters I mentioned and the action scenes, 0 for the rest of the movie. 5 overall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
firstevil87May 21, 2012
What's the first thing on your mind if you imagine Battleship? Aliens? Of course, the whole plot of the movie can be summed by this: someone makes some horrible decision in order to trigger the mandatory action scene. So we have theWhat's the first thing on your mind if you imagine Battleship? Aliens? Of course, the whole plot of the movie can be summed by this: someone makes some horrible decision in order to trigger the mandatory action scene. So we have the government who thinks that would be nice to send "peaceful messages to aliens", the main character who thinks its' better to act like a douche bag instead of, you now, enjoying your high-salary work and your mandatory hot blonde who serves no purpose. Computer graphic was impressive in the early 90's, now everything seems lifeless. Characters are just there to be killed, This movie is fun if you like criticize bad films with your sarcastic friends, otherwise, stay away Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Feb 9, 2013
Battleship has a dreadful start and a lame ending but the middle did a decent job of showing some very good action scenes. The overall movie is just ok but please don't get me started on story and acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SantiagoMAKiiNAJul 7, 2012
Good news! This movie is not bad. Seriously... I went to see this movie particularly because every one in the media said this was beyond awful. The second flop of the summer. So I did the sensible thing and grabbed a couple of friends.Good news! This movie is not bad. Seriously... I went to see this movie particularly because every one in the media said this was beyond awful. The second flop of the summer. So I did the sensible thing and grabbed a couple of friends. Although I had to bribe them with free tickets because they wouldn't volunteer otherwise. I figured if I'm going to attend an airplane crash I'll need witnesses. So I made the investment. And guess what? This movie wasn't bad at all!
My one friend said the movie had nothing to do with the promotional efforts out there. While the other said he loved the action. Personally, I thought it was a simply good popcorn movie.
The issue with this movie falling below expectations might be that disease that has plagued a lot of super expensive Hollywood movies for a decade now. The marketing for the film set the bar so high that it was impossible to find it pleasing. I understand the studio accountants have to justify the expense and push that thing out there hard. But the reason why all three of us enjoyed this movie is exactly the opposite reason: We expected nothing of it... Perhaps this is what Hollywood oughtta take a page from. Let some projects fly a bit more on their own and they fly farther.
As far as the movie's own merits. The acting was a job well done by everyone. The characters were written vacuous enough to fulfill their action movie gig. Not much else was expected from them, and they delivered well. Sometimes acting is best served sushi style. Raw and simple.
The plot was clear from the get go. You know where it's headed and expect to get there as all big Hollywood movies do. Blowing stuff up. And the explosions looked awesome. The special effects were amazing. I was hoping more aliens would show up. Blow up those suckers again!
There were a couple of surprise turns sprinkled here and there just to keep my eyes away from the pop corn but not enough to complicate things. The biggest one being the old crew in the museum boat. Maybe they did take it a bit into the hokey lane with that one. But, let's face it, old folks buy tickets too, and what would be a Hollywood blockbuster without a little camp in it?
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MightyMolassesJun 26, 2012
Expectation: moderate, mostly predictable story revealed in fx heavy trailers

Delivery: As a movie fan, I've developed thick skin towards the typical bad boy turned hero, military propaganda, token Black characters, the hard as nails
Expectation: moderate, mostly predictable story revealed in fx heavy trailers

Delivery: As a movie fan, I've developed thick skin towards the typical bad boy turned hero, military propaganda, token Black characters, the hard as nails woman, and characters who, during action scenes, blurt out catch-phrases like talking stuffed animals, but Battleship has waaaay too many of these infractions to ignore. Its common to have to suspend belief to accept some movie plots, but Battleship asks you to leave some brain cells at home and lock your common sense in the car. Too many coincidences put the characters in position, and the all too familiar "screw up who loves the bosses daughter but has to win the boss over by unlocking his true potential, proving himself to said boss" set up. This crappy setup makes it harder to except the pretty exciting cgi fest that follows. Battleship is worth a matinee or a weekend rental. Lower your expectations, turn off your common sense and Battleship will make for a moderately enjoyable popcorn flick
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mrmonsterNov 5, 2012
About as good as a movie based on a board game can get. It had an okay cast, a slightly interesting but boring story, and a good climax. Honestly I think the critics were a little harsh, but it wasn't the best. Not something you would pay toAbout as good as a movie based on a board game can get. It had an okay cast, a slightly interesting but boring story, and a good climax. Honestly I think the critics were a little harsh, but it wasn't the best. Not something you would pay to see in theaters, but certainly something you could get at a Redbox machine on a boring Friday night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Apemonkey666Aug 16, 2012
I can see why this film wasn't a raving succes: it's just too ridiculous! Why aren't the aliens using energy weapons, they would have won easily? Why do we have to watch retirement folks battle on a museum ship? Why are those aliens so stupidI can see why this film wasn't a raving succes: it's just too ridiculous! Why aren't the aliens using energy weapons, they would have won easily? Why do we have to watch retirement folks battle on a museum ship? Why are those aliens so stupid and pacifistic? Why is Taylor Kitsch such a bad actor who makes bad script lines even worse? As you can tell, not a very good film, though the VFX are pretty good but that's about the only reason why you would want to see this film :) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
Sben69Jul 15, 2012
I was REALLY looking forward to this movie, but Rihanna ruins it. She was a terrible actress (not surprising, considering she's a singer), and her constant ad-libbing ruined the immersion and made me groan. The only reason to go see thisI was REALLY looking forward to this movie, but Rihanna ruins it. She was a terrible actress (not surprising, considering she's a singer), and her constant ad-libbing ruined the immersion and made me groan. The only reason to go see this movie is for some cool-looking effects, and if that's all it takes to entertain you, you are either six years old or Micheal Bay. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
dallstarAug 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a sentence: Hawai looks nice, DDG Arleigh Burke's are very nice, Rihanna looks like a boy and aliens behave like they are winners of Intergalactic Championship of Idiots.
No point in writing about the plot, because others done it already - predictable, stereotype driven and filled with some 'stereotype breaking' ideas like - coward, veteran without legs and a perfect blonde saving the world... oh, that was unexpected!
But then again - who in hell watches this kind of movies in expectation of a thrilling plot? People may have different motivations! I for one watched it because I like steel, guns and blazing technology.
Unfortunately even for me its not completely appealing. Destroyers do looks nice but there is so much stupid things in the movie that it breaks it even for militaristic oriented fans. Let me give you some examples: - Undisciplined dude joins navy... just like that and becomes a Lieutenant... to hell with academy! I will join up too! - Aliens who traverse the Galaxy and come to conquer us with their fancy guided-rotating-razor-sharp whateveritis things use ballistic trajectory type projectiles to shoot at our ships. I guess for them anything that flies faster than 60mph and manoeuvres is a work of Alien Satan! - Navy commander, who is even decorated at the end, looks at a thing size of a two football fields and gives order to open fire with a 127-mm Mk4 (because aliens are stealth and nothing else works) and manages to squeeze in whole 2 shots in about a two minutes (with a gun boasting 16-20 shots per minute). ladies and gentleman - he is a hero! - Aliens at the same time lack brains (or whatever they use for thinking). They send some swirling mumbo jumbo to destroy a highway on Hawai, but they leave a destroyer alone 'because it did not fire at them and changed the course to not a collision one. Damn, if Alien commander was not dead he would probably be fired at the end. - Singe anchor chain is literally yanking 45k ton battleship out of the water... nice chain. Would give it a medal or two. I guess it was highly motivated by the fact that Rihanna would die if it didn't do it.

And those are just the most appalling of the ideas. Do not get me wrong - I still watched the movie and enjoyed the explosions, just do not bet on realism.

Oh and by the way, first 10 min are super funny - remember the Chiken Burrito!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
SnowboardJunkieOct 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word for you, Expectation's! Come on did you really expect that much from Mr. John Carter. It's a Popcorn Movie! You don't care if you can't hear all the dialog amongst the crunch in the room. As long as the bang and the boom are loud, big and often. All that to say the special effects are a slow trot around the bases with high fives to finish. However, as Im sure most would agree, the story was some seriously diluted weak sauce (IF IN NEED OF HELP ON THIS: Envision 1 packet taco bell hot sauce mixed with a gallon of water and you get the picture). In fact they would have been better off just naming it something else to start. This way we just expect some cheesy action flick and start on solid ground. The board game tie into the script with the alien craft jumping to each and every booie marker perfectly was the Kleenex trophy moment. And this is but one moment in the school of fish in a barrel of opportunities to demand your coin be refunded. But, we are back to that word again, Expectations! Peter Berg (director) is more of a stunt/effects coordinator than anything. While Taylor Kitsch and Brooklyn Decker are merely eye candy for whatever the viewing appetite. 10 on the action/effects ZERO on everything else = 5 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 5, 2012
Transformers 3 wishes it could have been like this movie; Transformers sucked, Battleship is actually entertaining. The similarities are ever present, but I had a really fun time with this one! I recommend it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Feb 16, 2014
To be honest, this movie was better than I expected it to be (which isn't saying much.)

The story is almost pointless and serves little purpose other than to be just one cliched plot device after another. But the action and the effects are
To be honest, this movie was better than I expected it to be (which isn't saying much.)

The story is almost pointless and serves little purpose other than to be just one cliched plot device after another. But the action and the effects are really top rate.

Overall:
A pretty much pointless movie, but it is fun to watch.

Side Note:
My hats off for the creators managing to actually tie it to the board game with the movie's version of "Battleships." As brief as it was, I did think that was kinda funny.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Disliker21Jan 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie started out fine but then digressed into a cheesy loud no-brainer film. The story makes little sense and leaves me unsatisfied. Why were the alien ships so poorly armed with all their advanced technology? Why couldn't they track a 60 year old warship properly? Why would an advanced alien ship have such a flawed design (bridge on the front with glass windows). The action was fine, the girl was hot, overall watchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
sammieteeMar 25, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you are looking for some mindless action, Battleship is for you. Yes, the acting and plot sucked but I was mildly entertained the whole time. I thought the way they played up the board game grid was kind of cool and just reminded me of being a kid and playing battleship. The aliens were a little Transformers rip offs but they were still cool to watch. Was this movie fantastic, absolutely not but I have seen worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PimpinpakmanMay 6, 2013
Well they tried making the story good and interesting but maybe they should have just concentrated on the action more rather than trying and failing on story development. Transformer ripoff gone wrong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Jamison12Jun 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was actually surprised by this film. I was expecting a god awful film. I got a very average film though. The pieces are there for Battleship. It has potential. It does need some things to change though (The soccer scene, no main character dying, freaking Rihanna) but overall this is actually a pretty decent film. I'd like to see them take another crack at this film, because with a few changes, this could be a very good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheHonestJackMar 7, 2014
This movie wasnt awful, but it wasnt particularly good either. A dumb plot with lack of actual ship fights holds this movie down until the end where the USS Missouri fights the motherhship. I can usually accept a bad plot and stuff when it'sThis movie wasnt awful, but it wasnt particularly good either. A dumb plot with lack of actual ship fights holds this movie down until the end where the USS Missouri fights the motherhship. I can usually accept a bad plot and stuff when it's supposed to be non stop unrealistic action, and this is no exception. I don't love it, I don't hate it, it's just a generic summer blockbuster; mostly action, with little originality plot wise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
La película empieza de forma normal, después empieza a tornarse a su historia correspondiente, pero luego se pierde de su relato original y se va a un decline desfavorable, aunque cabe mencionar que logra entretener.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ArkonBladeAug 29, 2012
Basically a big a explosion jerkfest which i was expecting but with Liam neason in it who is such a great actor and has been in so many great films. i figured this should be atleast a decent SciFi flick . unfortunitly his role is so very veryBasically a big a explosion jerkfest which i was expecting but with Liam neason in it who is such a great actor and has been in so many great films. i figured this should be atleast a decent SciFi flick . unfortunitly his role is so very very small and even if he had a big role it wouldn't have helped the extremely watered down plot thats pretty dull. The acting is sub par and the pacing at the start is sluggish considering it does such a horrid job establishing any thing outside of horrably trying to have a few funny moments that fall flat on there face . The only fun moments come from the action which even then isn't the greatest but its ok. The CGI does look pretty good . Its a Popcorn flick but unfortunitly not a very good one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerJan 2, 2014
An alien invasion flick based off of the Hasbro game of the same name? Despite how absurd this sounded to me I was hoping that this would manage to be a cheesy good time. Unfortunately I found the movie to be a cheesy bad time. Lame plot, badAn alien invasion flick based off of the Hasbro game of the same name? Despite how absurd this sounded to me I was hoping that this would manage to be a cheesy good time. Unfortunately I found the movie to be a cheesy bad time. Lame plot, bad acting, unlikable characters, and lackluster action plague this movie. I didn't really care about anything that was going on. There were some nice explosions but the whole movie just ends up feeling incredibly generic. The attempts at humor fall short, the special effects are dated, and the characters end up feeling like robots who spout of nonsense one-liners that no human being would ever say. Overall "Battleship" is not worth your time. "Syfy" original movies end up coming across as more intelligent and believable than this one does. Skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
tallanxMay 27, 2012
I have no idea what went through the mind of the studio execs who green-lighted this movie. "Hmm you know that old game Battleship where you launch attacks at each other, let's make a movie out of that". I mean really? really? I feel that theI have no idea what went through the mind of the studio execs who green-lighted this movie. "Hmm you know that old game Battleship where you launch attacks at each other, let's make a movie out of that". I mean really? really? I feel that the actors, director etc all gave it their best shot but when they had nothing to work with in the first place the result is a mess like this movie. They'd probably be able to make a much better movie using Monopoly than Battleship. Heck even "Guess Who?" would probably make a much better movie. Have it be a show about a gameshow or something. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
4
VicAug 5, 2012
Another highly predictable movie with predictable ending! The only thing is good about this movie is special effects. This is that sort of films that you watch and forget, highly unlikely you'd like to watch it again!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
garethvkMay 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
evanrmJun 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it watchable? Yes - sort of. Is the SFX good? It's okay. In reality would the aliens destroy us in order to keep stupid films like this from escaping earth and lowering the IQ quotient of the whole galaxy? Undoubtedly. Overall: It's not even worth paying to hire it on DVD. For some reason Metacritic wouldn't let me write a review even several weeks after the film had premiered in Australia, as the little countdown was still ticking. I assume that the site got paid off to hold back all the negative reviews, cause this film sucked hard. An irresponsible **** joins the Navy and becomes a Lieutenant (no, not Rhianna, I'm talking about Taylor Kitsch), because even morons get to high rank in the Navy without any effort these days. Aliens turn up... and then they do nothing (except when attacked). Huh. Well, it's a different plot, to be sure. There's even 5 minutes of the boardgame-type warfare in the film (which is actually the films strongest part... and then they ditch it). Poor acting, poor script, poor film. 4 out of 10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191May 26, 2012
To be honest, I haven't seen and reviewed movies for quite a while. My dad wanted our whole family to watch something fun and enjoyable for our bonding time, so we watched "Battleship". That alone was the single greatest mistake I have madeTo be honest, I haven't seen and reviewed movies for quite a while. My dad wanted our whole family to watch something fun and enjoyable for our bonding time, so we watched "Battleship". That alone was the single greatest mistake I have made in 2012. Peter Berg's "Battleship" is straight up terrible. The characters are bland with wooden acting, the plot is nonsensical with over-the-top CGI destruction, and most of all the whole concept of the movie was **** Really? I mean, making a movie out of a BOARD GAME? Hollywood just got more retarded in my eyes. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
MegWhiteleyMay 18, 2012
Again, other hasbro game/toy that appear in the big screen, Battleship is a popular board game, popular in much years, and why not do a movie? I belive that Hasbro don't learn with the disasters of G.I. Joe and Transformers. The story isAgain, other hasbro game/toy that appear in the big screen, Battleship is a popular board game, popular in much years, and why not do a movie? I belive that Hasbro don't learn with the disasters of G.I. Joe and Transformers. The story is really good, but have a terrible development, in the only things that you watch are explosions and pretty effects. The performances are terrible, some people of the cast (Liam Neeson) do a good job, but the rest is terrible. Battleship is funny in some moments, but the biggest part of the time is a disaster. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
4
A_NorthernerMar 22, 2013
Let's get straight to it, Battleship is a bad bad film. Taylor Kitsch was greatly mocked for starring in this film and John Carter, two of 2012's lesser acclaimed releases but I don't think he can shoulder too much of the blame here.Let's get straight to it, Battleship is a bad bad film. Taylor Kitsch was greatly mocked for starring in this film and John Carter, two of 2012's lesser acclaimed releases but I don't think he can shoulder too much of the blame here. Battleship's faults lie almost solely at the feet of the writers, Jon and Erich Hoeber.

The script is riddled, absolutely riddled with stinking dialogue and the while obviously a certain amount of disbelief is required to even consider watching a film of Battleship's ilk, the plot has some laughable moments. I don't know which was worse, watching a previously decommissioned battleship being started up by a crew of geriatric veterans in no time at all, seeing said ship perform a handbrake turn at full speed by dropping anchor, the cringe-worthy references to The Art of War or seeing Rihanna try to act. Her speech about her father's alien prophecy is the stuff of nightmares. Thankfully for his sake, Liam Neeson's performance as the isolated Fleet Commander is limited.

I was sceptical of how the film might incorporate anything resembling the Battleship game, but the night battle using educated pot-shots at grid references in the style of the board game actually worked reasonably well. The enemy, or more importantly, its odd passive-aggressive, your turn-our turn behaviour, is conveniently never explained.

I know the film is supposed to be action-led, fun and O.T.T. and visually director Peter Berg does nothing wrong but most of the action is pretty stationary and quite repetitive and there is only so much you can forgive a terrible script. Come back Michael Bay, we forgive you for Transformers!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dheerajiSep 9, 2013
I was, not surprisingly, let down by this movie. Special effects were great, but acting and plot was mediocre at best. $200M for a movie about a board game! For the most part, the movie had nothing to do with the Hasbro game. They were ableI was, not surprisingly, let down by this movie. Special effects were great, but acting and plot was mediocre at best. $200M for a movie about a board game! For the most part, the movie had nothing to do with the Hasbro game. They were able to weave in a few references to the game. Transformers was a much better "Hasbro" movie imo. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
pixel1Jun 8, 2012
Somewhat less painful than I expected. I laughed a couple of times, but probably for not the right reasons. I did enjoy the movie for Rihanna though, I guess.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
EfrainSep 7, 2012
Going into Battleship I expected a cliche movie and putting myself into the mood of mindless stupid loud action and that's exactly what I got. It was entertaining to a certain point. From the scene where Taylor Kitsch and his crew team upGoing into Battleship I expected a cliche movie and putting myself into the mood of mindless stupid loud action and that's exactly what I got. It was entertaining to a certain point. From the scene where Taylor Kitsch and his crew team up with the old "badass" veterans till the end was more entertaining than the rest of the movie. Cheesy? Yes, but watchable for only one time. It wasn't too bad, though it's definitely not a memorable-good-time kind of movie . Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ToniVlaicSep 11, 2012
Some nice visual effects but overall a boring movie with a bad story, especially in the first 30 minutes. I was expecting much more from the trailer I saw before.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
WisemagicianOct 8, 2013
Characters in this movie are portrayed in the following way: they're navy officers in the line of duty. No more, no less; which makes this movie have undeniably good visuals, effects, and sound design, but characters that are so poorlyCharacters in this movie are portrayed in the following way: they're navy officers in the line of duty. No more, no less; which makes this movie have undeniably good visuals, effects, and sound design, but characters that are so poorly developed that they're completely foreign to the audience. This movie also completely neglects the plot that supposedly exists in the movie, so we as the audience are still left completely unknown as to the aliens' intentions. So by completely neglecting the plot and the character development that should be in it, it stops Battleship from being one of the better action movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GuntherUltrabolOct 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just watched this fantastic mess. I always love the premise of a movie that attempts to reconcile what would happen "if". In this case, what would happen if we were visited by a hostile other worldly species with technology far superior than our own. Answer: (spoiler alert) A group of geriatric world war II veterans bring a mothballed battleship out of retirement. The number of holes in the sinking destroyers cannot match the number of holes in this plot. I don't mind suspending disbelief in order to enjoy a movie. But this one will insult your intelligence. Liam Neeson will NOT be putting this one on his resume. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Viper8787Apr 22, 2014
A really boring movie. It was a cool concept but it didn't work for me. I am a big action movie fan and all of the action scenes in this movie I found really boring. They were supposed to keep you entertained with those action scenes as thereA really boring movie. It was a cool concept but it didn't work for me. I am a big action movie fan and all of the action scenes in this movie I found really boring. They were supposed to keep you entertained with those action scenes as there were so many of them but it didn't do its job well. Also there was sub par acting so it is also a bad movie in that sense. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoDec 24, 2015
"Battleship " was adapted into a Hasbro game , but as we deserved to see the film, a disappointment that the part of the game , one step one scene, the extraterrestrial rest and warships or more , to the participation of the Rihanna true , It"Battleship " was adapted into a Hasbro game , but as we deserved to see the film, a disappointment that the part of the game , one step one scene, the extraterrestrial rest and warships or more , to the participation of the Rihanna true , It true was a contempt and a whole s**t Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
This movie makes the board game look completely outdated. There were (correct me if I'm wrong) no aliens in the board game. I try to explain that this movie's trying to be better than the game, but it tried way too hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
StevieGJDMay 31, 2012
This is one of the worst huge budget action movies I have ever seen. I'm giving it a 3 because most of the special effects were impressive and the sound engineering is great. That being said, This movie, other than one really forced battleThis is one of the worst huge budget action movies I have ever seen. I'm giving it a 3 because most of the special effects were impressive and the sound engineering is great. That being said, This movie, other than one really forced battle sequence, has nothing to do with the game of Battleship. Instead of Battle Los Angeles, this is Battle Hawaii. The plot is ludicrous. The writing is terrible and obvious. It is corny and hokey.The acting is not great. It was a major disappointment. Liam Neeson was smart to make sure that his screen time in this stinker stayed to a minimum. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
BikerjamesMay 20, 2012
Are the transformer movies too intellectually stimulating for you? If so, I have found a movie for you! Cornball, cheesy, implausible, loud, and more loud. Aliens with amazing technology and superior intelligence somehow can't communicateAre the transformer movies too intellectually stimulating for you? If so, I have found a movie for you! Cornball, cheesy, implausible, loud, and more loud. Aliens with amazing technology and superior intelligence somehow can't communicate with their home planet without the help of our old school satellite dishes. Yeah, right. I would like to say that Rihanna was a terrible actress, but I'm not sure anyone could give a great performance with the horrible dialogue she was spouting. At one point, after losing over half the fleet and death is all around him, Taylor Kitsch says "I've got a bad feeling about this". Really? You finally have a bad feeling about it? The great Liam Neeson is rarely featured and is simply picking up a paycheck. Why hire a great actor and not use him? He probably read the script and refused to say the cornball dialogue. The special effects are terrific as you would expect from a modern day film made on a computer. There is only one small part of the film that uses the Battleship Game format and it's eye rollingly bad. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
3
MyffubsMay 29, 2012
The film adaptation of Battleship proves to be about as poor as one might imagine. The movie rips off a number of recent flicks -- namely of the alien-invasion-leads-to-mass-destruction variety -- most of which are derivative enough as it is.The film adaptation of Battleship proves to be about as poor as one might imagine. The movie rips off a number of recent flicks -- namely of the alien-invasion-leads-to-mass-destruction variety -- most of which are derivative enough as it is. Thusly viewers get a simultaneously bloated and watered down translation of the popular Hasbro game. One sequence comes close to dramatic line readings of "B3!"/"Hit!" with related visuals, but most of Battleship comes off as an excuse to, say, blow stuff up real good. Of course the movie can barely do this well; the action scenes are so poorly edited that one can barely make sense of the confusion. Bright lights and loud noises bombard the senses. The rest of the movie involves several pasted together subplots featuring a parade of cliches -- such as a rebellious Navy lieutenant seeking the approval of his girlfriend's father while also learning to take command of his men; the aforementioned girlfriend's work with a wounded veteran, who learns how to accept the loss of his legs and respect himself again; the scientist whose work brought on the alien invasion, and his reluctant stabs at bravery. This would all be well and good if these matters were given the thought and time they deserve, but instead, the filmmakers decide to throw aliens at everyone, and their attributes become decorations. Not that one should expect more from a movie based on a board game, but the characters are too poorly defined to care about. Again much of the alien invasion is not well done. The effects are decent but more often than not indiscernible, and some of the designs are simply lazy. A mildly rousing conclusion featuring a historical battleship and WWII vets comes off as too little, too late to save this hulking train wreck. There is a cultural problem with movies like these, ones eager to depict mass destruction without pausing to consider the presumed loss of life. Typically they earn a PG-13 rating, allowing audiences too young for R-rated flicks to bear witness. But how exactly is the younger generation supposed to feel when buildings in Hong Kong are destroyed, especially when the movie flaunts its big explosions and toppling buildings? Those eagerly awaiting the next Transformers sequel or some similarly brain-dead nonevent will likely enjoy this movie. Others should simply steer clear. Battleship is one of those movies no one will really remember in a few years, let alone in a few months. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
ZilcellOct 1, 2012
This is the worst film of 2012. The characters aren't all that interesting in the first place, there is only story in the first 30 minutes. This is basically Battle: L.A. all over again, even if it is slightly better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
mako_psyOct 17, 2012
Simply put: the only way anyone can enjoy this movie is if they leave their brain at home. It's just pure stupidity, with some of the worst acting you'll see in a long time. Don't get me wrong, the movie itself was a good idea, the problem isSimply put: the only way anyone can enjoy this movie is if they leave their brain at home. It's just pure stupidity, with some of the worst acting you'll see in a long time. Don't get me wrong, the movie itself was a good idea, the problem is that it's just so typically Hollywood you literally have to become a vegetable to enjoy it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews