Be Cool

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 123
  2. Negative: 35 out of 123

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. nasc
    May 23, 2009
    10
    amazing movie, ridiculously funny,travolta was class ,keitel was the funniest ive ever seen him,too funny,vince vaghn was fantastic perfect role for him and generally very well made movie,funny and not trying to be serious, just great
  2. Sam
    Oct 15, 2005
    3
    A terrifyingly boring, pathetic, and uncool sequel to the classic Get Shorty. Sure the Rock and Chilly Palmer are cool, and Christina Millian has a good voice and knows how to do the piano, but whenit comes to lirics she just plain sucks.
  3. PatC.
    Jun 30, 2006
    5
    A Tarantino-style knock-off with Travolta in a role of non-stop Jedi mind tricks, and a disinterested performance by Thurman.
  4. evanb.
    Mar 6, 2005
    0
    Don't bother. Poorly written, forced attempts at ironic humor fail - even the characters intended as parodies come off as mildly amusing at best. Several scenes drag on for minutes for no purpose but to show off yet another bland musical cameo.
  5. JeffB
    Mar 27, 2005
    1
    Half way through I wanted to walk out. I would have if there weren't other people waching it with me. Vaughn and the Rock manage a few laughs, but they aren't enough to hold up this 2 hour borefest. Instead of being "cool", they should have been "smart", and sent this one back to the drawing board.
  6. charlesa.
    Mar 3, 2005
    0
    Horrid!
  7. JasonB.
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    So damn funny and entertaining.
  8. mikes.
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    Whew! glad it's over. laughed once or twice, otherwise a terrible bore. Don't waste your time or money.
  9. RyanL.
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Ever get that feeling of anger and disgust in the pit of your stomach because you know there is nothing you can do to retaliate againist an evil force. I harbored this feeling throughout this entire piece of trash. Quite possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life (And I've seen some bad ones.) Please save yourself. STAY AWAY FROM THIS "MOVIE"!! If I knew who the Ever get that feeling of anger and disgust in the pit of your stomach because you know there is nothing you can do to retaliate againist an evil force. I harbored this feeling throughout this entire piece of trash. Quite possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life (And I've seen some bad ones.) Please save yourself. STAY AWAY FROM THIS "MOVIE"!! If I knew who the projectionist was during this movie, I would have beat him up for even allowing this movie to be seen. Expand
  10. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    3
    Be Cool stars John Travolta and Uma Thurman. This is a sequel to Get Shorty (1995), also starring John Travolta (and Rene Russo). In Shorty, there was a battle of wits between Travolta (Chili Palmer) and mobsters concerning the making of a Hollywood movie starring Danny DeVito (Danny makes a cameo appearance in the new flick); everybody tries to outfox each other and Travolta, naturally, Be Cool stars John Travolta and Uma Thurman. This is a sequel to Get Shorty (1995), also starring John Travolta (and Rene Russo). In Shorty, there was a battle of wits between Travolta (Chili Palmer) and mobsters concerning the making of a Hollywood movie starring Danny DeVito (Danny makes a cameo appearance in the new flick); everybody tries to outfox each other and Travolta, naturally, winds up on top; all of this is supposed to be intriguing and funny. Second time around, same theme only now it involves the music industry and the launching the singing career of newcomer Christina Milian (Linda Moon); for good measure, throw in the Russian mafia as one of Travolta's adversaries. Steven Tyler (of Aerosmith fame and father of Liv) and pro wrestler Elliot Wilhelm, aka The Rock, have parts in this movie. There's also a bunch of rap music (not my favorite). If you're a Travolta fan (like my daughter), by all means, go see this movie. I, on the other hand, was not much impressed; I think I may have smiled once during this "comedy". I found it hard to follow, often going off on weird tangents that had no point other than to "be funny" -- haha -- and, actually, a little boring. Obviously, not my cup of tea. I give it a 3. Collapse
  11. harrym.
    Aug 4, 2005
    8
    The best comedy of the year funny clever loved every second of it i would give it a 7 but it had uma thurman the best actor in it.
  12. EricS
    Feb 22, 2007
    1
    The move had no base. The plot was lost and there was poor acting bu actors that i wanted much more from. the movie did have its good moments but all in all it was a poor movie.
  13. JasonB
    Mar 10, 2009
    2
    Quite possibly the worst film I've ever seen.... its excruciating in oarts.
  14. tomm.
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    I booked at the screen when this endless crap ended complete waste of time and my money John Travolta should retire.
  15. SusanM.
    Mar 15, 2005
    3
    What a let down! This movie is just proof that a top-notch cast does not a good film make!! Even the highly-anticipated (by me anyhow) Travolta/Thurman dancing scene was underwhelming. If you are expecting anything like Pulp Fiction or Get Shorty, take my advice and stay home.
  16. EROD
    Mar 21, 2005
    0
    Be aware!!! This movie is a waste of time and money. Do not see it, you will be disappointed.
  17. GregS.
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    Complete train wreck.
  18. ChadS.
    Mar 29, 2005
    4
    After the first screening was over, the filmmaker should've reshot the opening scene, sans self-reflexivity, because "Be Cool" isn't good enough to be flippant about the creative bankruptcy of sequels. If I was Quentin Tarantino, I would never call John Travolta and Harvey Keitel again. Vince Vaughn's character would seem to be a stand-in for the hip-hop culture lovin' After the first screening was over, the filmmaker should've reshot the opening scene, sans self-reflexivity, because "Be Cool" isn't good enough to be flippant about the creative bankruptcy of sequels. If I was Quentin Tarantino, I would never call John Travolta and Harvey Keitel again. Vince Vaughn's character would seem to be a stand-in for the hip-hop culture lovin' director of "Pulp Fiction", a film that was criticized by some quarters for its overuse of the "n" word. When a Russian gangster drops the epithet, Cedric the Entertainer sounds like he's reprimanding Tarantino, and admittedly; "dead _____ storage" is reprehensible when taken out of context. Vaughn's character is very much the fool, and it would seem that Travolta, in particular, is biting the hand that fed him. The dance scene between Travolta and Uma Thurman is so underwhelming, it plays like a self-conscious desecration of the '94 Palm d'or-award winning film because there is no happy evocation. The song by Black Eyed Peas couldn't have been more boring; the anti-thesis of Tarantino's shrewd ear for the right song. Is Aerosmith's participation an apology for not crediting Run DMC back when they were made relevant again by the cultural earthquake that was "Walk This Way"? As you can tell, the subtext of "Be Cool" is much more interesting than the story. Expand
  19. EricW.
    Mar 5, 2005
    4
    'Be Cool' is a lazy, boring rendition of the much more exciting novel. It seemed like the only people involved in the movie who wanted to work on it were Vince Vaughn and The Rock. Which is a shame because both of their performances are great, and the characters were really nailed. John Travolta was unenthusiastic as Chili, and so was the directing. I don't know how in the 'Be Cool' is a lazy, boring rendition of the much more exciting novel. It seemed like the only people involved in the movie who wanted to work on it were Vince Vaughn and The Rock. Which is a shame because both of their performances are great, and the characters were really nailed. John Travolta was unenthusiastic as Chili, and so was the directing. I don't know how in the world director F. Gary Gray landed such a hot story after displaying such garbage as 'A Man Apart' and 'The Italian Job', after this bomb I hope he doesn't get work for a while. This is just another mess like 'The Big Bounce' that is going to make Elmore Leonard - an outstanding writer - look like he has no idea how to write, bring back sonnenfeld, tarantino, and soderbergh please. Hopefully Don Cheadle can save Leonard's career w/ the upcoming 'Tishimingo Blues'. Expand
  20. PhilT.
    Mar 5, 2005
    3
    Be Cool: Most blatant use of product placement ever in the history of cinematography (even more blatant than in xXx, where they used modded Sony Handicams as bazookas). It was amazing to see that everything in this film is linked to Sony/MGM (and probably Universal too): a Playstation2 playing itself in the background, Black Eyed Peas, Aerosmith, and even all those movies Travolta's Be Cool: Most blatant use of product placement ever in the history of cinematography (even more blatant than in xXx, where they used modded Sony Handicams as bazookas). It was amazing to see that everything in this film is linked to Sony/MGM (and probably Universal too): a Playstation2 playing itself in the background, Black Eyed Peas, Aerosmith, and even all those movies Travolta's character mentions. If you liked Ocean's 12 you'll like this movie too as it's pretty much the same formula (actors having too much fun during filming results in crappy movie). This movie sucks. Expand
  21. DavidA.
    Mar 6, 2005
    6
    It's all right. A good way to pass your time but it wasn't very impressive, it had some funny moments.
  22. LawrenceP.
    Mar 6, 2005
    4
    This movie tries too hard. The only saving grace is The Rock, who i thought was funny. Also Uma Thurman is in it, which is really never a bad thing. Get Shorty was cool this is not.
  23. TonyB.
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    Some movies don't go anywhere - this was one of them. Agree completely with Manohla Dargis' comments. I saw it today, and am already having trouble remembering what, exactly, it was about. Too bad - with Travolta, Thurman, and the Rock, it could have been so much better. A little more effort would have helped.
  24. rh
    Apr 5, 2005
    5
    I didn't think the movie deserved a 37..it wasn't that bad...It's a movie I won't see again though. Whose idea was it to make the Rock a gay guy? Hilarious.
  25. AlexM
    May 5, 2005
    2
    This movie, unlike Get Shorty, was far as it could possibly be from the title. Everything about Be Cool was bad and it was completely forced. The only saving grace of the movie was The Rock.
  26. sampsonm.
    Jun 11, 2005
    8
    This movie was hilarious. It's a fun movie that doesn't take itself seriously. Great performances expecially by the Rock.
  27. HenryJo
    Jun 10, 2005
    6
    I give it a six because about a 55% of the movie was good... The Russians were funny. The Dub M Ds were funny. The Rock was funny. Vince Vaughn was funny. Harvey Keitel was funny. Now, what wasn't so good... and rather annoying? Well... Mr. Steven Tyler cant act... thusly ruining the Aerosmith part. Basically any part where the music extended the 1 minute mark was pretty halfassed I give it a six because about a 55% of the movie was good... The Russians were funny. The Dub M Ds were funny. The Rock was funny. Vince Vaughn was funny. Harvey Keitel was funny. Now, what wasn't so good... and rather annoying? Well... Mr. Steven Tyler cant act... thusly ruining the Aerosmith part. Basically any part where the music extended the 1 minute mark was pretty halfassed and annoying (yes Christina Milian, the piano thing sucked). Also, the romance between Travolta and Thurman was NOT there. Well, there you go. Not as bad as some people would have you believe and really worth a rental. I just hope you didnt go to the theater. Expand
  28. TonyB
    Aug 1, 2005
    5
    Be Cool is overplotted and a bit messy, but I liked it much more than most of the critics, professional and otherwise, did. It's major fault is that virtually everybody in it overshadows John Travolta, who, as usual, plays himself.
  29. KarlRavagegerd
    Sep 24, 2006
    1
    I threw up in my mouth...and then I threw up again.
  30. JohnL.
    Mar 11, 2005
    1
    A diefinite walkout! Which we did. Even the dance scene was lousy! Absolutely terrible. The the gratitious use of violence was sickening - "not now, but later you can kill......". John Travolta is slipping badly again. What a waste of an Elmore Leonard theme.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 38
  2. Negative: 15 out of 38
  1. Be Cool is not really cool as "Get Shorty" was, but it's entertaining, a frivolous cocktail rather than a vintage wine.
  2. 50
    Considered as a sequel, Be Cool is not an insult, but it’s a lazy, rhythmless, and redundant piece of moviemaking.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    30
    A staggeringly flat sequel that trades filmdom for the music bizbiz and could hardly be less cool.