Beasts of the Southern Wild Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: In a forgotten but defiant bayou community cut off from the rest of the world by a sprawling levee, a six-year-old girl exists on the brink of orphanhood. Buoyed by her childish optimism and extraordinary imagination, she believes that the natural world is in balance with the universe untilIn a forgotten but defiant bayou community cut off from the rest of the world by a sprawling levee, a six-year-old girl exists on the brink of orphanhood. Buoyed by her childish optimism and extraordinary imagination, she believes that the natural world is in balance with the universe until a fierce storm changes her reality. Desperate to repair the structure of her world in order to save her ailing father and sinking home, this tiny hero must learn to survive unstoppable catastrophes of epic proportions. (Fox Searchlight Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jul 5, 2012
    100
    "The whole universe depends on everything fitting together just right," declares Hushpuppy, the fierce, nappy-headed girl at the center of this extraordinary southern gothic.
  2. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jul 13, 2012
    100
    Shot in Louisiana, with non-professional actors and apparently set-designed from a junkyard, Beasts of the Southern Wild marks one of the most auspicious American directorial debuts in years.
  3. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Oct 3, 2012
    100
    Beautiful, funny, timely and tender, this is the American arthouse movie of the year.
  4. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jun 22, 2012
    91
    It's undoubtedly something extraordinary: like a live-action Miyazaki film, with Days Of Heaven narration, set in a dirt-poor community at an unspecified time of crisis.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 27, 2012
    88
    It's unlikely there will be a film as visually stunning or poetic this year - or perhaps any year - to rival Beasts of the Southern Wild.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Oct 19, 2012
    80
    Beasts of the Southern Wild is a vividly poetic and maybe even therapeutic response to one of the most painful and mortifying episodes in modern American history, second only to 9/11.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 28, 2012
    40
    Winds up feeling like a form of emotional tourism. The images recall Terrence Malick, but the film fills "atmosphere" into dry narrative holes where a story should reside.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 79
  2. Negative: 17 out of 79
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    All I have to say is Give That Little Girl an Oscar. Her performance alone should be the reason why people need to see this film. She has aAll I have to say is Give That Little Girl an Oscar. Her performance alone should be the reason why people need to see this film. She has a long career waiting for her. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    It has been a long long time since a film made me cry and this one pulled it off despite my watching it on a screen in the back of the seat inIt has been a long long time since a film made me cry and this one pulled it off despite my watching it on a screen in the back of the seat in front at 30,000 feet in the middle of the night. A moving glimpse into a world of poverty and stuggle that is (thankfully) alien to most of us. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    I have never written a review but after seeing Beasts of the Souther Wild, felt compelled to write something. I am sure the cinephiles haveI have never written a review but after seeing Beasts of the Souther Wild, felt compelled to write something. I am sure the cinephiles have heard the hype about the movie but to be clear it is totally justified. It is hard to describe as most say but the best way for me to describe it is a magical, lyrical and visually sumptuous film. The leading actress, Quvenzhane Wallis, who was only six years old when it was shot, is simply amazing in the role of Hushpuppy. Probably one of the best child performance I've ever seen. Academy, please give her the Oscar because I can tell you we will not see a performance like this very often. She completely owns this movie. Dwight Henry also another non-professional actor amazes in his performance. I understand this movie might not be for everyone but I suggest take ride and immerse yourself in the Bathtub because it is a very special film. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    What a touching film. It's excellent on many sensory levels, and Hush Puppy (the little girl) is pretty amazing as the film's focus. The musicWhat a touching film. It's excellent on many sensory levels, and Hush Puppy (the little girl) is pretty amazing as the film's focus. The music brings so much to it - probably more so than in any movie I've seen this year. Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2012
    6
    Beasts of the Southern Wild is a difficult movie to review. Is it well done? Except for the horrible constant moving camera, yes. Images ofBeasts of the Southern Wild is a difficult movie to review. Is it well done? Except for the horrible constant moving camera, yes. Images of the film will stick in your mind for a long time after the closing credits. Is it enjoyable? Well, I certainly enjoyed the spirit of Hush Puppy, the six year old played by Quvenzhané Wallis, who is cute as a button throughout. The way she is being raised by her alcoholic father is not pleasant to watch at all. Living in separate quarters by herself, poverty, alcoholism, illiteracy, death. It doesn't seem to phase her as it is the only life she has known. The film is a very slow paced slice of life. It's only about an hour and a half long but seemed longer to me due to the pacing. I was glad I saw it. I would give it a couple of points higher if I didn't have to put up with the constantly moving camera. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2013
    5
    This could have been so much greater if it wasn't so full of itself. I'm all for ambition and pushing boundaries, but if you're going to doThis could have been so much greater if it wasn't so full of itself. I'm all for ambition and pushing boundaries, but if you're going to do so...don't do so haphazardly. It's a shame because the characters and their situation is great story material, and the film is very well acted. But it's all intermingled with a heavy dose of metaphorical bullsh*t and artsy nonsense that, in my opinion, doesn't land. And it really stopped this movie from being gold. Sometimes, directors should just keep it simple. This is a good example of that in my humble opinion. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2013
    0
    A terrible movie so boring and out of plot.Also clumsy at very best.This movie insulting the black people by indicating them as scavengers.A terrible movie so boring and out of plot.Also clumsy at very best.This movie insulting the black people by indicating them as scavengers. People voted this move above 7 are depressed and sworn lossers. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 10, 2013
    Lincoln dominated the nominations for the 85th annual Academy Awards on Thursday morning, while one of its major competitors had a rougher go of it. Inside, get a complete list of all of this year's nominees and a look at the snubs and favorites in each category.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  3. 2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 11, 2012
    Throughout December and January, we'll be aggregating dozens of year-end top ten lists from a variety of movie critics and publications. Find all of their lists here, as well as our composite standings for best movie of 2012.
  4. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.