User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffA
    Jan 1, 2010
    1
    Ugh, another pretentious, boring "art" film. Truly lame. What is it with the french? I see so many of the worst films coming from there.
  2. Yvan
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    A stunning, melancholy film. Easily one of the best of the decade.
  3. IanP.
    Apr 20, 2001
    10
    A masterwork - and most films I have seen lately would get ratings between 2-3.
  4. EricP.
    May 6, 2003
    3
    The tendency with some French films: to think that being vague can manufacture a sense of the profound. This is not the case. When the film was over, I simply didn't care about anything I had just watched. A saw little evidence of a creative vision being brought to life. It was shallow and lazy.
  5. MikeG
    Dec 4, 2004
    2
    The dancing is great, and the cinematography is wonderful. But it's a disjointed, often confusing movie, especially if you're not familiar with Billy Budd.
  6. Jean-ClaudeV.
    Dec 2, 2002
    8
    Dark, sinister, and distinctly French, this film did everything right except for the stock footage and narrative. An terrific final scene.
  7. JoshT.
    Sep 27, 2002
    10
    A mesmerizingly lyrical and enigmatic masterpiece; the best French film of the decade.
  8. MatthewD.
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    Pure cinema. Easily the most powerful movie I've seen in years. Claire Denis' masterwork. Simply beautiful.
  9. JohnM
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. And that ending..... elusive, yet unforgettable. One of the best concluding sequences I've ever seen.
  10. Elliott
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    It's like a marvelous ballet acted on the most breathtaking set you've ever seen.
  11. MaxA.
    Dec 17, 2006
    2
    Brooding, plodding, self-conscious and silly. This is a caricature of a French art film. It goes nowhere for an hour and a half while the protagonist poses and smokes lots of cigarettes. In a word: merde.
  12. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Claire Denis consistently breaks the boundaries of conventional filmmaking without resorting to pretension. BEAU TRAVAIL may just be her masterpiece, though I have a true fondness for TROUBLE EVERY DAY.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. So minimalist in characterization and dialogue that the plot all but evaporates -- and so does any dramatic power.
  2. 100
    Unique and unforgettable.