User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 181
  2. Negative: 48 out of 181
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    Good Movie for the kids. It was a funny movie with lots of good moral points. It is a great movie to add to the kid's collection. There are time's that it drag's out,but there are fun fact's in the story for some good information.
  2. HyperS
    Dec 8, 2008
    6
    It seems the common census here is, to take a line from the movie, "Why doesn't someone just step on this little creep so we can all go home?" For me however, I thought the movie was fine. Sure there were moments of disbelief, but its not that big of a deal. Just turn off the brain and stop trying to over analyze the movie to death with prison camps and slavery references. The It seems the common census here is, to take a line from the movie, "Why doesn't someone just step on this little creep so we can all go home?" For me however, I thought the movie was fine. Sure there were moments of disbelief, but its not that big of a deal. Just turn off the brain and stop trying to over analyze the movie to death with prison camps and slavery references. The animation was fine, the ending was upbeat, the cast of characters was respectably interesting, and the acting was fine. A solid 6. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    6
    Interesante por el tema, por el protagonista, por la lucha de clases, por la amistad o amor entre desiguales, etc.... Pero olvidable, y lejos de aventuras como Hormigas o Bichos.
  4. Oct 9, 2011
    4
    "Bee Movie" is a decent animated movie at its best; the story's bland and generally fragile in structure, the animation isn't the best one, and the voice acting sucks. Recommended for 5 year old kids.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2008
    5
    At least it was good.
  6. HunterW.
    Jan 6, 2009
    4
    While it had few funny moments the premise of the movie is annoyingly and totally unrealistic, movies like Bug's Life and Ant Z handled the idea of a bugs community way better than Bee movie. In Bee movie everything collapsed for me ( including my suspension of disbelief ) the moment the bees started suing the humans, it is just a ridiculous and weird situation and isn't helped While it had few funny moments the premise of the movie is annoyingly and totally unrealistic, movies like Bug's Life and Ant Z handled the idea of a bugs community way better than Bee movie. In Bee movie everything collapsed for me ( including my suspension of disbelief ) the moment the bees started suing the humans, it is just a ridiculous and weird situation and isn't helped by the fact that all the world suddenly accepted that the Bees can talk to humans, why only Bees and why only now ... it just feels so forced. If you want to watch a good animated movie about bugs i recommend Bug's life or Ant Z, both handled the idea of a bugs community way better and kept it separate from the human world which made more sense. Expand
  7. DontgiveaF.
    Nov 21, 2007
    3
    Some decent laughs, but suffers from the Cars complex, also known as the Saturday-Night-Live-movie syndrome: you take one idea, riff on it for about 70 minutes past where you've exhausted all the good material, and don't cut out anything. This would have been a pleasant half-hour holiday special or something, but was a complete flop as far as being and entertaining film goes. Some decent laughs, but suffers from the Cars complex, also known as the Saturday-Night-Live-movie syndrome: you take one idea, riff on it for about 70 minutes past where you've exhausted all the good material, and don't cut out anything. This would have been a pleasant half-hour holiday special or something, but was a complete flop as far as being and entertaining film goes. Also, this movie had too many things on every screen to look at, to the point that what action there was, was hard to follow. And the cinematography was, at best, spastic. Lots of flying between leaves just cuz. Don't know if all their good people left or what, but Pixar really seems to have jumped the shark after The Incredibles. Throw this in the same pile (and I do mean Pile) with Ratatouille and The Santa Clause 2. Ugh. Expand
  8. RazvyT.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    Very ncie movie, nice comic, nice colored scenes, everything's nice.Animated movies rule!
  9. MikeW.
    Apr 23, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks. Bees cannot sue people in real court. Why is Chris Rock even in this movie? Just as a favor for jerry. This movie is like sex. Good for 2 mintues then boring as hell.
  10. CliftonS.
    Apr 24, 2008
    2
    Not one line made me laugh. replete with failed attempts at jewish humor. naturalistic worldview way off base.
  11. PenelopeB.
    May 25, 2008
    0
    This was a waste of money. I am glad i didnt pay to see it in theaters. It was incredibly dumb and dissapionting.
  12. KaraM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    2
    This plot to this movie was inacurate enough to destroy children's fundamental understandings of pollination, plant survival, insect behavior, and lawsuits. It was less than entertaining, it was a poorly executed series of lame quips done by poorly educated writers.
  13. MonaA.
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    This movie was great! It had a really interesting and unique plot, one that you haven't seen before and one you won't see again any time soon. It had pretty good humor as well. Overall, it was very creative and offered good family fun.
  14. Dec 26, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was bad. The story was horrible. A bee sues humans for stealing their honey, humans understand bees, there are huge factories inside hives and humans don't think they're crazy when they're talking to a bee. This might go for a 5 year old, but I don't recommend this for anyone else. Actually this movie is bad for kids as they start talking to bees and believes there's factories in hives. Just pass this movie. Don't let your kids watch Dreamworks **** They're uncreative. Expand
  15. TheDrake
    Nov 2, 2007
    1
    Meh. To paraphrase Elaine's comments on the sponge, not "money worthy".
  16. WilliamG
    Dec 30, 2007
    7
    Sure, it wasn't the BEST movie in its category, but I found it funny, charming, and not at all average. Seriously, go see it. P.S to Dlontgivea F: NOT made by Pixar, and Ratatouille was a BRILLIANT MOVIE.
  17. Leah
    May 29, 2008
    8
    What's with the low scores? I guess Jerry Seinfeld's humor is a love it or hate it type of thing. Bee Movie is light, clever fare. Not too many laugh-out-loud moments, but it did keep a constant smirk on my face. I found the casual way the movie deals with surreal situations quite refreshing--no strained attempts at credibility to bog it down. The CG is pretty good, slick yet What's with the low scores? I guess Jerry Seinfeld's humor is a love it or hate it type of thing. Bee Movie is light, clever fare. Not too many laugh-out-loud moments, but it did keep a constant smirk on my face. I found the casual way the movie deals with surreal situations quite refreshing--no strained attempts at credibility to bog it down. The CG is pretty good, slick yet not painstakingly detailed. A lot of memorable snarky bits (Ray Liotta and Sting cameos in particular). Worth seeing if you enjoy subtle, sardonic humor. Expand
  18. AndrewC.
    Nov 1, 2007
    1
    Same old, same old. Ratatoulle is much better.
  19. SharonT
    Nov 3, 2007
    5
    A few funny minutes but gaps of tedium.
  20. JohnT.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    I hope people aren't going to this hoping for an episode of Seinfeld or an HBO Comedy. This is a kids movie, and in that capacity it worked great. My kid liked it, and there were some hilarious jokes directed to the moms and dads.
  21. JoyceC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Pure excellence, I've been reading some of the little reviews we have for this film so far and they are so disagreeable, Jerry Seinfeld hits the streets of Hollywood red carpet in an Oscar buzz animation piece, the best movie of the year, what a surprise. But really it isn't that funny.
  22. RandaH.
    Oct 30, 2007
    4
    Honey. Not funny.
  23. kittyf
    Jan 5, 2008
    6
    the Bee Movie was pretty good, I thought it was well played out.
  24. JacobH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    It's pure brilliance.
  25. SteveM.
    Apr 6, 2008
    5
    It's better then shrek.
  26. danielw
    Nov 10, 2007
    1
    This movie achieves something I didn't think possible: 90 minutes of Seinfeld with nary a laugh in sight. Makes you want to go back to the show to see whether it wasn't George, Kramer and Elaine keeping the show afloat all those years. Avoids 0 in virtue of 30 funny seconds of Chris Rock.
  27. BobboW.
    Nov 2, 2007
    3
    Terrible.
  28. TroyK
    Nov 2, 2007
    5
    Wait for DVD. Went with my mother, sister and 2 nephews and everyone had a hard time staying awake. Had it's moments, but who cares? The only interesting thing of note is that it's release just happens to coincide with the recent honey bee's disappearing scare, There was even a trailer about it before the movie. But then, the movie ends happily leaving you to feel like Wait for DVD. Went with my mother, sister and 2 nephews and everyone had a hard time staying awake. Had it's moments, but who cares? The only interesting thing of note is that it's release just happens to coincide with the recent honey bee's disappearing scare, There was even a trailer about it before the movie. But then, the movie ends happily leaving you to feel like everything is ok with the honey bee. Yes, I am weird, but it's not just me is it? Expand
  29. LauraJ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    I found this movie to be uplifting, fun & humourous. The graphics & animation, especially over Central Park,NYC, were beautiful. I liked the flying scenes in the plane landing sequence , and in the sky, and thought Rene Zellweger as Vanesssa's alter ego-adorable. Anyone who says anything negative about this clever film is just jealous they didn't create it.
  30. keitha.
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    just a terrible story, not funny, horrible animation, not sure why it took so long for this movie to come out doesn't look like a lot of time went into it. first kid's movie my four year old ever fell asleep to
  31. JosephA
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    Plot Summary: Hi I'm a little bee who's never left the hive, all I know about humans are box kites, racial stereotypes and the U.S. justice system. Terrible.
  32. JaimeB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    This is a very bad movie, because try copy to Pixar, but the result is poor.
  33. StevenH.
    Nov 4, 2007
    0
    Suckiest animated film of the decade.
  34. jp
    Nov 4, 2007
    0
    Can Hollywood please stop making animated movies. I mean there have been at least 10 this year. IT has all been done. Try making an original movie. Please.
  35. JaredC.
    Oct 29, 2007
    7
    Jerry Seinfeld is the main attraction of viewers to come see this production. But on the other hand, the humor was poorly written and, since I am a "Seinfeld" fan, Jerry didn't do as great as I expected. The film itself is actual a pretty average animation/comedy, just the plot and the overall view of the story had barely any good taste at all. Although, most of the humor was Jerry Seinfeld is the main attraction of viewers to come see this production. But on the other hand, the humor was poorly written and, since I am a "Seinfeld" fan, Jerry didn't do as great as I expected. The film itself is actual a pretty average animation/comedy, just the plot and the overall view of the story had barely any good taste at all. Although, most of the humor was extremely hilarious, the some of it was awfully written. Definitely a film to watch in the theatres with your family 'n pals, but don't buy it or rent it, pay for it on Shaw when it comes out. A good film for 11-year-olds who have great suggestive humorous taste. Expand
  36. AlanS.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    I thought Bee Movie was a very funny and entertaining experience. The humor is not dumbed down for kids which is probably why many critics seem to have a problem with it. If you like Seinfeld's work on TV, you should enjoy this film.
  37. JCA.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    You can never despise of this film, yeah sure its got flaws, but it has quirky enough humor that satisfies the audience with a weirder and more mature family style.
  38. JackG.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Bee movie is one of the best PIXAR films ever made. Its pure genius!
  39. ClintH.
    Jan 28, 2008
    5
    Tune into an episode of Seinfeld instead of this. At least Jerry did a good job at THAT.
  40. brycel
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    So funny, it stings!
  41. ChadS
    Jan 7, 2008
    6
    "Bee Movie" lost me in the courtroom. Talk about a buzzkill. It reminded me of the "Seinfeld" finale when Jerry and his friends are put on trial for not caring. In the hive, "Bee Movie" is at its anthromorphic best, as we nod with recognition about the day-to-day drudgery of our lives. Because of Renee Zellweger's wonderful voice-over work, the interspecies relationship between "Bee Movie" lost me in the courtroom. Talk about a buzzkill. It reminded me of the "Seinfeld" finale when Jerry and his friends are put on trial for not caring. In the hive, "Bee Movie" is at its anthromorphic best, as we nod with recognition about the day-to-day drudgery of our lives. Because of Renee Zellweger's wonderful voice-over work, the interspecies relationship between Barry(Jerry Seinfeld) and Vanessa has a surprisingly winsome charm. It's easy to see why Barry falls in love with her. Too bad the movie gets away from its modest strengths and overreaches with some barely concealed social commentary about our country's shameful past. "Bee Movie" alludes to the slave trade when Barry learns that bees are producing honey in forced labor hives. "Bee" could stand for "B", as in "Black", since the returning of the honey to its rightful owner sounds an awful lot like slave reparations. "Bee Movie" is also hampered by some shaky plotting(the sequence in which Barry and Vanessa reintroduce flowers to the ecosystem may strike you as bizarre) and inappropriate cameos by pop culture icons(the bee version of a television newsman took me completely out of the movie). "Bee Movie" should've stayed in the animal kingdom and made bears their primary nemesis. Vanessa could've been some sort of Jane Goodall-type, or a forest ranger. Expand
  42. AdamM.
    Mar 3, 2008
    4
    First off, I did find this movie mildly amusing at parts, but it ultimately is completely unbelievable, even in the fantasy world of a cartoon. They do the right thing by showing the human character Vanesa being shocked that a Bee is talking, but then the entire world not only goes along with it, but winds up letting themselves be sued by the now sentient species? I don't care who First off, I did find this movie mildly amusing at parts, but it ultimately is completely unbelievable, even in the fantasy world of a cartoon. They do the right thing by showing the human character Vanesa being shocked that a Bee is talking, but then the entire world not only goes along with it, but winds up letting themselves be sued by the now sentient species? I don't care who flames me for this, because the movie points it out to make fun of itself. The bees are jewish, reffered to as Bee-ish in the movie. Classic Jewish stereotypes are abound in this lackluster film, and though Seinfeld remains one of my favorite shows of all time, Jerry sounds like a hack with every over the top line he delivers in this one. I think it was unnecessary for them to go for the jewish joke, then have the bees sueing people, I mean come on... they even went so far as to have the film end on the bees flying through a Kite shaped like the star of david. Geez guys, bees in slavery, reparations of honey, all that, then the movie turns a 180 and says that was all better for the world, and the bees shouldn't have tried to change anything? MIXED message from this one. Either way, any other digital animation movie should teach this one it's tricks. Create a fantasy world that might exist within our own, not one that tries to sue us, hahaha. Expand
  43. JohnR.
    Nov 12, 2007
    5
    It felt like DreamWorks trying to make a Pixar movie . Of course Pixar works through their movies until the plot doesn't suck and the jokes are actually funny.
  44. BrianK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    7
    It wasn't hillarious, but it was definitely an above average film. The last couple of minutes of the movie are hysterical.
  45. JoshuaP.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I can't even see how someone could give this movie a bad review, I found myself laughing pretty hard on several occations and I thougt in general the movie was well done and well thought out.
  46. DustinH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    1
    I took my 5 year old to see Bee Movie and would have walked out if she hadn't fallen asleep. I wish I could have slept through this stinker. Unfortunately, this is the one she picked (probably due to the McDonald's endorsement) and I suffered through it. NOTE: I am not a fan of Seinfeld's standup comedy or his sitcom. If you aren't a fan either, don't waste your I took my 5 year old to see Bee Movie and would have walked out if she hadn't fallen asleep. I wish I could have slept through this stinker. Unfortunately, this is the one she picked (probably due to the McDonald's endorsement) and I suffered through it. NOTE: I am not a fan of Seinfeld's standup comedy or his sitcom. If you aren't a fan either, don't waste your money. Diehard fans will probably enjoy the humor, Seinfeld in-jokes and alum cameos, but the kids not familiar with it might get bored (saw several sleeping through it). Expand
  47. KeithR
    Nov 19, 2007
    0
    Yawn! This was the least funny animated movie I've seen. Even the kids in theatre were not laughing. Just a way to pormote McDonalds and crappy toys kids don't need. $40 wasted for nothing.
  48. Alessandra
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    I think a lot of heart and soul went into the movie. Great premise, had some very witty moments (I would say, geared towards slightly older crowds). The critics are being too harsh.
  49. JonG.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Have there been better animated films (animation and plot)? Yes. Although I was entertained, laughed, thought there was good use of colours (bright for the kids). Felt very Seinfeldian but then, I like his humor. I wouldn't say it's a movie about nothing. The Bee isn't excited about what's next for his life, wants to explore the world, tries to fix it, accepts his Have there been better animated films (animation and plot)? Yes. Although I was entertained, laughed, thought there was good use of colours (bright for the kids). Felt very Seinfeldian but then, I like his humor. I wouldn't say it's a movie about nothing. The Bee isn't excited about what's next for his life, wants to explore the world, tries to fix it, accepts his mistake and finally comes realizes we all have a job to do and no matter what size it is, it still counts and is very important. Okay not an A movie but definitely a Bee Movie. Expand
  50. BrandonW
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    It was good. Got a few laughs out of it.
  51. ChristopherW.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this very funny film. I loved how the plot gleefully sidestepped so many possible touches of realism in favor of a playful relaxed vibe aimed in soft allegory and breezy satire. The inconsistencies, plot holes, and contrivances are obviously intentional and focus the viewer less on the rather silly story and more on the film's sweet infectious tone and dialogue. I thoroughly enjoyed this very funny film. I loved how the plot gleefully sidestepped so many possible touches of realism in favor of a playful relaxed vibe aimed in soft allegory and breezy satire. The inconsistencies, plot holes, and contrivances are obviously intentional and focus the viewer less on the rather silly story and more on the film's sweet infectious tone and dialogue. As a note, I think this film is geared more toward adults than children, and certainly more on audiences who embrace Seinfeld's brand of comedy. Do enjoy! Expand
  52. JHill
    Nov 3, 2007
    0
    Dear god this movie stunk. The writing was anything but good. I don't know why NBC hyped it---except they get exclusive rights to air it in the future...but after this, do they really want to do that? What's the deal with Bee Movie?
  53. JohnT
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    My son loved it, and it kept him in his seat (he's 5). I thought there were enough clever ads to keep parents entertained, and I laughed outloud more than once, even if the younger members of the audience did't get the gag.
  54. DaveT
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    Awful. Unfocused plot that follows no sense of logic, even for an animated movie.
  55. George
    Nov 3, 2007
    1
    Booooring!
  56. Dan
    Nov 4, 2007
    8
    I'm giving it an 8 for TIME Magazine which does have a capsul review in this week's issue which should be included in Metacritic's review list.
  57. BethK
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Most of these people have no clue what they're talking about. Bee Movie is a delightful animated movie visually for children, but actually geared towards adults. The humor, yes, is rather poor at some points, but most of it is quite witty. But this movie really isn't about the humor. More of the message it's trying to send. And no, it's not of how if we lose bees, Most of these people have no clue what they're talking about. Bee Movie is a delightful animated movie visually for children, but actually geared towards adults. The humor, yes, is rather poor at some points, but most of it is quite witty. But this movie really isn't about the humor. More of the message it's trying to send. And no, it's not of how if we lose bees, we'll crumble. I highly recommend it. The critics are pretty much being high and mighty on us again, and don't listen to those weirdos who say other wise. Expand
  58. AnaB
    Nov 6, 2007
    1
    Had a few (very few) funny moments. I took my daughter, who wasn't really impressed and has already forgotten about it. At the end, I looked at my husband who complained that we wasted $21 (early matinee) for this crap. It was all over the place and just wasn't realistic, even for a cartoon. When you compare it to other adult geared movies such as Shrek, Madagascar, even Finding Had a few (very few) funny moments. I took my daughter, who wasn't really impressed and has already forgotten about it. At the end, I looked at my husband who complained that we wasted $21 (early matinee) for this crap. It was all over the place and just wasn't realistic, even for a cartoon. When you compare it to other adult geared movies such as Shrek, Madagascar, even Finding Nemo, this movie isn't even in their league. Expand
  59. BenH.
    Nov 6, 2007
    7
    A cute film that can entertain adults and children!
  60. ThomasW
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    It was a good movie. I think it was the best animated movie ever!!
  61. YourMom
    Jan 24, 2008
    7
    Hmmm. It's arguably about nothing, but that's what makes it so fun. Seinfeld has been watered-down, but some is better than none. It's his comic genius that drives the movie forward. Might I mention, it's hilarious.
  62. LuisG.
    Feb 18, 2008
    1
    I may be the only person who thought Seinfeld is a smuck unfunny with a capital T ... and yet i still sat 45 minutes of this cartoon disaster.. Spielberg please catch some inspiration and give due to something worth merit.. a disaster..... unfunny, boring, wannabe cartoon.
  63. LouisH.
    Feb 23, 2008
    2
    "Sueing the human race?" How much weed did the writers have to smoke before coming up with that piece of scrap?!?! I was expecting something other than boring courtroom drama! Plus, using bears and the word "sting" is something no judge can take away. And they let the bee take his case to the highest court...THEN they waited to see if he could talk? Gimme a break.....that being said, "Sueing the human race?" How much weed did the writers have to smoke before coming up with that piece of scrap?!?! I was expecting something other than boring courtroom drama! Plus, using bears and the word "sting" is something no judge can take away. And they let the bee take his case to the highest court...THEN they waited to see if he could talk? Gimme a break.....that being said, Seinfelds voice redeems it a bit. Expand
  64. DeanP
    Mar 16, 2008
    0
    I'm sorry but this movie is sending some horrible messages. The most deplorable of them all is that the movie tells us that we should be happy with our lot in life, never think for ourselves, rock the boat, or try to change society because it causes nothing but trouble and could possibly end all life on earth!? We should be happy with a life of work and never hope for adventure or I'm sorry but this movie is sending some horrible messages. The most deplorable of them all is that the movie tells us that we should be happy with our lot in life, never think for ourselves, rock the boat, or try to change society because it causes nothing but trouble and could possibly end all life on earth!? We should be happy with a life of work and never hope for adventure or try make life more enjoyable? Ummm... I believe this country was founded on the principles: life, liberty and the pursuit of HAPPINESS. This movie is an outrage! Don't let your kids watch it. Expand
  65. spongeee
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Good for two reasons: 1. The visuals are amazing. Felt like a Universial Studio ride during the flying squences. 2. The story/dialouge was surreal. Part of the fun was accepting that the bees could talk to humans. Once you get past that point, it is witty and def geared toward adults...ala Spongebob.
  66. MeggieL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    This movie is HORRIBLE! ! My best friends and I think this movie SUCK.(Nooffence but...).
  67. SamW
    Nov 23, 2007
    1
    Nice animation, but everything else sucks.
  68. Feb 6, 2014
    5
    This is really hard for me to say because I really enjoyed this movie as a kid and thought it was hilarious but this movie is obnoxious. The film has some good ideas, occasional clever jokes, and nice animation/score. However, the film is bogged down by trying way too hard to funny resulting in a lot of bad puns and comes across a bit more obnoxious than funny. I’d say if you have kidsThis is really hard for me to say because I really enjoyed this movie as a kid and thought it was hilarious but this movie is obnoxious. The film has some good ideas, occasional clever jokes, and nice animation/score. However, the film is bogged down by trying way too hard to funny resulting in a lot of bad puns and comes across a bit more obnoxious than funny. I’d say if you have kids show it to them they’ll mindlessly enjoy it. For everyone else though check it out if you want but I’m not going to highly recommend this film. It has some funny moments but not enough to make this a great comedy like Shrek 1 & 2. Shame that a studio that has made great movies could make something that ranges from mediocre to decent. Expand
  69. May 26, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can see the message that they're trying to tell in the movie, but the execution was completely horrible. Yes, I chuckled at Larry King's bee version, but Bee Jesus, ugh... Expand
  70. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    Barry B. Benson, a bee who becomes disappointed just because he'll only get one job for his entire life, joins a team responsible to bring honey from the pollen of the flowers to visit the human world outside the hive. Once there, he meets a human florist named Vanessa by breaking the most important bee law after being saved. They become friends as Barry discovers that the humans haveBarry B. Benson, a bee who becomes disappointed just because he'll only get one job for his entire life, joins a team responsible to bring honey from the pollen of the flowers to visit the human world outside the hive. Once there, he meets a human florist named Vanessa by breaking the most important bee law after being saved. They become friends as Barry discovers that the humans have stolen all of the bees' honey from the hive to sell it and decides to sue the human race along with the disastrous consequences of nature.

    I caught a screening of this in late December of 2007 the same year it came out and really enjoyed it. A few years later, I found it to be quite a guilty pleasure. I'll talk about the bad things.

    The storyline wasn't interesting and was too predictable, (like Shark Tale) it had overused clichés from other CGI movies, it lacked a sense of adventure and the storytelling was weak. Now for the good things.

    The acting wasn't half bad, the characters were very likable, the CGI animation and art design was very pretty to look at, the jokes in the second half wasn't funny, but the ones in the first half was way better than the ones in Shark Tale, and the music score was decent compared to Hans Zimmer.

    Overall, Bee Movie isn't good or bad either. It's mediocre at best, but at least Dreamworks Animation tried and it's worth a watch on DVD. Try again, you guys.

    5/10
    Collapse
  71. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    A hilarious movie. It delivers many great laughs. 'A mosquito is a lawyer?' 'I'm already a blood sucking parasite, all I needed was a briefcase'. The story is certainly orginal for a dreamworks kids movie but some of the more serious lines are poorly written. Too many 'THEY'RE DOING WHAT?' lines. Animation wise a very bright and colourful movie with not as much detail as other films whichA hilarious movie. It delivers many great laughs. 'A mosquito is a lawyer?' 'I'm already a blood sucking parasite, all I needed was a briefcase'. The story is certainly orginal for a dreamworks kids movie but some of the more serious lines are poorly written. Too many 'THEY'RE DOING WHAT?' lines. Animation wise a very bright and colourful movie with not as much detail as other films which in this case is a good thing. In short, definetly worth a watch. I think Matthew does often get cast as shouty muscular characters too often.... Expand
  72. May 24, 2012
    5
    It's an average movie which had funny moments, an amateurish plot, descent graphics and terrible voice acting........
  73. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    The movie very much has an excess of Jerry Seinfeld's,somewhat, annoying humor, but other than that it's visually striking, funny and sends an important message to kids or just people in general. 3/4 stars.
  74. May 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story takes a clever turn here. A bee sues the human race for stealing their honey. Thats the best way to summarize the story. It takes an exciting turn of events. Expand
  75. May 26, 2012
    5
    Bee movie isn't too good, but it isn't too bad, it's kind of okay. Its got a few funny jokes that make you laugh, but it has terrible unfunny jokes that make you not laugh at all. It has a kind of okay plot and good voice acting, but it has bad, cheesy moments with awful music. Meh.
  76. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    What can I say? This was THE WORST movie I saw as a kid. It was just plain boring and stupid with annoying characters. It doesn't fit with all of the other animated films like Monsters, inc and Finding Nemo that were perfect for kids.
  77. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    "Bee Movie" is just average like most animated films, and doesn't provide much to tell. The voice acting is so-so and the plot is so-so as well, but for kids, it would probably considered decent.
  78. Jul 24, 2014
    5
    A movie with an attempted philosophical statement on individualism that ultimately is too silly and makes fun at itself for being the silly. 'Bee Movie' is a bland story that in the second half, becomes stupid and hard to watch. Half the characters are unlikable and boring. It has some moments, I'll admit, but they are too few to overlook the several painfully unfunny scenes that otherwiseA movie with an attempted philosophical statement on individualism that ultimately is too silly and makes fun at itself for being the silly. 'Bee Movie' is a bland story that in the second half, becomes stupid and hard to watch. Half the characters are unlikable and boring. It has some moments, I'll admit, but they are too few to overlook the several painfully unfunny scenes that otherwise should have been hilarious. Expand
  79. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    Barry Bee isn't a very likable protagonist, yet Seinfeld acts like he's a hero. That might pay off in some cases, however it doesn't do anything but damage the movie here.
  80. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Bee Movie is quite literally a B-movie.
    Really a likeable main character, very little story with just a few moral points, and very few laughs. It is far from awful but really not great by any stretch.
  81. Oct 29, 2014
    8
    A screwed up CGI animated movie where a woman leaves her husband for a bee. When you look past that though, this is an amazing movie .
  82. Oct 13, 2014
    5
    Meh, not anything special really, just average. Lacks the humor that the other DreamWorks films have and kinda' falls flat, I don't think it's god awful but it's definitely pretty close to the worst.
  83. Mar 23, 2015
    2
    I get that this movie is for kids... But even kids movies should have higher standards. It's terrible. Absolutely gutwrenchingly AWFUL. I'm not going to go into any details because I buried the memories of this movie in the back of my mind and that's where I will keep them. Aching for a good kids movie?? Stick to Disney and stay AWAY from this unless you have a morbid sense of curiosity orI get that this movie is for kids... But even kids movies should have higher standards. It's terrible. Absolutely gutwrenchingly AWFUL. I'm not going to go into any details because I buried the memories of this movie in the back of my mind and that's where I will keep them. Aching for a good kids movie?? Stick to Disney and stay AWAY from this unless you have a morbid sense of curiosity or want to torture your child. It is THAT bad. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Unfortunately, bees just aren't that funny...Nor is the odd story Seinfeld and his collaborators dreamed up very inspired.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    Amiable but no more, Bee Movie puts a hiveful of potent talent at the service of a zig-zigging, back-of-an-envelope story that's short on surprise and originality.
  3. Agreeably skewed fun.