Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: May 24, 2013
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 427 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
369
Mixed:
29
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MrLikeableJan 24, 2014
The final scene of this trilogy was worthwhile. It was thoughtful, reflective and heartwarming. In my opinion the remainder of the trilogy (i.e. all three movies) didn't amount to much more than a record of some very plain conversations,The final scene of this trilogy was worthwhile. It was thoughtful, reflective and heartwarming. In my opinion the remainder of the trilogy (i.e. all three movies) didn't amount to much more than a record of some very plain conversations, which rarely offered any useful or unusual insights into human relationships. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
katezoeDec 28, 2013
One of the most boring movies I have ever seen. Why are they together? How self indulgent. All the critics have raved about the screenplay??? We fell asleep after and thankfully woke up when the credits were rolling.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
glemonOct 25, 2013
I just watched this movie with my wife, while it probably was insightful and intelligently and realistically written, it was just boring. NOTHING HAPPENED in the whole movie. They talked then they talked, then they talked some more. I amI just watched this movie with my wife, while it probably was insightful and intelligently and realistically written, it was just boring. NOTHING HAPPENED in the whole movie. They talked then they talked, then they talked some more. I am not one of those guys who rates movies on how many people get shot, but please give me a little story or drama beyond the day to day life I can experience at home without paying to see a movie. Wife thought it was boring too, she went to bed 2/3s of the way in. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
anarasOct 25, 2013
The woman is a NAG, negative and SO annoying I could barely finish watching the movie. In fact, I haven't finished watching it and I have to shout out to someone. The first movie was great, the second movie was good, this movie is bad. IThe woman is a NAG, negative and SO annoying I could barely finish watching the movie. In fact, I haven't finished watching it and I have to shout out to someone. The first movie was great, the second movie was good, this movie is bad. I love Ethan's character but the woman?...run Ethan, run. This
woman's personality would make any man run for his life! Thumbs down!
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
AndresLunaMar 27, 2017
The film my be acclaimed by critics, however I found it boring and unsubstantial. More importantly, the story includes a fragment that with total lack of good taste insults Jesus and people in the Christian faith. It was at that point, thatThe film my be acclaimed by critics, however I found it boring and unsubstantial. More importantly, the story includes a fragment that with total lack of good taste insults Jesus and people in the Christian faith. It was at that point, that after many yawnings, my wife and I decided to stop watching. It was around 45-50 minutes of our time lost, among other things, in non-sense, taste-less sex chatters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
wernermlOct 13, 2013
Deep down in my heart, I felt like this was the 2nd WORSE MOVIE EVER MADE! it's WORSE THAN EVERY HORROR/ROM-COM MOVIES! it's like you are reading a Girl's Book...

(The good thing is: Now, everytime I need to check if a Reviewer is stupid,
Deep down in my heart, I felt like this was the 2nd WORSE MOVIE EVER MADE! it's WORSE THAN EVERY HORROR/ROM-COM MOVIES! it's like you are reading a Girl's Book...

(The good thing is: Now, everytime I need to check if a Reviewer is stupid, I can check if he/she liked this crap! hahahaha)
Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
0
rbaxter123Jul 22, 2013
I have no idea how this movie gets any positive reviews. The director must have a lot of friends. My wife and I walked out. Scenes are unbearably long with rambling dialogue about nothing. There is no plot to this movie. It's justI have no idea how this movie gets any positive reviews. The director must have a lot of friends. My wife and I walked out. Scenes are unbearably long with rambling dialogue about nothing. There is no plot to this movie. It's just uninteresting people talking. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
0
callMeIshmaelAug 9, 2013
The reviews of this thought-garbage movie prove all critics, and most of the film industry, are Cartesian, schizophrenics.
The bedrock of reality isn't thought. The bedrock of reality is being-in-the-world. It might sound like a strange or
The reviews of this thought-garbage movie prove all critics, and most of the film industry, are Cartesian, schizophrenics.
The bedrock of reality isn't thought. The bedrock of reality is being-in-the-world. It might sound like a strange or vague point to make about a movie but this movie exemplifies it in the worst way. I can't sum up this trilogy any better than to say it's tagline could be 'I Think, Therefore I am'. To see how this phrase might not be the ultimate truth look at how being really is.
Being-in-the-world is gravity, repetition, and energy holding us in an orbit (think of the sun, the source of life). These three things make thought possible. Gravity can be love, caring, attraction, repulsion. Repetition can be cycles, seasons, habits, the basis of truth, waves. And energy can be any kind of energy.
As for the scene at the table, a computer can play chess because chess is math and the language of math is fixed. A computer can't use language like us because language is affixed to being-in-the-world. Computers don't have being-in-the-world. Computers only have energy and repetition. For computers efficiency stands in for gravity. It's why they're so boring and artificial intelligence is brain-dead.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
ChrisHawthDec 13, 2013
Just not realistic. People just don’t' act or talk like this, and as the whole point of the film is one of those that try to say something about life it's just pointless. Who would even relate to this anyway unless you were a white, upperJust not realistic. People just don’t' act or talk like this, and as the whole point of the film is one of those that try to say something about life it's just pointless. Who would even relate to this anyway unless you were a white, upper middle class American? Don't waste your time. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
TagraNov 25, 2013
I would not have attempted to watch this had I realized it was the third of a trilogy. Having not seen the first two, I am completely baffled by the high ratings this movie has. There is absolutely no plot. I can understand enjoying theI would not have attempted to watch this had I realized it was the third of a trilogy. Having not seen the first two, I am completely baffled by the high ratings this movie has. There is absolutely no plot. I can understand enjoying the movie if you're already invested in the characters from the previous tales and just want to spend more time with them, but this completely failed to make me like them, and therefore I didn't care about what they had to say (which is all that happens for the entire movie), so it ended up being a waste of my time. Expand
1 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
0
victoratorJan 4, 2014
This is the most boring and overrated piece of crap I have ever seen. There should be awards give to those who manage to get to the end of this utterly nonsensical and uninteresting story about a couple of whom the woman is naggy and the guyThis is the most boring and overrated piece of crap I have ever seen. There should be awards give to those who manage to get to the end of this utterly nonsensical and uninteresting story about a couple of whom the woman is naggy and the guy has no charisma. I don't understand the reviews and I wish I haven't wasted my time trying to watch this DO NOT WATCH THIS Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews