User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 298
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kristin
    Sep 21, 2005
    2
    I find it truly alarming and dismaying that so many critics find this film to be lovely and romantic and intelligent. I found it to be offensive and self important. How can anyone take to heart the intellectual prattling of a man who is willing to walk out on his wife and 4 year old son for a fantasy relationship with a woman he has known for 9 hours.? Its disgusting, spineless and I find it truly alarming and dismaying that so many critics find this film to be lovely and romantic and intelligent. I found it to be offensive and self important. How can anyone take to heart the intellectual prattling of a man who is willing to walk out on his wife and 4 year old son for a fantasy relationship with a woman he has known for 9 hours.? Its disgusting, spineless and utterly selfish. Ethan Hwake's character needs to hurry home, help his wife with the dishes and take his son to tee ball. Delpy needs to stick with unmarried men and maybe volunteer caring for infants at a maternity ward or something. It seems to me that we should be cheering couples with children on rather than telling stories that romanticize abandoning one's family. Am I the only one who finds this profoundly disturbing? Expand
  2. MichaelD.
    Apr 3, 2006
    2
    Bought this DVD as saw it reviewed and favourably compared with 'Trainspotting' Alas it is light years away from the very good aforementioned flick. Possibly the most dreary, uninteresting movie my girlfriend and I have watched. Paris outshines the human cast in this movie.
  3. SamJ.
    Jan 7, 2005
    0
    Perhaps the most overated film of all-time! A dull, pompous and egotistical dialogue between two hopeless bores. It reeks of self-importance, but it goes nowhere.
  4. C.M.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    Unbelievably boring film. I found myself fast forwarding through most of the first 45 minutes, hoping the plot would thicken, but it never happened. It is clear that people who liked this movie are bored, lonely and desperately reaching for something that is missing in their own lives. It is sad that so many reviewers mislabel an atrocious waste of film such as this as 'Art' and Unbelievably boring film. I found myself fast forwarding through most of the first 45 minutes, hoping the plot would thicken, but it never happened. It is clear that people who liked this movie are bored, lonely and desperately reaching for something that is missing in their own lives. It is sad that so many reviewers mislabel an atrocious waste of film such as this as 'Art' and 'Romantic'. I feel like I have been robbed of an evening of my time and $4 DVD rental fee. Expand
  5. DavidF.
    Jul 21, 2004
    0
    Talk about groupthink, what's everybody been smoking on this one? An exceedingly boring, talking heads, ain't I grand piece of garbage.
  6. NeilR.
    Jul 30, 2004
    2
    This is the very worst example of pseudo-intellectual trash that only a 'people' searching for a culture, history and a relevance could be so brazen as to inflict upon a continent (Europe) which has already seen it a hundred times before - and, guess what? They were all better. That said, it's superior to 'Sunrise'. At least I didn't walk out of this one! This is the very worst example of pseudo-intellectual trash that only a 'people' searching for a culture, history and a relevance could be so brazen as to inflict upon a continent (Europe) which has already seen it a hundred times before - and, guess what? They were all better. That said, it's superior to 'Sunrise'. At least I didn't walk out of this one! Maybe they got back together? Maybe they didn't? I stopped caring in the bookshop. In a word: 'shallow'. Expand
  7. Clives.
    Aug 18, 2005
    1
    Boring Boring. A couple walking down a Paris street have a long conversation.
  8. KoreyE.
    Dec 27, 2004
    3
    A chick flick with out the flick- this should have only become a book. sorry.
  9. WestonC.
    Oct 31, 2005
    1
    Boring oh so boring, no climax and seems to be the cheapest movie ever made.
  10. LS
    Nov 27, 2006
    1
    Worst movie I have ever seen. What is the point of this movie?
  11. ElleR.
    Apr 13, 2006
    0
    This was by far the worst movie I have ever seen. It was painfully boring.
  12. OshayneG.
    May 21, 2007
    2
    The movie is really different and monotonous being no exception. It doesn't progress, I'd recommend this to old people!
  13. TShaw
    Nov 14, 2004
    0
    This movie is really unintelligent. If you like watching boring dialog between two ignoramouses, rent this movie.
  14. NikC.
    Dec 18, 2004
    0
    I wish I had my 80 minutes back. Ethan Hawke is one of the worst actors of all time. He wonders why he didn't get Titanic or Saving Private Ryan? BECAUSE YOU ARE A TERRIBLE ACTOR!!! Seriously, this movie is so long-winded and boring that I would have been more interested in playing with a calcified poo. This movie is as bad as it gets and people who say it is good are either really I wish I had my 80 minutes back. Ethan Hawke is one of the worst actors of all time. He wonders why he didn't get Titanic or Saving Private Ryan? BECAUSE YOU ARE A TERRIBLE ACTOR!!! Seriously, this movie is so long-winded and boring that I would have been more interested in playing with a calcified poo. This movie is as bad as it gets and people who say it is good are either really old or without any real love in their lives. Expand
  15. Mar 21, 2011
    0
    I fell asleep after 15 minutes and woke up 30 minutes later, only to see both of them STILL walking around Paris, engaged in endless and meaningless babble. There is absolutely no tension between both characters, and if there were, it would be annihilated by the incredible amount of senseless words that come out of their mouths. The whole movie reminded me of two girls, or two housewifes,I fell asleep after 15 minutes and woke up 30 minutes later, only to see both of them STILL walking around Paris, engaged in endless and meaningless babble. There is absolutely no tension between both characters, and if there were, it would be annihilated by the incredible amount of senseless words that come out of their mouths. The whole movie reminded me of two girls, or two housewifes, talking to each other. You see it every day. They talk for hours, and every man wonders: how can a person talk so much ? In addition, and that is what I was thinking during the entire movie, every man simply wants to scream: SHUT UP !!! Expand
  16. Jan 24, 2015
    3
    The idea of the movie wasn't bad but the actors and were painfully bad i mean french woman with no french accent and a retardet writer who try to hit on her maybe im not sure maybe he is trying to be friendly .The hole idea just walking and talking just don't get it .
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hanson
    80
    The sequel is an uninterrupted 80-minute dialogue between two richly imagined and performed characters.
  2. This is one of the most wildly romantic movies in ages.
  3. 75
    There is something uniquely unforgettable in the way Linklater, Hawke and Delpy (equal collaborators on the script) find nuance, art and eroticism in words, spoken and unspoken. The actors shine.