Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 8, 2012
    38
    It's just that Pattinson's performance is so enervated that his Georges Duroy comes across as something of a cipher. He's not quite alive, yet also clearly not dead, given the amount of sex he has. He's undead, or at least uninteresting.
  2. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jun 7, 2012
    38
    Bel Ami is handsome enough, although the directorial skill runs mostly to careful framing of magnificent bosoms, Pattinson's included.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 7, 2012
    38
    With that cast, we rightfully expect fireworks. What we get is the film equivalent of a wet blanket.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 7, 2012
    38
    Laughably bad adaptation of a Guy de Maupassant novel.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2012
    25
    Pattinson portrays the monotonous Georges Duroy in two equally dry modes: scowls and smirks.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie! It will not be everybodys cup of tea but I love this type of movie! I have read the book and think they did aI thoroughly enjoyed this movie! It will not be everybodys cup of tea but I love this type of movie! I have read the book and think they did a very solid adaptation. As usual Robert Pattinson has received a lot of undue criticism. He was exactly how I pictured the character in the book. A cad who is completely out of his depth in high society where he craves to be. He did a great job. I hope some day critics will get over their aversion to Twilight and just judge a performance without baggage. Honestly I see no other reason for the harsh reviews here. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    Pattinson was actually very good in this movie!! The only acting down fall that I could see was Uma Therman but it was not enough to take fromPattinson was actually very good in this movie!! The only acting down fall that I could see was Uma Therman but it was not enough to take from the story. Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    Good story and nicely shot. I was convinced by all the actors. They could have perhaps explained certain things a bit more but I still enjoyedGood story and nicely shot. I was convinced by all the actors. They could have perhaps explained certain things a bit more but I still enjoyed it as a movie. I would recommend it. Full Review »