User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    One of my all time favorites. Some people complain about the way it kind of juggles the multiple characters and stories, but the way it gracefully ties every plot line together borders genius. No stone is left unturned in this clever, witty, and simply hilarious movie. If you want to a Guy Ritchie style film with Chuck Palahniuk type narration and dialogue then this is the film for you.One of my all time favorites. Some people complain about the way it kind of juggles the multiple characters and stories, but the way it gracefully ties every plot line together borders genius. No stone is left unturned in this clever, witty, and simply hilarious movie. If you want to a Guy Ritchie style film with Chuck Palahniuk type narration and dialogue then this is the film for you. You won't get enough of this one. Expand
  2. PaulD.
    Jan 7, 2003
    3
    Good cast wasted in sophomoric, uneven comedy. A few funny moments don't make up for the far-fetched, cartoonish script and clunky direction.
  3. PatC.
    Feb 12, 2007
    5
    Generally unpolished and harmless comedy. But watch for Siobhan Fallon Hogan, delicious as the airline ticket agent.
  4. DrewB.
    Jul 5, 2002
    7
    GREAT COMEDY. tim allen is great. i'd see it 67 times.
  5. AlastairP.
    May 7, 2003
    8
    A wonderful romp with a large and excellent cast. Laughed a lot. Rarity--it was as good as the book.
  6. LindaA.
    Jun 8, 2006
    9
    This movie gets better every time we watch it as there are so many characters (several of them fast talking) and great lines that it was hard to appreciate them all at one time. My husband and I have watched this DVD many times and we just crack up! We really appreciate how American pop culture is integrated into the movie -- Martha, the Discovery Channel, etc. We highly recommend this This movie gets better every time we watch it as there are so many characters (several of them fast talking) and great lines that it was hard to appreciate them all at one time. My husband and I have watched this DVD many times and we just crack up! We really appreciate how American pop culture is integrated into the movie -- Martha, the Discovery Channel, etc. We highly recommend this film for any adults who need a night of laughter. Expand
  7. MaryAliceR.
    Dec 4, 2002
    8
    Did a lot of wonderful, healthy laughing out loud in this movie, and it put me in a good mood for days.
  8. CraigE.
    Jul 27, 2004
    7
    I think the American critics need to take that stick out of your arse as i found this amusing. Not all Films have to be blockbusters, this film had me laughing in parts expecialy the cops "standing there with their d**ks in their hands."
  9. Jeremy
    Oct 16, 2003
    7
    A movie for us South Floridians, and a mostly hillarious one at that.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. A mediocre movie that will be wiped from its stars' résumés with head-spinning speed.
  2. What remains discomforting is their sheer failure to be funny.
  3. A gleefully overplotted crime yarn that channels in sanitized form the perverse subtropical-noir sensibilities of Carl Hiassen.