Orion Pictures Corporation | Release Date: February 17, 1989
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 132 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
109
Mixed:
18
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SDKMar 24, 2007
Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure is the Zen of the 20th century.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Oct 24, 2007
freaking awesome.The people that give this movie negative reviews are 30-60 year olds that don't like movies us young adults watch.they grew up in a different generation what they find funny is not funny to me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZackBJul 14, 2008
Absolutely a film that just makes you feel good. It really does have something for children and adults and it's been my favorite film since the 3rd grade. I still remember the day I finally got the 69 joke. What really makes this film Absolutely a film that just makes you feel good. It really does have something for children and adults and it's been my favorite film since the 3rd grade. I still remember the day I finally got the 69 joke. What really makes this film work is the endearing innocence of the title characters. Even in comedies it's rare to find characters who blindly accept others as they are and want nothing more than everyone to just have a good time. Furthermore, in my opinion, it genuinely boasts many clever jokes throughout. It's certainly not the greatest movie ever made, but for just being a good time, it's a 10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
genericusenameAug 11, 2013
It's just a really good movie. Plot-wise it was nothing special, but rarely is a movie so enjoyable. It's a stupid movie, but I can't help to love it. Very funny and an overall good time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EricPAug 23, 2005
One of my favourite films of all time, not just because it's sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, but because it's also capable of making you smile when you do finally get one of the many hidden jokes. It might seem all dumb comedy, and One of my favourite films of all time, not just because it's sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, but because it's also capable of making you smile when you do finally get one of the many hidden jokes. It might seem all dumb comedy, and indeed it's played that way, but the script's not always as dumb as the characters. Whilst they might be playing dumb, Reeves and especially Alex Winter actually manage to pull off pretty impressive feats of comic timing, without which the film would indeed have fallen very flat. If after all that, it's still not to your taste, bogus! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Feb 15, 2007
A damning indictment of many movie critics who are supposed to be able to evaluate films on criteria and presentation, not preferences for the types of characters portrayed. Even though the premise of this comedy is silly, it's a fully A damning indictment of many movie critics who are supposed to be able to evaluate films on criteria and presentation, not preferences for the types of characters portrayed. Even though the premise of this comedy is silly, it's a fully formed presentation with something for everyone. It properly observes that rock music has evolved to where it has the potential for transcendence, with it's modified cover of U2's finest guitar work. It also makes historical figures interesting to high-schoolers, no mean feat. This film is exemplary in its plot and character development, providing just enough information to make us comfortable with its absurd time-travel premise, and builds to it's climax, as the boys attempt to salvage their GPA, which is stunningly inspirational and life-affirming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioPlayerDec 7, 2012
All my smarticles disappeared after watching this movie. It's so strange, yet there's something about it that makes it charming, funny, and just a great comedy. It's also mind-numbingly dumb, but what else can you expect from an '80s movieAll my smarticles disappeared after watching this movie. It's so strange, yet there's something about it that makes it charming, funny, and just a great comedy. It's also mind-numbingly dumb, but what else can you expect from an '80s movie about two surfer-dude high school students traveling through time to pick up famous figures in history for a report? Exactly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sammieteeOct 14, 2013
Excellent! Nothing can describe it better. A solid 80's classic that really is excellent. It's not the best movie obviously but it's perfect in what it does, and is not for the critical or humorless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TTWRApr 23, 2013
Good movie, love the Doctor Who reference. The cast is not an overload of special people, it's just two best friends who travel in time to find famous figures in history for a history report. I mean, what do you expect from an 80s movie likeGood movie, love the Doctor Who reference. The cast is not an overload of special people, it's just two best friends who travel in time to find famous figures in history for a history report. I mean, what do you expect from an 80s movie like this? Most of these movies from the 80s and 90s are underrated because people judge them fom their standpoint today, not like how it would've been back then. when we listen to old Jazz, do we ever criticize it like it just started this year, no. And we shouldn't judge these movies like that either. I think like I was in the 80s at that point, and that's why I think it's a really good movie. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
svperstar6Feb 11, 2016
This movie is not a masterpiece nor it's a milestone, so i can see why critics didn't give it high scores but don't make the meta score fools you, this movie is far from being below average as you can see in user scores. There are two aspectsThis movie is not a masterpiece nor it's a milestone, so i can see why critics didn't give it high scores but don't make the meta score fools you, this movie is far from being below average as you can see in user scores. There are two aspects bring this movie upfront. First, it is a must-see for anyone who grew up in late 80 's and early 90 's and for people who wants to get a grip of that time. Second, it's fun. Pure fun. I think it's hard to get bored from this movie, it is simply an enjoyable ride through time. So watch this movie, be excellent to each other and party on dude! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews