Universal Focus | Release Date: October 13, 2000
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 98 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
4
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
sanyrubApr 20, 2015
Beautiful, uplifting, warm, emotive. Many positive adjectives for a film that is aging just right. The story is compelling and different from what we are used to. Of course the big star and what makes the film a total winner is the childBeautiful, uplifting, warm, emotive. Many positive adjectives for a film that is aging just right. The story is compelling and different from what we are used to. Of course the big star and what makes the film a total winner is the child actor (and adult actor nowadays, not with that much shine compared to this role in his younger years). Impressive acting by him, especially the dancing scenes. The supporting cast could have been better, although his teacher is a great character and the actress too. Great soundtrack too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Feb 8, 2012
Fantastically acted, wonderfully entertaining, funny and just sad enough to make it heartwarming enough to make it one of my favorite movies. I give this movie a great 92%.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
joseap84Nov 24, 2011
"Billy Elliot" as another reviewer already said, improves with each watching. Jamie Bell gives a performance of a lifetime. Julie Walters does a terrific job as well. Excellent movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
"A young boy in a poor mining community in Northern England, wants to learn ballet, to which he seems a natural at, despite his disapproving father who feels that ballet is un-manly." Now, doesn't that sound like the hokiest premise ever?"A young boy in a poor mining community in Northern England, wants to learn ballet, to which he seems a natural at, despite his disapproving father who feels that ballet is un-manly." Now, doesn't that sound like the hokiest premise ever? But, you'd be surprised. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CorinnaW.Jan 3, 2007
Really beautiful film. Bell and Waters are simply superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidH.Jul 23, 2006
Compelling and funny at sporadic intervals. Otherwise pretty by-the-numbers. Would have given this three or four points if not for Jamie Bell's performance. I got the impression that the film got away with its maudlin sentimentality, Compelling and funny at sporadic intervals. Otherwise pretty by-the-numbers. Would have given this three or four points if not for Jamie Bell's performance. I got the impression that the film got away with its maudlin sentimentality, cynically constructed melodrama and banal use of montage to the soundtrack of played-to-death British rock "anthems" on the back of it being set in County Durham where of course people talk and act so differently. As a resident of the area myself and having been born in the town that this film was set, I resent that the makers of this film made no attempt to give audiences from elsewhere any idea of what it feels like to live here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SeanJan 22, 2006
great story, great dancing. although not as good as the musical in London
0 of 0 users found this helpful