Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 10, 1995
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 243 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
155
Mixed:
32
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
StabsMSep 4, 2008
A prime example of the kind of movie critics hate and the proles love. :) I expected a big disconnect between the "critic" score and the "user" score, but I'm still amazed the user score is an 8.7. Look, guys, I liked this movie OK too. A prime example of the kind of movie critics hate and the proles love. :) I expected a big disconnect between the "critic" score and the "user" score, but I'm still amazed the user score is an 8.7. Look, guys, I liked this movie OK too. Sandler's dance to "I'll Tumble For You" was funny. So was the dodgeball scene. So was the Meg Ryan/Jack Nicholson discussion. And a handful of others. But the humor that actually worked was limited to a handful of one liners, leaving the viewer with about an hour and twenty minutes of nothing at all. No plot, no interesting characters, no good acting (not even good comedic acting) nothing adventurous or exciting or subversive or anything that makes a comedy actually, you know, GOOD. 8.7? Come on. This is one of the best movies ever? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BonehoC.Apr 16, 2006
This movie is the most referenced movie at our school. Once a kid said, "You know I never saw that movie," and I said, "Don't worry you're not missing anything," and my friend walks up and says, "Are you kidding? That's like This movie is the most referenced movie at our school. Once a kid said, "You know I never saw that movie," and I said, "Don't worry you're not missing anything," and my friend walks up and says, "Are you kidding? That's like greatest movie of our time," and I say, "For what, 10 minutes of laughes?" So I came here to check it out, and what do you know? The critics hate it, so I was at least somewhat right. I do admit though, there are some laugh at loud moments, but most of it is roll-your-eyes at material. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Contains a few good moments, especially towards the end, but is overall fairly flat. I wished they would've developed their characters a bit more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
survivorfan989Apr 16, 2013
It's an amusing 90's Comedy I'll give it that and probably one of Adam Sandler's more memorable roles but that doesn't mean it's a good movie. Very silly and borderline stupid, but for some reason there's enough nostalgia there and funnyIt's an amusing 90's Comedy I'll give it that and probably one of Adam Sandler's more memorable roles but that doesn't mean it's a good movie. Very silly and borderline stupid, but for some reason there's enough nostalgia there and funny moments to make it passable. I've never been a huge fan of Sandler or his style of Comedy but out of all his films this one is probably one of the funniest, if not for the wrong reasons, but there's no denying his fan base loves whatever he does! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
bladeagentMar 1, 2014
Billy Madison has inspired moments of lunacy, but doesn't exactly live up to classics like Wayne's World or Austin Powers. There is one good thing though: This is nothing compared to what Sandler will make later in his career.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
candtJun 15, 2011
It's like everyone in this movie is funny except for Adam Sandler. Some parts made me laugh, others made me cringe. I didn't like the constant objectification of Ms. Vaughn either.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
chwMay 25, 2015
Billy Madison was not a good movie. People use the excuse that "Adam Sandler is just playing an idiot." That's not true. Adam Sandler was acting like an autistic grown man with a development disorder. Forrest Gump is a good movie idiot, butBilly Madison was not a good movie. People use the excuse that "Adam Sandler is just playing an idiot." That's not true. Adam Sandler was acting like an autistic grown man with a development disorder. Forrest Gump is a good movie idiot, but Billy Madison is a child stuck in a stoned man's body. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
loudrossFeb 23, 2015
the metascore is definitely too low, but Billy Madison is nothing special. It's just an all right comedy at best, but the poor (sometimes annoying) of Adam Sandler make this a difficult watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cumoviesOct 17, 2014
Some funny parts but mostly just overly stupid billy maidson is a low blow adam sandler comedy with not reccomended by me.............................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews