Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Director Ridley Scott's adaptation of the true war story of the attack on a group of U.S. special forces sent into Somalia in 1993 to destabilize the government and bring food and humanitarian aid to the starving population.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 100
    His is a triumph of pure filmmaking, a pitiless, unrelenting, no-excuses war movie so thoroughly convincing it's frequently difficult to believe it is a staged re-creation.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    100
    It takes its place on the very short list of the unforgettable movies about war and its ineradicable and immeasurable costs.
  3. Rivets our interest for its entire lengthy running time. And it does this without any of the usual war movie clichés, false heroics, barracks-humor nonsense or grandstanding absurdities.
  4. You're drawn in, like it or not. You can't get away from the immediacy. Or the feeling that you're getting sucked in, too.
  5. A beautifully filmed, scrupulously authentic but strangely evasive exercise in combat ultra-realism.
  6. 60
    In the end, neither the appealing cast -- nor the force of Scott's stunning imagery is enough to make us understand why these men died.
  7. Perhaps they truly believe war is an inescapable aspect of human life. If so, why make movies that rub our faces in its horror? If artists have no antidote to war's evil or insight into the suffering it brings, their motive in depicting it must be merely to sensationalize its terrors and make money from the morbid fascination it holds for audiences. We deserve better.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 103
  2. Negative: 11 out of 103
  1. D.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    One of the best war movies of all time. Right up there with Saving Privet Ryan.
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    First off, this would be a 9.5 out of 10. Great movie. Acting is good. Everyone does a fine performance in the movie. Score is great. TheFirst off, this would be a 9.5 out of 10. Great movie. Acting is good. Everyone does a fine performance in the movie. Score is great. The music throughout the movie is really weLl made. The story is also great as well. The action/war scenes are well made. They can be pretty epic. Overall, this is one of the best war movies ever. It's intense and a great movie to watch. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. jennyb
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Black Hawk Down is a movie worth seeing. Non-stop packed action, and thrill. You really see what these soldiers go through. I would rate this Black Hawk Down is a movie worth seeing. Non-stop packed action, and thrill. You really see what these soldiers go through. I would rate this movie in my own top 2! Very well done!! Expand
  4. DannyM.
    Jan 24, 2009
    9
    I love the (More then most) realism of this movie! Fingers getting shot off and STAYING SHOT OFF. The characters act like they would in a I love the (More then most) realism of this movie! Fingers getting shot off and STAYING SHOT OFF. The characters act like they would in a real battle: Intense, active, and alert. What I also like about Black Hawk Down is that they portray the US Armed Force as heros. "ONLY WORDS IN THE DICTIONARY CAN BE USED IN SCRABBLE!!!" Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    This movie, which by the way, is based of a book of the same name written in 1999 by Mark Bowden is a great way to teach and learn about theThis movie, which by the way, is based of a book of the same name written in 1999 by Mark Bowden is a great way to teach and learn about the events that happened in the Battle of Mogadishu. I, however, knew about this particular battle before watching the movie gave me a new perspective on the battle. It was a very depressing and horrid event, but I am glad to say that this movie is very good and you can watch it free on Netflix now so why not watch it? Anyways, I can gladly say that movie has aged well and is still a pleasure to watch. I really do feel the emotions and hardship the troops went through. The key players in this are the U.S. Special Forces (160th SOAR, Delta Force, and the 75th Rangers) and Mohamed Farrah Aidid and his militia, who by the way, are blocking the food/medicine supplies as their weapon. So the US Special Forces are sent in after an attack on UN and Pakistani troops. The movie is all about the title "Black Hawk Down" for those of you who don't know a Black Hawk is a military helicopter. A helicopter crashes and ground troops and helicopters are reverted to go back to the crash site to get back the survivors and equipment. Anyways, now that you know the plot, the movie acts this out very well and I think the SFX were brilliant for their age. I also loved the cast of characters and their role in the movie, they all seem connected. I love military movies and documentaries, so this review may be a bit biased. BUT, compared to the other horrible military movies out there this is a must watch for anyone, really. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    US Forces go into Somalia to get rebel boss, helicopter gets shot down, have to rescue them, another helicopter goes down, more rescuing.US Forces go into Somalia to get rebel boss, helicopter gets shot down, have to rescue them, another helicopter goes down, more rescuing.
    Starts off quite slow for the first half hour then once the action starts, it never stops.
    Top notch battle scenes with a top notch cast, great visuals & breathtaking action throughout.
    Expand
  7. MartinsH.
    Mar 19, 2008
    3
    The movie was announced as an anti-war-movie, but its only a detailed story of a mission that fails, in which american soldiers are finally The movie was announced as an anti-war-movie, but its only a detailed story of a mission that fails, in which american soldiers are finally depicted as heroes once more. Supported by the US Army... No real critcism, no background information about the war that would allow a deeper questioning of the mission - thats not enough. This movie is not more than a show. The show as such is realistically done, but it's just as flat as its characters. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ridley Scott: All Films Considered

    Ridley Scott: All Films Considered Image
    Published: May 12, 2010
    The famed director's latest big-budget adventure, "Robin Hood," arrives in theaters this week. We take the opportunity to look back at Scott's career and rank his films from best to worst.