User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 942 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 942
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MkM
    Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Make note: of the two idiots who gave this bad reviews, one did so to draw attention to a technical problem with the metacritic site and the other wrote his based on the trailer, which made him "angry" even though he doesn't seem to know what the movie is actually about. Frustrating. Oh, and by the way, the movie is one of the best to come out this year.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    An excellent psychological-horror film. The score does a wonderful job of setting the mood and tone, along with the excellent cinematographic. The acting overall is phenomenal. It would be a shame if Portman did not get Oscar consideration for her role. In a age where for some, being entertained at the movies is a rare occasion, Black Swan succeeds triumphantly.
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    Amazing visceral acting, cinematography, score, and most importantly, the film deeply immerses you.

    Natalie Portman deserves an oscar nomination for her role.
  4. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best movies made in the past ten years. Its art is mesmerizing. Its entry into the psyche of Portman nearly singularly unique. Its portrayal of the relationships excellent, its moments of tenderness and want, concern and horror, worthy of almost any director. Over the years, we will see this film grow in stature. Its record twelve Broadcast Film Critics AssociationThis is one of the best movies made in the past ten years. Its art is mesmerizing. Its entry into the psyche of Portman nearly singularly unique. Its portrayal of the relationships excellent, its moments of tenderness and want, concern and horror, worthy of almost any director. Over the years, we will see this film grow in stature. Its record twelve Broadcast Film Critics Association nominations are no mistake. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    An excellent movie. Definitely a Best Picture. The acting is just brilliant and if you don't see it know I guarantee you will be missing out on an important piece of 21st century cinema.
  6. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Leaving the theater, my friend and I overheard a man say, The lesbian scenes werenâ
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Wow. The one weak link is the screenplay (Cassel has to say some truly awful lines). I couldn't possibly care less. I haven't seen a film this visceral in years, maybe ever. Portman is career-best (by a lot) and Barbara Hershey is superb. Perfectly captures the weird dichotomy of the deathly serious and the absurd that any obsessive artist confronts themselves with on a daily basis... whyWow. The one weak link is the screenplay (Cassel has to say some truly awful lines). I couldn't possibly care less. I haven't seen a film this visceral in years, maybe ever. Portman is career-best (by a lot) and Barbara Hershey is superb. Perfectly captures the weird dichotomy of the deathly serious and the absurd that any obsessive artist confronts themselves with on a daily basis... why do we let ourselves tear ourselves to shreds over something that, in the grand scheme, should be so trivial? Black Swan doesn't answer the question and doesn't seek to, but it does explore it through a totally committed performance from Natalie Portman that has to be one of the most difficult acting assignments I've seen someone take on in a film in years. A dizzy, demented film that doesn't give a damn about the line between reality and delirium. I love that. Expand
  8. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Stupendous film, which could have at its core the would-be, the almost, the near-but-not quite great, the jock who is on the brink of stardom but can't cope with the pressure, the constant stress and anxiety, the bodily abuse. Except it's the mirror image, the almost great ballerina who is coping poorly (at best) with the stress/fatigue/injuries/obsessions/dedication/rejection/guiltStupendous film, which could have at its core the would-be, the almost, the near-but-not quite great, the jock who is on the brink of stardom but can't cope with the pressure, the constant stress and anxiety, the bodily abuse. Except it's the mirror image, the almost great ballerina who is coping poorly (at best) with the stress/fatigue/injuries/obsessions/dedication/rejection/guilt trips, ya-da. Definitely not for those who like fluff, Mr. Happy-Face, P or PG rating, or perhaps R ratings based on swearing or violence. A true "art house", "artsy - f--tsy", "thinkin' " movie. The remarkable finish leaves the audience stunned, astonished, agog. Expand
  9. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really feel like Aronofsky has found a happy medium between Requiem for a Dream and The Wrestler with his latest masterpiece, Black Swan. He definitely takes his interpretation of Swan Lake and All About Eve to some unique places with the film. And he doesn't feel the need to have to make sense on a practical level, because he is using his chosen medium to express the torment Natalie Portman's character is going through as she prepares for the greatest role of her career. And the film parallels both the stories of Swan Lake and All About Eve's storylines on a metaphorical level that is raw and provocative. I have talked with many people who hated this film and our biggest degree of separation is the fact that I felt this film perfectly conveys what it is to put one's self out there on the stage, and what an actor (or dancer) must do to get to a certain place. They felt that the film's unrealities derailed it from the point it was trying to make. But I don't think a good filmmaker must be constricted by reality when trying to prove a point. An artist must separate themselves from who they are and become what the character demands. Portman's character didn't need to change to be the White Swan. But to be the Black Swan, she had to abandon everything her mother wanted her to be. Which brings me to the relationship between Portman and Barbara Hershey. I personally know girls who have this EXACT relationship with their mothers. I even know a girl who was named after Baryshnikov, who trained as a ballerina as a young girl, but ultimately gave up that dream and she has this exact relationship with HER mother. So needless to say this relationship REALLY spoke to me. The mother wants her daughter to remain innocent and perfect and be the ballerina in the box. But she ultimately becomes the broken and chipped away figurine because that's what life does to us. She has to rebel against her mother, her company, and even herself to find the darkness within that she needs to play this part. And if people don't really believe this is what artists go through, they don't have to look as far back as Van Gogh severing his ear to remember the fates of Heath Ledger and River Phoenix. Some artists who try and tap into the darkness wind up killing themselves in the same way Portman's character slips over the edge. That's why I think this movie is so spectacular, and why Portman deserves the Oscar. Her transformation was flawless. And lovely to watch. And Clint Mansell's hypnotic score ushered us along in perfect sync with Portman's descent. For someone who has enjoyed ballets and operas and theatre in general, Aronfsky has given us a dour tour de force that should satisfy most pallets, whether they can handle the macabre elements or not. I can't wait to see what he does with The Wolverine. Haha. Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    This movie is stunning. I just love a movie when, after you leave, you can't stop thinking about it and talking about it. Well made and well acted, a must see.
  11. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    If 'Black Swan' was directed by David Fincher, it would be called 'Ballet Club,' and it would be a thematic sequel to 'Fight Club.' However, it wasn't directed by Fincher, but instead by Darren Aronofsky, which explains why it is probably the most well-directed movie of the year. I can't say that it is the best film of the year, which I believe is 'The Social Network' because it is bothIf 'Black Swan' was directed by David Fincher, it would be called 'Ballet Club,' and it would be a thematic sequel to 'Fight Club.' However, it wasn't directed by Fincher, but instead by Darren Aronofsky, which explains why it is probably the most well-directed movie of the year. I can't say that it is the best film of the year, which I believe is 'The Social Network' because it is both good and culturally relevant, but Aronofsky's skill is at its peak in 'Black Swan,' and it sure is something to marvel. I believe Aronofsky exquisitely directed the most perfectly structured and beautifully told story of any film I have seen this year. I still give major props to Fincher, as well as David O Russell ('The Fighter') and Christopher Nolan ('Inception'). Natalie Portman steals the screen for the majority of the film, brilliantly portraying the fragile ballerina Nina Sayers. After winging the role of the Swan Queen in the upcoming show of the popular Swan Lake dance, Nina struggles to move out of the shadow of her nutty, sheltering mother, while rejecting the sexual advances and dark nature of her extremely professional instructor, all the while preparing for a performance she wants to make perfect. Seeing 'Tron Legacy' and 'The Fighter' before this (I saw all three in one day) helped keep me up with this whole perfection fiasco, which is the entire theme of 'Black Swan.' The most brilliant thing about 'Black Swan' is that it actually adapts the story of 'Swan Lake' into Nina's story that we see in the film. Since I'm a guy, I know very little about 'Swan Lake,' but Aronofsky obviously wasn't targeting all females with this film, so he throws in a summary about halfway in. It is then that you should be able to pick up that everything Nina is going through is a literal translation of the 'Swan Lake' story. This is even easier to notice with the orchestra music that plays throughout the movie during scenes that would not normally have music playing in the background. Most guys won't find this information fascinating at all, but hey, we get to see two hot chicks making out. Or do we? Aronofsky does a lot more with this film than you'll probably be able to notice after seeing it once. This includes having Natalie Portman always wearing white while Mila Kunis always wears black, to represent Portman as the Swan and Kunis as the dark side, although this symbolism is all in Nina's head. Her reluctance to push everyone else out of her life shows as we continually see her trying to keep her mother out of her room, as well as her attempts to impress her instructor while failing to understand what he wants out of her. Her struggle to impress two perfectionists drives her to the point of insanity, and the balance of the two characters on Nina's shoulders represents the struggle of the "swan" with it's dark side, which we see leads to a surprisingly extravagant conclusion. I would say that Aronofsky was very Fincher-esque with the psychological mindf**k, Kubrickian with the perfectionist structure of the film (especially with the bombastically loud orchestral soundtrack), or even Tarantinoish with the way he incorporated symbolism every which way (as 'Inglourious Basterds' did), but if you have seen any of this director's past films, you will understand that this is all Aronofsky. While it is indeed perfect, and very symbolic, it is also very dark and never afraid to push the limits, just as his other films are. 'Black Swan' as a whole represents the beauty of Aronofsky's dark natured filmography, although some will not like it since the limits the film pursues to push are not the type fans of Disney's 'Ice Princess' would've expected. It actually thrilled me to see many of the young girls in the theater covering their eyes throughout the film, just so I could assure myself that I wasn't watching some Hannah Montana manure. Expand
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    Kenneth Turan of the LA Times is absolutely clueless. This film was brilliant. The fact that you are unable to distinguish reality from psychosis is what is so compelling about the piece. Natalie Portman deserves an Oscar for her amazing performance.
  13. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    I hate to be so vulgar but this movie was a total mindf*ck; and I mean that in the best way. Seriously, I don't know how else to describe it. Whatever it feels like to drop acid, that's what this movie was like. Mesmerizing. Uncomfortably intense, dark, powerful, creepy, sexy, and heartbreaking. I recommend you see it; it will kick your ass and you'll love every second of it!
  14. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    As any movie, Black Swan has it's little defects. Even though i am willing to call it - Masterpiece. Natalie Portman's performance is breathtaking. We see Nina as a skilled ballet dancer obsessed of the desire of being perfect. She has the greet opportunity of playing the lead role in Swan Lake, but to take it she has to become the very best. Finally it results that the only obstacle onAs any movie, Black Swan has it's little defects. Even though i am willing to call it - Masterpiece. Natalie Portman's performance is breathtaking. We see Nina as a skilled ballet dancer obsessed of the desire of being perfect. She has the greet opportunity of playing the lead role in Swan Lake, but to take it she has to become the very best. Finally it results that the only obstacle on her way is her own personality. That is one of those love or hate movies. As you watch it you stop thinking about the other stuff and once it is over you spend several seconds or even a minute staring at the screen, processing the information, while wondering what exactly you just saw. As the time passes by the image becomes clearer and at the end you succeed in realising it's message. For me that's the idea of a brilliant movie, the one that leaves a trace behind in your mind and soul. Expand
  15. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Natalie Portman was difficult to watch in this so-called psychological thriller. Her quest for perfection took her into the uncharted territory of real/imagined physical injuries and damages, real/imagined conflicts with her demanding and smothering mother and her jealous competitors, and real/imagined conflicts about her sexuality.
    This movie was painful to watch because it WENT NOWHERE
    Natalie Portman was difficult to watch in this so-called psychological thriller. Her quest for perfection took her into the uncharted territory of real/imagined physical injuries and damages, real/imagined conflicts with her demanding and smothering mother and her jealous competitors, and real/imagined conflicts about her sexuality.
    This movie was painful to watch because it WENT NOWHERE and had no UNDERSTANDABLE RESOLUTION in the final frame. If I had ten thumbs, they would all be DOWN in rating this abortive attempt at defining the conflicts of a woman searching for ultimate acceptance of her talents by all her peers and her critics. An absolutely HORRIBLE, DEPRESSING MOVIE!!
    Expand
  16. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Perfection--a major theme of the film and ultimately what it achieves. Portman is stunning. Aronofsky's direction is masterful. The cinematography and sound are interesting and integral to the story. This is simply a masterpiece in the psychological horror oeuvre.
  17. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    I really love Natalie Portman's performance ever in this dark twisted movie. She really scared everyone in the audience. Black Swan is a perfect film that shows a character who really wanted to become a perfect ballerina so she can be in the musical stage and then she got split personality on herself that she couldn't control herself all because of the fears of practicing ballet. ButI really love Natalie Portman's performance ever in this dark twisted movie. She really scared everyone in the audience. Black Swan is a perfect film that shows a character who really wanted to become a perfect ballerina so she can be in the musical stage and then she got split personality on herself that she couldn't control herself all because of the fears of practicing ballet. But also,I really love for my personally favorite is to all of you men,that we love to see Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis are making out in this picture,that's it! Expand
  18. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie! Natalie Portman was mesmerizing! I was on the edge of my seat for most of the movie. It was exhilarating and disturbing at the same time. An Oscar contender for certain. I would see this movie again.
  19. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    From the opening scene to the final credits this movie had me completely wrapped around its finger for the whole time. Natalie Portman gives a performance of a lifetime. The story and direction are executed brilliantly. Though I could talk ad nauseum about the depth and message of the movie, it can simply be summed up by saying everyone involved in this movie deserves any award they areFrom the opening scene to the final credits this movie had me completely wrapped around its finger for the whole time. Natalie Portman gives a performance of a lifetime. The story and direction are executed brilliantly. Though I could talk ad nauseum about the depth and message of the movie, it can simply be summed up by saying everyone involved in this movie deserves any award they are nominated for. Expand
  20. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie to come out in the past twenty years. Absolutely gorgeous, and haunting at the same time. It will stay on your mind for days after seeing it. Every Academy Award should go to Black Swan, Natalie Portman, and Darren Aronofsky. My new favorite movie.
  21. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece. F'in Masterpiece.
  22. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Bravo! Encore! The best film I have seen for a very long time.
    A spectacular film, through the brilliant mind of Aranofsky who never ceases to impress me. The story is gripping, with strong contrast between beauty and elegance with darkness and insanity. The score is really moving and adds to the suspense and the surprisingly the previously shallow Portman brings a rich in layer and
    Bravo! Encore! The best film I have seen for a very long time.
    A spectacular film, through the brilliant mind of Aranofsky who never ceases to impress me. The story is gripping, with strong contrast between beauty and elegance with darkness and insanity. The score is really moving and adds to the suspense and the surprisingly the previously shallow Portman brings a rich in layer and depth performance worthy of many awards!
    Expand
  23. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Almost certainly one of the best films I have ever seen. It has the same levels of intensity as a **** film, and uses the same black and white depiction of good and evil to visually emphasize the thematic progression. To say this film rocked me, frightened me, and amazed me would be an understatement. I have never, ever had to sit down in the theatre lobby after a movie to process what wasAlmost certainly one of the best films I have ever seen. It has the same levels of intensity as a **** film, and uses the same black and white depiction of good and evil to visually emphasize the thematic progression. To say this film rocked me, frightened me, and amazed me would be an understatement. I have never, ever had to sit down in the theatre lobby after a movie to process what was just viewed - to do it for 30 minutes, only saying to my friends over and over and over again how good the film was, really made it clear that what I watched was something of great power. An important film in the history of film, I hope. Certainly an important film thematically, touching so many ideas and breaking so many expectations - leaving you confused and terrified for the truth....

    Absolutely stunning.
    Expand
  24. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Variously described as a psychological thriller, a body horror film or a descent into madness, the film follows the mental and emotional detoriation of a young ballerina attempting the lead role in swan lake. Pressured by her overbearing mother living vicariously through her, her fiercly competitive peers and her psychologically and sexually assertive director her already frailVariously described as a psychological thriller, a body horror film or a descent into madness, the film follows the mental and emotional detoriation of a young ballerina attempting the lead role in swan lake. Pressured by her overbearing mother living vicariously through her, her fiercly competitive peers and her psychologically and sexually assertive director her already frail personality deteriorates.
    The film variously addresses the balance between perfection, control and passion. It also portrays Obssesive complusive disorder, body dysmorphism, self mutilation, bulimia, anorexia and the visual hallucinations of psychoses.

    The film is shot in a grainy, close up, hand held style and in such a manner the audience is barely able to disthinquish reality from fantasy much as the main character herself can not. The file is a likely n od for best picture, best director and best actress and perhaps other technical awards as well. Not for everyone but definitely a critical and artistic acheivement of note.
    Expand
  25. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Really good movie. Excellent acting from the cast, especially Natalie Portman. The scene with her and Mila Kunis in her bedroom was amazing. I left the theatre stunned, in a good way. Go see it now!
  26. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Black Swan is not a psychological thriller that's privy to holding hands with its audience. In fact, you're expected to comprehend its entirety on your own. If you have problems understanding obsessive compulsive disorders and elaborate hallucinations mixed with other psychotic tendencies, Black Swan will confuse you. But in the midst of the confusion is the pure value of the film -- thisBlack Swan is not a psychological thriller that's privy to holding hands with its audience. In fact, you're expected to comprehend its entirety on your own. If you have problems understanding obsessive compulsive disorders and elaborate hallucinations mixed with other psychotic tendencies, Black Swan will confuse you. But in the midst of the confusion is the pure value of the film -- this stuff is WORTH studying. Natalie Portman's quest to perform her greatest role isn't a high school drama escapade, it's a disturbing reality that traumatizes and destroys the life of real people. Black Swan is one of the best productions in recent memory, and it's a must watch for anyone curious. Expand
  27. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    This movie is ally hype. It's nothing more than a compilation of lesbian sex scenes, blood and emotion. If this is what the world calls a good movie I seriously wonder what the hell is in the water these days! Americans need to wake up and see what is essentially softcore porn.
  28. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Wonderful film, both artistic and psychological approaches were fantastic. Nina didn't distinguish reality from imagination until the end, it was necessary for her to kill Lily so she could be her alter-ego (in the way it resembles Lily), certain psychological depth. She took the path of the self abyss, so when she could became perfection she died, has a being she could never achieve.
    I've
    Wonderful film, both artistic and psychological approaches were fantastic. Nina didn't distinguish reality from imagination until the end, it was necessary for her to kill Lily so she could be her alter-ego (in the way it resembles Lily), certain psychological depth. She took the path of the self abyss, so when she could became perfection she died, has a being she could never achieve.
    I've red so many critics, and still, I doubt if some journalists should have their way in critics.
    Certainly the best of the year
    Expand
  29. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    '"Black Swan'": Horrifically Beautiful

    In a year full of great films by Hollywood's most talented storytellers, Black Swan manages to rise above the rest. In today's modern age of crystal clear high-definition and mind-blowing 3D effects, director Darren Aronofsky is not afraid to create a beautiful piece of visual art with grain and grittiness. But how would you classify this film?
    '"Black Swan'": Horrifically Beautiful

    In a year full of great films by Hollywood's most talented storytellers, Black Swan manages to rise above the rest.

    In today's modern age of crystal clear high-definition and mind-blowing 3D effects, director Darren Aronofsky is not afraid to create a beautiful piece of visual art with grain and grittiness. But how would you classify this film? Psychological thriller? Horror? Art dance piece? The truth is it is all of these, executed to perfection.

    A good film is usually respected because the filmmaker is able to execute one or two important elements really well. Either the story is unique and well told, or they were able to get great performances, but it is truly a rare film that is able to tell a compelling story while at the same time using each aspect of filmmaking to its full potential. In "Black Swan", Aronofksy was able bring together production design, cinematography, editing, and sound design in such away that the audience was brought completely into the world of Nina Sayers, played by Natalie Portman. From the very first frame, with Portman dancing alone in a spotlight, the audience can't help but be captivated and drawn into the film.

    There were some very interesting, very brilliant choices in cinematography throughout the film. What is truly amazing, looking at the technical specs, is that while most of the film was shot on 16mm film stock, some sequences were seamlessly integrated into the film that were shot on the Canon 7D, a digital camera. How they were able to utilize and intercut the two mediums is remarkable in itself, but Aronofsky and his cinematographer, Matthew Libatique were able to achieve a specific look for every scene in such a way that would have been impossible using only one medium, all the while keeping the overall asthetic of the film surprisingly consistent. But what is really noteworthy of Aronofsky's distinct visual style is his camera work. Starting in "The Wrestler", he began shooting many of his scenes following directly behind his subject. While some storytelling traditionalists might find this odd because you would normally be missing the facial reactions of the characters, it does make you feel like you are experiencing the locations and situations right in the person's shoes, much more so than a point-of-view shot could ever hope to accomplish.

    It was remarkable to see the level of perfection they were able to achieve with the camera operation during the dancing sequences as well. What must have taken take after take to nail it just right came across almost effortless, yet ultimately added so much to the choreography and movement of the dancers. Darren Aronofsky is one of the few directors that doesn't just use his camera as a device to show his story to an audience, but rather uses it as an integral storytelling tool.

    But what ultimately gave these spectacular shots their power was the editing. With some of the strongest cuts to be put on the screen in decades, editor Andrew Weisblum was able to tell a complicated story at a relentless, riveting pace. Once cut in particular immediately stood out, and that is when the camera is following Portman walking into the Lincoln Center, and we jump-cut to another location while keeping her perfectly in the center of frame. This kind of editing really should not work, because it is visually jarring, yet at the same time it is so intriguing, and practical, to keep the story moving that it perks your attention and keeps you always wanting more. It should be noted here, however, that it is impossible to have this level of editing without having a great sound design accompanying it.

    Despite every single member of the crew obviously performing their jobs expertly, this film really only belongs to one person, and that is Natalie Portaman with the role of her lifetime. We have certainly seen different sides of her as an actress, and how she can, with the right direction, completely immerse herself into a character in her previous work, but never like this. Her burden of carrying this film must have been both emotionally and physically draining beyond imagination. When it comes to an actor being dedicated to their craft, you don't get much better than this. Having to not only perfectly execute the transformation in character from a shy, timid girl into a powerful dancer but all the while having to pull off looking like a world-class ballet dancer is not a job for every actress. Portman always had a certain way of drawing the audience in and being completely captivating to watch, but in this film she really had to go into some dark emotional places that she was able to translate directly onto the screen.

    medinareviews.com
    twitter.com/medinareviews
    Expand
  30. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Natalie Portman did a great job portraying this insecure, shy, wanna-be-perfect ballerina. Her performance was tremendous and Oscar - worthy. this was her role and she will be remembered by it. I won't be surprised if she wins an Oscar for best actress. Honestly i want her to win. I' ve never saw her this perfect. She gave her all for this movie, and she killed it! A great film, definitelyNatalie Portman did a great job portraying this insecure, shy, wanna-be-perfect ballerina. Her performance was tremendous and Oscar - worthy. this was her role and she will be remembered by it. I won't be surprised if she wins an Oscar for best actress. Honestly i want her to win. I' ve never saw her this perfect. She gave her all for this movie, and she killed it! A great film, definitely a must-see. Expand
  31. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    (old review) Critics who don't get this movie or old prudes need not apply. This is one of the most beautifully chaotic yet intelligent movies I have seen. As long as you have good taste and a functioning brain you'll like it, and especially so if you are an artist yourself because it gives you, not so much a comment or exploration (fast becoming a cliche in the critical world), but a(old review) Critics who don't get this movie or old prudes need not apply. This is one of the most beautifully chaotic yet intelligent movies I have seen. As long as you have good taste and a functioning brain you'll like it, and especially so if you are an artist yourself because it gives you, not so much a comment or exploration (fast becoming a cliche in the critical world), but a feeling of art and the excesses to which artists willingly go for their art. This is why I have a feeling some critics didn't "get it." Critics too often calculate and add up too much to recognize their own feelings about a movie, and frequently judge a movie based on its adherence to a particular formula, but this movie tosses away a formula and creates its own impressionistic view of a situation, much like Aronofsky's Requiem for a Dream. There is an added bonus if you are an artist who has given themselves to a project and sacrificed something for it, because this movie shows you the extremes to which you can go for that feeling of having done your job to perfection. As an actor I sympathize mostly with Nina's desire to be perfect and to successfully fulfill her director's wishes, and I'm sure it would apply to so many other fields of creative art.

    Make no mistake, it is a melodrama, and I would compare its tone to the books of Dostoevsky, only with less dialogue and more chaotic dance. It's really quite Russian, as ballet was embraced by the Russians more than many other countries, and let's face it, no one else has matched Fyodor's skill for introspective melodrama in any medium. The end result is that the tone and the subject seem made for each other. Nina is consumed by one zealous focus similar to Alexei Ivanovich, and the style added by Aronofsky's direction makes it totally his. The fast editing, mesmerizing dance choreography, and excellent score made me dizzy, and that was exactly the point. But the one thing that made it truly great as opposed to a beautiful disaster was Natalie Portman. Good God, she gave herself to this role and jumped into the deep end. It's a lovely thing to see an actress these days with talents to match her beauty, and as evidenced in Leon, Natalie has always had talent, but she seemed to have left it at home for a while. Well, all her other roles were warmups compared to this. Paychecks to make it to this script. So haters gonna hate, but you will love or at least appreciate this movie if you let it take you away to another world, or in the case of this one, into someone's eff'd up but utterly fascinating mind. All who love art and good movies go see this now!
    Expand
  32. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    My full review is available on my blog at www.thecriticalfan.blogspot.com My very general thoughts below:

    Darren Aronofsky once directed a gorgeous film called â
  33. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    mila kunis eating the clung out of natalie portman please this is 10 out of 10 material it was a shame u didnt get to see the company director get up to his nuts in guts though
  34. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    For film, it is extremely rare for me to give a perfect rating: Black Swan is more then worthy of one. The direction was bold, sinister, and beautiful. The acting was astounding, by an actress that will soon become a powerhouse in the cinema world. To miss this movie is to miss film at its finest. Do yourself a favor and see "Black Swan". I dare you to find fault in it.
  35. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    Wau!!! Awesome, Natalie Portman is wonderful. She make a mysterious and fantastic interpretation. Darren made a movie that it can be one of the best in this year. Mila Kunis do a great job.
  36. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Portman delivers a brilliant performance in this beautifully illustrated film about a girl picked to be the White Swan in her Ballet group's next performance of Swan Lake, only to go mad from stress and her fear another girl is trying to get her part.

    Kunis came right out of Family Guy to give us her OSCAR Snubbed performance that let's us see her in an all new light!

    The film brings ballet, something that would put a man off by but it captures the thrills and the horror and neatly sows them into place into this artistic picture everyone can enjoy.
    Expand
  37. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    A dark, twisted, haunting masterpiece. If Portman doesnt win her first oscar here I will be surprised. Aronofsky is one of the best directors currently in hollywood.
  38. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This movie pulls you in demanding an emotional response and keeping you on edge. Surely this is what movies are all about: making you invest in the story and want to see the outcome, no matter how nail-biting the ride may be. The final ten minutes are stunning, as is Natalie Portman's performance. I could feel her pain and uncertainty. I went away thinking that it was the bestThis movie pulls you in demanding an emotional response and keeping you on edge. Surely this is what movies are all about: making you invest in the story and want to see the outcome, no matter how nail-biting the ride may be. The final ten minutes are stunning, as is Natalie Portman's performance. I could feel her pain and uncertainty. I went away thinking that it was the best performance, and transformation, since Meryl Streep in "Sophie's Choice". And, having had a schizophrenic child in my household, complete with his delusions of grandeur and hallucinations, I can completely understand the darkness in Portman's character. When she said, "I want it to be perfect" I knew her at once, without the obvious bulimia or scratching or delusions. The people around her had tortured her into becoming the caged animal waiting to break out. Bravo! Expand
  39. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    I like lesbians so when that lesbian scene came up, I was all like "Awh sweet, I like this." So if you want to catch some hot lesbian action, watch this movie. They lez out.
  40. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    This is the type of movies that elevates cinema as an art to a whole higher level. There's been a very few in the last decade, and "Black Swan" is one of them. It's transcending. It's something else. Makes you remember/realize how powerful movies can be and how they can truly be masterpieces and have a life and a full universe of their own. As disturbingly beautiful as Munch's "Scream" is.
  41. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is one of the best. It has suspense from beginning to end, the actors are great. I love these thrillers. History is great, the script is great. The soundtrack of a touch of suspense in the songs. One of the best films of 2010 to 2011. Expand
  42. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best movies of all time. Natalie is great, Aronofsky in his best moment, everything PERFECT! And the OST is amazing, i can't stop listening that. Expand
  43. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Outstanding. No doubt one of the best films of the year. Best thriller/drama movie I've seen yet. Natalie Portman's performance is incredible, such as the other actors in the film.
  44. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An amazing movie with the best spectacular performance of Natalie Portman. It's another good movie by Aronovsky. Undoubtedly worth seeing. Go to the cinema! Expand
  45. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Does Aronofsky do his best to cheaply thwart all of the viewers attempts at rationalizing an implausible film in an attempt to make an otherwise boring storyline interesting? Yes he does. Does his succeed? Debatable. But does Aronofsky create one of the greatest psychological thrillers of all time out of a story about a stressed ballet dancer? Without question.
  46. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    I just watched the film yesterday, and I can honestly say that "Black Swan" is, without a doubt, my favorite film of all times, (beating my former favorite: Fellini's "Eight and a Half"). In a sense, both films have lots in common. Both explore the inner turmoil and real-life hardships of people working in the entertainment business, or that of artists in general. Both films are centeredI just watched the film yesterday, and I can honestly say that "Black Swan" is, without a doubt, my favorite film of all times, (beating my former favorite: Fellini's "Eight and a Half"). In a sense, both films have lots in common. Both explore the inner turmoil and real-life hardships of people working in the entertainment business, or that of artists in general. Both films are centered on characters how are under massive pressure from the people in their lives, and both little by little fall appart because of it.
    Now that I think about it, however, unlike "Eight and a Half", "Black Swan" is not a "comedy" (as Fellini himself defined his film) but is almost a horror film. Nina Sayers (amazingly performed by Natalie Portman, who has become my second favorite actress, after Marion Cotillard) is evidently losing her mind, suffering from hallucinations and paranoia, which may or may not be completelly unjustified, living under the rule of a manipulative and oppressive mother, who tries to compensate her own failure as a ballerina by forcing her daughter to devote her whole existence to ballet. Nina is unhealthilly obsessed with perfection, and it seems as if she was a robot, whose only purpose is to dance.
    "Black Swan" is enthralling, disturbing and terrifying. It keeps you on the edge all the way, even if the whole premise becomes obvious and predictable, because the film's point of view is completelly focused on Nina, and thus, even the most surrealistic events don't seem entirelly unreal. Near the end of the film, you lose, just like Nina, the ability to distinguish between what is real and what isn't.
    The other actors are excellent in their performance, and the soundtrack, which I guess belongs to the actual "Swan Lake", is not only fitting but it even helps to pull you into every scene, but the largest assets are the scarse, but bone-chilling, special effects, and Natalie Portman's mind-bending, trully Oscar-deserving performance.
    You want a good mind-f***k? Go and watch "Black Swan"!!
    Score: 10.0
    Expand
  47. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    It pretty obvious whats going to be the ending, but its beautifully delivered. The actors are beyond expectations. Great production team. The dialogues are poor in a few parts. One of the best movies i have seen. Worth watching.
  48. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This movie is easily the best of the year. The film is as intriguing as a Christopher Nolan film and as beautiful as any movie. Natalie Portman is at her best in this movie. Mila Kunis showed us that she is able to do more than just dumb comedy television. It seems that this could be the jumping off point for a very long career for a very talented actress.
  49. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    I'm a very picky person, and I only have a very short list of mives that are my all time favorites, and not is Black Swan in that list, but it tops off that list. It is simply the best film I've ever seen. Number one Natalie Portman was phenominal in her role as Nina. It was a very hard role, and she had it doen to a T. She totally desereved her Oscar. The real star though is DarrenI'm a very picky person, and I only have a very short list of mives that are my all time favorites, and not is Black Swan in that list, but it tops off that list. It is simply the best film I've ever seen. Number one Natalie Portman was phenominal in her role as Nina. It was a very hard role, and she had it doen to a T. She totally desereved her Oscar. The real star though is Darren Aronofsky. His direction in this film was absolutley breathtaking. He is one of the best filmmakers left in Hollywood. His movies are always good, if not great. The way he directed this film was a spooky and creepy. The way the classical music was used in this film was absolutley genius. The cinematography in every scene was excellent. It created the tension for the film and never let you go until the last moment. The use of black and white as symbolism was also a very good mood and the love scene between Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis was beautiful. It wasn't gratuitous or exploitative. It was forced or thrown in. It went with the movie. The film creeped me out, it had at the edge of my seat and at that final moment, it had me tearing up. Why didn't this movie win any more Oscars? It was absolutley perfect. This film stayed with me even after I watched it and I have a feeling that it will stay with me for a long time. Expand
  50. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just... perfect......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  51. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    I cannot understand why people keep saying that this movie will be "forgotten". I don't think that I will be able to unsee the images I witnessed in this film, and for that, I applaud Black Swan. This is an incredibly beautiful, utterly disturbing film, which will leave you on tenterhooks the entire time. A must-see, and a must-have for the household (though the kids may not want to watch...).
  52. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    10 because watching it at an independent cinema about a month after it released was the best cinema experience i've had. If this film was watched at anything less than a home cinema, it wouldn't have been anywhere near as enjoyable.
  53. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    The movie is disturbing all the way to its closing scene, haunting the viewer with its brilliant cinematography and beautifully choreographed and shot dance scenes. The movie is intoxicating, fast-paced, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is all very good, and Natalie Portman certainly deserves recognition for her fantastic work. A fantastic film.
  54. May 14, 2011
    10
    One word describes the entire film phenomenal !!!! I loved the cinematography and the fascinating plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat ,and left you craving to perceive what was approaching next . This film easily sucks you in and won't let your interest vanish.
  55. May 23, 2011
    10
    Well, y'know... It was a brilliant idea to pursue it with Natalie Portman in mind you know. She was just amazing and her depth! Oh how she scared the sh*t outta me? Dear Lord, your movie is the horror film of the year because of Portman and... Barbara Hershey! Scariest lady since Sylvia Ganush! Damn, I also commend Vincent Cassel and Mila Kunis! But oh, I couldn't put into words how much IWell, y'know... It was a brilliant idea to pursue it with Natalie Portman in mind you know. She was just amazing and her depth! Oh how she scared the sh*t outta me? Dear Lord, your movie is the horror film of the year because of Portman and... Barbara Hershey! Scariest lady since Sylvia Ganush! Damn, I also commend Vincent Cassel and Mila Kunis! But oh, I couldn't put into words how much I admire this. Forget the Step Up 3D sh*t, this is the best dance movie of 2010! Expand
  56. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Honestly. The best movie I've ever seen. I believe it was a nicely cast film and well written. It takes you deep into the psychologically disturbed mind of Nina (Natalie Portman). It's apparent that Nina is a closed off "mama's" girl. Nina, still living with her mother and sleeping in a pink bedroom, starts the film seeming rather normal with a few odd things such as the scratches on herHonestly. The best movie I've ever seen. I believe it was a nicely cast film and well written. It takes you deep into the psychologically disturbed mind of Nina (Natalie Portman). It's apparent that Nina is a closed off "mama's" girl. Nina, still living with her mother and sleeping in a pink bedroom, starts the film seeming rather normal with a few odd things such as the scratches on her back. Things seem to spiral further into psychological torment after she is cast as Swan Queen in "Swan Lake". She, as well as the audience, begins to see things wrong with her that everyone around her cannot see. For example, the tearing of skin off her finger in the bathroom, the lesbian love scene with Lily (Mila Kunis). In this fantastic psychological thriller Natalie Portman reaches what seems to be deep down to be able to portray herself as this disturbed soul. The last scene is simply breathtakingly fantastic, leaving you in awe and wanting more. One of the best film's I have ever seen. I say you must watch "Black Swan". Expand
  57. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I really, really enjoyed this movie. It's a masterpiece, one of the best movies in the last decade. It's all about the heroin's personality, feelings, reactions and interactions with other characters; which are all just so beautifully portrayed by Natalie Portman, she really deserved that Oscar. The whole movie is centered on Nina and you experience every emotions with her, which is veryI really, really enjoyed this movie. It's a masterpiece, one of the best movies in the last decade. It's all about the heroin's personality, feelings, reactions and interactions with other characters; which are all just so beautifully portrayed by Natalie Portman, she really deserved that Oscar. The whole movie is centered on Nina and you experience every emotions with her, which is very stimulating. Truly a masterpiece. A work of art. I can only hope you get to feel the way I did. Otherwise, well.. you'll end up putting a bad score on it. Expand
  58. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    I wanna start by saying that this is probably, the best movie i've ever seen in my entire life. I mean Natalie was PERFECT, The screenplay is amazing, the cinematography is amazing, everything is perfect about this movie. I can't think of anything bad to say about this masterpiece. Darren Aronofsky is definitely one of the most talented directors in the movie industry. Even Vicent,I wanna start by saying that this is probably, the best movie i've ever seen in my entire life. I mean Natalie was PERFECT, The screenplay is amazing, the cinematography is amazing, everything is perfect about this movie. I can't think of anything bad to say about this masterpiece. Darren Aronofsky is definitely one of the most talented directors in the movie industry. Even Vicent, Barbara, Mila and Winona were great in this movie. Amazing, amazing talent. This is the one that should've won Best Picture, instead of "The King's Speech". I felt everything while watching this movie. I highly recommend it!
    Black Swan : a 10 out of 10 !
    Expand
  59. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. I would see it again. I always like Natalie Portman in any film. ......................................................................................................................
  60. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    It's a truly masterpiece. Aranofsky's amazing direction is aided by a good supporting cast, a cinematography of highest level and a brilliant, terrific and memorable performance by Natalie Portman.
  61. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Depuis son rôle dans Léon, Natalie Portman n'a plus eu de chanche pour nous éblouir. Avec Black Swan, nous pouvons admirer cette actrice une nouvelle fois, à sa juste valeur, dans un film en tout point prenant, sensuel et superbement mis en scène. Drame, "érotique", thriller, horreur...presque tous les genres seDepuis son rôle dans Léon, Natalie Portman n'a plus eu de chanche pour nous éblouir. Avec Black Swan, nous pouvons admirer cette actrice une nouvelle fois, à sa juste valeur, dans un film en tout point prenant, sensuel et superbement mis en scène. Drame, "érotique", thriller, horreur...presque tous les genres se sont donnés rendez-vous pour faire de cette oeuvre l'un des meilleurs films de cette année! Expand
  62. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    There are few directors working today who are as talented, original, and fearless as Darren Aronofsky. From Requiem for a Dream, to the underrated The Fountain, to The Wrestler, he is constantly pushing the boundary and creating compelling works of art that will stand the test of time. Black Swan is one of his crowning achievements. It is such an odd blend of moods and textures, stylesThere are few directors working today who are as talented, original, and fearless as Darren Aronofsky. From Requiem for a Dream, to the underrated The Fountain, to The Wrestler, he is constantly pushing the boundary and creating compelling works of art that will stand the test of time. Black Swan is one of his crowning achievements. It is such an odd blend of moods and textures, styles and images; it is a thrilling, bold statement about art and madness.

    Read the full review at:
    http://doctormud.blogspot.com
    Expand
  63. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Every Scene of this film were so intense, but in a good way. She was always trying to reach perfection, and in the whole film there's a balance between reason and emotion, and Nina couldn't reach both, until the end of the movie, when she says "I was perfect". So overall i though the movie was amazing, all the cast was fantastic, especially Natalie Portman, Mila Kunis and Barbara Hershey,Every Scene of this film were so intense, but in a good way. She was always trying to reach perfection, and in the whole film there's a balance between reason and emotion, and Nina couldn't reach both, until the end of the movie, when she says "I was perfect". So overall i though the movie was amazing, all the cast was fantastic, especially Natalie Portman, Mila Kunis and Barbara Hershey, but this was really Natalie's biggest performance in her career, her expressions, emotions, the dancing, everything, she was actually perfect, and a big thank you to Darren Aronofsky, not only he already deliver films like Requiem for a Dream and the Wrestler, now he comes with Black Swan, a Beautiful Psychological Thriller about a Ballerina who wants to be perfect (off course there's more to it), so thank you very much for this masterpiece. Expand
  64. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Black Swan is a disturbing and intense cinematic work that is nearly the definition of perfection. Natalie Portman's performance is simply spectacular.
  65. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    My favorite movie from 2010. It's beautifully dark and intensely made by Darren Aronofsky, who has kind of a streak with me (my favorite 2008 movie The Wrestler). Natalie Portman's haunting performance is amazing. The whole cast brings their A-game. Mila Kunis (her rival), Vincent Cassel (the creepy director), and Barbra Hershey (the crazy-ass mother). I know it's not categorized as aMy favorite movie from 2010. It's beautifully dark and intensely made by Darren Aronofsky, who has kind of a streak with me (my favorite 2008 movie The Wrestler). Natalie Portman's haunting performance is amazing. The whole cast brings their A-game. Mila Kunis (her rival), Vincent Cassel (the creepy director), and Barbra Hershey (the crazy-ass mother). I know it's not categorized as a horror movie, but it sure feels like it and it's nice to see some recognition from the academy. Expand
  66. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Black Swan is dark, intense, beautifully acted and thought-provoking. With Natalie Portman's excellent performance and Darren Aronofsky's bold direction, Black Swan is one of the best psychological thrillers out there. 4/4 stars.
  67. J_B
    Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This movie was certainly not for everyone. But I liked it because it was different; the story is so unique. It's beautiful yet at often times gruesome. Must see.
  68. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    La pelicula mas impresionante del año tanto en historia y complejidad sino tambien en espectaculares interpretaciones. Oscura, brillante, compleja, espectacular, sorprendente, magnifica y sobretodo impresionante. Natalir Portman esta espectacular uno de los mejores films del año
  69. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Black Swan deserves the title of psychological thriller more than simple drama because, although its about a ballet dancer that wants to get the leading role in the Swan Lake, shows the journey that has to make an obsessive and disturbed girl throw her subconscious to change her personality. But this will become more difficult because she will have to struggle not only against herself butBlack Swan deserves the title of psychological thriller more than simple drama because, although its about a ballet dancer that wants to get the leading role in the Swan Lake, shows the journey that has to make an obsessive and disturbed girl throw her subconscious to change her personality. But this will become more difficult because she will have to struggle not only against herself but also with an overprotective mother who tries to fulfill her broken dreams through Nina.
    Changes start physically and with the help of the director of the ballet company and another dancer, Nina will discover her alter ego. This concept is pursued by Darren Aronofsky, and it can also be notice in The Wrestler. The idea is to show the other side of reality, the one that scares us, our other personality hidden deeply in ourselves.
    The performances are as remarkable as the plot, and in the final scene, Natalie Portman gives an incredible presentation, which is impulsive and seductive at the same time, culminating her transformation and achieving perfection.
    The amazing thing about this movie is that all the elements: plot, performances, music, dialogues, confusing and frightening images, leads to complete madness. And because of this is hard to distinguish if the things that you see in the movie are fact or fiction, but that topic is for your own interpretation.
    Expand
  70. May 19, 2012
    10
    Black Swan is a breathtaking psychological thriller. Its cast and their performances were absolutely perfect. Natalie Portman did a great job and her acting was one of the best of her career and she deserves the Oscar she won on Academy Awards. Mila Kunis gives also a very good performance. Vincent Cassel , Barbara Hershey and Winona Ryder were also very good in their supporting roles. TheBlack Swan is a breathtaking psychological thriller. Its cast and their performances were absolutely perfect. Natalie Portman did a great job and her acting was one of the best of her career and she deserves the Oscar she won on Academy Awards. Mila Kunis gives also a very good performance. Vincent Cassel , Barbara Hershey and Winona Ryder were also very good in their supporting roles. The direction of this movie was also excellent , Darren Aronofsky gave us a great result. But this movie is so good because of its marvelous story by Andres Heinz. There's nothing else to say , all the things in that movie were the best , the story , the direction , the screenplay , the soundtrack , the cast and especially the outstanding performance of Natalie Portman came together to give us a masterpiece!!! Expand
  71. May 30, 2012
    10
    This Is My Favorite Movie Of All Time (Excluding Everything Studio Ghibli)
    The Writing And The Acting Are 100% Amazing! Mila Kunis Reveals That She Is A Real Actor And Shocked Me At The Wonderful Performance She Has During The Movie!
  72. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Wow! One of the best psychological thrillers of all time! The movie is beautiful throughout despite the dark journey it follows about perfectionism and obsession. A movie that you won't forget. A masterpiece.
  73. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Yes! Another brilliant masterpiece from director, Darren Aronofsky. For me, Black Swan is the perfect example of a modern classic film. A true piece of art, simply astounding in every way.

    Immediately after the opening credits, the film left a tense, uneasy feeling in my gut. The atmosphere was established, and I was instantly at the edge of my seat, knowing that something was off. I
    Yes! Another brilliant masterpiece from director, Darren Aronofsky. For me, Black Swan is the perfect example of a modern classic film. A true piece of art, simply astounding in every way.

    Immediately after the opening credits, the film left a tense, uneasy feeling in my gut. The atmosphere was established, and I was instantly at the edge of my seat, knowing that something was off. I was immediately taken into the film, making the experience one of the best I've ever had.

    The brilliant musical score was very effective in establishing the dark tones, as was the perfect cinematography. The use of color in the film was excellent. Blacks and Whites dominated the color palette of the film, establishing the dark tone, but also to furthur emphasizing the idea of good vs. evil.

    The acting was excellent. Stunning performances by supporting cast members Barbara Hershey, Winona Ryder, Vincent Cassel, and especially Mila Kunis, who is really showing herself to be a talented young actress with a bright future. Natalie Portman gives the best performance though. In fact, it's the best of her career...she is this film. She portrayed every emotion with a level of maturity and grace that I have never seen before. Her character, Nina, changes so much as the film goes on, but Portman handles the role perfectly. It truly was a brilliant performance, worthy of every praise it received. She more than definitely deserved her Oscar for Best Actress!

    The last 40 minutes of the film were pure gold. Some of the best film scenes I have ever seen. The intensity, conflict, horror, art, music, acting, emotion, passion, cinematography, choreography...it was perfect! "I felt it. Perfect. It was perfect!"

    Black Swan is a brilliant, brilliant film. Nominated for 5 Academy Awards including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Cinematography, and winner of 1 Academy Award (Best Actress - Natalie Portman), this film is must see! Unlike any other film. Black Swan: I recommend it!
    Expand
  74. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Man what a film. Forget whether you do or don't like ballet, this is a surreal and intense thriller/horror almost in the vain of some of Stephen kings old stuff. Brilliant, disturbing imagery in parts, a great pace, always entertaining and suspenseful. Drags you deeper and deeper into madness and totally delivers at the end. A masterpiece really.
  75. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Visceral, tragic, disturbing, beautiful, inspiring, terrifying, sexy, passionate, and surreal... Black Swan is one of my favorite films. It shook me to my core when I saw it. The ending is absolutely beautiful and had me in tears, and the score is beautiful and creepy. Portman's best film. Inspiring and terrifying on many levels.
  76. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    Buenísima película. Excelente trabajo de todos los actores y actrices, en especial de Natalie Portman y Mila Kunis. Una excelente película para ver, entretenerse y pensar. Recomendable
  77. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Every thing about this movie is amazing, the acting is flawless, the character development feels real and natural, and the story unfolds in a darkly beautiful way. The camera shots and atmosphere are also very hauntingly gorgeous and help create the tone for the movie. This movie is definitely worth your time and is without a doubt one of the most spectacular movies I have ever seen.
  78. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Disturbing. I questioned my own sanity after watching this. I started doubting every single reflection in the mirror, in the bathtub. This movie is hauntingly realistic, with Natalie Portman's acting dragging me into this wormhole.
  79. May 1, 2014
    10
    Maybe it's the acting, maybe it's the perfect scrip, maybe are the musical numbers that makes this movie a perfect psychological thriller, with a storytelling technique unlike any other.
  80. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    Dark, frivolous, psychotic, schizophrenic, ironic, surreal, astonishing. A great allegory. A complete success regarding filming, scenes, scenarios, performances, plot and twists. A crazy precious pearl. A slap in the face and mind.
  81. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    The intensity of this film elevates the artistic portrayal of Swan Lake far beyond what you may expect. Aronofsky enthralls the audience with this mesmerizing piece of art, coupled with Natalie Portman's phenomenal portrait as a troubled young dancer.
  82. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    Outstanding film. Portman gives an excellent performance. This is not a film that is enjoyable to watch, minute-to-minute, as it moves along. It is a ride you are on. And it is incredibly stressful and scary at points, but that is a sign of Aronofsky's success in putting you inside the protagonist's increasingly frayed mind. The ending is exhilarating and powerful. As good of aOutstanding film. Portman gives an excellent performance. This is not a film that is enjoyable to watch, minute-to-minute, as it moves along. It is a ride you are on. And it is incredibly stressful and scary at points, but that is a sign of Aronofsky's success in putting you inside the protagonist's increasingly frayed mind. The ending is exhilarating and powerful. As good of a closing 30 seconds as I have seen in a film in quite some time. The film is an excellent piece of art with several good acting performances. Expand
  83. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    "Black Swan" runs an intense and gripping course that is provided by the direction of Darren Aronofsky; but the spectacular and spellbinding performance of Natalie Portman is the reason that this film will be remembered long after.
  84. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    It is one film of the year where I walk out of the theater and went, Hmm, nice! Well, that doesn't mean it's better than some other films I saw this year, but this is an impressive. Black Swan offers plenty of drama, plenty of thrilling moments, and plenty of sexiness. With a thrilling and perplexed performance by Natalie Portman, and stylish directing from Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan canIt is one film of the year where I walk out of the theater and went, Hmm, nice! Well, that doesn't mean it's better than some other films I saw this year, but this is an impressive. Black Swan offers plenty of drama, plenty of thrilling moments, and plenty of sexiness. With a thrilling and perplexed performance by Natalie Portman, and stylish directing from Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan can go far. The story is more complicated than you think it is. It is not just about a ballet dancer, it is about a ballet dancer with deep mental issues. Nina is professional ballet dancer who got promoted to play the key role in a ballet performance, the Swan Queen. With a lot of pressure on her, the story proposes that she is obviously hallucinating about her body being deform. At first, I thought all of this was real because Natalie Portman is so believable. But as the story developed, I know for a fact that this girl has some serious mental issues. A summary about the film really doesn't do it justice, go watch it and you'll see exactly what I'm talking about. Black Swan demonstrates how ballet is as exciting and thrilling as an action movie with Arnold Schwarzenegger in it. Natalie Portman might even win the Best Actress Oscar, that is if she beat Annette Bening (but she already locked herself an Oscar nod). Darren Aronofsky will probably snatch the Best Director nod, but Black Swan will definitely have a chance at the Best Picture run. Expand
  85. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    If you were a fan of The Wrestler you'll love this. If Requiem For A Dream flipped your stomach over, get ready for Black Swan. This movie was absolutely incredible. The story isn't unknown to the common movie-gower, but it doesn't have flashing signs and big arrows that yell "SYMBOLISM" or "METAPHORE". The surrealism mixed with the psychological torment of competition gave this film aIf you were a fan of The Wrestler you'll love this. If Requiem For A Dream flipped your stomach over, get ready for Black Swan. This movie was absolutely incredible. The story isn't unknown to the common movie-gower, but it doesn't have flashing signs and big arrows that yell "SYMBOLISM" or "METAPHORE". The surrealism mixed with the psychological torment of competition gave this film a VERY realistic feel for any person once involved with competitive theatre or dancing. All the actors were terrific and Mila Kunis was not shadowed by Natalie Portman, she stood her ground as her black swan and was a terrific supporting actress. Do what you can to see this movie. Do it. Expand
  86. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    "Black Swan" is a terrifying and beautiful psych-thriller which completely blew me away. I almost felt genuinely sick while watching the movie, similar to the feeling I had while watching the downward spiral that was "Requiem for a Dream;" but I can't say that it wasn't amazing. "Black Swan" hits you at your emotional core, and Portman's performance in the film may very well be her best"Black Swan" is a terrifying and beautiful psych-thriller which completely blew me away. I almost felt genuinely sick while watching the movie, similar to the feeling I had while watching the downward spiral that was "Requiem for a Dream;" but I can't say that it wasn't amazing. "Black Swan" hits you at your emotional core, and Portman's performance in the film may very well be her best outing to date. The film follows Nina (Natalie Portman), the main character and recently selected lead in her studio's upcoming production of "Swan Lake," through the weeks leading up to the debut of the play (which is re-instated in a more simple form to attempt to defibrillate the struggling company). As her instructor Thomas (Vincent Cassel) states, the role is very dynamic, and requires her to get "loose" to play the seductive and deceptive black swan. She struggles at first, but soon finds darkness in a life filled with innocence, and becomes ensnared in the role. The movie turns into a nightmarish and terrifying struggle between good and evil, as Nina battles amongst herself to try to come to grips with the ballet role that is consuming her life, and her soul. The film is edgy, raw, and at times, outright frightening. It has that visceral and striking presence which Aronofsky is so masterfully talented at projecting, although it is purposely flawed so that you are sick to your stomach with Nina's mental health. It makes heavy work of symbolism and irony, and repeating themes include duality, hatred, anger, control and insanity. Personally, I loved the film. It is almost impossible to not be hypnotized by the intense cinematography, the outstanding performances, and the bold imagery. The entrancing score by Clint Mansell, a long-time collaborator of Aronofsky's, is real and powerful, and perfectly captures the essence of the film's most intense moments. I guess the one thing which kept me from giving it a ten would be that the film almost does too much at times. It is complicated, and although brilliantly conceived, it draws away from an audience which may more greatly appreciate it for it's terrifying reality, and not its symbolism and depth. Regardless, the movie is greatness in a bottle. If you haven't seen it yet, treat yourself over the holidays; you won't regret it. Expand
  87. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    Natalie Portman does for Black Swan what Mickey Rourke did for The Wrestler. Both players pushed themselves physically and emotionally to lend gravitas to an art form that isn't widely respected or understood. She brings such life to her roll. She embodies anxiety, fear, excitement, frustration, and sexual confusion. Every other character in the film represents some external source ofNatalie Portman does for Black Swan what Mickey Rourke did for The Wrestler. Both players pushed themselves physically and emotionally to lend gravitas to an art form that isn't widely respected or understood. She brings such life to her roll. She embodies anxiety, fear, excitement, frustration, and sexual confusion. Every other character in the film represents some external source of emotion. None of the supporting players gets three dimensions. Each fills a role: "the mother," "the director," "the rival," "the former star." To that end, each of those characters inspires a different sort of anxiety, curiosity, dread, or fury in the central character, and Natalie Portman brilliantly evokes the oftentimes subtle distinctions between those emotional responses. It's fascinating to watch. Expand
  88. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    Black Swan is one of those all too rare films these days where you are never quite sure where it is going. Sometimes that can be upsetting and disorienting--but not so with this film. Aronofsky's direction kept me constantly on edge and even provided some genuine thriller moments where more than one audience member shrieked out loud. It is a darkly hued tale expertly told and performedBlack Swan is one of those all too rare films these days where you are never quite sure where it is going. Sometimes that can be upsetting and disorienting--but not so with this film. Aronofsky's direction kept me constantly on edge and even provided some genuine thriller moments where more than one audience member shrieked out loud. It is a darkly hued tale expertly told and performed by Natalie Portman in what is surely one of her most powerful roles to date. Indeed this story is at times disturbing and provocative, but that's the way good art should be--even in the seemingly simple lithe world of ballet dancing. Expand
  89. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    Black Swan is very good!. The movie is perfectly paced, great art direction and Mila Kunis is very underrated in this prestige film. I am not a big fan of Darron Aronoksy but this is a rare feat. I don't like ballet but it was interesting to have a better understanding of the art.
  90. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    I've never used this word before but this movie was breath taking. It started out a little slow but man does the pace pick up as the movie goes along. Portman deserves Oscar consideration for an amazing performance. The camera work was fantastic. I've never attended a ballet before. I think I'd like to go to one now.
  91. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Outstanding Acting, Directing, and story. One of the best thriller movie i seen. Outstanding performance by Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis. On of the year best films. This movie is going catch your attention from beginning to end. I enjoy this movie a lot. Natalie Portman gave such a good performance in this movie. I love thriller movies like this. I think this is a movie ever body wouldOutstanding Acting, Directing, and story. One of the best thriller movie i seen. Outstanding performance by Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis. On of the year best films. This movie is going catch your attention from beginning to end. I enjoy this movie a lot. Natalie Portman gave such a good performance in this movie. I love thriller movies like this. I think this is a movie ever body would enjoy. Very crazy and amazing movie. Expand
  92. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    this movie is the best I saw in 2010, amazing, one of the best music underscore.! Portman just wonderful, everything was spectacular ... This combination of psychological drama is a mixture of feelings that you uncoordinated and keeps you glued to the screen until the last minute
  93. Dec 23, 2010
    9
    Great film. Natalie delivers one of her best performances to date.
    Not for all the family because of the sexual tension on it.
    It has many levels, if you can see trough it.
  94. Dec 23, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At the end of Rob Marshall's "Chicago", in an effort to clear up any lingering doubts from moviegoers about what they just saw, the titles proudly trumpet that the principal actors did all their own singing and dancing. So adept were Richard Gere, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Renee Zelwegger at both performing arts, some audience members may have presumed that professionals were called in to do all the heavy lifting, especially the dancing, where, as is the norm for any movie that requires multi-tasking(stunt work, stripping, etc...) of its actors, a double can be inserted whenever the camera catches the body without a head. Knowing this, the novelty aspect behind a Hollywood starlet, a veritable household name, casting vanity aside and trying to disappear into the role of a top-flight ballerina is dispelled, right off the bat, when the filmmaker establishes his subject's competence(or dare I say, mastery) in dramatic fashion. Dancing by herself, establishing shots of Natalie Portman in balletic repose, give way to a close-up of disembodied feet, whose legs, cut off somewhere above the knee, could belong to anybody, but are indeed Portman's, when a camera tilt, along with the dancer's contortions, reorientates the actress to her lowest extremities, right after those thought-to-be-anonymous feet go from horizontal to vertical(in other words, "on point"), and then in gilded motion, like a pro. It's a goosebump moment, believe me. It's really her, the stripper who wouldn't strip in Mike Nichols' "Closer"...doing THAT! With Portman's credibility issues out of the way, this neo-"Repulsion" story becomes the focal point, which wouldn't be the case if Nina Sayers, a woman-girl with mommy issues(and sexuality issues) who's losing it, was heavily subordinated by a Julliard-trained stand-in to do all the hard stuff. The camera doesn't lie, especially a hand-held one, a probing thing that gets in Nina's grille(on and off-the-job), and Portman's body, all sinewy muscle and bone, is the truth, and passes with flying colors. The unbridled passion and masochism and predilection for self-sacrifice that every hungry, up-and-coming dancer possesses is captured in unerring detail by Portman, who on a short-time basis, obviously, went through the same taxing process herself, because you can see, actually see, that she's thinking, as opposed to acting, like a dancer in the cut-throat world of New York City swan-making. When asked by her lecherous ballet director(Vincent Cassell) to embody the second swan with the same assuredness as its white doppleganger, the virginal Nina goes down a rabbit hole of repression and self-hatred when the unformed girl is forced to ruminate over sex, a subject she clearly deflects through overcompensation, in which ballet has proven to be a stunting mechanism for this grown woman(who still lives with her mom and has a room populated with a menagerie stuffed animals), thereby creating a vast disconnect between her emotional and chronological age. When you get right down to it, "Black Swan" is all about f*cking. In her room, Nina touches herself, and is made to feel guilty about having desire, all at once, upon discovery of her mother asleep in a bedside chair(or is she?), indicating a past history in which Erica(Barbara Hershey), a failed dancer who has mixed emotions about her daughter's success, impeded Nina's sexual development through calculated sheltering. Not wanting to draw comparisons with Michael Haneke's "The Piano Teacher", Nina and her mother sleep in separate rooms, but the disturbance created by Erica, her seeming entitlement to be in such close proximity to her adult daughter, suggests that the bedtime arrangements are still new. In a sense, the mother helped birth the black swan that haunts Nina. As a result of her psycho-sexuality, Nina stabs the dark bird, stabs Lily(Mila Kunis), for awakening her greatest fear, inflaming the fragile ballerina to stab herself, out of self-hatred for not being the white swan, mother's "sweet girl". Expand
  95. Dec 23, 2010
    9
    Thrilling, chilling, and mesmerizing is how I would describe this movie. I was fully into the movie then entire time, even though I don't know too much about ballet. Portman gives an incredible performance and the climatic finale had me on the edge of my seat. At some times the movie was confusing but that is why it works.
  96. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    Definitely worth seeing. The acting is as brilliant as the psyches portrayed are perverse.
    Brooding, dark, and mysterious, while compelling you to watch, ever mindful that you do not know what what is truth or delusion.
  97. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    Great film. Cements Natalie as a solid actress capable of playing any role. This film twists the very foundation of art and makes one look at dance from a different frame - examining the damaging components. One of the strongest films to be released in 2010 for sure.
  98. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Aronofsky's dizzying and dazzling new film grabs the audience and take them on a ride through the intense trials and pressures on a increasingly unstable ballerina played masterfully by Natalie Portman. Aronofsky's engaging camerawork places you directly in the action and dares you to join him on his feverish trip through Nina Sayers' mind. Although Aronofsky's film may not be "perfect" like Nina's final, suicidal performance, it comes close. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Jan 17, 2011
    80
    An extraordinary, intoxicating movie. Its hard, twisted edges may turn off some, but there's no faulting either Aronofsky's technical mastery or Portman's flawless performance.
  2. Reviewed by: Kristin Hunt
    Jan 6, 2011
    100
    Just like the final performance by its deeply disturbed heroine, Black Swan is perfect.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    Arriving with a savage grace, director Darren Aronofsky's nightmare-come-to-life Black Swan cements his reputation not only as one of the more daring filmmakers of his generation, but also as an actor's director of the first order.