Blade: Trinity

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 255

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    "Blade: Trinity" is so terrible, its a comedy (thanks to Ryan Reynolds).
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blade: Trinity: 1 out of 10: Press reports at the time of Blade: Trinity's release claimed that star Wesley Snipes went off the deep end and tried to kill the director David S. Goyer. Lord knows he could have gotten away with it. Show the jury this movie and let the acquittals fly.

    After two better than we deserved films the third Blade is a mess. For one thing the casting director is insane. The good guys consist of Snipes, Gabby Hayes (Kris Kristofferson), Elektra (Jessica Biel), Van Wilder (Ryan Reynolds), a retarded guy, a blind woman and Newt from Aliens.

    The good guys have a "club" called the Nightstalkers. (What no Darren McGavin). Biel fights with an overtly plugged iPod playing horrible techno. (I would think being able to hear would be important in hand-to-hand combat) Reynolds's character spouts off endless one liners (most of them remarkably lame) and is saddled with the name Hannibal King. (Also needless to say remarkably lame) and fights with a light saber bow. (Please see above).

    Speaking of lame we have the bad guys. We have wrestler triple H (who cannot act), Parker Posey (who cannot speak with the fangs in her mouth) and best of all Dracula (Who calls himself Drake. Thinks he is in a Highlander movie. He is also a pacifist piece of Euro trash that looks like he fell of a Harlequin romance book cover. And is easily the least convincing screen Dracula I have ever scene (I'm including both George Hamilton and Mel Brooks in this equation)).

    The script is awful (even if you remove Reynolds's one-liners), the film was edited in a Cuisinart, the continuity was done by the blind girl, and the plot consists of bad guys finding good guys headquarters, then good guys finding bad guys headquarters.

    If your still not convinced a contribution to Mr. Snipes potential legal defense fund is in order let me remind you. Parker Posey is the head vampire and has a climatic battle with Van Wilder. You can make the check out to cash.
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2013
    3
    The characters are not bad-ass, just simply bad: annoying, two-dimensional, cliche. Ryan Reynolds and Parker Posey were atrocious in their roles. Dominic Purcell lacked the charisma of being Dracula. The whole story was uninteresting, and lacked imagination. The action remained, but was overused with too much hand-to-hand combat scenes. Overall bad.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    3
    There seems to be nothing interesting about this second sequel whatsoever. The plot is aimless, the action tends to feel tedious, and the film appears to focus more heavily on its comedy than its action.
  5. Mar 20, 2016
    3
    If you're going to make a vampire movie, here's a piece of advice: leave Dracula out of it. The character is so iconic that virtually no cinematic interpretation will do him justice. Unfortunately, that's not something that writer/director David S. Goyer recognizes. So, in order to give vampire-hunter Blade a "worthy" adversary for his third outing, Goyer elects to pit the hybrid superheroIf you're going to make a vampire movie, here's a piece of advice: leave Dracula out of it. The character is so iconic that virtually no cinematic interpretation will do him justice. Unfortunately, that's not something that writer/director David S. Goyer recognizes. So, in order to give vampire-hunter Blade a "worthy" adversary for his third outing, Goyer elects to pit the hybrid superhero against his old comic-book nemesis (on the written page, Blade first debuted in "Tomb of Dracula"), with unfortunate results. Take away the film's attitude, and you're left with Son of Van Helsing.

    Blade: Trinity is more of the same. Blade (Wesley Snipes) sees vampires. Blade kills vampires. Blade reloads and goes back for more. The only ones he has any real trouble with are human beings. For some inexplicable reason, they're more difficult to dispatch than the undead. The storyline makes less sense than the ones embraced by Blade and Blade II, if that's possible. This time, Blade is given two sidekicks: the irritating Hannibal King (Ryan Reynolds), who has a wisecrack for every occasion, and the sexy Abigail Whistler (Jessica Biel), who is the daughter of Blade's old friend, Whistler (Kris Kristofferson). These three must go up against the king of vampires, Dracula (Dominic Purcell), who has been awakened by the toothy Danica Talos (Parker Posey) to implement the vampires' "final solution."

    Those who are looking for variations on a theme won't find any here. Blade: Trinity is a carbon copy of its predecessors. It's all kick-ass attitude and style without any substance to back it up. Yet, where the first two Blades satisfied on a visceral level, this one doesn't. That probably has something to do with the portrayal of Dracula, who, in human form, looks more like a body builder than a vampire. When he reverts to this "true" likeness, he comes across like a rip-off of the alien from Predator. And, since all really bad guys like nicknames, he goes by the moniker of "Drake." I guess "Vlad" doesn't work these days.

    Although the vampires in Blade: Trinity aren't scary, at least they are not emasculated by the romantic notions applied by writers such as Ann Rice. These are cold-blooded killers, which allows Blade and his cohorts to dispatch them without blinking an eye. The film features dozens of vampire destructions, many of which occur during the film's frantic, frenzied opening battle, which is big on loud music, quick cuts, and violence. Much of the movie is like that, and what starts out as energetic quickly becomes tiresome, then boring. Besides, we have seen this before - twice, to be exact. (Although, to be fair, Biel is a lot hotter than Snipes when high-kicking her way through a hoard of fanged bad-guys - at least from this reviewer's perspective.)

    The plot is dumb and dumber, so the less said about it, the better. It's really just a clothesline upon which to hang the fight scenes, but that doesn't keep it from dangerously resembling the lame storyline of Van Helsing. (And no movie wants to be compared on any level to that particular blockbuster dud.) This is Goyer's directing debut (although he had scribed all three movies), and he steals liberally from previous directors Stephen Norrington and Guillermo Del Toro (who was offered the job on this one, but decided to make Hellboy instead). The music is just as loud as in the previous films, and the gags and one-liners are more often lame than funny. (Although I chuckled at the fate of the dogs.)

    The movie's bedrock is Snipes, who takes Blade to a new level of coolness. Radiating frost, Snipes struts his way through the movie, never allowing the viewer's attention to veer from him. Jessica Biel, who has the toughness and sex-appeal but not quite the same presence, holds her own, but the fatuous Ryan Reynolds (Van Wilder himself) falls on his face. As Dracula, Dominic Purcell is a putz, and represents one of the worst villain casting decisions of the year. Kris Kristofferson is as stiff as the walking dead - thankfully, his screen time is limited. Then there's Parker Posey, who plays her role as a lady vampire with all the campy subtlety of a drag queen.

    The target audience for Blade: Trinity is the same as it was for the previous two incarnations, and it will probably be met by pretty much the same reaction in all corners. As a character, Blade is a terrific property, and the films have enhanced the creation of Marvel Comics legends Marv Wolfman & Gene Colan (both of whom are "honored" by an in-joke in this film, when an issue of the old "Tomb of Dracula" gets screen time). Snipes has made Blade his perfect cinematic alter-ego. Now if only someone could give the character a story worth telling, the pieces might all be in place for a great action/horror thriller. But, although the saying goes "third time's a charm," that's not the case here.
    Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2004
    0
    This movie is an utter piece of crap. The acting is horrible except for a few good one-liners from Snipes. The story never develops into anything coherent. The writing is so God-awful. There is even a line about penis envy. I could not believe what I was hearing. How do people get paid to write such crap? HHH, Jesica Biel, Kris Kristofferson and Ryan Reynolds are all so horrible in this. This movie is an utter piece of crap. The acting is horrible except for a few good one-liners from Snipes. The story never develops into anything coherent. The writing is so God-awful. There is even a line about penis envy. I could not believe what I was hearing. How do people get paid to write such crap? HHH, Jesica Biel, Kris Kristofferson and Ryan Reynolds are all so horrible in this. Cool special effects and stunts cannot redeem this amazingly bad final installment (thankfully) of the Blade series. Expand
  7. DonC.
    Dec 26, 2004
    2
    This was the worst movie i've seen since batman and robin. Goyer as a first time director should not have taken such blatant liberties with a successful franchies. I was so upset with this film i felt i had been robbed of $10. It's "blade" not the "hannibal and abigail show". Infantile dialogue, inconsistent plot, stupid shower scenes, choppy editing and who's idea was it This was the worst movie i've seen since batman and robin. Goyer as a first time director should not have taken such blatant liberties with a successful franchies. I was so upset with this film i felt i had been robbed of $10. It's "blade" not the "hannibal and abigail show". Infantile dialogue, inconsistent plot, stupid shower scenes, choppy editing and who's idea was it to make dracula look like eurotrash? I'm hoping it's just a bad dream and i'll wake up soon. Expand
  8. EstebanC.
    Jan 21, 2005
    3
    The plot is ridiculous, the actors are incredibly bad and the dialogues are disatrous. snipes seems not to be very keen of playing his role again, reynolds is just a big joke and dracula looks like backstreet junkie. not even the effects and action scenes are well done. almost seems like they let a sadistic teenager direct this movie - this is not blade anymore!
  9. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2005
    3
    I'm a B-I-G Blade fan, but this movie just sucked. Where was del Toro when you needed him?? ;-)
  10. JoshW
    May 7, 2005
    2
    The 2 is for all the technical hard work people did on this film. I enjoyed the first film a whole lot, the second one was a good diversion too, but this one put me to sleep. Every now and then I want to see a film that isn't meant to be a masterpiece, but this one was pathetic. Sinci plot and writting don't matter in films like this I wont even bother talking about them. Here The 2 is for all the technical hard work people did on this film. I enjoyed the first film a whole lot, the second one was a good diversion too, but this one put me to sleep. Every now and then I want to see a film that isn't meant to be a masterpiece, but this one was pathetic. Sinci plot and writting don't matter in films like this I wont even bother talking about them. Here is the one mistake the film just couldn't het away with making, casting Dracula. That guy looked like some dumb Euro trash dude. This character had to look cool and be able to act cool. Instead we got some muscle bound idiot who reminded me of Right Said Fred. Expand
  11. NameL.
    Dec 10, 2004
    0
    This movie was horrible, it has the humour of a 7 year old donkey! As funny as it sounds, it's true. It sucks the big one! BAHAHAHAHA
  12. AlechladoganJ.
    Dec 10, 2004
    1
    This movie was a disgrace to the Blade legacy. The two gay sidekicks ruined it. And the dude was not funny. Everything raw about Blade was not. It was cooked...not raw but cooked. I mean come on, plz i dont want to see some not idimitading looking hoe that shots a bow and not raw and not being naked. she sucks movie sucked im watching porn.
  13. EdwinH.
    Dec 14, 2004
    3
    I had enjoyed the first two Blade films, and felt confident that this film would atleast be equal. David Goyer had penned the first two Blade films, and now as director for the third, he would now have the opportunity to flex his creative muscles--or so I thought. Sadly, the maxim "two heads are better than one" has never been more appropriate in describing this film. How else to explain I had enjoyed the first two Blade films, and felt confident that this film would atleast be equal. David Goyer had penned the first two Blade films, and now as director for the third, he would now have the opportunity to flex his creative muscles--or so I thought. Sadly, the maxim "two heads are better than one" has never been more appropriate in describing this film. How else to explain the remarkable self-indulgence of Goyer, who presumably had to reign in his more "creative" ideas for the previous Blade films? For instance, this movie is rich in unrelated action sequences, intersperced crudely throughout the film without advancing the plot. The jokes mainly consist of hackneyed sexual innuendoes. The action sequences are filmed in a shaky, akward manner: you can never tell what's going on. Add in the obligatory shower scene, which is thrown in without explanation, and you have all the ingredients for a disaster. Goyer should stick to writing, he clearly hasn't a clue how to direct. Expand
  14. Larry
    Dec 6, 2004
    0
    Doesn't Wesley Snipes have anything better to do? This is his third time around doing this crapola. Avoid.
  15. DarthMoonJohn
    Nov 13, 2005
    3
    This was just a disapointment in every way,the concept of blade against dracula was great but the script sucked,the action sucked the story sucked, worst blade of the trilogy.
  16. Laura
    Feb 26, 2005
    1
    Rubbish, who wants to watch a load of vampires turn to ash for nearly two hours, not me!!
  17. JulianoA.
    Mar 1, 2005
    3
    A bad sequel for a terrific series. It seems that this time Mr. Snipes tryed to do everything by self and did it badly. Photography is terrible, special effects are laughable, even sound got screwed. Don't waste you time watching this movie. Go back to Blade I or II and enjoy yourself.
  18. Jake
    May 21, 2005
    0
    Took a great franchise and ruined it forever with possibly the worst movie ever. the language was ridiculous and it was obvious wesley did not have his heart in this one. I love the other 2 but this is a sad excuse for a movie. the auxiliary actors ruined it, blade needs no teammates.
  19. KellyR
    Dec 13, 2004
    1
    I am a huge fan of the first two Blade movies, and I can sadly say that Blade Trinity SUCKED! There was really nothing cool about it! No cool weapons... they didn't kill vampires in a "cool way". The story was hollow and the vampires were all stupid, especially Dracula. The ending was totally retarded! I am so disappointed in the film!
  20. JimmyB.
    Dec 29, 2004
    1
    I have better films in my collection of baby years at home!
  21. ChadW
    Dec 9, 2004
    3
    Let me start by saying I am a huge fan of the first two in the series. But there is no way this movie is anything better than a rental. It is an incoherent mess. Just because he is called the Daywalker does not mean that the entire movie should take place in daylight. The action scenes are choppy and get boring. The movie jumps from scene to scene with no rhythm. And since his partners Let me start by saying I am a huge fan of the first two in the series. But there is no way this movie is anything better than a rental. It is an incoherent mess. Just because he is called the Daywalker does not mean that the entire movie should take place in daylight. The action scenes are choppy and get boring. The movie jumps from scene to scene with no rhythm. And since his partners are not vampires I found it very difficult to suspend my belief for the continuous bullets that never hit anybody. And how about the entire opening of the movie with the FBI frame up, then destroying the FBI Headquarters and then Blade and crew popping up everywhere but not one P.O. or FBI guy is looking for them anymore. It's just a mess all around. But I would like to give props to Ryan Reynolds whose comedic relief saves some scenes of the movie. Expand
  22. VinceH.
    Jan 16, 2005
    2
    Arguably the most unnecessary and least-called for movie of 2004. I thought the movie would have at least a glimmer of hope since David S. Goyer was writing again. It's obvious now that his triumph remains "Blade 2", one of the best action movies in years (I guess now we can chalk that up to Guillermo Del Toro). The action scenes are well-shot and entertaining enough, but the villian Arguably the most unnecessary and least-called for movie of 2004. I thought the movie would have at least a glimmer of hope since David S. Goyer was writing again. It's obvious now that his triumph remains "Blade 2", one of the best action movies in years (I guess now we can chalk that up to Guillermo Del Toro). The action scenes are well-shot and entertaining enough, but the villian is one of the worst I've ever seen (Dracula as extra on "One Life to Live"?) and the plot is really stupid. Essentially it seems Goyer asked a group of 3rd graders to write a short paragraph with Blade and picked the best one, since the story is so inane and literal. Wesley Snipes does fine and I'm sure will enjoy adding a new attachement to his property or buying another car, but the real star here is Ryan Reynolds. He saves this movie from complete failure and raises it to just a smidge above mediocrity. Expand
  23. ChadS.
    Jan 22, 2005
    3
    The vampires must be retarded. Only some of them think it's wise to bring a firearm to combat their opponent's firearm. What you have here are vampires with hands and legs informed by martial arts negated as lethal weapons because the good guys brought hardware to the final showdown. It's so one-sided. Wesley Snipes, fed up with being monosyllabic throughout most of the The vampires must be retarded. Only some of them think it's wise to bring a firearm to combat their opponent's firearm. What you have here are vampires with hands and legs informed by martial arts negated as lethal weapons because the good guys brought hardware to the final showdown. It's so one-sided. Wesley Snipes, fed up with being monosyllabic throughout most of the movie, breaks character at times with actual complete sentences. Blade should've shot that lab technician who was in charge of draining blood from the homeless. Couldn't she restart the process after Blade and his friends leave? Hey, if you care so much about the homeless; why don't you check if some of them are still breathing? Dumb. Expand
  24. ZiftK
    Nov 4, 2006
    3
    The first one, I liked. The second one.... decent, this one, TRASH. Unless, you're a VERY big blade fan, and have the DVD's, and the games, then watch this, if not, stay away, you're much better without it.
  25. DavodH.
    Dec 11, 2004
    1
    The basic ingredients were there for a passable B movie, but instead Goyer squandered the chance and as a result he made a mockery of the entire series. The people who say it wasn't that bad, didn't see the first two.
  26. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    If you enjoyed the first two Blades then please do not spoil it watching this. It is so much a cash in on the series it just spoils the early work. Its a shame as there is a Blade movie in here but its just so terribly packaged. Having watched Ryan Reynolds in several other films since this HE CAN ACT and CAN PUT IN A PERFORMANCE. In Blade they just have him as Van Wilder. Trying endlesslyIf you enjoyed the first two Blades then please do not spoil it watching this. It is so much a cash in on the series it just spoils the early work. Its a shame as there is a Blade movie in here but its just so terribly packaged. Having watched Ryan Reynolds in several other films since this HE CAN ACT and CAN PUT IN A PERFORMANCE. In Blade they just have him as Van Wilder. Trying endlessly to make a funny one liner which really does not go with the film. The supporting cast in general are poor and really do not add to the story line.
    The action is very much the same as the other films but I just could not see past the weak plot and really terrible writing of the plot. Terrible end to what could have been a decent trilogy.
    Stop here before you kill of the series completely
    Expand
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
  1. Thankfully, Reynolds (bearded, looking a bit like Jason Lee) adds some scrappiness and humor to a series that might otherwise have collapsed under self-parody.
  2. Should reasonably please fans of the genre before assuming its place in the horror section of your local video store.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    Won't linger in the memory long, but gives pretty good action eye-candy while it's going.