Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 8, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 537 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
486
Mixed:
37
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
AaronM.Feb 9, 2007
Blood Diamond is a surprisingly intense and informative movie that the general public needs to see. Yet, the box office viewing is evidence of what America does to Africa on a general level (turning a blind eye) that it's no surprise it Blood Diamond is a surprisingly intense and informative movie that the general public needs to see. Yet, the box office viewing is evidence of what America does to Africa on a general level (turning a blind eye) that it's no surprise it never earned a #1 spot. Still, I believe it to be one of the best movies I've seen this year. Leonardo DiCaprio, similar to his performance in The Departed, is believable, strong, and convincing. The story is strong; the cinematography is excellent; and overall, Blood Diamond does everything I want a movie to do (to educate, captivate, and be enjoyable). Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JoeO.Jan 28, 2007
Brilliantly illustrated, accurately placed, powerfully emotional and a total mixture of sociology, politics and commerce
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterB.Jan 30, 2007
Superb movie - well acted and exciting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StaceyH.Jan 31, 2007
Wow!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 19, 2011
With a great wild performance by DiCaprio and a surprisingly deep story, Edward Zwick's "Blood Diamond" is certainly one of the most discussed movie of the year.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
Ian_EdmondsAug 28, 2011
This movie is a very good, very beutiful acting, loved the movie, F**CK YOU AVAtar HATER aka GERRY MARSHALL YOU ****
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
PoorK.Mar 9, 2007
The impression I get from this movie is, the filmmakers googled around for some heart-breaking story to exploit (so they could pretend they were making a difference). They then drastically simplifed the issues to the point of distortion so The impression I get from this movie is, the filmmakers googled around for some heart-breaking story to exploit (so they could pretend they were making a difference). They then drastically simplifed the issues to the point of distortion so we could all feel moved without actually being edified. What's the source of the problem? Simple! Greedy evil big diamond industry (even though they are the last people to benefit from buying conflict diamonds and encouraging even more flood of illicit stones into the market which is already over-stocked) and stupid greedy shallow Western consumers! What's the solution? Simple! We have to ignore the voice of Africa no more (whatever that means) and...oh...please check for a certificate that the diamond you are buying is non-conflict. Oh how gloriously simple! Thank you so much! Also Di Caprio's accent was rather patchy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LanceD.Mar 31, 2007
I was hesitant to see a Leonardo Decapitated with a South African accent movie, but the movie was a typical shoot em up, do bad, do good redemption, preachy Hollyweird movie. I do not think the movie focused enough on the full problem in I was hesitant to see a Leonardo Decapitated with a South African accent movie, but the movie was a typical shoot em up, do bad, do good redemption, preachy Hollyweird movie. I do not think the movie focused enough on the full problem in Sierra Leone and the Clinton administrations lack of any response. Leo wasnt as bad as I thought he would be but the movie is still a big budget Leo vehicle. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SusieQJun 24, 2007
This WAY under-edited film serves only to trivialize the true horrors of this very serious issue. Extremely over-acted and cheesy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SalsamDec 4, 2006
It's lame- the movie tries to convince us that the characters and the filmmakers do care about this topic, but it just feels like a March movie with an Awards season release date. If you loved CRASH, you'll love this stinker.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
EdwardTDec 7, 2006
lame, tooo long, good performances especially from Djimon, but so pretentious too much moral stuff in there that was misleading into a catasthrophic mess.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LeaMar 15, 2007
The movie really gives a fake image of what happened in the reality, making it sound like the conflict happened by greediness, while it was far more complex than this, and poverty, corruption played a major role in the start of the war. It The movie really gives a fake image of what happened in the reality, making it sound like the conflict happened by greediness, while it was far more complex than this, and poverty, corruption played a major role in the start of the war. It is sad that the movie just gives this image of the war and describe the people of sierra leone as people ready to commit terrible things by greediness...Blood diamond is just another holliwood movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DickVagNov 11, 2008
lol this movie is funnay!!!! This movie is a disney version of what really happens in africa, all you rich fux buying conflict diamonds for you whore of a wife, while you and your children sleep safely, these people deal with malaria,lol this movie is funnay!!!! This movie is a disney version of what really happens in africa, all you rich fux buying conflict diamonds for you whore of a wife, while you and your children sleep safely, these people deal with malaria, robbery, theft, rape and murder. Some where in south africa, about every 12 seconds there are girls under the age of 10 that are raped. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DanalekJul 9, 2011
I fail to see what most of the praise was about. DiCaprio played a strong character, if that means filling a frame with his beefed up looks and shouting his way through too many of his scenes. An emaciated Connelly simply was notI fail to see what most of the praise was about. DiCaprio played a strong character, if that means filling a frame with his beefed up looks and shouting his way through too many of his scenes. An emaciated Connelly simply was not believable, her character's naivete compounded by toting around a one-lens camera for a major journalism assignment. The theme took too long to establish, and at the other end dramatic retardation was too much retarded and insufficiently dramatic. But it taught us that blood diamonds are a bad thing---and that's a good thing.. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
vibor123Feb 16, 2011
f only by simply choosing not to buy diamonds until the big corporations start showing some accountability. A lesson I think even the current government needs a reminder of.â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
PuneetNov 6, 2011
With a great wild performance by DiCaprio and a surprisingly deep story, Edward Zwick's "Blood Diamond" is certainly one of the most discussed movie of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cgravesDec 6, 2012
Upon watching this movie I am first filled a variety of emotions. Putting it lightly, the movie certainly presents some significant problems facing those who live in Sierra Leonne. When I step back though and consider my emotions I am leftUpon watching this movie I am first filled a variety of emotions. Putting it lightly, the movie certainly presents some significant problems facing those who live in Sierra Leonne. When I step back though and consider my emotions I am left wondering what to do with them. Sure I am filled with some rage and compassion for those who are affected by this "blood diamond" business but if I fail to do anything with my emotions, if I fail to act, did the movie serve any purpose? Ultimately the movie does an excellent job of articulating a problem but fails to answer with a solution.

Personally I am a Christian and when I take a minute to ponder the horrific nature with which diamonds are found and distributed I question their need. As a Christian I walk away and begin to think of the responsibility I have to be aware of people suffering around the world and not only must I be aware but I must seek justice for people embattled in a place like Sierra Leonne. So what should the response be towards this movie? Well, I personally know a woman who made sure her husband bought her an engagement ring that did not cost someones life. I too should push towards a similar response. Too often Christians are seen as legalistic or too removed from the culture. I am here to say, Christians must stay in tune and care about social ills while holding fast to our belief in Christ.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lobeGreenJan 3, 2007
Amazing film. When I heard that, this film was going to be on our cinema i was thrilled.I was greatfull but when I saw the film I said: This film made for me
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronH.Jan 4, 2007
I really loved this movie. The acting was great, the story was compelling (and never lagged), the characters were intriguing, and it was beautiful visually. Its definitely on my list of movies I would like to own. This is top notch stuff all I really loved this movie. The acting was great, the story was compelling (and never lagged), the characters were intriguing, and it was beautiful visually. Its definitely on my list of movies I would like to own. This is top notch stuff all the way baby. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoC.Feb 5, 2007
Only after a couple of my friends told me I had to go see this movie, I started to believe it. And yes, it has pleasantly suprised me. DiCaprio suprised me with very 'put down' character. But what opened my eyes more, was the moral Only after a couple of my friends told me I had to go see this movie, I started to believe it. And yes, it has pleasantly suprised me. DiCaprio suprised me with very 'put down' character. But what opened my eyes more, was the moral behind it.(cliché) Themes for movies start discussions like Mink was 15years ago. Diamond trade and Mink Trade are alike, the only problem is, what does one find cuter: Man or Animal? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyT.Feb 7, 2007
Terrific movie. Loved the performances of the 3 main characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeremiahP.Apr 4, 2007
Well acted, but that is pretty much it. This is another Hollywood attempt to bring attention to horrible events that have already happened. Pointing out that blood diamonds are bad, well yeah we already know that. Now we have self righteous Well acted, but that is pretty much it. This is another Hollywood attempt to bring attention to horrible events that have already happened. Pointing out that blood diamonds are bad, well yeah we already know that. Now we have self righteous westerners not buy diamonds at all, leaving countries that rely solely on them as a source of income completely screwed. GOOD JOB LEO, STARVE SOME MORE AFRICAN CHILDREN!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jun 9, 2007
An impressive action thriller that brings out visceral action, engaging social commentary, and great performances. I recommend it highly, and it'll get woman to look at their jewelry in a different way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalB.Sep 7, 2007
I LOVE this movie it was THE BEST i love you Leonardo Dicaprio *kisses*.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackB.Apr 1, 2008
I had this DVD unopened on my shelf for months, i just watched it and WOW, i was gripped. Ive been impressed by very few films recently but Blood Diamond was superb. Perhaps a dodgy accent by De Caprio but he's really matured into a I had this DVD unopened on my shelf for months, i just watched it and WOW, i was gripped. Ive been impressed by very few films recently but Blood Diamond was superb. Perhaps a dodgy accent by De Caprio but he's really matured into a fantastic actor. Great supporting cast too. The storyline is excellent, the scenery breathtaking and nothing is overdone. Certainly deserves the plaudits it received and i would recommend it to any one out there like myself with a passion for film. The film itself has made me more aware of the problems in Africa, something i will certainly be looking into more in the near future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DS.Jan 3, 2009
Good performances by DiCaprio and Hounsou. A little long in length, but well directed. Good movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChavezDec 12, 2006
WOW! This is beautiful, powerful, epic, human, real filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NelsonM.Dec 16, 2006
What the hell was with that accent? I was laughing throughout the whole movie. I haven't seen an accent this bad since Jon Voight trying to sound Jamaican in Anaconda. When I wasn't laughing hysterically, I did enjoy this movie What the hell was with that accent? I was laughing throughout the whole movie. I haven't seen an accent this bad since Jon Voight trying to sound Jamaican in Anaconda. When I wasn't laughing hysterically, I did enjoy this movie quite a bit. The man from Amistad impressed me with an Oscar caliber performance. C- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanH.Dec 4, 2006
A strong "message" film, with fantastic action thrown in. Stellar cast. Ed Zwick's best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenV.Jan 1, 2007
This movie was outstanding. It was an excellent story in addition to the truth. It really made me think about what was taken for granted in the rest of the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewK.Oct 28, 2007
It is a dramaticly powerful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeC.Jan 5, 2007
There were so many times this movie could have gone bad, and it just didn't. I thought it was a really good film. I disagree with a ton of the "professional" critic's comments. I don't think this is a typical Hollywood There were so many times this movie could have gone bad, and it just didn't. I thought it was a really good film. I disagree with a ton of the "professional" critic's comments. I don't think this is a typical Hollywood adventure. I think the movie brings a social awareness to some of the atrocities that we in America don't give a second thought to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeCaineJan 8, 2007
Like 2006
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristianS.Feb 12, 2007
Too much clichés and too much action. The writers thought, that the topic 'Africa' is drama enough, but it was nothing than boring 08/15 action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JanetM.Feb 13, 2007
I did not like Jennifer Connolly's performance. Beautiful face, no expression, no passion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyC.Feb 2, 2007
Powerful, thought provoking and very painfully moving, i had little knowledge of the diamond trade before this or the devsastating lives of child soldiers. Well done to Leo and all involved
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NajwatR.Feb 3, 2007
DiCaprio and Hounsou's stellar performances, slick editing, beautiful cinematography, and appropriate music make this flick one of this year's very best. It's a shame that it didn't get a Best Picture Oscar nomination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EllenS.Feb 5, 2007
Good movie: the story was thought provoking and well told and the acting outstanding. I forgot that DiCaprio was DiCaprio -- and I've never forgotten that before, not in any of his films. Lots of violence, but it seemed appropriate to Good movie: the story was thought provoking and well told and the acting outstanding. I forgot that DiCaprio was DiCaprio -- and I've never forgotten that before, not in any of his films. Lots of violence, but it seemed appropriate to the story. Worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleD.Feb 5, 2007
Absolutely amazing. Powerful, moving, really made me think. Great acting too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JabezT.Mar 23, 2007
This is a generally entertaining movie, and the reason I gave it a 9 is DiCaprio. I generally dislike him and feel that he has been woefully miscast in films like "The Gangs of New York" and "The Aviator". This performance is by far the best This is a generally entertaining movie, and the reason I gave it a 9 is DiCaprio. I generally dislike him and feel that he has been woefully miscast in films like "The Gangs of New York" and "The Aviator". This performance is by far the best of his career, towering above his pathetic effort in "The Departed". He is dragged down a bit by the dopey role Jennifer Connelly plays, but he is totally believable in this role. At its heart, this film focuses on human stories, and this apparently disappoints those that expected a political film. The mostly incomprehensible politics whirl around the characters in a way that is more realistic than a preachy documentary approach would have been. Sappy in parts, predictable in others, but a stunning Leo and a beautiful and numbingly violent African background help make this movie worthwhile. See it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EduardoSotoMar 4, 2007
It´s excellent! Briliant Characters, and Di Caprio is Superb in his performance as Danny Archer. Also the movie gives you a point of view of Africa and its terrible situation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MojoP.Apr 23, 2007
This isn't a bad movie, but it tries to do too much. It goes for a strong political and emotional overtone without quite nailing it down. Often times there are holes in the plot and things don't quite seem to flow. As a documentary This isn't a bad movie, but it tries to do too much. It goes for a strong political and emotional overtone without quite nailing it down. Often times there are holes in the plot and things don't quite seem to flow. As a documentary it would have worked brilliantly but as a feature not so much. DiCaprio however was quite excellent, really believable as a freelance mercenary. I recommend all to watch it just to learn about the events, but for pure entertainment you have to go in with a good bit of patience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJApr 6, 2007
Despite Di Caprio's dodgy attempt at a Zimbabwean accent, I enjoyed this film. Highly emotional and bound to stir some feelings deep inside even the most unyielding of us, Blood Diamond set about its task of portraying the lives of Despite Di Caprio's dodgy attempt at a Zimbabwean accent, I enjoyed this film. Highly emotional and bound to stir some feelings deep inside even the most unyielding of us, Blood Diamond set about its task of portraying the lives of Africans caught up in rebel warfare very well. Although it wasn't the greatest film I've ever seen, I felt that it had done enough to secure a place among the best of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Apr 7, 2007
Very powerful movie. Having been in Liberia and Sierra Leone, it is very accurate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinS.Apr 8, 2007
Slightly contrived but the performances pull you into this movie. Di Caprio really has become an amazing actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LenR.May 5, 2007
DiCaprio is great, the movie is over preachy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonBoyJul 16, 2007
I'm always apprehensive of finding out about any factual political situation from a film, Hollywood has warped history once too often. This doesn't stop Blood Diamond being a cracking yarn though, visceral action and drama, combine I'm always apprehensive of finding out about any factual political situation from a film, Hollywood has warped history once too often. This doesn't stop Blood Diamond being a cracking yarn though, visceral action and drama, combine with slightly heavy handed sermonizing to deliver a highly entertaining, yet emotionally stirring and thought provoking bit of cinema. The love story angle is a trifle forced, but I think the intent is more to convey the emotional attachment between men and wealth, men and their country, their people and their families. Great performances by Di Caprio and Hounsou. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FloraL.Jul 8, 2007
Startling movie with very deep impact!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MadhavS.Feb 10, 2008
brilliant .... realistic in every detail possible ... acting has been perfect ... music is good ... screenplay is good ... above all the theme truly stays in eveyone's heart ... hats off to edward ... he's done an amazing job ...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NinaA.Mar 25, 2008
Loved it. Leo was totally gripping..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DWillyDec 11, 2006
This is a kickass movie. It may have a moment or two of awkward polemic, but, ignore those too-cool reviewers who've pull it's numbers down and swoon over the paper thin (see "Sin City"); it's called context. Jennifer Connelly This is a kickass movie. It may have a moment or two of awkward polemic, but, ignore those too-cool reviewers who've pull it's numbers down and swoon over the paper thin (see "Sin City"); it's called context. Jennifer Connelly is marginal, but Djiman Hounsou is huge and DiCaprio, well, this is the guy, folks. It's maybe not as difficult a role as he pulled off in "The Departed,' but he demonstrates here masterfully the ability, slightly distinct from raw acting chops, to carry a film. We've had Brando, Hoffman, Pacino, DeNiro and Penn (we lost James Dean and River Pheoenix too soon) and now we've got Leonardo DiCaprio. Take a moment, register how lucky we are to have him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Dec 11, 2006
When you get past all the social relevance and the constant reminders that the movie is really making a "serious" statement, you realize that your watching one of the best adventure/ thrillers of the past 10 years. This is one hellavu movie When you get past all the social relevance and the constant reminders that the movie is really making a "serious" statement, you realize that your watching one of the best adventure/ thrillers of the past 10 years. This is one hellavu movie folks! The writing, when it's not being preachy, is sharp and concise that at times is tense and gripping and also emotional. There is some graphic violence, but just enough to make you think about it, not thrown at you so it becomes the story like in Apocolypto. The credits are all superlative, especially Eduardo Serra's camera work and the production design of Dan Weil. The acting is a revelation. Jennifer Connelly brings truth and compassion to her role as a journalist in the midst of a civil war. Djimon Hounsou once again is extraordinary, why Hollywood hasn't caught on to what Speilberg saw in him for Amistad is beyond me. The man just oozes passion in his work. And then there's Leo. In The Departed earlier this year, I saw him become a mature actor who held his own with Nicholson, Martin Sheen and Alec Baldwin as part of a dynamic ensemble, and now in Blood Diamond, DiCaprio becomes a Leading Actor, not a big Movie Star, but an actor's Actor. His performance is stellar, right down to the accent. We may have lost Brando and George C. Scott, but Leonardo DiCaprio is the "veteran" new guy stepping into their shoes! A definate Top 10 must-see movie for 2006. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarlaW.Dec 10, 2006
Family, friendship, war, child soliders and diamonds were all inluded in this movie. Excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SyzygyDec 10, 2006
Hard, gritty, and unflicnhing, Zwick works the story with powerful conviction. All the performances were wonderful. Thankfully the love 'story' was subdued, making it more human from its subtle restraint. The inclusion of a Hard, gritty, and unflicnhing, Zwick works the story with powerful conviction. All the performances were wonderful. Thankfully the love 'story' was subdued, making it more human from its subtle restraint. The inclusion of a standard operatic score tuned liked a metronome to the story's undulations hurt some. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.Dec 10, 2006
A rivetting tale that is much more than a social commentary: it explores in its narative the human themes of war, personal and large scale rebellion, death, childhood in war, and the tug of war between betrayal and loyalty that is present in A rivetting tale that is much more than a social commentary: it explores in its narative the human themes of war, personal and large scale rebellion, death, childhood in war, and the tug of war between betrayal and loyalty that is present in human relationships. It is a poetic epic. A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillC.Dec 19, 2006
Seemed a bit too long, and the plot line seemed too simple.Was it made to be politically provocitive, or to entertain? I felt it never engaged me on either. Bill C.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShonaM.Dec 21, 2006
As a Shona woman i never thought of what the white's in my country felt and Danny speaks to how his family was killed and how he ended up in the army fighting along side Blacks. This movie meant the world to me. This movie painted a As a Shona woman i never thought of what the white's in my country felt and Danny speaks to how his family was killed and how he ended up in the army fighting along side Blacks. This movie meant the world to me. This movie painted a picture of what is going on in Africa and how noone cares. It made me think and realise and cry. yes this movie is a 10 in my books. Critics might say it was a bad story telling or whatever, but atleast someoen tried to tell the story that no one dares to tell or even think about. Leo's accent wasn;t half as bad at all for a Rhodie. Two thumps up. This is a powerful story that echoes the cry of Africa. I hope someone is listening!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
roberti.Dec 29, 2006
While Leonardo diCaprio inhabits his character with star-based assurance, we're led into a bloodbath that palls when it should be heightening our sympathies. At a certain point, like DiCaprio, you want to get out of Africa at any cost.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolJ.Dec 3, 2006
Best movie I have seen this year. It points out how catastophic world events go relatively unnoticed in the US. The depictions in the movie were extremely accurate and well done. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FranklinC.Dec 3, 2006
A near-perfect gem. A thoughtful examination of greed and the human capacity to do good or evil.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJ.Dec 3, 2006
Best movie all year. It exposes the horrendous acts that the diamond industry tacitly supports.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanL.Dec 4, 2006
One of my top ten films of 2006. I must say that I have been spoiled by the brilliance of great independent filmmaking like that of Babel, Little Children, or the magnificently underseen Half Nelson. It is because of this that I found myself One of my top ten films of 2006. I must say that I have been spoiled by the brilliance of great independent filmmaking like that of Babel, Little Children, or the magnificently underseen Half Nelson. It is because of this that I found myself attempting to judge this films cliches early on. However, by the end of this film I could not deny it's power. Director Edward Zwick (Glory, Courage Under Fire, The Last Samurai) is known for taking on very big subjects in a bold, but Hollywood entertainment sort of way. This film has all the excitement of a summer blockbuster and definately looks like a big budget action flick. What sets aside Zwick films from the traditional Hollywood lame ducks is his uncompromised ability to take very obvious message dialogue and, through great casting, make it believable. This film will win no award for screenplay, but the acting is top notch. Leonardo DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou both give Academy Award worthy performances with Jennifer Connelly channeling that wonderful on-screen presence that makes her one of the most enjoyable actresses to grace the silver screen. What also must be pointed out about this movie is its wonderful cinematography. The film is filled with luscious landscapes and I don't believe they could have been captured any better. Africa never looked so beautiful. You will find some of the weaker minded internet critics point the negativity used towards black Africa and use that as a weapon against films like this and one of last years best films The Constant Gardner. Do not be fooled by this simplistic analysis of these films. Africa is an ugly place, or as DiCaprio's Danny Archer would call it a " god forsaken continent." But what movies like Blood Diamond are saying is that there are good people in Africa and if we do our global part we can one day make Africa as beautiful as it's landscape. If only by simply choosing not to buy diamonds until the big corporations start showing some accountability. A lesson I think even the current government needs a reminder of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueDec 6, 2006
So far, the most impotant movie this year. A thougt provoking, powerful cinematic achievemnt. The best from Zwick since "Glory." Di Caprio and Hounsou's performances are superlative. Excellent supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkF.Dec 7, 2006
Djimon Hounsou wil be a star after this. Oscar nomination for sure. What a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanM.Jan 11, 2007
This was one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen, the story was great and well executed by the director, aside from DeCaprio's horrible accent. The movie had great action, powerful dialogue and a killer ending to say the least. This was one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen, the story was great and well executed by the director, aside from DeCaprio's horrible accent. The movie had great action, powerful dialogue and a killer ending to say the least. There was no better way to end the movie than the way the director did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Jan 19, 2007
Back in 1997, when Titanic was breaking all kinds of box office records and creating a few of its own, Leonardo DiCaprio suddenly started being touted in some circles as "the new Gable". That's not precisely accurate--even though Back in 1997, when Titanic was breaking all kinds of box office records and creating a few of its own, Leonardo DiCaprio suddenly started being touted in some circles as "the new Gable". That's not precisely accurate--even though Titanic was in many ways this generation's Gone With The Wind, Clark Gable's best characterizations (GWTW, San Fransisco, The Misfits) were mixtures of darkness and light while DiCaprio's Jack Dawson was nothing BUT light. Fast forward to nearly a decade later and who'd have anticipated DiCaprio as the new Bogart? Forget his British accent: Blood Diamond in some ways is Casablanca all over again, with the big honkin' precious stone that he and Djimon Hounsou form an uneasy partnership over filling in for the letters of transit. DiCaprio has grown and toughened more in a shorter period of time than any other contemporary actor that comes to mind: as recently as 2002's Gangs of New York he wore the cynicism and amorality demanded of him like an ill-fitting mask; now, with this and The Departed, it's come to fit him like a glove. Leading lady Jennifer Connelly does extremely well here too: after what seems like years of playing glum women carrying the world on their shoulders (which she excels at, as A Beautiful Mind and House of Sand and Fog clearly prove) it's a joy to see her smile, laugh and do repartee with equal skill! The movie itself is a smooth, handsomely made and entertaining action film with an ambitious social agenda: it not only wants to, like Hotel Rwanda, open Western eyes and hearts to the bloody atrocities Africans commit upon one another in Hatfield/ McCoy-like tribal skirmishes, but influence our pocketbooks by getting us NOT to buy jewelry sold by those who profit from and promulgate said conflicts. (The central--and perhaps unintended--question brought up in movies like this, which has reemerged anew with Saddam's execution, is so unanswerable it almost qualifies as a Buddhist koan; namely, if colonialist or dictatorial rule keeps the lid on decades and centuries of tribal resentments which would explode in endless bloodbaths if removed, is it possible that maybe iron-fist rule isn't ENTIRELY a bad thing?) Director Ed Zwick, who specializes in thoughtful historical epics and contemporary thrillers wrapped around such thinking-person's heartthrobs as Dicaprio, Denzel Washington, Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise, works slickly and seamlessly but intelligently, avoiding many of the standard mistakes (such as having DiCaprio and Hjonsou be buddies); his directorial trademark seems to be the use of one piece of explicit gore to represent an entire canvas of violence--remember the soldier's head being blown off in Glory or the theatergoer's arm doing the same in The Siege? My central difficulty with Blood Diamond lies in Hjonsou's characterization (NOT his performance, which is typically powerful). He seems to have two and only two dramatic functions: to reclaim his son from the rebel army that has kidnapped, enslaved and brainwashed the youth, turning him and other children into something not far removed from George A. Romero's zombies, and to turn DiCaprio's cynical opportunist into a better person. This is the Noble Negro syndrome, most famously exhibited by runaway slave Jim in The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and cafe piano player Sam in Casablanca; both are honorable creations, but have been duplicated too many times to serve as much more than an all-too convenient and arbitrary literary device, no matter how well played...and anyway, Hjonsou is certainly a nuanced enough actor (as In America demonstrates) to warrant and deserve characters with a few more layers and complexities. This does a lot to explain why Zwick's strengths and limitations as a filmmaker parallel those of his more famously socially conscious predecessor Stanley Kramer, and why Blood Diamond, as watchable as it is, is ultimately too schematic to be anything more than a good night of movie escapism, which is precisely what I'm sure Zwick DOESN'T want it to be...and why it's not causing QVC jewelry hostesses Jane Treacy and Lisa Robertson to lose any sleep over inability to meet their sales quotas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanielJan 2, 2007
I would call "Blood Diamond" well-meaning, but as it progresses, it descends into self-importance and then finally to a level of self-satisfaction where the film is literally applauding itself. How noble the filmmakers are! To tell the story I would call "Blood Diamond" well-meaning, but as it progresses, it descends into self-importance and then finally to a level of self-satisfaction where the film is literally applauding itself. How noble the filmmakers are! To tell the story of how a white African and a Western journalist come to the aid of Africans who would have been perfectly fine had it not been for Western intervention in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RickiS.Jan 3, 2007
In spite of too many narrow escapes and two-dimensional characters -- all except the DiCaprio character are totally good or really evil-- this movie is exciting, adrenalin pumping, and entertaining. Leonardo is excellent. The story behind In spite of too many narrow escapes and two-dimensional characters -- all except the DiCaprio character are totally good or really evil-- this movie is exciting, adrenalin pumping, and entertaining. Leonardo is excellent. The story behind the story deserves to be told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LEONALEEJan 8, 2007
Rarely does media production have the ability to both educate and entertain the audience. Blood Diamond attempt to be such a movie. Indeed a beautiful and courageous attempt. Tthe story, character, filmaking skills, cast and all make it hardRarely does media production have the ability to both educate and entertain the audience. Blood Diamond attempt to be such a movie. Indeed a beautiful and courageous attempt. Tthe story, character, filmaking skills, cast and all make it hard to ignore and forget. This movie will be a shame to miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CamH.Feb 12, 2007
Ripper of a movie. Actually has a real meaning, very moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulFeb 17, 2007
Definitely better than the metacritic score indicates. Very moving in some parts. My girlfriend apparently cried 3 times throughout the movie. Warning, though: a lot of innocent people die in this movie. It's frightening, but neccessary Definitely better than the metacritic score indicates. Very moving in some parts. My girlfriend apparently cried 3 times throughout the movie. Warning, though: a lot of innocent people die in this movie. It's frightening, but neccessary for the film. Anyways, DiCaprio is amazing in this one, the action's great, its just an all-around great film. One bad part, though, was the ending. I won't say what happened but it was kinda cheesy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NalinR.Feb 25, 2007
I'm so shocked after watching this movie that I'm going to deny all Diamond purchases from now on.. outstanding movie, gr8 message.. and its surprising to see fer critics giving this movie 28 out of 100 ... I hope they could learn I'm so shocked after watching this movie that I'm going to deny all Diamond purchases from now on.. outstanding movie, gr8 message.. and its surprising to see fer critics giving this movie 28 out of 100 ... I hope they could learn how to apppreciate a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErinT.Feb 26, 2007
This film I felt was a bit of an eye opener to what goes on in the rest of the world. It was very touching, scary, grusome, etc i could say so much about this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YolandaN.Feb 3, 2007
A very suspensful movie; gripping with graphic scenes of violence, but not for the sake of gratuity. A story that should be told - viewers come out with a new perspective on diamonds. The moral lessons - avoid 'blood diamonds'. A very suspensful movie; gripping with graphic scenes of violence, but not for the sake of gratuity. A story that should be told - viewers come out with a new perspective on diamonds. The moral lessons - avoid 'blood diamonds'. Greed is man's un-doing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Mar 22, 2007
Would've gotten a nine or ten but for Archer's last scene, which was just too cheesy, too much, even for a Hollywood movie. Other than that though, it's kind of old fashioned but really well done so who cares. And Leonardo Would've gotten a nine or ten but for Archer's last scene, which was just too cheesy, too much, even for a Hollywood movie. Other than that though, it's kind of old fashioned but really well done so who cares. And Leonardo DiCaprio is, like, getting to a point where he is good in every single movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZinnyS.Mar 30, 2007
Also Di Caprio's accent was rather patchy. True enough, from time to time he sound like a yank then it change back to south african. Touching story, it seem even in the land of millions of african the story follow only two white people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mariadesantiagoApr 2, 2007
i really like this movie! Yes, it was sad but i really really loved it so much i could see this movie over and over millions of time... My husben to be also like it he thought it wasn't going to be a good movie..but, at the end he alsoi really like this movie! Yes, it was sad but i really really loved it so much i could see this movie over and over millions of time... My husben to be also like it he thought it wasn't going to be a good movie..but, at the end he also loved this movie but that he would wach it over and over mybe 3 times but to as many as me!!!! I LOVED IT................... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidT.Apr 5, 2007
A little Over Done...Especially towards the End of the Movie!!! Some very dead spots of the Film I thought! But...Goes to show how the majority of you Americans are Suckers for tragic, sob stories that evoke no real moral sway! Diamonds Away...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusieL.May 21, 2007
A beautiful, breath-taking movie, exposng the world to the true horrors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticMay 27, 2007
A good old adventure movie with a strong plot and interesting characters. Plus, great setting and really cool music. Really good acting, as well. A pretty eye-opening movie. Runs a little long and can be a bit preachy at times but it's A good old adventure movie with a strong plot and interesting characters. Plus, great setting and really cool music. Really good acting, as well. A pretty eye-opening movie. Runs a little long and can be a bit preachy at times but it's a really well-filmed and very fun movie with some amazing action scenes. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenjaminB.Jul 22, 2007
I like it when a movie makes you think different after you saw it and that's actually the case here. After you saw kids shooting innocent people, all the troubles in your life will look a little bit smaller. next to this effect it is I like it when a movie makes you think different after you saw it and that's actually the case here. After you saw kids shooting innocent people, all the troubles in your life will look a little bit smaller. next to this effect it is also a quite good movie with a deep impact. only some characters are - in my opinion - too "flat". watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebekahM.Aug 12, 2007
Exactly the sort of movie to keep you entertain yet reveal the disgusting truth about what happens in poorer countries without the richer countries noticing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonP.Jan 25, 2008
great film.it throws light upon the plight of africans .it says all about the worsening situation in africa.indeed the diamonds available in the markets are 'blood diamonds'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeiZ.Mar 19, 2008
Possibly one of the greatest movies of 06. Keeps you on the edge of your seat, and it really makes you think about what you watch - not a norm in most action films. The civil war in Africa - all real. Conflict diamonds - that's real Possibly one of the greatest movies of 06. Keeps you on the edge of your seat, and it really makes you think about what you watch - not a norm in most action films. The civil war in Africa - all real. Conflict diamonds - that's real too. And what's worse, the brainwashing of children to become soldiers, absolutely real. I must say, Leonardo's role as a South African was so convincing I almost forgot he was American. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronL.Dec 11, 2006
A great movie. Never a dull moment. Dicaprio is surprisingly good, even perfect, with an accent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AviK.Dec 11, 2006
A few false notes, but overall a powerful film with a rare, morally ambiguous lead character (DiCaprio's), who never turns into a "good guy" (contrary to what a lot of the critics have been saying). Solid performances all around, with A few false notes, but overall a powerful film with a rare, morally ambiguous lead character (DiCaprio's), who never turns into a "good guy" (contrary to what a lot of the critics have been saying). Solid performances all around, with DiCaprio's in particular a stand out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadShiiraDec 11, 2006
"Blood Diamond", to the filmmaker's credit, is self-aware of its overt pop entertainment elements. The first Sierra Leonean soldier Danny(Leonardo DiCaprio) talks to goes by the name of Rambo. And not coincidentally, the action scenes "Blood Diamond", to the filmmaker's credit, is self-aware of its overt pop entertainment elements. The first Sierra Leonean soldier Danny(Leonardo DiCaprio) talks to goes by the name of Rambo. And not coincidentally, the action scenes in "Blood Diamond" are indistinguishable from some innocuous violent film with a high body count. The human carnage is supposed to be sobering, but its not. "Blood Diamond" isn't "The Killing Fields". There's no scene in which the dead Africans are truly mourned. We end up caring more about Danny's fate. His cohort Maddy(Jennifer Connelly) seems like a stand-in for the filmmaker(or screenwriter) when she says what Danny is thinking; that she's "exploiting their grief." Her former beau described her as an "action junkie"(a possible reference to the film's target audience, or the screenwriter's sensibility), but that "[she] give[s] a sh*t"(a possible reference to the writer's social consciousness, but concessions are necessary in order to get the film green-lighted). "Hotel Rwanda" was a mainstream film, but the spectacle never got in the way of its message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GiterdoneDec 13, 2006
Good idea for a plot, great acting by DiCaprio (as always), but poor execution, editing, and direction. Syzygy is dead on with his comment about the musical score which was absurd at points. And to Saul R, I find it interesting that someone Good idea for a plot, great acting by DiCaprio (as always), but poor execution, editing, and direction. Syzygy is dead on with his comment about the musical score which was absurd at points. And to Saul R, I find it interesting that someone who is obviously Jewish fabricates such a falsity - at no point in this film was there even a whiff of anti-semitism, get over yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisDec 19, 2006
Somewhat predictable, the story is well executed, thrilling, shocking, and thought evoking. While his accent waffles from time-to-time, DiCaprio's performance is spot on. Probably his best performance yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RebeccaM.Dec 22, 2006
This movie worked beautifully as an action film, but more importantly, it got my attention politically. The images of child soldiers and violence against masses of innocent people were so jarring. Perhaps because I wasn't expecting to This movie worked beautifully as an action film, but more importantly, it got my attention politically. The images of child soldiers and violence against masses of innocent people were so jarring. Perhaps because I wasn't expecting to be so moved, I ended up weeping at the atrocities of civil war. Leonardo was spectacular, as was Djimon. Jennifer was about as emotionally poignant as a log and it ruined a key part of the story. Also, it is a titch too long. Altogether wonderfully entertaining (in a disturbing way...). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElessarDec 22, 2006
Without a doubt, this was one of the best movies I've seen so far this year (second perhaps only to The Departed). DiCaprio certainly deserves the accolades he's received for this role, and I thought his accent was quite Without a doubt, this was one of the best movies I've seen so far this year (second perhaps only to The Departed). DiCaprio certainly deserves the accolades he's received for this role, and I thought his accent was quite convincing. Djimon performed excellently as well. Only 2 things bothered me (and only slightly): when the air strike occured, I had a hard time believing ONE helicopter had THAT much firepower; and the last 10 minutes or so might have been a little too much. Aside from those, an excellent film worthy of a 9.1/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArielGDec 25, 2006
This film worked on so many levels: action, thriller, drama, political piece. Very intense in several scenes, and it made you feel like you weren't just watching it, but were in it. Great acting by DiCaprio and Hounsou. Jennifer This film worked on so many levels: action, thriller, drama, political piece. Very intense in several scenes, and it made you feel like you weren't just watching it, but were in it. Great acting by DiCaprio and Hounsou. Jennifer Connelly was also great in her role and she is one of the most under-rated actresses. I also didn't detect any anti-semitism that was mentioned by another poster. While it's true that there are a lot of Jewish interests in diamond mines, particular in South Africa, this was not mentioned or implied in this movie. Please don't try to find anti-semitism where there is none. Just enjoy the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
robertDec 29, 2006
Towering above all--even the gripping sense of helplessness in a lawless zone--is dicaprio's performance... along with the departed, he has risen to the top level of actors (on one level) and great movie STARs (on another)...he is just Towering above all--even the gripping sense of helplessness in a lawless zone--is dicaprio's performance... along with the departed, he has risen to the top level of actors (on one level) and great movie STARs (on another)...he is just brilliant in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyB.Dec 30, 2006
Easily the best movie of 2006, it captivates the audience and gets their attention, but never releases it until the end. Blood Daimond was meaningful and excellently acted. I can't say enough of how great this movie is, and if you Easily the best movie of 2006, it captivates the audience and gets their attention, but never releases it until the end. Blood Daimond was meaningful and excellently acted. I can't say enough of how great this movie is, and if you havent seen it yet, pay the money and see it!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GlennZ.Dec 30, 2006
A very good movie. It was entertaining, a fast paced thriller and also showed the horrors of civil war yet another in African nation. Some very disturbing scenese. Good acting, some great scenery, great action, a tense thriller, and a good A very good movie. It was entertaining, a fast paced thriller and also showed the horrors of civil war yet another in African nation. Some very disturbing scenese. Good acting, some great scenery, great action, a tense thriller, and a good story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MauriceF.Dec 5, 2006
I think that 'Blood Diamond' is essentially a romantic adventure story with politics in the background--an old-fashioned movie, I suppose, but exciting and stunningly well made. I suggest you go see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NancyH.Dec 9, 2006
This movie tries to cover a lot--the issue is important, and yes the poitnts are well made. It could have been edited more tighter--and there is no chemistry between DiCaprio and Connelly. DiCaprio does a good job here and Djimon Hounsou This movie tries to cover a lot--the issue is important, and yes the poitnts are well made. It could have been edited more tighter--and there is no chemistry between DiCaprio and Connelly. DiCaprio does a good job here and Djimon Hounsou gives a powerful performance. Makes you think twice about getting more bling-bling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SaulR.Dec 9, 2006
A powerful and gripping film about an important subject with excellent performances from both its stars which unfortunately and needlessly veers into anti-semitism in its depiction of Jewish diamond merchants. Leo DiCaprio gives a terrific A powerful and gripping film about an important subject with excellent performances from both its stars which unfortunately and needlessly veers into anti-semitism in its depiction of Jewish diamond merchants. Leo DiCaprio gives a terrific performance (as always), and Jennifer Connelly's turn will surely be remembered come Oscar time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveP.Jan 15, 2007
Fantastic Film. Di Caprio has, almost overnight, become a mesmerising, morphing, magnificent actor. Djimon is nothing short of wonderful, and I am always glad to see Connolly. Edward Zwick has made a film of conscience and power, and those Fantastic Film. Di Caprio has, almost overnight, become a mesmerising, morphing, magnificent actor. Djimon is nothing short of wonderful, and I am always glad to see Connolly. Edward Zwick has made a film of conscience and power, and those that accuse it of over-sentimentality have a jaded and over-cynical heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomV.Jan 22, 2007
This movie is a real action packed thriller. It is full of facts and the plot always keeps you interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful