Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: July 26, 2013
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 340 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
278
Mixed:
40
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleJul 21, 2016
Blue Jasmine is an absolutely beautiful film from director Woody Allen. Standing amongst his best work undoubtedly, Blue Jasmine really hit home at times and was an incredibly moving film. Cate Blanchett was absolutely stunning here, as wereBlue Jasmine is an absolutely beautiful film from director Woody Allen. Standing amongst his best work undoubtedly, Blue Jasmine really hit home at times and was an incredibly moving film. Cate Blanchett was absolutely stunning here, as were Sally Hawkins and Bobby Cannavale. All of them really outdid themselves and turned in phenomenal performances. As with all Allen films, it is more-or-less a slice of life kind of film, so it will only appeal to you if that is up your alley. Fortunately, for me, it is. I am fine with not being told everything and not getting all the answers in return for fantastic characters. Blue Jasmine delivers that in spades with real human beings left-and-right who are multi-dimensional and, as a result, their problems become endlessly relatable and touching. Blue Jasmine is a film that could very reasonably cause the tears to flow. Overall, this character-driven comedy-drama is a force to be reckoned with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysJul 1, 2014
Blue Jasmine itself might not be the best movie of the year, but it's Blanchett's Oscar-winning performance that elevates the film and takes it to emotional levels another lesser actress might not have been able to handle. It has a greatBlue Jasmine itself might not be the best movie of the year, but it's Blanchett's Oscar-winning performance that elevates the film and takes it to emotional levels another lesser actress might not have been able to handle. It has a great supporting cast that ranges from Sally Hawkins to Louis C. K., and it shows a very accurate portrayal of its many themes and messages about how financial status and relationship choices can make all the difference in life. Allen has been a sort of hit-and-miss director for the last decade, so this can be easily called his best work in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Bold and contemporary, Blue Jasmine proves the relevance of Woody Allen's storytelling today. Cate Blanchett gives one of the performances of the year alongside career-strong roles from Sally Hawkins and Bobby Cannavale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeJan 25, 2014
It was 'Rachel Getting Married' kinda movie with a story. About a troubled middle aged woman who come back to her family seeking a better life. Woody Allen did used his usual magical contents to render this movie in a style. Without hisIt was 'Rachel Getting Married' kinda movie with a story. About a troubled middle aged woman who come back to her family seeking a better life. Woody Allen did used his usual magical contents to render this movie in a style. Without his movie, the American academy awards won't complete. So this movie nominated in 3 major categories for 2014 OSCAR.

Jasmine is one of those characters hard to predict her motivation as well the concept of the life they are living in. As her life is affected with complicated matters around, she comes to live for a while with her sister. In that stay she goes through to forget the previous to make the future better. Haunting past, confusing present and complicated future is all she must handle. Is she is capable and how she does is the rest of the movie.

Good storyline keeping very simple with sometime a strong message is what I like in Woody Allen's movie. As a fan of his works I was not disappointed in this movie. As I said it was not afresh story. The way he convinced the audience through briefing the story is what makes him a great as always.

Definitely worth giving a nomination to Woody Allen for this screen writing in OSCAR. He made this usual drama into a special product. It was stated as a comedy, but as I saw it was quite a serious one in the matter it dealt with. The actors, Cate Blanchett and Sally Hawkins were given their best for the movie. I am not surprised for their nominees in Best actress and supporting role for OSCAR. I conclude this review by saying you should not miss the movie if you are a Woody Allen fan.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonAug 23, 2013
Allen has been cruel to many other of his characters, most memorably in Crimes and Misdemeanors, and he’s also left many other characters as prisoners of their own stasis and delusions—The Purple Rose of Cairo and Vicky Cristina BarcelonaAllen has been cruel to many other of his characters, most memorably in Crimes and Misdemeanors, and he’s also left many other characters as prisoners of their own stasis and delusions—The Purple Rose of Cairo and Vicky Cristina Barcelona come to mind. But I’m not sure any of those other characters were quite as fully realized as Jasmine, which is naturally tribute to Allen and Blanchett and their alchemy together, but it also made the film, for me, hard to take. (A minority opinion given the reviews I’ve read.) I saw sadism in it, beyond the usual misanthropy. (Love misanthropy!) Or, put another way, Blue Jasmine feels like tragedy without catharsis—an interesting thing to pull off, but not particularly moving or maybe even admirable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 7, 2014
woody ailen is a creative director this is a guy who knows what he is gonna and he is determined to makes plans and goals for himself and others . i found cate blanch in this is perfect
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Apr 5, 2014
Woody Allen has a very distinct style and shows quite impressively in this film. Cate Blanchett is a roller coaster of emotions in this movie and she nails every bit of it. Truly fantastic acting on her behalf.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuMay 14, 2015
Blue Jasmine is one of Woody Allen's best movies. The movie feels real enough to make you squirm uncomfortably, Cate Blanchett's performance is utterly amazing and Allen scores points for finally making a movie where not every character isBlue Jasmine is one of Woody Allen's best movies. The movie feels real enough to make you squirm uncomfortably, Cate Blanchett's performance is utterly amazing and Allen scores points for finally making a movie where not every character is just a re-skinned version of himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksApr 11, 2014
Relatively strong Woody Allen film with a stellar cast and Cate Blanchett in the lead. I felt this film really went beyond what we expect from an Allen film, but still left a sense of melancholy and 'woe-is-me' throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveSep 28, 2013
You can keep your Annie Hall's, Manhattan and Midnight in Paris. This is the best Woody Allen film in years and it's all because of the magnificent Cate Blanchett. Yes, she's back and HOW in a performance to savour that must rank as the bestYou can keep your Annie Hall's, Manhattan and Midnight in Paris. This is the best Woody Allen film in years and it's all because of the magnificent Cate Blanchett. Yes, she's back and HOW in a performance to savour that must rank as the best in any Allen film. What about Diane Keaton I hear you ask. Diane Keaton! Don't make me laugh, well actually she didn't! There are simply not enough superlatives to praise Blanchett's playing of this wonderfully multi dimensional and complex woman. The last time I can remember seeing such a delightful and off beat female character on screen was way back in 1987 when Holly Hunter presented us with her controlling TV producer Jane Craig in Broadcast News. Another performance to relish. Whether popping pills, talking to herself or rejecting suitors Cate is joyous whilst looking absolutely fantastic into the bargain.

In all honesty Allen's screenplay, whilst dramatically very good, is not particularly funny. The comedy is elicited by Blanchett's delicate playing and her expressions from scene to scene. Her escape from the clutches of the amorous dentist has to be seen to be appreciated and she makes it laugh out loud funny. There are no two ways about it she steals the show. Sally Hawkins does well in her role as the sister and of the men Andrew Dice Clay registers the best as Hawkins' ex-husband. But it is Cate all the way. Academy make up for your mistakes of yester year with the likes of Paltrow, Berry and Bullock and crown a true talent best actress. Yes, give her the oscar.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JacobMay 28, 2014
This is a well made film. The story is well constructed and well written. The directing is good. The highlight of the film is Cate Blancett's performance. The character is interesting and relatable enough as it is but Cate's performance makesThis is a well made film. The story is well constructed and well written. The directing is good. The highlight of the film is Cate Blancett's performance. The character is interesting and relatable enough as it is but Cate's performance makes it even better. Cate does a wonderful job with the material given to her especially when she has to get angry and/or upset. Defintely deserved her Oscar nomination for Best Actress. Film buffs and adults should definitely check this one out. Everyone else see if you want but you may be bored. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticSep 3, 2014
Cate Blanchett takes on a role that's more complex than the equation to the atomic bomb; her mental health will go off like one when pushed. Her role is funny, tragic, annoying, sympathetic, selfish, and cogent. The rest of the cast is veryCate Blanchett takes on a role that's more complex than the equation to the atomic bomb; her mental health will go off like one when pushed. Her role is funny, tragic, annoying, sympathetic, selfish, and cogent. The rest of the cast is very much worth mentioning: Sally Hawkins, the less aristocratic sister. Andrew Dice Clay, the embittered ex-in law. Alec Baldwin, the conniving dead husband. And the charismatic Bobby Cannavale, the annoyed and irritated new boyfriend. Woody Allen rounds up these talented actors with a witty script and sharp direction, for a philisophical outlook on wealth and downfall. His more than often cinematic style of a gorgeous lighting, captures the lifestyle of Jasmine, or what she wants to keep of it, perfectly. It bay be too obvious this is a Woody Allen picture, but he pulls off romantic comedies with eclectic allure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BikerjamesAug 19, 2013
Although Woody is a great comedic filmmaker, my favorite films of his are the dramas. This film is a throwback to the great 80's films of his like "Interiors" and "Another Woman". Cate Blanchett is mesmerizing as a woman who has lived in aAlthough Woody is a great comedic filmmaker, my favorite films of his are the dramas. This film is a throwback to the great 80's films of his like "Interiors" and "Another Woman". Cate Blanchett is mesmerizing as a woman who has lived in a bubble, and cannot face the real world. She is only comfortable in her unrealistic world as the wealthy trophy wife, and cannot function when the marriage tragically ends. The supporting cast is superb, but this is Cate Blanchett's vehicle to take all the way to the Oscars. LOVED the ending as well. Perfection. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BHBarryJul 30, 2013
“Blue Jasmine” is the latest submission by writer-director Woody Allen. It stars Alec Baldwin,, Cate Blanchett, Peter Sarsgaard, Sally Hawkins and Bobby Cannavale in this story of a character strangely resembling Bernie Madoff (Alec B) and“Blue Jasmine” is the latest submission by writer-director Woody Allen. It stars Alec Baldwin,, Cate Blanchett, Peter Sarsgaard, Sally Hawkins and Bobby Cannavale in this story of a character strangely resembling Bernie Madoff (Alec B) and his wife (Cate B) as they seek to function after the fall. Intermixed with this basic plot is the plight of Ginger, the sister of the Mrs. Madoff-like character and her boyfriend (Bobby V) who so much resemble Stella and Stanley Kowalski in “Streetcar Named Desire” than probably even Mr. Allen would care to acknowledge. The characters are flawed and yet we never go further than skin deep in this commentary by the author and the need for tranquilizers and relaxers as our heroine faces life after luxury. The first really non-comedy from Mr. Allen since Interiors in the 80;s, I was disappointed in the product. Although certainly easy to view, the film lacks depth and tells us really nothing about what we are watching. I wonder if the many critics who are falling all over their pens to praise and acknowledge this work would be doing so if the author and director had a different name. I remember years ago that going to an Ingmar Bergman movie automatically meant you either loved it or didn’t understand it It was heresy to criticize it or not give it a rave review. So, at the risk of heresy and incurring the wrath of the Allen fan club members, I give this film a 7 because I truly expected so much more but never got it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
sanyrubApr 20, 2015
One of the best Woody Allen fims in the last 20 years. Absolutely amazing, tragic and comedic main character played by a perfect Cate Blanchet with an incredible range of emotions. She definitely owned the role and got a very deserved OscarOne of the best Woody Allen fims in the last 20 years. Absolutely amazing, tragic and comedic main character played by a perfect Cate Blanchet with an incredible range of emotions. She definitely owned the role and got a very deserved Oscar for it (it is a pleasure when an award like the oscar goes to the right person, like in this case or in Natalie Portman or Anne Hathaway´s recent cases). The supporting cast is in grape shape too, especially the actress playing Cate Blanchet´s sister. Great dialogues as always. You have to love these film makers who keep pushing the art of film making (and not just visual effects fests) nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
netflicAug 26, 2013
I would call the latest of Woody Allen's movies, "Blue Jasmine", definitely not the best one but quite watchable.
The movie resembles the Madoff's scandal, even though all names are different, but parallels are clearly seen.
The way the
I would call the latest of Woody Allen's movies, "Blue Jasmine", definitely not the best one but quite watchable.
The movie resembles the Madoff's scandal, even though all names are different, but parallels are clearly seen.
The way the story of the main character Jasmine is told is appealing to me. Every now and then a current event triggers a memory flash from her past life, and that is how we learn what brought her to the shabby state she currently finds herself. There are numerous faults in the script (written by Woody Allen as well). Plus over-all the movie leaves some clownish aftertaste (which is not unusual for his movies). But Cate Blanchett's performance made me forget all the movie's shortcomings. Even though the whole cast is quite good, without Cate I would be disappointed about the movie as a whole. An Oscar-winning performance!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
ScraperJan 25, 2014
Well, the viewer reviews on Metacritic look like Christmas lights down the page. One thing I think most of us can agree on is that Cate Blanchett utterly lifts this role above and beyond. Her believability as a high-heeled, Park AvenueWell, the viewer reviews on Metacritic look like Christmas lights down the page. One thing I think most of us can agree on is that Cate Blanchett utterly lifts this role above and beyond. Her believability as a high-heeled, Park Avenue strutter is seamless through each swing and swell of exasperation. Blue Jasmine is quality and reaches it's audience on emotional and humorous levels. Although, like some films of recent note (Inside Llewyn Davis), the characters eventually fold under their own shortcomings and finally no one learns or grows and no redemptions are achieved. And given Blanchett's scintillating performance, I remain wondering what may have happened had the bomb gone off. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
wishmasterJan 26, 2014
Woody Allen does it again, go for awesome script.
Cate Blanchet shows because it is one of the two best actresses of this generation.
No doubt you will love this movie to anyone, entertaining, well built, with a social and personal message
Woody Allen does it again, go for awesome script.
Cate Blanchet shows because it is one of the two best actresses of this generation.
No doubt you will love this movie to anyone, entertaining, well built, with a social and personal message about greed, and their psychological causes when ruin hits your door.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MikefromAngusFeb 2, 2014
Absolutely an amazing movie! Amazing cast, a story that keeps you interested and theres no way to know what will happen next. Or how it will end! a more with no action, yet I was glued to the screen! excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenNov 3, 2015
A good performance from Cate Blanchett and an interesting character. The rest of the characters are also well developed. The ending is a bit boring, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidMay 18, 2014
Woody Allen gives us one of the best movies of his career, Cate Blanchett is just so entertaining as a broke women who tries to rejuvenate her life. The supporting cast also give great performances with the likes of Sally Hawkins, AlecWoody Allen gives us one of the best movies of his career, Cate Blanchett is just so entertaining as a broke women who tries to rejuvenate her life. The supporting cast also give great performances with the likes of Sally Hawkins, Alec Baldwin, Louis C.K, Peter Sarsgard and etc... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
adhamhanyJan 25, 2014
Rich with very fine performances. Cate Blanchett in particular stars in one of the best roles of her career. The plot was also interesting. I especially enjoyed seeing the way the backstory was revealed.

The movie, however, was very
Rich with very fine performances. Cate Blanchett in particular stars in one of the best roles of her career. The plot was also interesting. I especially enjoyed seeing the way the backstory was revealed.

The movie, however, was very uncomfartable. A torrent of nervous breakdowns made watching this movie very sad and depressing. I don't know why this film is listed as a comedy. There was 'some' moments were i laughed, but nothing to compensate the dread that i felt.

You won't get bored seeing this, but it's no 'pleasant' film like i expected. This is no Midnight in Paris.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NikolayGAug 5, 2013
Arguably Woody Allen's best film. He has certainly made none better. While this movie has a passing resemblance to A Streetcar Named Desire, it is more nuanced, more complex, more layered, and more convincing. Unbelievable script andArguably Woody Allen's best film. He has certainly made none better. While this movie has a passing resemblance to A Streetcar Named Desire, it is more nuanced, more complex, more layered, and more convincing. Unbelievable script and performances. This film deserves at least two Oscars, for script and best actress. And it hinges on no amusing gimmick. No time travel. No man stepping out of a movie screen. No hypnotist. No gangsters cursing one another under the influence of helium. Just excellent pure focused tight drama. See it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeAug 17, 2013
Brilliant. Cate Blanchett gives the performance of her career! This film is as good as it gets. In the same category as "Interiors", "Husbands and Wives" and "Crimes and Misdemeanors." The entire cast shines and this is one of Allen's bestBrilliant. Cate Blanchett gives the performance of her career! This film is as good as it gets. In the same category as "Interiors", "Husbands and Wives" and "Crimes and Misdemeanors." The entire cast shines and this is one of Allen's best screenplays. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
dollarsignOct 21, 2014
Good**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************Good************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
Blue Jasmine is Woody Allen's strongest female character since Annie Hall. Part Greek tragedy, part morality play, Allen applies his traditional theme of infidelity to the perils of today's financial markets, with more dramatic than comedicBlue Jasmine is Woody Allen's strongest female character since Annie Hall. Part Greek tragedy, part morality play, Allen applies his traditional theme of infidelity to the perils of today's financial markets, with more dramatic than comedic effect. Cate Blanchett excels at the dual persona Jasmine, establishing herself as the front runner for next year's Oscar for Best Actress. Departing from his lighter, more nostalgic recent efforts, Allen's Blue Jasmine is similar to that of Shadows and Fog, exploring the darker aspects of human character, specifically, inaction in the face of injustice. Not to be missed, catch it in the theater. Blue Jasmine is also a welcome addition to your Blu Ray collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PetitBikiniJan 17, 2016
Although "Blue Jasmine" felt a little scattered during the second half of the film, it's still pretty good overall. It creates fully-developed characters with proper history and tells a STORY with them. Nothing revolutionary, just an averageAlthough "Blue Jasmine" felt a little scattered during the second half of the film, it's still pretty good overall. It creates fully-developed characters with proper history and tells a STORY with them. Nothing revolutionary, just an average great fun movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GuillermoBMJul 12, 2015
Summary: Filled with awkward and sad moments, Blue Jasmine is a very interesting drama that boasts great performances and a moving story. 93/100 [A-]

Blue Jasmine was hilarious, what I liked about this film is the weirdness of the main
Summary: Filled with awkward and sad moments, Blue Jasmine is a very interesting drama that boasts great performances and a moving story. 93/100 [A-]

Blue Jasmine was hilarious, what I liked about this film is the weirdness of the main character and its story. Cate Blanchet gives a believable and powerful performance here, such as the rest of the cast. Since the first 5 minutes you feel entertained and interested in Jasmine. The whole cast is fantastic and the musical score is jazzy and enjoyable. It's surprisingly entertaining and I didn't feel tired or bored at all.

Ginger (performed by Sally Hawkins) is an awesome character, she totally looks like the average american citizen, her character is happy, optimist and likable, she deserves her Oscar nomination. Also, I want to add that the sub-plots and non-main characters are great too, you're interested in them, and you care about them. I liked the ambiguous ending, and the whole message of the film, you don't need to be rich to be happy.

Hal (Alec Baldwin) is hateful in every sense of the word, and his son Danny (Alden Ehrenreich) is one of my favorite characters in the film because he is determined and he wants all the negative people out of his life, in this case Jasmine. I really enjoyed Blue Jasmine, all the sadness and drama in Jasmine's life, all her lies and attitudes. This is definitely one of the best films of 2013, it is an instant classic. [A-]
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Prodigy2013Jan 17, 2014
There's no stopping Woody Allen, At 78 years old he's still making fresh films (on many occasions), that never fail to entertain as well as challenge. His latest picture, 'Blue Jasmine' is just that. Its a striking character study about aThere's no stopping Woody Allen, At 78 years old he's still making fresh films (on many occasions), that never fail to entertain as well as challenge. His latest picture, 'Blue Jasmine' is just that. Its a striking character study about a wealthy New York socialite named Jasmine, who is forced to move in with her working-class sister, Ginger; when her marriage with a wealthy business man falls apart after he's indicted. Spearheading the delightful cast which includes Sally Hawkins, Louis C.K. and Andrew Dice-Clay; was Cate Blanchett. She gives tour de force performance as the titular character, one of her best! The character's vapid, snobbish behavior, mental fragility and pure malevolence, was excellently conceived by Blanchett; both on a comedic and dramatic level. But as I've said many times, a great performance sometimes isn't possible without a well written screenplay. And gosh, does that apply here; Allen screenplay is a fine piece of work. His back and forth narrative structure which juxtaposes Jasmine's high life in New York with her dissatisfaction in the earthly home of her sister, was a brilliant approach to telling the story. Not only does it allow for neat characterizations; but it was also good way of bleeding the plot, which does take unexpected turns. 'Blue Jasmine' was a splendid study of class and morality, headlined by great performances from the cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VonSeuxJan 20, 2014
A modern tragedy, Woody shows his writting skills are not closed to one or two genres. Outstanding acting performance by Ms. Blanchett and nice support cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
poetreviewerAug 25, 2013
Great movie, great acting. Cate Blanchette is Jasmine, a woman who has lost touch with reality because she's lost her identity. Woody Allen's script and overall concept are both human and divine. This movie is so full of humanity, everyoneGreat movie, great acting. Cate Blanchette is Jasmine, a woman who has lost touch with reality because she's lost her identity. Woody Allen's script and overall concept are both human and divine. This movie is so full of humanity, everyone should be able to relate in some odd way and feel both annoyance and empathy for its characters. I love this movie. Allen at his best. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
Christian0205Mar 30, 2014
Great acting by Blanchett, interesting story (oh, humans). Although at the end I expected more drama, like she was imagining the last part. And it ends up being circumstancial.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Tazmania32Jan 9, 2014
Any Woody Allen can be great, as long as he's not acting in it. The humor and natural pacing of the film is signature to Allen's greatness as a director, and Blanchett is perfect for his type of humor.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JohnrieberAug 31, 2013
This is one of Woody Allen's best films! "Blue Jasmine" continues the Director's fascination with betrayal, deception and infidelity. It also ranks as his best film since "Match Point", and in the upper echelon of all of his work. TheThis is one of Woody Allen's best films! "Blue Jasmine" continues the Director's fascination with betrayal, deception and infidelity. It also ranks as his best film since "Match Point", and in the upper echelon of all of his work. The performances are, to a person, outstanding. From Cate Blanchett's oscar-worthy lead to a score of smaller roles, it is note perfect throughout. Andrew Dice Clay brings a surprising world-weary subtlety to his part, by far a career best for him. Huge kudos also to Sally Hawkins and especially Bobby Carnavale, who shows a "blue collar rage" unseen in Allen's films before. I'm not discussing the plot because there's no need to give anything away. This is, without a doubt, up there with "Hannah And Her Sisters" and "Crimes & Misdemeanors" as his best serious work. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
NitishAug 20, 2014
Wonderful Movie, It looks like a higher version of Young Adults..!!
I just wish they make another movie as a sequel of this. LOL, I mean i really wanted to know what happened after the end of the movie..!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PaperThingSep 14, 2013
Excellent film; black comedy to the extreme certainly demented and emotionally twisted. Bobby Cannavale and Sally Hawkins are charming counterpoints to the insanity of Cate Blanchett's eponymous character. This movie leaves the audienceExcellent film; black comedy to the extreme certainly demented and emotionally twisted. Bobby Cannavale and Sally Hawkins are charming counterpoints to the insanity of Cate Blanchett's eponymous character. This movie leaves the audience questioning the reality of what the are actually watching. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
gigiharris17Nov 9, 2015
Darkly funny, often in a laugh out loud, self-deprecating way, but it also doubles as a cautionary tale.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29dd1e-Blue-Jasmine-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HerlyantiJan 6, 2016
I like this movie, no doubt. And I love the character played by Blanchett, so enthralling for the screen. But I feel like this is not Allen's. Maybe because I saw too little humor in it??? Or maybe because he's not in it. Haha, can't reallyI like this movie, no doubt. And I love the character played by Blanchett, so enthralling for the screen. But I feel like this is not Allen's. Maybe because I saw too little humor in it??? Or maybe because he's not in it. Haha, can't really explain.
One thing I regret, why there's no firm explanation on what Jasmine's husband did??? It is just said that he is a con artist. You know I'm just a simple young woman who knows too little about crime. So please don't imply
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
deanableJan 24, 2014
Stunning performance by Cate Blanchett. Beautifully directed by Woody Allen. 2013 is one of the great years of motion picture history. People will look back from 50 years and say "My God did you see the nominees for the 2013 Oscars?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoseloSep 21, 2013
Poder estar adentrado en los pensamientos de una persona como Jasmine fue sencillamente fascinante. Es por esto que entiendo que no solo esta ha sido una buena película, sino que la actuación de Blanchett fue impresionante, profesional y muyPoder estar adentrado en los pensamientos de una persona como Jasmine fue sencillamente fascinante. Es por esto que entiendo que no solo esta ha sido una buena película, sino que la actuación de Blanchett fue impresionante, profesional y muy artística. Woody Allen nos ha dejando en los últimos años una serie de películas que demuestran la capacidad y la educación que el hombre tiene como director de cine. Simplemente con ver uno de estos filmes lleva a uno a reconocer que le pertenecen, porque su estilo se ha convertido en su firma. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
StingwoodFeb 8, 2014
Woody? Welcome back! This is the best Allen's film of almost two decades. Absolutely better and more powerful than "Midnight in Paris" and "Vicky Cristina Barcelona". This movie has every characteristic of his old films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrThistleAug 9, 2013
Well, great acting, sure, I guess. Cate, of course, obviously. Bobby Cannavale was exceptional. But I couldn't wait for this movie to end, it was so sad. And the ending? Wow, saddest thing of all. I still feel lousy, although I just saw thisWell, great acting, sure, I guess. Cate, of course, obviously. Bobby Cannavale was exceptional. But I couldn't wait for this movie to end, it was so sad. And the ending? Wow, saddest thing of all. I still feel lousy, although I just saw this today. Maybe I'll feel better soon. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
PhoeboBuffayOct 14, 2014
Blue Jasmine is one of Woody Allen's best films. Great cast and great performances.
Cate Blanchett shows the pain that Jasmine is suffering. You can see how powerful her acting is.
Sally Hawkins is awesome as Ginger and she's the only who
Blue Jasmine is one of Woody Allen's best films. Great cast and great performances.
Cate Blanchett shows the pain that Jasmine is suffering. You can see how powerful her acting is.
Sally Hawkins is awesome as Ginger and she's the only who makes a great while Cate is on screen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alpoApr 11, 2014
This film is carried by Blanchett's great performance, as well as a lot of great supporting performances. She does a great job with a fairly unsympathetic character. This is a great exploration of narcissism and denial.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Redfox475Jan 11, 2014
Great movie - funny, dramatic, and consistently entertaining. Cate Blanchett is a true artist. Woody Allen killed it with this one. Alexander Skaarsgard (sp?) was my least favorite part. He just seemed out of place amongst such connected actors.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
UdwariAug 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I prefer to live on a wavelength unfrequented by the masses. So it makes sense that I'd enjoy most Woody Allen films; films that are strange in that very familiar way. His characters are portrayals of us or people we know magnified to the extreme degree. He's the master of balance, paying equal attention to the shocking and tedium bits that make life such an interesting (and often painful) adventure.

Blue Jasmine his most recent film plays with this idea of balance. A rather dramatic and shocking premise (Jasmine's husband kills himself while imprisoned for fraud) tempered by an exploration of what it's like to be painfully middle class (Jasmine is forced to redefine success, which prior to her husband's suicide meant multi-million dollar homes, the fanciest of clothes, and vacations in Saint-Tropez). It's also a too-close-for-comfort character study of Jasmine (played by Blanchett) we literally watch the fabric of her being unravel like a pathetically pretty doily.

Blue Jasmine is a deep sea dive into the frighteningly wild and unpredictable sea of Jasmine's emotions. Despite her beauty and timelessly elegant style, we learn that the only thing to have ever lived beneath her gorgeous facade was a manikin of wealth and power. When her husband's fraudulent money-making schemes are punished and Jasmine's left with nothing but her chanel accessories, she realizes how empty her life has become; and how, until now, she's never had to lift a finger to fill it.

Faced with this sudden challenge, we witness Jasmine's unraveling. She seems to sweat profusely in every scene (somehow beautiful despite massive pit stains and greasy hair). Her stoli-vodka martini trembles in her anxious hand, as she tries to make a life for herself while living with her adopted sister Ginger, working as a receptionist for a dentist, and going back to school to learn how to use a computer so she can start an interior design business of her own.

As the film continues to explore Jasmine's discomfort with the work required to be a self-sustaining adult and the lack of reward for doing so, I couldn't help but feel that this was a story about me; about the extraordinarily average life I lead. But through Jasmine's unraveling, I felt less and less wooed by the idea of "making it big" or having stuff. Regardless of the facade be it a chanel belt or vacations in Saint-Tropez we're all essentially the same up manikin trying our damnedest to hold our together behind the scenes.

Allen continues to make thought-provoking films with beautiful women in it. I loved this one, and Blanchett surely deserves an award for it.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PangAug 11, 2013
The field for the 2013 Oscar for Best Actress has already narrowed to two: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) and Julie Delpy (Before Midnight). While Blue Jasmine has multiple flaws in story and script, Cate Blanchett's performance overwhelmsThe field for the 2013 Oscar for Best Actress has already narrowed to two: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) and Julie Delpy (Before Midnight). While Blue Jasmine has multiple flaws in story and script, Cate Blanchett's performance overwhelms everything else about the movie. She alternates between feverish and cool, delusional and pointed, with something like feral intensity. It's a shocking performance, really, one that lays bare the greed, rage and confusion that exists within all human beings. This is a must-see film. Must-see. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nycbunnyAug 28, 2013
The movie was amazing. Cate Blanchett deserves (at least) a nod from the Academy. Andrew Dice Clay was brilliant as well. I thought the entire thing was superb and if people don't like it, my question to them is: What did you expect? This isThe movie was amazing. Cate Blanchett deserves (at least) a nod from the Academy. Andrew Dice Clay was brilliant as well. I thought the entire thing was superb and if people don't like it, my question to them is: What did you expect? This is Woody Allen after all. How much of it is a Ruth Madoff what-if, a lot of it me thinks. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
gokurotflAug 23, 2013
The best Allen's film since Match Point. Cate Blanchett as Jasmine is outstanding, definitely an Oscar-worthy performance. I hope the next director's movie will be equally good or even better.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
steelestarJul 28, 2013
Simply put: it's tremendous. Cate Blanchett is astonishing. I can't recall a better performance (or more difficult role) by any actress in recent years; yes, it really is that good (prepare to be awed!). It's Woody Allen's best movie in quiteSimply put: it's tremendous. Cate Blanchett is astonishing. I can't recall a better performance (or more difficult role) by any actress in recent years; yes, it really is that good (prepare to be awed!). It's Woody Allen's best movie in quite a long time. This was a very tricky film to pull off; credit the faultless cast and Mr. Allen's direction for crafting such a compelling and successful production given the extremely complicated relationship of it's subject matter and tone. On this last point, moviegoers must be aware that although the film is filled with continual humor and comedy, the underlying story is very dark and unsettling. That said, it's not standard Hollywood film fare in the best possible way. There is no predictable story or narrative here; you never feel entirely comfortable with the characters or where the film will take you next. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
luissilv2000Aug 17, 2013
refreshing... if you are human you have to like this movie... fun... multiple characters did an excelent job for this movie.. no complaints... non generic
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
mysticinthemistAug 18, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maestro Allen (and by this point it's an honorific well-earned) has infused elements of Streetcar Named Desire and Long Day's Journey into Day into this dark comic reflection of the impact of a serial narcissist on everyone around her.
Cate Blanchette's creation of a woman so blinkered by her own needs she can't see around the corners of her own despair is achingly funny and alternately tragic. We know this soul. We all have a touch of her within ourselves (hopefully abated by an ability to bring the needs of others into equal measure with our own.)
Few directors strike and hold a pitch-perfect note of tragicomedy like Woody Allen; if some of his works are inspired by those dramatists and filmmakers who have so profoundly influenced him over the decades (Bergman, Fellini, et al.) Woody has processed their themes through a piercing lens of his own and given us a stark insight into the 21st century malady of self-absorption.
No less touching or amazing is the persistently underrated Sally Hawkins as the sister with the "bad genes"; she may not love herself as much as we hope she will, but she knows how to to live in her own skin and when the realities of this life ultimately take sway over the fantasies of our youth she able to make a stand. Like Stella Kowalski, she may go from one Stanley to another (really more of a "Mitch" in this case) but she will taste the richness of life and be surrounded by love. Conversely, Jasmine must ultimately be enveloped by her delusions until the final exit door slips quietly shut and leaves her in a shining void in which she is Empress in her fantasia realm of self-importance.

* *Spoiler alert** read no further if you haven't seen it! Meditate on Jasmine's next stop after that park bench at the end. The street? Another hospital? Another series of willing victims? I love that Mr. Allen lets us decide for ourselves.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AJCBSep 28, 2013
I just saw the film last night in London. Wow! Allen's best picture in years. I liked Midnight In Paris but this is even better and fabulous in most aspects. Treat yourself to an acting masterclass from Blanchette. We will always haveI just saw the film last night in London. Wow! Allen's best picture in years. I liked Midnight In Paris but this is even better and fabulous in most aspects. Treat yourself to an acting masterclass from Blanchette. We will always have opinions about what works and what doesn't. I felt this hit a nerve about where we are in society today and what we are looking for and how we get and lose what is most important. Life is messy and we are living in uncertain times like never before. No one knows what is around the corner and life throws the unexpected towards us without warning. Thank you Woody! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BladimirNov 18, 2013
Blue Jasmine is really touching. It not only can see the brightness of Woody; Cate Blanchett tore my soul with her interpretation.  

Ten dollars well spent.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MPovoaMay 2, 2014
A mythical tragedy composed with wit and humor. Acting is superb. Woody Allen in great shape. Excellent movie, certainly one his best ( I have seen most of his movies ). Enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YavorAug 15, 2016
Many riches in this movie:
1) It's wonderful that Mr Allen finally decides to place the entire story around one character, not many. It's all about Jasmine from start to finish. Midnight in Paris and Match Point were neither as focused nor
Many riches in this movie:
1) It's wonderful that Mr Allen finally decides to place the entire story around one character, not many. It's all about Jasmine from start to finish. Midnight in Paris and Match Point were neither as focused nor as interested in their leading characters.
2) I do see and appreciate the funny bits but Blue Jasmine is a drama. It actually hits tragic proportions by the end and I love that.
3) It's almost ridiculous that Cate Blanchett, already one of the best actors in the world prior to this movie, delivers her most iconic leading performance as Jasmine after being in the business for almost 2 decades. Naturally and deservedly she won the Oscar and broke the record for most Best Actress awards won by a single role - 42.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews