User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 305
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    Excellent film; black comedy to the extreme certainly demented and emotionally twisted. Bobby Cannavale and Sally Hawkins are charming counterpoints to the insanity of Cate Blanchett's eponymous character. This movie leaves the audience questioning the reality of what the are actually watching.
  2. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    Well, the viewer reviews on Metacritic look like Christmas lights down the page. One thing I think most of us can agree on is that Cate Blanchett utterly lifts this role above and beyond. Her believability as a high-heeled, Park Avenue strutter is seamless through each swing and swell of exasperation. Blue Jasmine is quality and reaches it's audience on emotional and humorous levels.Well, the viewer reviews on Metacritic look like Christmas lights down the page. One thing I think most of us can agree on is that Cate Blanchett utterly lifts this role above and beyond. Her believability as a high-heeled, Park Avenue strutter is seamless through each swing and swell of exasperation. Blue Jasmine is quality and reaches it's audience on emotional and humorous levels. Although, like some films of recent note (Inside Llewyn Davis), the characters eventually fold under their own shortcomings and finally no one learns or grows and no redemptions are achieved. And given Blanchett's scintillating performance, I remain wondering what may have happened had the bomb gone off. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    Any Woody Allen can be great, as long as he's not acting in it. The humor and natural pacing of the film is signature to Allen's greatness as a director, and Blanchett is perfect for his type of humor.
  4. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    Great movie - funny, dramatic, and consistently entertaining. Cate Blanchett is a true artist. Woody Allen killed it with this one. Alexander Skaarsgard (sp?) was my least favorite part. He just seemed out of place amongst such connected actors.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Blue Jasmine is really touching. It not only can see the brightness of Woody; Cate Blanchett tore my soul with her interpretation.  

    Ten dollars well spent.
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Brilliant. Cate Blanchett gives the performance of her career! This film is as good as it gets. In the same category as "Interiors", "Husbands and Wives" and "Crimes and Misdemeanors." The entire cast shines and this is one of Allen's best screenplays.
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Simply put: it's tremendous. Cate Blanchett is astonishing. I can't recall a better performance (or more difficult role) by any actress in recent years; yes, it really is that good (prepare to be awed!). It's Woody Allen's best movie in quite a long time. This was a very tricky film to pull off; credit the faultless cast and Mr. Allen's direction for crafting such a compelling andSimply put: it's tremendous. Cate Blanchett is astonishing. I can't recall a better performance (or more difficult role) by any actress in recent years; yes, it really is that good (prepare to be awed!). It's Woody Allen's best movie in quite a long time. This was a very tricky film to pull off; credit the faultless cast and Mr. Allen's direction for crafting such a compelling and successful production given the extremely complicated relationship of it's subject matter and tone. On this last point, moviegoers must be aware that although the film is filled with continual humor and comedy, the underlying story is very dark and unsettling. That said, it's not standard Hollywood film fare in the best possible way. There is no predictable story or narrative here; you never feel entirely comfortable with the characters or where the film will take you next. Expand
  8. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    I just saw the film last night in London. Wow! Allen's best picture in years. I liked Midnight In Paris but this is even better and fabulous in most aspects. Treat yourself to an acting masterclass from Blanchette. We will always have opinions about what works and what doesn't. I felt this hit a nerve about where we are in society today and what we are looking for and how we getI just saw the film last night in London. Wow! Allen's best picture in years. I liked Midnight In Paris but this is even better and fabulous in most aspects. Treat yourself to an acting masterclass from Blanchette. We will always have opinions about what works and what doesn't. I felt this hit a nerve about where we are in society today and what we are looking for and how we get and lose what is most important. Life is messy and we are living in uncertain times like never before. No one knows what is around the corner and life throws the unexpected towards us without warning. Thank you Woody! Expand
  9. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Great movie, great acting. Cate Blanchette is Jasmine, a woman who has lost touch with reality because she's lost her identity. Woody Allen's script and overall concept are both human and divine. This movie is so full of humanity, everyone should be able to relate in some odd way and feel both annoyance and empathy for its characters. I love this movie. Allen at his best.
  10. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    Well, great acting, sure, I guess. Cate, of course, obviously. Bobby Cannavale was exceptional. But I couldn't wait for this movie to end, it was so sad. And the ending? Wow, saddest thing of all. I still feel lousy, although I just saw this today. Maybe I'll feel better soon.
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    “Blue Jasmine” is the latest submission by writer-director Woody Allen. It stars Alec Baldwin,, Cate Blanchett, Peter Sarsgaard, Sally Hawkins and Bobby Cannavale in this story of a character strangely resembling Bernie Madoff (Alec B) and his wife (Cate B) as they seek to function after the fall. Intermixed with this basic plot is the plight of Ginger, the sister of the Mrs. Madoff-like“Blue Jasmine” is the latest submission by writer-director Woody Allen. It stars Alec Baldwin,, Cate Blanchett, Peter Sarsgaard, Sally Hawkins and Bobby Cannavale in this story of a character strangely resembling Bernie Madoff (Alec B) and his wife (Cate B) as they seek to function after the fall. Intermixed with this basic plot is the plight of Ginger, the sister of the Mrs. Madoff-like character and her boyfriend (Bobby V) who so much resemble Stella and Stanley Kowalski in “Streetcar Named Desire” than probably even Mr. Allen would care to acknowledge. The characters are flawed and yet we never go further than skin deep in this commentary by the author and the need for tranquilizers and relaxers as our heroine faces life after luxury. The first really non-comedy from Mr. Allen since Interiors in the 80;s, I was disappointed in the product. Although certainly easy to view, the film lacks depth and tells us really nothing about what we are watching. I wonder if the many critics who are falling all over their pens to praise and acknowledge this work would be doing so if the author and director had a different name. I remember years ago that going to an Ingmar Bergman movie automatically meant you either loved it or didn’t understand it It was heresy to criticize it or not give it a rave review. So, at the risk of heresy and incurring the wrath of the Allen fan club members, I give this film a 7 because I truly expected so much more but never got it. Expand
  12. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    I would call the latest of Woody Allen's movies, "Blue Jasmine", definitely not the best one but quite watchable.
    The movie resembles the Madoff's scandal, even though all names are different, but parallels are clearly seen.
    The way the story of the main character Jasmine is told is appealing to me. Every now and then a current event triggers a memory flash from her past life, and that
    I would call the latest of Woody Allen's movies, "Blue Jasmine", definitely not the best one but quite watchable.
    The movie resembles the Madoff's scandal, even though all names are different, but parallels are clearly seen.
    The way the story of the main character Jasmine is told is appealing to me. Every now and then a current event triggers a memory flash from her past life, and that is how we learn what brought her to the shabby state she currently finds herself. There are numerous faults in the script (written by Woody Allen as well). Plus over-all the movie leaves some clownish aftertaste (which is not unusual for his movies). But Cate Blanchett's performance made me forget all the movie's shortcomings. Even though the whole cast is quite good, without Cate I would be disappointed about the movie as a whole. An Oscar-winning performance!
    Expand
  13. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I prefer to live on a wavelength unfrequented by the masses. So it makes sense that I'd enjoy most Woody Allen films; films that are strange in that very familiar way. His characters are portrayals of us or people we know magnified to the extreme degree. He's the master of balance, paying equal attention to the shocking and tedium bits that make life such an interesting (and often painful) adventure.

    Blue Jasmine his most recent film plays with this idea of balance. A rather dramatic and shocking premise (Jasmine's husband kills himself while imprisoned for fraud) tempered by an exploration of what it's like to be painfully middle class (Jasmine is forced to redefine success, which prior to her husband's suicide meant multi-million dollar homes, the fanciest of clothes, and vacations in Saint-Tropez). It's also a too-close-for-comfort character study of Jasmine (played by Blanchett) we literally watch the fabric of her being unravel like a pathetically pretty doily.

    Blue Jasmine is a deep sea dive into the frighteningly wild and unpredictable sea of Jasmine's emotions. Despite her beauty and timelessly elegant style, we learn that the only thing to have ever lived beneath her gorgeous facade was a manikin of wealth and power. When her husband's fraudulent money-making schemes are punished and Jasmine's left with nothing but her chanel accessories, she realizes how empty her life has become; and how, until now, she's never had to lift a finger to fill it.

    Faced with this sudden challenge, we witness Jasmine's unraveling. She seems to sweat profusely in every scene (somehow beautiful despite massive pit stains and greasy hair). Her stoli-vodka martini trembles in her anxious hand, as she tries to make a life for herself while living with her adopted sister Ginger, working as a receptionist for a dentist, and going back to school to learn how to use a computer so she can start an interior design business of her own.

    As the film continues to explore Jasmine's discomfort with the work required to be a self-sustaining adult and the lack of reward for doing so, I couldn't help but feel that this was a story about me; about the extraordinarily average life I lead. But through Jasmine's unraveling, I felt less and less wooed by the idea of "making it big" or having stuff. Regardless of the facade be it a chanel belt or vacations in Saint-Tropez we're all essentially the same up manikin trying our damnedest to hold our together behind the scenes.

    Allen continues to make thought-provoking films with beautiful women in it. I loved this one, and Blanchett surely deserves an award for it.
    Expand
  14. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This is one of Woody Allen's best films! "Blue Jasmine" continues the Director's fascination with betrayal, deception and infidelity. It also ranks as his best film since "Match Point", and in the upper echelon of all of his work. The performances are, to a person, outstanding. From Cate Blanchett's oscar-worthy lead to a score of smaller roles, it is note perfect throughout. AndrewThis is one of Woody Allen's best films! "Blue Jasmine" continues the Director's fascination with betrayal, deception and infidelity. It also ranks as his best film since "Match Point", and in the upper echelon of all of his work. The performances are, to a person, outstanding. From Cate Blanchett's oscar-worthy lead to a score of smaller roles, it is note perfect throughout. Andrew Dice Clay brings a surprising world-weary subtlety to his part, by far a career best for him. Huge kudos also to Sally Hawkins and especially Bobby Carnavale, who shows a "blue collar rage" unseen in Allen's films before. I'm not discussing the plot because there's no need to give anything away. This is, without a doubt, up there with "Hannah And Her Sisters" and "Crimes & Misdemeanors" as his best serious work. Expand
  15. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    Allen has been cruel to many other of his characters, most memorably in Crimes and Misdemeanors, and he’s also left many other characters as prisoners of their own stasis and delusions—The Purple Rose of Cairo and Vicky Cristina Barcelona come to mind. But I’m not sure any of those other characters were quite as fully realized as Jasmine, which is naturally tribute to Allen and BlanchettAllen has been cruel to many other of his characters, most memorably in Crimes and Misdemeanors, and he’s also left many other characters as prisoners of their own stasis and delusions—The Purple Rose of Cairo and Vicky Cristina Barcelona come to mind. But I’m not sure any of those other characters were quite as fully realized as Jasmine, which is naturally tribute to Allen and Blanchett and their alchemy together, but it also made the film, for me, hard to take. (A minority opinion given the reviews I’ve read.) I saw sadism in it, beyond the usual misanthropy. (Love misanthropy!) Or, put another way, Blue Jasmine feels like tragedy without catharsis—an interesting thing to pull off, but not particularly moving or maybe even admirable. Expand
  16. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    The movie was amazing. Cate Blanchett deserves (at least) a nod from the Academy. Andrew Dice Clay was brilliant as well. I thought the entire thing was superb and if people don't like it, my question to them is: What did you expect? This is Woody Allen after all. How much of it is a Ruth Madoff what-if, a lot of it me thinks.
  17. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    The field for the 2013 Oscar for Best Actress has already narrowed to two: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) and Julie Delpy (Before Midnight). While Blue Jasmine has multiple flaws in story and script, Cate Blanchett's performance overwhelms everything else about the movie. She alternates between feverish and cool, delusional and pointed, with something like feral intensity. It's a shockingThe field for the 2013 Oscar for Best Actress has already narrowed to two: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) and Julie Delpy (Before Midnight). While Blue Jasmine has multiple flaws in story and script, Cate Blanchett's performance overwhelms everything else about the movie. She alternates between feverish and cool, delusional and pointed, with something like feral intensity. It's a shocking performance, really, one that lays bare the greed, rage and confusion that exists within all human beings. This is a must-see film. Must-see. Expand
  18. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    refreshing... if you are human you have to like this movie... fun... multiple characters did an excelent job for this movie.. no complaints... non generic
  19. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    The best Allen's film since Match Point. Cate Blanchett as Jasmine is outstanding, definitely an Oscar-worthy performance. I hope the next director's movie will be equally good or even better.
  20. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Poder estar adentrado en los pensamientos de una persona como Jasmine fue sencillamente fascinante. Es por esto que entiendo que no solo esta ha sido una buena película, sino que la actuación de Blanchett fue impresionante, profesional y muy artística. Woody Allen nos ha dejando en los últimos años una serie de películas que demuestran la capacidad y la educación que el hombre tiene comoPoder estar adentrado en los pensamientos de una persona como Jasmine fue sencillamente fascinante. Es por esto que entiendo que no solo esta ha sido una buena película, sino que la actuación de Blanchett fue impresionante, profesional y muy artística. Woody Allen nos ha dejando en los últimos años una serie de películas que demuestran la capacidad y la educación que el hombre tiene como director de cine. Simplemente con ver uno de estos filmes lleva a uno a reconocer que le pertenecen, porque su estilo se ha convertido en su firma. Expand
  21. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Arguably Woody Allen's best film. He has certainly made none better. While this movie has a passing resemblance to A Streetcar Named Desire, it is more nuanced, more complex, more layered, and more convincing. Unbelievable script and performances. This film deserves at least two Oscars, for script and best actress. And it hinges on no amusing gimmick. No time travel. No man stepping out ofArguably Woody Allen's best film. He has certainly made none better. While this movie has a passing resemblance to A Streetcar Named Desire, it is more nuanced, more complex, more layered, and more convincing. Unbelievable script and performances. This film deserves at least two Oscars, for script and best actress. And it hinges on no amusing gimmick. No time travel. No man stepping out of a movie screen. No hypnotist. No gangsters cursing one another under the influence of helium. Just excellent pure focused tight drama. See it. Expand
  22. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Although Woody is a great comedic filmmaker, my favorite films of his are the dramas. This film is a throwback to the great 80's films of his like "Interiors" and "Another Woman". Cate Blanchett is mesmerizing as a woman who has lived in a bubble, and cannot face the real world. She is only comfortable in her unrealistic world as the wealthy trophy wife, and cannot function when theAlthough Woody is a great comedic filmmaker, my favorite films of his are the dramas. This film is a throwback to the great 80's films of his like "Interiors" and "Another Woman". Cate Blanchett is mesmerizing as a woman who has lived in a bubble, and cannot face the real world. She is only comfortable in her unrealistic world as the wealthy trophy wife, and cannot function when the marriage tragically ends. The supporting cast is superb, but this is Cate Blanchett's vehicle to take all the way to the Oscars. LOVED the ending as well. Perfection. Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    You can keep your Annie Hall's, Manhattan and Midnight in Paris. This is the best Woody Allen film in years and it's all because of the magnificent Cate Blanchett. Yes, she's back and HOW in a performance to savour that must rank as the best in any Allen film. What about Diane Keaton I hear you ask. Diane Keaton! Don't make me laugh, well actually she didn't! There are simply not enoughYou can keep your Annie Hall's, Manhattan and Midnight in Paris. This is the best Woody Allen film in years and it's all because of the magnificent Cate Blanchett. Yes, she's back and HOW in a performance to savour that must rank as the best in any Allen film. What about Diane Keaton I hear you ask. Diane Keaton! Don't make me laugh, well actually she didn't! There are simply not enough superlatives to praise Blanchett's playing of this wonderfully multi dimensional and complex woman. The last time I can remember seeing such a delightful and off beat female character on screen was way back in 1987 when Holly Hunter presented us with her controlling TV producer Jane Craig in Broadcast News. Another performance to relish. Whether popping pills, talking to herself or rejecting suitors Cate is joyous whilst looking absolutely fantastic into the bargain.

    In all honesty Allen's screenplay, whilst dramatically very good, is not particularly funny. The comedy is elicited by Blanchett's delicate playing and her expressions from scene to scene. Her escape from the clutches of the amorous dentist has to be seen to be appreciated and she makes it laugh out loud funny. There are no two ways about it she steals the show. Sally Hawkins does well in her role as the sister and of the men Andrew Dice Clay registers the best as Hawkins' ex-husband. But it is Cate all the way. Academy make up for your mistakes of yester year with the likes of Paltrow, Berry and Bullock and crown a true talent best actress. Yes, give her the oscar.
    Expand
  24. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maestro Allen (and by this point it's an honorific well-earned) has infused elements of Streetcar Named Desire and Long Day's Journey into Day into this dark comic reflection of the impact of a serial narcissist on everyone around her.
    Cate Blanchette's creation of a woman so blinkered by her own needs she can't see around the corners of her own despair is achingly funny and alternately tragic. We know this soul. We all have a touch of her within ourselves (hopefully abated by an ability to bring the needs of others into equal measure with our own.)
    Few directors strike and hold a pitch-perfect note of tragicomedy like Woody Allen; if some of his works are inspired by those dramatists and filmmakers who have so profoundly influenced him over the decades (Bergman, Fellini, et al.) Woody has processed their themes through a piercing lens of his own and given us a stark insight into the 21st century malady of self-absorption.
    No less touching or amazing is the persistently underrated Sally Hawkins as the sister with the "bad genes"; she may not love herself as much as we hope she will, but she knows how to to live in her own skin and when the realities of this life ultimately take sway over the fantasies of our youth she able to make a stand. Like Stella Kowalski, she may go from one Stanley to another (really more of a "Mitch" in this case) but she will taste the richness of life and be surrounded by love. Conversely, Jasmine must ultimately be enveloped by her delusions until the final exit door slips quietly shut and leaves her in a shining void in which she is Empress in her fantasia realm of self-importance.

    * *Spoiler alert** read no further if you haven't seen it! Meditate on Jasmine's next stop after that park bench at the end. The street? Another hospital? Another series of willing victims? I love that Mr. Allen lets us decide for ourselves.
    Expand
  25. Mar 30, 2014
    7
    Great acting by Blanchett, interesting story (oh, humans). Although at the end I expected more drama, like she was imagining the last part. And it ends up being circumstancial.
  26. May 28, 2014
    8
    This is a well made film. The story is well constructed and well written. The directing is good. The highlight of the film is Cate Blancett's performance. The character is interesting and relatable enough as it is but Cate's performance makes it even better. Cate does a wonderful job with the material given to her especially when she has to get angry and/or upset. Defintely deserved herThis is a well made film. The story is well constructed and well written. The directing is good. The highlight of the film is Cate Blancett's performance. The character is interesting and relatable enough as it is but Cate's performance makes it even better. Cate does a wonderful job with the material given to her especially when she has to get angry and/or upset. Defintely deserved her Oscar nomination for Best Actress. Film buffs and adults should definitely check this one out. Everyone else see if you want but you may be bored. Expand
  27. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Woody Allen does it again, go for awesome script.
    Cate Blanchet shows because it is one of the two best actresses of this generation.
    No doubt you will love this movie to anyone, entertaining, well built, with a social and personal message about greed, and their psychological causes when ruin hits your door.
  28. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    Rich with very fine performances. Cate Blanchett in particular stars in one of the best roles of her career. The plot was also interesting. I especially enjoyed seeing the way the backstory was revealed.

    The movie, however, was very uncomfartable. A torrent of nervous breakdowns made watching this movie very sad and depressing. I don't know why this film is listed as a comedy. There was
    Rich with very fine performances. Cate Blanchett in particular stars in one of the best roles of her career. The plot was also interesting. I especially enjoyed seeing the way the backstory was revealed.

    The movie, however, was very uncomfartable. A torrent of nervous breakdowns made watching this movie very sad and depressing. I don't know why this film is listed as a comedy. There was 'some' moments were i laughed, but nothing to compensate the dread that i felt.

    You won't get bored seeing this, but it's no 'pleasant' film like i expected. This is no Midnight in Paris.
    Expand
  29. May 14, 2015
    8
    Blue Jasmine is one of Woody Allen's best movies. The movie feels real enough to make you squirm uncomfortably, Cate Blanchett's performance is utterly amazing and Allen scores points for finally making a movie where not every character is just a re-skinned version of himself.
  30. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Absolutely an amazing movie! Amazing cast, a story that keeps you interested and theres no way to know what will happen next. Or how it will end! a more with no action, yet I was glued to the screen! excellent!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Allen’s ambitions with this taut, tart character study might not be stratospheric, but they’re at least moderate-to-high, and his degree of success is exciting.
  2. Reviewed by: Jamie Graham
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    The one-liners are in evidence but this is more abrasive than you might expect. Blends rigour and vigour to join "Vicky Cristina Barcelona" and "Midnight In Paris" as the best of late-period Woody.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    After all those false dawns, non-comebacks and semi-successful Euro jeux d'esprit, Allen has produced an outstanding movie, immensely satisfying and absorbing, and set squarely on American turf: that is, partly in San Francisco and partly in New York.