Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    After all those false dawns, non-comebacks and semi-successful Euro jeux d'esprit, Allen has produced an outstanding movie, immensely satisfying and absorbing, and set squarely on American turf: that is, partly in San Francisco and partly in New York.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    [Allen's] most sustained, satisfying and resonant film since “Match Point.”
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 8, 2013
    88
    Blue Jasmine, which is easily Allen’s best and most powerful movie since 2005’s "Match Point", is filled with terrific performances, including Hawkins as the sweet-natured Ginger.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 25, 2013
    80
    The way she (Blanchette) anchors this superb dramedy is a thing of beauty.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Aug 7, 2013
    78
    The saga unfolds in a fairly charming fashion, and only Allen’s abrupt ending breaks the spell. Clearly, the filmmaker has no more ideas than Jasmine about how to resolve her predicament.
  6. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Aug 1, 2013
    75
    Woody Allen’s first Stateside production in nearly a decade is a sharply observed, post-economic crash comedy-drama that boasts a formidable performance by Cate Blanchett and addresses such pertinent real-world concerns as class, gender and corporate criminality in urban America.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 23, 2013
    30
    Blue Jasmine is so relentlessly clueless about the ways real human beings live, and so eager to make the same points about human nature that Allen has made dozens of times before, that it seems like a movie beamed from another planet.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 67
  2. Negative: 13 out of 67
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Great movie, great acting. Cate Blanchette is Jasmine, a woman who has lost touch with reality because she's lost her identity. Woody Allen's script and overall concept are both human and divine. This movie is so full of humanity, everyone should be able to relate in some odd way and feel both annoyance and empathy for its characters. I love this movie. Allen at his best. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    woody ailen is a creative director this is a guy who knows what he is gonna and he is determined to makes plans and goals for himself and others . i found cate blanch in this is perfect Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    refreshing... if you are human you have to like this movie... fun... multiple characters did an excelent job for this movie.. no complaints... non generic Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    It was 'Rachel Getting Married' kinda movie with a story. About a troubled middle aged woman who come back to her family seeking a better life. Woody Allen did used his usual magical contents to render this movie in a style. Without his movie, the American academy awards won't complete. So this movie nominated in 3 major categories for 2014 OSCAR.

    Jasmine is one of those characters hard to predict her motivation as well the concept of the life they are living in. As her life is affected with complicated matters around, she comes to live for a while with her sister. In that stay she goes through to forget the previous to make the future better. Haunting past, confusing present and complicated future is all she must handle. Is she is capable and how she does is the rest of the movie.

    Good storyline keeping very simple with sometime a strong message is what I like in Woody Allen's movie. As a fan of his works I was not disappointed in this movie. As I said it was not afresh story. The way he convinced the audience through briefing the story is what makes him a great as always.

    Definitely worth giving a nomination to Woody Allen for this screen writing in OSCAR. He made this usual drama into a special product. It was stated as a comedy, but as I saw it was quite a serious one in the matter it dealt with. The actors, Cate Blanchett and Sally Hawkins were given their best for the movie. I am not surprised for their nominees in Best actress and supporting role for OSCAR. I conclude this review by saying you should not miss the movie if you are a Woody Allen fan.
    Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    Rich with very fine performances. Cate Blanchett in particular stars in one of the best roles of her career. The plot was also interesting. I especially enjoyed seeing the way the backstory was revealed.

    The movie, however, was very uncomfartable. A torrent of nervous breakdowns made watching this movie very sad and depressing. I don't know why this film is listed as a comedy. There was 'some' moments were i laughed, but nothing to compensate the dread that i felt.

    You won't get bored seeing this, but it's no 'pleasant' film like i expected. This is no Midnight in Paris.
    Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Baldwin and Blanchett are wonderful. The rest of the cast is good, too. The problem with this Woody Allen film is the incomplete story. Jasmine's exploration of life at the dentist's office, with the budding politician, her son or even her husband each ends without much discovery of something bigger than the sum of the action. She dumps the dentist, gets dumped by her husband, gets dumped by the politician... and that's kind of it. The politician dumps her simply because he finds out, in one chance bumping into a character that informs him of Jasmine's lies about her former life. That mechanism for moving forward in the story is a bit weak. There's nothing emotional for the audience to grasp onto to buy into it. It's just information. The politician could have acted any number of ways and we are non the wiser as to why his character and relationship with Jasmine isn't developed in that way. Ebert used to complain about this kind of script where characters just announce what they're feeling or going to do, rather than have it unfold as story. There are many other instances of this kind of storytelling. However, the potentials for a great Woody Allen movie are lurking throughout. Baldwin's character seems even to be more dimensional and nuanced than even Blanchett's though both have great characters to portray. I wish Allen would have dispensed with the San Francisco travelogue (yes, he's guilty of characters ending up in iconic places that seem to go against their probably natural geography... ending up in South Park near downtown, wtf) and stayed in New York to develop Baldwin's character and story in all it's complex contradictions. Instead of Blanchett telling about her embarrassment selling shows to her high society friends, it would have been more bittersweet, funny and sad to have actually seen that, rather than her and the dentist. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2013
    0
    Great cast, well played by everyone!
    But I am giving review for a movie not a cast.
    Worst movie I have seen in years!!
    Man if you read this
    run away, do any house work anything your women wants to do BUT do not go to this movie. It is depressing, it is boring and useless!
    Do not waste your time!!
    I hate scary movies but I would trade it for any scary movies in a heart beat.
    Now for all girls that think your life is terrible go to this movie! Maybe you will appreciate something in your life more and stop complaining about not having this or that.
    This movie is not couple movie!
    I would name it as "movie for two(or more) single girls "
    I hate it!
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers