Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 29, 2010
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 352 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
252
Mixed:
39
Negative:
61
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarcDoyleDec 30, 2010
Outstanding film - makes my top 5 for 2010. Don't want to say much about it lest I prejudice your experience with it. The crowd I saw it with was sufficiently stunned when the credits rolled. (I've never seen credits presented quite likeOutstanding film - makes my top 5 for 2010. Don't want to say much about it lest I prejudice your experience with it. The crowd I saw it with was sufficiently stunned when the credits rolled. (I've never seen credits presented quite like those, by the way.) Do what you can to see this one soon. It's not an "easy" movie - you'll carry it around for a while, but it's worth it. I'm ready to see many more films by this director. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
ShiiraFeb 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The dog isn't moving; he's not the only thing that's dead, but she'll deal with her blue heart later on. First things first, there's the blue dog to deal with. Cindy(Michelle Williams) discovers him on the other side of the highway, presumably hit by a moving vehicle, or maybe it was fate. Perhaps the floodgates were overdue for an opening. Little does she know it, but her bad morning is only going to get worse. While the still body lies in the trunk, Cindy walks down a deserted school hallway; it's a walk of shame, the finishing touch on a life gone horribly wrong. Inside the crowded auditorium, her daughter's pageant is already in progress. She's late, in more ways than one, and not for the first time. Six years ago, when her younger self was late, Cindy almost had an abortion. She was going to be somebody, a doctor; she really should be somewhere else, but the baby was his, so she called off the procedure. The nurse has been living with the consequences of that decision ever since. She's late again, but this time, it's a relief. Her pageant, this marriage in trouble, isn't worth saving. When Cindy breaks the news to Dean(Ryan Gosling), the directionless man she had wedded out of love, the broken woman accouters him with the ammo he needs for retaliation. Dean knows that he disappoints her. The housepainter berates her inexorably for not locking the dog's gate. It's his golden opportunity to point out that Cindy can be a f*ck-up too. Accused of being a child just hours ago, due to his lack of gravitas at the breakfast table, Dean proves her right, when instead of being there at a moment of crisis to provide comfort and understanding for her animal-related transgression, he plays the blame game, like some petulant boy, and makes his wife cry even harder. Outside the school, Frankie(Faith Wladyka) asks about the dog, and rather than give her a straight answer, he tells his daughter that the family pet decided to head out west to try his luck at being a "movie dog". Cindy says nothing; she lets her husband's sugar-coated lie hang in the air. Any questions that Frankie may have concerning life and death will have to be postponed 'til a later date. For now, there are more pressing matters to deal with. Unbeknownst to Dean, but by evoking Hollywood, and more pointedly, dreams, he opens up a can of worms; he tears the lid off of Pandora's Box. Back at the house, as a home movie featuring Megan plays on the television in memoriam, Cindy makes a connection, and suddenly, their marriage is irrevocably wrecked, overrun with worms and a laundry list of unmanageable problems. Harking back to Dean's rehashing of a Dino-centric episode of "The Flintstones", she can plainly see, fiction be damned, how Megan never made it to Hollywood. It serves as a painful reminder that the once-promising medical student never lived up to her potential either, dropping out of college like she did after making her future husband's acquaintance. And now, Cindy pays attention to her blue heart, as she fights the interspecies transferrence with all her might. She doesn't want to end up like the dog, whom Dean buried in the backyard of their modest rental. Cindy becomes deathly afraid of her husband's shovel; she doesn't want to live and die here. She doesn't want to be next. Therefore, Dean's timing couldn't be any worse when he makes reservations at a cheap motel, where they spend a night in the ironically named Future Room, since the future is both a present which her past self could never have imagined, and a myriad of hypotheticals that Cindy wants to tackle on her own. "Blue Valentine", a movie whose narrative goes backward and forward in time, shows how hindisight can sometimes be one big fallacy. The evidence shows that she was powerless to his charms. The flashbacks tell the story of her doom. After all, the warning signs were there, absolute dead giveaways that Dean was the rebound, the antidote to her college boyfriend, a real jerk, and not the man she was supposed to marry, but alas, whom she ended up loving too much. Memories are ephemeral, they don't pay the rent and put food on the table, and Cindy is paying the price for getting involved with a lovable, but shiftless townie, and yet, she has these memories, moments of pure bliss that some people may never get to experience. For instance, her grandmother, who answers in the negative to Cindy's question about ever having been in love. From the old woman's point of view, Cindy is blessed. And from our point of view, we may feel the same way, too. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
MatteoJan 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film was well done; great acting, great scene writing, great structure, but emotionally it was very cold. In cold, I mean I felt detached. I also think the theme was very unoriginal. You repeating what your parents did to you has been done many many times. I also think Michelle Williams character was totally unlikeable, and I didn't think she deserved him, so therefore I didn't want them to work and that took away what I should be rooting for in the film..... It is the definition with what can be wrong with independent film. The realism takes you out of the film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
LynMay 29, 2011
The fact that these actors seem so real makes this movie-watching experience pretty miserable -- different, from, for example, a movie like "The Break-Up" in which you never believe a moment of the Vince & Jennifer hook-up and so can't beThe fact that these actors seem so real makes this movie-watching experience pretty miserable -- different, from, for example, a movie like "The Break-Up" in which you never believe a moment of the Vince & Jennifer hook-up and so can't be much bothered when the "relationship" fails. I though Gosling and Williams were equally terrific; I know she got the Oscar nomination, but suspect she got extra points for nudity. One problem I had was that, with the back-and-forth between the beginning and bitter end of their relationship, we lose some understanding we needed about how they coped in the middle. In this some of the reviews & previews are misleading . . . it's not about a relationship that started out wonderful and went downhill. It's about a relationship that started out with big, serious problems and somehow endured for a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevieGJDJan 18, 2011
This is a very good movie, albeit imperfect. The acting performances by Williams and Gosling are near perfect, with Williams having the more dynamic character. This is basically two dysfunctional people falling in love and growing apart:This is a very good movie, albeit imperfect. The acting performances by Williams and Gosling are near perfect, with Williams having the more dynamic character. This is basically two dysfunctional people falling in love and growing apart: Williams' character grows up and wants and deserves more than Gosling's character is able to give. While is is neither Bergman nor Bertolucci, it is interesting and real. People like this exist and make bad decisions every day. It is very interesting, at the very least, to see the devolution of a relationship that did not even begin under the best circumstances. The narrative structure of the film is disjointed, probably intentionally, which detracts from the emotional impact of some of the scenes. There was a great deal made about the sex in this movie. Really? Why? It's not particularly graphic. Two of the scenes (aggressive jerk old bf and husband wanting a new baby) were critical to the movie's plot. On some level, all they shared was sexual compatibility, at least early on. That's part of what this film is about. The MPAA is nuts, as are people who "hate" this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
egovirusJan 26, 2012
Strong acting with a competent script, what could go wrong? Not always the easiest movie to watch since it's about the breakdown of a relationship, and one where the power is WAY out of balance. Sad. Not certain who the target audience is,Strong acting with a competent script, what could go wrong? Not always the easiest movie to watch since it's about the breakdown of a relationship, and one where the power is WAY out of balance. Sad. Not certain who the target audience is, but, if you like drama, there's plenty here with wonderful performances from Michelle Williams and Ryan Gossling. Some scenes had me crawling out of my skin. The one minor detail I didn't personally care for were the number of tight shots, which arguably added to not only the tension, but a sense of voyeurism / viewing from a safe distance. Nothing here is over the top, everything is nicely understated, and pushed just far enough, which is never easy to accomplish. Nicely done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrFeb 24, 2011
An intimate wrenching and emotionally honest portrait of the birth and decay of a relationship. Subtle direction and pitch perfect acting from both Gosling and Williams alike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MedinaReviewsJan 12, 2011
"Blue Valentine": Love Story or Mockumentary?

Documentary director Derek Cianfrance uses unprecedented performances by two very talented actors to tell his version of a love story. Without being two cliche, I must begin by saying that "Blue
"Blue Valentine": Love Story or Mockumentary?

Documentary director Derek Cianfrance uses unprecedented performances by two very talented actors to tell his version of a love story.

Without being two cliche, I must begin by saying that "Blue Valentine" is not your average indie love story. But, on that same note, the film itself is unique because it is able to take very clique subject matters and tell them in a very unique and realistic way. Using a combination of an un-intrusive camera along with brilliant editing and story structure, Cianfrance was able to create one of the best films of the year and one of the most emotionally raw, powerful films in decades.

Derek Cianfrance's experience with documentaries translated directly onto the screen. Having this kind of background was the only way anyone could get such a realistic feeling to this story that the MPAA felt it was worthy of an NC-17 rating. They really didn't show too much nudity in the film itself, especially compared to the full frontal nudity in Jackass 3D, but one can easily see where the MPAA felt that it was just too real for some people to handle. It is interesting to think about how people have no problem with sensational violence with movies such as Hostel or Saw, but when something feels "too real", people really do get uncomfortable with watching it unfold on screen.

Cianfrance, and his cinematographer Andrij Parekh, seemed to shoot almost everything with a long telephoto lens. This did two things: it put the audience right in the character's faces so we knew exactly how and what they were feeling at all times while, practically, let them put the camera a lot father back than normal to give a separation to the actors so they could live their scenes and even forget that a camera was even there. There were many moments throughout the film that made the audience completely forget they are watching a narrative film, and this felt like it was because the actors themselves seemed to forget they were acting in a movie altogether.

That being said, one of the biggest surprises was the performance by that young daughter, played by Faith Wladyka. Seriously, this little girl deserves an Oscar Nomination for her work in this film. Kids actors are always cute, but never 100% believable. But not this one. I really believed that this little girl didn't know she was filming a movie, but was really just being an adorable little girl.

On the technical side, the editing in the film was a complete masterpiece, both on a small scale with great transitional cuts, to the film as a whole and the brilliant story structure that paralleled the falling-in-love with the falling-out-of-love perfectly. So much of the story and character relationships seemed to come from the way scenes would transition from a close-up on one character to another close-up at a different time and location that instantly showed the audience how the emotions of the characters changed over time. Certainly this can also be attributed to the directing and performances of the actors, but if the these performances were not pieced together in the way they were, they would certainly not have the emotional power that was felt in the film.

And of course there are the leading actors. True, Ryan Gosling does always kind of play the same part, the naive and slightly-out-of-touch-with-reality-but-in-a-likeable-way guy who always knows exactly what to say. Honestly, and completely objectively, I would have pictured someone who would come across as more of a jerk when reading the script, but after seeing the completed film there is no doubt that Gosling is the only actor that could have pulled off a role like that. Michelle Williams, on the other hand, was perfect casting. She herself is really attractive without being ridiculously hot. A perfect "realistic hot". That being said, there is no doubt that she has acting skills, having the most piercing eyes that draw you in and don't let go.

Ultimately, while this is not a film you can walk away from in a good mood, it really is so refreshing to see a film that is not afraid of capturing a slice of realistic life.

P.S. The film was scored by indie band Grizzly Bear? Amazing choice.

medinarviews.com
twitter.com/medinareviews
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
JamesLJan 22, 2011
I will give the director and the actors and actresses credit for making such a gritty film. Unfortunately, there was no reward or satisfaction gained by this viewer. Grim and depressing films can be enjoyed. This one was not able to deliver that.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
OnearFeb 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am absolutely baffled that Ryan Gosling didn't get a Best Actor nomination for this and Michelle Williams did. Don't get me wrong, I thought she did a very good job too, but it didn't compare to Gosling, who I think is quite underrated. The story is told in a non-chronological, retrospective view. But the order and direction of the story is the most beautiful part. It is kept a bit mysterious, but easy to follow and understand where in the story you happen to be. The middle of the film did drag out and it didn't have to be a 2 hour movie. The most memorable scene was when they were walking and started singing and dancing. I think it was the apex of their relationship and showed that they could be happy together. It gave them that little bit of hope in their minds that they could hold onto their relationship and work it out. Overall it's a good story with good acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsJan 13, 2013
The two central performances from Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams are truly excellent. They take the audience through a whole range of emotions and back again! The film is shot using quite a lot of hand-held camera; but not too shaky;The two central performances from Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams are truly excellent. They take the audience through a whole range of emotions and back again! The film is shot using quite a lot of hand-held camera; but not too shaky; which makes for a realistic feel to the drama. To me it seemed a little odd to show just the beginning and the end of the relationship; maybe I missed something, but I wanted to know what happened in the middle. Could be it was doomed from the start. I enjoyed this one and would watch it again (making sure I was in the mood first); definitely worthy of my recommendation.

SteelMonster
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Stephchan1901Feb 21, 2011
It was okay, considering that halfway in you begin to realize that Cindy and Deans' relationship was reaching its peak in the present time and that they were showing the birth and death of their relationship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryJan 31, 2011
Stars Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams were also executive producers of this film, which explains the self-indulgent acting exercise that they've turned into a downer. It runs two parallel courses, when they meet and fall in love andStars Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams were also executive producers of this film, which explains the self-indulgent acting exercise that they've turned into a downer. It runs two parallel courses, when they meet and fall in love and several years later, when their marriage is falling apart. It took 3 writers to create the mundane dialogue and a director with a claustrophobic camera. Granted, the performances are award material, but the film is grim and painful for the characters and for us. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
nohoboboJul 26, 2011
Feels like real life, I strongly sympathized with both characters at different points. The movie is totally absorbing. Both actors do an absolutely fantastic job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rabageFeb 14, 2011
All I can say is that after 30 minutes into this movie I knew exactly what was happening and luckily the movie didn't try at all to do anything interesting at all. Can't get much worse dialogue or boring of a story.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TonyJan 17, 2011
Absolutely devastating. This story stuck in my head for hours after the film ended. Michelle Williams and Ryan Gosling give the best performances in their short but wonderful careers, and Derek Cianfrance's script and direction so clearlyAbsolutely devastating. This story stuck in my head for hours after the film ended. Michelle Williams and Ryan Gosling give the best performances in their short but wonderful careers, and Derek Cianfrance's script and direction so clearly come from a personal place that you can't help but feel emotionally drained afterwards. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
kcunningJan 17, 2011
This was an excellent film with Ryan Gosling giving another riveting performance. I do have a couple of criticisms about details that the director, or actors, or someone should have noticed. In the first scene the adorable child is seenThis was an excellent film with Ryan Gosling giving another riveting performance. I do have a couple of criticisms about details that the director, or actors, or someone should have noticed. In the first scene the adorable child is seen with a very expensive, & hard to maintain, haircut. This family would not be able to afford such a haircut. In a later scene, Michelle Williams French manicure is very prominent. First of all, her character works in a doctor's office & her manicure would not be appropriate, secondly, the character would not have the money, time, nor energy to have & maintain such a manicure. I find it hard hard to understand why someone involved in the film would not have noticed such jarring improbabilities. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
wishmasterApr 5, 2011
This movie has been one of the best romance ever seen in my **** life. Michelle and Ryan are amazing, everything you need to broadcast that film was memorable, I loved
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iamtrent424May 20, 2011
Love it. Very good screenwriting for this film. The story line is very good. Very good acting in this movie. This movie should of got nominated for an Oscar. I don't know why this movie up for best movie. Really good movie that i suggestLove it. Very good screenwriting for this film. The story line is very good. Very good acting in this movie. This movie should of got nominated for an Oscar. I don't know why this movie up for best movie. Really good movie that i suggest every body should watch. It keep you into the movie. Very good romance and drama movie. also comedy this movie had some funny parts in it. I think everybody will enjoy a movie like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
throwinkenMay 27, 2011
A movie so relentlessly depressing that by the end I felt defeated. There wasn't one moment in the film that made me cry or feel a wave of sadness, but as the credits rolled I realized just how sad I felt. The characters are so frustratinglyA movie so relentlessly depressing that by the end I felt defeated. There wasn't one moment in the film that made me cry or feel a wave of sadness, but as the credits rolled I realized just how sad I felt. The characters are so frustratingly stuck that it was devastating to watch, and even more devastating to realize just how realistically they acted. I grew up in a home where my parents fought constantly, and Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams perfectly emulated that experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cinemaquoteJan 30, 2011
This movie is the perfect recipe for an American indie and more. Cinematography -outstanding (watch the end credits, endearing), actor's direction -supreme, soundtrack -perfect for 90s and the performances are literally breathtaking. GoslingThis movie is the perfect recipe for an American indie and more. Cinematography -outstanding (watch the end credits, endearing), actor's direction -supreme, soundtrack -perfect for 90s and the performances are literally breathtaking. Gosling makes you forget he was once a stereotype. The story of deterorating love is heart-wrenching. A must see! @cinemaquote Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
istanbulJul 6, 2011
blue valentine is too much; too real, too close to the heart, too close for comfort. it not sterilized and the rawness of the movie - fueled by great acting and cinematography - may be more than what audiences can take, especially if they canblue valentine is too much; too real, too close to the heart, too close for comfort. it not sterilized and the rawness of the movie - fueled by great acting and cinematography - may be more than what audiences can take, especially if they can relate on a personal level to the inexplicable demise of the bonds that bind and define us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
kormac66Dec 31, 2010
Very disappointing considering this is my kind of film. Anyone who thinks this is great must not be familiar with what great films look like. Check out Bergman if you want to plumb human emotion. Or Bertolucci. This is a very superficial andVery disappointing considering this is my kind of film. Anyone who thinks this is great must not be familiar with what great films look like. Check out Bergman if you want to plumb human emotion. Or Bertolucci. This is a very superficial and stylish film that comes up empty. Great acting, but the dialog and the storytelling are quite weak. The events are so simplistic and heavy-handed. All in all a huge disappointment. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
eliteco3Feb 22, 2013
Tension is the name of the game for exhaused lovers Ryan Gosling and Williams. The film cuts and back and forth in time filling in the gaps. The authenticity of this film cannot be understated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MukulMay 22, 2011
The movie centers on few things in life like love,relationships,instant marriages due to some unwanted reasons and other **** portrays"the **** quite beautifully and how complicated it really gets for some of the families out there whichThe movie centers on few things in life like love,relationships,instant marriages due to some unwanted reasons and other **** portrays"the **** quite beautifully and how complicated it really gets for some of the families out there which might have formed due to some or many unavoidable reasons.I personally felt that the female character was at fault here - young,restless,prone to committing some serious mistakes and later bend life at her own will with adjacent to the mood swings which we have seen getting portrayed regularly with some of the really major romantic movie genre.And which actually sucks for all the goody tissue guys out there who are not good with money but actually respect the integrity of their family very well and are willed to do anything to keep it at its best state of condition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
darrrnFeb 9, 2011
After watching Blue Valentine all I could feel was disappointment. The screenplay didn't do justice to the cast, who gave an outstanding performance considering.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
bluemilkJan 8, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. expected so much more of what i looked in it , But at the same time is not that bad comparing with the 2010´s movie . It can easily get over so much movies of the last year. But at the same time i insist that i expected so much more of it . Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
juliet1000Jan 20, 2011
Musicfan you may beg to differ and yes I did watch the film thoroughly and from what I can gather many other people feel the same as I did.Dull Dull Dull.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
musicfan1066Jan 19, 2011
Wow Juliet1000, if all you can talk about is Michelle Williams lying on her back, it makes me wonder if you even really saw this at all! Little interesting dialogue and slow pace!? Well, I beg to differ. I thought WIlliams and Gosling wereWow Juliet1000, if all you can talk about is Michelle Williams lying on her back, it makes me wonder if you even really saw this at all! Little interesting dialogue and slow pace!? Well, I beg to differ. I thought WIlliams and Gosling were both fantastic, and I was deeply engrossed with this film. If Natalie Portman didn't give such a great performance in Black Swan, I would give the Oscar to Michelle Williams. Granted, if you are looking for escapist fluff, don't see this. However, if you are looking for great acting with a great script then definitely see this! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
tinanicoleFeb 4, 2011
I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it.

Madal Bal natural Tree Syrup
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews