Blue Velvet Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set in a small American town, Blue Velvet is a dark, sensuous mystery involving the intertwining lives of four very different individuals. The film's painful realism reminds us that we are not immune to the disturbing events which transpire in Blue Velvet's sleepy community. There is aSet in a small American town, Blue Velvet is a dark, sensuous mystery involving the intertwining lives of four very different individuals. The film's painful realism reminds us that we are not immune to the disturbing events which transpire in Blue Velvet's sleepy community. There is a darker side of life waiting for us all. (De Laurentiis Entertainment Group Inc.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. 100
    Blue Velvet is David Lynch in peak form, and represents (to date) his most accomplished motion picture. It is a work of fascinating scope and power that rivals any of the most subversive films to reach the screens during the '80s.
  2. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Sheila Benson
    100
    The most brilliantly disturbing film ever to have its roots in small-town American life. [19 September 1986, Calendar, p.6-1]
  3. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    100
    As fascinating as it is freakish. It confirms Mr. Lynch's stature as an innovator, a superb technician, and someone best not encountered in a dak alley. [19 September 1986]
  4. 80
    Hopper creates a flabbergasting portrait of unrepentent, irredeemable evil.
  5. Austin Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    67
    You either think it's dementedly wild at heart or a lost highway to nowhere.
  6. Time
    Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    60
    Lynch and his film will surely be reviled, but as an experiment in expanding cinema's dramatic and technical vocabulary, Blue Velvet demands respect. [Sept. 22, 1986]
  7. 25
    So strong, so shocking and yet so audacious that people walk out shaking their heads; they don't know quite what to make of it.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 5 out of 51
  1. AJ
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    It's hard to find the words to describe the experience of watching Blue Velvet. The film is simply a masterpiece.
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Rich symbolism, artistic cinematography and excellent Lynchian surrealism. I don't want to say more, words fall short of describing this filmRich symbolism, artistic cinematography and excellent Lynchian surrealism. I don't want to say more, words fall short of describing this film - a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Feb 29, 2016
    10
    "Blue Velvet certainly is one amazing film! With elements of surreality, satire, and dark humor, this is an unforgettable mystery thriller"Blue Velvet certainly is one amazing film! With elements of surreality, satire, and dark humor, this is an unforgettable mystery thriller that has some truly haunting and memorable moments throughout. The sequence where Frank Booth beats up and screams Jeffery while the song "In Dreams" continues to play in the background is truly terrifying. This film manages to be funny, depressing, and horrific all at the same time. Expand
  4. RD.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    Shocking, repulsive yet ultimately is oddly fascinating. Isabella Rossenlini is amazing and courageous in her role. But the best performance Shocking, repulsive yet ultimately is oddly fascinating. Isabella Rossenlini is amazing and courageous in her role. But the best performance is by Dennis Hopper as the sick disgusting "human being" Frank Booth. Kyle Machlachlan AND Laura Dern are nice. But Hopper rules. Lynch's very weird but at least comprehensible movie. Makes you feel as if you are having a nightmare and a very sick one at that. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A brilliant film in every possible way, it still has the power to shock the spectator. Dark in a way few directors can barely even dream of, Frank will haunt your nightmares. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    "Blue Velvet" opens with images from the American Dream: perfect little houses with white picket fences, and impeccably manicured yards. A man"Blue Velvet" opens with images from the American Dream: perfect little houses with white picket fences, and impeccably manicured yards. A man collapses while watering his lawn, and the camera, after following him to the ground, burrows into it--parting the blades of grass to reveal a colony of swarming bugs. The message is clear perfection often hides deeply-rooted rot. Dreams can easily turn into nightmares. Corruption is everywhere, even in places that seem immune to it. These themes, and others about the pernicious influence of evil, are explored in some depth throughout "Blue Velvet".

    Returning home to visit his father who is in intensive care at the hospital, Jeffrey Beaumont (Kyle MacLachlan), stumbles upon a human ear he finds in a field. With local police detective Williams showing little interest to investigate, Jeffrey and Sandy (Laura Dern), Detective Williams's daughter, decide to do their own investigation. But what Jeffrey and Sandy's investigation leads them to discover that a dark underworld exists in their hometown. Jeffrey becomes suspicious of nightclub singer Dorothy Vallens (Isabella Rossellini), who is involved with Frank Booth (Dennis Hopper), an unstable violent man. Dennis delivers a genuinely disturbing performance. There is a dark obsessiveness to "Blue Velvet" one that lingers long after the details of the film's mundane drug and kidnapping plot fade away. One is absorbed in the way that David Lynch draws Ivy League college kid Kyle MacLachlan down into a web of voyeurism, rape, sadomasochism and erotic tension. Perhaps the most fascinating thing about "Blue Velvet" is how it literally becomes a journey into darkness how as Kyle MacLachlan becomes drawn into the web.

    A truly eccentric and unsettling observation of the underlining, unspoken aspects behind the facade of any town, USA. "Blue Velvet" isn't a film for everyone. It has such an ominous, erotic nuance that disturbs, which has come to define his critically acclaimed work over the years. People who like straight forward storytelling where the journey from point A to point B is laid out for them won't be fans of "Blue Velvet". Much like Jeffrey, it's up to you to decide whether you fall into the former or the latter group.
    Expand
  7. DJHobby
    Jul 6, 2008
    0
    Public Service Announcement: David Lynch Sucks I'm watching Blue Velvet right now and I want to know how did this movie garner any Public Service Announcement: David Lynch Sucks I'm watching Blue Velvet right now and I want to know how did this movie garner any accolades. Congress should pass a law declaring that if David Lynch ever tries to make another movie he should be drawn and quartered. I decided to watch this movie after seeing that it was one of the American Film Institutes top 100 movies of all time. AFI even said it was even one of the top 10 mystery films of all times. The big mystery is who supports this crap. I'll give you the play by play of this movie as I watch it. It has the worst sound track of any "serious" movie ever made. Some of the songs are good songs, I love Roy Orbison etc.. But they are all out of place. The acting in this movie is horrible. The dork main character chews up the scenery. And then there is Dennis Hopper. Hopper is the worst actor of all time. He ruins ever movie he has ever made. Think about it. Apocalypse Now was awesome until Hopper shows up. Hoosiers might have been a good movie if he had not been cast. This movie is definitely no exception. It has one of the worst/weirdest scene ever in any movie. Dennis Hopper (have I told you how much I hate this asshole?) starts sniffing something, (oxygen?, glue?, his underwear?) and rapes Isabella Rossellini while he yells for his mommy. Damn, I need a shower. This movie is just full of unnecessary sexual violence. Why does that damn curtain keep flapping? And what is with the 25 times the actors say or drink a Heineken? "Heineken? Fuck that shit! Pabst Blue Ribbon!" That is a line delivered ham fisted, straight from the movie. This ranks right down there with Muhalland Drive, another David Lynch movie, that is the worst movie ever made. Is that guy dancing with a snake? More underwear sniffing, and then Hopper puts on lipstick? Man this movie is bad? Roy Orbison's estate should sue for slander. To quote an Orbison song played during this movie, "I can't help it if I cry," at how bad this movie is. Oh shit, the man in the yellow coat is a cop! I didn't see that coming. Also, what year did this take place? Most of the cars are from the late 50's, and a few from the 60's. The main dork dresses like it's 1982, but everyone else dresses like it's 1962. The dork sure does heal well. First he's stabbed in the face, (and that appears and reappears trough out) and then he is nearly beaten to death and then the next day he is fully healed. WTF? I didn't see that coming. David Lynch convinced Isabella to get naked and beat up one more time. Wouldn't you just take her to the hospital, not to your girlfriends house? What the hell?!? Now the guy with the yellow coat is standing there, and he's dead, standing? What in the world is Dennis Hopper sniffing? Sorry about the long rant but I can't say enough about how bad this movie is. Don't just take my word for it. From wikipedia: Roger Ebert, noted film critic of the Chicago Sun-Times, supports my view, although he praised Isabella Rossellini's performance as being "convincing and courageous". Ebert criticized how she was depicted in the film, even accusing David Lynch of misogyny: "degraded, slapped around, humiliated and undressed in front of the camera. And when you ask an actress to endure those experiences, you should keep your side of the bargain by putting her in an important film" David Lynch you put your disease in me. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Six Picks for the Week of November 7-13

    Six Picks for the Week of November 7-13 Image
    Published: November 6, 2011
    This week, the latest "Call of Duty" game hits stores, and presumably some other things happen as well. (Here are a few for non-gamers: one of the year's best-reviewed movies in "Melancholia," and a new "Blue Velvet" Blu-ray with a ton of never-before-seen footage.) Get all of the week's picks inside.
  2. DVD Release Calendar: November 2011

    DVD Release Calendar: November 2011 Image
    Published: October 26, 2011
    Get a full listing of every movie and TV show coming to DVD and Blu-ray in the next month. November's top releases include the Blu-ray premiere of "Blue Velvet," the final "Harry Potter" installment, the second season of the BBC's "Luther," and JJ Abrams' "Super 8."
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.