Bonnie and Clyde

Bonnie and Clyde Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway are the legendary Depression-era bandits and lovers in this landmark film that won two Academy Awards and triggered a revolution in screen violence. (Warner Bros.)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 100
    There is something special about the production, with its brash, vivid style, indelible performances by movie icons, and bold mixture of violence and comedy, romance and tragedy.
  2. 100
    Bonnie and Clyde is a milestone in the history of American movies, a work of truth and brilliance. It is also pitilessly cruel, filled with sympathy, nauseating, funny, heartbreaking, and astonishingly beautiful.
  3. So definitive in so many ways, Bonnie and Clyde has become a 20th-century touchstone.
  4. Landmark gangster film that made a huge commercial and cultural splash.
  5. 60
    This inconsistency of direction is the most obvious fault of Bonnie and Clyde, which has some good ingredients, although they are not meshed together well.
  6. Penn's film oozes an intellectual's fashionable contempt for the characters.
  7. It is a cheap piece of bald-faced slapstick comedy that treats the hideous depredations of that sleazy, moronic pair as though they were as full of fun and frolic as the jazz-age cutups in "Thoroughly Modern Millie."

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    Really violent but a good movie. I have to say I really thought the end was done well. You know, the part where they finally catch up withReally violent but a good movie. I have to say I really thought the end was done well. You know, the part where they finally catch up with Bonnie and Clyde. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    I still love it now as much as i have loved it before. It is pretty unique in its genre. I can't wait to watch it again so I will be rentingI still love it now as much as i have loved it before. It is pretty unique in its genre. I can't wait to watch it again so I will be renting it tomorrow. If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favour...go and watch it...I am sure you are going to enjoy it! Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Boasting some brilliant performances across the board, "Bonnie And Clyde" challenges audiences with shocking imagery, enduring pathos, andBoasting some brilliant performances across the board, "Bonnie And Clyde" challenges audiences with shocking imagery, enduring pathos, and some truly iconic onscreen relationships. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    A great movie with great acting based off the real bank robbers Bonnie and Clyde, that shows that a life of a criminal is no life at all. AA great movie with great acting based off the real bank robbers Bonnie and Clyde, that shows that a life of a criminal is no life at all. A movie worth seeing. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    All the way back in 1967, not all directors had the balls to make movies like these: violent, raw, and realistic. It wasn't until after thisAll the way back in 1967, not all directors had the balls to make movies like these: violent, raw, and realistic. It wasn't until after this movie that ratings and thematic material in movies became apparent. So technically, this movie is one of the first of its kind. Bravo. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    Man tries to steal car, woman catches him, flirt, do a robbery, do some more, become infamous, Uncle Jesse comes after them.
    I believe this
    Man tries to steal car, woman catches him, flirt, do a robbery, do some more, become infamous, Uncle Jesse comes after them.
    I believe this was quite controversial at the time due to the violence although it doesn't seem too bad now (The ending however is still brutal).
    Faye Dunaway is sexier than sexy & Gene Hackman as convincing as ever.
    I did sympathise with Bonnie in that I found Blanche annoying as hell.
    Also the cinematography ranges from very good to awful.
    Collapse

See all 7 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.