Sony Pictures Releasing | Release Date: February 21, 1996
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
125
Mixed:
11
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
SpangleOct 18, 2013
Love Wes Anderson, but this didn't do much for me. Of course, the directing was excellent and the acting was ok, but the story just never really "grabbed me" at all. Now, it isn't a trainwreck by any means, but it's also anything but a goodLove Wes Anderson, but this didn't do much for me. Of course, the directing was excellent and the acting was ok, but the story just never really "grabbed me" at all. Now, it isn't a trainwreck by any means, but it's also anything but a good movie. Feels unfinished and lacking in key plot elements that, oh I don't know, make it interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonAug 5, 2013
BOTTLE ROCKET was a critical success when it was released in 1996 and launched the careers of a creative team that know comedy can be talky, subtle, character driven, and even heartbreaking at times. It's not the best Anderson-WilsonBOTTLE ROCKET was a critical success when it was released in 1996 and launched the careers of a creative team that know comedy can be talky, subtle, character driven, and even heartbreaking at times. It's not the best Anderson-Wilson endeavor, but as the first it establishes central elements visible in all their films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24May 21, 2013
Throughout Anderson's directorial debut, "Bottle Rocket," you can definitely sense him trying to come into his proverbial own, but it is still an outrageous and occasionally deep comedic drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BryceHooglandJul 9, 2012
Bottle Rocket is Wes Anderson
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuJul 8, 2012
Bottle Rocket is Wes Anderson's first and weakest offering. The film isn't anywhere near bad, it's just that Anderson's skills as a director are only budding here instead of blooming (as they would be on the following Rushmore). Likewise, theBottle Rocket is Wes Anderson's first and weakest offering. The film isn't anywhere near bad, it's just that Anderson's skills as a director are only budding here instead of blooming (as they would be on the following Rushmore). Likewise, the writing is likable and features the same lightness of touch as the later films but isn't in the same league as The Royal Tenenbaums. Still, if you are a big Wes Anderson fan, Bottle Rocket makes for intriguing viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 8, 2011
The movie's cinematography is impressive as well as the performance of the actors if you realize this was a student movie. But Wes Anderson's "Bottle Rocket" doesn't really have any twists or thrills in its plot; you'll be watching a 91The movie's cinematography is impressive as well as the performance of the actors if you realize this was a student movie. But Wes Anderson's "Bottle Rocket" doesn't really have any twists or thrills in its plot; you'll be watching a 91 minute movie will interest, but no more than that level. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
tonyGreenSep 9, 2011
The usual fare from Wes Anderson. This one has the same tone, the same themes as all his later films. Which is not neccessarily a bad thing. There are some good jokes here, and pretty high production values for an 'indie'. The film thatThe usual fare from Wes Anderson. This one has the same tone, the same themes as all his later films. Which is not neccessarily a bad thing. There are some good jokes here, and pretty high production values for an 'indie'. The film that started the Wilson brother's careers (Owen and Luke) and they do well in this. worth a look, especially for Wes Anderson fans Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushSep 28, 2010
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/bottle-rocket.html

First off I'll just confess my love for Wes Anderson, I love him! I know he gets some critism but I just really like his style of movies and have seen every one of his movies (aside
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/bottle-rocket.html

First off I'll just confess my love for Wes Anderson, I love him! I know he gets some critism but I just really like his style of movies and have seen every one of his movies (aside from Fantastic Mr. Fox which is in my list). Now I had a weird reaction to this movie. While I still really liked it I like some of Anderson's other movies way better (and some worse but that's besides the point). However, I laughed the most at this one. It started out semi slow and I thought I'd actually hate one of Wes Anderson's flicks but which all the crazy heists in the beginning and the end and the surprise (to me) romance element, I was hooked till the end and was left very satisfied. But since it's a tad slow at the beginning (and parts in the middle), I ended up giving it a 3.5 out of 5.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CelbertB.Oct 28, 2005
Not Anderson's best, but far better than most. Owen Wilson is excelent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnnyApr 15, 2005
The funniest of Wes Anderson's movies, and still Owen Wilson's most inspired comedic performance. Its a vastly underated picture, and a must see for anyone who likes the Wilson-Anderson writing team.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PrateekG.Feb 25, 2005
This is one of my favorite movies. Even though it is low budget, it has a great story, good acting, and it made me laugh. It really serves as a contrast to the normal soulless comedies about young adults like Eurotrip, American Wedding, or This is one of my favorite movies. Even though it is low budget, it has a great story, good acting, and it made me laugh. It really serves as a contrast to the normal soulless comedies about young adults like Eurotrip, American Wedding, or Van WIlder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahH.Jan 26, 2005
Must see for any Anderson fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful