Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Three best friends attempt to escape their suburban boredom through a life of crime. But these bickering, bumbling thieves are no match for the local "godfather" who leads them into the biggest heist of their careers. [Sony Pictures]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Mar 4, 2014
    90
    Though Bottle Rocket is wryly amusing from beginning to end, the hard edges of the real world are never too far from its surface. And it is the particular grace of the film that though all its characters end up with something like what they're looking for, its not exactly how they'd imagined it would be.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Daly
    83
    The title refers to cheap fireworks that fizz before they flame out quietly, and that's what three Southwestern slackers do in this amiable heist movie-cum-road flick.
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    In Bottle Rocket, the small scale and vague amateurishness (especially in the performances) are themselves rather endearing. They seem to go along with the screwed-up characters, as does the loosely structured plot.
  4. Reviewed by: Bruce Diones
    70
    Meanders pleasantly, like a road movie, with a seventies-style, anything-goes offhandedness that whisks the audience through the rough spots.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Noller
    Mar 4, 2014
    63
    Anderson has a great deal of empathy for his charming band of fuck-ups, but the characters are thinly drawn, and Anderson's attempts to lend the story emotional weight, like giving Anthony a ludicrously one-dimensional love interest in South American housekeeper Inez (Lumi Cavazos), largely fall flat.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    60
    This lightweight road picture about a group of inept thieves has an uneven beginning but ends up charming and satisfying.
  7. Reviewed by: Barry Walters
    12
    Several times during this film, you wish you were a bottle rocket so you could explode out of your seat and leave this tedious mess behind.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    BOTTLE ROCKET was a critical success when it was released in 1996 and launched the careers of a creative team that know comedy can be talky,BOTTLE ROCKET was a critical success when it was released in 1996 and launched the careers of a creative team that know comedy can be talky, subtle, character driven, and even heartbreaking at times. It's not the best Anderson-Wilson endeavor, but as the first it establishes central elements visible in all their films. Expand
  2. CelbertB.
    Oct 28, 2005
    8
    Not Anderson's best, but far better than most. Owen Wilson is excelent.
  3. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/bottle-rocket.html

    First off I'll just confess my love for Wes Anderson, I love him! I know he gets
    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/bottle-rocket.html

    First off I'll just confess my love for Wes Anderson, I love him! I know he gets some critism but I just really like his style of movies and have seen every one of his movies (aside from Fantastic Mr. Fox which is in my list). Now I had a weird reaction to this movie. While I still really liked it I like some of Anderson's other movies way better (and some worse but that's besides the point). However, I laughed the most at this one. It started out semi slow and I thought I'd actually hate one of Wes Anderson's flicks but which all the crazy heists in the beginning and the end and the surprise (to me) romance element, I was hooked till the end and was left very satisfied. But since it's a tad slow at the beginning (and parts in the middle), I ended up giving it a 3.5 out of 5.
    Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2011
    7
    The usual fare from Wes Anderson. This one has the same tone, the same themes as all his later films. Which is not neccessarily a bad thing.The usual fare from Wes Anderson. This one has the same tone, the same themes as all his later films. Which is not neccessarily a bad thing. There are some good jokes here, and pretty high production values for an 'indie'. The film that started the Wilson brother's careers (Owen and Luke) and they do well in this. worth a look, especially for Wes Anderson fans Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    Bottle Rocket is Wes Anderson
  6. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    Bottle Rocket is Wes Anderson's first and weakest offering. The film isn't anywhere near bad, it's just that Anderson's skills as a directorBottle Rocket is Wes Anderson's first and weakest offering. The film isn't anywhere near bad, it's just that Anderson's skills as a director are only budding here instead of blooming (as they would be on the following Rushmore). Likewise, the writing is likable and features the same lightness of touch as the later films but isn't in the same league as The Royal Tenenbaums. Still, if you are a big Wes Anderson fan, Bottle Rocket makes for intriguing viewing. Collapse
  7. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    The movie's cinematography is impressive as well as the performance of the actors if you realize this was a student movie. But Wes Anderson'sThe movie's cinematography is impressive as well as the performance of the actors if you realize this was a student movie. But Wes Anderson's "Bottle Rocket" doesn't really have any twists or thrills in its plot; you'll be watching a 91 minute movie will interest, but no more than that level. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers