User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2014
    4
    I was alone in the movie theater, 200 seats. The problem with this movie is that it´s basically a rip off of the great original banlieue 13 movie, i didn´t except it to be that close to that original, a lot of scenes are 1on1. The banlieue movies are one of my favorites, so brick mansions felt more like a bad deja-vu than an interesting new interpretation. Banlieue 13 has way more style and more important, with raffaelli, belle had an equal skilled partner; cause Walker as a fighter is just **** he looks better behind the wheel- or not. Without the comparison to the original movie, i would´ve rated it higher because it´s a nice little, diverting movie Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    ----->>>>>watch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 onlinewatch Brick Mansions 2014 online Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2014
    5
    Its better than spidey 2, xmen, capt america 2. more entertaining than lots of stuff out there. action is legit. would watch it again when it hits cable and that is really the test. sure the plot is thin and the acting is kind of weak in spots. worth a look if you're looking to waste a couple hours and don"t want to think or get a message. similar to jet li movies.
  4. May 18, 2014
    6
    must admit this film is going to be a flop it started amazing but got silly in places nothing you can take serious it again is average 6/10 but the action was good and there is alot
    something to buy = no
    something to watch if nothing else on cinema = yes
  5. May 17, 2014
    10
    "What a loss. But it's good to see Paul Walker back in action. The trancheur French-parkour, David Belle's action was still hardcore than District 13. RZA was just another good looking villain trying to changed the roles to good-guys. The minor villain such as K2 was really a bad idea for Luc Besson. Hope there is a sequel coming up..."
  6. May 13, 2014
    0
    THIS IS A B MOVIE!!!! Anyone that rates this movie above a 5 is just feeling nostalgic for Paul Walker. This was the cheesiest/low budget B movie that I have ever seen in a movie theater. I imagine it was going to go directly to DVD/Bluray but since Paul Walker passed away, they decided to put it in theaters.
    1. Terrible acting....so bad it kept taking me out of movie.
    2. Ridiculous
    special effects. Like it was made for an NBC drama.
    3. Story & Plot made absolutely no sense.
    4. Literally the most ridiculous end I have ever seen in a theatrical movie.

    If you are totally wasted and 15 years old you might like this. If you are a sober adult then stay away.
    I knew I should have snuck that 40z into the theater :(
    Collapse
  7. May 4, 2014
    2
    Horrible style on the plot, likely only way people would see this movie is for Paul Walker as this being his last finished movie. It has it's moments, but not enough to save this movie. The poor acting by the french guy and latino lady is another nail in the coffin.
  8. May 2, 2014
    5
    A bunch of talking, punching and kicking, car chase, repeat. That's basically the structure of the entire film. However, it still manages to be one of those kinds of movies where it's so stupid and ridiculous that it's somewhat fun to watch. That's how I felt about this film overall. Unfortunately, there's little to no plot in this film. Paul Walker gives a worthwhile performance in his second to last role (Fast and Furious 7 is his final next year.) David Belle pretty much plays the exact same character he did in the original District B13. RZA tried, but made for a rather wooden and undeveloped antagonist. Overall, it's wreckless, but slightly entertaining at the same time. As long as you go in expecting some entertaining action and nothing more, you won't be too disappointed. Expand
  9. May 1, 2014
    3
    The film's opening sequence features French Parkour star David Belle's athletic acrobatics as he outruns and outsmarts dozens of bad guys…and it's downhill from there. He teams up with Paul Walker as a renegade cop (is there any other kind?) to bring down the gangstas. The plot is so ludicrous that it's not worth outlining, but suffice it to say that it's an extremely dumb framework for an onslaught of mostly mediocre fights and frantic chases. The action is usually shot too blurry and edited to frenetically to appreciate the effort. Hopefully, the next "Fast & Furious" will be a better film, because this would be an embarrassing sendoff for Walker. Expand
  10. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    A great fantastic action-parkour movies featuring Belle new action stunt. Many have disappointed over Walkers death but, he still got his action on Brick Mansions. Still, some kick-backing action was still cooler and awesome!
  11. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Excellent , Great n fantastic movie i must say.......awesome parkour stunts.....Villians good....everything goood Paul waker's last finished movie...so it adds up to these and make the film very "VERY" good..
    U guys must watch it.. Superb Movie MUST WATCH....

    Only back grade is that the poster deigns were not very good so people think its a bad movie and dont watch it .....but its not
    like that ...
    EXCELLENT i loved it
    Expand
  12. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    Cartoony - but has heart. Part of me wished it was grittier (there's a jail scene that shows how cool it could have been), but once I realized it was supposed to be fun, I just enjoyed the movie.
  13. Apr 28, 2014
    5
    It's really sad that Brick Mansions is Paul Walker's final movie and since he meant everything so much whether it's fast cars, beautiful women, or the exotic models in or outside of the Fast and Furious series, he made a smile out of everyone to come out and support his loyal fans what a charistmatic and entertaining star he is and now he's in heaven right now. R.I.P. Paul Walker. I felt that Brick Mansions feels too short of a remake of the cult classic "District B13 (Banlieue 13 in French)." The good news is that Paul and David Belle did some incredible moves and backflips and it was awesome. The bad news is that director Camille Delamarre and producer Luc Besson of La Femme Nikita fame has really made the film look difficult and sometimes it's hard to understand why you want to remake a 10-year-old French classic. But the script feels weak, I don't know about RZA's performance. It's a so-so but blatant effort and Besson, however, has too much pressure on what's his next goal and hopefully he could fail another movie. Even though it's hard to put Paul Walker on that role, but I think Brick Mansions is a "thanks, but no thanks" good but betrayed movie of the year. Expand
  14. Apr 26, 2014
    5
    Wow. The only reason I went to see Brick Mansions was for Paul Walker, and it seems like this was an instant cash in after the great actor's death. That's why Brick Mansions was so hyped. I didn't want a movie like Brick Mansions and IAM sure that you won't too after watching it. The parkour is excellent, the sense of vibe and energy fills the screen with great action and parkour skills. David Belle is on the top of his game. But, if you have watched District 13, there is actually no point in seeing Brick Mansions. Sure, it has some great action and parkour but the exact same story, same twists, some bad acting- ESPECIALLY RZA. Director Camille Delamarre just wanted a washed out version of the great original by Pierre Morel. The acting and the friendship of Belle and Walker plays out well with great acting by the duo. But RZA makes the movie fall though, his character- a coward boss of Brick Mansions slows down the movie on its great potential. The stunts are great but there is no sense it Brick Mansions it feels like a straight-to-dvd movie if it weren't for Paul Walker. One time watch for fans, but really do you want to see District 13 again in theatres, with washed out story and screenplay? Take that in mind before buying tickets for the movie. If you are a die hard Paul Walker and parkour fan, give it a watch. Expand
  15. Apr 25, 2014
    5
    I never liked the series of films Brick Mansions. Stupid story like music too, I did not like. Generally put the film 2 out of 10 but as it is necessary to recall the old days it will add a little Paul. So toga 5 out of 10.
  16. Apr 25, 2014
    5
    It was great to see Paul Walker again - what a loss! Other than that, this was FAR too similar to the original French film, and the "bad" dudes weren't nearly as menacing, for some reason. And the plot twists toward the end are completely ridiculous. But the parkour is great fun.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Klimek
    Jun 3, 2014
    40
    This is an almost scene-for-scene remake — but not a shot-for-shot remake, which likely would have been more enjoyable.
  2. Reviewed by: Jamie Neish
    May 3, 2014
    40
    It's essentially a collection of shoddily edited action sequences, underpinned by a monotonous narrative that has no purpose, let alone moral heart to reward viewers' waning attention.
  3. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 3, 2014
    60
    Director Camille Delamarre and Luc Besson, who co-wrote the screenplay, relocate the story to Detroit and tone down some of its (admittedly broad) social satire — although the Parkour remains centre-stage, and is mostly hair-raising.