Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 12, 2011
    100
    A film of great hilarity, humanity, idiosyncrasy and grade-A, eyebrow-singeing raunch.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 12, 2011
    100
    Through it all -- the free-form conversations, the brilliant set pieces, the preposterous gross-outs, the flawless performances -- Kristen Wiig's forlorn maid of honor, Annie, seeks her own destiny with a wrenchingly cockeyed passion.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    May 12, 2011
    100
    See it because it's f---ing hilarious.
  4. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 12, 2011
    100
    Bridesmaids is hilariously funny, but what makes it exhilarating is how boldly it defies that conventional wisdom about what men and women like.
  5. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 11, 2011
    100
    She's an Everywoman you can believe in, showcased in the kind of deft comedy of feminine passion - where deep despair meets Wilson Phillips - that a great many people have been waiting for. Now that Wiig and company have built it, will they come?
  6. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    May 13, 2011
    90
    And at its loony best, Wiig and Mumolo's script hurls a torrent of bridesmaid-zilla set pieces at us, playing out like a "Sex and the City 3" read-through gone deliciously awry.
  7. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    May 13, 2011
    90
    From the first overheated moments of Bridesmaids...it's clear we're in for that rarest of treats: an R-rated romantic comedy from the Venus point of view.
  8. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Apr 30, 2011
    90
    A breakthrough comedy, a four-square piece of populist fun that ranks as quite possibly the best mainstream American comedy in years-at least since "The 40-Year-Old Virgin."
  9. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    May 12, 2011
    89
    In an age of doggedly unambitious comedy, one marvels at the finesse these first-time screenwriters and director Feig bring to marrying raunch, romantic comedy, and the tested but ever-true bond between women.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 12, 2011
    88
    Kristen Wiig is the best sketch comic alive, and Bridesmaids should finally make her a movie star.
  11. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 12, 2011
    88
    Bridesmaids seems to be a more or less deliberate attempt to cross the Chick Flick with the Raunch Comedy. It definitively proves that women are the equal of men in vulgarity, sexual frankness, lust, vulnerability, overdrinking and insecurity.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 136
  1. May 13, 2011
    10
    This is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promising comedies arriving this year, but this was a blast! It is very hard for me to find something I didn't enjoy about this movie. The performances were brilliant and the dialog was clever and witty! Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    1
    I'm perplexed - how can a film that is supposed to be one of the funniest movies of the year, be so bad and unfunny? To say it's in the same league as Hangover is bizarre - absolutely no comparison. What a complete waste of time. Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2011
    0
    My god, that hour and a half dragged on and on and would not end. I was so happy when those end credits rolled and i ran ou the theater. Thankfully, i vowed NEVER to watch this movie again. If i see it in a 5 dollar bin, i'll BURN it. If i see a poster for it on eBay, i'll buy it and BURN it. Avoid this movie, go see Priest or Thor. Or Fast Five. Full Review »