User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 445 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 445

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2014
    4
    After rewatching 'The Hangover', I heard that this was the quote on quote, female version. whoever told me this was wrong. I don't give a f**k who says its a good movie, but it's perpetual and annoying nauseating and with the exception of a few scenes with Melissa McCarthy, unfunny. I hate Kristen Wiig. She is just the most irritating comedian to watch; no offense to her, but she'sAfter rewatching 'The Hangover', I heard that this was the quote on quote, female version. whoever told me this was wrong. I don't give a f**k who says its a good movie, but it's perpetual and annoying nauseating and with the exception of a few scenes with Melissa McCarthy, unfunny. I hate Kristen Wiig. She is just the most irritating comedian to watch; no offense to her, but she's intolerable to speak to. And I thought watching her in 'Knocked Up' was bad enough. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2014
    0
    It is astonishing to think that this piece of shallow silliness got two Oscar nominations. However, it works very well as an indicator of the sorry state of contemporary society. The story revolves around Annie Walker, a most annoying woman who would be a perfect character for a cheap sitcom.

    Annie alleged best friend Lillian is getting married and that horrendously stressing event that
    It is astonishing to think that this piece of shallow silliness got two Oscar nominations. However, it works very well as an indicator of the sorry state of contemporary society. The story revolves around Annie Walker, a most annoying woman who would be a perfect character for a cheap sitcom.

    Annie alleged best friend Lillian is getting married and that horrendously stressing event that is an American wedding must be organized. Countless chick flicks have been there, only to underline how the true meaning of getting married and any shred of happiness are lost in the process of having so much “organized” fun.

    Produced by Apatow and co-written by Kristen Wiig, who is also starring – and appearing in every scene - as main character Annie Walker. If you know a bit about movies, this can explain why it is so bad. Apatow is the king of crass, vulgar, unfunny comedies. Wiig wanted to make clear she is the star. Unfortunately, like most female comedians, she seems to think that the only way to make women “funny” is to degrade them. Surely they get plenty of humiliations in this movie, but this does not make the movie funny in any way.
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    2
    Any film in which the crowning moment is a fat woman having diarrhoea in a kitchen sink is a movie not worth watching. Which is too bad, because Rudolph and Wiig are two very funny comedic actresses, and it's such a waste to see them fooling around this juvenile nonsense.
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    3
    How on earth did this movie earn itself a BAFTA, an Oscar and a WGA nomination for best original screenplay!? "Bridesmaids" is a lot of things but definitely not original. Or do all those other 2000 romantic comedies with the same plot exist only in my mind? I don't think so. "Bridesmaids" is a failure, a cliche movie for women, just like all those Chuck Norris movies are cliche movies for men.
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    0
    The stupidest movie ever! I watched it because of Melissa McCartney but even she looks horrible and her character is flat and stupid nobody, NOT a role for this talented actress! You can guess the end of the storey from the beginning. The dialogues are soooo primitive. Not funny at all! What a shame!
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    3
    its way too long and predictable.Here and there some good jokes but its not enough for justify the garbage they feed at .Bunch of clumsy women trying so hard to make jokes but in the end i felt pity for writers and the actresses
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    0
    This was terrible. I might have given it a marginally higher score but I couldn't finish it; therefore, it receives a 0. The vomit and diarrhea scene was so shockingly not funny that nothing else would redeem this cinematic catastrophe. I'm shocked this movie was reviewed as well as it was. I've heard from many friends who said it was funny. However, I find it rather telling that theThis was terrible. I might have given it a marginally higher score but I couldn't finish it; therefore, it receives a 0. The vomit and diarrhea scene was so shockingly not funny that nothing else would redeem this cinematic catastrophe. I'm shocked this movie was reviewed as well as it was. I've heard from many friends who said it was funny. However, I find it rather telling that the friend who insisted I watch it with her was far less amused the second time she watched it. Then again, perhaps it was the look of repulsed horror on my face that changed her mind. I watched the movie up to the point where the vile females vomit on each other, another purges her bowels in the sink, and the bride-to-be squats in the street to release her bowels while wearing a wedding dress. The only memorable parts of this travesty that I'm unable to forget are colored with vulgarity and long embarrassing jokes that are simply uncomfortable to watch.
    This film does do an excellent job of painting women as spiteful, petty, helpless, vulgar, and foul. Perhaps somebody finds that funny but I'm simply appalled. To add insult to injury, I'm quite confident I can predict the ending so I'm glad I don't need to watch the rest of it.
    Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    3
    All I have heard is about how this movie is hilarious and better than most of the comedies that have been released in the last 5 years. So I finally watch it today and I have to say I was fooled. If the people who made the movie were going for a drama with a splash of comedy they succeeded but all guides say it's a comedy. If I would have missed all of the hype and just watched it as aAll I have heard is about how this movie is hilarious and better than most of the comedies that have been released in the last 5 years. So I finally watch it today and I have to say I was fooled. If the people who made the movie were going for a drama with a splash of comedy they succeeded but all guides say it's a comedy. If I would have missed all of the hype and just watched it as a regular movie I probably would've enjoyed it more but I was disappointed over all. Expand
  9. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    Okey, so apparently this is a comedy! Did it made me laugh? Yes, it did, just a few times. I am not denying the fact that many people can love it. It is just not what I expect a good comedy to be. To me, it is not good, smart humour. Some may claim that this is one of those comedies that are there to relax you, and do not attempt to make you think. Sure! But even when I relax (and I amOkey, so apparently this is a comedy! Did it made me laugh? Yes, it did, just a few times. I am not denying the fact that many people can love it. It is just not what I expect a good comedy to be. To me, it is not good, smart humour. Some may claim that this is one of those comedies that are there to relax you, and do not attempt to make you think. Sure! But even when I relax (and I am veeeery relaxed person), I want to think, feel, and enjoy what I see. Because it is thinking what actually make me establish a judgement about the quality -or lack of it- of a film. Therefore, something that I believe is plain silly just doesn't make me laugh for if I want to see stupidity, I don't need to spend my money on it, I can just turn the tv on or surf the net and I will surely find plenty of vulgarity and idiocy. Bridesmaids was cheap and mediocre. The ending of this movie (actually, after the credits) was in my opinion, completely unnecessary and obnoxious. Unlike what many may assume, I am not a religious person at all, neither I am hypersensible, or conservative...quite the opposite; I am actually very liberal, analytical, and carefree; but to me, the overexposure of sex , makes me think about those who are not free about it, otherwise why sooo much focus on it? I enjoy it in my private life, and of course I can freely discuss sex with my friends and acquantainces; I can also watch and enjoy erotic scenes on tv within the right context' but here it was totally out of place. This movie was not hideous, but was at times gruesome, and it was also unengaging. In fact, the leading characters were annoying, miserable, insecure, ridiculous, and so pathetic that I am glad no one I know is like them...and I couldn't be around those sort of women either. Those characters do not make me laugh but they bore me. Unfortunately, there was not a single character in this movie who had some brains!. The comedies I enjoy are so different! My favourite comedy ever is perhaps The Full Monty, there are other more recent and of course not as original comedies, less subtle and light, and yet fun and not gross; The Hangover, for example is refreshing, definitely a thousand times better than Bridesmaid! Thus, I do not recommend this movie, especially if you have a more delicate taste. Collapse
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    Was Bridesmaids suppose to be a comedy because it certainly didn't come across that way. Apatow has created some very funny films but this one is just bad. It is sad when there are Adam Sandler films that are funnier than this.
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    It's not funny. The acting isn't very good. The main character Annie and her friend (can't even remember her name, played by Maya Rudolph) are annoying. We're meant to feel sympathetic towards Annie when really she's an incredibly selfish destructive person. The "antagonist", if you can call her that pretty much just stands back and just lets Annie ruin herself and her friends' lives. AndIt's not funny. The acting isn't very good. The main character Annie and her friend (can't even remember her name, played by Maya Rudolph) are annoying. We're meant to feel sympathetic towards Annie when really she's an incredibly selfish destructive person. The "antagonist", if you can call her that pretty much just stands back and just lets Annie ruin herself and her friends' lives. And then when she comes to Annie in a time of weakness Annie treats her like **** and acts like It's her that was wrong. Expand
  12. Dec 28, 2011
    4
    I finally took time out to see Bridesmaids, and plain and simple: It wasn't worth it. This is commonly cited as the female version of the Hangover, and I can see why; Its loud, raunchy and most of all it's Overrated. The movie is sluggish and filled to the brim with simple minded, toilet humor. It has some laughs here and there but overall the humor was forced (eg. the food poisoningI finally took time out to see Bridesmaids, and plain and simple: It wasn't worth it. This is commonly cited as the female version of the Hangover, and I can see why; Its loud, raunchy and most of all it's Overrated. The movie is sluggish and filled to the brim with simple minded, toilet humor. It has some laughs here and there but overall the humor was forced (eg. the food poisoning scene). Story-wise, the movie may have been fine, but this was overshadowed by all the mess. It is also bizarre that Mellisa McCarthy is getting this much attention, for a substandard, useless performance. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This movie is crap, figuratively and literally. It's a sad example of how low people's idea of humour has plummeted. And a quite shocking display of bad taste by the metacritics.
  14. Oct 9, 2011
    2
    Such a disappointment! The sisters were supposed to give us something hilarious to admire. A string of lame SNL skits with uninspired writing masked with sight gags. I suppose "awkward" is the new funny.
  15. Oct 7, 2011
    0
    WOW, I can't believe this movie has high ratings. This is one of the worst movies I have seen lately especially as its labelled comedy but comes nothing close to it. Was this movie even suppose to be funny, I thought I was watching a morning drama?
  16. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    This IS the most disappointing movie I have seen this year. I saw the
    high ratings on IMDb, and even great ratings on otherwise unforgiving
    meta-critics so i gave it a shot. What a mistake. Movie is mildly saying...catastrophic. The humor, the plot, the lines...its like its been made by 10 year old girl. I really cant believe that people found this movie hilarious or funny. It starts a bit
    This IS the most disappointing movie I have seen this year. I saw the
    high ratings on IMDb, and even great ratings on otherwise unforgiving
    meta-critics so i gave it a shot. What a mistake. Movie is mildly
    saying...catastrophic. The humor, the plot, the lines...its like its
    been made by 10 year old girl. I really cant believe that people found
    this movie hilarious or funny. It starts a bit promising but i was
    preparing myself for awesomeness that has been promised from various
    reviews, and i waited and waited....but nothing happened. The acting
    itself is not that bad, but the plot, cliché dialogs, and dullness was
    killing my brain cells. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

    p.s. So disappointed with metacritic reviewers and critics :(
    Expand
  17. Sep 25, 2011
    3
    I really looked forward to this movie, as I thought it looked hilarious in the trailers, and I like many of the actresses in it, but it was nothing like what I expected. It had the opportunity to be really funny, but instead went from funny to sad to pathetic. My wife and I ended up turning it off.
  18. Sep 24, 2011
    2
    This movie is terrible. The critics thought it was good?! YUCKO- forgive my sophmoric adjective- in line with the movie i would say! The only bright spot was Annie's policeman friend. And Melissa McCarthy is funny and does best she can with semi crappy lines. Don't bother
  19. Sep 23, 2011
    0
    Well ladies welcome to the world of "women can be a much a pig as a man can." It seems the entire point of this film was to illustrate to the world that women can be as digusting as their counterparts are espoused to be. Quite an achievement. I couldn't wait for this piece of garbage to be over. There wasn't a single performance in this piece worth remembering. The script wasn'tWell ladies welcome to the world of "women can be a much a pig as a man can." It seems the entire point of this film was to illustrate to the world that women can be as digusting as their counterparts are espoused to be. Quite an achievement. I couldn't wait for this piece of garbage to be over. There wasn't a single performance in this piece worth remembering. The script wasn't focused. The characters were caricatures. It seems the public will laugh at anything now. I'm surprised one of these broads [cause not a single one of them deserves to be called a "lady" or a "woman"] didn't whip out a used tampon to illustrate a point. Sad and pathetic. Expand
  20. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    What a letdown. I heard so many good things about this movie and couldn't wait for it's release on dvd. My wife and I watched ot last night and both of us came away feeling we had not only wasted $4 but more importantly nearly 2 hours of our lives. You can't get that back. So take my advice and do something more important for 2 hours. Scrub your bathroom, mow the lawn, clean out theWhat a letdown. I heard so many good things about this movie and couldn't wait for it's release on dvd. My wife and I watched ot last night and both of us came away feeling we had not only wasted $4 but more importantly nearly 2 hours of our lives. You can't get that back. So take my advice and do something more important for 2 hours. Scrub your bathroom, mow the lawn, clean out the garage, take the dog on a walk, take a nap, have your teeth cleaned at the dentist, go see some other movie. Doing just about anything for 2 hours instead of watching this garbage will leave you feeling much better about yourself. Expand
  21. Sep 9, 2011
    1
    I'm perplexed - how can a film that is supposed to be one of the funniest movies of the year, be so bad and unfunny? To say it's in the same league as Hangover is bizarre - absolutely no comparison. What a complete waste of time.
  22. Sep 8, 2011
    0
    Waste of time. Better off watching Bad Teacher even though that was a disappointment too, or you could watch paint dry, there's always that. My expectations were average didn't expect much, but even then expecting it to be average was too high. Stupid humor. Stupid story. The only thing good about this movie is Ellie Kemper, Melissa McCarthy and Chris O'Dowd. And even then, Melissa'sWaste of time. Better off watching Bad Teacher even though that was a disappointment too, or you could watch paint dry, there's always that. My expectations were average didn't expect much, but even then expecting it to be average was too high. Stupid humor. Stupid story. The only thing good about this movie is Ellie Kemper, Melissa McCarthy and Chris O'Dowd. And even then, Melissa's character is horrible and annoying, she is so much better in Mike & Molly. The only scenes I could actually slightly enjoying and pay attention to without annoyance and disappointment were the scenes with O'Dowd Expand
  23. Jul 27, 2011
    2
    Now I did enjoy this as I was dragged to the cinema with girlfriend but only compared to other films like this. Very unimagintive story wise in my eyes as it was so predictable. The larger of the bridesmaids was funny but the lead charecter the bride and the annoying I'm perfect girl was just too much and teh cop was just rubbish. Funny in parts but in general poor.
  24. Jul 14, 2011
    4
    Every scene too long, no character particularly sympathetic (certainly not the lead), very little to laugh at, and a thin, well, actually, no plot: I don't know how this film has garnered so much praise.
  25. Jul 10, 2011
    4
    Had something going for it and i laughed at loud at a couple of scenes but it loses its way and becomes intensely boring with a school girl ending where everyone ends up friends. I got so bored i left about 10 minutes before the end....Nothing more to say.
  26. Jul 7, 2011
    1
    This has to be one of the worst movies of the year that we have seen... full of potty-mouth humor(?), graphic scenes of people vomiting, showing extended and annoying sex scenes, children cursing their parents, etc. Did the director really conceive this was funny or did he just assume that there was a paying audience for this crap? We all know about what happens when you get foodThis has to be one of the worst movies of the year that we have seen... full of potty-mouth humor(?), graphic scenes of people vomiting, showing extended and annoying sex scenes, children cursing their parents, etc. Did the director really conceive this was funny or did he just assume that there was a paying audience for this crap? We all know about what happens when you get food poisoning, how sex works, etc, but showing it in such graphic detail (like having a bowel movement in the street!!) just does nothing for us. Honestly, there may be one or two funny lines in the whole movie, but we did not wait to see what else may have been coming because we walked out after an hour (we should have left earlier). My rating: Disgusting! Expand
  27. Jun 9, 2011
    0
    In all honesty, I was expecting a better movie, as Judd Apatow was involved. The movie does have an emotional core which redeems the proceedings somewhat and makes it better than The Hangover. However, this film more than any other shows that males and females have reached a dubious parity in low humour. I did laugh a lot especially in the early part of the film but less and less as theIn all honesty, I was expecting a better movie, as Judd Apatow was involved. The movie does have an emotional core which redeems the proceedings somewhat and makes it better than The Hangover. However, this film more than any other shows that males and females have reached a dubious parity in low humour. I did laugh a lot especially in the early part of the film but less and less as the film progressed. Some gags went on painfully long and I was inwardly shouting, enough already, move on. To it's merit, this is a ladies film and I noted that the audience was 99.9% female at the showing that I saw. They laughed a lot and no doubt Bridemaids 2 is already in the works. I won't be there for #2 though as I saw enough of it in #1. Expand
  28. Jun 5, 2011
    0
    Not worth the money. Bathroom humor is not a girl thing in my opinion. The beginning was lame, the ending sweet, and everything in the middle pointless. If you want to see it, wait for the video. Maya Rudolph was the only real actress here (and Jill Clayburgh) but it wasn't enough. I do have a question, why wasn't Jon Hamm in the credits?
  29. Jun 4, 2011
    0
    Given the huge build up and enthusiastic reviews, this is one of the most disappointing movies I have seen in a long, long time. It swings between the maudlin to the just plain unfunny with an over abundance of potty jokes. Robert Evans has said, "if it is not on the page, it won't be on the screen." There is nothin on the screen. This is a movie of no surprises, no twists ( humorousGiven the huge build up and enthusiastic reviews, this is one of the most disappointing movies I have seen in a long, long time. It swings between the maudlin to the just plain unfunny with an over abundance of potty jokes. Robert Evans has said, "if it is not on the page, it won't be on the screen." There is nothin on the screen. This is a movie of no surprises, no twists ( humorous or otherwise) filled with cliche cardboard characters and a predictable plot line. The acting, save for Ms. Wiik, is first rate as is the photography, editing. Too bad they were trapped in this dross of a production. Expand
  30. Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Not as good as I expected. There were only a couple of funny parts. I felt it was a movie about bad things happening to one person, none of which were that persons fault. This movie isn't for everyone. You have to like a certain kind of comedy to like this movie.
  31. Jun 3, 2011
    4
    Bridesmaids was an absolutely painful movie to watch for more than two hours. Yes, it had it's Judd Apatow moments that make anybody with a sense of humor laugh; on the other hand, there were so many poorly edited scenes that, if watched with a fresh eye, could have made the movie much, much shorter. I'd say any chick with a sense of humor will love this, but don't think it's a movie forBridesmaids was an absolutely painful movie to watch for more than two hours. Yes, it had it's Judd Apatow moments that make anybody with a sense of humor laugh; on the other hand, there were so many poorly edited scenes that, if watched with a fresh eye, could have made the movie much, much shorter. I'd say any chick with a sense of humor will love this, but don't think it's a movie for everyone. Guys: save your money. Expand
  32. May 22, 2011
    2
    The fact that the general public loved this movie is awfully depressing, but not at all surprising. (Judd Apatow has, after all, become, the cultural barometer of our time.) The fact that several leading citiics found bathroom humor, upchucking, raunchy sexual scenes, temper tantrums, and other bad outtakes from (the past decade of) Saturday Night Live to be funny, insightful, orThe fact that the general public loved this movie is awfully depressing, but not at all surprising. (Judd Apatow has, after all, become, the cultural barometer of our time.) The fact that several leading citiics found bathroom humor, upchucking, raunchy sexual scenes, temper tantrums, and other bad outtakes from (the past decade of) Saturday Night Live to be funny, insightful, or otherwise groundbreaking, simply because it was about women (and because the upchucking was just "implied"), may be an indication that the end of the world (or at least the end of the civilized world) is coming (despite the failed prediction of Harold Camping). Is Hollywood's view of women so negative that a scene of an overweight woman taking a **** on a sink and other women puking on each other is considered progress? The only funny sequence in the movie was that of Kristen Wiig (who can, upon occasion, be funny) trying to get Chris O'Dowd to arrest her because of the various ways in which she's breaking the law with her driving, and the only slightly touching feature was the relationship between Wiig and O'Dowd. Most of the rest of the movie, as others have suggested, was mostly a mixture of torture and mind-numbing cliches than anything else. (Then there was the mother who brought her young child to the showing that I attended...) Expand
  33. May 18, 2011
    0
    Oh my .. i totally agree with tdi7457. I couldn't wait for the movie to end. I only found very few scenes funny. It was an ordeal sitting through it. I kept waiting for it to get better and it just never did. The sister of the groom was the only highlight .... it was a waste of my time. I would rather have had dental work ...
  34. May 13, 2011
    4
    This movie is totally mistitled and misleading. It should have been titled "The Bridesmaid" singular. There was no strong female clique as advertising would suggest. Nothing like "The Hangover" ensemble. No, this is a movie focused on the Maid of Honor/Bridesmaid, which totally gives it a different tone than expected. You feel trapped in an emotional rollercoaster rather than a comedy. So,This movie is totally mistitled and misleading. It should have been titled "The Bridesmaid" singular. There was no strong female clique as advertising would suggest. Nothing like "The Hangover" ensemble. No, this is a movie focused on the Maid of Honor/Bridesmaid, which totally gives it a different tone than expected. You feel trapped in an emotional rollercoaster rather than a comedy. So, yeah, for a "Bridesmaids" movie, as it is, this movie was overall boring and long and only seldom humorous. And for a rated R movie, it should have had more suggestive/sexual content to be frank and hotter guys (and this is coming from a guy's perspective). Expand
  35. May 13, 2011
    0
    My god, that hour and a half dragged on and on and would not end. I was so happy when those end credits rolled and i ran ou the theater. Thankfully, i vowed NEVER to watch this movie again. If i see it in a 5 dollar bin, i'll BURN it. If i see a poster for it on eBay, i'll buy it and BURN it. Avoid this movie, go see Priest or Thor. Or Fast Five.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Jun 20, 2011
    80
    Finally, a female ensemble comedy that balances realistic characters with smart laughs and side-splitting farce. Not everything works, but there's more than enough here to keep you chuckling - not to mention baying for a sequel.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    May 16, 2011
    50
    It's essentially a skit idea, not a dramatic idea, and the best the movie does with it is to repeat it. What saves Bridesmaids is Feig's love of performers - in particular, his love of actresses.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 13, 2011
    63
    So what is Bridesmaids? A boozy wedding comedy? A touching character story? A paean to friendship? At turns, it's each -- making it a wedding movie with a commitment problem and giving Feig's scattered film a rudderless quality between the laugh lines.