Bridesmaids

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 466 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Annie's life is a mess. But when she finds out her lifetime best friend is engaged, she simply must serve as Lillian's maid of honor. Though lovelorn and broke, Annie bluffs her way through the expensive and bizarre rituals. With one chance to get it perfect, she'll show Lillian and herAnnie's life is a mess. But when she finds out her lifetime best friend is engaged, she simply must serve as Lillian's maid of honor. Though lovelorn and broke, Annie bluffs her way through the expensive and bizarre rituals. With one chance to get it perfect, she'll show Lillian and her bridesmaids just how far you'll go for someone you love. (Universal Pictures)

    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 12, 2011
    100
    A film of great hilarity, humanity, idiosyncrasy and grade-A, eyebrow-singeing raunch.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 11, 2011
    100
    She's an Everywoman you can believe in, showcased in the kind of deft comedy of feminine passion - where deep despair meets Wilson Phillips - that a great many people have been waiting for. Now that Wiig and company have built it, will they come?
  3. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    May 12, 2011
    89
    In an age of doggedly unambitious comedy, one marvels at the finesse these first-time screenwriters and director Feig bring to marrying raunch, romantic comedy, and the tested but ever-true bond between women.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    May 11, 2011
    75
    This is "Her Hangover," a smarter and sweeter stumble to the altar that never quite gets to Vegas, and doesn't seem to mind.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 12, 2011
    75
    Wiig has the natural beauty and self-deprecating expressiveness it takes to be a star comedienne; she spends much of Bridesmaids looking like a slightly girlier version of Lucinda Williams.
  6. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 12, 2011
    75
    Proving girls can get just as down and dirty as boys, the wedding comedy Bridesmaids contains some uproarious moments of gross-out humor.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 13, 2011
    38
    By the time two hours had dragged by, I felt a lot like I had sat through a five-hour wedding.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 144
  2. Negative: 27 out of 144
  1. May 15, 2011
    10
    I say, without a shadow of a doubt, that this was the funniest movie I've seen since 40 year-old virgin. It actually trumps The Hangover inI say, without a shadow of a doubt, that this was the funniest movie I've seen since 40 year-old virgin. It actually trumps The Hangover in sheer amounts of laugh-out-loud moments. For some people, the all-female cast is going to be enough to deter them from coming to the theater. These people are sexists, and more importantly, they're missing out. Comic genius Kristen Wiig is in top form here, as well as stellar supporting performances from Maya Rudolph and Melissa McCarthy. This is the best comedy of the last 5 years, with far more heart and hilarity than Hollywood's had to offer recently. Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    Funny, sweet and relate-able. Bridesmaids is the type of "good" comedy that rarely comes around every so often. It also sports a kick-assFunny, sweet and relate-able. Bridesmaids is the type of "good" comedy that rarely comes around every so often. It also sports a kick-ass performance by not only the whole cast but Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy in particular. 4/4 stars Expand
  3. May 13, 2011
    10
    This is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promisingThis is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promising comedies arriving this year, but this was a blast! It is very hard for me to find something I didn't enjoy about this movie. The performances were brilliant and the dialog was clever and witty! Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    If you're looking for a comedy that will make you cry laughing, run to the theaters and see this now. "Bridesmaids" is hysterically funny fromIf you're looking for a comedy that will make you cry laughing, run to the theaters and see this now. "Bridesmaids" is hysterically funny from beginning to end. Better yet, it doesn't just rely on gross out gags for entertainment. Screenwriters Kristen Wiig (who also stars) and Annie Mumolo also manage to create complex characters, and they provide fresh insight into the meaning of friendship and true love. I especially loved the development of Melissa McCarthy's character. Here's a character that could have been the stereotypical fat girl, but instead she's treated as a real person, and ends up being one of the emotional anchors of the film. A lot of people have been calling this the female Hangover, and I don't really see much of a comparison. The stories are completely different. Yes, they both center around wedding parties, but "The Hangover" was much more of an ensemble piece while this one centers around Kristen Wiig's character trying to find herself. There are a few moments where "Bridesmaids" tries in vain to keep you laughing, but for the most part, it is one hilarious ride filled with gags that everyone can relate to. Guys, this is not a chick flick for only females. You will laugh just as much here as you did in "The Hangover," if not more. This is a comedy that everyone should enjoy. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Beautiful and funny story of friendship ... I laughed a lot, mmmmm I have nothing more to say that Melissa McCarthy was incredible as the restBeautiful and funny story of friendship ... I laughed a lot, mmmmm I have nothing more to say that Melissa McCarthy was incredible as the rest of the cast ... recommended Expand
  6. May 30, 2011
    5
    Whether you're going for thoughtful comedy or all-out comedy, you gotta keep the laughs comin' man. I walked in thinking that a Kristen WiigWhether you're going for thoughtful comedy or all-out comedy, you gotta keep the laughs comin' man. I walked in thinking that a Kristen Wiig penned script would deliver, but really it just slugged along. I wanted the laughs to come out quick and relentless like diarrhea (see BRIDESMAIDS), but it just came out slow, awkward and not enough (see, um BRIDESMAIDS). It's a dramedy - You really gotta know your **** to pull off one of those turds. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2014
    0
    The stupidest movie ever! I watched it because of Melissa McCartney but even she looks horrible and her character is flat and stupid nobody,The stupidest movie ever! I watched it because of Melissa McCartney but even she looks horrible and her character is flat and stupid nobody, NOT a role for this talented actress! You can guess the end of the storey from the beginning. The dialogues are soooo primitive. Not funny at all! What a shame! Expand

See all 144 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  2. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).