Bridesmaids

Bridesmaids Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 485 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Annie's life is a mess. But when she finds out her lifetime best friend is engaged, she simply must serve as Lillian's maid of honor. Though lovelorn and broke, Annie bluffs her way through the expensive and bizarre rituals. With one chance to get it perfect, she'll show Lillian and herAnnie's life is a mess. But when she finds out her lifetime best friend is engaged, she simply must serve as Lillian's maid of honor. Though lovelorn and broke, Annie bluffs her way through the expensive and bizarre rituals. With one chance to get it perfect, she'll show Lillian and her bridesmaids just how far you'll go for someone you love. (Universal Pictures)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 12, 2011
    100
    A film of great hilarity, humanity, idiosyncrasy and grade-A, eyebrow-singeing raunch.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 11, 2011
    100
    She's an Everywoman you can believe in, showcased in the kind of deft comedy of feminine passion - where deep despair meets Wilson Phillips - that a great many people have been waiting for. Now that Wiig and company have built it, will they come?
  3. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    May 12, 2011
    89
    In an age of doggedly unambitious comedy, one marvels at the finesse these first-time screenwriters and director Feig bring to marrying raunch, romantic comedy, and the tested but ever-true bond between women.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    May 11, 2011
    75
    This is "Her Hangover," a smarter and sweeter stumble to the altar that never quite gets to Vegas, and doesn't seem to mind.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 12, 2011
    75
    Wiig has the natural beauty and self-deprecating expressiveness it takes to be a star comedienne; she spends much of Bridesmaids looking like a slightly girlier version of Lucinda Williams.
  6. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 12, 2011
    75
    Proving girls can get just as down and dirty as boys, the wedding comedy Bridesmaids contains some uproarious moments of gross-out humor.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 13, 2011
    38
    By the time two hours had dragged by, I felt a lot like I had sat through a five-hour wedding.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 147
  1. May 13, 2011
    10
    This is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promisingThis is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promising comedies arriving this year, but this was a blast! It is very hard for me to find something I didn't enjoy about this movie. The performances were brilliant and the dialog was clever and witty! Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    It's funny. It really is. There are a few slow points in the movie, but nothing that should keep it from getting below a "C". Annie is theIt's funny. It really is. There are a few slow points in the movie, but nothing that should keep it from getting below a "C". Annie is the main star, played by Kristen Wiig. The best scenes are worth the wait. The dress fitting, the luncheon, and the airplane scene are well worth the wait. It's a cute movie, with lots of laughs and has heart when she finally finds a guy who is nice to her. It is the guy version of the Hangover, but don't expect ridiculous proportions. Cute movie, and perfect for a Girl's night in. I'm 15, and I found this to be so funny. Don't pay attention to the "R" sign, at this age, we see sex all the time. Sometimes they say **** a lot but it's for comedic effect. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    As producer Judd Apatow has said, Bridesmaids doesn't really break any new ground, a popular and crowd-pleasing genre in the form ofAs producer Judd Apatow has said, Bridesmaids doesn't really break any new ground, a popular and crowd-pleasing genre in the form of weddings, but the difference here is the believability of it all, the crudeness, ridiculousness and competition, how one girl getting married affects her best friend, who struggles with what she perceives to be a mediocre life compared to her lucky friend. Kristen Wiig writes and stars in this witty comedy as Annie, a former bakery owner who soldiers on in a jewellery store she doesn't enjoy and an apartment she shares with two eccentric individuals.
    Her friend Lillian (Maya Rudolph) is the lucky bride to be, the two have known each other for a very long time, but weighing in on the friendship is the rich and beautiful Helen (Rose Byrne), who attempts to take control of proceedings away from Annie, besting her at every turn with her fortune and looks, while Annie struggles with her own life financially as the bridesmaids begin to suit up for the wedding. We are also introduced to a kind-hearted policeman called Rhodes (Chris O'Dowd) who remembers Annie from the bakery she use to own, and he begins attempting to turn her back to baking again.
    But one cannot write a Bridesmaids review without mentioning Melissa McCarthy, who undoubtedly delivers some of the crudest but funniest parts of the film, her confidence, unwomanly attitude yet surprising occupation complete a very interesting and comical character. She isn't put into the stereotypical "large woman" woman role where the rest of the cast pokes fun, but her personal quips about herself will have you laughing and repeating them after the film ends. Several moments throughout the film stand out, but a particular dress fitting that ends rather differently than usual is one of the shining moments of the film, but what we also get is memorable characters, ones who may not appear onscreen as much as others but still have plenty of tricks up their sleeves, a character-driven comedy is hard to see in the current age of slapstick and sight gags, but we see relationships break and remake throughout the film. It has a fun time but also gives us a message of sticking to it no matter what might happen.
    There is plenty to like about Bridesmaids, it has a witty and realistic setting of a script and gives the women a chance to have their own party, and what a party it turns out to be.
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    This movie turns out to be one of the years greatest surprises. This is not just about the script and delivery that makes you laugh but it canThis movie turns out to be one of the years greatest surprises. This is not just about the script and delivery that makes you laugh but it can as well offer a good emotional transference to it's viewers. If my girl friends will see this... they might just keep a tissue on their hands--tears for the laughs and hurts. movienotesbook.blogspot.com Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Beautiful and funny story of friendship ... I laughed a lot, mmmmm I have nothing more to say that Melissa McCarthy was incredible as the restBeautiful and funny story of friendship ... I laughed a lot, mmmmm I have nothing more to say that Melissa McCarthy was incredible as the rest of the cast ... recommended Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2015
    5
    Bottom line: Between laughing and exhaling heavily out of one’s nose, Bridesmaids made me do the latter; it has its moments it wasn’tBottom line: Between laughing and exhaling heavily out of one’s nose, Bridesmaids made me do the latter; it has its moments it wasn’t consistent enough to quench my thirst for comedy though it does have some interesting commentary about marriage.

    I had heard great things about Bridesmaids. After all, it was nominated for best supporting actress and best original screenplay. I expected it to be something of a female based Hangover (which I found surprisingly funny). I tried not to get my hopes up but I did and what I found was a disappointing movie that made me want to watch something else (later re-watched Meet the Parents). I don’t think my hopes were too high though.

    The movie opens with a comedic sex scene with Annie Walker (Wiig) and her friend (read: attractive jerk that doesn’t want more than sex). It’s funny to see his enthusiasm compared to her obvious dissatisfaction. It isn’t a new joke but it got a chuckle out of me.

    The next morning, after the guy tells her to leave, she meets with her best friend, Lillian (Rudolph). “Why are you seeing him…at all…ever,” the friend asks. “I shouldn’t but he is so cute,” Annie replies. She is at that stage where she wants to feel bad about herself and, shortly thereafter, we learn about why. She opened a bakery with her previous boyfriend. It failed, he left, she lost all of her money and now she works at a jewelry store. She has given up on men and baking. Her friend Lillian is with a guy who has been “kinda distant recently”. A couple days go by and Lillian tells us that she is engaged to that guy; he felt distant because he was nervous.

    Marriage isn’t painted as the most positive institution so, perhaps, we are supposed to feel a little awkward by the sudden engagement. Lillian’s tone about the guy was such that I thought it was more of a fling than a long term relationship. As we meet more of Lillian’s friends, we see how they are put in rather depressing positions. Rita (McLendon-Covey) “can’t watch the Daily Show without being entered,” while Becca’s (Kemper) love life is passionless. So often it’s the case we hear men complaining that marriage means the end of sex. It is refreshing to hear a woman’s perspective on marriage. By the end of the movie, I didn’t know how to feel about Lillian's over-the-top wedding. Maybe the laser show is mocking the place marriage has in our society today. Is it a perfect wedding when you have puppies as partying gifts or when you have a giant cookie cake that no one will eat? Bridesmaids positions marriage such that women are forced into it for security and validation. None of the women, for example, (aside from the single Megan) are professionals so they need financial support. Society also puts pressure on them; Annie is treated like a loser because she is in her thirties and unmarried. Now, in terms of comedy, I was unsatisfied by Bridesmaids and I feel like it was in part because I had trouble connecting with Annie.

    To put it plainly, I didn’t like her. She is whiny and all of her problems were her own doing and felt that she lacked the determination to get herself out of her circumstances. Consider Bridget Jones’ Diary as a point of comparison. Bridget is a single, thirty-two year old woman who struggles with work and relationships. One of the reasons I like Bridget, as a character, is that she has a consistent underlying strength. In the beginning of the movie she says, “I suddenly realized that, unless something changed soon, I was going to live a life where my major relationship was with a bottle of wine...and that I would die fat and alone and be found three weeks later half-eaten by a pack of wild dogs.” She realizes that something is wrong and decides to change it somehow. Annie, oppositely, complains about how her business failed and blames it on the recession but doesn't try to do something else. She is a talented baker but does she use her talent? No, she screams and yells and ruins situations. She submits to her position at the crumby jewelers all the while displacing her frustration on her customers. One reason that may explain why Bridget Jones is more successful is that we hear her thoughts. Unlike with Annie, we are in a privileged position which helps explain how Bridget functions.

    The jokes in Bridget Jones’ Diary are positive despite have a rather depressing subject matter (because they are often about how alone Bridget is) while, in Bridesmaids, everything is so bitter. Don’t get me wrong, bitter cynicism can be a lot of fun but not if I can’t relate. How can I commiserate if I am not brought into their position too? The high points of the movie come with Megan (McCarthy). She is strong and funny and speaks plainly. She doesn’t get involved with any of the conflicts in the movie so it seems like she is a character who is disconnected from the movie. She can speak along with the audience.

    Overall, I was not satisfied by Bridesmaids.
    Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2014
    0
    It is astonishing to think that this piece of shallow silliness got two Oscar nominations. However, it works very well as an indicator of theIt is astonishing to think that this piece of shallow silliness got two Oscar nominations. However, it works very well as an indicator of the sorry state of contemporary society. The story revolves around Annie Walker, a most annoying woman who would be a perfect character for a cheap sitcom.

    Annie alleged best friend Lillian is getting married and that horrendously stressing event that is an American wedding must be organized. Countless chick flicks have been there, only to underline how the true meaning of getting married and any shred of happiness are lost in the process of having so much “organized” fun.

    Produced by Apatow and co-written by Kristen Wiig, who is also starring – and appearing in every scene - as main character Annie Walker. If you know a bit about movies, this can explain why it is so bad. Apatow is the king of crass, vulgar, unfunny comedies. Wiig wanted to make clear she is the star. Unfortunately, like most female comedians, she seems to think that the only way to make women “funny” is to degrade them. Surely they get plenty of humiliations in this movie, but this does not make the movie funny in any way.
    Expand

See all 147 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  2. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.