User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1243 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Ang Lee's story on two gay loving cowboys is just a complete waste of my time. I never thought that after lee's blockbuster bust, "Hulk" that he would create something completely worse. Sadly he does. First off, the story is just ridiculous. A lot of the movie is just sex, which had plenty of scenes that i've never want to see ever again. The acting may be decent, but when you put theseAng Lee's story on two gay loving cowboys is just a complete waste of my time. I never thought that after lee's blockbuster bust, "Hulk" that he would create something completely worse. Sadly he does. First off, the story is just ridiculous. A lot of the movie is just sex, which had plenty of scenes that i've never want to see ever again. The acting may be decent, but when you put these characters in a story like this, it just doesn't work. Plain and Simple. Honestly, I think Lee can do much better than this crap. He somewhat did that with "Life of Pi", but I'm still waiting for that one movie of his that'll hopefully redeem him as one of the greatest directors of our time. But right now, this what we're stuck with. Overall, this movie is a terrible storyline to go off of. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2014
    2
    Incredibly dull movie about gay cowboys, that probably wouldn't get any popularity, if it wasn't about homosexuals. I'm not any sort of homophobe, but giving a boring movie, without any plot twists, deeper meaning or action high grade, just because it tells a story about gays is plain riddiculous.

    Avoid it like plague, unless you are deeply involved in some sort of LGBT movement or you
    Incredibly dull movie about gay cowboys, that probably wouldn't get any popularity, if it wasn't about homosexuals. I'm not any sort of homophobe, but giving a boring movie, without any plot twists, deeper meaning or action high grade, just because it tells a story about gays is plain riddiculous.

    Avoid it like plague, unless you are deeply involved in some sort of LGBT movement or you can't sleep at night and need something to help you achive that state.
    Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    0
    GROSSSSS NASTY dont watch this there is no such thing as gay cowboys
  4. Aug 15, 2011
    2
    A boring "love story" about two gay men that only want to have sex. Basically, this movie is a non-explicit pornography. I don't understand all the hype.
  5. carpediem
    Dec 14, 2008
    2
    As a gay man with gay friends... none of us felt this was a realistic depiction of the way it happens. This movie is a tragedy (in the Romeo and Juliet sense) that could have had power, but failed because of it's completely non-believable depiction of how the relationship formed. If anyone thinks Ang Lee may be homosexual... I would have to say he can't be. Not if he directs a As a gay man with gay friends... none of us felt this was a realistic depiction of the way it happens. This movie is a tragedy (in the Romeo and Juliet sense) that could have had power, but failed because of it's completely non-believable depiction of how the relationship formed. If anyone thinks Ang Lee may be homosexual... I would have to say he can't be. Not if he directs a movie with such an unrealistic development of a gay relationship. Expand
  6. HCarter
    Jan 30, 2006
    0
    Gay cowboys are far from my idea of an American love story. Only another attempt of Hollywood to stuff the gay lifestyle down our throats. (no pun intended) As much as they would like to think this is the norm, it is not, and it is not acceptable.
  7. Lew
    Dec 20, 2005
    2
    Sick and twisted. If you are a heterosexual male, save your money for anything else.
  8. OscarL.
    Feb 1, 2006
    1
    Teh first half of the movie is a Marlboro commercial. I was expecting the "Come to where the flavor is" voice. The second half is a failed gay compassion provoking video. We all know to be gay is ok, it is something normal to love. So, another love soap opera with a west side cowboys scenario was uneccessary.
  9. Shaun
    Apr 6, 2006
    3
    I'm sure the book is good. However, this is one truly boring and terrible movie. The plot is thin and incredibly unexplained, and no I'm not talking about the ending because I GOT IT, but the fact that the men could have wives and children and still be in love with each other could have used much more explanation. I don't know why people don't question that. I I'm sure the book is good. However, this is one truly boring and terrible movie. The plot is thin and incredibly unexplained, and no I'm not talking about the ending because I GOT IT, but the fact that the men could have wives and children and still be in love with each other could have used much more explanation. I don't know why people don't question that. I understand how it is, but it saddens me, as a gay man, to have this garbage strewn onto the public without any explanation. The cinematography is good, the acting is good, the story is terrible, and it is very very very boring. I know slower moving movies that kept me more entertained that this garbage. I can't believe people think this is 'artful'. It wouldn't take very much for me to come up with a better screenplay involving the forbidden love of two men - making it more interesting, more developed, and could probably even add a twist ending to it. But alas, this is what we get. And it gets all of it's good reviews just because conservative America isn't used to contemporary life. Shame. Expand
  10. joej.
    Apr 6, 2006
    1
    If u like watching 2 guys in a movie get it on i do recammend this.not 2 mention it starts out very slow.
  11. JimH.
    Dec 10, 2005
    0
    One of the most overated movies of the year.
  12. LomaxH.
    Dec 9, 2005
    0
    Will no one criticize this trite, overacted, and, most importantly, overrated tribute to America's continued love affair with celebrity directors, handsome actors, and subject matter that deems a film above reproach? I guess not. Get in line, the are a couple of spots on Ang Lee's butt that have not been kissed.
  13. Mary
    Jan 29, 2006
    2
    Way overrated. A minimalist movie missing a script and emotional depth. Should not be in the running for awards. Can't really see why so many critics thought it was terrific. But then again critcs liked Lost in Translation too.
  14. Shannon
    Jan 31, 2006
    1
    This movie was so boring. The characters had no depth, and they hardly spoke!
  15. DavidS.
    Jan 30, 2006
    4
    An overcontrived love movie. Honestly, politics aside, it's just a love story but with a guy instead of a gal. Rated so high out of fear that they'll be accused of being a homophobe. Really, nothing special here.
  16. jonno
    Jan 3, 2006
    3
    Yawn! Why is being gay still such a big deal? Who cares? and why does anyone who disagrees with the content of this movie or questions the endless obession with gay themes in hollywood and TV get labelled as homophobic? Boring movie anyway but is the usual sentimental crap that gets oscars. Desite that solid acting from the two leads.
  17. KarenS.
    Jan 30, 2006
    1
    This movie was boring and way too long. I expected something much better.
  18. ShgreK.
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    Another attempt by the 'liberal intelectuals' and 'I- am-proud-to-be-morally-neutral' film-makers to impose upon society in a cunning and subtle way the concept of gay 'love' as perfectly normal.
  19. C.Chavers
    Jan 7, 2006
    3
    This film is a huge disappointment from many levels. the most noticeable part of the film is it's drawn out length. this film could have been done in 15 minutes instead of 2 hours and 30 minutes. the themes are so overdone in gay literature and film and this not only gives straight people an inadequate perception of gay people but it also works to give gay people a distorted andThis film is a huge disappointment from many levels. the most noticeable part of the film is it's drawn out length. this film could have been done in 15 minutes instead of 2 hours and 30 minutes. the themes are so overdone in gay literature and film and this not only gives straight people an inadequate perception of gay people but it also works to give gay people a distorted and dismal perspective of themselves. for example, why are all gay relationships tragic and end in death??? why is this theme so repeated and overdone. all gay relationships do not end this way but sure, in the literature and this film totally colors within these lines. this film if anything gives the message to not be gay or you will be murdered or end up in a dead end relationship that can't work. (thx matthew shephard rip off storyline) . there is nothing inspirational or motivating about this film. as a gay man this film leaves me with a huge feeling of disgust at the overused and offensive stereotypes (while the limp wrist lisping type is totally avoided, you still have closeted tragic love and a relationship based on carnal proximity and no spiritual or real communication oriented committments) this is a horrible film overall. 3 points just because it's gay themed and "hollywood" everything else that basically matters in this film is absent and it's found lacking. Expand
  20. Bill
    Feb 12, 2006
    0
    Yet another of Hollywood's attempts to indoctrinate immorality into the common culture and pretend that homosexuality is normal. The idea of co-mingling with a sweaty cowboy with a saddle chapped behind after a long day's work somehow isn't appealing. Gives new credence to Willie Nelson's song "Mama, don't let your children grow up to be fag cowboys"
  21. KrisS.
    Feb 22, 2006
    0
    This movie is absurdly sick. The very moral fiber of our country is deteriorating. I grew up ranching and, trust me, any real self respecting cowboy would not appreciate this. Homosexuality is not part of being a cowboy and has no place in a western movie. Get real people, wake up! You're being misguided by Hollywood and don't even realize it.
  22. EricS.
    Feb 25, 2006
    2
    [***SPOILER***] Under normal circumstances, I would say this movie is OK. Given the hype, critical acclaim, and the numerous award nominations, I have to say this film is a fraud. Don't believe the hype. The cinematography is good and that's about it. Given that this story is about two men and given the length of the film, I was surprised that the primary characters are not even [***SPOILER***] Under normal circumstances, I would say this movie is OK. Given the hype, critical acclaim, and the numerous award nominations, I have to say this film is a fraud. Don't believe the hype. The cinematography is good and that's about it. Given that this story is about two men and given the length of the film, I was surprised that the primary characters are not even well-developed. When one dies, you don't even care b/c there's no heartfelt interest in him. Heath Ledger as best actor??? I couldn't believe how bad he was, unless you think talking without moving your lips is difficult. I had to stop myself from laughing out loud at his acting during one dramatic, emotional scene. I could not wait for this movie to be over ... it is soooo boring. After seeing the movie, I do believe a few that I've heard opine that this film's critical success is due to a liberal political agenda. That's the only thing that makes sense, b/c it's not that good. OK at best. Expand
  23. Phil
    Mar 15, 2006
    0
    THE WORST movie I have ever witnessed. I let a ladyfriend talk me into watching it with her(things we do for love). Not that I am homophobic, but the movie had no redeeming characters, just endless minutes of the misery broughjt on by one summer at brokeback mountain. Watching 2 men destroy their own lives as well as the lives of their familys isn't enteraining in the least, and by THE WORST movie I have ever witnessed. I let a ladyfriend talk me into watching it with her(things we do for love). Not that I am homophobic, but the movie had no redeeming characters, just endless minutes of the misery broughjt on by one summer at brokeback mountain. Watching 2 men destroy their own lives as well as the lives of their familys isn't enteraining in the least, and by the end of the movie I could understand either of them becoming suicidal, I know I was by the time it was over. The only redeeming quaulity was that you were so thankful when it was over. Expand
  24. FraserWalker
    Mar 26, 2006
    0
    What was that piece of garbage the only thing that comes to my head is "gay cowboys" looks like a plot taken out of a South Park episode the only reason it got good reviews is because people like seeing gay guys get beatin to death and thats the only reason. i'm not gay or anything but c'mon people that has to be one of the supidist films i've ever seen i think they shouldWhat was that piece of garbage the only thing that comes to my head is "gay cowboys" looks like a plot taken out of a South Park episode the only reason it got good reviews is because people like seeing gay guys get beatin to death and thats the only reason. i'm not gay or anything but c'mon people that has to be one of the supidist films i've ever seen i think they should re-phrase the title for a better warning "Bend over Mountain Expand
  25. RebeccaH.
    Mar 3, 2006
    3
    Other than the acting, this movie has no appeal. The story is of two immature men who fall in love, but not to the point where they would have cared to do much about it. Sure they met up quite a few times, but I can't get beyond how pathetic they seemed with being completely unable to give themselves to one another while breaking the hearts and shattering the lives of the women who Other than the acting, this movie has no appeal. The story is of two immature men who fall in love, but not to the point where they would have cared to do much about it. Sure they met up quite a few times, but I can't get beyond how pathetic they seemed with being completely unable to give themselves to one another while breaking the hearts and shattering the lives of the women who they pretended to care about. The only emotions I felt during the entire movie were for Michelle Williams' character. Expand
  26. SophieS.
    Mar 4, 2006
    1
    Hopelessly melodramatic. If this had been a film about a man and a woman, the critics would not be "emotionally affected" by the heartbreaking story of two people in love- they would be condemning the selfish nature of their affair and the impact this would have on their families (wives/husbands and children). Because this has gay characters (and played by two straight actors i might Hopelessly melodramatic. If this had been a film about a man and a woman, the critics would not be "emotionally affected" by the heartbreaking story of two people in love- they would be condemning the selfish nature of their affair and the impact this would have on their families (wives/husbands and children). Because this has gay characters (and played by two straight actors i might add...since when were REAL gay actors unemployable in Hollywood???) all of a sudden it's a masterpiece. For heaven's sake let's all get a grip! Not once has anyone stopped to think of the emotional pain and hurt inflicted on those wives in this film..that's the most reprehensible thing about it. The film focuses on the cowboys' love and ignores the pain, betrayal and grotesque selfishness exemlpified by the two leading guys on thier wives and children. Grotesque. Horrible. Awful. Since when was infidelity, cheating and betrayal noteworthy? Everyone makes choices...all this film showed was that these two guys were not MAN enough to make their choices and live by them. Their guilt and depression are clearly attributed to their pathetic sense of themselves. NO sympathy for those characters...only the women who yet again...seem to have been left by the wayside. It looks like soon homosexual rights will outdo womens' rights. What a sham. Expand
  27. MylesPeralta
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    for god's sakes. Why does anyone care about this movie? Its about two cowboys who are like "this town ain't big enough for the both of us; so lets go into the mountains and have sex!" just because Heath Ledger and Jake Gillenhal wanna become boofers, doesnt mean its an academy award winner! seriously...
  28. JonD.
    Mar 9, 2006
    2
    This is one of those Love or HATE movies... its a love story, not a bad plot because its almost the same story as all love stories except one thing. It was about gay men in the west. Also too long and too boring for people that like to go to the movies to be entertained or amazed.
  29. C.M.
    Apr 10, 2006
    2
    2 given for scenery only. Slow and very boring. Two men fall in love, get married, home with their families, then get together then home with their families, then get together on and on. This movies wasn't about homosexuality, it was about bi-sexuality. Pet peev... Why is that minority groups continue to group themselves, segregate themselves and then make the claim that they are 2 given for scenery only. Slow and very boring. Two men fall in love, get married, home with their families, then get together then home with their families, then get together on and on. This movies wasn't about homosexuality, it was about bi-sexuality. Pet peev... Why is that minority groups continue to group themselves, segregate themselves and then make the claim that they are ostracized from the rest of society. I agree live and let live, love and let love but I have to ask by what rating system or standard did this this movie received such great reviews. My concern, the way this movie was done could cause more harm than good to the group of people it was supposed to represent. There are more effective ways to be heard. Expand
  30. BobS.
    Apr 18, 2006
    1
    this movie is a horrible example of a movie. The actors in this moive should be ashamed. I am disapointed. I want my money back.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 50
    Takes great pains to be a compassionate love story; but the filmmaking itself, self-consciously restrained and desiccated, is inert and inexpressive.
  2. 75
    Isn't for everyone, but for those who are not bothered by the homosexual relationship, it offers a study in yearning, love, and loss. It didn't affect me as deeply as either "The Bridges of Madison County" or "The Remains of the Day," but it evokes some of the same feelings.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There's neither coyness nor self-importance in Brokeback Mountain--just close, compassionate observation, deeply committed performances, a bone-deep feeling for hardscrabble Western lives. Few films have captured so acutely the desolation of frustrated, repressed passion.