User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1243 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveM.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Amazing, sensitive.
  2. KevinF.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    The movie haunts you afterwards. Achingly beautiful. It left me unfulfilled but in a good way. If that makes sense. It is a wonderful adaptation of a simple but powerful story. You don't have to like these characters but hopefully you have enough humanity to understand them.
  3. AndrewR.
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Some (though not all) of the criticism I have read of this film serve as a startling reminder that ignorance, prejudice and hatred are still out there (which, in a way, only further justifies the point of this film). In 2006 there are still people who would exclaim, "This movie is sick! Why do most movies in this day and age have to be about homosexuality? Is nothing sacred anymore? Some (though not all) of the criticism I have read of this film serve as a startling reminder that ignorance, prejudice and hatred are still out there (which, in a way, only further justifies the point of this film). In 2006 there are still people who would exclaim, "This movie is sick! Why do most movies in this day and age have to be about homosexuality? Is nothing sacred anymore? What's next lesbian nuns?" Or, "Sick and twisted. If you are a heterosexual male, save your money for anything else." Only the inherent cliches and ignorance inherent in those opinions ensures they are not to be taken too seriously. It's sad. But it does something else: it reminds me that, whilst we may rightly proclaim the universality of this story and how accessible it is to everyone, it IS still an important film for gay people at this time in history. I found Brokeback Mountain to be a starkly frightening film in it's intelligence about the dangerous contexts (always implicit, nothing more is needed) in which such love would have existed. It leaves the viewer with so much to think about. all in the details and inferences, which will make it worth seeing again. In it's profound belief in the universality and power of love, though, it is also uplifting and extraordinary. I don't think the film is about something to applaud so much as it is about something worth believing in and worth fighting for. Expand
  4. Brianne
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Fantastic-- strong, meaningful and so real. Perfect movie.
  5. TomS.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    This movie left me deeply despressed and I awoke early this morning thinking about it. I can not pin point all the ways it disturbed my until then contented love and life. I am not sure my love for mate is strong enough, I am not sure I can handle aging and the loss of romantic, passion filled love as it seems to ebb away over time. I have few of the obstacles these men faced in living my This movie left me deeply despressed and I awoke early this morning thinking about it. I can not pin point all the ways it disturbed my until then contented love and life. I am not sure my love for mate is strong enough, I am not sure I can handle aging and the loss of romantic, passion filled love as it seems to ebb away over time. I have few of the obstacles these men faced in living my love, but their tragedy somehow upset the hold I felt I had on my relationship and life. I hope this leaks away soon and I hope in time I figure out is how and why it made me feel this way. Expand
  6. EstelleG.
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    This film was a real eye opener, and timely, as humanity seeks to evolve and find our centre. This movie was all encompassing, surpassing what some may see as the main theme - gay love . It brought home the realisation that life is so short, that we do not stand in judgment of each other and that love in its purest form does not discriminate.
  7. SamZ.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I think the movie although it was some gay cowboys is like the story Romeo and Juliet but guy to guy version I loved it.
  8. romanm
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    This movie has dug so far into my soul and touched me so deep that its haunting effect may never go away. never has a movie made me take a long look in the mirror at myself, the life i've led, wanted to lead, what i've had to let go and why., what and who fills my heart with unimaginable joy and how sometimes that joy has been turned into unimaginable sorrow. this film has taken This movie has dug so far into my soul and touched me so deep that its haunting effect may never go away. never has a movie made me take a long look in the mirror at myself, the life i've led, wanted to lead, what i've had to let go and why., what and who fills my heart with unimaginable joy and how sometimes that joy has been turned into unimaginable sorrow. this film has taken me to places that terrify me and leave me speechless while at the same time makes me realize what a precious gift i have been given....the ability to give and receive love in all its graces and hearrtbreaks. i will never take that gift f or it sunkown outcome for granted.but pursue it and be thankful i was allowed the journey. Expand
  9. MattP.
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    An epic love story. Not a 'gay cowboy film". They aren't even cowboys. I cried, I laughed(a lot suprising), and I felt a connection to each and every character. BEST movie of the year. Hands down.
  10. JamesH.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    this is one of the best films i have ever seen. it is breathtaking leaving in shock and pain of the conclusion. everyone in it are amazing with no sub-standard performance and it should get best film at the oscars. it has broken the mold with the desperately sad story set with some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. a story about the bleakest and upsetting love that just this is one of the best films i have ever seen. it is breathtaking leaving in shock and pain of the conclusion. everyone in it are amazing with no sub-standard performance and it should get best film at the oscars. it has broken the mold with the desperately sad story set with some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. a story about the bleakest and upsetting love that just happens to be two men. Expand
  11. RobertM.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I was totally moved by this movie - it slowly builds, and Wham! - all of the "could have", "should have", "what if's" of your life surface. I must see this movie again.
  12. Doug
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    There are no words to really express my love for this film and the lives of its characters. I hold them all in my heart and lovingly do so. Ang Lee is a true master and the film is as brilliant as it is breathtaking. The script is pared down perfection and the performances are carried out with nuanced subtlety. Ennis and Jack come together to tell their story with such precision and There are no words to really express my love for this film and the lives of its characters. I hold them all in my heart and lovingly do so. Ang Lee is a true master and the film is as brilliant as it is breathtaking. The script is pared down perfection and the performances are carried out with nuanced subtlety. Ennis and Jack come together to tell their story with such precision and perfection that I am almost moved to tears as I write this. Heath Ledger embodies Ennis in a way that lets us feel the vibration of his soul in every heartbeat, his and ours. And Jake Gyllenhal as Jack embodies the hope and enduring spirit of every peson who dares to really be true to himself in tehe world. The movie haunts me not because of it's tragic theme but because of Jack and Ennis's love and the exquisite way Ledger and Gyllenhal bring it to us. I treasure this film and I predict it will become one of the great films of the 21st century. Expand
  13. MarkR.
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    Only 3 films in my life have effected me so deeply. First The Sound of Music, next Cabaret, and now Brokeback Mountain.
  14. PhilG.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This movie is a full-bodied love story of two people. It shows how both of them have been torn from each other due to society's pull, and every moment is captured in the eyes of the two men. It shows how much pain each of them go through with each passing year and the undeniable fire betwixt, keeping them together. This movie is a far cry from pornography and a rich jubilation of a This movie is a full-bodied love story of two people. It shows how both of them have been torn from each other due to society's pull, and every moment is captured in the eyes of the two men. It shows how much pain each of them go through with each passing year and the undeniable fire betwixt, keeping them together. This movie is a far cry from pornography and a rich jubilation of a love story; it is definitely worth seeing multiple times. Expand
  15. Katriel
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie. It was so close to the story, and kept the audience very involved.
  16. ThomasE.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Virtually a perfect movie.
  17. MeganH.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I LOVED this movie. I thought it showed the lifestyles of some men because of the world today. Hopefully it will open people's minds.
  18. Lynn
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Very sad but very good.
  19. AlanA.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    An amazing film. This one is worthy of Oscars on all fronts: actors, cinematography, director, screenwriting, music, and more. And way overdue. The far right is just gonna have to get used to it.
  20. CliffO.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    This is the best portrayal ever of life in small western towns. Undoubtedly the gay relationship between the two cowboys is much more common than country people like to admit. This movie will be enoyed by all people, gay or straight, who have still have a heart and can feel for the sadness and frustration felt by these guys. Also: great settings: the natural beauty of western mountains This is the best portrayal ever of life in small western towns. Undoubtedly the gay relationship between the two cowboys is much more common than country people like to admit. This movie will be enoyed by all people, gay or straight, who have still have a heart and can feel for the sadness and frustration felt by these guys. Also: great settings: the natural beauty of western mountains and rivers. Expand
  21. Dave
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    Incredible movie. The end hit me like a punch that knocks the wind out of you. I'm very open minded and have many gay friends, but was still a bit nervous about seeing this movie. If you love good film and are still haven't seen this movie, see it! The romantic scenes are very tastefully done and well acted. After a while you practically forget this movie is about two guysIncredible movie. The end hit me like a punch that knocks the wind out of you. I'm very open minded and have many gay friends, but was still a bit nervous about seeing this movie. If you love good film and are still haven't seen this movie, see it! The romantic scenes are very tastefully done and well acted. After a while you practically forget this movie is about two guys falling in love. Expand
  22. JenWP
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    A truly breathtaking masterpiece. Ledger's performance as the inarticulate and eternally stifled Ennis is definitely Oscar-worthy. Rodrigo Prieto's amazing cinematography combined with the haunting musical score by Gustavo Santaolalla make this a true feast for the senses.
  23. TimT.
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Very well written and preformed by all the actors involved. Would love to see the director turn the book The Front Runner by Patricia Warren into his next big screen movie. I enjoyed the book in 1974 and still do today. you go guys.
  24. Zack
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This movie touched me beyond words. I was barely able to make it out of the theatre and into my car without breaking down. I woke the next day, depressed and beyond tears. Brokeback Mountain had a profound effect on me and one that will not soon be forgotten. It has been over a week since I viewed the movie and not a day has gone by that it hasn't been in my thoughts. PLEASE go see This movie touched me beyond words. I was barely able to make it out of the theatre and into my car without breaking down. I woke the next day, depressed and beyond tears. Brokeback Mountain had a profound effect on me and one that will not soon be forgotten. It has been over a week since I viewed the movie and not a day has gone by that it hasn't been in my thoughts. PLEASE go see this movie. Unless you are a homophobe or a card carrying member of the religious right, you will love the movie and be extremely touched. Only homophobes and haters give this movie a 0. I see probably roughly 25 movies a year and it's the best and most touching movie I've seen in YEARS. Both male actors deserve every award that can be given to them for doing an excellent job in telling the story of Jack and Ennis. The last few minutes will take your breath away. I sat in my chair for 10 minutes after the film ended before I was able to go to my car. I am not an emotional guy....especially in public...and this is the first movie I've ever cried at. I cannot say enough good about this moive. I loved it and if you are a kind and open hearted person, you'll love it too. Expand
  25. AmandaR.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best, most moving movies EVER made. I can't stop thinking about it and how great the actors were in the movie. It was amazing. Go see it, you won't be sorry.
  26. José
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Very sad. As a gay man it's easy to relate to one of the two. Mine was Dennis... until I came out. And I was so happy then. Still, it's not fair to frame this movie within its sex tendencies. It's a great movie no matter what. It's a supreme cry to all those who waste golden chances that may never show up again. We have to grab love where we find it. It's one of Very sad. As a gay man it's easy to relate to one of the two. Mine was Dennis... until I came out. And I was so happy then. Still, it's not fair to frame this movie within its sex tendencies. It's a great movie no matter what. It's a supreme cry to all those who waste golden chances that may never show up again. We have to grab love where we find it. It's one of those movies that make you want to jump right inside and rescue the main character from his fatal lonely destiny. And like him, I swear, if I could do it, perhaps I would never jump out. Expand
  27. MoviegoerGeek
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    It didn't hit me in the guts the way "Bridges of Madison County" did , but that´s a whole another kind of story anyway.The "Marlboro postcards" are there to show us the surreal beauty of the place in question; somewhere you can always go back to, but what the heck, it's in your imagination! Concerning the slo pace, I think BM is character-driven, so the movie follows the It didn't hit me in the guts the way "Bridges of Madison County" did , but that´s a whole another kind of story anyway.The "Marlboro postcards" are there to show us the surreal beauty of the place in question; somewhere you can always go back to, but what the heck, it's in your imagination! Concerning the slo pace, I think BM is character-driven, so the movie follows the aching, dubious, incredulous and often contemplative mood of it's main protagonist: Ennis Del Mar. Gay Western my balls!! This movie is a lot about subtext. ANYONE can relate to: 1) Commiting or suffering iInfidelities 2) wealth differences in a relationship 3) mad, obsessive search for the impossible 4) dealing with the authority when you have everything to lose (remember Jack's father in law) 5) the slow descent into lowdown when your object of passion can't give you what you want 6) consequences of not being able to say what you feel (regret) 7) fear of the payback 8) fear of everything else and last, and more imposrtantly, OPPORTUNITIES LOST (regret again). Can you relate to some of this? BM hast it's little flaws (yes, it's a bit too long) and it's memorable, magical moments (when Ennis whispers n impossibly tender lullaby in Jack's ears your heart just breaks out of nowhere) This is a movie you just need to watch leaving all of your prejudices, labels and high expectations in the box office. Expand
  28. JoeA.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    If you liked 'Bridges of Madison County', you will like this movie. While similar in the basic premise of forbidden love vs. moral and 'right' committments, the subtext for Brokeback ends up being as much if not more powerful than the main story. And as an aside, you don't have to be gay to enjoy the movie (and I've heard it hasn't turned anyone gay . . If you liked 'Bridges of Madison County', you will like this movie. While similar in the basic premise of forbidden love vs. moral and 'right' committments, the subtext for Brokeback ends up being as much if not more powerful than the main story. And as an aside, you don't have to be gay to enjoy the movie (and I've heard it hasn't turned anyone gay . . . yet). So, if you're skipping out on this movie 'cause you've got an uncomfortable streak w/ the story, I suggest you get over it and check your homophobia at the ticket window; otherwise, you're gonna miss out on a captivating movie. My other half gets kind of uncomfortable seeing men together, but even she liked the movie. (and I'm still straight the last time I checked -- crossing my fingers). Expand
  29. YiZ.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    I think this movie is great. heath's such an actor and the contrast between wild open natural scene and stifling oppressive human society. you do need some guts to be different, even just to be yourself. it's a comfort for people like these two poor ones.
  30. ColinY.
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    How can I put in words my response to this film: superb, brilliant, terrifyingly true, sad, beautiful. I came out of the movie speechless and emotionally exhausted. The honest portrayal of all the characters is laudable, but Heath Ledger's performance throughout is truly staggering. In future years this film will come to be seen as one of the greatest of all time.
  31. TerryM
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    This film is shot so well, it actually transports the viewer to that period and location. The performances by Ledger and Gyllenhaal are so genuine for that generation in which the film is shot. However, this is a drama. It requires a mature audience. If you are looking for special effects or lots of laughs, this movie isn't for you. This film is an insight into the lives of twoThis film is shot so well, it actually transports the viewer to that period and location. The performances by Ledger and Gyllenhaal are so genuine for that generation in which the film is shot. However, this is a drama. It requires a mature audience. If you are looking for special effects or lots of laughs, this movie isn't for you. This film is an insight into the lives of two men that are coping with the demands of their society, their beliefs and their love for each other. I thought this movie had a very real feel to it. The end very sad. This is one of the most memorable movies I have ever seen. I would recomend it to almost anyone. Expand
  32. NicholasS.
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    Best film I've seen in at least 3 years. Superior performances, superb cinematography, excellent screen play! Repeat viewings on the big screen are definitely in order!
  33. BugaTraey
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    this movie is the best! it is not supposed to be about 2 gay ppl falling in love, yes they are gay but so what..they fell in love. they did leave their families behind but they needed to do it, if yoyu loved someone that much then you;d do it. this movie ois great!! the actors are fantastic and ang less is great as well!!!!!!!!!!!(L)
  34. Roger
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece of film. This one is going to be talked about for a hundred years.
  35. Jeff
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Ok, let us all get past that the movie was based on Gay Love, this was not a movie about how it affected the wives, I guess you would have to be either Gay or bisexual to truley understand why they could not give themselves fully to one another, and yes the movie did lack a certain passion, but as a breakthrough movie, it was not about cheating on their wife, come on, Love between a man Ok, let us all get past that the movie was based on Gay Love, this was not a movie about how it affected the wives, I guess you would have to be either Gay or bisexual to truley understand why they could not give themselves fully to one another, and yes the movie did lack a certain passion, but as a breakthrough movie, it was not about cheating on their wife, come on, Love between a man and a woman is different, you do not have to hise it, but in 1963 , do you really think they could of been together and lived a life with peace?, Now to the movie itself, Good acting, I even believed their Love, Truley can not compare to a man woman affair. Let us PLEASE get past that they were cheating on thier wife, in their hearts they were not cheating, they loved each other and in a different time and place, they would not of tried to get married and "Be Strieght", they would of just been together and not went on with a fake cover up life. OK, I am getting to emotional talking about it. Expand
  36. sinclairb.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    A touching and beautiful love story. A great film, one of the best movies in the last 30 years or so. I'll never understand the people who are saying terrible things about this masterpiece.
  37. SurjyaS.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Heard so much about this "gay cowboy" story- the great reviews, the worst reviews, the winning streak, the final disappointment....could not figure out who was right and who was wrong. But that was untill I saw it myself. And when I did, I was completely bowled over. The movie wrenched my heart out. Never before have I seen a movie which portrayed true love being found and lost in such a Heard so much about this "gay cowboy" story- the great reviews, the worst reviews, the winning streak, the final disappointment....could not figure out who was right and who was wrong. But that was untill I saw it myself. And when I did, I was completely bowled over. The movie wrenched my heart out. Never before have I seen a movie which portrayed true love being found and lost in such a masterly way. I have strong objections against the "gay cowboy" tag. It's not a story about gay people, it's a story about two people finding love where they least expected and they cannot do anything about it. In the final moments I found myself crying almost involuntarily. I would have given it a 100 out of 10 if it was possible to do so! Expand
  38. JenS.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    An excellent movie. Although many people who don't like it say that it could just as easily have been a man and a woman, this is not true. The movie, at least to me, was more about the sheer REPRESSION Ennis and Jack inflicted on themselves than even about their affair. [***SPOILERS***] It was about how they were having a relationship that was not socially acceptable at the time An excellent movie. Although many people who don't like it say that it could just as easily have been a man and a woman, this is not true. The movie, at least to me, was more about the sheer REPRESSION Ennis and Jack inflicted on themselves than even about their affair. [***SPOILERS***] It was about how they were having a relationship that was not socially acceptable at the time which eventually led to Jack's death- which is not cliche because it never gets old. Expand
  39. DanielD.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Extraordinary movie. This film truly moved me. Wow! An unforgettable Masterpiece!
  40. LindaDudley
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Movie buff here. This movie was simply stunning. Acting, directing, cinematography, music were perfect. Visually breathtaking.
  41. ChrisB.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Two homosexual individuals struggle to be together, bound by the norms and rules of society. At first, I was confused to how fast the story was moving with the very short scenes; but then understood the movie has to be told like this as it takes place over somewhat 20years. Looking back, this method of story-telling was very effective. As a true horror, sci-fi and animie fanatic, even I Two homosexual individuals struggle to be together, bound by the norms and rules of society. At first, I was confused to how fast the story was moving with the very short scenes; but then understood the movie has to be told like this as it takes place over somewhat 20years. Looking back, this method of story-telling was very effective. As a true horror, sci-fi and animie fanatic, even I found this movie breathtaking. Scenery, story and acting was spot on. I've seen alot of movies, and this is at the top of the pile. Everybody should see this movie! Expand
  42. LebbosN.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I loved it! Loved it! Great actors Gyllenhaal and Ledger, (RIP) and the story is perfect.
  43. MichaelL.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Without a doubt, the best film of the year. It is subtle and respectful. It doesn't manipulate. It has a story to tell, and it does so--beautifully. The acting is superb. The directing is restrained. These are people you feel you know; not actors playing parts. The biggest tragedy of "Brokeback Mountain" is that small-minded people insist it's "propaganda" for the "gay agenda". Without a doubt, the best film of the year. It is subtle and respectful. It doesn't manipulate. It has a story to tell, and it does so--beautifully. The acting is superb. The directing is restrained. These are people you feel you know; not actors playing parts. The biggest tragedy of "Brokeback Mountain" is that small-minded people insist it's "propaganda" for the "gay agenda". Those who could learn from it won't see it; those who could maybe see that love is indeed a force of nature by viewing this gorgeous and haunting film, never will because of preconceived ideas and/or ignorance. For those who open their hearst and minds, this movie is a gem. The most perfect example of heart-wrenching, doomed love since Romeo and Juliet. Expand
  44. ChrisE.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Brilliant film. Oscars all around.
  45. LloydV.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    A minimum of story-telling elements is used to convey a powerfully moving story of enduring love in a very beautiful way.
  46. JemW.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Mainstream next!
  47. askayogi
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    During our history here as humans on planet earth, we as a collective whole experience times where we are boosted up to the next level of higher conciousness. As a world and as a nation we have accended higher up to the green valleys of Brokeback Mountain. If you do not love this movie than you will be left behind. This is not an implication of the world turning gay, but a deep behooving During our history here as humans on planet earth, we as a collective whole experience times where we are boosted up to the next level of higher conciousness. As a world and as a nation we have accended higher up to the green valleys of Brokeback Mountain. If you do not love this movie than you will be left behind. This is not an implication of the world turning gay, but a deep behooving that unless you start loving and stop judging you will be the only one to suffer. Expand
  48. JohnB.
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Like Annie Proulx's writing, the film was by equal turns rapturous and devastating. Both exquisitely beautiful and gut-punched painful. Do not go to this movie thinking that Ang Lee has thoughtfully sprinkled in some magic movie dust that will leave you feeling good. You will walk out feeling emotionally drained and conflicted. The conflicted feeling will last for days. My explicit Like Annie Proulx's writing, the film was by equal turns rapturous and devastating. Both exquisitely beautiful and gut-punched painful. Do not go to this movie thinking that Ang Lee has thoughtfully sprinkled in some magic movie dust that will leave you feeling good. You will walk out feeling emotionally drained and conflicted. The conflicted feeling will last for days. My explicit advice is that the film be seen in an environment that will promote a feeling of intimacy. See it with someone you love. You will willingly bear your heart. You will feel vulnerable. Heath Ledger fully becomes Ennis del Mar. He is wracked by pain, frustration, fear and guilt that never completely leave him. Jake Gyllenhaal fully becomes Jack Twist. He has a kind of hopeful joy you feel you can drink in great healing gulps. But Ennis cannot be completely healed, he can only be temporarily relieved and the anguish that this causes Jack is fully realized through Jake. Ennis' and Jack's love is made fully evident by Heath and Jake in actions and expressions both great and small. The music of Gustavo Santaolalla is pitch perfect and the screenplay of Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana is flawless. I don't feel the need to elaborate on the performances of Michelle Williams and Anne Hathaway or the cinematography of Rodrigo Prieto. They were each exceptional and have been praised elsewhere. They were not the focus of my concern although if they had not been so exceptional the film would have been crippled. Please, read the story. But expect to come away from the film with different impressions and understandings. Be prepared to think differently about Jack and Ennis. Be prepared to understand them more fully. I am honestly grateful to Heath Ledger, Jake Gyllenhaal and Ang Lee for so lovingly giving Ennis and Jack and their story to us and I will write them to say so. You will be changed by this film. Expand
  49. JosephA.
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Can hardly breath for the melancholy I still feel after watching this fantastic film.
  50. GregoryM.
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    I saw this movie the day it opened in L. A. and I was left shattered, speechless, and emotionally drained. What a beautiful and profound vision of the complexities of the human heart from Ang Lee. It is a trancendent love story in the tradition of "Gone With The Wind," Wuthering Heights," and "Doctor Zhivago." I believe that like Scarlett and Rhett, Heathcliff and Cathy, and Yuri and I saw this movie the day it opened in L. A. and I was left shattered, speechless, and emotionally drained. What a beautiful and profound vision of the complexities of the human heart from Ang Lee. It is a trancendent love story in the tradition of "Gone With The Wind," Wuthering Heights," and "Doctor Zhivago." I believe that like Scarlett and Rhett, Heathcliff and Cathy, and Yuri and Lara, that Ennis and Jack will join the pantheon of these literary and cinematic immortal lovers. Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal give career-defining performances that make the heart flutter and bleed. I predict an Oscar Sweep for this film: Picture, Director, Best Actor (Ledger), Best Supporting Actress (Williams/Hathaway), Best Supporting Actor (Gyllenhaal), Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Cinematography, and maybe Best Score, Best Song, Best Editing, and Best Costume Design as well. Run, don't walk, and go see this movie with a loved oned! Expand
  51. ScottW
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    I expected and got the timeless love story: amazingly universal, but tragic and powerful. What I didn't expect was the other tragedy that played out: the family devastation and ensuing pain. Watch for Hathaway's bitterness and Williams, crestfallen and lonely. I have NEVER seen any movie that has done all that so well.
  52. mikej.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Just a well made, simple love story between two men. Void of the streotypical characters portrayed in most films dealing with "a gay lifestyle". Their love connection comes across naturally in the wilderness. Complications and heartbreak only arise when society and the times keep these two apart from a possible chance of a life together. I give Ang Lee praise for not portraying true love Just a well made, simple love story between two men. Void of the streotypical characters portrayed in most films dealing with "a gay lifestyle". Their love connection comes across naturally in the wilderness. Complications and heartbreak only arise when society and the times keep these two apart from a possible chance of a life together. I give Ang Lee praise for not portraying true love as a sterotype, but just as human. Expand
  53. SAbBJ
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    I had no desire to see this movie! I went with my girlfriend to get out of the "doghouse" and I did not want any of my friends to know. We had all be joking about the movie for weeks. After going, and just minutes into the movie, I completely forgot it was a story about 2 guys. You get so caught up in the movie......and what is going on. When it was over, we were both so down. Actually I had no desire to see this movie! I went with my girlfriend to get out of the "doghouse" and I did not want any of my friends to know. We had all be joking about the movie for weeks. After going, and just minutes into the movie, I completely forgot it was a story about 2 guys. You get so caught up in the movie......and what is going on. When it was over, we were both so down. Actually down for a couple of days. This is the first movie that has ever had this kind of impact on me. She and I have had some of the best talks since this movie and it has brought us closer. You guys out there (including my friends) who think this is a joke of a movie......go see it with open eyes. And just because you find this movie is a 10, does not mean you are gay! Expand
  54. LeahE.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best film I've seen in the past five years. Don't be swayed by negative comments, this film is a total "experience", to be had by each individual, in his own way, with his own sensibility.
  55. MathewP.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Superlative in every way--writing, acting, directing, set design...if you love movies, you must see this one.
  56. JerryClark
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This truly memorable work of art accomplishes nothing less than what Aristotle claimed for genuine tragedy - the evocation of deep fear and pity followed by catharsis. What a remarkable gift!
  57. ChrisS.
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    This is truly one of the best films of this year. Top notch script, director, and cast. Every adult should see this film.
  58. SusanS.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    Lives up to the hype and more. Both Ledger and Gyllenhaal give brilliant performances, plus a lot of really interesting side characters (Anna Faris is an great short surprise). A quiet and subtle movie, but not without much life and spark. This movie will haunt you long after you leave the theater.
  59. LeeC.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    Absolutely the best film I've seen in the last ten years. The most astonishing depiction of male love ever committed to the screen in a mainstream film, and supported by impeccable acting across the entire cast. This is an experience of true cinematic art, something that is often attempted and almost never acheived. See it on the widest screen you can find, in a theatre, and be Absolutely the best film I've seen in the last ten years. The most astonishing depiction of male love ever committed to the screen in a mainstream film, and supported by impeccable acting across the entire cast. This is an experience of true cinematic art, something that is often attempted and almost never acheived. See it on the widest screen you can find, in a theatre, and be prepared to be blown away. Expand
  60. Tommi
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    One week after seeing this movie, it remains in my heart, my mind and my blood. Never, ever has a movie seeped into my soul until now. It's a little embarrassing, for Ledger and Gyllenhaal are the same ages as my sons, and I feel a more than a little depraved.....they are impossibly beautiful. But the movie is a crystal bell ringing for the "what ifs" in every life. It beckons every One week after seeing this movie, it remains in my heart, my mind and my blood. Never, ever has a movie seeped into my soul until now. It's a little embarrassing, for Ledger and Gyllenhaal are the same ages as my sons, and I feel a more than a little depraved.....they are impossibly beautiful. But the movie is a crystal bell ringing for the "what ifs" in every life. It beckons every heart in which a wild cry was buried long ago, a heart whose choices were made and had to be lived with. I am shaken, heartbroken and completely undone. Bad choices really screw things up, and this film should be shown to everyone planning to marry. Expand
  61. AlexC.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Powerful.
  62. LindaD.
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Beautiful movie -- writing, directing, acting, cinematography, music. A sublime adaptation of Annie Proulx's haunting short story by the writers, director and especially, the actors.
  63. JakeL.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Amazing film.
  64. BobJ.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    The film is about love, nothing more. The leit-motif is repressed passion: the notion that repressed passion does no one any good. In Brokeback Mountain, it turns vibrant men ghostly. Jack and Ennis, worn down by the constant crushing burden of being someone they are not, can only look backward as outside forces wedge them apart and life pushes them in the opposite direction. A The film is about love, nothing more. The leit-motif is repressed passion: the notion that repressed passion does no one any good. In Brokeback Mountain, it turns vibrant men ghostly. Jack and Ennis, worn down by the constant crushing burden of being someone they are not, can only look backward as outside forces wedge them apart and life pushes them in the opposite direction. A taboo-structured culture obliges them to fail those around them as they disappoint themselves. In the end, they might have been saved by something as simple as love -- just plain love. Expand
  65. Kirsty
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    This film was fantastic- most important film to come out of cinema in years!
  66. WilliamU.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Emotional, powerful, impressive and masterfully done. To quote Ennis from the movie " This thing grabs on us (as a movie goer). Ain't no reins on this one." Buy a copy of "Brokeback Mountain Story to Screenplay." Read the short story by Annie Proulx and the screenplay contained in this paperback. Again quoting from the screenplay, "Old Brokeback got us good, didn't it?" Emotional, powerful, impressive and masterfully done. To quote Ennis from the movie " This thing grabs on us (as a movie goer). Ain't no reins on this one." Buy a copy of "Brokeback Mountain Story to Screenplay." Read the short story by Annie Proulx and the screenplay contained in this paperback. Again quoting from the screenplay, "Old Brokeback got us good, didn't it?" Brokeback got me good...it's a movie I'll never forget and cherish forever. Expand
  67. DavidC.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Wonderful movie !
  68. RonA.
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    This is a landmark film, and it will take your breath away. It is unbelievably accurate in its portrayal of the emotional turmoil some young gay men go through, even today.
  69. KenR.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Excellent film.
  70. JohnD.
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    Ennis Del Mar does not fall in love with Jack Twist because he is a gay man. At 19, Ennis is still virgin, and is, above all, lonesome and unloved. He finds himself with one other open and big-hearted individual in a great panoramic space far removed from life
  71. Dan
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    Honestly, as profound experiences go, this is up there near or at the top for me, alongside things like john lennons/plastic ono band album, kerouac's on the road, really essential stories. ive cried about 5 times! honestly, if you think you may relate to this movie in anyway, or even not - go see it, its a stunner.
  72. MichaelC.
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    A sublime masterpiece inaccessible to many Americans because of their religious and moral prejudices (see some of the reviews on this site) but which should appeal to anyone who knows something about the power of love and the tragedy of self-denial. World literature is full of tales of thwarted passion. We enjoy being made to suffer with characters who cannot consummate their love and A sublime masterpiece inaccessible to many Americans because of their religious and moral prejudices (see some of the reviews on this site) but which should appeal to anyone who knows something about the power of love and the tragedy of self-denial. World literature is full of tales of thwarted passion. We enjoy being made to suffer with characters who cannot consummate their love and Brokeback Mountain is a new variation on a theme as old as the hills--one of the best films to come out of the Hollywood dream factory, with its inability to see life as it is. Harsh, beautiful, unforgettable. Expand
  73. JoanM.
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Much like the two leads in this film, it is difficult for me to put into words how this movie made me feel. I saw it a week ago and I'm still devastated by it. The relationship between Jack and Ennis was so profound, so deeply moving, that you can't help but wish they could stay on Brokeback Mountain forever. And that is where the movie becomes complex. They love each other so Much like the two leads in this film, it is difficult for me to put into words how this movie made me feel. I saw it a week ago and I'm still devastated by it. The relationship between Jack and Ennis was so profound, so deeply moving, that you can't help but wish they could stay on Brokeback Mountain forever. And that is where the movie becomes complex. They love each other so much that it becomes a sickness and yet the audience sees the pain their relationship inflicts upon their families, in particular Ennis' wife. But there is no villian. There is no one to blame and in spite of their faults, you want more than anything for Jack and Ennis to be together. The acting has no comparison as this is the first movie I've seen that doesn't depict gay men as either dying from AIDS or playing the caricature of a feminine "fairy" that is only around for your amusement. I imagine the film is uncomfortable for some people because Jack and Ennis are are raw, and human. You can't laugh at their gayness. Rather you relate to their story because we are all human. You long for their happiness as you sit in the theatre and watch their story unfold. You realize that what you want most is to experience just a breath of what Jack and Ennis shared with each other. You realize that what they had was special and it's so incredibly painful to see them come down from the mountain each time. And finally, you suddenly realize that you want nothing more than to love another person just as passionately. Expand
  74. Darren&Brandi
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Brandi- It was good I liked it alot. Darren-Brandi actually cried! I did too. Stephanie was bawling! And Rick well I think he cried too.. Brandi says she was about to cry..But same difference.. Im kinda pissed at the fact that all gay romances end in tragedy..Why cant we win!?
  75. RodneyG.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Not only has Brokeback Mountain totally captured my heart and soul, it is sweeping across the nation and the world and one of the greatest love stories ever filmed. Outstanding performances by cast members Ledger and Gyllenhaal, and supporting cast members Williams and Hathaway, combined with the breathtaking cinenatography of locations in the Canadian Rockies, all under the nearly divine Not only has Brokeback Mountain totally captured my heart and soul, it is sweeping across the nation and the world and one of the greatest love stories ever filmed. Outstanding performances by cast members Ledger and Gyllenhaal, and supporting cast members Williams and Hathaway, combined with the breathtaking cinenatography of locations in the Canadian Rockies, all under the nearly divine direction of Ang Lee make this a film not to be missed. This has been called the "gay cowboy film," but it so much more than that. It is a film about love, nonacceptance, fear and consequences. It is non-judgmental and not preachy -- Ang Lee lets the story unfold. It creeps up on the viewer and tugs at the very soul. Expand
  76. MayF.
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    Great acting by both Heath & Jake. Both gave a marvelous performance!
  77. Jon
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    Is one of the best films of the the last years.
  78. Renee'D.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    This movie brought out so much emotion in me, the clearest of emotion being the longing for something as beautiful as they had. The undeniable passion for someone and knowing they feel the same about you. Priceless!!
  79. C.houser
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Great and beautiful. Wonderful cinematic scenes. A long time coming, wish there would be more films of equal quality to this one. Not cheesy or cliche. Go see it yourself!
  80. KimJ.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I grew up on the High Plains during 1950s and 1960s. This film captures that period of time and the dread and fear of being exposed as gay or lesbian. My heart breaks watching the anguish or lives never allowed to come to fullness.
  81. ThomasC.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen. What is not said or off the screen is as powerful as what is said or on the screen.
  82. JosephN.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    all of america should see this movie. and all the troops in iraq, too. it's about hatred as well as love and it's a very important film. well done ang lee.
  83. Bruce
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Best film of 2005. Hands down. This movie needed to be made.
  84. StephenD
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Being a straight male, I can say this is one of the most beautiful, heart-wrenching movies I have ever seen in my life. It was also just as beautiful to see a huge mix of young and old, men and women and the movie theater.
  85. EricH
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Hauntingly nuanced performances, faithful adaptation of an achy story.
  86. gracen.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Such a brilliant rare movie. jake gyllenhaal was amazing!
  87. JG
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Hit me deep in my soul. Very powerful and hard hitting.
  88. JeffL.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    For months I've been listening to everybody from comedians to coworkers smirking about the "gay cowboy movie." I guess that's not an entirely incorrect description of Brokeback Mountain, but it's also insultingly reductive and simpleminded; nobody's referring to Munich as "the dead athlete movie" or The Passion of the Christ as "the crucified Jew movie." Other ways to For months I've been listening to everybody from comedians to coworkers smirking about the "gay cowboy movie." I guess that's not an entirely incorrect description of Brokeback Mountain, but it's also insultingly reductive and simpleminded; nobody's referring to Munich as "the dead athlete movie" or The Passion of the Christ as "the crucified Jew movie." Other ways to more accurately describe Ang Lee's extraordinary new movie: haunting, sad, profound, compassionate, artful, and entertaining. For about five years now, Heath Ledger has seemingly been perched to become The Next Big Thing, but nothing he has done to date - mostly small roles in good movies and big roles in bad ones - remotely prepares you for his astonishing work here as the stoic, inarticulate Wyoming ranch hand circa 1963 who shares a night of passion with a kindred soul (Jake Gyllenhaal) that turns into a deeper love that manages to survive marriages (Michelle Williams and Anne Hathaway are terrific as the wives), societal pressures that barely allow them to admit to themselves who they really are, and the long months and years they sometimes have to wait to see each other. The screenplay by Diana Ossana and the great Larry McMurtry (The Last Picture Show, Lonesome Dove), based on a short story by E. Annie Proulx, is purposefully spare and understated, while the stunning outdoor cinematography of Rodrigo Prieto is of distinctly Oscar caliber. Forget the controversy, forget the jokes, forget whatever reservations or prejudices you may have: this is a great piece of filmmaking, and a story I suspect will stick with you long after leaving the theatre. Expand
  89. RannD.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Great movie and acting!
  90. KeithB.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    I think that I may need to watch this movie once more. I think that a lot of viewers are unaware of the paradigms established by small, isolated towns in the Western United States, so I think on some levels the film was trying to dissiminate that. Regardless, I thought the movie as a whole was poignant and touching; I expected the love sequences to be more romantic and sensual, but I I think that I may need to watch this movie once more. I think that a lot of viewers are unaware of the paradigms established by small, isolated towns in the Western United States, so I think on some levels the film was trying to dissiminate that. Regardless, I thought the movie as a whole was poignant and touching; I expected the love sequences to be more romantic and sensual, but I thought that the delicacy portrayed by the characters was appropriate. I think the thing that really stuck with me for the movie was the dynamic development of Ennis from a taciturn individual to one who learns how to emote. It's a sad story and I left the theatre with a sense of resentment and heartbreak. The movie ended with Ennis looking at the postcard and Jack's clothes---I believe that the transformation of Ennis's love into something which made him human was endearing. I don't know whether this serves as a warning to people who live risqué and latent lives or more of an exposé about homosexuality in small town America, but it's certainly worth a watch. Expand
  91. yaleeyalee
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    what is so heartbreaking about this story is the realization of two human beings find unconditionally love in one another, yet it was this love that makes them powerless and ultimately, lost. my visios blurs everytime i think about this film. one of the very best i have seen in the past 10 years, easily.
  92. SergeS.
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Subtle and heartbreaking example of the existence of rampant forces beyond conscious and voluntary choices. Unforgettable.
  93. BobGrimes
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    I saw Brokeback Mountain about a month ago and it still haunts me. I'm pretty obsessed by it and I read everything I can about it.
    All the people here with the 10s have such a reverence for the movie that it's almost like a religious eperience we've all shared. That would make the bigot and the homophobes that hate everybody and everything the anti-christ. Which reminds me
    I saw Brokeback Mountain about a month ago and it still haunts me. I'm pretty obsessed by it and I read everything I can about it.
    All the people here with the 10s have such a reverence for the movie that it's almost like a religious eperience we've all shared. That would make the bigot and the homophobes that hate everybody and everything the anti-christ. Which reminds me of a letter somebody wrote to the editor not long ago saying that when all those things were written in the bible that everybody believed the world was flat.
    The movie has had such an effect on me that I now have a new respect for the whole human race. And every one I see I can detect has a flame within and is searching for someone to love and be loved by. It's turned into a whole new and happier world for me.
    Expand
  94. XiaodongT.
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    the movie just showed what the true world shall be.
  95. MalcolmH.
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    Simultaneously epic and intimate. An almost perfectly realized film. But I must remind the naysayers - the aging in the film shouldn't be an issue, don't forget at the end of the movie Jack and Ennis are still only 39 to 40! Wrinkles, paunches and arthritis are not required at 40 years old. One of still fairly youthful.
  96. VirginiaR.
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    Sensitive, gorgeous, heartbreaking, this movie is a dignified and graceful telling of what happens to dreams denied. The pace, the tenderness of the camera, the quality of the light, reveal the most humble places, people, and moments as sacred. The touch of fabric your lover once wore. The desperation of daughters for distant daddies. A dirt-poor life of deprivation so complete that a man Sensitive, gorgeous, heartbreaking, this movie is a dignified and graceful telling of what happens to dreams denied. The pace, the tenderness of the camera, the quality of the light, reveal the most humble places, people, and moments as sacred. The touch of fabric your lover once wore. The desperation of daughters for distant daddies. A dirt-poor life of deprivation so complete that a man never expects to get what he wants. Masculinity and the tradeoffs men have to make: if you've got a wife and the appearance of heterosexuality, it's okay to use a carving knife. If you get accused of being queer, you have to pull someone out of his truck and start pounding away until it's your head in the asphalt. I am not sure what I think about the Mexico part. But an almost perfect movie. Thank you. Expand
  97. MichaelM.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    It is funny that all the negative comments on this board are from the tiny minds of people who either haven't seen this film or those who cannot understand the power of love in this world. I'm just like everyone else here who was blown away by a unique film with great acting. Bravo Brokeback Mountain!
  98. F.Picano
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    The last ten minutes are almost unbearable in their sadness and beauty. When is the last time a movie made you feel like this? It's a great American poem in moving pictures.
  99. JackS.
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    The perfect movie to educate human compassion.
  100. PabloR.
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    With this kind of movies i feel alive, free and more than a spend money machine.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 50
    Takes great pains to be a compassionate love story; but the filmmaking itself, self-consciously restrained and desiccated, is inert and inexpressive.
  2. 75
    Isn't for everyone, but for those who are not bothered by the homosexual relationship, it offers a study in yearning, love, and loss. It didn't affect me as deeply as either "The Bridges of Madison County" or "The Remains of the Day," but it evokes some of the same feelings.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There's neither coyness nor self-importance in Brokeback Mountain--just close, compassionate observation, deeply committed performances, a bone-deep feeling for hardscrabble Western lives. Few films have captured so acutely the desolation of frustrated, repressed passion.