Bruno

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 10, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno: 4 out of 10: I have to admit I am more than a bit disappointed here. Bruno has its share of laugh out loud moments but it simply does not have those great memorable scenes that made Borat such a treat.

    One cannot help comparing Bruno to Borat since in many ways they are the same story. Borat worked because the character was, at least on a movie logic level, believable. He was played as an innocent whom one could root for; even if he had some terrible values upon reflection. He was a lovable character.

    While Borat has an innocent air about him and a charismatic travelling companion, Bruno is as characterized a horrible human being from the get go with a milquetoast traveling companion.

    Bruno is a flamboyantly gay Austrian fashion host that is so horrible, one simply feels nothing but sympathy for Sacha Baron Cohen’s victims. When you start feeling sorry for Ron Paul and Anti-homosexual Christian deprogrammers the movie has clearly gone of the rails.

    Cohen tries to infuse Bruno with countless shots of male gentalia to embarrass (one supposes) his audience, Alas none if it is as cringe inducing as the naked wresting from the first movie (Come to think of it, nothing on earth is as cringe inducing as that scene) and nothing in Bruno comes anywhere close to being that funny.

    While there are certainly scattered laughs throughout the film, Bruno is more in the style of an old Mondo Cane movie than a comedy. It is more about making the audience and his victims uncomfortable than provoking any mirth or insight.

    When I watched Borat, I would tell myself if I met the character on the street I would be polite to him as well. While watching Bruno I was shocked no one punched him in the face.
    Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    In order to really enjoy this film you definitely have to be a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and because I am not I struggled to enjoy this. It's the second time I've seen it and I just didn't really find a lot of the jokes funny. There are some funny moments and the fact Bruno adopted a black baby called OJ is kind of funny, but overall it's just not a very funny movie. It will please some,In order to really enjoy this film you definitely have to be a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and because I am not I struggled to enjoy this. It's the second time I've seen it and I just didn't really find a lot of the jokes funny. There are some funny moments and the fact Bruno adopted a black baby called OJ is kind of funny, but overall it's just not a very funny movie. It will please some, but you certainly can't take it too seriously that's for sure or you just won't enjoy it. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    It's Bruno! The latest character from Sacha Baron Cohen. Cohen is of course known for Borat and being outrageous. He goes so far in this film, that he was actually arrested 3 times while filming it, Bruno however doesn't live up to Borat. Borat was one of those movies. that you can watch over and over again. and it was still funny, Bruno isn't like that. The first time around, it's prettyIt's Bruno! The latest character from Sacha Baron Cohen. Cohen is of course known for Borat and being outrageous. He goes so far in this film, that he was actually arrested 3 times while filming it, Bruno however doesn't live up to Borat. Borat was one of those movies. that you can watch over and over again. and it was still funny, Bruno isn't like that. The first time around, it's pretty funny, even thou the constant gay jokes and references to anal and oral sex gets old, fast. When it came out on DVD and I watched it again, I wasn't as impressed by it. The third time, even less so. Bruno is raunchy and good for some laughs and shock value the first time you see it, but after that it loses everything. This is the kind of movie you should rent, but definitely not buy. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    It does have funny moments, it really does. I don't think it's fair to compare Burno and Borat- both are different enough. This movie, while it does show a comic genius at his worst. Being a contradict to my own words, while Borat was highly enertaining and somewhat unethical- it always came across as a joke. This movie, well, I was disapointed. For Sacha Baron Cohen, whom i have greatIt does have funny moments, it really does. I don't think it's fair to compare Burno and Borat- both are different enough. This movie, while it does show a comic genius at his worst. Being a contradict to my own words, while Borat was highly enertaining and somewhat unethical- it always came across as a joke. This movie, well, I was disapointed. For Sacha Baron Cohen, whom i have great respect for (what he does is unthinkably dumb, immoral, and idiotic he makes up for it by mocking America and its problems) Oh, Bruno is an uber mediocre movie! Expand
  5. May 20, 2012
    6
    Bruno is crude, disgusting, and just plain disappointing. I loved Borat but Bruno just didin't have the same feel that Borat did. It wasn't as funny and just crossed the line various times. Yes, I laughed a couple times throughout the film because it really is funny at some points. Most of the time though, I feel like they're trying to make a more controversial film than a great one. IfBruno is crude, disgusting, and just plain disappointing. I loved Borat but Bruno just didin't have the same feel that Borat did. It wasn't as funny and just crossed the line various times. Yes, I laughed a couple times throughout the film because it really is funny at some points. Most of the time though, I feel like they're trying to make a more controversial film than a great one. If you enjoyed Borat, give this a try but satisfaction is not guaranteed. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    By bloating itself with outrageous and inappropriate shenanigans, Bruno misses out on the heart and critical social observation of Borat. Much of this is down to the character being depicted but you are left wishing that Bruno could make you split your sides and also give you something to think about. The humor swings from moderately funny to frustratingly weak and many situations appearBy bloating itself with outrageous and inappropriate shenanigans, Bruno misses out on the heart and critical social observation of Borat. Much of this is down to the character being depicted but you are left wishing that Bruno could make you split your sides and also give you something to think about. The humor swings from moderately funny to frustratingly weak and many situations appear fabricated for comedy purposes, which badly damages the film. If these scenes are staged then who knows what else is? Though not an awful movie, Bruno is inferior to Borat in just about every way. Expand
  7. May 14, 2011
    6
    Bruno goes from the funny, to the surreal to the downright ridiculous but if you liked Borat then double how far Sacha Baron Cohen was willing to go and if you're still intrigued then have a look. If you're easily offended or don't enjoy people making fools of themselves then this is not for you.
  8. Dec 25, 2010
    5
    Burno definitely has a lot of potential. However, it is a rather tough nut to swallow... pardon the pun. Within the first 10 minutes, one can be completely outraged by the film. It is extremely insulting, very provocative and leaves nothing unsaid... very much 'into your face' type of film. This can be rather funny at times, but overall the question of good taste remains, and Bruno walksBurno definitely has a lot of potential. However, it is a rather tough nut to swallow... pardon the pun. Within the first 10 minutes, one can be completely outraged by the film. It is extremely insulting, very provocative and leaves nothing unsaid... very much 'into your face' type of film. This can be rather funny at times, but overall the question of good taste remains, and Bruno walks a thin line there - at times crossing it quite drastically. Expand
  9. Oct 6, 2010
    5
    Borat is one of the best comic films I have ever seen,but when stepping out as Bruno, Cohen takes things a little too far. Its good to see the exposure of Western Culture is still there but many of the ideas seem to repeat themselves from Borat. Sasha Baron Cohen knows the lines and continually crosses them, sometimes too far.
  10. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    This one was okay,but it's a hit & miss film. I like Sacha Baron Cohen to be as Bruno character,but I prefer Borat better! It has alot of gay jokes,that made me puke to death! It has a little bit funny scenes,but not as funny as Borat does. And the film wasn't that much special and it gets serious that this was the same line that the actor did in Borat and it gets empty for the audience.This one was okay,but it's a hit & miss film. I like Sacha Baron Cohen to be as Bruno character,but I prefer Borat better! It has alot of gay jokes,that made me puke to death! It has a little bit funny scenes,but not as funny as Borat does. And the film wasn't that much special and it gets serious that this was the same line that the actor did in Borat and it gets empty for the audience. So,it's nothing quite special for this gay comedy and please,I don't think this movie will be very interesting about gay jokes and some controversy about anything about the character,but stick to Borat. Expand
  11. KevinStanfield
    Dec 27, 2009
    5
    ProudAmerican EvangelicalChristian gave it a1: I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach turned as I watched good Christian Americans made to look like fools. This movie is a disgrace to America! ProudAmerican EvangelicalChristian gave it a1: I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach turned as I watched good Christian Americans made to look like fools. This movie is a disgrace to America! It should be banned. -ProudAmerican EvangelicalChristian I have not seen this movie but I was thinking about renting it. I was reading reviews that users have posted on it. P.A.E.C. said that this movie was un-American and should be banned but banning this movie would be un-American, one of the most important things we should value as an American is freedom of the press. Expand
  12. AlanLawrence
    Dec 22, 2009
    5
    "Bruno" is a hit-and-miss affair. But as a huge fan of Sasha Baron Cohen's brilliant HBO "Ali G Show" (Rent it!!!), I also found "Borat" to be hit-and-miss. I've seen enough Cohen-as-Borat flat out works of genius on "Ali G" to make "Borat" more of a 'been there' affair (although the nude wrestling match in particular was beyond hysterical). In my view the problem with "Bruno" is a hit-and-miss affair. But as a huge fan of Sasha Baron Cohen's brilliant HBO "Ali G Show" (Rent it!!!), I also found "Borat" to be hit-and-miss. I've seen enough Cohen-as-Borat flat out works of genius on "Ali G" to make "Borat" more of a 'been there' affair (although the nude wrestling match in particular was beyond hysterical). In my view the problem with "Bruno" is that because Cohen's "Ali G" Bruno character was never well fleshed out, a Bruno movie just didn't make sense. "Bruno" has some truly classic moments, though, which make it well worth renting (but the "The Ali G Show" is a must-see!!!:). P.S.. - I've never understood the outrage of some people towards Cohen. Those who find Borat (FYI, Cohen is Jewish) and Bruno (Cohen a homophobe???) to be offensive are probably more uncomfortable with their own prejudices (possibly unconscious in many cases) than their professed shock at the often crude and mean-spirited nature of Cohen's satire (all meant to shine a light on the crude, mean-spirited nature of many segments of American society in particular). Oh well...I guess the joke's on them. Expand
  13. AaronG.
    Aug 14, 2009
    6
    It was ok. there are 4 hilarious moments, scattered with sort of funny but ok moments. It was ok. This just is not the comedic genius that was borat.
  14. BrettW
    Aug 3, 2009
    4
    Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a 0 and saying you have to be gay to enjoy the movie, are exactly the type of people this movie was trying to make fun of. I haven't seen anything in my entire life that has offended me enough to say the things that angie a and alisha k are saying. Grow up and get used to seeing things that offend you. And stop bit**ing about it. Expand
  15. JuraM
    Jul 28, 2009
    5
    A horribly disappointing return to the big screen for Baron Cohen after a fantastic gem named "Borat". Bruno lives up to nor the fun or humour of it's predecessor. In all truth the character of Bruno just isn't as good as Borat's, at all. As another reviewer points out Borat works because it's believable and Borat is likable. Bruno is neither. Often taking it slightly A horribly disappointing return to the big screen for Baron Cohen after a fantastic gem named "Borat". Bruno lives up to nor the fun or humour of it's predecessor. In all truth the character of Bruno just isn't as good as Borat's, at all. As another reviewer points out Borat works because it's believable and Borat is likable. Bruno is neither. Often taking it slightly to far, relying on sheer shock value that has not as much effect as the long-lasting antics of Borat. And dare I say it, Borat actually had a good story, Bruno has none. It may be slightly unfair to judge a movie by anothers standards but Borat raised the bar too high for this genre to live up to! Expand
  16. MikeK
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    Borat succeeded largely because the character was so likeable. The situations he found himself in were the result of his presumed innocence and cultural ignorance. The character of Bruno isn't nearly as likeable, so the "victims" of his pranks often generate enough empathy to make you feel bad for them. With Borat, while you sometimes felt bad for his victims, it wasn't the Borat succeeded largely because the character was so likeable. The situations he found himself in were the result of his presumed innocence and cultural ignorance. The character of Bruno isn't nearly as likeable, so the "victims" of his pranks often generate enough empathy to make you feel bad for them. With Borat, while you sometimes felt bad for his victims, it wasn't the dominant emotion. The rating should probably be NC-17. That much sex, gay or straight, simulated or not, is too heavy for the "R". Overall the film disappoints. Expand
  17. MichaelB.
    Jul 21, 2009
    6
    It wasn't horrible, but after a while, I felt like watching Borat again. Plus, it seemed that many scenes were staged unlike Borat, where it all looked unscripted. Not that bad overall though.
  18. AaronN.
    Jul 19, 2009
    6
    Some very funny moments, but way too polished and way too much male on male sex.
  19. JonB.
    Jul 18, 2009
    6
    The slapstick humor was only so-so in this movie, but small subtleties are wonderful. Ironically, you really have to pay attention to every word that Bruno says because there is probably a small, subtle joke there. I thought those were the best part.
  20. IanC
    Jul 17, 2009
    6
    Bruno has its funny parts--many more so than the average movie marketed as a "comedy" coming out these days--but those parts are just so terribly framed. The pacing is terrible, it's too short (75 minutes without credits), the staged bits are very obvious and quite poorly done, and there are entirely too many uh penises in it. The bottom line is that, though this movie had potential, Bruno has its funny parts--many more so than the average movie marketed as a "comedy" coming out these days--but those parts are just so terribly framed. The pacing is terrible, it's too short (75 minutes without credits), the staged bits are very obvious and quite poorly done, and there are entirely too many uh penises in it. The bottom line is that, though this movie had potential, I'd probably rather watch Borat for the 10th time than watch Bruno for the 2nd. Expand
  21. NoahB
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    This film should have a category of its own - 'Performance Art' or something like that. That's because it's not a 'Comedy' or 'Documentary' or anything else that you may have seen before, other than 'Borat'. If you look at it that way, that it's not a traditional type of film; it doesn't fit into any normal category; then it kind This film should have a category of its own - 'Performance Art' or something like that. That's because it's not a 'Comedy' or 'Documentary' or anything else that you may have seen before, other than 'Borat'. If you look at it that way, that it's not a traditional type of film; it doesn't fit into any normal category; then it kind of makes sense. Otherwise, you're going to be saying WTF? I don't consider this to be a comedy. It's more like a montage of shocking scenes which may make you laugh, but are just as, if not more likely, to disgust and horrify you. Either way, these scenes going to make you react strongly. And I believe that's the main point of Performance Art. If you want to have a strong reaction to something, if you want to be surprised, probably horrified, possibly greatly amused, go see 'Bruno'. Otherwise, you're welcome to stay home and watch reruns of 'Everybody Loves Raymond'. Personally, I laughed at some of the scenes, while others had me covering my face, not wanting to watch or hear what was happening. I would have liked some of the scenes and concepts to be developed more because I thought they were interesting and/or funny, but they were only given very brief exposure. Other scenes, I wish I had never seen them and will try to erase them from memory. Cohen is very talented, though strange. There are lifetimes of material in Bruno, if developed properly. Perhaps he is not interested in developing any of the concepts he has introduced in a deeper, more meaningful and less disgusting way, but he has opened a door for others to do so in the future. After all that, I can't decide if I love or hate the film. I think it's an important film, it's groundbreaking, it will change the world in some way for better or worse, but do I like it? I like parts of it. I hate other parts. Expand
  22. LuisG
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    The shock is there yet with less merit than BORAT most scenes feel clustered together and leave you with no real value except shock. Yes America is still intolerant but it really gives no help to the cause pure capitalism on Americas lack of coherence to how narcissistic and desperate to be in control.
  23. MSY
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    Doesn't contribute much to current 'shock-awe' media available on youtube.
  24. DanielP.
    Jul 13, 2009
    5
    This was kind of a big let down. There were some funny moments, but there were a lot of uncomfortable parts and the movie felt like a drag. It seems like this time, the cons outweighed the pros.
  25. PeterK.
    Jul 11, 2009
    5
    It was funny at times, but a little of the central humor went an awfully long way.
  26. PeterO.
    Jul 11, 2009
    5
    Bruno is a poor follow-up to Borat. It does contain some funny clips and moments, but they are heavily overshadowed by shocking and disgusting sex scenes, some including anal sex and other gay endeavours. This seems to be a movie that you either love or hate so I recommend that you see it for yourself and make your own final decision. 5/10.
  27. AMovieCritic
    Jul 10, 2009
    4
    I thought it couldn't get more disappointing this summer than Transformers 2, but here's another sequel, of sorts, that totally fails to live up to the original. Bruno, the 2nd cinematic film starring a Sacha Baron Cohen character, falls flat, flat, flat. It's got a couple pretty funny moments, but overall it lacks almost everything that made Borat a classic. Borat, for I thought it couldn't get more disappointing this summer than Transformers 2, but here's another sequel, of sorts, that totally fails to live up to the original. Bruno, the 2nd cinematic film starring a Sacha Baron Cohen character, falls flat, flat, flat. It's got a couple pretty funny moments, but overall it lacks almost everything that made Borat a classic. Borat, for what it was, had a story, it had 2 likable characters driving the thing, it had a great premise and it got many laughs from just showing your average person's reactions to the zany antics of Borat and his camera man as they journeyed across the country. Bruno, unfortunately, only has a little of this; most of its jokes are instead based on a series of bits and interviews, few of which feel real, and almost none of which have any sort of payoff, a lot of them seeming like they should have been on the "deleted scenes" section of the DVD. I kept waiting for a laugh as funny as the hotel room scene and the following chase from Borat and it just never happens. The movie ends with almost no payoff (or explanation of how Bruno managed to afford his own wrestling show,) and I think everyone left a bit disappointed. I was surprised to learn that Bruno's actually a good 5 minutes longer than Borat; it felt so much shorter, somehow, seeming like a much emptier film. This isn't a very funny character, these situations aren't very funny, and it's very hard to tell what was staged and what isn't, which is never a very good thing in a movie like this. I'm not a cynical viewer at all, and I was willing to believe that ALMOST all of Borat was not staged, but Bruno had even me scratching my head and wondering, if this event wasn't staged in advance, how things happened the way they did. A disappointment. Transformers 2 had more laughs, and even that was a movie that disappointed me. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Bruno is only intermittently funny and all too often the "ambushes" of celebrities and civilians look staged. The movie is even a tad -- dare we say it? -- tedious.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Undeniably funny, outrageous and boundary-pushing, this further documentation of Sacha Baron Cohen's sheer nerve will draw an abundant share of "Borat" fans.
  3. Is Brüno riotous? Yes, more so than "Borat," in which Baron Cohen's targets were ducks in a barrel and largely undeserving of ridicule. He doesn't aim much higher here, but his tricks are more inventive.