Bug

Release Date: May 25, 2007
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
12
Negative:
40
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RevRonDec 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thanks to great direction, interesting characters and powerhouse performances from Ashley Judd and Michael Shannon, “Bug” is just a flat out amazing and an incredibly disturbing film about two people slowly losing their hold on reality. Unlike most movies about the paranoid or conspiracy theorists, this one felt realistic and the psychosis that the characters of Agnes and Peter go through comes off in such a way that I started to wonder if their reality isn’t the true reality of the film. Of course, it’s not but the characters are played so believably that it’s easy to engage yourself with the troubled twosome. This movie is also one of those films that actually gets better for me with each viewing as each time I am able to appreciate the subtext, editing and overall direction from William Friedkin more and more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TrentS.Jun 1, 2007
Surprisingly strong adaptation of a very tricky play to pull off. Friedkin is in top form playing with lighting and the limited set better than any film in years. The performances are exceptional, from the smaller role of Brian F. Surprisingly strong adaptation of a very tricky play to pull off. Friedkin is in top form playing with lighting and the limited set better than any film in years. The performances are exceptional, from the smaller role of Brian F. O'Byrne to the leads Ashley Judd and Michael Shannon. Not a traditional horror film by any stretch of the imagination, but truly disturbing in a way no horror film in recent memory has even attempted to reach for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennethS.Jun 4, 2007
For anyone who has ever been around a person on the edge of sanity this was a very chilling portrayal of the descent into madness. A great real-life horror film with fantastic acting and direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobCOct 9, 2007
The biggest problem with this movie was the way it was marketed. This is not a horror movie. It's not a science fiction movie. It's a drama. If you approach it as a dramatic film and take a second to think about the plot and the The biggest problem with this movie was the way it was marketed. This is not a horror movie. It's not a science fiction movie. It's a drama. If you approach it as a dramatic film and take a second to think about the plot and the characters you may actually see an interesting movie about a couple of desperate people who find solice in each others insanity. Others seem to be approaching it in hopes of seeing people who get eaten alive by some kind of alien insects or a skin eating virus. Those people seem to be the ones who are writing negative reviews. Though, that's the problem studios face when they try to sell thoughtful films to a mass audience. The mass audience doesn't really understand it and "knee-jerkedly" call it stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.May 25, 2007
Great horror film one of the best of the year by far one of the best ever, go see this movie, it has great acting and it's overall a great experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PooponSep 26, 2007
Luv the user reviews. Either its a very low score or a very high score, not much in between. And that likely shows that this is a great, unique movie experience. I rated it high obviously. This being because it was such a great ride to go on Luv the user reviews. Either its a very low score or a very high score, not much in between. And that likely shows that this is a great, unique movie experience. I rated it high obviously. This being because it was such a great ride to go on with the characters. I only wish we had been completely stuck in the motel room with the characters the entire movie instead of straying to the outside world on occasion. Other than that, the acting was superb and very believable. Micheal Shannon plays one of the craziest people ever and yet comes off intelligent and makes you want to believe what he is preaching. Agnes falls right for it and becomes just as crazy as Peter. I plan to watch it again because I know for a fact there are subtle things I missed....only really good movies require a second viewing to fully understand the movie as a whole IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennedyF.Feb 22, 2008
Tense and totally engrossing. Amazing performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AliciaS.Oct 24, 2007
An awesomely creepy look at how delusion and paranoia can spread. Unbelievable acting. The first half is a little slow, but it becomes more and more creepy as it builds up to a very powerful end. As a Psych major, I ate it up. I have never An awesomely creepy look at how delusion and paranoia can spread. Unbelievable acting. The first half is a little slow, but it becomes more and more creepy as it builds up to a very powerful end. As a Psych major, I ate it up. I have never seen anything else to even begin to compare it to! Unique and clever. A must-see for anyone interested in the human psyche. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Jo-anB.May 27, 2007
What a great acting job. I really unique movie Think Ashley Judd out did herself; what a contrast to her past movies. Harry Conick is not quite as believable, but I really liked Michael Shannon...it was nice to see a newcomer in the mix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GraemedarkMay 28, 2007
Not the average slasher/horror film many may be expecting... there were several walkouts at the screening I attended (all chatty teenagers with too-active cell phones, I'll say). This is basically an intense, psychological arthouse Not the average slasher/horror film many may be expecting... there were several walkouts at the screening I attended (all chatty teenagers with too-active cell phones, I'll say). This is basically an intense, psychological arthouse film, more potent and sophisticated than the teen fare we've been inundated with lately. Definitely for the adventurous cineaste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardB.May 30, 2007
Its not the gory gross out torture movie that the current horror fans seem to want, but its a movie with great acting, very original, and really "gets under your skin."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jun 1, 2007
"Bug" is a love story and love makes you do crazy things; that is the essence of the film's "What if Mulder was insane?" scenario. Agnes(Ashley Judd) is on the pipe and snorts coke, but love is the real drug she's hooked on. Not "Bug" is a love story and love makes you do crazy things; that is the essence of the film's "What if Mulder was insane?" scenario. Agnes(Ashley Judd) is on the pipe and snorts coke, but love is the real drug she's hooked on. Not since Jodie Foster in "Nell" has a big-time actress risk looking utterly ridiculous by making the attempt to be primal without any vanity or self-consciousness. She largely succeeds, with a lot of help from Michael Shannon. Although "Bug" needs the time to establish Peter as a benevolent character, more time could've been devoted to the building of suspense rather than the construction of tedium. After all, "Bug" is largely a filmed play. But give the filmmaker credit for not resorting to CGI effects to dramatize the imagery in Peter's mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulK.Jun 15, 2007
This definitely takes a long time to get where it's going, but the end of it is payoff worth the wait. A good video pick for the fall/winter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeakBeakJun 4, 2007
Bug was a good movie. Not what I expect, but good. I think most people who didn't like this movie expected a run-of-the-mill horror flick. Well it wasn't one, sorry you retards don't understand anything beyond Van Helsing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertRSep 22, 2007
Bug is stupendous. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuziP.Oct 12, 2007
I love this movie it totally tore my heart out at the end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillB.Oct 17, 2007
Even though I was bored through most of the movie, and the ending wasn't very brutal, or surprising, I still liked this movie. It is not based on a formula, and it is memorable. What more can one ask for?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MWDec 12, 2007
Very interesting film. Not at all what I expected (I imagine that's a common observation of this film). I thoroughly enjoyed the ride into madness experienced by Ashley's character, and the gleeful way in which Michael Very interesting film. Not at all what I expected (I imagine that's a common observation of this film). I thoroughly enjoyed the ride into madness experienced by Ashley's character, and the gleeful way in which Michael Shannon's character led (not dragged) her into the abyss. I thought both were superb in their roles. And there was just enough of a crack in the door to make you wonder if in fact they were insane at all or if the military really had done something heinous to them (e.g. was the "doctor" really even there?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.J.M.May 29, 2007
While it is clear that the trailers represented a different film, this was a good cinematic experience in its own right. This was based on a play that was classified as 'horror/comedy.' All comedic moments ARE intentional, if not a While it is clear that the trailers represented a different film, this was a good cinematic experience in its own right. This was based on a play that was classified as 'horror/comedy.' All comedic moments ARE intentional, if not a little uncomfortable. This film explores the psychology of the characters, and despite others comments to the contrary, this film shows Ashley Judd is a fantastic actress. Don't go see this if you are expecting 'Slither.' You won't find it here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkMay 31, 2007
This is Ashley Judd's finest performance to date. And her co-star Michael Shannon keeps pace with the raw emotion of the plot. This is not a horror film except for the horror that occurs in people's minds when they lose touch with This is Ashley Judd's finest performance to date. And her co-star Michael Shannon keeps pace with the raw emotion of the plot. This is not a horror film except for the horror that occurs in people's minds when they lose touch with reality. The movie is a scary portrait of what can happen when two people with the same distorted perspective get together and re-enforce each other's delusions until they become real. It suggests why some succumb to such charismatic destructive leaders like Jim Jones and other suicidal martyrs. This movie is not for the faint of heart. It is not a date movie for those looking for light entertainment. But it is a movie that will leave you thinking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luluf.Dec 13, 2007
Blew me away! Starts off slow. I actually looked at the CD blurb to see if I had picked up a drama rather than a horror flick. But just hang on. Let the movie steep you like a bag of tea in hot water. The scorch is coming. Hang on! Loved it. Blew me away! Starts off slow. I actually looked at the CD blurb to see if I had picked up a drama rather than a horror flick. But just hang on. Let the movie steep you like a bag of tea in hot water. The scorch is coming. Hang on! Loved it. Would like to see more filmmaking of this caliber. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
This film is a huge **** It starts off interesting and ends perfectly and it shows just how far 2 people can go into madness. I think the leads were great and played their roles perfectly. I really liked this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
godslonelymanNov 6, 2010
**** great. Utterly mis-marketed. Michael Shannon gives a spellbinding performance that will stand the test of time with some of the great characters of the last 20 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Luke_McLaughlinJul 30, 2013
Bug is a perfect example of an excellent stage play being properly transferred onto the silver screen. They cleverly kept Shannon from the hit play at Red Orchid, and Judd does an outstanding job in her demented role. The camera work isBug is a perfect example of an excellent stage play being properly transferred onto the silver screen. They cleverly kept Shannon from the hit play at Red Orchid, and Judd does an outstanding job in her demented role. The camera work is clean, and the set dressing it disturbingly breathtaking. It is not a horror, but a psychological thriller. It is thought provoking, nerve-wracking, and sad. Tracy Letts is a master at his craft, and if you are wanting a completely messed up flick, look no further. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RobertBroganSep 28, 2015
Bug is an odd film that I want to uprate because it is so different and features some intense acting, but cannot because not enough actually happens. Although it is not a very scary, violent, or graphic film, I would class it as a kind ofBug is an odd film that I want to uprate because it is so different and features some intense acting, but cannot because not enough actually happens. Although it is not a very scary, violent, or graphic film, I would class it as a kind of psychological drama horror. It is reminiscent of both "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf" and "American Hustle" in a weird way. Recommended mainly to those with a keen interest in the psychological. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews