Bug

  • Release Date:
Bug Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Probing the blurry lines between paranoia and nightmarish reality, Bug is an intense, mind-bending psychological thriller in which nothing is quite as it seems. (Lionsgate)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. A triumph for Judd and the director.
  2. The enjoyably icky heart of Bug is still contained within the airless, increasingly ''bug-proofed'' room that becomes Agnes and Peter's whole world.
  3. 75
    Friedkin's latest rivals his Druid horror flick "The Guardian" for sheer lunacy--Bug remains disconcerting, real, and raw. It poignantly suggests that some lost souls would rather be crazy and doomed than alone.
  4. We find ourselves in the fascinating no man's land between horror and comedy -- right where this movie wants us to be.
  5. 63
    Bug is creepy and hard to dismiss, but it's not a lot of fun and its weaknesses leave a bitter aftertaste.
  6. Creepy and unsettling, to say nothing of gory, but overall it's a little claustrophobic and uneven.
  7. 30
    A humorless picture, a somber, arty exercise in deep denial of its exploitation roots. The dialogue is stiff and mechanical and the performances are too.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 61
  2. Negative: 26 out of 61
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thanks to great direction, interesting characters and powerhouse performances from Ashley Judd and Michael Shannon, “Bug” is just a flat out amazing and an incredibly disturbing film about two people slowly losing their hold on reality. Unlike most movies about the paranoid or conspiracy theorists, this one felt realistic and the psychosis that the characters of Agnes and Peter go through comes off in such a way that I started to wonder if their reality isn’t the true reality of the film. Of course, it’s not but the characters are played so believably that it’s easy to engage yourself with the troubled twosome. This movie is also one of those films that actually gets better for me with each viewing as each time I am able to appreciate the subtext, editing and overall direction from William Friedkin more and more. Expand
  2. RichardB.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    Its not the gory gross out torture movie that the current horror fans seem to want, but its a movie with great acting, very original, and Its not the gory gross out torture movie that the current horror fans seem to want, but its a movie with great acting, very original, and really "gets under your skin." Expand
  3. AliciaS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    An awesomely creepy look at how delusion and paranoia can spread. Unbelievable acting. The first half is a little slow, but it becomes more An awesomely creepy look at how delusion and paranoia can spread. Unbelievable acting. The first half is a little slow, but it becomes more and more creepy as it builds up to a very powerful end. As a Psych major, I ate it up. I have never seen anything else to even begin to compare it to! Unique and clever. A must-see for anyone interested in the human psyche. Expand
  4. MarthaP.
    Jun 2, 2007
    5
    There is a lot to like in this gritty, claustrophobic, sometimes funny, horror movie. But the writing lacks coherence and logic. The There is a lot to like in this gritty, claustrophobic, sometimes funny, horror movie. But the writing lacks coherence and logic. The political rants are not grounded. Implausible tragedy and madness, granted, are hard to write well. Expand
  5. BrookeW
    Oct 1, 2007
    2
    Previews for Bug made the movie seem like a thriller about a virus that causes insanity or delusions
  6. MelissaD.
    May 31, 2007
    1
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen...I was expecting it to be good after reading that it received so many favorable reviews, This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen...I was expecting it to be good after reading that it received so many favorable reviews, but I was severely disappointed. It started off ok, but just as soon as I thought it was going to get really interesting it just got irritating. The dialogue was too forced, and the last 20 minutes were way too over the top and it ended in the most disappointing way...definitely do not recommend it. Expand
  7. JSmith
    May 28, 2007
    0
    First movie in a long while that I was tempted to walk out on. This flick is for only those people who like to watch wack-o people doing First movie in a long while that I was tempted to walk out on. This flick is for only those people who like to watch wack-o people doing their wack-o thing. Collapse

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.
  2. Music Monday (8/18): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (8/18): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: August 18, 2014
    Our guide to this week's album releases also features streams of upcoming albums from Basement Jaxx, J Mascis, Ty Segall, The Bug, Merchandise, and more. Plus, catch up on the week's music news, and watch new music videos from artists like Arcade Fire, The Black Keys, and Röyksopp & Robyn.
  3. Music Monday (6/16): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (6/16): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    Our guide to this week's album releases also features streams of upcoming albums and tracks from Tom Petty, Kimbra, Phish, The Bug, and more. Plus, catch up on the week's music news, and watch new music videos from artists like Nicki Minaj, Atmosphere, and Mastodon.
  4. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.