Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: February 1, 2013
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
57
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
TVJerryFeb 12, 2013
Walter Hill used to be a top action director and Sylvester Stallone was once an action hero. Both men have blown it with this lame dud. Stallone plays a hit man who teams up with a cop (Sung Kang) to avenge their partners and shut down aWalter Hill used to be a top action director and Sylvester Stallone was once an action hero. Both men have blown it with this lame dud. Stallone plays a hit man who teams up with a cop (Sung Kang) to avenge their partners and shut down a group of gangsters. Stallone acts more wooden than ever and the character's weak attempt to channel Eastwood's racist curmudgeon in "Grand Turino" is embarrassing. The action and writing are uninspired. Just skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BrianMcCriticJul 17, 2013
Why did this film go into the theaters? This is a straight to DVD action movie similar to the one's done by Steven Seagal and Jean Claude Van Damme. If you are a huge action movie fan you may like this for me it's sub par. D+
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BroyaxJun 5, 2017
Ce sacré Walter Hill tente de nous refaire le coup du film de potes à l'insu de leur plein gré (je te déteste, moi aussi mais je t'aime quand même moi non plus), à savoir deux gars que tout sépare réunis par des circonstances criminelles trèsCe sacré Walter Hill tente de nous refaire le coup du film de potes à l'insu de leur plein gré (je te déteste, moi aussi mais je t'aime quand même moi non plus), à savoir deux gars que tout sépare réunis par des circonstances criminelles très improbables. A l'instar des 48 Heures ou Double Détente, ce vieux Walter joue sur les clichés des flics et truands ainsi que sur un peu de racisme bon teint-mal gré sous couvert d'une comédie d'action qui aligne une quantité impressionnante de macabés, de fusillades et de pains dans la gueule.

C'est au moins (à peu près) filmé correctement et le rythme reste assez élevé pour qu'on ne s'ennuie pas ; naturellement l'espèce d'histoire ne casse pas trois pattes à un canard mais contrairement aux polars hollywoodiens habituels, on peut reluquer de temps à autre un peu de chair fraîche de bonnasses. En outre, la musique avec quelques guitares électriques est d'un assez bon cru si l'on aime ce genre-là.

Cependant, le bât blesse sévèrement en la personne de notre retraité Sylvestre Beuhar qui s'évertue à faire semblant d'être drôle tout en restant sérieux (à moins que ce ne soit l'inverse) et qui ne s'est jamais révélé aussi mauvais de toute sa carrière à part peut-être dans Expendabeule ou Arrête ou ma mère va tirer...

Son faire-valoir asiatique est logé à la même enseigne et au diapason de l'incroyable médiocrité ambiante ; les dialogues sortis d'on ne sait où (une poubelle sans doute) sont également très affligeants et donnent envie de s'enfuir, à défaut d'essayer de "rire".

Voilà donc une comédie peu recommandable mais un film d'action qui serait presque honnête si on changeait tous les acteurs et tous les dialogues : gardez les filles par contre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
smiyamotJun 19, 2016
Stallone does not show much emotion so movies like Rambo are a good fit for him. This movie requires him to interact with others so it's not a good fit. The story itself is over the top, although I've seen many movies about the New OrleansStallone does not show much emotion so movies like Rambo are a good fit for him. This movie requires him to interact with others so it's not a good fit. The story itself is over the top, although I've seen many movies about the New Orleans police being on the take, so maybe it's closer to real life then I think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bruce722Jul 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bullet to the Heat is a decent action film with some high quality fight scenes and good acting. Sylvester Stallone plays his typical BA role and Sung Kang continues to emerge as a potential star on the rise. I also loved the addition, though small, of Sarah Shahi. I really hope she starts to get some bigger roles because she is a fantastic actress and has such a unique and exotic look. The flaws in the movie were pretty major though. The plot development was frantic and sort of a mess and the element of Kang's character being ignorant to the police's involvement seemed kind of silly considering how obvious is was to the audience and even the rest of the characters in the film. The gun play was also horrendous. How many movies are going to use the silencer in this unrealistic fashion? It's really getting old. I also thought Sly's character was a little over the top. It's tough to "root for" a protagonist that you can't stand and his character was a bit too much of a jerk to get in his corner. On a slightly off-topic note, I find it ironic that Stallone has opined against guns and the 2nd amendment but then makes movies like this where there are criminals and crooked cops left and right. Talk about hypocrisy. Back to the point though, this was a decent movie that had some entertainment value but nothing more really. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Mar 24, 2013
If only director Walter Hill could make a great Sylvestor Stallone action movie like memorable hits such "Rambo" and "The Expandables", but i guess this is all he can give to us. It's not that it's terrible because it's not terrible, but it'sIf only director Walter Hill could make a great Sylvestor Stallone action movie like memorable hits such "Rambo" and "The Expandables", but i guess this is all he can give to us. It's not that it's terrible because it's not terrible, but it's storyline is uninteresting and unoriginal. If this movie had came out in the 80s, it probably could have been a big hit. But since it's 2013, i don't think we're into those typical action movies anymore. Overall, just a boring, unoriginal story of vengeance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hoops2448Jun 4, 2013
Can a film built on cliches and hammy acting be any good? No, it can't but it can pass the time better than you might expect. When hit man Jimmy Bobo (Sylvester Stallone) loses his partner Louis (Jon Seda) in a double cross he joins forcesCan a film built on cliches and hammy acting be any good? No, it can't but it can pass the time better than you might expect. When hit man Jimmy Bobo (Sylvester Stallone) loses his partner Louis (Jon Seda) in a double cross he joins forces with Taylor Kwon (Sung Kang), a DC police officer whose partner was killed by the same group. The problem with Bullet to the Head isn't that it feels like been there done that, its that it believes its actually being original, that it isn't the hundredth odd couple action film to exist, at least when the Last Boy Scout came out, it didn't pretend it was something it wasn't, original. Almost the entirety of Bullet to the Head is cliches and while they irritate the film does have some thrills to it. The action is good, not great but its got a certain charm, the film uses profanity properly, it actually feels like it belongs and these two characters meld well meaning the cheesy dialogue does provide a few laughs although the script is filled with unnatural dialogue delivered by actors who can clearly tell its dreadful. The supporting cast is awful with Christian Slater continuing his slow journey to obscurity and Jason Momoa playing a unintentionally hilarious sadist. All in all the film is filled with problems but its oddly still fun watching Sly murder countless numbers of people even if at times it doesn't make a lick of sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oblique15May 31, 2014
I usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually find movies located in New Orleans to be bad, and this was no different. Now I usually like movies withI usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually find movies located in New Orleans to be bad, and this was no different. Now I usually like movies with Sylvester Stallone, but this was different. It was just an average action movie, and had the low budget feeling. Honestly I can`t blame it on any of the actors. I just didn`t care for the movie overall. I found it to be a very forgettable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
StevieGJDFeb 5, 2013
This is no great film. The script is often stupid (both in terms of dialog and plot) and a number of the main actors are just terrible (Jason Mamoa is abysmal and Stallone is typically stiff) But it is a decent action movie that isThis is no great film. The script is often stupid (both in terms of dialog and plot) and a number of the main actors are just terrible (Jason Mamoa is abysmal and Stallone is typically stiff) But it is a decent action movie that is actually entertaining in that context for a majority of the movie. Anyone who has zero expectations should not be watching this movie. You need to go in with an action movie expectation and its fine, not great, but fine. But why would anyone trust the reviews of anyone who always gives a 0, a la Marco? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SimpleMethodJul 8, 2013
Too cheesy, but there were a lot of great blood and bullet effects. It also felt a bit too short, but it wasn't the biggest disservice to the graphic novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
theofficeFeb 18, 2013
Solid movie that seems like it is out of the 80s with an ok story and good action sequences. Stallone is still awesome per usual. There were some cliche lines that seemed intentionally overdone. The detective (Kang) was poorly acted andSolid movie that seems like it is out of the 80s with an ok story and good action sequences. Stallone is still awesome per usual. There were some cliche lines that seemed intentionally overdone. The detective (Kang) was poorly acted and annoying at times. Regardless this was definitely the best of the most recent 2 action movies out (Parker and Die Hard). So if you like mind-numbing action movies this is a pretty well done one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
NotoriousFraudJan 25, 2015
The weak script, lax directing, cheap as hell story based off a lesser known graphic novel, and cheesy performances can't really do anything but put another nail in the coffin of Sylvester Stallone's past box office assurance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OroiaelFeb 6, 2013
Sorry, but the only thing that went through my head the whole movie was "Yo! Adriane" and I kept looking for Sly to jog up those famous Philly steps. I'm pretty sure that other things happened in the movie, but nothing could break my trance.Sorry, but the only thing that went through my head the whole movie was "Yo! Adriane" and I kept looking for Sly to jog up those famous Philly steps. I'm pretty sure that other things happened in the movie, but nothing could break my trance. Sly is Rocky. Nothing else matters. If you want to see an action flick with an aging star I'd save my money and go see the new Die Hard movie when it comes out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JohnrieberFeb 4, 2013
"Bullet To The Head" is entertaining in a mindless way in fact, it's the perfect 80's film bone-crushing violence, action and slightly "past-their-sell-date" one-liners. If this has been released in 1986 it would be #1 at the box office."Bullet To The Head" is entertaining in a mindless way in fact, it's the perfect 80's film bone-crushing violence, action and slightly "past-their-sell-date" one-liners. If this has been released in 1986 it would be #1 at the box office. An entertaining and oddly out of date film that grinds out for an audience that no longer exists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jcasetnlSep 3, 2013
A ho-hum action flick that fills the summer need but won't be remembered. Stallone's face is starting to look like he just lost to Apollo but pretty much all the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
soren40Feb 22, 2013
It's a good Stallone movie as far as action goes but it is ultimately let down by a cliched plot and stiff characters. Sung Kang plays his usual but he is better in the fast and furious movies. To conclude if you are looking for a popcornIt's a good Stallone movie as far as action goes but it is ultimately let down by a cliched plot and stiff characters. Sung Kang plays his usual but he is better in the fast and furious movies. To conclude if you are looking for a popcorn entertainment movie this will be a good movie for you but otherwise it fails to deliver. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FinfidMay 24, 2013
For a recent Stalone flick, this isn't that bad. A few too many hollywood insider jokes, but what do you expect from a guy like Stalone. I suppose the credit mostly due to the direction of Walter Hill and the supporting role played by SungFor a recent Stalone flick, this isn't that bad. A few too many hollywood insider jokes, but what do you expect from a guy like Stalone. I suppose the credit mostly due to the direction of Walter Hill and the supporting role played by Sung Kang and Jason Momoa. If you are a dude (or a chick that likes bravado) this movie is a decent middle of the road watch.

Some nit picking. Why is Jimmy Bobo such a "bad" hitman? He leaves witnesses all over the place. Sentimental Hitmen don't live long.

p.s. how come I never get invited to topless masquerade balls?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
SpidersOct 26, 2014
A disastrously pointless excuse for a movie. Why does Sylvester Stallone star in a movie in his sixties with a shirt off! Seriously he's old and there's nothing to show! Stallone plays Jimmy Bobo, a fearless assassin who kills his targets andA disastrously pointless excuse for a movie. Why does Sylvester Stallone star in a movie in his sixties with a shirt off! Seriously he's old and there's nothing to show! Stallone plays Jimmy Bobo, a fearless assassin who kills his targets and in this movie we are totally unaware if he's working on his own demands or if he's a contracted killer with a boss. He poses another action flick with not much excitement to promise. The only decent actor is Sung Kang, who plays a detective called Taylor Kwon: a cop who associates with Bobo as they attempt to track down and take out the killer, played by Jason Momoa. Their relationship in this particular case is hard to bear and they might as well have killed each other to save the bother of working together. Bobo also has a daughter who appears in bits of the movie and she's a tattooist who mostly tattoos herself and makes her look ridiculous.

Director Walter Hill's 1987 action flick, starring Arnold Schwarzenegger, which was Red Heat was quite boring as well as is Bullet to the Head, but Red Heat had Arnie in it and he's more entertaining and fabulous to watch! Bullet to the Head is just a major let down and hopefully there's no sequel on the way any time soon.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews