Bullet to the Head

Bullet to the Head Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    Bullet to the Head doesn't try to adapt its star to 2013. It just pretends that we're still living in 1986. And for 91 minutes, it just about works.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Jan 31, 2013
    70
    Stallone looks great (even if his face doesn't quite move when he talks), while Hill (48 Hours, The Warriors) brings lean economy to the film's bloody, unapologetic mayhem.
  3. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    Jan 31, 2013
    67
    This film feels like one you discover late at night and watch for ten minutes before remembering you've already seen it, and yet we still kinda loved it.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    It's a surprise that Stallone is as funny as he is playing a hit man paired with a cop in Bullet to the Head. He's man-cave witty in a way that his "Expendables" movies have strived for but haven't really managed.
  5. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    42
    Unfortunately the bulk of the picture is cut together like a beer commercial on poorly lit cheap video without much panache. Unless primary colors with a gauzy halo is panache.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Like Stallone, director Walter Hill is also far from his heyday ("The Warriors," "48 HRS.," "Streets of Fire"), but the old-guy camaraderie behind the scenes is evident. Despite the movie being based on a graphic novel, no one adds extra flash here just to appease the kids.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 31, 2013
    20
    By the end I could have used a Bulleit to the mouth.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    A total throwback to the 80's action, amazing, just amazing, you will have a great time watching this movie if you enjoy those full actionA total throwback to the 80's action, amazing, just amazing, you will have a great time watching this movie if you enjoy those full action movies from the past. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    A surprisingly old-school feeling action movie that plays well off of Stallone. The action is solid and realistic, and there's even someA surprisingly old-school feeling action movie that plays well off of Stallone. The action is solid and realistic, and there's even some decently funny moments. Outside of the slow start my only real complaint withthe movie is that it puts too much emphasis on the plot, which is overly familiar and the team up theme of the movie ends up going nowhere. Still, if you're a Stallone fan or are just looking for an action movie with an old-school feel, then this will provide for a good watch. It's not great, but it's still enjoyable. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    7
    Hope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. WeHope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. We got one good Expendables film and now we get Arnie, Willis, and of course Stallone shoveled into their own me too action fiestas. If you are a fan of action films and old people jokes then this is the year for you! Oh, this is a movie review not a rant column. Sorry, the movie is a great Stallone movie. As it should be being directed by the master of this genre. Expand
  4. May 24, 2013
    5
    For a recent Stalone flick, this isn't that bad. A few too many hollywood insider jokes, but what do you expect from a guy like Stalone. IFor a recent Stalone flick, this isn't that bad. A few too many hollywood insider jokes, but what do you expect from a guy like Stalone. I suppose the credit mostly due to the direction of Walter Hill and the supporting role played by Sung Kang and Jason Momoa. If you are a dude (or a chick that likes bravado) this movie is a decent middle of the road watch.

    Some nit picking. Why is Jimmy Bobo such a "bad" hitman? He leaves witnesses all over the place. Sentimental Hitmen don't live long.

    p.s. how come I never get invited to topless masquerade balls?
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2014
    5
    I usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually findI usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually find movies located in New Orleans to be bad, and this was no different. Now I usually like movies with Sylvester Stallone, but this was different. It was just an average action movie, and had the low budget feeling. Honestly I can`t blame it on any of the actors. I just didn`t care for the movie overall. I found it to be a very forgettable movie. Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    4
    Why did this film go into the theaters? This is a straight to DVD action movie similar to the one's done by Steven Seagal and Jean Claude VanWhy did this film go into the theaters? This is a straight to DVD action movie similar to the one's done by Steven Seagal and Jean Claude Van Damme. If you are a huge action movie fan you may like this for me it's sub par. D+ Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I went in with ZERO expectations and came out in the NEGATIVE column. It was beyond bad. In many ways it's reprehensible. The story isI went in with ZERO expectations and came out in the NEGATIVE column. It was beyond bad. In many ways it's reprehensible. The story is ridiculous and the dialogue is tedious. Seeing a 70 yr Stallone all steroid-ed up with his face still botched up, was unnerving. Seeing him battle the young, hunky
    Jason M... was a just an embarrassment. Skip this one folks! Save your hard-earned dollars and see something else.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 2, 2012
    Watch new trailers for "Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters," "Bullet to the Head," and "G.I. Joe: Retaliation," get the latest odds on who will direct Disney's (!) Star Wars VII, and catch up on all the week's movie news.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.