Burlesque

Burlesque Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ali is a small-town girl with a big voice who escapes hardship and an uncertain future to follow her dreams to LA. After stumbling upon The Burlesque Lounge, a majestic but ailing theater that is home to an inspired musical revue, Ali lands a job as a cocktail waitress from Tess, the club’sAli is a small-town girl with a big voice who escapes hardship and an uncertain future to follow her dreams to LA. After stumbling upon The Burlesque Lounge, a majestic but ailing theater that is home to an inspired musical revue, Ali lands a job as a cocktail waitress from Tess, the club’s proprietor and headliner. Burlesque’s outrageous costumes and bold choreography enrapture the young ingenue, who vows to perform there one day. Soon enough, Ali builds a friendship with a featured dancer, finds an enemy in a troubled, jealous performer, and garners the affection of Jack, a bartender and fellow musician. With the help of a sharp-witted stage manager and gender-bending host, Ali makes her way from the bar to the stage. Her spectacular voice restores The Burlesque Lounge to its former glory, though not before a charismatic entrepreneur arrives with an enticing proposal. (Sony Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 9, 2010
    100
    It's big, perfectly cast and entertaining in every way, but more than that it feels like a generous public event.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    The results, while occasionally forced, are consistently amusing.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    Burlesque delivers eyeful after eyeful of rapid-fire opulence and spectacle. But its most memorable sight is the indelible image of one star taking flight, and another triumphantly staying put.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Those looking for another "Showgirls" will be disappointed - writer-director Steve Antin avoids the seamy side of the business, and the same-sex flirtation is mostly between guys.
  5. 50
    Falling in the pillowy cleavage between mildly awful and slightly entertaining, Burlesque is a clichéd rags-to-diva story that culminates in a series of Christina Aguilera videos.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 9, 2010
    42
    If you go to Burlesque expecting a campy hoot on the order of "Showgirls," you may be in for a disappointment. It's not quite awful enough, although it's plenty bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 9, 2010
    20
    Basically a theme-park version of a tawdry tradition.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 62
  2. Negative: 9 out of 62
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    this film is so much fun! it has a lot going for it in terms of xtina, and when you walk out of the theatre you realise how great her voicethis film is so much fun! it has a lot going for it in terms of xtina, and when you walk out of the theatre you realise how great her voice is!!! she is amazing as is the rest of the cast, but christina's film debut leaves you wanting more! Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    BURLESQUE is the movie of the year. i love xtina, and i will always love what she will be doing in the future,! i watched the video for soBURLESQUE is the movie of the year. i love xtina, and i will always love what she will be doing in the future,! i watched the video for so many times now and i cant get over with it! Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    BURLESQUE is so BURLESQUE they did a perfect work and delivery a msg to the world have fun without touch Fun Fun Fun , so amazing film inBURLESQUE is so BURLESQUE they did a perfect work and delivery a msg to the world have fun without touch Fun Fun Fun , so amazing film in general the film count with super performances the music is so good !!!! Collapse
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    First half of the movie was a 9.5... really like the theatric stuff... most of the songs and singings were good except some doesn't quiteFirst half of the movie was a 9.5... really like the theatric stuff... most of the songs and singings were good except some doesn't quite suit Cher's range and style; just by 2cents anyways. the love part was not done well at all... or maybe just doesn't suit the plot... and this account for the other half of the movie which I barely give it a 6... it's such a shame! :( Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    6
    Burlesque does no favors for Aguilera's B acting -- and Broadway itself. But it's a mildly entertaining Hollywood musical that showcasesBurlesque does no favors for Aguilera's B acting -- and Broadway itself. But it's a mildly entertaining Hollywood musical that showcases Cher's still-powerful vocals. Expand
  6. May 29, 2011
    5
    I swear I've been almost taken by preconcept before seeing the movie, but I pressed to see it because when I saw the trailer, months ago, II swear I've been almost taken by preconcept before seeing the movie, but I pressed to see it because when I saw the trailer, months ago, I felt the movie would be book. Glad I believed on my feeling. Inside of the musical's proposal, the movie is great. Christina looks good, not only singing, but she's unrecognizable as character Ali. Cher is okay, as always. The production is faultless and the performances makes anyone to get chills indeed. Of course there are some things that aren't that good, the drama could have been a little more elaborated and some cliche moments could be avoided, but nothing that compremets the movie for complete. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    1
    The movie Burlesque is much like Christina Aguliera's career , tacky, predictable & recycled .
    Every dance number and line are lifted from
    The movie Burlesque is much like Christina Aguliera's career , tacky, predictable & recycled .
    Every dance number and line are lifted from another movie, Cher is great per usual but Christina's performance leaves something to be desired.
    It's a wonder why the cast (except Christina) would attach themselves to such a uncomfortable campy poorly written movie.
    Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Trailers