Overture Films | Release Date: September 23, 2009
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
12
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BrianOct 19, 2009
Very impressive and engaging pastiche of images and personal testimonies. His interviewees, particularly the families who have lost everything, are the driving force of the narrative. I appreciated this film as the culmination of Very impressive and engaging pastiche of images and personal testimonies. His interviewees, particularly the families who have lost everything, are the driving force of the narrative. I appreciated this film as the culmination of Moore's general argument about corporate victimization which has underlain his previous entries. A tour-de-force of documentary filmaking, and a career-defining film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GotaSoulOct 4, 2009
This is the best movie of the year by far! Michael Moore should be given both an Oscar and the Nobel Prized for economics.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
julianjSep 28, 2009
If people understood this movie they wouldn't be saying that michael moore is a communist. Stupidity is the reason for all these problems. Americans need to get the 50's propoganda of the soviet union out of their head and look at If people understood this movie they wouldn't be saying that michael moore is a communist. Stupidity is the reason for all these problems. Americans need to get the 50's propoganda of the soviet union out of their head and look at the facts. Want proof a communist country in china could strangle your economy at any point, now answer which economic system is better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TubieNov 2, 2010
Even if what is said or shown in this documentary is true, I can't help but to feel some of the same anger shown here against the banks and capitalism towards Michael himself. Why didn't he release this movie for free, it's easy to talk butEven if what is said or shown in this documentary is true, I can't help but to feel some of the same anger shown here against the banks and capitalism towards Michael himself. Why didn't he release this movie for free, it's easy to talk but it's not easy actually doing what you preach. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
aasfdOct 3, 2009
Utter Crap....Hes trying to sell you his thoughts! He is washed up and instead work as a Corner store clerk! I use to respect him...But now hes Mr. Know it all, who knows nothing! pass!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SamOct 6, 2009
What a pile of crap. MM needs to move to a nice place like Cuba. There he can make films all he wants, until the government kills him for treason.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
stephensSep 27, 2009
A terrific movie. If you're ignorant enough to think that you have to accept the capitalist/corporate takeover of this country or move to Cuba, you won't go to the movie anyway. If you're foolish enough not to understand how A terrific movie. If you're ignorant enough to think that you have to accept the capitalist/corporate takeover of this country or move to Cuba, you won't go to the movie anyway. If you're foolish enough not to understand how the corporate power structure has ruined our economy and culture, call Michael Moore names and stick your head back in the sand. Richard R: Learn to spell or proofread. Paul: Living in a democracy means that you can call for changes in the way things are run. If you don't like the process called freedom, go live somewhere else...your choice. Syzygy: I hope that your first language isn't english, because your review is nonsense. Did you read it before you posted it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeraldOct 2, 2009
All these people here talk about misinformation and they watch Faux News and get all huffy about a birth certificate and the tooth fairy...please...this movie goes for the jugular of the perverted children of eighties excess. This All these people here talk about misinformation and they watch Faux News and get all huffy about a birth certificate and the tooth fairy...please...this movie goes for the jugular of the perverted children of eighties excess. This doesn't attack capitalism parse, but attacks the lack of conscience that is created by the accumulation of too much power...an interesting socioeconomic study of what American values are coming too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelD.Oct 3, 2009
Yes, Michael Moore oversimplifies and tries to correlate things that aren't correlated, but the movie was entertaining and there are some fundamental truths that do ring home.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
uluru28Sep 26, 2009
If you've seen other Michael Moore films, you're familiar with his style, and it's more of the same here. Where I differ from the other user reviews here, is that this is not a criticism of capitalism in general - it's a If you've seen other Michael Moore films, you're familiar with his style, and it's more of the same here. Where I differ from the other user reviews here, is that this is not a criticism of capitalism in general - it's a criticism of the *corruption* of our capitalistic system and where it has gone wrong, to put us in our current predicament. It's not capitalism itself that MM considers a cancer, but what it has *become* in the US - which is surely not what our forefathers had in mind. But as another reviewer mentioned, this is not "liberal" filmmaking, MM has plenty of criticism for the Repubs and the Dems. What nobody can really dispute is the extent to which lobbyists and special interest groups have permeated and corrupted our legislative processes (yes, I suppose like a "cancer") - which is how you get situations like former bank CEO's rewriting our economic regulations in a way that, surprise, is good for a few bank executives in the short run and results in a major recession some years later. If you believe capitalism is beyond reproach or that any criticism of it whatsoever is an endorsement of "socialism" or is "un-American", you'll probably hate this film - but MM does present a lot of legitimate issues here and with an open mind you might learn something. Say what you will about MM, but his films are effective and skillfully assembled, and he gets people talking one way or the other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamSep 30, 2009
Another great movie from Michael Moore. Don't be fooled by the right wing operatives above. They are paid to go on sites and purvey their usual "obama and moore are socialists" crap. Any time the facts come out, they usually come out on Another great movie from Michael Moore. Don't be fooled by the right wing operatives above. They are paid to go on sites and purvey their usual "obama and moore are socialists" crap. Any time the facts come out, they usually come out on the wrong side of what can be observed or measured. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomSSep 30, 2009
You have to take the rating for this movie with a grain of salt. Some reviewers will definitely go out of their way to hurt the score (New York Post) due to political bias (Rupert Murdoch owns the Post). So don't let the commenters and You have to take the rating for this movie with a grain of salt. Some reviewers will definitely go out of their way to hurt the score (New York Post) due to political bias (Rupert Murdoch owns the Post). So don't let the commenters and all that fool you, they don't care if the movie is good or if it's even true, they are here to take a shot at Michael Moore above all else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisOct 1, 2009
The usual over-baked film from Moore, filled with his usual one-sided, factually questionable, hit-you-over-the-head self righteousness. I have come to believe that Moore is the worst thing to happen to documentary films in decades.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OccamROct 10, 2009
It's an excellent movie. Two or three things stand out: showing how Sully the hero pilot testified in Congress and that got no almost no media attention (because it was sad commentary on airlines); the part where corporations buy life It's an excellent movie. Two or three things stand out: showing how Sully the hero pilot testified in Congress and that got no almost no media attention (because it was sad commentary on airlines); the part where corporations buy life insurance on their employees and bemoan their low death rate. The movie is about Greed, and that's what American capitalism is all about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
grrrllllOct 1, 2009
But capitalism is a cancer of the human being. Those who believe it is not are themselves infected. Maybe not the best film ever made, but representative of a message that is becoming all the more popular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
rcOct 12, 2009
Boring!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PedroOct 13, 2009
MM craves on conspiracy theory maniacs and fills is pockets with all of "you". Is worst then the things he talk about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigOct 3, 2009
The critics of this movie are either naive or unwilling to face the reality of how the government in this country is actually run.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CruisinLindaMOct 4, 2009
We all need to know as informed voters these specific stories of how families lose their homes from foreclosure after generations of ownership because they were enticed to take home equity loans with harsh terms in small print. We need to We all need to know as informed voters these specific stories of how families lose their homes from foreclosure after generations of ownership because they were enticed to take home equity loans with harsh terms in small print. We need to see how big corporations like GM cut thousands of jobs every year to increase productivity. We should know that corporations like Wal-Mart insured the lives of tens of thousands of low-level employees in what is called "dead peasant" insurance. No wonder they provide inadequate health insurance. We see how they track profits based on mortality. We learn how Bank of America took over Republic Windows in Chicago and closed the factory without paying employees. They staged a sit in for six days and got supportive visits from the bishop and members of Congress. Moore picks on Democrats as well as Republicans. At the end he shows solutions, like FDR's Second Bill of Rights and an interview with Sen. Bernie Sanders of VT on Democratic Socialism. Regardless of your political biases, this film will open your eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickSOct 8, 2009
I never really understand all the Michael Moore haters. Here's a guy who obviously loves his country and hates to see inequality. He is standing up for you against those who don't feel they have to play by the rules and buy up the I never really understand all the Michael Moore haters. Here's a guy who obviously loves his country and hates to see inequality. He is standing up for you against those who don't feel they have to play by the rules and buy up the lawmakers thereby freeing themselves to be as grimy as they like. It is truly sickening. When you it finally dawns on you who the real assholes are get back to me. Excellent. The conservatives are just jealous cause he's about a thousand times more wit than they do! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
syzygySep 24, 2009
Mikey is a cheap propagandist whose worst deficiency all these years has been dishonesty. He never so much cared for people's plight as needing it to push his gross beliefs. Finally, with his latest putrid opus, he is far less scared Mikey is a cheap propagandist whose worst deficiency all these years has been dishonesty. He never so much cared for people's plight as needing it to push his gross beliefs. Finally, with his latest putrid opus, he is far less scared because he feels comfortable with our current financial crisis in ways that did not show in prior films. He reveals more of his core beliefs rather than simply dancing on the periphery of the crises. He is a true Marxist, a person who doesn't think capitalism suffers from momentary convulsions but is a cancer on all societies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexLSep 25, 2009
Woah. I was shocked to find out the metacritic rating was so high for this movie. I went and was absolutely stunned to see all of the misinformation Moore provides. Where does he get his stats? From 30 people? Now, I know he's an Woah. I was shocked to find out the metacritic rating was so high for this movie. I went and was absolutely stunned to see all of the misinformation Moore provides. Where does he get his stats? From 30 people? Now, I know he's an entertainer, but many critics are referring to the movie as an "eye-opener". For what? Shock value? This is the poorest "documentary" I've ever seen in terms of journalistic quality. I actually liked Sicko because I see his point; this movie just completely misses the mark. He's desperate for more attention, and got it for all the wrong reasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KFSep 25, 2009
Look, you can hate on Moore all you want for making what amounts to op-ed-umentaries. But he's not some America hating communist that needs to move to Cuba. He's a New Deal Democrat-- he believes in unions, mom and pop stores, Look, you can hate on Moore all you want for making what amounts to op-ed-umentaries. But he's not some America hating communist that needs to move to Cuba. He's a New Deal Democrat-- he believes in unions, mom and pop stores, workers rights, all that stuff. When he condemns 'capitalism,' he's condemning rampant corporatism; stuff like' Too Big To Fail,' and making a buck being more important than people's lives. I actually think we can pretty much all agree on that stuff-- Moore says Wall Street is a bunch of greedy bastards who stole our money. Nobody's really disputing that fact. So all you Glenn Beck-ites saying that Moore should move to Cuba, I say that you and Moore actually probably have a lot in common. You can disagree with his methods, or think he's pompous, but when he says that giant-ass corporations are the biggest threat to our democracy from within, everyone should really think about it. It's not that capitalism is bad, it's not-- rampant corporatism, however, is. Just my thoughts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobB.Sep 30, 2009
The Capitalist Micheal Moore tells us Capitalism is a scam. Who is scamming who? I didn't realize he donates all the money he makes from his movies to charity. Oh, that's right, he doesn't. Don't you think Moore makes too The Capitalist Micheal Moore tells us Capitalism is a scam. Who is scamming who? I didn't realize he donates all the money he makes from his movies to charity. Oh, that's right, he doesn't. Don't you think Moore makes too much money? Maybe the Federal Government should get involved and limit the amount of money Moore makes. What a joke of a human being. Move to Europe you fat wealthy pig! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
OrthoS.Sep 30, 2009
Moore is a gasbag who makes sloppy movies, but at least he asks questions. By the way, I read the full text of Kyle Smith's NYP review. I don't know that I have ever read film criticism as right wing propaganda before. When did Moore is a gasbag who makes sloppy movies, but at least he asks questions. By the way, I read the full text of Kyle Smith's NYP review. I don't know that I have ever read film criticism as right wing propaganda before. When did Glenn Beck join At the Movies? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadarGunBlowSep 30, 2009
Why should Moore move from his own country? He's entitled to his view and besides the drive for efficiency and profit has caused the US to have the largest inequality gap between rich and poor in the whole world. For years we've Why should Moore move from his own country? He's entitled to his view and besides the drive for efficiency and profit has caused the US to have the largest inequality gap between rich and poor in the whole world. For years we've been told by 99.9 per cent of the Western world's self-serving Neo-Conservative media that devolvement of power from Government to the free market and the world's greedist people is a way to sustain a just world. But the insanity which for years has made the world a great place for only a tiny fracttion of the world's population by exploiting vulnerable workers in countries condemed by Capittalists(Who despise China but don't mind shafting US jobs to relocate to workforces unprotected by any kind of unions to improve, filthy, dirty and degrading conditions for paltry pay) whose festering, bloated gorgefest has now inevitably blown up in their faces. But what should have forced change has only re-enforced the power and greed of the overbearing private Sector that along with spying and building profiles on our internet movements and privatising the streets we walk unelected now have the power to dip their hands in our pockets and hold us to ransom whenever they like. At a time where Neo-Conservative is tearing the world apart and the right-wing media which controls 99.9m per cent of output is desperately scrambling to prop up our corrupt, minority serving institutions it's a wonder there are not more voices like Moore. That we get to hear any voice of reason at all in our Private Sector controlled world though is a wonder in itself. Something we could do alot more of. As for the Private Sector goon squads who surf the web looking to quash any vaguely questioning voice of the all powerful zenith that is the great Capitalism I have nothing to give you but a good old fashioned two fingered salute. Time for a fairer world before greed destroys us all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanKOct 11, 2009
For the past several years, Michael Moore has released films showing the truth behind America in the new century and this is another one of them. Capitalism:The Love Story shows the way America is seen which is as a business. Companies are For the past several years, Michael Moore has released films showing the truth behind America in the new century and this is another one of them. Capitalism:The Love Story shows the way America is seen which is as a business. Companies are shown in this film to be ruthless seeing middle-class Americans as inferior who they consider to be nothing more than money-makers for higger-ups in the companies. It presents sad stories and stories of hope which demonstrate the compassion which still remains in the U.S.. Like the way the novel " The Jungle" from 1906 demonstrated the horror many workers went through at the time, we have a film one-hundred and three years later that shows the horrors of America's biggest companies and the greed which exists in the heart of corrupt humans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicS.Oct 1, 2009
Do you SEE the others comments? These aren't reviews, they're just haters attacking this movie. I though it was very informational and very funny, and just to spite the haters, I'm giving it a 10. Yeah. Suck it haters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamS.Oct 1, 2009
Of course it's a polemic. If it weren't manipulative, it would be boring! He is a big goofball, but there are many valid points not being covered in the mainstream media. This is a good antidote to the regular news, to get you Of course it's a polemic. If it weren't manipulative, it would be boring! He is a big goofball, but there are many valid points not being covered in the mainstream media. This is a good antidote to the regular news, to get you thinking and discussing. It's Michael Moore, so be aware, but it's still worthwhile to get a different point of view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GreatSOct 10, 2009
Loved it! I expect the Corporate media and reviewers to bash this. I also expect some right-wing nuts who didn't see it to give it a "0". Because the wealthy and the large corporatiosn and the Kool-Aid drinkers on the right are afraid Loved it! I expect the Corporate media and reviewers to bash this. I also expect some right-wing nuts who didn't see it to give it a "0". Because the wealthy and the large corporatiosn and the Kool-Aid drinkers on the right are afraid of this movie and this movement. This not only shows what a scary country we live in and how we the people have let the wealthy rip us off and take over our government, it shows you that a 99% us are ready to fight back. When only 1/3 of our youth believes in capitalism you know a change is coming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful