Sony Pictures Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 30, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 229 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
181
Mixed:
32
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JoeS.Apr 30, 2006
this is the worst movie ever the most boring movie i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PrestonB.Mar 30, 2009
This is possibly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Hoffman's performance is spot-on as Capote but the story is so boring. The remaining characters are one dimensional. Tediously slow at times, I struggled to watch it till the This is possibly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Hoffman's performance is spot-on as Capote but the story is so boring. The remaining characters are one dimensional. Tediously slow at times, I struggled to watch it till the end. Definitely overrated. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
RadCompanyDotNetNov 3, 2005
Artist's lives are not always as gripping as their works and this is a perfect example of the difference between "cineastes" and real thinking audiences. Why are we being dragged through this miserable experience of writing and having Artist's lives are not always as gripping as their works and this is a perfect example of the difference between "cineastes" and real thinking audiences. Why are we being dragged through this miserable experience of writing and having our noses rubbed in it's over-hyped self importance? All these critics are telling you that Capote is, or should be, an Oscar contender. I don't know about an Oscar, but if I was catering this film I'd throw Hoffman a weiner and let the rest of the production starve. It relies too much on the audience's percieved respect for its heady subject matter, which is poorly judged, The film is as smitten with itself as Capote was at dinner parties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShaniaD.May 24, 2006
This movie is simply awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SierraC.Apr 13, 2009
A rather pedantic piece of story-telling. Hoffman is a good actor but his portrayal in this one certainly does him no justice. It's so put-on and did nothing to bring credence to the character. I am indeed baffled by the ravings A rather pedantic piece of story-telling. Hoffman is a good actor but his portrayal in this one certainly does him no justice. It's so put-on and did nothing to bring credence to the character. I am indeed baffled by the ravings he's got in the media. The saving grace of the movie is the strong performance by Clifton Collins Jr who succeeded in providing a glimpse into the dark soul of a killer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SandraB.Apr 28, 2006
Are you people on crack or something? This movie is wildly overrated. I believe all of you had mistaken its dullness as something meaningful. A large portion of the movie was silent and tried to give some kind of thoughtful appearance when Are you people on crack or something? This movie is wildly overrated. I believe all of you had mistaken its dullness as something meaningful. A large portion of the movie was silent and tried to give some kind of thoughtful appearance when there was absolutely nothing to think about. It had no insight to Capote's life and as to why he was a weird depressed author who eventually died from alcoholism. There were absolutely no character development. If the director had tried then I can honestly tell you he failed. Also, Hoffman's acting was so atrociously over the top. It's digusting how people made this awful movie out as such a thoughtful, meaningful, and artful movie which it totally wasn't. Those people only scream PRETENTIOUS! This movie was trying so desperately to be meaningful, but it failed miserably. It is just a complete failure & disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
Phillip Seymour Hoffman is a phenomenal actor and he does a great job with what he's given in this movie. That is the only redeeming quality. This movie isn't funny, suspensful, scary, dramatic, or anything like that. It has no action. It hasPhillip Seymour Hoffman is a phenomenal actor and he does a great job with what he's given in this movie. That is the only redeeming quality. This movie isn't funny, suspensful, scary, dramatic, or anything like that. It has no action. It has almost no plot. It was so boring that after 50 minutes I had absolutely no reason to finish it. I suppose if you're a die-hard biopic fan, then you might get something out of this. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxJan 19, 2017
Une biographie à un moment clé de la vie de cet écrivain américain (Truman Capote...) qui va pondre un" roman-vérité" (sic) sur les deux assassins qui ont massacré une famille entière en 1959. Il les suit jusque dans le couloir de la mort etUne biographie à un moment clé de la vie de cet écrivain américain (Truman Capote...) qui va pondre un" roman-vérité" (sic) sur les deux assassins qui ont massacré une famille entière en 1959. Il les suit jusque dans le couloir de la mort et se lie d'amitié avec l'un d'eux, allant jusqu'à s'attendrir sur le sort de ces "pauvres meurtriers". J'ignore si le film suit le livre à la lettre mais ce misérabilisme larmoyant et complaisant de petit intellectuel bourgeois progressiste est à vomir.

Bien sûr, le film est aussi un portrait de l'écrivain lui-même, un dandy au sens de l'humour particulier, du genre qui rit à ses propres blagues même s'il dispose toujours d'un parterre de mange-boules à ses basques qui se bidonne à chacun de ses bons mots dans les soirées mondaines. Sa présentation et sa façon de parler à la fois maniérées et pédantes en font une folle des plus distinguées qui dénote encore davantage à cette époque la singularité du personnage, également journaliste et ami des stars cela va de soi.

D'une lenteur consternante et aussi emprunté que son rôle principal, le film est tout aussi peigne-cul et sa lourdeur ne fait aucun doute. Ce qui n'empêche pas de saluer la performance extraordinaire de Philip Seymour Hoffman, un acteur brillant et d'une grande intensité... qui s'époumone hélas un peu en vain dans ce film à la mords-moi-le-noeud.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews