User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1221 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    A pleasant surprise, easy cheesey fun and I say that as someone who has never read a Captain America comic book and probably never will, I'm not even American. The standard movie flag waving 'USA is awesome' even felt less hackneyed here than in many others of its ilk. It's not going to inspire many deep thoughts, but it will take you for a fun frivolous ride for an hour or so.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    6
    A period piece set in the second World War! What magic is this? Actually, It's a movie known as "Captain America: The First Avenger" and it actually holds up rather well against some other recent dreadful comic book films *cough* Iron Man 2 *cough*. It a small way it could almost be likened to "Inglourious Basterds" in that it follows fictional characters in a made up scenario, but in aA period piece set in the second World War! What magic is this? Actually, It's a movie known as "Captain America: The First Avenger" and it actually holds up rather well against some other recent dreadful comic book films *cough* Iron Man 2 *cough*. It a small way it could almost be likened to "Inglourious Basterds" in that it follows fictional characters in a made up scenario, but in a very REAL war. The action scenes and soundtrack are fantastic yet I couldn't help but feel that the script and direction were too overly simplified. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    6
    Like the latest X-men movie, Captain America add a new edge to the superhero formula, by pitting the said hero in world war 2. The director keeps the movie light throughout and does not go into the dark area that Dark Knight brought forward. This is surely not a bad thing especially in the beginning where the scenes are ace and a move in such a pacing that they are a complete funLike the latest X-men movie, Captain America add a new edge to the superhero formula, by pitting the said hero in world war 2. The director keeps the movie light throughout and does not go into the dark area that Dark Knight brought forward. This is surely not a bad thing especially in the beginning where the scenes are ace and a move in such a pacing that they are a complete fun experience. It all looks great especially Evan's transformation to the little guy is impeccable. After that it kind of goes down hill, the set pieces aren't that great and Cap is no Batman, he's just not that interesting. None of this is all that bad except for the fact that the ending is a huge anti-climax which kind of makes the whole movie pointless. Expand
  4. May 6, 2012
    6
    Captain America is the typical Marvel film-with one exception. The superpowers aren't terribly evident. Sure, he's muscled and strong, but there aren't any real powers given to him- except for maybe increased agility and strength, but not by much. And that's what saves the film- the audience can relate to Rogers' struggle without having to imagine themselves as a superhero in the firstCaptain America is the typical Marvel film-with one exception. The superpowers aren't terribly evident. Sure, he's muscled and strong, but there aren't any real powers given to him- except for maybe increased agility and strength, but not by much. And that's what saves the film- the audience can relate to Rogers' struggle without having to imagine themselves as a superhero in the first place. He's just like you and me- with a badass shield. Expand
  5. May 8, 2012
    6
    Not as good as I expected it to be. Maybe because I saw the Avengers first and it spoiled me. It's not bad for a one time watch but I can't see myself wanting to ever see it again. I'd rather read the comics.
  6. May 10, 2012
    4
    Okay, it's kid's movie. At a certain point that undeniable and disappointing. Not much in it for us sober adults. Stoned or buzzed should be the appropriate counter weight to all the corn ball simple mindedness. It starts off with just a sprinkling of mozzarella on top but then quickly gets cheezier and cheezier, until it'oozing all over everything and turning into a sloppy bland mess.
  7. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    The movie is similar to Thor; the movie's background is heavily limited, the actions are similar to stealth missions in games, and the dialogue is uninspired. However, this is better than Thor because of its capability to bring the morale of the movie and a bad-ass trailer for a upcoming movie in 2012.
  8. Oct 30, 2011
    6
    It is basically an above average film. However, I just personally do not like the ending - The ending is not proper enough - It does not respond back to the exposition of the film. It is just a fake cliffhanger which tries to attract us to watch "The Avengers" in the coming year. Pfff...
  9. Jan 17, 2012
    5
    Chris Evans is surprisingly believable as Steve Rogers. You believe that he believes. I still think he is miscast though. Maybe that is down to my stubborness of believing the only person who could of played Captain America was a 50 year old Robert Redford. The story is smart, but the action isn't nor is it frequent enough. I will be interested in see this Rogers in The Avengers though.
  10. Jul 24, 2011
    5
    Chris Evans stars a scrawny but scrappy guy who can't enlist to fight in WWII. Thanks to science, he's transformed into a hunk with mildly super powers and sets out to fight a diabolical villain. The film has no style; visual, directorial or narrative. It's earnest and lacking in humor, but the scifi elements aren't cool and the action is mediocre. It never drags, but it never soarsChris Evans stars a scrawny but scrappy guy who can't enlist to fight in WWII. Thanks to science, he's transformed into a hunk with mildly super powers and sets out to fight a diabolical villain. The film has no style; visual, directorial or narrative. It's earnest and lacking in humor, but the scifi elements aren't cool and the action is mediocre. It never drags, but it never soars either. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for a teaser for "The Avengers." Expand
  11. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    Captain America: The First Avenger succeeds more as a two-hour prequel for things to come than it does as a standalone film. It features an abundance of over-the-top action sequences, a series of convoluted plans that test the limits of your disbelief suspension, and a tacked-on romance that very much feels like it was added just so the producers of the film could claim to potential femaleCaptain America: The First Avenger succeeds more as a two-hour prequel for things to come than it does as a standalone film. It features an abundance of over-the-top action sequences, a series of convoluted plans that test the limits of your disbelief suspension, and a tacked-on romance that very much feels like it was added just so the producers of the film could claim to potential female movie-goers "hey, we have smoochies along with the punches!"

    See the full review here: http://boredomsadvocate.blogspot.com/2011/07/review-captain-america-first-avenger.html
    Expand
  12. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    I thought Captain Ameirca was a pretty decent movie, but the weakest out Avengers prelude movies. The two biggest problem I have with the movie is the slow pace in the middle of the movie and lack of a really good soundtrack I expect from a super hero movie.
  13. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    Captain America was a watchable movie, thanks only to its campy/retro style and its mildly charming cast. The script was lazy and quite mediocre at best, with inconsistent dialogue, very little semblance of time and a plot that only skimmed the surface of what could have been achieved in this world war 2 adventure flick. In one instance; montages were used to show the captain and hisCaptain America was a watchable movie, thanks only to its campy/retro style and its mildly charming cast. The script was lazy and quite mediocre at best, with inconsistent dialogue, very little semblance of time and a plot that only skimmed the surface of what could have been achieved in this world war 2 adventure flick. In one instance; montages were used to show the captain and his team's earlier missions, rather than detailed scenes showing such missions (which was unfortunate). Such script weaknesses caused underdevelopment in both the story and characters. The score was perpetual and annoying, and the acting was okay (with the exception of Weaving and Jones who were quite good), but luckily; the simple character arcs and the romance between our leads, added a little to these 2 dimensional characters. The retro production of this movie won me over completely and its pulpy qualities were nice to watch as its hardly being done now. The comic book movies of this summer comes to an end, and I must say it was a pretty average group of movies (ranging from horrible to 'okay'). I may forever be baffled as to why this film got such good reviews. But its technical attributes are easily the best of the 4 comicbook films. but it surely wasn't the best, artistically. Expand
  14. Aug 12, 2011
    5
    After looking at the user score and the critic score I was sort of expecting a good movie. For what ever reason this movie was hyped when it turned out to be like the average super hero movie. I'm not going to lie, its probably at the same level Thor was. This movie did not give the viewer anything special or anything that made it worth watching. Just some mediocre action and typicalAfter looking at the user score and the critic score I was sort of expecting a good movie. For what ever reason this movie was hyped when it turned out to be like the average super hero movie. I'm not going to lie, its probably at the same level Thor was. This movie did not give the viewer anything special or anything that made it worth watching. Just some mediocre action and typical mediocre comedy at some parts. Expand
  15. Aug 20, 2011
    4
    This film i was expecting to enjoy. But overall, i didn't at all. It gets a 4 because I give props to it's great effects, and the beginning was good. But when he became captain america, it all came down. A forgettable, ABSOLUTELY unrealistic superhero film with just an OK performance from chris evans. This movie was a guy on superhero steroids. It did not explain anything about his powers.This film i was expecting to enjoy. But overall, i didn't at all. It gets a 4 because I give props to it's great effects, and the beginning was good. But when he became captain america, it all came down. A forgettable, ABSOLUTELY unrealistic superhero film with just an OK performance from chris evans. This movie was a guy on superhero steroids. It did not explain anything about his powers. Yeah he was muscular, but that doesn't mean he immediately knows how to use his shield super well, and fly a HUGE ship at the end. A huge disappointment. I didn't care for ANYONE in the film. and every superhero movie, Batman, superman, spiderman, iron man, have scenes showing the heros developing their powers. This movie didn't at all. Uninteresting, and BAD. Expand
  16. Jul 22, 2011
    5
    A mediocre film that mixed a comic book with a big production old time movie which detracted from both. The historical periods were inaccurate and a distraction to the movie. Tommy Lee Jones was able to put on a good performance but his age limited the impact of his character. The 3D version did not mesh with the time period of the movie and there were nary any spots giving 3DA mediocre film that mixed a comic book with a big production old time movie which detracted from both. The historical periods were inaccurate and a distraction to the movie. Tommy Lee Jones was able to put on a good performance but his age limited the impact of his character. The 3D version did not mesh with the time period of the movie and there were nary any spots giving 3D excitement. The 2D version would have given the movie a more authentic look. The direction was good but the script needed more work. And finally, Captain America was unable to raise the hair on the back of my neck. I was left wanting for that feeling of cheering and being proud of the hero. Expand
  17. Jul 30, 2011
    4
    I watched this movie to see Tommy Lee Jones, and was disappointed by the fact that nobody was disemboweled by TLJ. I cannot see a difference from this movie and a Power Rangers Movie. The only thing good about this movie was the trailer for the Avengers after the credits, But even to see that, you have to sit through two hours of war profiteering to witness this trailer. This might asI watched this movie to see Tommy Lee Jones, and was disappointed by the fact that nobody was disemboweled by TLJ. I cannot see a difference from this movie and a Power Rangers Movie. The only thing good about this movie was the trailer for the Avengers after the credits, But even to see that, you have to sit through two hours of war profiteering to witness this trailer. This might as well been animated. Expand
  18. Jul 23, 2011
    4
    This is one movie where I really can't understand how it is critically pretty good. The whole time I was watching it felt like the movie was on a thin line between being humorous and serious. It was like the whole thing was a parody of itself. It glorified the propaganda that was in the U.S. during the 1940s. The action scenes are unexplained and mindless for the most part, there was not aThis is one movie where I really can't understand how it is critically pretty good. The whole time I was watching it felt like the movie was on a thin line between being humorous and serious. It was like the whole thing was a parody of itself. It glorified the propaganda that was in the U.S. during the 1940s. The action scenes are unexplained and mindless for the most part, there was not a single scene in this movie that I honestly enjoyed. Expand
  19. Jul 25, 2011
    6
    The potrail of Cap was fine, in fact the potrail of all the characters was fine. The special affects were good, but that story...was a let down. Even in comics and comic movies you have wrap up the plot nicely and make sure that it makes sense and the things that happen make sense. This movie could have been a very good movie. Come on marvel you've got some good writers! Have them writeThe potrail of Cap was fine, in fact the potrail of all the characters was fine. The special affects were good, but that story...was a let down. Even in comics and comic movies you have wrap up the plot nicely and make sure that it makes sense and the things that happen make sense. This movie could have been a very good movie. Come on marvel you've got some good writers! Have them write these movies! What was Brubaker doing when they wrote this script? Please, Please, Please tell me someone good wrote the Avengers movie. :: cough cough Bendis :: Expand
  20. Jul 25, 2011
    6
    Saddle up for a typical summer action flick. By all accounts, good cast, good action, good special effects. Unfortunately where Captain America fails is in the good Captain himself. Evans does a good enough job with what he is given, however the character of Captain America just doesn't have enough depth to sustain itself. This is a classic case of a superhero failing to translate toSaddle up for a typical summer action flick. By all accounts, good cast, good action, good special effects. Unfortunately where Captain America fails is in the good Captain himself. Evans does a good enough job with what he is given, however the character of Captain America just doesn't have enough depth to sustain itself. This is a classic case of a superhero failing to translate to the big screen. With the superhero movie being taken more seriously these days, it also seems that there is a higher standard for character development. We are interested in the characters with more then one side, perhaps an inner darkness, or some sort of struggle within. When the good Doctor in the movie asks Steve Rogers to make sure he stays the same gee willickers gosh gee homegrown good kid from the bronx, Rogers does just that..he stays the same painstakingly so. This works to sustain itself in a Comic book, and as a Character among many characters, but in the upcoming Avengers movie, I feel that the good Captain is going to be to the Avengers what Cyclops is to the X-Men movie.....the one we want to shut up and get out of the way so the other characters can talk. Expand
  21. Jul 28, 2011
    6
    Here we have a film that has it's ups and downs. There are a lot of ups, but there are downs as well. I would say that it's worth the nine dollars spent, and it's a fun action flick. However, it's lacking in some other aspects that don't make it the classic that this film had the opportunity to be.

    I'll start off by saying that I feel that Chris Evans was well-cast as Captain America,
    Here we have a film that has it's ups and downs. There are a lot of ups, but there are downs as well. I would say that it's worth the nine dollars spent, and it's a fun action flick. However, it's lacking in some other aspects that don't make it the classic that this film had the opportunity to be.

    I'll start off by saying that I feel that Chris Evans was well-cast as Captain America, and that he did the role justice. His performance was everything that it needed to be. Hugo Weaving acted his part as the villain Red Face character well, but in my opinion every single scene that he was in simply felt dull and out of place. I don't know if this was his acting, the script, or my personal opinion. The cinematography was excellent, and the special effects superb. This is a visually stunning film, and it will please the eye. There were also moments of fun and laughter, but most likely followed by moments of bore and lack of interest. Captain America is a summer movie. Fans of the series will definitely be pleased, but I feel that most movie might be bored with this one. Go out and see it for yourself.

    6/10
    Expand
  22. Jul 30, 2011
    6
    by no means is this a movie you can watch over and over again. the plot development is extremely slow and it takes forever for cap to really show off his moves. not to mention there's about 15 minutes of this movie that could have been removed involving his campaigning. but the moral of the story along with the time-contrast is very interesting and the little action involved is prettyby no means is this a movie you can watch over and over again. the plot development is extremely slow and it takes forever for cap to really show off his moves. not to mention there's about 15 minutes of this movie that could have been removed involving his campaigning. but the moral of the story along with the time-contrast is very interesting and the little action involved is pretty amazing. worth renting, not buying. Expand
  23. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    Superman came from Krypton. Thor came from Valhalla. Batman was at least quite wealthy. Captain America: The First Avenger â
  24. Aug 20, 2011
    6
    Captain America: The First Avenger was, however entertaining, way to crazy. In it, apparently a secret cell of Nazis had access to laser guns and robots (or at least large armoured suits). I'm not saying that this movie should have taken itself more seriously, but at least, say, Iron Man, is set in the present, where we don't know if someone will develop lasers.
    Also, I'm just wondering
    Captain America: The First Avenger was, however entertaining, way to crazy. In it, apparently a secret cell of Nazis had access to laser guns and robots (or at least large armoured suits). I'm not saying that this movie should have taken itself more seriously, but at least, say, Iron Man, is set in the present, where we don't know if someone will develop lasers.
    Also, I'm just wondering why the Cap's dream squad of crack troops was full of people that needed his help to escape from jail. Wouldn't he be better off with troops that wouldn't get stuck in jail in the first place?
    Expand
  25. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Steve Rogers needs a bodyguard, somebody to save the WWII soldier wanna-be from running off his mouth, since the 4-F reject, five times and counting, is oblivious to the fact that his physique doesn't lend itself toward fistacuffs in back alleys with ignorant louts. A patrioteer, almost to a fault, the proverbial ninety-pound weakling pipes up when a heckler in the movie house, from Steve's point-of-view, has the gall to disrespect the GIs fighting overseas, as depicted in the newsreel, causing the proto-hippie to air his somewhat anachronistic disapproval over all that reality flickering in the dark. Due to Steve's unwavering jingoism and lack of prudence, the future Captain America ends up in an unwinnable fight against the apolitical one-reeler enthusiast(he likes cartoon), getting thoroughly thrashed amidst the garbage cans of the back street, until his best friend Bucky(1-H and set for deployment) intervenes, and defuses the one-sided altercation by matching the assailant's brawn, inch by inch and pound for pound. Steve just doesn't know when to quit, egging the stranger on with the claim that he "can do this all day," like a martyr for all the 4-F rejects of his generation. This misplaced confidence can also be found in Homer Hickam at the outset of "October Sky"(directed by the same filmmaker), where the future aerospace engineer for NASA, as an unpromising defensive end for his high school football team, gets personal with a teammate on the other side of the line, calling him a "son of a b*tch", just before the bigger and stronger player serves him a pancake block. Sooner rather than later, Homer realizes that, unlike his older brother, he will never become a football hero, because some body types just aren't cut out for the game's collisional wear and tear. Instead of gridiron glory, he answers his true calling, rocketry, affording this small town hick the means to escape a lifetime's servitude in the West Virginia coalmines, when he represents his friends at a national science fair, capturing first prize, which he then parlays into a college education. Conversely, Steve, by all appearances, has no such backup plan. In his mind, it's the war or bust, so a little human alchemy, as proposed by Dr. Erskine at the Chicago World's Fair, isn't going to frighten off the twerp, whose drive to serve his country knows no boundaries. Outfitted with a sarcophagus before the army's brass, Steve allows the German doctor to inject his body full of serum, which has a steroidal effect on the musculature, giving him a competitive advantage over the other soldiers. Neither mutant nor an alien being from a distant planet, or for that matter, a man transmogrified by accident, Captain America is unique, because his superpower, the product of government-sanctioned medical experimentation, has a regimental quality that makes him, potentially, menacing to the world at large, who may view him as a living symbol of tyranny, once you reallocate the forties-era relic to the present, as this film does. Abridged from "Rocket Boys", the best-selling memoir that "October Sky" is adapted from, lies the fact that Hickam volunteered for a tour of duty in Vietnam(a full two years before the draft), whereas "Captain America", as well, circumvents the unpopular war too, diverging from "The Avengers" mythology, in which Steve wakes up from suspended animation during the ongoing skirmish in East Asia, and becomes something akin to a conscientious objector. Even though, through Captain America's eyes, the largely faceless Vietnamese lacked an iconic figure like Adolph Hitler to hate, he still needed to fight, since the Marvel Comics creation, in effect, during the Second World War, was Uncle Sam transliterated into pulp terms, recruiting men for active duty(in the film, the sloganeering is largely implied, trumpeting instead the savings bond at USO shows), or in other words, sentencing them to die, having been indoctrinated by propaganda through comic panels, long before the old man with the goatee pointed his finger at "you" in the real world. Using sports technology as an analogy for eugenics, it's ironic how Hickam makes it to Vietnam(not the NFL) on his own merits, whereas in the film, the super-soldier sleeps throughout the entire protracted ordeal. Differing from his comic book counterpart, who no longer sees America as a shining bastion for democracy, this filmic curio from the Eisenhower days is in for a shock, when Nick Fury briefs him about the intermediary steps leading up to our country's present-day complexion. No longer are there clear-cut good guys and bad guys, like the avengers in "My Bodyguard", where in the penultimate scene, the smallish Clifford(but bold like Steve) and Lunderman immobilize Moody and his hired goon Mike, in a public park. It's not 1941, or even 1979, anymore. The United States is Matt Dillon and the kid from "Meatballs" all rolled up in one. Expand
  26. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    I really thought that this movie was going to be awesome when I saw the trailer but it was a disappointment. The dialogues were boring and so was the acting.
  27. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    Somehow this film clicks, but I'm not sure how. The main character is strong and Evans does well in the role, perhaps his best performance ever. Weaving is spectacular as ever, along with Tucci and Jones. Yes, this film has an excellent cast. However, this film compared to it's story-arch predecessors is far less flashy and much more scrappy. That is what I suppose makes it click, butSomehow this film clicks, but I'm not sure how. The main character is strong and Evans does well in the role, perhaps his best performance ever. Weaving is spectacular as ever, along with Tucci and Jones. Yes, this film has an excellent cast. However, this film compared to it's story-arch predecessors is far less flashy and much more scrappy. That is what I suppose makes it click, but aren't superheroes supposed to both? Regardless, this is an easy addition to the Avengers project and it will be interesting to see how well Capt. America stands alongside his teammates. Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    Not a great movie but watchable if you are a fan. I felt like I was watching a Michael Bay movie were there are action scenes and no story. Good action scenes but overall a less than decent movie. Marvel movies nowadays are a complete disaster.
  29. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    Captain America: The First Avenger is the last Marvel Superhero film of 2011, and the final film to feature the superhero quartet that will join forces in the big budget 2012 crossover; The Avengers. It is set in 1942 America and stars Chris Evans (Fantastic Four, Not Another Teen Movie) as Steve Rogers, a small American citizen rejected by the US Army for health reasons. However, afterCaptain America: The First Avenger is the last Marvel Superhero film of 2011, and the final film to feature the superhero quartet that will join forces in the big budget 2012 crossover; The Avengers. It is set in 1942 America and stars Chris Evans (Fantastic Four, Not Another Teen Movie) as Steve Rogers, a small American citizen rejected by the US Army for health reasons. However, after being overheard arguing with his future sidekick Bucky (Sebastian Stan) over his rights to support his country, he is recruited by scientist Dr. Abraham Erskine, vigorously trained by British Agent Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell) and Colonel Chester Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones as Tommy Lee Jones) and is chosen for the Super Soldier project, a program to give him peak human strength and agility. Meanwhile, the evil Red Skull (Hugo Weaving) and the â Expand
  30. May 22, 2012
    4
    I'm so sick of origin stories but that was the only part of this movie that worked. Once he turns into the Captain this movie becomes just a crappy actioner. How many times can a guy be shooting - cut to Captain America gas pedaling him? The action scenes reminded me of the type I thought we moved on from a long time ago in low budget 80s movies where 100s of soldiers kinda just fall overI'm so sick of origin stories but that was the only part of this movie that worked. Once he turns into the Captain this movie becomes just a crappy actioner. How many times can a guy be shooting - cut to Captain America gas pedaling him? The action scenes reminded me of the type I thought we moved on from a long time ago in low budget 80s movies where 100s of soldiers kinda just fall over and somehow I'm supposed to find that interesting like if I were watching someone play Goldeneye for N64. Expand
  31. Jul 3, 2012
    6
    The film is a solid motion-picture event. It has "make me impressed" written all over, and in eye-popping 3D. But Captain America never tries to go beyond. And it's globetrotting script reveals that the script doesn't have much to show, in which the movie let's visuals take over. In the end, it's what you would expect. And not for the better...
  32. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    Just a bit bland and only really worth it if you're really following the Avengers lead up. Even then, you wouldn't miss much if you skipped this instalment entirely. It was generic, with little character development across the board and whilst the action set pieces were somewhat impressive, they were done better in Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow, a movie which is, for some reason,Just a bit bland and only really worth it if you're really following the Avengers lead up. Even then, you wouldn't miss much if you skipped this instalment entirely. It was generic, with little character development across the board and whilst the action set pieces were somewhat impressive, they were done better in Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow, a movie which is, for some reason, the closest comparison to this latest Marvel adventure I could draw; not just for the style and tone, but also for the shortcomings in the script. In addition, the whole second half of the movie seems to have been shot in 60p, presumably to accommodate the slow mo shots, but the absence of motion blur makes it feel like you're watching reruns of the A-Team. Expand
  33. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    Unfortunately, this movie leaves much to be desired. I expected it to be amazing, and it was for about 40 Mins, until Steve turns into Captain America. The movie goes steeply down hill from that point. The pacing in the second half of the movie was terrible, and nothing makes any sense. The fight scene choreography was the worst I've ever seen in any comic book movie. In fact, i don'tUnfortunately, this movie leaves much to be desired. I expected it to be amazing, and it was for about 40 Mins, until Steve turns into Captain America. The movie goes steeply down hill from that point. The pacing in the second half of the movie was terrible, and nothing makes any sense. The fight scene choreography was the worst I've ever seen in any comic book movie. In fact, i don't think there was any fight scene choreography at all. I may be a little harsh with this review but if you have one of the greatest fighters in the world wouldn't he have some sort of training? Wouldn't he have at least one memorable fight? The movie was not all bad, The main actors were quite pleasant due to good casting, except Evans. He looks perfect but his corny one liner jokes don't fit with him being Captain America. This is largely due to the director not having a clue. All of the scenes that were not super heroish, that were made to look like the early 1900's were great! The cinematography was not bad but suffered from lasers. Really bad lasers. It was like "that scene looks really nice, ..wait...no...noooo...stop....stop it...why are they shooting lasers? and why do they look worse then the lasers in the GIJoe movie?" The movie all in all was a good home rental but should have been at least an iron man level movie but came no where near. Expand
  34. Sep 14, 2011
    5
    This film had a lot of hype to live up to, which can explain to some degree why I was thoroughly underwhelmed with the finished product. There are, however, other more significant elements in the film itself that ensured it would always fall below expectations, the most obvious flaw being the lack of a 'race against time' element. The viewer can expect a lot of action, which is extremelyThis film had a lot of hype to live up to, which can explain to some degree why I was thoroughly underwhelmed with the finished product. There are, however, other more significant elements in the film itself that ensured it would always fall below expectations, the most obvious flaw being the lack of a 'race against time' element. The viewer can expect a lot of action, which is extremely well done and has become what we expect of Marvel superhero films recently, but it becomes wearisome and it is not until the final stages of the film that the viewer can enjoy a suspense-fuelled action sequence. This is as good as the film gets. To reach this point though, the viewer will have to endure a slow-pace mid-sequence, in which the director succumbs to cliche filming techniques such as montages to keep the film moving forward but failing to engage the viewer effectively. Hugo Weaving takes on the role of Red Skull, a role which I feel could of been better performed by a different actor, not that Weaving performed poorly, but that the accent he donned for the role (a quasi-German/Russian) was at times laughable and took the audience completely out of the story. We also a large stock of typical characters that are almost universally used in action; there's the strong-willed female love interest (Atwell); the hard case military commander (Jones); and the ill-fated best friend (Stan). Although all of these characters are pulled off tastefully, particularly Atwell, it is somewhat predictable. The film is hampered further by a poor soundtrack, a petty point, but a good soundtrack should be a given in such a high-profile and high-budget film. For the avid comic book film fan such as myself, there are moments in Captain America that will undoubtedly have you sitting on the edge of your seat; very well delivered cameo appearances, a screenplay and plot that does the comic book justice, and a feeling of more to come. This adaption of a Marvel hero is nowhere near the standard set by other releases such as Iron Man, and can arguably be seen as the weakest release by Marvel Studios. That does not necessarily make Captain America a bad film, but it does mean that it is missing a lot. There is nothing to Captain America as a film that hasn't been done before, and nor does it do it better. Expand
  35. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    Even not bad like Thor. There are nothing special on Captain America. You should not worry, The Avengers looks kick-ass (post-credit scene for clue). So there.
  36. Sep 20, 2011
    6
    I was surprised by this film, it's good. It just has way to many needless scenes, like what felt like a hour of Captain Americas Broadway Military ads. If those scenes could have been cut down to like 3 min. it would have been a lot better. In turn replace them with some actual scenes of his squad fighting Nazi's. Add a little horror of war to the mix, make it seem believable that we needI was surprised by this film, it's good. It just has way to many needless scenes, like what felt like a hour of Captain Americas Broadway Military ads. If those scenes could have been cut down to like 3 min. it would have been a lot better. In turn replace them with some actual scenes of his squad fighting Nazi's. Add a little horror of war to the mix, make it seem believable that we need Captain America. It would have been nice to see the Capt. get a punch in on Hitler like in the old comics. Chris Evans did a great job, much better suit than the human torch. Action scenes were great and most characters where realized well. I just wish this was more than a easy set up for The Avengers movie. Expand
  37. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Captain america was a good film but at times was corny and over the top. Chris evans was a good Cap. I cannot wait for the Avengers movie. Hugo was a good red skull.
  38. Dec 13, 2011
    6
    This was a decent movie. The 3D did add to the theatrical experience. I went to go see this with a friend and the 3D was so realistic that he flinched when Captain America threw his shield. What I liked best about this movie was that it took place during WW11. That being said I enjoyed the costumes and hair. I can't say whether all of that stuff was accurate because I wasn't alive backThis was a decent movie. The 3D did add to the theatrical experience. I went to go see this with a friend and the 3D was so realistic that he flinched when Captain America threw his shield. What I liked best about this movie was that it took place during WW11. That being said I enjoyed the costumes and hair. I can't say whether all of that stuff was accurate because I wasn't alive back then. For an action and special effects movie it actually had a good plot. It was way better then what I was expecting. I actually even liked the acting. Didn't really like the casting. The Red Skull has to be one of my favorite Marvel villains. Although this is not the best war movie around it is fun to watch. Expand
  39. Apr 10, 2012
    5
    Captain America is like an old war comic come to life. Which, I suppose, is exactly as it should be. Good clean superhero fun. It lacks a knockout action set-piece, but does enough to entertain. The beginning and ending make it feel a little too much like an extended trailer for he Avengers, though.
  40. j30
    Apr 29, 2012
    6
    The costumes and the whole look of the film is great, but the action sequences and story felt flat to me. You do care for the characters and the movie is a nice prequel to The Avengers.
  41. May 6, 2012
    6
    Better than Thor but still not the showstopper I expected. It does stay true to the comics and does a good job of showing how the man becomes hero. Hugo Weaving does and excellent job as the evil nemesis.
  42. May 12, 2012
    5
    This is a very polarizing film. It had it's good elements, and it had it's bad. Ultimately, it was the story that let it down - just a bit too silly. I think the plot should have taken a harder line and made this movie much darker and serious, closer to the feel of the actual comics. This one rates just above Green Lantern, but not much.
  43. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    I didn't enjoy this film as much as the hype would have made me believe. It is average at best for a comic book film. I am not sure how much of this story I would change, as obviously it leads into the Avengers, but as a stand-alone film, I do not think that it is particularly good. I prefer a more intelligent film and, coming from England, I found the patriotism was more than a littleI didn't enjoy this film as much as the hype would have made me believe. It is average at best for a comic book film. I am not sure how much of this story I would change, as obviously it leads into the Avengers, but as a stand-alone film, I do not think that it is particularly good. I prefer a more intelligent film and, coming from England, I found the patriotism was more than a little annoying on occasion. Expand
  44. Aug 12, 2012
    6
    So after Iron Man, Hulk and Thor, last but not least it was Captain America's turn to make his big screen début as part of the Avengers development.

    The First Avenger spends the first half the film covering the origin story of the Captain, which from an previously uninformed point of view was something I greatly appreciated. With almost the majority of the action set during
    So after Iron Man, Hulk and Thor, last but not least it was Captain America's turn to make his big screen début as part of the Avengers development.

    The First Avenger spends the first half the film covering the origin story of the Captain, which from an previously uninformed point of view was something I greatly appreciated.

    With almost the majority of the action set during WWII, the film is similar to a war movie, especially once the Captain recruits his band of soldiers who then spend their time destroying Nazi science labs at ease. Think of Inglorious Bastards meets Band of Brothers but without the Tarantino violence and humour and the epicness and sincerity of the mini-series. The score also sounds familiar when heard in a war setting.

    Chris Evans is successful as Captain America and holds up to the pressures of a leading man. He plays the superhero with the right amount of patriotism and conscience without being overbearing. However, Hugo Weaving's Red Skull was a disappointment.

    As an origin story First Avenger is solid and the retro setting is hugely original for a superhero movie, however as a general action film, I felt that the plot, mainly the threat of the Red Skull, and the action sequences were not as strong as they could have been. America simply seems to clout everyone he meets with his shield before running onto the next, there is little variation in his tactics or in the challenges he faces.
    Expand
  45. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    What is there to say, really? This film contains good acting, an at times shallow script, and off pacing. It's fun to watch once, but I can't see it being especially remembered in the future.
  46. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    Very good, but not as good as Thor or X-Men.

    I really liked everything about this film. The story, the characters, the effects, the fighting, the cinematography, the setting, it all worked...but one thing I really liked was the cast. Tommy Lee Jones, Hugo Weaving, and Stanley Tucci are three actors that I really like a lot. So having them in a film of this genre, playing awesome
    Very good, but not as good as Thor or X-Men.

    I really liked everything about this film. The story, the characters, the effects, the fighting, the cinematography, the setting, it all worked...but one thing I really liked was the cast. Tommy Lee Jones, Hugo Weaving, and Stanley Tucci are three actors that I really like a lot. So having them in a film of this genre, playing awesome characters gives this film so much more that I can appreciate. They all give good performances. Even Chris Evans was good and likable as Steve/ Capt. America...even though I was completely skeptical at first.

    Everything about this film worked for me...which is great. But it's also one of the film's weaknesses. I felt like it all just works because I had seen it all before; it felt too safe for me. Also, this was way too superhero-y for me, but that's just my opinion.

    Overall though, I really liked this. I was completely entertaining, and it helps to have a good story and cast , too. I completely recommend this.
    Expand
  47. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    "Captain America" is a decent superhero movie. On the plus side, it's got good acting, good characters, some fun action and a fairly compelling plot. Tommy Lee Jones also lends a lot of healthy humor to the film. On the negative side, it does seem to make itself a bit too grand at points with some overuse of slow-motion, "hero jumping" shots and an excessive amount of obvious CGI where"Captain America" is a decent superhero movie. On the plus side, it's got good acting, good characters, some fun action and a fairly compelling plot. Tommy Lee Jones also lends a lot of healthy humor to the film. On the negative side, it does seem to make itself a bit too grand at points with some overuse of slow-motion, "hero jumping" shots and an excessive amount of obvious CGI where practical effects and stunt people could have easily been used to create a more believable look. That, and Red Skull's makeup was a little too comic-booky in its appearance, and stood out as rather silly against a context otherwise engineered as more grounded. Overall, it's good but not great. Expand
  48. Feb 26, 2013
    4
    A solid prerequisite to 'The Avengers' but predictably unimaginative and mediocre in almost every conceivable way possible. We've come to expect more from superhero blockbusters and this falls short: CGI'd Chris Evans short.
  49. Mar 22, 2013
    4
    A bland, unspectacular superhero movie with a forced love angle. It fails to excite, lacking humor and devoid of any style: be it narrative or directional.
  50. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    Captain America is based on Marvel comic so there are no surprises. However it serves it's purpose to keep viewer entertained. Few wink and nods to the fans and twist in the end give it a bit of extra compared to predecessors from same genre. With all of it's parts summed Captain America comes out positive.
  51. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Thor, Green Lantern, X-Men: First Class and Captain America: The First Avenger. 2011 is a 'Minor American Superhero Films' year I guess, while 2012 is gonna be 'Major American Superhero Films' year because 'BigBang' movies like The Amazing Spider-Man, Marvel's The Avengers and also one of the most anticipated films in movie history, The Dark Knight Rises, will be released in that year. ToThor, Green Lantern, X-Men: First Class and Captain America: The First Avenger. 2011 is a 'Minor American Superhero Films' year I guess, while 2012 is gonna be 'Major American Superhero Films' year because 'BigBang' movies like The Amazing Spider-Man, Marvel's The Avengers and also one of the most anticipated films in movie history, The Dark Knight Rises, will be released in that year. To initiate, I'm greatly disappointed with CA: TFA. I expected more,I assumed fresh contents will be shown but the ideas which entertain me are recycled stuffs.

    I felt that this movie is mediocre at it's best. Scenes after scenes are filled with bland dialogues (bad script!), which successfully left me detached in the middle of the film, and somehow murdered my interest. The movie could have at least left me hanging to the rope, but it further killed me with an uninteresting characters and boring and predictable plot. 'TSK'! I'm disheartened, I was expecting something spectacular.

    Acting-wise, It has nothing much to offer. Chris Evan, being the main actor of the movie, is somehow negligible but still nonetheless, I guess his performance is not too bad and sincerely believe that he is a talented actor. He is more that what he appears to be in the movie. Despite having some ordinary performances, I'm captivated by Hugo Weaving's presence as the primary villain of this picture, Red Skull. There's some kind of charm or charisma in his performance. His body language and 'pleasure to listen to' English accent is desirable, I would vote that Hugo Heaving is one of the reasons on why this movie is still worthy to witness.

    Still, Captain America is an appealing motion picture. I admire the well designed costumes and some of the fine artistic elements of the films. The sets of the film are incredibly interesting and it is very successful in dragging me into the 1940s world. Those efforts are well navigated, and yes it accomplished.

    I picked X-Men: First Class to be the best American Superhero movie of 2011 because it has a tight script, fine performances and well-developed characters but sadly, Captain America: TFA does not possessed all those offers. This film is genuinely average. Sorry :)

    6/10

    (http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/AlexDesmall) (http://facebook.com/alex.desmall) Twitter (Alex_DeSmall)
    Expand
  52. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    In my opinion this is the worst Avengers lead-in movie.
    It's hard to pin down exactly what my problem with it is. Maybe it's the lack of Nazis in WW2. Maybe it's the possibly interesting parts being presented in a quick hokey montage. Maybe it's the mini submarines and laser beams/tanks. There are a few good things: Hugo Weaving as Red Skull, Captain America and his love interest, Tony
    In my opinion this is the worst Avengers lead-in movie.
    It's hard to pin down exactly what my problem with it is. Maybe it's the lack of Nazis in WW2. Maybe it's the possibly interesting parts being presented in a quick hokey montage. Maybe it's the mini submarines and laser beams/tanks. There are a few good things: Hugo Weaving as Red Skull, Captain America and his love interest, Tony Stark's father, the tie-ins to the Avengers and Tommy Lee Jones.
    So yeah this is by far the worst Avengers lead-in.
    Expand
  53. May 9, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Huge Weaving and Stan Lee give the best performances of the movie. The genesis story for the Cap is pretty damn good as well, but afterwards the movie falls flat. The writing is not that great, the action doesn't make much sense (how does Captain manage to take out heavily guarded, high-tech facilities with a group of 10 dudes?) and the emotional core of the film is not there. It's not terrible by any means but it definitely digresses into a typical, poorly-written Hollywood film after a very strong beginning. Expand
  54. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    this film does not represent a good captain america, it is a film with a pretty bad script, this film is the kind of movie that should be forgotten in the future.
  55. Apr 13, 2014
    6
    A film a that is easy to watch and easy to forget. Captain America didn't seem like a movie but more like a trailer for the upcoming films. An enjoyable first half kept my attention, however the second half becomes primarily concerned on cramming in as many action set pieces to make up for the quieter first act.
  56. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    סרט ממש בינוני, היה אפשר להפיק הרבה יותר מגיבור העל הענק הזה, וחבל שהוא קיבל סרט בינוני ומטה שנראה כאילו מארוול עושים טובה שהם עושים אותו, כי ברור שזה לא סרט שהם רצו לעשות אלא רק כדי לעשות את הנוקמים ולא יותר מזה
  57. Aug 28, 2014
    6
    To be honest I thought the movie as a whole was a bit bland.

    It serves as a great introduction to the character and serves that purpose well. But as a stand alone story it feels like a a whole bunch of filler for a much larger story (which it kinda is.) But that's precisely what I thought was wrong with it. This movie stands on the idea that "bigger" things are coming but seems to
    To be honest I thought the movie as a whole was a bit bland.

    It serves as a great introduction to the character and serves that purpose well. But as a stand alone story it feels like a a whole bunch of filler for a much larger story (which it kinda is.) But that's precisely what I thought was wrong with it. This movie stands on the idea that "bigger" things are coming but seems to forget a little that it is its own movie as well.

    But in no ways is this a bad movie. Effects are great, story is nice (if a bit flat.) And the character portrayed very well. Aside from Hugo Weaving who feels a little out of place. He did a great job, but is perhaps a bit too high profile for the role.

    Overall:
    Captain America : The First Avenger is a fun movie worth watching IF you plan on watching the whole Marvel plan of movies. However, if this was the only Marvel movie you could watch, I would say give it a miss.
    Expand
  58. Sep 1, 2014
    5
    The engaging retro vibe given off by The First Avenger and director Joe Johnston is well-worth the viewing. As for Chris Evans: a much needed improvement from the Fantastic Four.
  59. Mar 7, 2015
    6
    Although overall this film was entertaining it at many times seemed to drag. The film however did serve as a good introduction to captain America.
  60. May 2, 2015
    5
    not bad but to be honest, I didnt care for it. It wasnt memorable in the slightest. I am not sure why but I couldn't really stand anybody in this movie, the film had a nice story and action sequences however.
  61. May 25, 2015
    6
    The first Captain America movie is the origin story of the super hero it's named off of. It takes place in the 1940's when the originally skinny man gets experimented on to become a super soldier. It stands below most other super hero movies because its villains are so cheesy and the story just doesn't feel A-grade. It's still a decent movie and major MArvel fans should see it (but theyThe first Captain America movie is the origin story of the super hero it's named off of. It takes place in the 1940's when the originally skinny man gets experimented on to become a super soldier. It stands below most other super hero movies because its villains are so cheesy and the story just doesn't feel A-grade. It's still a decent movie and major MArvel fans should see it (but they already long have so why say that?). For the rest of us, though, it's not a must-watch. Expand
  62. Jul 19, 2015
    6
    Captain America is a movie based on one of my favorite comics of all times, so I could not wait to see this movie, but ounce I did I felt disappointed. It's not that this movie is bad or anything it's just not as good as the comic. So if you want to see a great American hero at work than read the comics and skip this movie.
  63. Mar 20, 2016
    6
    It's fair to say that superhero saturation has set in. Not many years ago, every cinematic version of a comic book protagonist's adventures was awaited with baited breath. Now, because of an unceasing and sometimes careless flood of such titles, mainstream audiences have become apathetic, leaving it to die-hards to pack theaters on opening weekends. Captain America is the latest in aIt's fair to say that superhero saturation has set in. Not many years ago, every cinematic version of a comic book protagonist's adventures was awaited with baited breath. Now, because of an unceasing and sometimes careless flood of such titles, mainstream audiences have become apathetic, leaving it to die-hards to pack theaters on opening weekends. Captain America is the latest in a seemingly endless line of origin stories and the last of The Avengers prequels. Despite being the most venerable character in Marvel's line-up (he first appeared in 1941), Captain America is not a member of the vaunted A-list. In fact, were it not for his participation in The Avengers, one wonders whether the World War II patriot would have made it to the screen.

    Although most of Captain America transpires in the 1940s, it is bookended by modern-day scenes that serve little purpose beyond setting up The Avengers. That's one thing that has been increasingly annoying about the recent batch of Marvel movies - The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, and Thor - they seem less like stand-alone motion pictures than advertisements for The Avengers. Captain America may be the worst offender. The whole purpose of telling Captain America's origin story is so that when he appears in The Avengers, he will have a background. (Joss Whedon, director of The Avengers, allegedly had limited input to the Captain America script.)

    Captain America falls into the prevalent pitfalls of origin stories. So much time and effort is expended explaining how the protagonist gains his super-powers (and exploring his initial usage of them) that there's not enough opportunity to develop a compelling storyline beyond his "baptism." Then there's the issue of the main villain, Captain America's classic adversary Red Skull, who comes across as a James Bond-type take-over-the-world megalomaniac and isn't given a lot to do except exude over-the-top nastiness. The final confrontation is disappointing, lacking scope and energy. As bad as the Transformers movies are, at least Michael Bay thinks big.

    The CGI work, it must be said, is at times exceptional, believably transforming actor Chris Evans into 90-pound weakling Steve Rogers. In fact, the computer enhancements are so good that I couldn't determine whether they were also used to "beef up" Rogers after he undergoes the treatment that transforms him into bulky, hunky Captain America. As best I can tell, no special effects are needed for Hayley Atwell (who plays Rogers' love interest, Agent Peggy Carter), Sebastian Stan (Rogers' best friend and later Captain America's sidekick, Bucky Barnes), or Tommy Lee Jones (Captain America's commanding officer, Col. Chester Phillips). Jones is as fun as ever, using his familiar crusty personality to its best advantage. Visual chicanery comes into play with Hugo Weaving, whose Red Skull looks like something out of the Star Wars cantina.

    The thing that differentiates Captain America from the umpteen other superheroes who have trodden across screens this summer is that the action takes place neither on modern-day Earth nor in outer space. In this case, we get a period piece - a re-imagination of some of what went on behind the scenes in the struggle against the Nazis.

    irector Joe Johnston uses a similar aesthetic here to the one he applied to The Rocketeer, another comic-inspired period piece. Despite the different characters and subject matter, the movies are peas in a pod. Having seen the movie in 2-D, I can't comment on whether the 3-D version compromises Johnson's use of slightly muted colors and carefully modulated lighting, but it's a good bet. 3-D is useful only when it comes to a "wow!" factor; it's putrid for subtleties like the ones employed by Johnston. (This is yet another post-production 3-D conversion.)

    Comic book fans are likely to appreciate Captain America, which does a good job of consolidating the disparate origin aspects of the character into something easily digestible. Non-comic fans may have to fight the urge to stifle a yawn. There's nothing in Captain America worthy or praise or derision. It's a competently made, straightforward yarn that has little to offer those who are not already on the bandwagon. Anyone willing to sit through the lengthy end credits will be rewarded by a short, unrevealing teaser for The Avengers. It's a reminder of what Captain America is all about: getting audiences primed for one of 2012's big events rather than providing something memorable for 2011.
    Expand
  64. Apr 14, 2016
    4
    This was surprisingly uninteresting and irritating. A bunch of friends who saw this with me all found it disappointing. We watched the Avengers a couple of days later and all loved it so we aren't all negative.
  65. Apr 22, 2016
    5
    I hated the way this movie actually started, it's so freaking slow! It's slow and doesn't feel like it's building up to anything. Suddenly everything is just thrown at me and I had no idea what is happening. Fortunately the movie feels a lot better after we actually get the real Captain America and the movie becomes pretty fun to watch, though not without some predictable plot twists andI hated the way this movie actually started, it's so freaking slow! It's slow and doesn't feel like it's building up to anything. Suddenly everything is just thrown at me and I had no idea what is happening. Fortunately the movie feels a lot better after we actually get the real Captain America and the movie becomes pretty fun to watch, though not without some predictable plot twists and some love cliches thrown at you randomly as the third act progresses. And the villain of the movie? Well I seriously laughed when I first saw it. It looks so retarded lol and we are supposed to feel that he's a bad guy that wants to destroy everything. Didn't feel like a villain at all. But as for the action and acting, it's good. Expand
  66. May 8, 2016
    6
    The first installment of the Captain America franchise! The First Avenger was a very interesting film as it has a very compellig storyline of Steve Rogers forming into Captain America. It's directed by the director of the god-awful Jurassic Park 3. In this film, he manages to learn from his mistakes and create something that actually makes sense; as well as Chris Evans. He learned from hisThe first installment of the Captain America franchise! The First Avenger was a very interesting film as it has a very compellig storyline of Steve Rogers forming into Captain America. It's directed by the director of the god-awful Jurassic Park 3. In this film, he manages to learn from his mistakes and create something that actually makes sense; as well as Chris Evans. He learned from his performance as the Human Torch in Fantastic Four and also created something that makes sense. He basically owns the role of Captain America as I can't imagine any one else that can replace him.

    The problems I have with the film are simple. The way they portrayed the World War II era was a little less horrifying than it actually was -- even though this is historical fiction. In addition, the antagonist, The Red Skull, was kind-of a noticable cliché. He didn't seem to have any moments that were off the charts; they were just... basic!

    Rating: 6/10

    A+ = 10
    A = 9
    A- = 8
    B+ = 7
    B = 6
    B- = 5
    C+ = 4
    C = 3
    C- = 2.5
    D+ = 2
    D = 1.5
    D- = 1
    F = 0
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Walsh
    May 8, 2016
    20
    Captain America is simply awful. It is another hour and a half of prologue to the film people are apparently waiting for - The Avengers.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Mecca
    May 8, 2016
    91
    Johnston and company are aware that introducing a hero means more than showing off his suit and gadgets or building up the universe he will eventually encapsulate. Before any of that, we must care about who he/she is.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    May 8, 2016
    100
    Captain America: The First Avenger is one of the finest movies yet from Marvel Studios, and a big departure in tone and storytelling from most of the films they've made so far. It is a strong indicator that the more willing the studio is to experiment, the more exciting the payoffs can be.