Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 22, 2011
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1366 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,015
Mixed:
264
Negative:
87
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
batlantern_87Jul 22, 2011
I go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blewI go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blew me away! The movie moves at a fantastic pace with the right mix of action, comedy, drama and romance to interest almost everyone. This is one of 4 movies this summer that is movie perfection. With Super 8 and X-Men out of theaters and since everyone has seen Harry Potter then this is the movie to see. I couldn't have liked it more! Expand
15 of 23 users found this helpful158
All this user's reviews
10
IronmongerJul 24, 2011
What can i say? This is Captain America! The best way to put it, they did him justice! I am sooooo looking forward to the Avengers!! You quickly grew to root on Captain America, the graphics were amazing, and the plot was strong. A++!

P.S.
What can i say? This is Captain America! The best way to put it, they did him justice! I am sooooo looking forward to the Avengers!! You quickly grew to root on Captain America, the graphics were amazing, and the plot was strong. A++!

P.S. Stay till after the credits!!!!!!!!!!!!
Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticJul 24, 2011
Since my last time that the new Captain America movie could be the lamest superhero ever, and I'm saying "Come on that's not gonna be good for best superheroes like The Dark Knight, Spider-Man, or Iron Man." So I take a chance to watch thisSince my last time that the new Captain America movie could be the lamest superhero ever, and I'm saying "Come on that's not gonna be good for best superheroes like The Dark Knight, Spider-Man, or Iron Man." So I take a chance to watch this movie, and I have to say that this movie was very good with huge CG effects with lots of pulp descent action film. The CG effects are pretty amazing that sometimes it could be handy like creating worlds with atmosphere, instead watching CGI in people on their faces. The actor who played Captain America (Chris Evans) was very good and that's a perfect choice for the superhero. The characters are well acted and I enjoy watching that villain named Red Skull (Hugo Weaving) was dark and very cruelty that he did best villain as Agent Smith in The Matrix Trilogy. The background is neat and the visual looks amazing, of course that I didn't see it in 3D, but I recommend that see it in 2D if you can. Captain America is a solid summer blockbuster hit for the best comic book movie that could attach to my top of X-Men: First Class and more changeling than Transformers 3 that it didn't look too good (of course it stinks!), but very good. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
txrangersfan72Jul 22, 2011
Five Stars. Yep, that's right. Because I cannot be objective about Captain America one single bit. My first comic book (when I started collecting) was The Avengers. Through years of reading many comics, The Avengers was always my favorite andFive Stars. Yep, that's right. Because I cannot be objective about Captain America one single bit. My first comic book (when I started collecting) was The Avengers. Through years of reading many comics, The Avengers was always my favorite and Captain America was always my favorite hero. Yes, I know they did a really bad movie in the early 90s of Cap, but given the budget and the plan to make the Avengers movie happen in continuity, I EXPECTED perfection out of this movie. They would NOT have been able to pull off any Avengers movie without a solid Captain America foundation. While Chris Evans definitely had the LOOK, I was initially concerned since he had very recently played Human Torch in the Fantastic Four movies. And, in my mind, him playing the immature Johnny Storm was much different than the responsible, mature Steve Rogers. Chris was absolutely perfect. The story was absolutely perfect. The cheese was minimal. The setup for the Avengers movie was perfect. People who have no emotional connection to the characters may find some of it cheesy, but Marvel, while not churning out dark masterpieces like DC is doing with Batman, this was everything I could have possibly wanted in a Captain America film. The Avengers trailer at the end put me over the top. My childhood coming to life on screen is mesmerizing. Excelsior! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
GamevineJul 23, 2011
This movie is awesome. 2011 turned out to be maybe the best year ever for the comic book movie adaptation. Marvel knows exactly what they are doing,
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AlecinoJul 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw this movie the day it came out (the first time I've seen a movie the day it came out since Toy Story 3) and it was AWESOME!!! Thor and Green Lantern were great movies, but this overshadows those two in every way. It's by far the best of the three.(I haven't seen X-Men: First Class). Great acting, great storytelling, and great fight scenes. It's PERFECT!!!
Not only is it better than Thor and Green Lantern, it's better than Superman, X-Men, and every other superhero movie I've seen except for The Dark Knight and Iron Man. It's one of the best superhero movies ever.
Chris Evans is excellent as Steve Rogers/Captain America. He was the best thing about the Fantastic Four movie. He did the role of Captain America much better than I expected. The rest of the cast did their roles well-especially Hugo Weaving as the Red Skull.
The film stays true to the comics. Well, it mostly stays true to the Earth 616 Marvel Universe, but Bucky and Steve being childhood friends and Bucky protecting Steve from bullies stems from Ultimate Marvel, and so does Steve being found by S.H.I.E.L.D instead of the Avengers. Oh well.
I do like how the film is set during WW2, because Captain America first appeared during WW2, and was frozen in ice near the end of the war and wasn't revived until decades later. I'm glad that Captain America didn't end up like Green Lantern: with reviews it didn't deserve. It's one of the best movies of the summer. I guarantee it. If you go see this movie, you will most likely NOT be disappointed. You won't regret seeing it. I'm looking forward to the sequel, and I hope Bucky appears as the Winter Soilder.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MorteMay 1, 2013
This is, from what I can tell, almost perfectly accurate to marvel lore. It is funny, it is suspenseful, it has romance and loss and heroism and men rising to the challenge. Don't listen to the negative reviews, this deserves nothing less than a 10.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Mugs4000Jul 22, 2011
This is by far the best superhero movie of the summer. A satisfying blend of action and humor that while not directly take from the comics keeps most of the spirit of the modern interpretation of the character to heart. The film has plenty ofThis is by far the best superhero movie of the summer. A satisfying blend of action and humor that while not directly take from the comics keeps most of the spirit of the modern interpretation of the character to heart. The film has plenty of nods to various Captain America characters and objects that should keep fans of the book entertained. This feels much more like a complete film than something like Iron Man 2 did with only a pair of bookends tacked on to smooth the transition to the Avengers. As usual make sure to stay after the credits for something extra. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
joawmeensJul 27, 2011
Captain America: The First Avenger is the last of the four characters in The Avengers movie that will have a stand alone movie (at least before The Avengers comes out). It follows the fantastic Iron Man, a surprisingly decent IncredibleCaptain America: The First Avenger is the last of the four characters in The Avengers movie that will have a stand alone movie (at least before The Avengers comes out). It follows the fantastic Iron Man, a surprisingly decent Incredible Hulk, a decidedly meh Iron Man 2, and an amazing Thor. So, how did it live up to those? Pretty frakkin well

The rest of my review can be found here:

http://joawmeens.hubpages.com/hub/Captain-America-The-First-Avenger-movie-review
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
CruetJul 27, 2011
I liked this movie much more than Thor
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MrDadelusAug 2, 2011
Briefly, this movie shows enormous to the comics of the era and tat the same time appreciates the the more realistic trend of comic book movies that Marvel supports. Most importantly it downplays the hokey quality of the era as seen by menBriefly, this movie shows enormous to the comics of the era and tat the same time appreciates the the more realistic trend of comic book movies that Marvel supports. Most importantly it downplays the hokey quality of the era as seen by men and women of the modern era. It also shows respect to the men and women who made the actual sacrifices that let the Allies win the war. Chris Evans deserves a lot of credit for not falling into his more comfortable joke-ster persona and taking on the sheer weight of being a human super-weapon, and he does it wonderfully. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
psbrown1989Sep 29, 2011
Just a good old fashioned action movie. Entertaining and fun. don't think to much into it and you'll enjoy the cool special effects, awesome fight scenes, and corny jokes.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JfiloJul 25, 2011
This movie was magnificent! A lot of action and the acting was incredible. It completely blew me away!
Ranking:
1. Captain America- 10/10
2. Iron Man-8/10
3. The Incredible Hulk-7/10
4. Thor-7/10
5. Iron Man 2-7/10
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
BenIsThisGuyAug 2, 2011
The action kept the interest, but the plot was an average Marvel film. It was was a good film with good video content and a must watch for Marvel fans.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
thegibbsSep 7, 2011
To be completely honest, all i can do is adlib the trailer. Where are the best heroes made? IN UHMERICUH........

Seriously though, this is completely the best film i've ever seen. And i've seen alot of films......
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Longbottom94Apr 25, 2013
A solid performance from Chris Evans and an enjoyable first half kept my attention. However, the second half becomes primarily concerned on cramming in as many action set pieces to make up for the quieter first act.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
nopJul 31, 2011
Well done action movie, with likeable characters, more or less consistent plot and conservative usage of special effects. Movie with a soul, which Transformers 3 did not have at all. In visual department this movie borrows heavily from WW2Well done action movie, with likeable characters, more or less consistent plot and conservative usage of special effects. Movie with a soul, which Transformers 3 did not have at all. In visual department this movie borrows heavily from WW2 fantasy action games, such as Wolfenstein. Blue glowing stuff with almost magical properties, desintegrator guns, enemies, environments - definitely not new or original. But copied with taste.
Don't expect masterpiece, but for a mainstream comic book film this is as good as you can get.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Jul 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the second quarter of the movie was a bit slow (the part where Steve Rogers starts singing a tour to sell war bonds), everything else in the movie shows that Captain America, along with Thor and the Incredible Hulk, make better movies then Robert Downey Jr.'s Iron Man movies (although to be fair, I like the Iron Man movies, just not as much as the movies depicting the other Avengers). One part I really enjoyed was the ending, showing Captain America's reawakening, setting the stage for next year's Avengers movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
scrieciuJul 25, 2011
'' Captain America: The First Avenger '' gives you that pleasant experience of watching a movie. I like these '' serious '' type of superhero movies, like '' The Dark Knight '' (2008). You know, the ones with an intriguing plot, with great'' Captain America: The First Avenger '' gives you that pleasant experience of watching a movie. I like these '' serious '' type of superhero movies, like '' The Dark Knight '' (2008). You know, the ones with an intriguing plot, with great action, with realistic situations, with cool villains. That kind of movie when it takes itself seriously. It's like if you took a superhero cartoon series for kids, and making it for an older audience (teenagers, adults and old people). Well this movie offers that special maturity, yet still awesome. Also, Hugo Weaving was so good as the Red Skull. He was believable and bad-ass. This actor deserves more credit. I must say that the cinematography was quite a success. What I mean by that is the ambiance, the lights, everything was perfect to fit the time of World War II (since the story occurs at that moment). I was also impressed how skinny looked Steve Rogers (played by Chris Evans). The special effects were really well done. If you're one of those who were waiting to see this movie, with high expectations, you won't be disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Jul 23, 2011
Finally...an action hero that emblematizes more than an unwanted web-dweller, an opulent ecolocator, or fancied scrap metal; 'America' is the real deal! This latest film of the Star-Spangled Avenger is one that embodies a perceptibleFinally...an action hero that emblematizes more than an unwanted web-dweller, an opulent ecolocator, or fancied scrap metal; 'America' is the real deal! This latest film of the Star-Spangled Avenger is one that embodies a perceptible outpouring of nationalistic spirit and ardor, that draws from you, a rallying cry worthy of a few U-S-A-'s. The result, is a fanboy's dream, a new, improved look, and a comic-franchise-to-be, that just might become Marvel's next biggest thing. Think about it...What other comic film, after viewing, could you say made you feel proud to be an American? Zilch. Hey, and who knows, maybe with this country's ever-falling history test scores, a movie--this movie--of all things might be the cure; with Cap on your side, WWII might again be discussed and remembered. But, let's move on. So, you may be wondering: "Besides the 'feel-good' affect of a potential franchise, and the revival of academic decadence, how was the actual movie?" And I would tell you..."Captain America: The First Avenger" is the first of the historic 2011 summer blockbusters that aims to deliver on a textual basis, in lieu, of on a visual level; granted the visuals are far from peripheral. Farther, the 40's setting is a real delight to rivet in, as well. As for the acting...Chris Evans does a serviceable job as Captain Rogers, although, the 90 pound version is even more refined, and spectacular than the advanced CGI seen on Benjamin Button (2008). Hayley Atwell (Peggy Carter) also does a fine job, albeit, her presence is most known in the form of tightly-fit dress, showcasing her impeccable figure---she fits very well into the 40's dame picturesque. To my own surprise, is the real treasure in 'The First Avenger:' Tommy Lee Jones as Colonel Chester Phillips. Jones' stern, dead-set demeanor was to be expected, but his character brandishes more wit and charisma than other roles. More than anything, and what propels this film past all of the other of its genre---slightly more than X-First Stand---is its element of aptness of tradition; the feeling is conditioned within us. Captain America 'Wants YOU' to come to the theater! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Commen0136Aug 5, 2011
Before going to the theaters I didn't really know much about Captain America. I knew the basics about him like he's in the original avengers and he originally lived in the 1940s and other things like that. That was actually a good thingBefore going to the theaters I didn't really know much about Captain America. I knew the basics about him like he's in the original avengers and he originally lived in the 1940s and other things like that. That was actually a good thing because if I knew exactly what should've happened in the comics I think I wouldn't enjoy the film. The movie was good, even funny at times (Cap. America wasn't really funny in the comics I think), acting was nice and the story was pretty decent. There were times though where I felt it was a little anti-climatic. Like there was an action scene and the guy is in a live or die situation and while you wait for his fate it will cut to another scene talking about his fate but not actually showing it. But aside from other minor dislikes the film is good and is way better than the previous 'Avenger' film: Thor. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
wordy_actionsFeb 7, 2012
A very fun movie, with some welcome cliches and homages to adventure movies of the past. Unlike Thor, this movie delivers a much stronger script and more exciting action. Early in the movie Captain America chases down a car on foot. ThisA very fun movie, with some welcome cliches and homages to adventure movies of the past. Unlike Thor, this movie delivers a much stronger script and more exciting action. Early in the movie Captain America chases down a car on foot. This scene is more exciting than most of the CG driven action scenes in Thor. The movie does a good job of building up the character and his motivations. The retro sets and costumes were also very fun to look at. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
airborne519Jul 24, 2011
Long overdue, this movie was great, they brought the comic book legend to life, and he is truly the embodiment of the American people, no matter what walk of life you come from, everyone will be able to feel a sense of pride from this movie.Long overdue, this movie was great, they brought the comic book legend to life, and he is truly the embodiment of the American people, no matter what walk of life you come from, everyone will be able to feel a sense of pride from this movie. He is a warrior for all who are oppressed, from any country. Avengers will be amazing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AlekKolchakJul 22, 2011
A superhero with as much courage and grit as flash and gadgets. The best example of this since Peter Parker in "Spider-man." Hugo Weaving continues his streak at playing great villains, and Tommy Lee Jones dominates scenes as always. TheA superhero with as much courage and grit as flash and gadgets. The best example of this since Peter Parker in "Spider-man." Hugo Weaving continues his streak at playing great villains, and Tommy Lee Jones dominates scenes as always. The supporting cast is less memorable, but with no obvious casting/character flubs except for a bumbling Howard Stark. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
saulotJul 26, 2011
I am a fan of captain america enough to know his story but not a "fanboy". This isn't just a good comic book movie but a general good movie. The only minor flaw i could find in the movie and i'm pretty critical is the scale of everything justI am a fan of captain america enough to know his story but not a "fanboy". This isn't just a good comic book movie but a general good movie. The only minor flaw i could find in the movie and i'm pretty critical is the scale of everything just makes it really unbelievable. There were factories like 15 stories high and tanks 5 it just wasn't needed. cap's just a feel good action packed american movie that pulled everything together with a amazing cast and well told story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DrMovieDec 10, 2011
I will be the first to admit I'm not a big Captain America fan. But this movie was great, I even waited till it was on DVD because of all the disappointments over the summer. First off I liked how they jumped right into the action, butI will be the first to admit I'm not a big Captain America fan. But this movie was great, I even waited till it was on DVD because of all the disappointments over the summer. First off I liked how they jumped right into the action, but besides that there was comedy, and romance. For someone who is not a big fan it shocked me and was right up there with x-men first class (which is my favorite of all the comic movies). I look forward to the second one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicJul 23, 2011
Captain America is great popcorn movie! do not go to the theater with your expectations high.Marvel comics take a few liberties with the comic book adaption and it works during Steve Rogers 1940's transformation and the explanation of theCaptain America is great popcorn movie! do not go to the theater with your expectations high.Marvel comics take a few liberties with the comic book adaption and it works during Steve Rogers 1940's transformation and the explanation of the origin of the Red Skull and his relationship with Bucky,as well as the costume changes.The acting was great by all! The direction by Joe Johnston proves to me that this was the right guy for the job,he gave the movie an epic look and kept the action sequences tight and to the point.The battles scenes with a mixture of world war 2 and sci fi was perfect for this sort of film.So far the best superhero movie this year,keep up the good work marvel films! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
tompaineJul 22, 2011
This movie had everything you could ever want fora superhero movie...and then some! The most fun I had at the movies in a long, long time. The story is great! The action is great! The sets, the pace, the villains, the CGI, etc...Great!This movie had everything you could ever want fora superhero movie...and then some! The most fun I had at the movies in a long, long time. The story is great! The action is great! The sets, the pace, the villains, the CGI, etc...Great! Great! Great! The dialogue is even great! (And we're usually forced to forgive superhero dialogue.) Despite knowing that this just the final piece before the big ensemble assembles next summer, it never felt like a bridge movie to the Avengers. It was it's own animal.
MINOR Spoiler: Positively the best after-credits surprise you could ever imagine! Standing ovation worthy.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NEEBONDJul 27, 2011
This one make the american's proud because this film has made the history into an mind blowing action story. So watch this one so that you get ready for the most anticipated movie of the decade which every one is waiting for "The Avengers" inThis one make the american's proud because this film has made the history into an mind blowing action story. So watch this one so that you get ready for the most anticipated movie of the decade which every one is waiting for "The Avengers" in 2012. I think that this film is the blockbuster movie with a mixture of action, history, sci-fi, drama, adventure & much more. So go to watch the captain of america the Captain America : The First Avenger and get full blown away. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Hensch2475Jul 22, 2011
Marvel comes through again with Captain America! Chris Evans stars as Steve Rogers/Cap and does a fine job, Tommy Lee Jones and Hugo Weaving, who plays the villain Red Skull, both steal the show. Story was solid, and the actions scenes wereMarvel comes through again with Captain America! Chris Evans stars as Steve Rogers/Cap and does a fine job, Tommy Lee Jones and Hugo Weaving, who plays the villain Red Skull, both steal the show. Story was solid, and the actions scenes were good. My main complaint is some cheesy scenes and one liners that took away some of the momentum the film had, but besides that very good movie! Plus, the scene after the credits is just incredible! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
mbrowndJul 26, 2011
Fantastic special effects, cool storyline and worth your money. My only frustration with the movie, is that I wish there was more action throughout the film. I look forward to the sequel next summer.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
shimano6000Jul 28, 2011
Nothing is perfect, but this is close. A great movie! Just a great adventure romp, with adequate acting. A little corny in one part, but mostly engaging the whole time. Surprised at the PG-13 rating in the US as there is some serious gore atNothing is perfect, but this is close. A great movie! Just a great adventure romp, with adequate acting. A little corny in one part, but mostly engaging the whole time. Surprised at the PG-13 rating in the US as there is some serious gore at times. This is a great movie! Sets a great foundation for The Avengers! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
zsnow4Jul 22, 2011
Captain America was another great movie to add to Marvel's ever increasing list of successful box office events. Chris Evans and the great supporting cast of Hugo Weaving, Tommy Lee Jones, Stanley Tucci, and Hayley Atwell showed greatCaptain America was another great movie to add to Marvel's ever increasing list of successful box office events. Chris Evans and the great supporting cast of Hugo Weaving, Tommy Lee Jones, Stanley Tucci, and Hayley Atwell showed great chemistry and delivered the lines of a script without fault. Captain America does a great job steering up the future Avengers movie. It's still a shame that they were unable to keep Edward Norton as Bruce Banner. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TatachoJul 23, 2011
When have you ever heard a male character in any film mention the idea of "waiting for the right partner"? The concept of a man being true to his moral principals, down to his personal/romantic life is admirable in this story. The pace andWhen have you ever heard a male character in any film mention the idea of "waiting for the right partner"? The concept of a man being true to his moral principals, down to his personal/romantic life is admirable in this story. The pace and detail of how Steve Roger's character began and evolved made this movie stand out above all other hero films. This is one of those few movies that doesn't totally insult my intelligence or rely heavily on CGI and silly macho sexual crap. Sure, there was plenty of explosions and cool effects - but unlike Transformers 3, this story had heart and intelligently executed dialogue. I give the screenwriters praise on how they handled the initial silliness of Cap's name and uniform as well as the humorous moments with Tommy Lee Jones. By the time Captain America was saving the world I didn't question the believability of his journey and by the end I was wanting the story to continue. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Waldo93Jul 24, 2011
One of the better superhero movies to come out in ages- Captain America has a refreshingly different plot structure than most movies, some genuinely funny humor, great writing, interesting characters all around, and incredible actionOne of the better superhero movies to come out in ages- Captain America has a refreshingly different plot structure than most movies, some genuinely funny humor, great writing, interesting characters all around, and incredible action sequences. The pacing is far better than would be expected, certain scenes actually manage to generate emotion due to the way the film actually develops an attachment of the audience to the characters, and the film's romance doesn't feel as half-baked as most action flicks- I'd even go so far as to say it contributes a good amount to the appeal of the film. There is room for improvement- namely, the super-villain organization, HYDRA, never, ever feels like a threat, and the declarations of characters that the villains are on the brink of taking over the world can at no point in the film be taken seriously. Beyond that, though, it's an all-around great time at the movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
spindrift68Jul 24, 2011
While paling in comparison along-side "Thor" and "X-Men: First Class", this war-centric superhero soars well due to some admirable performances and a surprisingly bitter sweet climax, that makes Steve Rogers' tale of origin stand apart as aWhile paling in comparison along-side "Thor" and "X-Men: First Class", this war-centric superhero soars well due to some admirable performances and a surprisingly bitter sweet climax, that makes Steve Rogers' tale of origin stand apart as a rousing and energetic, though at times flawed and miscalculated period popcorn adventure piece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
kevtheobaldJul 24, 2011
Great movie if you love comics, but if you are an average movie goer, this movie will be good. The visuals are very good and the dialog has some really good lines, but the script is very predictable and some of the action gets a littleGreat movie if you love comics, but if you are an average movie goer, this movie will be good. The visuals are very good and the dialog has some really good lines, but the script is very predictable and some of the action gets a little cheesy. Unlike Iron Man or Batman, where you see them develop much of their skills or abilities, Captain America becomes an instant super soldier. The problem for me is they use a biological method to make him, but that does not explain how he has the knowledge or skills to fly a plain, ride a motorcycle, or do hand-to-hand combat. If you are looking for a popcorn flick and like sci-fi/fantasy movies, you should be able to enjoy this. If you loved Iron Man, then you will really enjoy this, but just do not expect it to be better than Iron Man. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
GloofiEAug 5, 2011
You can lay your skepticism aside, for this movie truly delivers. Unlike most, including I, believed, this movie was not some rushed Hollywood sell-out. On the contrary, this movie shocked me greatly, giving me more than I hoped for, orYou can lay your skepticism aside, for this movie truly delivers. Unlike most, including I, believed, this movie was not some rushed Hollywood sell-out. On the contrary, this movie shocked me greatly, giving me more than I hoped for, or expected from a movie of this popularity. Instead of a glimmering, crowd-please that would be easy to draw in a crowd, it was a true homage to what Captain America is all about. It leaves you with the proud feeling to be an American, as cheesy as it sounds. More of the movie was spent on his actual story, characteristics, and the upbringing of his new suit(as compared to the comics), which was quite an interesting take. The movie tells the story of "Cap" in a very modern fashion, as it should be, without drifting too far from its roots. Most of all, the movie doesn't feel rushed, which is pretty impressive considering they had to explain how he got to the modern day world not aging a day for 70 years. Overall, this movie is a must see of the Summer, and the best choice by far to lead in next year's Avengers movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cjmc18Nov 20, 2011
one of the breatest hero movies ever :) the acting is great, seen hugo weaving as the red skull was a great bonus, every bit of this movie its great an important to tell captain america's real story, a few changes from the comics but it wasone of the breatest hero movies ever :) the acting is great, seen hugo weaving as the red skull was a great bonus, every bit of this movie its great an important to tell captain america's real story, a few changes from the comics but it was so it could be realistic or believable im going to give it a 10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFMay 23, 2013
All eyes were firmly focused on Captain America in his first outing, simply because he was the last piece of the jigsaw which fitted into the Avengers, and my no means did this overshadow a brilliant, fun and energetic story.
Chris Evans has
All eyes were firmly focused on Captain America in his first outing, simply because he was the last piece of the jigsaw which fitted into the Avengers, and my no means did this overshadow a brilliant, fun and energetic story.
Chris Evans has bulked up and left his Human Torch days behind to take on the mantle of Steve Rogers, but when we first see him in the film he isn't exactly a 'super soldier'. With the clever effects of digital imaging, he is a small, skinny and underwhelming health hazard, endlessly trying to join the army during World War II, but when he is selected for a program by Dr. Erskine (Stanley Tucci), to enhance his abilities to the peak of human physicality, he sees an opportunity to finally fulfil his dream.
Also part of the wider program is Colonel Chester Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones), who is immediately skeptical of Rogers involvement, but is influenced by Erskine and Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell), who is immediately drawn to the eventual Captain.
On the other side of the lines, the German's deep science division, HYDRA, is slowly trying to remove itself from the shadow of the Third Reich to make a name for itself. after finding a mythical object known as the Tesseract, Johann Schmidt (Hugo Weaving) is out to win the war all on his own.
Captain America has a wonderfully accurate period setting that is told very much like an older film. The characters are what we would expect with their dialogue and even occasional stereotypical whims, Colonel Phillips plays the typical sarcastic yet battle hardened veteran, Carter is a woman trying to make a name for herself while we also meet Howard Stark (Dominic Cooper) who is the man with his head firmly in front of everything, looking into the future...remind you of anyone?Also appearing are Neal McDonough, Toby Jones and Sebastian Stan.
Unlike Thor, there isn't much interference in terms of linking all these Marvel films together from S.H.I.E.L.D., our First Avenger stands firmly on his own, and some of the scenes in this film are truly excellent to watch, with a very big story being told and not too much of a reliance on special effects for a cheap trick explosion.
Chris Evans take on Steve Rogers is interestingly enjoyable, because even after he receives the serum which changes his whole life, he remains the same, much of what the serum is promoted as, it doesn't create, it strengthens all the attributes within the body, and this film was fantastic swan song to the Phase One solo films before the blockbuster Avengers took off.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722May 29, 2013
I thought this movie was really good but it definitely wasn't the "best superhero movie ever" like so many people have proclaimed. They could've developed some of the characters beyond Steve and Peggy more and given the movie more depth. ThatI thought this movie was really good but it definitely wasn't the "best superhero movie ever" like so many people have proclaimed. They could've developed some of the characters beyond Steve and Peggy more and given the movie more depth. That would've made certain character deaths more meaningful. The action sequences, while not as impressive as some of the other superhero movies, were still awesome in their own right and the fight scenes were fairly entertaining. The ending could've been a lot more emotional as well. I'm not asking for sobbing and ridiculous crying but if you actually think about what was happening, having some more emotion would've made it feel more genuine and authentic. Chris Evans is great as Captain America though. His role doesn't call for the darkness of Bruce Wayne or the charisma of Tony Stark but it does call for a certain level of confidence and straightforwardness and arrogance. Chris Evans hits all of those well. One of the few other weak parts was the villain. The Red Skull just wasn't all that terrifying or intimidating. Sure, he wanted to "take over the world" but nothing really made him uniquely evil other than his skinless head. All in all though, this was a very good movie and while it wasn't as good as the other Avengers films in my opinion, it is still better than most action movies around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
I liked the film a lot more than I expected to. Chris Evans was ok as a lead but I hated the whole idea of having his CGI-ed with a small body, It annoyed me a lot because it looked terrible. There was a lot of action though and it was anI liked the film a lot more than I expected to. Chris Evans was ok as a lead but I hated the whole idea of having his CGI-ed with a small body, It annoyed me a lot because it looked terrible. There was a lot of action though and it was an enjoyable film, Hugo Weaving was a great villian. It also did a good job at providing background for the Avengers film. Worth the watch imo. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PrimalHunter70Jan 27, 2012
A fun action movie for fans of the comic books! Captain America is awesome, better than your average action film. It actually has a story and good characters! Worth the time, and I hope there's a sequel, because I will definitely be seeing it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
agleekMar 27, 2012
This was quite possibly one of the better super hero movies I have seen in a while. First of all, they don't try to modernize it. So many of these super hero movies are modernizing things for today, and they didn't do that with CaptainThis was quite possibly one of the better super hero movies I have seen in a while. First of all, they don't try to modernize it. So many of these super hero movies are modernizing things for today, and they didn't do that with Captain America. Second of all, Chris Evans... Third of all, they include THE COMIC BOOK in the movie - that basically puts the plot in real time, and comic book time, because the comic was INSPIRED by the true man. They wink to the fans by giving him his true suit on stage when he jokingly punches enemy, but make it more sleek and 'military' like for his real deal outfit when fighting in the movie. True wit - and I'm sorry, no backstory? Um, okay, he's a guy who wants to fight for his country and at first can't - he's helpless with women, his friend is a play - but all he wants is to be proud of himself and his country - gets an opportunity, and becomes the first avenger. PLUS his best friend DIES, which is terrible and awesome at the same time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Tall_But_ShortAug 13, 2012
Captain America is a decent superhero film. In some ways, its better than Thor, and in some ways its even worse. Some lines are very cheesy but the movie, overall, is very well paced, and has some good actors. Chris Evans does a great job asCaptain America is a decent superhero film. In some ways, its better than Thor, and in some ways its even worse. Some lines are very cheesy but the movie, overall, is very well paced, and has some good actors. Chris Evans does a great job as "The Captain" but honestly, I wanted more from this film. There are many stupid and unnecessary scenes that brings this movie down, and it really didn't have to be that way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticJun 19, 2013
My second favorite of the Avenger movies only behind Iron Man. I was skeptical but Chris Evans does a good job as Steve Rogers and Hugo Weaving is perfect as Red Skull.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JmsbppAug 6, 2013
Esta es la pelicula en donde se destaca un buen trabajo el antiguo superheroe que comienzo siendo un desastre llega en el año en donde puedes comenzar la accion con buenos efectos y habilidades
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MalevolentMay 31, 2013
This movie is the reason I like Captain America. I love the story of a weak man becoming the perfect soldier. The ending was great and it had me feeling very sorry for Steve Rogers. If you're a fan of Captain America, this movie will notThis movie is the reason I like Captain America. I love the story of a weak man becoming the perfect soldier. The ending was great and it had me feeling very sorry for Steve Rogers. If you're a fan of Captain America, this movie will not disappoint you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
George-rootsJun 25, 2013
A Marvel film which surprisingly feels less than a super-hero movie and more of a great classic pulp-fiction comic (a comic that does not need to be seen in 3-D I might add).

War is spreading at an all time high and America needs a hero!
A Marvel film which surprisingly feels less than a super-hero movie and more of a great classic pulp-fiction comic (a comic that does not need to be seen in 3-D I might add).

War is spreading at an all time high and America needs a hero! Once an average small frail man, Steve Rogers undergoes an experiment and is boosted into the super-soldier and iconic Captain America, Good in heart and mind Steve joins the war to aid and fight against the villianous Nazi Reign ans well as an even deadlier cause from a unknown stronger threat.

I think the biggest surprise of this movie was hearing that Chris Evans was going to be Steve Rogers/Captain America. obviously because he had played The Human Torch in the two "Fantastic Four" movies.

Believe me i was more skeptical than anyone, some friend of mine declared "Well, he does look alot like Steve Rogers", to which i jokingly said "That doesn't really mean Sh*t though does it?", still i was open to seeing what he could do with the character and in all honesty Chris nailed the role. His performance does make us care about Steve before and after the Transformation and it's executed well enough to make us sympathise with Rogers's plight without pushing it to deeply.

Tommy Lee Jones is Awesome as always playing the symbol of authority, Haylie Atwell is charming an enjoyable as a Fem-fatele, yet the romance between her character and Capt's is pretty cheap and stupid, Stanley Tucci is again well casted as a wise mentor to Rogers, and finally Hugo Weaving is brilliant as Red Skull and finally justice has been done to a great comic book villain.

Aside from that everything is fun, the references to "Raiders" was great, it mocked the old costume and popularity of the 40's comics and most importantly it made the character more than respectable, all the more reason i can't wait to see him again in "The Avengers" (stay after the credits for the Trailer!!).

Final Verdict: Remembering when this film was first announced and the hype that went into it, Captain America will more than exceed expectations.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffApr 29, 2016
While 'Captain America: The First Avenger' suffers from some retro style chliches, it's still a thrill ride of an entertaining superhero action movie, and once again, another worthy addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

The movie
While 'Captain America: The First Avenger' suffers from some retro style chliches, it's still a thrill ride of an entertaining superhero action movie, and once again, another worthy addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

The movie stars Chris Evans (from 'Fantastic Four' fame) as Steve Rogers, this skinny little man from Brooklyn who believes that he is more than people tell him that he is. He wants to join and fight in the war, but is not physically suitable to do so. That is, until he meets Doctor Abraham Erskine (Stanley Tucci) who is testing out his latest experiment with a young Howard Stark (Dominic Cooper) who plans on making Steve into a sort of super soldier.

We also meet the evil Johann Schmidt aka "The Red Skull" (Hugo Weaving), who runs a secret Nazi-like base named Hydra. He steals the tesseract, and plans on using its power, and also plans on bombing different cities across.

Hayley Atwell (looking gorgeous, as to be expected) plays Agent Peggy Carter who grows an attachment to Steve, and can see that after the process of giving him superior human, physical abilities, she understands that Steve has a purpose to serve in the war.

The movie looks great, and is written very well, we can understand the characters' motivations and the plot easily. The movie moves as a very quick pace as well, never slowing down and always showing one thing after another. The only problems that occur is that the villain is pretty cartoon-ish, there is no sense of threat that comes from him, and a lot of "Captain America's" best moments are mainly done through montage, so there is just nothing but highlights of what he did during the war.

Other than that, this is a rock-solid, full-blooded, and very entertaining Marvel movie. Evans, who previously played the cocky and comedic Human Torch in 'Fantastic Four' (2005), proves to be very fleshed out as the self-righteous Captain America. This is a movie made for Marvel fans...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyNov 26, 2015
Unlike most superhero films, which are usually all the same, Captain America: The First Avenger goes in a different direction; instead of making an over-the-top CGI blockbuster filled with explosions and cars being hurled across the street,Unlike most superhero films, which are usually all the same, Captain America: The First Avenger goes in a different direction; instead of making an over-the-top CGI blockbuster filled with explosions and cars being hurled across the street, it takes us back to the days of World War II, and lessens the typical super-hero action considerably, replacing it with more old-fashioned gun-fights and car chases. But that doesn't make the movie any less enjoyable, but instead makes it fun and memorable, more so than your normal every-day action flick.

Although not as good as Guardians of the Galaxy, The First Avenger proves to be one of the better Marvel movies.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoOct 9, 2015
Refreshing to see a superhero film set during World War 2. Red Skull was an epic main villain and Chris Evens was really good too. I liked the character of Howard Stark (there was a definite "Stark" feel to him) and the main character wasRefreshing to see a superhero film set during World War 2. Red Skull was an epic main villain and Chris Evens was really good too. I liked the character of Howard Stark (there was a definite "Stark" feel to him) and the main character was likeable. There are some funny jokes (my favourite being the old lady with the machine gun). Don't know WHY this gets meh'd so much, it's a good movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cubic_AvengerJul 22, 2011
Never was a huge Captain America fan, but since 2008, starting with Iron Man leading up to Cap's movie, the quality of the movies have gotten better and better - with an exception of Thor - and Captain America is the pinnacle of MarvelNever was a huge Captain America fan, but since 2008, starting with Iron Man leading up to Cap's movie, the quality of the movies have gotten better and better - with an exception of Thor - and Captain America is the pinnacle of Marvel Studios' movies' quality. The whole time, you're immersed in the 1940's. I only say "1940's" because I'm trying to use as little spoilers as possible. But the movie is a blend of a WWII movie, a Superhero movie and a Sci-fi movie. It explains the origin of Captain America and really brings you into his shoes and makes the viewers understand his views. The movie is loaded with action, supporting cast - Nick Fury's father, Tony Stark's father Howard, Bucky and even Stan Lee which is a fun little thing to throw in - and interesting, intense story. The movie definitely made you realize that Captain America IS a hero and the world would be different without him. Bottom line, see the movie. It will make you laugh, it will make you want to punch Nazis and it might even bring about a tear. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
10
tingleJul 22, 2011
They really did good for once. You cheered you laughed some kids behind me cried and tried to be brave and cover it up. Unlike the abortion that was Thor this was a movie I did not regret paying to see. Don't bother with 3d. There are aboutThey really did good for once. You cheered you laughed some kids behind me cried and tried to be brave and cover it up. Unlike the abortion that was Thor this was a movie I did not regret paying to see. Don't bother with 3d. There are about 15 seconds of footage that is crap flying at the camera but the rest is just as good in 2d. Only other Marvel film that was this good was Iron Man 1. I loved the 1940s backdrops that were so exaggerated it was great. It should be fine to take your kids to. A couple people get shot and one guy turns into red mist after getting thrown through a propeller but not so much as a swear or boob. There isn't a nerd alive who Steve Rogers doesn't remind of their childhood. Take kids and elderly if you are a 20 something hipster you will like it to you just won't admit it in public cause it's so dorky. They even worked the punching Hitler in the jaw scene in. Oh and the preview of the new Spiderman? It looks like crap. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaJul 29, 2011
This movie will not wow you but all in all a solid entertaining movie. The main problem I found with the movie is that the story does not develop well and some parts are told in a sloppy manner. However the characters are well developed andThis movie will not wow you but all in all a solid entertaining movie. The main problem I found with the movie is that the story does not develop well and some parts are told in a sloppy manner. However the characters are well developed and genuine witch will cause the movie goer to care about the characters and ultimately be attached to the story. Captain America turns out to be an average but fun super hero movie that's worth your time. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
fearlessmontanoJul 22, 2011
just saw captain america the first avengers and it takes the place of iron man in my eyes as the most dominating marvel comics movie ever made....and iron man set a high bar to reach...
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
MoviebuffreviewJul 23, 2011
While some I did find some of the action to be a bit too "montage" like, Captain America: The First Avenger is the best comic book movie of the summer thanks to it's excellent cast, thrilling action, and appealing script.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Knicksfan7Jul 25, 2011
Joe Johnston knocked this film out of the park. Captain America: The First Avenger was awesome. The action was thrilling, the acting was superb. Chris Evans had an award worthy performance and Tommy Lee Jones was Tommy Lee Jones, great asJoe Johnston knocked this film out of the park. Captain America: The First Avenger was awesome. The action was thrilling, the acting was superb. Chris Evans had an award worthy performance and Tommy Lee Jones was Tommy Lee Jones, great as always and funny. They balanced the comedy, action, and story perfectly. The effects were excellent. Few minor flaws here and there but overall a superb film and Marvel really saved their best for last before the Avengers, which btw make sure you stay till the end of the creditz because there is the first trailer for the hyped up film and it looks amazing. I was going to give this film a nine but because of the ending im giving it a ten, go see this film, you wont be disappointed Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
FrostyJul 30, 2011
This summer has had a lot of lackluster blockbusters, including transformers 3 and Green Lantern, but Captain America is probably one of the best movies to arrive all year long. It has a very good story, and the acting is actually very wellThis summer has had a lot of lackluster blockbusters, including transformers 3 and Green Lantern, but Captain America is probably one of the best movies to arrive all year long. It has a very good story, and the acting is actually very well done compared to Thor and Green Lantern. It also has it's funny moments which are actually funny, unlike Transformers 3, which were stupid and repulsive. Definitely my favorite movie this summer and probably one of the best Super Hero Movies I've seen to date. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
AfreemanukJul 31, 2011
Ignore all the negitive reviewers they dont know a good film if it smacked them in the face!. This film has everything, humor, action, story, fun, fight scenes, and above all ITS TRUE TO MARVEL LORE! THIS is without a doubt the best marvelIgnore all the negitive reviewers they dont know a good film if it smacked them in the face!. This film has everything, humor, action, story, fun, fight scenes, and above all ITS TRUE TO MARVEL LORE! THIS is without a doubt the best marvel movie to date. Marvel studios with every production seem to get better and better and this film has everything. You will enjoy it more if your a marvel fan, but there are some fantasic performances from actors in this movie, Tommy Lee Jones is amazing, Chris evans as Captain America is also amazing, and there is a fantasic support cast making this movie one of the most thrilling, enjoyable experiences in cinema released in cinema this year. Highly Recommend you see this movie. Will be buying this as soon as its out. Oh and btw make sure you stay behind after the credits for a little treat ;) Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
Zubalo80Jul 22, 2011
Captain America was a great movie, stayed very true to the comics (from my knowledge at least) was not to over the top and it tied in with the rest of the marvel universe quite well. In short 9 out of 10. MERICA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
darksterz89Jul 23, 2011
When I saw this movie, all I could think about was how it instantly stacks up to the all-time great films in its category. What I said about classics like Iron Man, Spider-Man 2, X2 or X-Men First Class holds true for Captain America.

I love
When I saw this movie, all I could think about was how it instantly stacks up to the all-time great films in its category. What I said about classics like Iron Man, Spider-Man 2, X2 or X-Men First Class holds true for Captain America.

I love the range of emotions and development you experience following Steve Rogers from beginning to end of the film. He grows in to the hero role and you grow to like and admire him as you watch, maybe more so than any other Marvel hero. I know, that's saying a lot since that's what truly makes Marvel great. It's not superpowers but relate-able pathos and depth of character. Well, Cap delivers all that and more. It all works remarkably well as they humanize Steve and draw you in to the story. First Avenger is not just a good comic book movie. It's a great movie period.

The complexity, depth, heart, emotion and action are off the charts. I honestly can't believe we're going to see a better movie this summer and, for that matter the rest of the year. I totally agree with most of the film critics who are raving about it. The complexities of a man dressed in a flag are more then anyone could have been expecting. The evolution and growth of the characters is also something you rarely see in a summer film. I loved the supporting cast a lot, how many summer films can you say you've seen that flesh out supporting characters? I'm so glad this movie turned out as good as it did and that most people are finding it and loving it as well.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
filmtrashreviewJul 22, 2011
Another marvel film lives up to itâ
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
AtTheMoviesJul 22, 2011
I was lucky enough to see this at an early screening, and it did not disappoint. One of the summers better comic book movies (better then Green Lantern, and Thor). The special effects are amazing and look natural in the movie. The acting isI was lucky enough to see this at an early screening, and it did not disappoint. One of the summers better comic book movies (better then Green Lantern, and Thor). The special effects are amazing and look natural in the movie. The acting is pretty good, and the writing is actually quite good. The score is one of the highlights of the movie. Overall a great movie, and it gets you excited for The Avenger's. By the way, stay after the credits, there should be a scene. 9/10 Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
cimeriansJul 25, 2011
This is how a comic book superhero movie should be made. Just about perfect in every area. The origin, the reasoning and the overall flow of the film is top notch. It stayed true to who Captain America is. A good guy....a superhero. NoThis is how a comic book superhero movie should be made. Just about perfect in every area. The origin, the reasoning and the overall flow of the film is top notch. It stayed true to who Captain America is. A good guy....a superhero. No strings attached. A villain who is evil. No strings attached. No reasons. No revenge plots. No angst. No dark brooding nonsense. Classic superhero vs. villain story. Marvel is making some good films lately and I cannot wait to see the Avengers. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesJul 29, 2011
Chris Evans does a good job as Captain America. The direction and writing is crisp. Better than the Green Lantern released a few weeks ago. Better character development, more humor, great special effects. Not a great super hero movie likeChris Evans does a good job as Captain America. The direction and writing is crisp. Better than the Green Lantern released a few weeks ago. Better character development, more humor, great special effects. Not a great super hero movie like "The Dark Knight", but the best one released in awhile. Like most super hero movies the plot is too predictable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeJul 28, 2011
The first half of Captain America had some heart, charm and an interesting plot developing; unfortunately the second half suffers due to Marvels insistence on setting up The Avengers and other future Marvel movies and not focusing on givingThe first half of Captain America had some heart, charm and an interesting plot developing; unfortunately the second half suffers due to Marvels insistence on setting up The Avengers and other future Marvel movies and not focusing on giving the audience a complete satisfying story. If Captain 'America' was meant to represent the good aspect of American values? Then why completely drop such principles to the fighting and action of the second half. Cap Amercia has some things going for it at the start, but its disappointing that Marvel having all the money in the world cant get simple established aspects of storytelling right in its movies.â Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AlexFKJul 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blew me away! The movie moves at a fantastic pace with the right mix of action, comedy, drama and romance to interest almost everyone. This is one of 4 movies this summer that is movie perfection. With Super 8 and X-Men out of theaters and since everyone has seen Harry Potter then this is the movie to see. I couldn't have liked it more! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
destroya1artJul 27, 2011
Captain America was a good movie. The cast was great i really liked Chris Evans for the lead role he just fit the part perfectly. The beginning of the story and how he just goes from Steve Rogers to Captain America was really nice!. How theyCaptain America was a good movie. The cast was great i really liked Chris Evans for the lead role he just fit the part perfectly. The beginning of the story and how he just goes from Steve Rogers to Captain America was really nice!. How they made Chris Evans look skinny was amazing it didn't look cheesy at all! The pacing of the movie was OK, i didn't like how they showed Steve Rogers in the musical for over 4 minutes! yet they can't show Captain America In His SUIT fighting for the 1st time. It was literally like a montage. The movie had very few bad parts, it was funny and just really enjoyable if it were a bit more serious and not as kid friendly it would be on par with X-Men First Class. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 17, 2011
Captain America is the best of the superhero films from Marvel this year. It has a great story that turned out better than I expected it to be. It is the best superhero film of 2011.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
AutiTakahashiDec 22, 2012
The early 1940's represents tough times. A horrible war is being fought, and Colonel Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones) strongly believes that sweet victory will be embraced by the side that places more confidence in men than in weapons.

The
The early 1940's represents tough times. A horrible war is being fought, and Colonel Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones) strongly believes that sweet victory will be embraced by the side that places more confidence in men than in weapons.

The United States of America needs the best soldiers they can find, and in comes a young man with an unparalleled desire to serve his country. His name is Steve Rogers. He is an asthmatic and weighs less than a hundred pounds. If he
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Pinglu50May 1, 2015
They've brought the comics to life in a great way, the movie is pretty awesome and the cast for this movie was awesome too. I thought this wouldn't be such a deal, underestimate the movie but then when I watched it, it was so good! Great movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
sozeduckAug 14, 2011
Outstanding movie. Maybe best of the summer. I really had high hopes for Cowboys and Aliens and was kind of let down. Had no real expectations for Captain America but was blown away. Good story, good character and development, reminded meOutstanding movie. Maybe best of the summer. I really had high hopes for Cowboys and Aliens and was kind of let down. Had no real expectations for Captain America but was blown away. Good story, good character and development, reminded me a little of a cross between Raiders of the Lost Ark and Ironman. Funny, all kinds of connections to Ironman (Marvel too) so well set up for sequel or sharing the next movie! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
martinexJul 26, 2011
I liked the story. Wasn't completely happy with the casting. Chris Evans looks stupid in the uniform. He was much more convincing as Steve Rogers. Tommy Lee Jones was superb as Colonel Phillips. The film also had the feel of a World WarI liked the story. Wasn't completely happy with the casting. Chris Evans looks stupid in the uniform. He was much more convincing as Steve Rogers. Tommy Lee Jones was superb as Colonel Phillips. The film also had the feel of a World War 2 epic. My only problem was the action scenes which I thought were pretty run of the mill. Since when did Captain America carry a gun? I also didn't like Hugo Weaving's interpretation of the Red Skull. The Skull I remember reading about as a child was a mad man....supremely evil. Weaver's version was way too calm. He just didn't strike fear in me. The Red Skull I remember gave me nightmares. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DAVID1966Aug 15, 2011
Everything a summer action flick should be. The best superhero movie since Batman Begins, in my opinion. Love the WWII backdrop. Take the kids, sit back, and enjoy -- enjoy it for what it is, summer blockbuster entertainment without beingEverything a summer action flick should be. The best superhero movie since Batman Begins, in my opinion. Love the WWII backdrop. Take the kids, sit back, and enjoy -- enjoy it for what it is, summer blockbuster entertainment without being too heady. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
manwe7Jul 30, 2011
Great movie if you are a red blooded American male who digs comic book movies. The girl was hot, the action intense, and kept me glued to the screen. Made you feel good when you walked out of the movie. I gave it an 8 because Tommy Lee JonesGreat movie if you are a red blooded American male who digs comic book movies. The girl was hot, the action intense, and kept me glued to the screen. Made you feel good when you walked out of the movie. I gave it an 8 because Tommy Lee Jones acting was a bit off IMHO. I will be buying this on DVD when it comes out unlike Thor, which I thought was kind of boring. Stay after the credits to see a trailer of the upcoming Avengers movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
papajon555Aug 12, 2011
I have seen every Marvel movie this year and i have to say that this one is incredible!There is action,romance,and comedy so that everyone can enjoy it! I do have to say that the credits(stay after the credits!!!!!) is what really blew meI have seen every Marvel movie this year and i have to say that this one is incredible!There is action,romance,and comedy so that everyone can enjoy it! I do have to say that the credits(stay after the credits!!!!!) is what really blew me away...so i am not sure if i just like Captain America because of the credits.But i was never bored during the movie and there was times in the movie where i was really into it...so at worst,this is a good movie.At best,this is one of the,if not the best film of the year! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SpartanEdgeAug 11, 2011
The girlfriend & i found this movie to be really enjoyable.I'm a big fan of Captain America,always have been,but i admit i was a little disappointed when i heard this film was set entirely in World War 2.I know thats the time he comes from,&The girlfriend & i found this movie to be really enjoyable.I'm a big fan of Captain America,always have been,but i admit i was a little disappointed when i heard this film was set entirely in World War 2.I know thats the time he comes from,& was expecting to see that,but thought at least half the movie would be set in the modern day.. But when i saw the movie,i appreciated that having almost the whole thing in WW2 allows you to get to know that Cap better about the kind of person he is,& the era he's from,with a totally different way of life.It also allows us to see the Howling Commandos in action as well as Dum Dum Dugan & seeing Tony Starks father,Howard Stark.It made me appreciate more also,the way that Cap was a man ahead of his time,being one of the first Super Heroes.I thought the film had alot of heart,& i liked all the main characters,as they all bought something to the story.So as it goes,i REALLY enjoyed the whole WW2 era in the movie,& it was all done really well,but part of Captain Americas origin is the fish out of water/man out of his time part,which wasnt really covered in this movie,so that important part of Cap's story is going to be have to squeezed into & shared along with the other Avengers.I hope Weedon can do him justice under those conditions still,time will tell.Avengers will be epic i'm sure,but i'm not sure its fair on us Cap fans,to have the remainder of his origin story squeezed in with the big events & many other characters that are going to be in the Avengers.Great film though. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanAug 8, 2011
Captain America is a fairly standard Marvel origin story, but on the more competent end of the origin story scale along with Iron Man rather than the incompetent end with Ghost Rider. It's got all the entertainment you've come to expect fromCaptain America is a fairly standard Marvel origin story, but on the more competent end of the origin story scale along with Iron Man rather than the incompetent end with Ghost Rider. It's got all the entertainment you've come to expect from Marvel summer blockbusters derived from slick storytelling, creative action and a sprinkling of humour. What lifts Cap up above the rank-and-file is it's satire of wartime propaganda and patriotism. Easily one of the strongest sequences is when the Cap receives his first mission, not action scene to test his newly acquired powers as one might expect, but a song-and-dance tour to keep American hearts and minds (and wallets) in support of the war. The film does have drawbacks - not least of which is a common one amongst superhero origin stories, that is to say a pretty rubbish villian. Poor old Hugo Weaving does his best as really nasty Nazi Red Skull, but does little but scheme and gurn behind a big red face. That's what the villain in an origin story has to do, unfortunately, merely provide enough of a challenge to create spectacle, but not be too difficult for the hero to best - it's only the first chapter in their story afterall. The Cap's other chief problem is really Marvel's - rather than dedicating a whole film to introducing one of their biggest stars, they chose to share the runtime between Captain America and the origins of the Avengers, hence the title: The First Avenger. So it's part origin and part prequel to next year's super-fantastic-wonder-team extravaganza. Dispite these drawbacks, the film is still very, very fun. Some nice action, effects and humour keeps the film moving, and Evans makes a likeable protagonist. It really is quite an achievement to make such a goody two-shoes so likeable, the Cap really has always been quite a bland character (not a personality defect in sight!) maybe it's just Evans' effortless boyish charm. Stanley Tucci, Hayley Attwell and Tommy Lee Jones in usual authoritarian grouch mode, in addition to Alan Silvestri's big, brash and brassy score also add to the quality of the film. So Captain America is a perfectly decent period superhero flick, and you're sure to have a good time watching it. It's not exceptional, but that's mostly because origin stories rarely are, and Marvel just seems to want to pack everything they do at the moment with knowing fan-boy nods to The Avengers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SirSX3Aug 8, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know anything about Captain America going in, never watched the trailer or the comic books, but i gotta say, this movie makes me very interested in Captain America and is now considering to buy the comic books as i'm writing this. This movie is REALLY good. Before i watched it, i thought it was just going to be some war movie that is super boring, but it surprises me how interesting this is. It starts of with the smaller version of Steve Rogers. they did a GREAT job on the CGI effect of 'small' Chris Evans. you can hardly tell that it is CGI and most of the time, i thought that they just hired a Chris Evans look-alike to play him. He looks very real.

They also did this thing where they poke fun of the cheesy Captain America. it's like they know that Captain America is cheesy, so they just play along with it, giving reasons to why it is so cheesy. and it all makes sense. the character had comic books and films based on him, which is like real life, making an interesting connection.

Steve Rogers (Captain America) is an interesting character. all he ever wanted to do is to serve his country despite his size, which is the reason why he wasn't accepted as a solider. he is very courageous and is willing to sacrifice himself to save others.

Captain America is also part of this Marvel Cinematic Universe thing where many films are linked together and is just giving the back story so that people will have the context to understand the Avengers movie. there are some interesting connections. like Howard Stark, the father of Tony Stark(Iron Man) is working with the military and is the super-awesome-weapon-and-technology-developer of this movie. he reminds me of tony stark, but not as much of a womanizer as him. at the start of the film, they show the modern day and Captain America is discovered, being frozen for 70years(like in the comics) and at the end of the movie, it continues with the modern day story and he is being recruited by S.H.I.E.D.S. After the credits, they showed a stinger, which all of the Marvel Cinematic Universe films have if you haven realize by now, and after that, THEY SHOWED A TEASER TRAILER FOR THE AVENGER! its like Back to the Future 3 again for me, a trailer after a movie.

they follow pretty well with the comic book, i guess. they had the original design for the shield first, before the circular one, which is pretty cool.

they also have this romance between our hero and a female officer(Peggy) which apparently is the aunt of Sharon Carter from the comics. i think the romance will expand to Sharon in the Avengers now that he is in Present Day. I say that is because the romance between Steve and Peggy is pretty much of a tragedy. they only shared one kiss! it is pretty heartbreaking to watch them part at the end when Captain America 'died'. and when bucky(steve's best friend) die too.

the first half of the film is very good. it takes its time to show the origin of Captain America and also the rise of the villian(Red Skull). then the second part of the film kicked right into the action, connected by a montage of a cheesy Captain America touring as a celebrity, poking fun at the character. and Stan Lee's cameo is in this montage too.

the reason why i gave it a 9 instead of a 10 is because that they didn't focus much on the villain Red Skull, and he died at the end too. they did focus on him to a certain degree, but after he peeled off his skin literally turned into the Red Skull, they stop focusing on him that much. i am more of a villain guy, so i may be biased on this one, but i'm sure many comic book fans wants to see more of this Red Skull. so this movie doesn't focus much on the villain but much more on the hero, which is what it should be. i agree that they should show more of the villain, but i also disagree with myself because this is a Captain America movie, they did the right thing by focusing more on the hero, i feel more attached to the character after watching the movie.

overall, this is a GREAT movie, go check it out. can't wait for The Avengers.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
rmz76Jul 24, 2011
I'm a big fan of Marvel Universe, since this is a fan review and not a critic review I'm basing my score on how I would rate this on against other popular comic movies released in the last decade (my favorite of which remains Spiderman 2).I'm a big fan of Marvel Universe, since this is a fan review and not a critic review I'm basing my score on how I would rate this on against other popular comic movies released in the last decade (my favorite of which remains Spiderman 2). Against that sample, Captain America: The First Avenger does alright. The film appropriately takes place in altered World War II era in the US (presented largely Art-Deco style, think Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow toned down a few notches). I found the first 30 minutes of the film was the best it had to offer. It made me feel like this may be something special for the genre, but it quickly transformed from the a drama to a non-stop action flick that lacked much substance (perhaps bad editing). Overall I thought it was well cast (although this is one of Tommy Lee Jones worst performances), it's just sad it turned into another comic action-flick which seemed to kind of chug along to get to it's final destination to setup the 2012 superhero composite film, The Avengers. In fact, the audience gets treated to an Avengers teaser at the end which seems to be positioned as more of a continuation of the story started in this film. Once that film makes it release, Captain America: The First Avenger may be viewed as sort of a part-one of something bigger. Having said all of this, I enjoyed Thor (released earlier this year) a great a deal more. Captain America would probably be my least favorite of the Marvel films released so far, save for the unnecessary sequel, Iron Man 2.... If you've enjoyed the other Marvel films, you're in for something different with this one and you probably will enjoy it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
4toMillionsAug 26, 2011
This is a great comic book character turned big screen action star movie. It isn't Ironman good, but its pretty damn close. As an underdog story, I think many people will relate to the Steve Rogers pre-super soldier serum character. Here is aThis is a great comic book character turned big screen action star movie. It isn't Ironman good, but its pretty damn close. As an underdog story, I think many people will relate to the Steve Rogers pre-super soldier serum character. Here is a guy with the selfless heart of champion, but the size and athletic ability of Willow. On the other end of the spectrum, post-super soldier serum Captain America is a hero we would all love to be.
The plot moves smoothly, the characters have plenty of depth and the action sequences are fantastic. Even the tension that slowly builds between Cap and Peggy Carter is done well. The only weak spot is the friendship between Steve Rogers and Bucky Barnes. I don't see how these two guys would ever be best friends. I guess they felt obligated to put Bucky in the movie, but this is one instance where deviating from the original concept probably would have been the best choice.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
satansandwichAug 3, 2011
One word: Hugo Weaving! Weaving's spectacular turn as the Red Skull definitely makes Captain America worth viewing. He is officially an actor who exudes acting perfection when on screen. Some fans who are familiar with Chris Evans' turn asOne word: Hugo Weaving! Weaving's spectacular turn as the Red Skull definitely makes Captain America worth viewing. He is officially an actor who exudes acting perfection when on screen. Some fans who are familiar with Chris Evans' turn as the Human Torch in the Fantastic Four movies may also want to take a second look at his acting prowess and stage charisma as Captain America. Evans is no longer the exasperating wisecracking sidekick. Evans captures Captain America's palpable candor, untouchable honesty, and magnanimity. Captain America is a Baby Boomer's boy scout, and Evans plays it to a tee. The film's story could use some development, but I'm suspecting that the film makers learned that comic book movie fans generally don't go in for long-winded dialogue and expansive character study (ala The Return of Superman). The audience is treated to a brief development of Steve Rogers' character, then it's off to the races as Captain America battles the dark forces of Nazism. Overall, "Captain America" is a great movie for a mixed crowd. For those not very familiar with the character, the brief development and fast-paced action makes for an enjoyable ride. For those die hard Cap fans, the director is careful to pay homage to the Golden Age of Captain America, while setting the stage for the larger frame of the "Avengers" movie. Be sure to keep your seat until after the credits roll. An extended "Avengers" trailer awaits those who are patient. My vote: 7 out of 10 for a solid comic book flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Ayami--ru21Aug 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was so interesting. The actor was grate. There are good points, we can moved, cried, laughed. I enjoyed so much. My favorite is the lasy scean. I want to watch it once more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
HirokoAug 15, 2011
I watched this movie yesterday.
I'm Japanese, so I'm not good at listening to music, however, it was easy to understand.
So I could enjoyed it.
It was very exciting!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
anchocoAug 15, 2011
It is great movie!! It is very interesting and excited for me.
This movie is a little bit love story.
Finally, I was a little bit tears. I want to watch again in Japan.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Jman4Aug 20, 2011
This movie, although it follows a somewhat cliche underdog superhero plot, is still excellent. With decent acting all around and a few performances that truly stand out, the cast is satisfactory. The action sequences are explosive, intenseThis movie, although it follows a somewhat cliche underdog superhero plot, is still excellent. With decent acting all around and a few performances that truly stand out, the cast is satisfactory. The action sequences are explosive, intense and exciting and there is a respectable amount of character development and witty lines along the way. I laughed quite a bit at some moments, and the action kept me on the edge of my seat, while some scenes seemed bland or uninteresting, but overall, I would highly recommend this movie as a cliche superhero action movie (with a few laughs). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Foxg007Aug 21, 2011
From my NES days playing the captain america game till today, what will my expectation be? after watching Thor and were abit disappointed by it, I had very low expectations. But boy were I gladly surprise by a movie with some character depthFrom my NES days playing the captain america game till today, what will my expectation be? after watching Thor and were abit disappointed by it, I had very low expectations. But boy were I gladly surprise by a movie with some character depth storyline and some tying up and explaining of other avenger movie back story. Loved the WW2 time line as well and the flow of the story overall. This movie gave some faith back to the superhero movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MetaVinceSep 3, 2011
How did they do it! How did they create a movie that had such low expectations and somehow pull it off. Everyone I asked was like, 'Captain America', ehhh. But this movie was really good and will surprise you. I give it very good marks forHow did they do it! How did they create a movie that had such low expectations and somehow pull it off. Everyone I asked was like, 'Captain America', ehhh. But this movie was really good and will surprise you. I give it very good marks for story, special effects, etc. Someone told me that Marvel is setting up The Avengers for next year: Captain America, The Hulk?, Spiderman, etc. DC Comics has Superman, Wonderwoman, Batman, etc and I'm sure we'll see that next. Just an interesting tidbit, didn't know there were two comic camps (DC & Marvel)... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
lkusaAug 14, 2011
Fun comic book derivative. Good cast, well done adventure. Okay casting, and Hayley Atwell is sooooo luscious. I would have liked a different ending, however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sreekiranDec 23, 2011
captain america is a good movie. It had good characters, nice performances and well blended CGI works, with well choreographed action scenes. It had a taste of humor and also patriotism. A cool movie after a long time. This is quite bettercaptain america is a good movie. It had good characters, nice performances and well blended CGI works, with well choreographed action scenes. It had a taste of humor and also patriotism. A cool movie after a long time. This is quite better than green lantern. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ComasiSep 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I came in to the theatres with high expectations and I loved it. The action is great and the ability to see Tony Stark's dad is really cool. The only thing I didn't like that it was rushed and Bucky's death was quick and over with. But I felt that Captain America was a really good guy and I think a movie is good when it can make you feel things about the characters. I think the ending was good with Captain America waking up in modern day New York and the last line in the movie with Captain America saying "I had a date" was really cool that he still thought about Peggy even after he's been asleep for 70 years. Anyways, this is a great movie and I can't wait for The Avengers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WillSep 2, 2011
A very fun movie. Loved the 40s feel. The cast was great, and I appreciate how the producers actually took characters from the 40s-era comics instead of random ones from all over the storyline (I'm looking at you, X-Men: First Class). The badA very fun movie. Loved the 40s feel. The cast was great, and I appreciate how the producers actually took characters from the 40s-era comics instead of random ones from all over the storyline (I'm looking at you, X-Men: First Class). The bad guys were rather flat, however, and the climax was actually pretty dull. The ending was contrived, but I did appreciate it for defying formula. Recommended for superhero movie lovers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ESS180Aug 8, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Captain America: The First Avenger was pretty damn good! The acting is very good. They did a good job with that.

The action was awesome. Lots of explosions, lots of violence and lots of gun battles.

The villain looked so damn cool, he was a really good bad guy.

Overall the movie was pretty awesome.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
intruder313May 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The weakest of the Avengers films so far with an absolutely ridiculous plot and a final showdown that left me thinking WTF more than anything: the plane seems to take longer to take off than it does to cross the Atlantic.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wishmasterAug 2, 2011
Entertaining movie, I'm not a fan of comic book movies because they border on the ridiculous occasions, and this was no exception, but no matter, fantastic special effects and sound good, the better the end, I did not expect and that's what IEntertaining movie, I'm not a fan of comic book movies because they border on the ridiculous occasions, and this was no exception, but no matter, fantastic special effects and sound good, the better the end, I did not expect and that's what I like about movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerOct 27, 2011
Not Marvel's best movie, and nowhere as good as Thor but it is still enjoyable, to start off with the Captain is an extremely enjoyable character, the one guy you will always root for, it has some really funny moments, and it gives you aNot Marvel's best movie, and nowhere as good as Thor but it is still enjoyable, to start off with the Captain is an extremely enjoyable character, the one guy you will always root for, it has some really funny moments, and it gives you a chance to see other famous Marvel characters like Dum Dum Dugan, Bucky, Tony Stark's father, and several others you'll know if you are a comic fanatic, and Red Skull is a really enjoyable villain, but this movie does have it's flaws, for instance the romance between the Captain and Peggy never really seems believable because you never really see it grow, it just sort of happens, and it takes a while before you can really get into it, so in the end it's not the best Marvel movie, but it's one of there better ones, and still an enjoyable time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
movieccDec 22, 2011
Captain America was not only a great action flick but also provided detailed background on how Captain America was created. The film also stayed true to the comic book although additions in the movie only seemed to improve its "wow" factor.Captain America was not only a great action flick but also provided detailed background on how Captain America was created. The film also stayed true to the comic book although additions in the movie only seemed to improve its "wow" factor. Although the film was pretty good throughout, the easy death of the villian was a major dissapointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ImUnavailableMar 2, 2012
An enjoyable adventure that can appeal to children as well as adults. The story is decent and the action scenes are executed well. The WWII setting is recreated in a believable way and help to distinguish it from other superhero films. TheAn enjoyable adventure that can appeal to children as well as adults. The story is decent and the action scenes are executed well. The WWII setting is recreated in a believable way and help to distinguish it from other superhero films. The titular character is morally upright, stoic and luckily his human side is given enough exposure so that he doesn't come across as bland. The film sags in the second act and side characters are pretty forgettable but it's still worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ron91101Aug 23, 2011
I believe Chris Evans was the perfect actor to play the role of Captain America. He embodied what i believe Captain America would look like if he were real. The film moves at a good pace and has a good mix of comedy and action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews