User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 690 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 690

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    I go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blew me away! The movie moves at a fantastic pace with the right mix of action, comedy, drama and romance to interest almost everyone. This is one of 4 movies this summer that is movie perfection. With Super 8 and X-Men out of theaters and since everyone has seen Harry Potter then this is the movie to see. I couldn't have liked it more! Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Never was a huge Captain America fan, but since 2008, starting with Iron Man leading up to Cap's movie, the quality of the movies have gotten better and better - with an exception of Thor - and Captain America is the pinnacle of Marvel Studios' movies' quality. The whole time, you're immersed in the 1940's. I only say "1940's" because I'm trying to use as little spoilers as possible. But the movie is a blend of a WWII movie, a Superhero movie and a Sci-fi movie. It explains the origin of Captain America and really brings you into his shoes and makes the viewers understand his views. The movie is loaded with action, supporting cast - Nick Fury's father, Tony Stark's father Howard, Bucky and even Stan Lee which is a fun little thing to throw in - and interesting, intense story. The movie definitely made you realize that Captain America IS a hero and the world would be different without him. Bottom line, see the movie. It will make you laugh, it will make you want to punch Nazis and it might even bring about a tear. Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    They really did good for once. You cheered you laughed some kids behind me cried and tried to be brave and cover it up. Unlike the abortion that was Thor this was a movie I did not regret paying to see. Don't bother with 3d. There are about 15 seconds of footage that is crap flying at the camera but the rest is just as good in 2d. Only other Marvel film that was this good was Iron Man 1. I loved the 1940s backdrops that were so exaggerated it was great. It should be fine to take your kids to. A couple people get shot and one guy turns into red mist after getting thrown through a propeller but not so much as a swear or boob. There isn't a nerd alive who Steve Rogers doesn't remind of their childhood. Take kids and elderly if you are a 20 something hipster you will like it to you just won't admit it in public cause it's so dorky. They even worked the punching Hitler in the jaw scene in. Oh and the preview of the new Spiderman? It looks like crap. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Ignore all the negitive reviewers they dont know a good film if it smacked them in the face!. This film has everything, humor, action, story, fun, fight scenes, and above all ITS TRUE TO MARVEL LORE! THIS is without a doubt the best marvel movie to date. Marvel studios with every production seem to get better and better and this film has everything. You will enjoy it more if your a marvel fan, but there are some fantasic performances from actors in this movie, Tommy Lee Jones is amazing, Chris evans as Captain America is also amazing, and there is a fantasic support cast making this movie one of the most thrilling, enjoyable experiences in cinema released in cinema this year. Highly Recommend you see this movie. Will be buying this as soon as its out. Oh and btw make sure you stay behind after the credits for a little treat ;) Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    What can i say? This is Captain America! The best way to put it, they did him justice! I am sooooo looking forward to the Avengers!! You quickly grew to root on Captain America, the graphics were amazing, and the plot was strong. A++!

    P.S. Stay till after the credits!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    While some I did find some of the action to be a bit too "montage" like, Captain America: The First Avenger is the best comic book movie of the summer thanks to it's excellent cast, thrilling action, and appealing script.
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    I was lucky enough to see this at an early screening, and it did not disappoint. One of the summers better comic book movies (better then Green Lantern, and Thor). The special effects are amazing and look natural in the movie. The acting is pretty good, and the writing is actually quite good. The score is one of the highlights of the movie. Overall a great movie, and it gets you excited for The Avenger's. By the way, stay after the credits, there should be a scene. 9/10 Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    This summer has had a lot of lackluster blockbusters, including transformers 3 and Green Lantern, but Captain America is probably one of the best movies to arrive all year long. It has a very good story, and the acting is actually very well done compared to Thor and Green Lantern. It also has it's funny moments which are actually funny, unlike Transformers 3, which were stupid and repulsive. Definitely my favorite movie this summer and probably one of the best Super Hero Movies I've seen to date. Expand
  9. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Captain America was a great movie, stayed very true to the comics (from my knowledge at least) was not to over the top and it tied in with the rest of the marvel universe quite well. In short 9 out of 10. MERICA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    just saw captain america the first avengers and it takes the place of iron man in my eyes as the most dominating marvel comics movie ever made....and iron man set a high bar to reach...
  11. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the second quarter of the movie was a bit slow (the part where Steve Rogers starts singing a tour to sell war bonds), everything else in the movie shows that Captain America, along with Thor and the Incredible Hulk, make better movies then Robert Downey Jr.'s Iron Man movies (although to be fair, I like the Iron Man movies, just not as much as the movies depicting the other Avengers). One part I really enjoyed was the ending, showing Captain America's reawakening, setting the stage for next year's Avengers movie. Expand
  12. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Five Stars. Yep, that's right. Because I cannot be objective about Captain America one single bit. My first comic book (when I started collecting) was The Avengers. Through years of reading many comics, The Avengers was always my favorite and Captain America was always my favorite hero. Yes, I know they did a really bad movie in the early 90s of Cap, but given the budget and the plan to make the Avengers movie happen in continuity, I EXPECTED perfection out of this movie. They would NOT have been able to pull off any Avengers movie without a solid Captain America foundation. While Chris Evans definitely had the LOOK, I was initially concerned since he had very recently played Human Torch in the Fantastic Four movies. And, in my mind, him playing the immature Johnny Storm was much different than the responsible, mature Steve Rogers. Chris was absolutely perfect. The story was absolutely perfect. The cheese was minimal. The setup for the Avengers movie was perfect. People who have no emotional connection to the characters may find some of it cheesy, but Marvel, while not churning out dark masterpieces like DC is doing with Batman, this was everything I could have possibly wanted in a Captain America film. The Avengers trailer at the end put me over the top. My childhood coming to life on screen is mesmerizing. Excelsior! Expand
  13. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    This is how a comic book superhero movie should be made. Just about perfect in every area. The origin, the reasoning and the overall flow of the film is top notch. It stayed true to who Captain America is. A good guy....a superhero. No strings attached. A villain who is evil. No strings attached. No reasons. No revenge plots. No angst. No dark brooding nonsense. Classic superhero vs. villain story. Marvel is making some good films lately and I cannot wait to see the Avengers. Expand
  14. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    This movie is awesome. 2011 turned out to be maybe the best year ever for the comic book movie adaptation. Marvel knows exactly what they are doing,
  15. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    I am a fan of captain america enough to know his story but not a "fanboy". This isn't just a good comic book movie but a general good movie. The only minor flaw i could find in the movie and i'm pretty critical is the scale of everything just makes it really unbelievable. There were factories like 15 stories high and tanks 5 it just wasn't needed. cap's just a feel good action packed american movie that pulled everything together with a amazing cast and well told story. Expand
  16. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Joe Johnston knocked this film out of the park. Captain America: The First Avenger was awesome. The action was thrilling, the acting was superb. Chris Evans had an award worthy performance and Tommy Lee Jones was Tommy Lee Jones, great as always and funny. They balanced the comedy, action, and story perfectly. The effects were excellent. Few minor flaws here and there but overall a superb film and Marvel really saved their best for last before the Avengers, which btw make sure you stay till the end of the creditz because there is the first trailer for the hyped up film and it looks amazing. I was going to give this film a nine but because of the ending im giving it a ten, go see this film, you wont be disappointed Expand
  17. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw this movie the day it came out (the first time I've seen a movie the day it came out since Toy Story 3) and it was AWESOME!!! Thor and Green Lantern were great movies, but this overshadows those two in every way. It's by far the best of the three.(I haven't seen X-Men: First Class). Great acting, great storytelling, and great fight scenes. It's PERFECT!!!
    Not only is it better than Thor and Green Lantern, it's better than Superman, X-Men, and every other superhero movie I've seen except for The Dark Knight and Iron Man. It's one of the best superhero movies ever.
    Chris Evans is excellent as Steve Rogers/Captain America. He was the best thing about the Fantastic Four movie. He did the role of Captain America much better than I expected. The rest of the cast did their roles well-especially Hugo Weaving as the Red Skull.
    The film stays true to the comics. Well, it mostly stays true to the Earth 616 Marvel Universe, but Bucky and Steve being childhood friends and Bucky protecting Steve from bullies stems from Ultimate Marvel, and so does Steve being found by S.H.I.E.L.D instead of the Avengers. Oh well.
    I do like how the film is set during WW2, because Captain America first appeared during WW2, and was frozen in ice near the end of the war and wasn't revived until decades later. I'm glad that Captain America didn't end up like Green Lantern: with reviews it didn't deserve. It's one of the best movies of the summer. I guarantee it. If you go see this movie, you will most likely NOT be disappointed. You won't regret seeing it. I'm looking forward to the sequel, and I hope Bucky appears as the Winter Soilder.
    Expand
  18. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    This one make the american's proud because this film has made the history into an mind blowing action story. So watch this one so that you get ready for the most anticipated movie of the decade which every one is waiting for "The Avengers" in 2012. I think that this film is the blockbuster movie with a mixture of action, history, sci-fi, drama, adventure & much more. So go to watch the captain of america the Captain America : The First Avenger and get full blown away. Expand
  19. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    This movie was magnificent! A lot of action and the acting was incredible. It completely blew me away!
    Ranking:
    1. Captain America- 10/10
    2. Iron Man-8/10
    3. The Incredible Hulk-7/10
    4. Thor-7/10
    5. Iron Man 2-7/10
  20. May 1, 2013
    10
    This is, from what I can tell, almost perfectly accurate to marvel lore. It is funny, it is suspenseful, it has romance and loss and heroism and men rising to the challenge. Don't listen to the negative reviews, this deserves nothing less than a 10.
  21. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    Nothing is perfect, but this is close. A great movie! Just a great adventure romp, with adequate acting. A little corny in one part, but mostly engaging the whole time. Surprised at the PG-13 rating in the US as there is some serious gore at times. This is a great movie! Sets a great foundation for The Avengers!
  22. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Captain America was another great movie to add to Marvel's ever increasing list of successful box office events. Chris Evans and the great supporting cast of Hugo Weaving, Tommy Lee Jones, Stanley Tucci, and Hayley Atwell showed great chemistry and delivered the lines of a script without fault. Captain America does a great job steering up the future Avengers movie. It's still a shame that they were unable to keep Edward Norton as Bruce Banner. Expand
  23. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best superhero movie of the summer. A satisfying blend of action and humor that while not directly take from the comics keeps most of the spirit of the modern interpretation of the character to heart. The film has plenty of nods to various Captain America characters and objects that should keep fans of the book entertained. This feels much more like a complete film than something like Iron Man 2 did with only a pair of bookends tacked on to smooth the transition to the Avengers. As usual make sure to stay after the credits for something extra. Expand
  24. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I go to the movies almost every week, some weeks I go more than once. I must say this summer has been full of disappointments. I was getting so upset at all the big summer movies being ok at best, but then Captain America comes along and blew me away! The movie moves at a fantastic pace with the right mix of action, comedy, drama and romance to interest almost everyone. This is one of 4 movies this summer that is movie perfection. With Super 8 and X-Men out of theaters and since everyone has seen Harry Potter then this is the movie to see. I couldn't have liked it more! Expand
  25. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    When I saw this movie, all I could think about was how it instantly stacks up to the all-time great films in its category. What I said about classics like Iron Man, Spider-Man 2, X2 or X-Men First Class holds true for Captain America.

    I love the range of emotions and development you experience following Steve Rogers from beginning to end of the film. He grows in to the hero role and you
    grow to like and admire him as you watch, maybe more so than any other Marvel hero. I know, that's saying a lot since that's what truly makes Marvel great. It's not superpowers but relate-able pathos and depth of character. Well, Cap delivers all that and more. It all works remarkably well as they humanize Steve and draw you in to the story. First Avenger is not just a good comic book movie. It's a great movie period.

    The complexity, depth, heart, emotion and action are off the charts. I honestly can't believe we're going to see a better movie this summer and, for that matter the rest of the year. I totally agree with most of the film critics who are raving about it. The complexities of a man dressed in a flag are more then anyone could have been expecting. The evolution and growth of the characters is also something you rarely see in a summer film. I loved the supporting cast a lot, how many summer films can you say you've seen that flesh out supporting characters? I'm so glad this movie turned out as good as it did and that most people are finding it and loving it as well.
    Expand
  26. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    When have you ever heard a male character in any film mention the idea of "waiting for the right partner"? The concept of a man being true to his moral principals, down to his personal/romantic life is admirable in this story. The pace and detail of how Steve Roger's character began and evolved made this movie stand out above all other hero films. This is one of those few movies that doesn't totally insult my intelligence or rely heavily on CGI and silly macho sexual crap. Sure, there was plenty of explosions and cool effects - but unlike Transformers 3, this story had heart and intelligently executed dialogue. I give the screenwriters praise on how they handled the initial silliness of Cap's name and uniform as well as the humorous moments with Tommy Lee Jones. By the time Captain America was saving the world I didn't question the believability of his journey and by the end I was wanting the story to continue. Expand
  27. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    One of the better superhero movies to come out in ages- Captain America has a refreshingly different plot structure than most movies, some genuinely funny humor, great writing, interesting characters all around, and incredible action sequences. The pacing is far better than would be expected, certain scenes actually manage to generate emotion due to the way the film actually develops an attachment of the audience to the characters, and the film's romance doesn't feel as half-baked as most action flicks- I'd even go so far as to say it contributes a good amount to the appeal of the film. There is room for improvement- namely, the super-villain organization, HYDRA, never, ever feels like a threat, and the declarations of characters that the villains are on the brink of taking over the world can at no point in the film be taken seriously. Beyond that, though, it's an all-around great time at the movies. Expand
  28. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Captain America: The First Avenger is the last of the four characters in The Avengers movie that will have a stand alone movie (at least before The Avengers comes out). It follows the fantastic Iron Man, a surprisingly decent Incredible Hulk, a decidedly meh Iron Man 2, and an amazing Thor. So, how did it live up to those? Pretty frakkin well


    The rest of my review can be found
    here:

    http://joawmeens.hubpages.com/hub/Captain-America-The-First-Avenger-movie-review
    Expand
  29. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    I liked this movie much more than Thor
  30. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Captain America was a good movie. The cast was great i really liked Chris Evans for the lead role he just fit the part perfectly. The beginning of the story and how he just goes from Steve Rogers to Captain America was really nice!. How they made Chris Evans look skinny was amazing it didn't look cheesy at all! The pacing of the movie was OK, i didn't like how they showed Steve Rogers in the musical for over 4 minutes! yet they can't show Captain America In His SUIT fighting for the 1st time. It was literally like a montage. The movie had very few bad parts, it was funny and just really enjoyable if it were a bit more serious and not as kid friendly it would be on par with X-Men First Class. Expand
  31. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Briefly, this movie shows enormous to the comics of the era and tat the same time appreciates the the more realistic trend of comic book movies that Marvel supports. Most importantly it downplays the hokey quality of the era as seen by men and women of the modern era. It also shows respect to the men and women who made the actual sacrifices that let the Allies win the war. Chris Evans deserves a lot of credit for not falling into his more comfortable joke-ster persona and taking on the sheer weight of being a human super-weapon, and he does it wonderfully. Expand
  32. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Just a good old fashioned action movie. Entertaining and fun. don't think to much into it and you'll enjoy the cool special effects, awesome fight scenes, and corny jokes.
  33. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    To be completely honest, all i can do is adlib the trailer. Where are the best heroes made? IN UHMERICUH........

    Seriously though, this is completely the best film i've ever seen. And i've seen alot of films......
  34. May 23, 2013
    9
    All eyes were firmly focused on Captain America in his first outing, simply because he was the last piece of the jigsaw which fitted into the Avengers, and my no means did this overshadow a brilliant, fun and energetic story.
    Chris Evans has bulked up and left his Human Torch days behind to take on the mantle of Steve Rogers, but when we first see him in the film he isn't exactly a 'super
    soldier'. With the clever effects of digital imaging, he is a small, skinny and underwhelming health hazard, endlessly trying to join the army during World War II, but when he is selected for a program by Dr. Erskine (Stanley Tucci), to enhance his abilities to the peak of human physicality, he sees an opportunity to finally fulfil his dream.
    Also part of the wider program is Colonel Chester Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones), who is immediately skeptical of Rogers involvement, but is influenced by Erskine and Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell), who is immediately drawn to the eventual Captain.
    On the other side of the lines, the German's deep science division, HYDRA, is slowly trying to remove itself from the shadow of the Third Reich to make a name for itself. after finding a mythical object known as the Tesseract, Johann Schmidt (Hugo Weaving) is out to win the war all on his own.
    Captain America has a wonderfully accurate period setting that is told very much like an older film. The characters are what we would expect with their dialogue and even occasional stereotypical whims, Colonel Phillips plays the typical sarcastic yet battle hardened veteran, Carter is a woman trying to make a name for herself while we also meet Howard Stark (Dominic Cooper) who is the man with his head firmly in front of everything, looking into the future...remind you of anyone?Also appearing are Neal McDonough, Toby Jones and Sebastian Stan.
    Unlike Thor, there isn't much interference in terms of linking all these Marvel films together from S.H.I.E.L.D., our First Avenger stands firmly on his own, and some of the scenes in this film are truly excellent to watch, with a very big story being told and not too much of a reliance on special effects for a cheap trick explosion.
    Chris Evans take on Steve Rogers is interestingly enjoyable, because even after he receives the serum which changes his whole life, he remains the same, much of what the serum is promoted as, it doesn't create, it strengthens all the attributes within the body, and this film was fantastic swan song to the Phase One solo films before the blockbuster Avengers took off.
    Expand
  35. May 31, 2013
    9
    This movie is the reason I like Captain America. I love the story of a weak man becoming the perfect soldier. The ending was great and it had me feeling very sorry for Steve Rogers. If you're a fan of Captain America, this movie will not disappoint you.
  36. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Fun comic book derivative. Good cast, well done adventure. Okay casting, and Hayley Atwell is sooooo luscious. I would have liked a different ending, however.
  37. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I came in to the theatres with high expectations and I loved it. The action is great and the ability to see Tony Stark's dad is really cool. The only thing I didn't like that it was rushed and Bucky's death was quick and over with. But I felt that Captain America was a really good guy and I think a movie is good when it can make you feel things about the characters. I think the ending was good with Captain America waking up in modern day New York and the last line in the movie with Captain America saying "I had a date" was really cool that he still thought about Peggy even after he's been asleep for 70 years. Anyways, this is a great movie and I can't wait for The Avengers. Expand
  38. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Everything a summer action flick should be. The best superhero movie since Batman Begins, in my opinion. Love the WWII backdrop. Take the kids, sit back, and enjoy -- enjoy it for what it is, summer blockbuster entertainment without being too heady.
  39. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Captain America: The First Avenger was pretty damn good! The acting is very good. They did a good job with that.

    The action was awesome. Lots of explosions, lots of violence and lots of gun battles.

    The villain looked so damn cool, he was a really good bad guy.

    Overall the movie was pretty awesome.
    Expand
  40. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    I have seen every Marvel movie this year and i have to say that this one is incredible!There is action,romance,and comedy so that everyone can enjoy it! I do have to say that the credits(stay after the credits!!!!!) is what really blew me away...so i am not sure if i just like Captain America because of the credits.But i was never bored during the movie and there was times in the movie where i was really into it...so at worst,this is a good movie.At best,this is one of the,if not the best film of the year! Expand
  41. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    The girlfriend & i found this movie to be really enjoyable.I'm a big fan of Captain America,always have been,but i admit i was a little disappointed when i heard this film was set entirely in World War 2.I know thats the time he comes from,& was expecting to see that,but thought at least half the movie would be set in the modern day.. But when i saw the movie,i appreciated that having almost the whole thing in WW2 allows you to get to know that Cap better about the kind of person he is,& the era he's from,with a totally different way of life.It also allows us to see the Howling Commandos in action as well as Dum Dum Dugan & seeing Tony Starks father,Howard Stark.It made me appreciate more also,the way that Cap was a man ahead of his time,being one of the first Super Heroes.I thought the film had alot of heart,& i liked all the main characters,as they all bought something to the story.So as it goes,i REALLY enjoyed the whole WW2 era in the movie,& it was all done really well,but part of Captain Americas origin is the fish out of water/man out of his time part,which wasnt really covered in this movie,so that important part of Cap's story is going to be have to squeezed into & shared along with the other Avengers.I hope Weedon can do him justice under those conditions still,time will tell.Avengers will be epic i'm sure,but i'm not sure its fair on us Cap fans,to have the remainder of his origin story squeezed in with the big events & many other characters that are going to be in the Avengers.Great film though. Expand
  42. May 14, 2012
    9
    Captain America: The First Avenger has everything the much overblown summer Avenger's movie lacks, namely an actual story (and a compelling one) but also attention to story details, atmosphere, setting, better music, a tighter universe and tension for cripe's sake, something The Avengers fatally lacks (though few seem to mind). Captain America belongs with the better superhero flicks like Watchmen, Spider-Man 2, Batman Begins and Rocketeer. Expand
  43. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    I will be the first to admit I'm not a big Captain America fan. But this movie was great, I even waited till it was on DVD because of all the disappointments over the summer. First off I liked how they jumped right into the action, but besides that there was comedy, and romance. For someone who is not a big fan it shocked me and was right up there with x-men first class (which is my favorite of all the comic movies). I look forward to the second one. Expand
  44. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    excellent movie; exceeded my expectations; part love story / lots of action...if you are a fan of super heroes, that this movie is definitely for you. Don't forget to stay till after the credit rolls, to see a short preview clip on the Avengers.
  45. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know anything about Captain America going in, never watched the trailer or the comic books, but i gotta say, this movie makes me very interested in Captain America and is now considering to buy the comic books as i'm writing this. This movie is REALLY good. Before i watched it, i thought it was just going to be some war movie that is super boring, but it surprises me how interesting this is. It starts of with the smaller version of Steve Rogers. they did a GREAT job on the CGI effect of 'small' Chris Evans. you can hardly tell that it is CGI and most of the time, i thought that they just hired a Chris Evans look-alike to play him. He looks very real.

    They also did this thing where they poke fun of the cheesy Captain America. it's like they know that Captain America is cheesy, so they just play along with it, giving reasons to why it is so cheesy. and it all makes sense. the character had comic books and films based on him, which is like real life, making an interesting connection.

    Steve Rogers (Captain America) is an interesting character. all he ever wanted to do is to serve his country despite his size, which is the reason why he wasn't accepted as a solider. he is very courageous and is willing to sacrifice himself to save others.

    Captain America is also part of this Marvel Cinematic Universe thing where many films are linked together and is just giving the back story so that people will have the context to understand the Avengers movie. there are some interesting connections. like Howard Stark, the father of Tony Stark(Iron Man) is working with the military and is the super-awesome-weapon-and-technology-developer of this movie. he reminds me of tony stark, but not as much of a womanizer as him. at the start of the film, they show the modern day and Captain America is discovered, being frozen for 70years(like in the comics) and at the end of the movie, it continues with the modern day story and he is being recruited by S.H.I.E.D.S. After the credits, they showed a stinger, which all of the Marvel Cinematic Universe films have if you haven realize by now, and after that, THEY SHOWED A TEASER TRAILER FOR THE AVENGER! its like Back to the Future 3 again for me, a trailer after a movie.

    they follow pretty well with the comic book, i guess. they had the original design for the shield first, before the circular one, which is pretty cool.

    they also have this romance between our hero and a female officer(Peggy) which apparently is the aunt of Sharon Carter from the comics. i think the romance will expand to Sharon in the Avengers now that he is in Present Day. I say that is because the romance between Steve and Peggy is pretty much of a tragedy. they only shared one kiss! it is pretty heartbreaking to watch them part at the end when Captain America 'died'. and when bucky(steve's best friend) die too.

    the first half of the film is very good. it takes its time to show the origin of Captain America and also the rise of the villian(Red Skull). then the second part of the film kicked right into the action, connected by a montage of a cheesy Captain America touring as a celebrity, poking fun at the character. and Stan Lee's cameo is in this montage too.

    the reason why i gave it a 9 instead of a 10 is because that they didn't focus much on the villain Red Skull, and he died at the end too. they did focus on him to a certain degree, but after he peeled off his skin literally turned into the Red Skull, they stop focusing on him that much. i am more of a villain guy, so i may be biased on this one, but i'm sure many comic book fans wants to see more of this Red Skull. so this movie doesn't focus much on the villain but much more on the hero, which is what it should be. i agree that they should show more of the villain, but i also disagree with myself because this is a Captain America movie, they did the right thing by focusing more on the hero, i feel more attached to the character after watching the movie.

    overall, this is a GREAT movie, go check it out. can't wait for The Avengers.
    Expand
  46. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was so interesting. The actor was grate. There are good points, we can moved, cried, laughed. I enjoyed so much. My favorite is the lasy scean. I want to watch it once more. Expand
  47. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Outstanding movie. Maybe best of the summer. I really had high hopes for Cowboys and Aliens and was kind of let down. Had no real expectations for Captain America but was blown away. Good story, good character and development, reminded me a little of a cross between Raiders of the Lost Ark and Ironman. Funny, all kinds of connections to Ironman (Marvel too) so well set up for sequel or sharing the next movie! Expand
  48. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    It is great movie!! It is very interesting and excited for me.
    This movie is a little bit love story.
    Finally, I was a little bit tears. I want to watch again in Japan.
  49. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    From my NES days playing the captain america game till today, what will my expectation be? after watching Thor and were abit disappointed by it, I had very low expectations. But boy were I gladly surprise by a movie with some character depth storyline and some tying up and explaining of other avenger movie back story. Loved the WW2 time line as well and the flow of the story overall. This movie gave some faith back to the superhero movies. Expand
  50. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    How did they do it! How did they create a movie that had such low expectations and somehow pull it off. Everyone I asked was like, 'Captain America', ehhh. But this movie was really good and will surprise you. I give it very good marks for story, special effects, etc. Someone told me that Marvel is setting up The Avengers for next year: Captain America, The Hulk?, Spiderman, etc. DC Comics has Superman, Wonderwoman, Batman, etc and I'm sure we'll see that next. Just an interesting tidbit, didn't know there were two comic camps (DC & Marvel)... Expand
  51. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    i didn't know what to expect because I didn't exactly read the comics before I saw this movie but I was glad I did because this movie is friggin' awesome.
  52. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Captain America is the best of the superhero films from Marvel this year. It has a great story that turned out better than I expected it to be. It is the best superhero film of 2011.
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    one of the breatest hero movies ever :) the acting is great, seen hugo weaving as the red skull was a great bonus, every bit of this movie its great an important to tell captain america's real story, a few changes from the comics but it was so it could be realistic or believable im going to give it a 10!
  54. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I'm sure the regular followers of my blog are shocked to see that I gave a superhero/comic book movie a perfect rating. It is a well known fact, that while I'm a Science Fiction fanatic, I hate superheroes and comics. I wanted to see Captain America though, because I'm fascinated by the Avengers. I really can't see how all those big stars are going to work together, so I wanted to see all the films leading up to the Avengers, so I could follow along. Tommy Lee Jones, one of my favorite actors of all time, is one of the stars of this film, and I know he won't sign on to do just anything, so I knew that Captain America would at the very least be watchable. The more and more I got into Captain America, the most surprised I was by it's realism and honesty, it's not just the story of another superhero and how he's going to fit into the Avengers, it's the story of a very likeable character who wants to be something more than he is. I also loved the fact that this film took place in the 1940's as opposed to the modern era, because it gave a uniqueness to the story. I didn't feel like I was watching another Superman or Batman type of movie, I was really seeing something unique. The cast was fantastic, Chris Evans in particular, I don't know where the people who do the casting for these movies keep finding these guys, but each newcomer is better than the last. Captain America is unique and doesn't feel like a superhero out of some comic book. Comics are often based in extreme fantasy and appeal to those who want to escape their reality. Captain America was different though as he choses not to runaway, but to continually better himself, making him a uniquely remarkable character and it's those qualities that helped make a unique and remarkable film. Expand
  55. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This was quite possibly one of the better super hero movies I have seen in a while. First of all, they don't try to modernize it. So many of these super hero movies are modernizing things for today, and they didn't do that with Captain America. Second of all, Chris Evans... Third of all, they include THE COMIC BOOK in the movie - that basically puts the plot in real time, and comic book time, because the comic was INSPIRED by the true man. They wink to the fans by giving him his true suit on stage when he jokingly punches enemy, but make it more sleek and 'military' like for his real deal outfit when fighting in the movie. True wit - and I'm sorry, no backstory? Um, okay, he's a guy who wants to fight for his country and at first can't - he's helpless with women, his friend is a play - but all he wants is to be proud of himself and his country - gets an opportunity, and becomes the first avenger. PLUS his best friend DIES, which is terrible and awesome at the same time. Expand
  56. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    Yes Captain America is overall patriotic yet over all i absolutely loved it for the amazing performance from the dude who played Red Skull, I LOVE RD SKULL HE IS ONE OF THE SCARIEST VILLAINS OF ALL TIME(GO READ OLD MAN LOGAN), overall i really enjoyed the film every performance was amazing the diolog was fun and the humor was funny,

    -9/10, should be an 8 but the movie made me smile
  57. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    An astonishing film out of Marvel Studios. Captain America is the epitome of entertainment, with a compelling story, top of the line action scenes, and a star studded turn for Chris Evans as Steve Rogers, this is without a doubt one of Marvel's greatest outings to date.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Colin Kennedy
    Jul 28, 2011
    60
    Charming, handsome and full of pep – all 70 year-old Cap lacks is a knockout blow. Still, Johnston should be saluted for old-fashioned heart in a cynical age, while Marvel should be confined to barracks for cynical marketing.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    The final conflict is so protracted as to comfortably accommodate a bathroom break. Don't worry. You won't miss anything you haven't seen before.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 23, 2011
    63
    Captain America falls into the prevalent pitfalls of origin stories. So much time and effort is expended explaining how the protagonist gains his super-powers (and exploring his initial usage of them) that there's not enough opportunity to develop a compelling storyline beyond his "baptism."