Screen Gems | Release Date: October 18, 2013
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 317 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
146
Mixed:
111
Negative:
60
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
DarkCriticNov 4, 2013
Based on Stephen King's novel, "Carrie" and the same name as the original in 1976, the new version of "Carrie" is about a poor innocent girl who has telekinesis and she went to a prom until those mean bullies are making a prank to her and sheBased on Stephen King's novel, "Carrie" and the same name as the original in 1976, the new version of "Carrie" is about a poor innocent girl who has telekinesis and she went to a prom until those mean bullies are making a prank to her and she controls her power to destruct the entire high school into a disaster. Chloe Grace-Moretz is playing a main character as Carrie White and she did a pretty good job for portraying an emotional teenage girl, and she also gets the top that is near to the original Carrie. Julianne Moore plays Carrie's mother and she also did great for becoming an insane widow who wants to get rid of Carrie White's life, not as bad as the original, but the original mother stays the top. The story stays very close to the book and it goes different ways like the original movie, but I've seen Carrie White becomes an interesting character that we seen her back problems. She controls her telekinesis powers, she gets comfortable to her new friend, and she becomes insane for destroying everything in the prom for her bullies and to entire school that makes her prank. Even though the new version of Carrie is pretty decent and not as close to the original, but it's a good horror movie to enjoy with teenagers and to other Stephen King fans as well. Carrie is a good old fashion flick with great scares and some chilling moments that I've seen in Halloween, but a good one. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Stormcrow666Jan 3, 2014
I like both the original and this newest version. The acting is actually pretty good and updated. The effects notwithstanding the story remains the best part of course. I would be curious as to what Mr. King feels but I can tell you that II like both the original and this newest version. The acting is actually pretty good and updated. The effects notwithstanding the story remains the best part of course. I would be curious as to what Mr. King feels but I can tell you that I enjoyed the entire film. Chloe Moretz does a very good job as does Julianne Moore in bringing us the emotion of the characters. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
dudu_95Nov 22, 2013
An average movie for a great novel. Carrie is entertaining in its first half hour, but once the action starts, it becomes laughable. The cast disappoints, not even Julianne Moore could bring a nice performance.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
kyldestyOct 27, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was ok until the prom scene. The part where everyone was supposed to laugh at Carrie and her mother saying in her head over and over, 'they're all gonna laugh at you' was completely left out. This was a HUGE mistake. Whomever is responsible for this stupidass mistake should be ostracized from the film industry. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JacobYoung68Oct 30, 2013
Perfect. For the sake of a review for a 'remake' I believe you should forget that it is one, and focus on how good this film is on it's own two feet. Carrie is an unbelievably good film; tense, gripping with brilliant acting and great rampantPerfect. For the sake of a review for a 'remake' I believe you should forget that it is one, and focus on how good this film is on it's own two feet. Carrie is an unbelievably good film; tense, gripping with brilliant acting and great rampant destruction... What more could you want? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
jetstarOct 23, 2013
Loved the original and when I heard that this movie was being done, I had mixed emotions rushing all over me. After watching the movie, I knew that I have just watched a decent movie but if you think about it more, you will think that it wasLoved the original and when I heard that this movie was being done, I had mixed emotions rushing all over me. After watching the movie, I knew that I have just watched a decent movie but if you think about it more, you will think that it was a bit pointless on making the movie. I considered the movie to be a remake and a bit of a re-imagined version. Remakes are made to fix problems that it's original had and to add something new that wasn't part of the original or it's source material. The only thing new added to this movie that wasn't part of the movie was the involvement of recording a bullying that was happening at the moment, with the use of cellular phones and making it viral. The other one was the rampage scene but if you have read the source material or the book, then you probably know that this was going to happen. The movie didn't fix anything that the original had and nothing memorable or new, was added that wasn't part of the original or the source material. So if nothing new happened in this film then what was the point of making this flick. Remakes should be new and fresh and should not entirely be the same as the original and source material. The movie was not terrible because it had excellent acting from Chloe Moretz and Julianne Moore. The CGI was decent but at least it wasn't horrible. Overall, this Carrie didn't beat the original but it was a decent movie, I still had a lot of fun watching the movie but it still gives me the feeling that sometimes the movie feels pointless. Carrie gets a 7/10. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
fadytoumaJan 2, 2014
Carrie is a magical horror movie, not only it contains most of the
scary things a good horror movie needs but it also spices it up with
some moral. In fact, it shows what does bullying lead to. There isn't a lot of nudity which is rare
Carrie is a magical horror movie, not only it contains most of the
scary things a good horror movie needs but it also spices it up with
some moral. In fact, it shows what does bullying lead to. There isn't a
lot of nudity which is rare these days so I recommend you to watch this
beast. The whole movie is not that scary but it contains a lot of
disturbing bloody scenes and cruel killing ways, that won't make you
uncomfortable if you're a true horror/thriller fan. The script is
written well enough. The directors did a good job. It could be so easy
to make a Carrie two because of the magical ending of the movie. I
gave the film 8/10 because it wasn't too scary and I never give more
than 9/10 so 8/10 in considered very good! Now go and watch it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
CantandresJul 31, 2015
I have to say that I really like the original movie and I think it needn't have been made again. I can't say that I actually dislike the reboot. It had it's moments and I did like the fact that it came off more as a human tragedy story than aI have to say that I really like the original movie and I think it needn't have been made again. I can't say that I actually dislike the reboot. It had it's moments and I did like the fact that it came off more as a human tragedy story than a horror flick. I must also say that it was a lot easier on the eye to watch pretty Chloe Grace Moretz than it was to watch Sissy Spacek, but the movie just somehow fell flat for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ThordaneOct 22, 2013
Not a bad movie but nothing amazing. This is the same Carrie you've seen or read before, but made with more modern effects and with a bit of a twist to make room for Carrie 2. I see a lot of low scores, and I see a lot of high scores byNot a bad movie but nothing amazing. This is the same Carrie you've seen or read before, but made with more modern effects and with a bit of a twist to make room for Carrie 2. I see a lot of low scores, and I see a lot of high scores by people with 1 review under their belt. This movie is average, an acceptable depiction of a story you already know, or a good way for youngsters to see the Carrie story because no one wants to watch a movie from the 70's anymore. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
stockton22Nov 3, 2013
I LOVED IT! As a huge fan of the book I was very satisfied with how it was brought to life. It's a little derivative of DePalma's film but has a few touches of its own, enough that I found it enough to stand on its own. Although PierceI LOVED IT! As a huge fan of the book I was very satisfied with how it was brought to life. It's a little derivative of DePalma's film but has a few touches of its own, enough that I found it enough to stand on its own. Although Pierce largely misses the chance to show the destruction Carrie brings to the whole town in the book (budget concerns perhaps?) and the ending doesn't match DePalma's, special effects elevate the prom and Chris and Billy's comeuppance (which is truly inspired and my favorite scene) past DePalma's, plus she found a good way to incorporate the book's meteor shower. Pierce also reinvents the film as drama that effectively builds tension more effectively than a simple horror film from the get go, plus Carrie's development of her power (which is well known to be a metaphor for burgeoning womanhood) progresses much more organically. Chloë Grace Moretz crushes it; it's been a common criticism that she's too pretty to be Carrie but upon seeing it, I'm letting it slide, because she not only pulls it off by bringing a heartbreaking frailty, it kind of makes things even more shocking, because you wonder just how messed up her life had to be to make her the kind of person she is at the start of the film. Not that anyone should hope for tragedy, but I found myself really praying that things would work out better despite the fact that we all know what's going to happen. Gabriella Wilde was also very good as Sue Snell, she make the sense of regret that leads to her ill-fated benevolence believable (it aways seemed far-fetched to me). The always reliable Judy Greer is in fine form as Miss Dejarden, and Julianne Moore chews the scenery as the part of Carrie's mom calls for (recreated by Pierce as a paranoid schizophrenic). The novel Carrie is one of my favorite books, so I wouldn't give it my seal of approval if I wasn't genuinely impressed. Tip of the hat to all involved. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonOct 19, 2013
Filmgoers who are not interested in seeing a modern remake of Carrie are equally unlikely to be won-over by Peirce’s effort since it tells (mostly) the same story without dramatically improving anything but the onscreen visuals.Filmgoers who are not interested in seeing a modern remake of Carrie are equally unlikely to be won-over by Peirce’s effort since it tells (mostly) the same story without dramatically improving anything but the onscreen visuals. Nevertheless, for viewers who are open to the remake, the assembled cast and crew manage to accomplish their goal of updating the still timely Carrie storyline with a more intense (and gory) retelling of events for the contemporary movie market. While it might not have been necessary, the Carrie remake is still an adept, entertaining, and at times downright haunting, piece of filmmaking. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
LamontRaymondOct 20, 2013
It's a movie of two parts the first, which includes everything up to the prom "bucket" sequence, is really pretty good. The only weak element for me was Julianne Moore's character. I generally love Moore, but this role is one dimensionalIt's a movie of two parts the first, which includes everything up to the prom "bucket" sequence, is really pretty good. The only weak element for me was Julianne Moore's character. I generally love Moore, but this role is one dimensional and weak. But again, the first part is similar to so many other movies of this type Some Kind of Wonderful, etc. But the revenge sequence at the prom and following was just entirely crappy, boring, and stupid. Sure, she had to get some kind of revenge, but it could have been SO much more creative. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
6
Movie1997Oct 19, 2013
This movie has definitely gotten some mixed reactions from everyone whose seen it so far. While I did not see the original "Carrie" movie, this version still felt pretty predictable. But honestly, I enjoyed this movie. There are definitelyThis movie has definitely gotten some mixed reactions from everyone whose seen it so far. While I did not see the original "Carrie" movie, this version still felt pretty predictable. But honestly, I enjoyed this movie. There are definitely good parts and there are definitely some bad parts. Chloe Moretz and Julianne Moore definitely make this movie work for sure, and there are some really gruesome and gory shots that I thought looked really cool. Yet at the same time, it felt like some of it really just grossed me out rather than really try to give me that true horror appeal. Plus, there are some very cheesy moments in this movie. Other than that, it's a pretty good movie overall. Some might like it, some might not, but don't take my word for it, see it yourself. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
mynameisnathanOct 19, 2013
I already knew that critics would be bashing this since it's a remake but this movie was great! Your feel the emotion and pain of Carrie throughout the movie and then she snaps and when she does it is intense I loved it! The only thingI already knew that critics would be bashing this since it's a remake but this movie was great! Your feel the emotion and pain of Carrie throughout the movie and then she snaps and when she does it is intense I loved it! The only thing negative was that by the end I loved the intensity so much that I was craving for more! All in all a 10 out of 10! Expand
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
6
ROFLoomOct 18, 2013
Obviously Hollywood has never been amazing at portraying high schools, but this one however is the most realistic I have seen (still not realistic, just the least fake) the fake parts, like students snickering when someone mentions her name,Obviously Hollywood has never been amazing at portraying high schools, but this one however is the most realistic I have seen (still not realistic, just the least fake) the fake parts, like students snickering when someone mentions her name, or she walks by them... like come on. Another thing they should have done was to see Carrie from their POV, show us why they all think she's a freak... at most high schools, shy, quiet girls don't usually get made fun of this much... unless of course the real bullying started after the shower scene... But the performances were awesome, Julianne Moore can play so many different things and she was definitely pretty freaky in this. The movie is not that scary in anyway at all, but it is a fun ride while in it, and it gets the audience into it. I honestly feel like this has potential to be a halloween time classic. But I hated the pig scene. Screw that. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
KadeemluvmusicOct 20, 2013
I think Carrie is one of my favorite underrated remakes of 2013 because I felt that the original version is way better than the new version of Carrie. Although I was a little worried that Sony and MGM were hoping to shed some light of CarrieI think Carrie is one of my favorite underrated remakes of 2013 because I felt that the original version is way better than the new version of Carrie. Although I was a little worried that Sony and MGM were hoping to shed some light of Carrie after a unsuccessful yet unsatisfied 1999 sequel and a disappointing TV movie in 2003. The remake is good, but I don't know if director Kimberly Pierce (best known for the cult classic "Boys Don't Cry") haven't even saw or what the original Carrie is about. Carrie White (originally played by Sissy Spacek, now Chloe Grace Moretz) is a teenager who is scared and frightened (and sorta freaky), she lives with her abusive mother, everyone's laughing at her at school, learning psychic powers, she and Tommy were named prom queen and king until one bucket of blood changes everything (one of the scariest scenes I've ever saw). Since that bucket killed Tommy, you know what happens next and trust me, it's full of gore. Carrie turns from prom queen to a psychotic mentally-stabled zombie (sorta). I won't tell any spoilers, but the remake is incredible. Although it may not be as good as the original, but I gotta give credit to Chloe Grace Moretz (one of the best underrated child stars since Dakota Fanning), she did a great job portraying a sick and demented teenager who has a hard time dealing with all the emotions she has gone through at school and her devilish mom as we speak. I know the reviews were mixed, so hopefully we could see a future cult classic on this remake. But I still wanna check it out before Halloween. Not great, but still a good remake. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
LowbrowCinemaOct 19, 2013
The new CARRIE is in essence a shot by shot remake utilizing much of the exact same dialogue and plot points. They needed a new screenwriter for this? Director Kimberly Peirce, BOYS DON'T CRY, adds some grit, makes it all more realistic butThe new CARRIE is in essence a shot by shot remake utilizing much of the exact same dialogue and plot points. They needed a new screenwriter for this? Director Kimberly Peirce, BOYS DON'T CRY, adds some grit, makes it all more realistic but in the process loses depth and emotion. And then someone tampered with the ending, tagging on a quick silly series of denouements with no rhyme or reason other than a 2nd rate sequel. This all sounds really bad but actually, the story still has major bite and the two leads are wonderful but nowhere near Sissy Spacek or Piper Laurie from the original. There's really no reason for this remake. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
UbaOct 19, 2013
The remake makes justice to the original film and to the novel. Well done!. The cast is perfect. We have the talented Chloe Moretz and the professionally Julianne Moore
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
diego9901Oct 18, 2013
this movie is amazing one of the best remakes q is an fact as it has a great performance moretz julian moore and a great special effects, great direction and modern twist King's novel needed
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
10
Nome352Oct 19, 2013
Moore is terrifying as a guilt-addled true believer, and Moretz caresses her role when she gets the chance. And the hot topics do indeed remain hot...
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
swaglordOct 22, 2013
The characters were to pretty difficult to relate to and the story was far less entertaining then what I was expecting it to be. I came into the theater with a lot of hype and was extremely disappointed, this movie had so much more potentialThe characters were to pretty difficult to relate to and the story was far less entertaining then what I was expecting it to be. I came into the theater with a lot of hype and was extremely disappointed, this movie had so much more potential but in the end it was kind of a let down, still a decent movie to watch if you are bored interested in telekinesis though. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
barnet42Oct 18, 2013
in my opinion what i seen in Carrie 2013 ,it as too much action and special effects but why a remake of Carrie Sissy Spacek and Piper were nominated for the oscar for Carrie 1976 The Exorcist (1973) ,The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) Jawsin my opinion what i seen in Carrie 2013 ,it as too much action and special effects but why a remake of Carrie Sissy Spacek and Piper were nominated for the oscar for Carrie 1976 The Exorcist (1973) ,The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) Jaws (1975) ,The Omen (1976) ,Carrie (1976) ,Halloween (1978) ,Alien (1979) the best horror movies of the 70's Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
2
ShiiraNov 17, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In Julie Taymor's Across the Universe(the 2008 musical that recounts the late-sixties by making narrative use of the Beatles' songbook), a high school girl expresses an unrequited love for, presumably, the golden boy, the star quarterback, in a languorous version of "I Want to Hold Your Hand", as she walks away from her thronged colleagues, the football players and cheerleaders. Because the audience is well-versed in the symbiotic relationship between these teenage kings and queens, it comes as a shock when Taymor cuts to the comely blonde decked out with school spirit, a P.O.V shot from the Asian brunette's perspective, sitting in the grandstands, making her erotic longings known through Paul McCartney's rock and roll poetry. When football practice starts, the lovesick cheerleader proceeds to walk through the busy field, untouched by a collision of male bodies who display complete indifference to the female presence, a set-piece in which the sports arena is juxtaposed against musical art that recalls the "Is There Anybody Here for Love" sequence in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, when a similarly ignored(but straight) Jane Russell maneuvers her way through all those kinetic and self-involved Olympians going about their training. The intertextuality between these filmic texts posits that the closeted teen would have longed for Marilyn(not a swimmer or a gymnast); she prefers blondes, too. A lesbian cheerleader, of course, upsets the whole prep sports ecosystem. Sue Snell knows this. The filmmaker, a woman, who helmed Boys Don't Cry, remakes Sue, or rather, appraises the Amy Irving character's true nature, since she would understand the interior lives of girls better than the source material's male creators. Sadly, the filmmaker, barely strays from the narrative template laid down by Brian DePalma in the 1976 original(adapted from the Stephen King novel). Still, arguably, the filmmaker manages to resolve a plot point involving Sue and her boyfriend Tommy Ross that, to this day, leaves, for some, an aftertaste of contrivance; the plot point in which the "nice" girl, as atonement for helping corner Carrie against the shower wall with pelted tampons, asks her prom date to accompany the school misfit instead. Miss Collins is suspicious, and so are we, because no high school girl alive could possibly be that altruistic. Rightly so, the gym teacher tells Tommy, "Don't you think you're just gonna look a little ridiculous when you walk into the prom with Carrie White?" Now with the remake, Sue's charitable gesture makes sense. Not willing to put her image at risk, she sends Tommy as her surrogate. On a subtextual level, the filmmaker outs Sue, even though, in all likelihood, it never crossed King's mind that he was creating an ambiguous girl. The writer, however, has no control over how a story will be interpreted by the reader after its deliverance. As a commodity, a novel to be sold on the marketplace, the artist knows that it now belongs to the people, with a life of its own. Naturally, an aggressively straight male like DePalma would have a different take on the King novel than a lesbian, who, perhaps, knowing what it was like to be different at such an unformed age, wouldn't want Carrie to self-immolate in a fire, alone and unloved. But this production isn't an indie like her auspicious debut. Expected to meet the commercial expectations of profitability demanded by a major studio, she keeps the film in the closet, too, and goes through the motions of shooting a routine horror flick. You have to look closer for the movie that could have been. Right away, the filmmaker establishes a connection between the clandestine possibles, during P.E. class, when Carrie errantly serves the volleyball straight into Sue's back, whereas in the original, Carrie is isolated in the back row, unable to dig the incoming kill. Instead of raising her voice in anger, Sue just looks back at Carrie, a look that transcends physical pain. This time around, in the ensuing lock room melee, Sue is more of an onlooker than an instigator, considerably less pro-active; she doesn't tear off the tampon dispensary cover like her 70s-era counterpart. Later, in the backseat of Tommy's car, Sue looks distracted during intercourse, as if she's undergoing an epiphany about her sexual orientation, akin to Lana(in Boys Don't Cry), who knows Brandon is a girl when they have sex near her spinach-canning factory jobsite, because in a P.O.V. shot, she sees "his" clevage. Just before Chris dumps pig's blood on the prom queen, she texts Sue, and refers to Carrie as "your girl". Conspicuously, Sue doesn't clamor her way back into the flaming gymnasium to check on Tommy. In retrospect, we now realize that she doesn't love him enough to risk her life. This misplaced love, after 37 years, finds purchase in a burning house, where Sue, quite pointedly, bravely treads with the goal of saving her secret love. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
bigfoot6463Oct 18, 2013
I have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter hasI have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter has not seen the 1st Carrie movie and she thought is was pretty good, like maybe a 7 out of 10 score. I saw the 1st Carrie when it came out long ago. I am giving the 1st Carrie an 8 out of 10 and the new Carrie a 5 out of 10 and here is why. It was as close to a remake as possible but lacks the suspense and horror compared to the 1st Carrie. What you see on the trailer is what you see in the movie which left no thrill. Watch the trailer and that is the movie all summed up in 2.5 minutes. Altho the acting is good, there was nothing new to bring to the table. The prom dance in the school was shorter than the first Carrie movie and not as good or exciting. Altho not near as exciting as the 1st Carrie movie, I did enjoy it but could have been just as satisfied watching it on TV. I was a little bit disappointed as I feel they could have made this movie much more exciting. The best part of the movie was spending time with my daughter. By the looks of what is coming to theatres for this spooky time of the season, its not looking good for us horror buffs. Its a sad sad year for good movies. I can say there were only about 5 good flicks for the year 1013 to date. Bring back the SAW movies. Pitch the Paranormal Activity movies as they are as fake as a 3.00 bill. Gravity sucked and I,m still scratching my head why that movie got good reviews. People who gave that movie a good review must ha been under a strong over dose of drugs or tripping. Captain Phillips was an awesome movie, 10 times better than Gravity. Who can rate a movie with a high score just to hear Sandra Bullock screaming 3/4 of the movie. And I love Sandra Bullock and George Clooney but not in the movie Gravity. Somebody must have needed some pocket change.I have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter has not seen the 1st Carrie movie and she thought is was pretty good, like maybe a 7 out of 10 score. I saw the 1st Carrie when it came out long ago. I am giving the 1st Carrie an 8 out of 10 and the new Carrie a 5 out of 10 and here is why. It was as close to a remake as possible but lacks the suspense and horror compared to the 1st Carrie. What you see on the trailer is what you see in the movie which left no thrill. Watch the trailer and that is the movie all summed up in 2.5 minutes. Altho the acting is good, there was nothing new to bring to the table. The prom dance in the school was shorter than the first Carrie movie and not as good or exciting. Altho not near as exciting as the 1st Carrie movie, I did enjoy it but could have been just as satisfied watching it on TV. I was a little bit disappointed as I feel they could have made this movie much more exciting. The best part of the movie was spending time with my daughter. By the looks of what is coming to theatres for this spooky time of the season, its not looking good for us horror buffs. Its a sad sad year for good movies. I can say there were only about 5 good flicks for the year 1013 to date. Bring back the SAW movies. Pitch the Paranormal Activity movies as they are as fake as a 3.00 bill. Gravity sucked and I,m still scratching my head why that movie got good reviews. People who gave that movie must ha been under a strong over dose of drugs or tripping. Captain Phillips was an awesome movie, 10 times better than Gravity. Who can rate a movie with a high score just to hear Sandra Bullock screaming 3/4 of the movie. And I love Sandra Bullock and George Clooney but not in the movie Gravity. Somebody must have needed some pocket change. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryNov 1, 2013
Chloe Moretz is the new age-appropriate teenager with telekinetic powers and Julianne Moore plays her deeply disturbed, uber-religious mother. The plot pretty much follows the original DePalma classic with the addition of cell phones and theChloe Moretz is the new age-appropriate teenager with telekinetic powers and Julianne Moore plays her deeply disturbed, uber-religious mother. The plot pretty much follows the original DePalma classic with the addition of cell phones and the internet. What it lacks is any soul. Everything leading up to the big prom scene is uninteresting and even her blood-soaked reprisal lacks originality or flash (despite the fire). The performances are all uninspired…as a matter of fact, the whole bloody movie is anemic and downright dull. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroJan 18, 2014
Any movie starring Julianne Moore is a disaster waiting to happen. This one is particularly bad. Horrid acting, a lead character that is just too weird to feel any sympathy for, the question is: why the remake, if the original is just so muchAny movie starring Julianne Moore is a disaster waiting to happen. This one is particularly bad. Horrid acting, a lead character that is just too weird to feel any sympathy for, the question is: why the remake, if the original is just so much better ? Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29May 25, 2014
Better than the monotonous dragged out original. This remake actually moves swiftly and has a bigger more exciting climax. All the filler story in between was funny and suspenseful at times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveJan 8, 2014
After over 150 viewings Brian De Palma's 1976 version of 'Carrie' remains my favourite film of all time. Therefore, if anyone was going to take issue with this remake it was going to be me. The first thing to be said about this new version isAfter over 150 viewings Brian De Palma's 1976 version of 'Carrie' remains my favourite film of all time. Therefore, if anyone was going to take issue with this remake it was going to be me. The first thing to be said about this new version is that as a film in its own right it does work. Kimberly Peirce is to be commended for doing a credible job in attempting to put a fresh slant on the material. The big question hanging over the whole enterprise, though, is whether a remake was really necessary. The answer to that has to be a resounding NO. However good Peirce's version is it compares unfavourably, in every aspect, to the sublime master class of De Palma's film. I have always viewed the original as more of a social commentary than an out and out horror movie and De Palma effortlessly switched gears between the comedy, horror and romance. This combination made his vision a very satisfying experience
Performance wise, Chloe Grace Moretz is actually better than I think she has been given critical credit for in the title role, but let's face it she was never going to come close to topping Sissy Spacek's iconic playing of the character. Likewise Julianne Moore, an actress whom I greatly admire, grounds her Margaret White in a more believable reality than did Piper Laurie. However, I still prefer Laurie's over the top loon. Also one misses Nancy Allen, Amy Irving, John Travolta, Betty Buckley and PJ Soles. Their replacements do not come close to the incarnations of those original actors. In fact Ansel Elgort (Tommy Ross) and Barry Shebaka Henley (Principle Morton) are noticeably inferior to their original counterparts.
Even though Peirce has stated that she was returning to the book for this new version, it does feel at times as if she is cherry picking from the novel as well as plagiarising De Palma's film. For older viewers the new version suffers also from audience expectation as scenes and lines of dialogue are anticipated and compared, even if unwittingly, to the superior original. The prom scene 2013 totally lacks the magic and romanticism of De Palma's version and the blood falling on the hapless Carrie, shot from three angles, is totally mis-judged. Similarly, Moretz's playing of the all encompassing revenge that follows is interpreted here as being enjoyable, where as Spacek plays the scene as cathartic, with eyes staring blankly in shock. On the plus side Peirce does handle well the scenes of Carrie's experimentation and discovery of her telekinetic powers. Where her version fails most is with the style. Brian De Palma is all about style, and his set pieces are just jaw droppingly brilliant. He incorporates split screen and slow motion amazingly and to great romantic and nail biting effect. Aided no end by his talented leading lady and her vulnerable and achingly believable portrayal, De Palma's take on the story WILL never be bettered. Also in his corner is that great Pino Donnagio score; The moving relationship that is seen to develop between Spacek and Buckley (which is totally redundant in the new version) and THAT ending. Peirces's last scene was never going to recapture what De Palma achieved. Her ending is somewhat lame and superfluous, underlining the fact that whilst her 'Carrie' is enjoyable entertainment, De Palma's 'Carrie' is a justifiably revered classic.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
FedelcaNov 6, 2013
La versión dirigida por Brian De Palma en 1976 fue un éxito total, que inició con la avalancha de las muchas películas (y algunas series) de Stephen King. Ésta versión es no del todo acertada, pero es entretenimiento para los que han leídoLa versión dirigida por Brian De Palma en 1976 fue un éxito total, que inició con la avalancha de las muchas películas (y algunas series) de Stephen King. Ésta versión es no del todo acertada, pero es entretenimiento para los que han leído los libros de dicho escritor. Recomendaría la película a personas que sufren de mucho estrés o quiere asesinar a alguien, ya que la película funciona muy bien en éste ámbito, pero sigue siendo una más del montón de películas de lo que va del año; nada que valga la pena recordar; solamente entretenimiento momentario Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
SalvaGonzalezzOct 21, 2013
this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews