Carrie

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 300 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 300
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    Based on Stephen King's novel, "Carrie" and the same name as the original in 1976, the new version of "Carrie" is about a poor innocent girl who has telekinesis and she went to a prom until those mean bullies are making a prank to her and she controls her power to destruct the entire high school into a disaster. Chloe Grace-Moretz is playing a main character as Carrie White and she did aBased on Stephen King's novel, "Carrie" and the same name as the original in 1976, the new version of "Carrie" is about a poor innocent girl who has telekinesis and she went to a prom until those mean bullies are making a prank to her and she controls her power to destruct the entire high school into a disaster. Chloe Grace-Moretz is playing a main character as Carrie White and she did a pretty good job for portraying an emotional teenage girl, and she also gets the top that is near to the original Carrie. Julianne Moore plays Carrie's mother and she also did great for becoming an insane widow who wants to get rid of Carrie White's life, not as bad as the original, but the original mother stays the top. The story stays very close to the book and it goes different ways like the original movie, but I've seen Carrie White becomes an interesting character that we seen her back problems. She controls her telekinesis powers, she gets comfortable to her new friend, and she becomes insane for destroying everything in the prom for her bullies and to entire school that makes her prank. Even though the new version of Carrie is pretty decent and not as close to the original, but it's a good horror movie to enjoy with teenagers and to other Stephen King fans as well. Carrie is a good old fashion flick with great scares and some chilling moments that I've seen in Halloween, but a good one. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    I like both the original and this newest version. The acting is actually pretty good and updated. The effects notwithstanding the story remains the best part of course. I would be curious as to what Mr. King feels but I can tell you that I enjoyed the entire film. Chloe Moretz does a very good job as does Julianne Moore in bringing us the emotion of the characters.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    5
    An average movie for a great novel. Carrie is entertaining in its first half hour, but once the action starts, it becomes laughable. The cast disappoints, not even Julianne Moore could bring a nice performance.
  4. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was ok until the prom scene. The part where everyone was supposed to laugh at Carrie and her mother saying in her head over and over, 'they're all gonna laugh at you' was completely left out. This was a HUGE mistake. Whomever is responsible for this stupidass mistake should be ostracized from the film industry. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Perfect. For the sake of a review for a 'remake' I believe you should forget that it is one, and focus on how good this film is on it's own two feet. Carrie is an unbelievably good film; tense, gripping with brilliant acting and great rampant destruction... What more could you want?
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    Loved the original and when I heard that this movie was being done, I had mixed emotions rushing all over me. After watching the movie, I knew that I have just watched a decent movie but if you think about it more, you will think that it was a bit pointless on making the movie. I considered the movie to be a remake and a bit of a re-imagined version. Remakes are made to fix problems thatLoved the original and when I heard that this movie was being done, I had mixed emotions rushing all over me. After watching the movie, I knew that I have just watched a decent movie but if you think about it more, you will think that it was a bit pointless on making the movie. I considered the movie to be a remake and a bit of a re-imagined version. Remakes are made to fix problems that it's original had and to add something new that wasn't part of the original or it's source material. The only thing new added to this movie that wasn't part of the movie was the involvement of recording a bullying that was happening at the moment, with the use of cellular phones and making it viral. The other one was the rampage scene but if you have read the source material or the book, then you probably know that this was going to happen. The movie didn't fix anything that the original had and nothing memorable or new, was added that wasn't part of the original or the source material. So if nothing new happened in this film then what was the point of making this flick. Remakes should be new and fresh and should not entirely be the same as the original and source material. The movie was not terrible because it had excellent acting from Chloe Moretz and Julianne Moore. The CGI was decent but at least it wasn't horrible. Overall, this Carrie didn't beat the original but it was a decent movie, I still had a lot of fun watching the movie but it still gives me the feeling that sometimes the movie feels pointless. Carrie gets a 7/10. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Carrie is a magical horror movie, not only it contains most of the
    scary things a good horror movie needs but it also spices it up with
    some moral. In fact, it shows what does bullying lead to. There isn't a lot of nudity which is rare these days so I recommend you to watch this beast. The whole movie is not that scary but it contains a lot of disturbing bloody scenes and cruel
    Carrie is a magical horror movie, not only it contains most of the
    scary things a good horror movie needs but it also spices it up with
    some moral. In fact, it shows what does bullying lead to. There isn't a
    lot of nudity which is rare these days so I recommend you to watch this
    beast. The whole movie is not that scary but it contains a lot of
    disturbing bloody scenes and cruel killing ways, that won't make you
    uncomfortable if you're a true horror/thriller fan. The script is
    written well enough. The directors did a good job. It could be so easy
    to make a Carrie two because of the magical ending of the movie. I
    gave the film 8/10 because it wasn't too scary and I never give more
    than 9/10 so 8/10 in considered very good! Now go and watch it.
    Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    Not a bad movie but nothing amazing. This is the same Carrie you've seen or read before, but made with more modern effects and with a bit of a twist to make room for Carrie 2. I see a lot of low scores, and I see a lot of high scores by people with 1 review under their belt. This movie is average, an acceptable depiction of a story you already know, or a good way for youngsters to see theNot a bad movie but nothing amazing. This is the same Carrie you've seen or read before, but made with more modern effects and with a bit of a twist to make room for Carrie 2. I see a lot of low scores, and I see a lot of high scores by people with 1 review under their belt. This movie is average, an acceptable depiction of a story you already know, or a good way for youngsters to see the Carrie story because no one wants to watch a movie from the 70's anymore. Expand
  9. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    I LOVED IT! As a huge fan of the book I was very satisfied with how it was brought to life. It's a little derivative of DePalma's film but has a few touches of its own, enough that I found it enough to stand on its own. Although Pierce largely misses the chance to show the destruction Carrie brings to the whole town in the book (budget concerns perhaps?) and the ending doesn't matchI LOVED IT! As a huge fan of the book I was very satisfied with how it was brought to life. It's a little derivative of DePalma's film but has a few touches of its own, enough that I found it enough to stand on its own. Although Pierce largely misses the chance to show the destruction Carrie brings to the whole town in the book (budget concerns perhaps?) and the ending doesn't match DePalma's, special effects elevate the prom and Chris and Billy's comeuppance (which is truly inspired and my favorite scene) past DePalma's, plus she found a good way to incorporate the book's meteor shower. Pierce also reinvents the film as drama that effectively builds tension more effectively than a simple horror film from the get go, plus Carrie's development of her power (which is well known to be a metaphor for burgeoning womanhood) progresses much more organically. Chloë Grace Moretz crushes it; it's been a common criticism that she's too pretty to be Carrie but upon seeing it, I'm letting it slide, because she not only pulls it off by bringing a heartbreaking frailty, it kind of makes things even more shocking, because you wonder just how messed up her life had to be to make her the kind of person she is at the start of the film. Not that anyone should hope for tragedy, but I found myself really praying that things would work out better despite the fact that we all know what's going to happen. Gabriella Wilde was also very good as Sue Snell, she make the sense of regret that leads to her ill-fated benevolence believable (it aways seemed far-fetched to me). The always reliable Judy Greer is in fine form as Miss Dejarden, and Julianne Moore chews the scenery as the part of Carrie's mom calls for (recreated by Pierce as a paranoid schizophrenic). The novel Carrie is one of my favorite books, so I wouldn't give it my seal of approval if I wasn't genuinely impressed. Tip of the hat to all involved. Expand
  10. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    Filmgoers who are not interested in seeing a modern remake of Carrie are equally unlikely to be won-over by Peirce’s effort since it tells (mostly) the same story without dramatically improving anything but the onscreen visuals. Nevertheless, for viewers who are open to the remake, the assembled cast and crew manage to accomplish their goal of updating the still timely Carrie storylineFilmgoers who are not interested in seeing a modern remake of Carrie are equally unlikely to be won-over by Peirce’s effort since it tells (mostly) the same story without dramatically improving anything but the onscreen visuals. Nevertheless, for viewers who are open to the remake, the assembled cast and crew manage to accomplish their goal of updating the still timely Carrie storyline with a more intense (and gory) retelling of events for the contemporary movie market. While it might not have been necessary, the Carrie remake is still an adept, entertaining, and at times downright haunting, piece of filmmaking. Expand
  11. Oct 20, 2013
    5
    It's a movie of two parts the first, which includes everything up to the prom "bucket" sequence, is really pretty good. The only weak element for me was Julianne Moore's character. I generally love Moore, but this role is one dimensional and weak. But again, the first part is similar to so many other movies of this type Some Kind of Wonderful, etc. But the revenge sequence at the promIt's a movie of two parts the first, which includes everything up to the prom "bucket" sequence, is really pretty good. The only weak element for me was Julianne Moore's character. I generally love Moore, but this role is one dimensional and weak. But again, the first part is similar to so many other movies of this type Some Kind of Wonderful, etc. But the revenge sequence at the prom and following was just entirely crappy, boring, and stupid. Sure, she had to get some kind of revenge, but it could have been SO much more creative. Expand
  12. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    This movie has definitely gotten some mixed reactions from everyone whose seen it so far. While I did not see the original "Carrie" movie, this version still felt pretty predictable. But honestly, I enjoyed this movie. There are definitely good parts and there are definitely some bad parts. Chloe Moretz and Julianne Moore definitely make this movie work for sure, and there are some reallyThis movie has definitely gotten some mixed reactions from everyone whose seen it so far. While I did not see the original "Carrie" movie, this version still felt pretty predictable. But honestly, I enjoyed this movie. There are definitely good parts and there are definitely some bad parts. Chloe Moretz and Julianne Moore definitely make this movie work for sure, and there are some really gruesome and gory shots that I thought looked really cool. Yet at the same time, it felt like some of it really just grossed me out rather than really try to give me that true horror appeal. Plus, there are some very cheesy moments in this movie. Other than that, it's a pretty good movie overall. Some might like it, some might not, but don't take my word for it, see it yourself. Expand
  13. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I already knew that critics would be bashing this since it's a remake but this movie was great! Your feel the emotion and pain of Carrie throughout the movie and then she snaps and when she does it is intense I loved it! The only thing negative was that by the end I loved the intensity so much that I was craving for more! All in all a 10 out of 10!
  14. Oct 18, 2013
    6
    Obviously Hollywood has never been amazing at portraying high schools, but this one however is the most realistic I have seen (still not realistic, just the least fake) the fake parts, like students snickering when someone mentions her name, or she walks by them... like come on. Another thing they should have done was to see Carrie from their POV, show us why they all think she's aObviously Hollywood has never been amazing at portraying high schools, but this one however is the most realistic I have seen (still not realistic, just the least fake) the fake parts, like students snickering when someone mentions her name, or she walks by them... like come on. Another thing they should have done was to see Carrie from their POV, show us why they all think she's a freak... at most high schools, shy, quiet girls don't usually get made fun of this much... unless of course the real bullying started after the shower scene... But the performances were awesome, Julianne Moore can play so many different things and she was definitely pretty freaky in this. The movie is not that scary in anyway at all, but it is a fun ride while in it, and it gets the audience into it. I honestly feel like this has potential to be a halloween time classic. But I hated the pig scene. Screw that. Expand
  15. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    I think Carrie is one of my favorite underrated remakes of 2013 because I felt that the original version is way better than the new version of Carrie. Although I was a little worried that Sony and MGM were hoping to shed some light of Carrie after a unsuccessful yet unsatisfied 1999 sequel and a disappointing TV movie in 2003. The remake is good, but I don't know if director KimberlyI think Carrie is one of my favorite underrated remakes of 2013 because I felt that the original version is way better than the new version of Carrie. Although I was a little worried that Sony and MGM were hoping to shed some light of Carrie after a unsuccessful yet unsatisfied 1999 sequel and a disappointing TV movie in 2003. The remake is good, but I don't know if director Kimberly Pierce (best known for the cult classic "Boys Don't Cry") haven't even saw or what the original Carrie is about. Carrie White (originally played by Sissy Spacek, now Chloe Grace Moretz) is a teenager who is scared and frightened (and sorta freaky), she lives with her abusive mother, everyone's laughing at her at school, learning psychic powers, she and Tommy were named prom queen and king until one bucket of blood changes everything (one of the scariest scenes I've ever saw). Since that bucket killed Tommy, you know what happens next and trust me, it's full of gore. Carrie turns from prom queen to a psychotic mentally-stabled zombie (sorta). I won't tell any spoilers, but the remake is incredible. Although it may not be as good as the original, but I gotta give credit to Chloe Grace Moretz (one of the best underrated child stars since Dakota Fanning), she did a great job portraying a sick and demented teenager who has a hard time dealing with all the emotions she has gone through at school and her devilish mom as we speak. I know the reviews were mixed, so hopefully we could see a future cult classic on this remake. But I still wanna check it out before Halloween. Not great, but still a good remake. Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    The new CARRIE is in essence a shot by shot remake utilizing much of the exact same dialogue and plot points. They needed a new screenwriter for this? Director Kimberly Peirce, BOYS DON'T CRY, adds some grit, makes it all more realistic but in the process loses depth and emotion. And then someone tampered with the ending, tagging on a quick silly series of denouements with no rhyme orThe new CARRIE is in essence a shot by shot remake utilizing much of the exact same dialogue and plot points. They needed a new screenwriter for this? Director Kimberly Peirce, BOYS DON'T CRY, adds some grit, makes it all more realistic but in the process loses depth and emotion. And then someone tampered with the ending, tagging on a quick silly series of denouements with no rhyme or reason other than a 2nd rate sequel. This all sounds really bad but actually, the story still has major bite and the two leads are wonderful but nowhere near Sissy Spacek or Piper Laurie from the original. There's really no reason for this remake. Expand
  17. Uba
    Oct 19, 2013
    10
    The remake makes justice to the original film and to the novel. Well done!. The cast is perfect. We have the talented Chloe Moretz and the professionally Julianne Moore
  18. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    If this is not one the worst remake/films of all time, I don't know what is. Awful acting, Poorly done special effects that are far too fake looking and unrealistic, and it's a pretty much a shot for shot remake of the original with nothing different about it aside from a **** cast.

    Do not bother with this garbage. Watch the original instead.
  19. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    this movie is amazing one of the best remakes q is an fact as it has a great performance moretz julian moore and a great special effects, great direction and modern twist King's novel needed
  20. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Moore is terrifying as a guilt-addled true believer, and Moretz caresses her role when she gets the chance. And the hot topics do indeed remain hot...
  21. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    The characters were to pretty difficult to relate to and the story was far less entertaining then what I was expecting it to be. I came into the theater with a lot of hype and was extremely disappointed, this movie had so much more potential but in the end it was kind of a let down, still a decent movie to watch if you are bored interested in telekinesis though.
  22. Oct 18, 2013
    2
    in my opinion what i seen in Carrie 2013 ,it as too much action and special effects but why a remake of Carrie Sissy Spacek and Piper were nominated for the oscar for Carrie 1976 The Exorcist (1973) ,The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) Jaws (1975) ,The Omen (1976) ,Carrie (1976) ,Halloween (1978) ,Alien (1979) the best horror movies of the 70's
  23. Nov 17, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In Julie Taymor's Across the Universe(the 2008 musical that recounts the late-sixties by making narrative use of the Beatles' songbook), a high school girl expresses an unrequited love for, presumably, the golden boy, the star quarterback, in a languorous version of "I Want to Hold Your Hand", as she walks away from her thronged colleagues, the football players and cheerleaders. Because the audience is well-versed in the symbiotic relationship between these teenage kings and queens, it comes as a shock when Taymor cuts to the comely blonde decked out with school spirit, a P.O.V shot from the Asian brunette's perspective, sitting in the grandstands, making her erotic longings known through Paul McCartney's rock and roll poetry. When football practice starts, the lovesick cheerleader proceeds to walk through the busy field, untouched by a collision of male bodies who display complete indifference to the female presence, a set-piece in which the sports arena is juxtaposed against musical art that recalls the "Is There Anybody Here for Love" sequence in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, when a similarly ignored(but straight) Jane Russell maneuvers her way through all those kinetic and self-involved Olympians going about their training. The intertextuality between these filmic texts posits that the closeted teen would have longed for Marilyn(not a swimmer or a gymnast); she prefers blondes, too. A lesbian cheerleader, of course, upsets the whole prep sports ecosystem. Sue Snell knows this. The filmmaker, a woman, who helmed Boys Don't Cry, remakes Sue, or rather, appraises the Amy Irving character's true nature, since she would understand the interior lives of girls better than the source material's male creators. Sadly, the filmmaker, barely strays from the narrative template laid down by Brian DePalma in the 1976 original(adapted from the Stephen King novel). Still, arguably, the filmmaker manages to resolve a plot point involving Sue and her boyfriend Tommy Ross that, to this day, leaves, for some, an aftertaste of contrivance; the plot point in which the "nice" girl, as atonement for helping corner Carrie against the shower wall with pelted tampons, asks her prom date to accompany the school misfit instead. Miss Collins is suspicious, and so are we, because no high school girl alive could possibly be that altruistic. Rightly so, the gym teacher tells Tommy, "Don't you think you're just gonna look a little ridiculous when you walk into the prom with Carrie White?" Now with the remake, Sue's charitable gesture makes sense. Not willing to put her image at risk, she sends Tommy as her surrogate. On a subtextual level, the filmmaker outs Sue, even though, in all likelihood, it never crossed King's mind that he was creating an ambiguous girl. The writer, however, has no control over how a story will be interpreted by the reader after its deliverance. As a commodity, a novel to be sold on the marketplace, the artist knows that it now belongs to the people, with a life of its own. Naturally, an aggressively straight male like DePalma would have a different take on the King novel than a lesbian, who, perhaps, knowing what it was like to be different at such an unformed age, wouldn't want Carrie to self-immolate in a fire, alone and unloved. But this production isn't an indie like her auspicious debut. Expected to meet the commercial expectations of profitability demanded by a major studio, she keeps the film in the closet, too, and goes through the motions of shooting a routine horror flick. You have to look closer for the movie that could have been. Right away, the filmmaker establishes a connection between the clandestine possibles, during P.E. class, when Carrie errantly serves the volleyball straight into Sue's back, whereas in the original, Carrie is isolated in the back row, unable to dig the incoming kill. Instead of raising her voice in anger, Sue just looks back at Carrie, a look that transcends physical pain. This time around, in the ensuing lock room melee, Sue is more of an onlooker than an instigator, considerably less pro-active; she doesn't tear off the tampon dispensary cover like her 70s-era counterpart. Later, in the backseat of Tommy's car, Sue looks distracted during intercourse, as if she's undergoing an epiphany about her sexual orientation, akin to Lana(in Boys Don't Cry), who knows Brandon is a girl when they have sex near her spinach-canning factory jobsite, because in a P.O.V. shot, she sees "his" clevage. Just before Chris dumps pig's blood on the prom queen, she texts Sue, and refers to Carrie as "your girl". Conspicuously, Sue doesn't clamor her way back into the flaming gymnasium to check on Tommy. In retrospect, we now realize that she doesn't love him enough to risk her life. This misplaced love, after 37 years, finds purchase in a burning house, where Sue, quite pointedly, bravely treads with the goal of saving her secret love. Expand
  24. Oct 18, 2013
    5
    I have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter has not seen the 1st Carrie movie and she thought is was pretty good, like maybe a 7 out of 10 score. I saw the 1st Carrie when it came out long ago. I amI have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter has not seen the 1st Carrie movie and she thought is was pretty good, like maybe a 7 out of 10 score. I saw the 1st Carrie when it came out long ago. I am giving the 1st Carrie an 8 out of 10 and the new Carrie a 5 out of 10 and here is why. It was as close to a remake as possible but lacks the suspense and horror compared to the 1st Carrie. What you see on the trailer is what you see in the movie which left no thrill. Watch the trailer and that is the movie all summed up in 2.5 minutes. Altho the acting is good, there was nothing new to bring to the table. The prom dance in the school was shorter than the first Carrie movie and not as good or exciting. Altho not near as exciting as the 1st Carrie movie, I did enjoy it but could have been just as satisfied watching it on TV. I was a little bit disappointed as I feel they could have made this movie much more exciting. The best part of the movie was spending time with my daughter. By the looks of what is coming to theatres for this spooky time of the season, its not looking good for us horror buffs. Its a sad sad year for good movies. I can say there were only about 5 good flicks for the year 1013 to date. Bring back the SAW movies. Pitch the Paranormal Activity movies as they are as fake as a 3.00 bill. Gravity sucked and I,m still scratching my head why that movie got good reviews. People who gave that movie a good review must ha been under a strong over dose of drugs or tripping. Captain Phillips was an awesome movie, 10 times better than Gravity. Who can rate a movie with a high score just to hear Sandra Bullock screaming 3/4 of the movie. And I love Sandra Bullock and George Clooney but not in the movie Gravity. Somebody must have needed some pocket change.I have been looking forward to seeing this remake of Carrie for months now. Went to the 1st showing with my daughter as we are both horror buffs. My daughter is 15 years old and have been watching horror movies for 8 years. My daughter has not seen the 1st Carrie movie and she thought is was pretty good, like maybe a 7 out of 10 score. I saw the 1st Carrie when it came out long ago. I am giving the 1st Carrie an 8 out of 10 and the new Carrie a 5 out of 10 and here is why. It was as close to a remake as possible but lacks the suspense and horror compared to the 1st Carrie. What you see on the trailer is what you see in the movie which left no thrill. Watch the trailer and that is the movie all summed up in 2.5 minutes. Altho the acting is good, there was nothing new to bring to the table. The prom dance in the school was shorter than the first Carrie movie and not as good or exciting. Altho not near as exciting as the 1st Carrie movie, I did enjoy it but could have been just as satisfied watching it on TV. I was a little bit disappointed as I feel they could have made this movie much more exciting. The best part of the movie was spending time with my daughter. By the looks of what is coming to theatres for this spooky time of the season, its not looking good for us horror buffs. Its a sad sad year for good movies. I can say there were only about 5 good flicks for the year 1013 to date. Bring back the SAW movies. Pitch the Paranormal Activity movies as they are as fake as a 3.00 bill. Gravity sucked and I,m still scratching my head why that movie got good reviews. People who gave that movie must ha been under a strong over dose of drugs or tripping. Captain Phillips was an awesome movie, 10 times better than Gravity. Who can rate a movie with a high score just to hear Sandra Bullock screaming 3/4 of the movie. And I love Sandra Bullock and George Clooney but not in the movie Gravity. Somebody must have needed some pocket change. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2013
    5
    Chloe Moretz is the new age-appropriate teenager with telekinetic powers and Julianne Moore plays her deeply disturbed, uber-religious mother. The plot pretty much follows the original DePalma classic with the addition of cell phones and the internet. What it lacks is any soul. Everything leading up to the big prom scene is uninteresting and even her blood-soaked reprisal lacks originalityChloe Moretz is the new age-appropriate teenager with telekinetic powers and Julianne Moore plays her deeply disturbed, uber-religious mother. The plot pretty much follows the original DePalma classic with the addition of cell phones and the internet. What it lacks is any soul. Everything leading up to the big prom scene is uninteresting and even her blood-soaked reprisal lacks originality or flash (despite the fire). The performances are all uninspired…as a matter of fact, the whole bloody movie is anemic and downright dull. Expand
  26. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    Any movie starring Julianne Moore is a disaster waiting to happen. This one is particularly bad. Horrid acting, a lead character that is just too weird to feel any sympathy for, the question is: why the remake, if the original is just so much better ?
  27. May 25, 2014
    7
    Better than the monotonous dragged out original. This remake actually moves swiftly and has a bigger more exciting climax. All the filler story in between was funny and suspenseful at times.
  28. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    La versión dirigida por Brian De Palma en 1976 fue un éxito total, que inició con la avalancha de las muchas películas (y algunas series) de Stephen King. Ésta versión es no del todo acertada, pero es entretenimiento para los que han leído los libros de dicho escritor. Recomendaría la película a personas que sufren de mucho estrés o quiere asesinar a alguien, ya que la película funcionaLa versión dirigida por Brian De Palma en 1976 fue un éxito total, que inició con la avalancha de las muchas películas (y algunas series) de Stephen King. Ésta versión es no del todo acertada, pero es entretenimiento para los que han leído los libros de dicho escritor. Recomendaría la película a personas que sufren de mucho estrés o quiere asesinar a alguien, ya que la película funciona muy bien en éste ámbito, pero sigue siendo una más del montón de películas de lo que va del año; nada que valga la pena recordar; solamente entretenimiento momentario Expand
  29. Oct 21, 2013
    0
    this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap this remake is crap
  30. Jul 6, 2014
    2
    Horrible and a total waste of time and money ,this should have never been remade ,Everytime I watch it gets worse and worse, and The originals usually surpass the remakes ,this is the only moved i ever walked out of in a theater
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Jamie Graham
    Nov 29, 2013
    60
    One of the more solid ’70s horror remakes, but it lacks the verve and potency, romance and heartache of the original. Still, the haircuts are a vast improvement...
  2. Reviewed by: Cath Clarke
    Nov 26, 2013
    60
    Moretz is unnervingly talented, but Carrie is not a role she was born to play. She hasn’t a victim’s bone in her body and fluffs the early scenes when the mean girls pick on her.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Dinning
    Nov 25, 2013
    60
    A remake that doesn’t see the legacy of Carrie White burn in hell. But not one that adds much to it either.