Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 264 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Carrie White, a sheltered high school girl, unleashes her newly developed telekinetic powers after she is pushed too far by her peers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin C. Johnson
    Oct 17, 2013
    88
    Long before the blood starts spilling, it’s clear the new team has mostly nailed it. The reboot is as good a Carrie remake as possible, though it’s not truly a scary movie; the film takes its time living up to its R rating.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    If you're going to take another stab at this tale of a taunted, traumatized teen who exacts fiery revenge on, well, everyone, then Kimberly Peirce is the director to do it.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Oct 18, 2013
    67
    Peirce is gifted, but she lacks the ability of directors like DePalma to transform schlock into something deeply personal.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Oct 17, 2013
    60
    If De Palma’s version was one part adolescent dream, three parts nightmare, with a sly streak of satire running through it, Peirce’s is a more earnest yet still engrossing take on the story that should connect with contemporary teens. At the very least it might send fledgling horror buffs scurrying to their Netflix queues to watch a vintage masterpiece of the genre.
  5. 50
    So yes, even if you know how this story goes, there are moments that work wickedly well in between the needlessly drawn out ones, by which I mean the entire, predictable third act.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    Despite the talent involved and the notoriety of the source material, Carrie feels strangely small, even television-sized.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Oct 17, 2013
    25
    In focusing on predominately kid-gloves portrayals of her teen players, Kimberly Peirce never properly addresses the machinery behind their doom, which is why the film is relentlessly lifeless when it's not literally ripping off De Palma shot-for-shot.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 106
  2. Negative: 33 out of 106
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I already knew that critics would be bashing this since it's a remake but this movie was great! Your feel the emotion and pain of Carrie throughout the movie and then she snaps and when she does it is intense I loved it! The only thing negative was that by the end I loved the intensity so much that I was craving for more! All in all a 10 out of 10! Collapse
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    I am giving this rating based off of this movie standing alone not compared to the original. I loved the original and this one was also very good. My only complaint is comparing this one to the original, that is they are nearly 99% identical and if you saw the first one absolutely nothing will be new or exciting. Its a tough choice for me because I wanted something new but similar and what I got was a great carbon copy. This is more for new watchers or someone who wanted to see the movie a second time. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Firstly, let me say that I have never seen the 1976 version of the film. Therefore, I feel I am relatively objective in my review of the movie.

    Well, this movie's plot isn't entirely hard to follow. It tells a simple story, but is very effective. Chloë Grace Moretz who plays "Carrie White" the movies main character, did an excellent job. The movie's dialogue, sound effects, and special effects were all very well done, as well as the camera work. Only a pretentious snob would not be impressed by this movie. It was very well done. Gabriella Wilde did an excellent job as "Sue Snell" and Judy Greer did a great job as Miss Desjardin.

    Again, I have never seen the original, but the only critics who would bash this movie are those from the camp of, "It didn't live up to the original." Trust me, this movie is well worth the price of admission. It's not an all-time classic, and it wasn't "scary" in the typical sense of a horror movie, but it was very well done.
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    Although we have talented performers in Chloe Grace Moretz and Julianne Moore (and I always love Judy Greer), they are mere shadows of the performances of Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie. And let's not forget the supporting cast; William Katt with his Cali-fro and blissed out Redford smile, Amy Irving as the so damned earnest good girl, and the lip lickin' evil duo of Nancy Allen and John Travolta playing it up gloriously. The present supporting cast? Made not a single impression. They could have come from The CW central casting. Ms Moretz is a fine actress and I've enjoyed her other roles, but I think she is just too attractive to play the mousy outcast. Sissy Spacek (although ten years older, but still believable as a high schooler) looked not only like an outcast, but like someone almost alien in contrast to her schoolmates. She truly transformed from duck to swan at the prom. Chloe just cleaned up well, and looks nice in a prom dress. There were some minor plot point changes, but it essentially DePalma's version gussied up with some (sometimes dodgy) CGI. Enjoy, if you will, but give me the original any day of the week. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    5
    An average movie for a great novel. Carrie is entertaining in its first half hour, but once the action starts, it becomes laughable. The cast disappoints, not even Julianne Moore could bring a nice performance. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    3
    I have noticed that Carrie (2013) is a copy of The Rage: Carrie 2 (1999), the scene when they are recording Rachel and Jesse having sex and in the end they play the tape in the party in the big screen, and that's scene is in Carrie (2013), when the girls are recording Carrie when she had her first period, and in the end they play the video on the big screen in the prom, Carrie (2013) is a copy of Carrie (1976) and The Rage: Carrie 2 (1999). Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    Any movie starring Julianne Moore is a disaster waiting to happen. This one is particularly bad. Horrid acting, a lead character that is just too weird to feel any sympathy for, the question is: why the remake, if the original is just so much better ? Expand

See all 106 User Reviews