Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2011
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 390 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
159
Mixed:
152
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
BKMJul 18, 2011
While Cars 2 is visually stunning, it is the first Pixar film to feel a bit empty at its shiny center. Mater dominates the proceedings (a major part of the film's problem since he works better as a supporting player) unwittingly working as aWhile Cars 2 is visually stunning, it is the first Pixar film to feel a bit empty at its shiny center. Mater dominates the proceedings (a major part of the film's problem since he works better as a supporting player) unwittingly working as a spy while Lightning McQueen races in the World Grand Prix. This is the first Pixar film that seems geared almost entirely for kids which is a bit of a disappointment. Still, there is enough inventiveness and chuckles to makes it a tolerable vieweing experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
Lets start of with the good things. The action sequences are well done and there are a lot of them. And the visuals are top notch. It really does feel like youâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 12, 2015
Okay, it was a fairly decent movie. But the dream company, Pixar, didn't add the warmth and feeling. The first I didn't care for much, but it had that love in it. Cars 2 was aesthetically marvelous, but it felt like a small glove. The moveOkay, it was a fairly decent movie. But the dream company, Pixar, didn't add the warmth and feeling. The first I didn't care for much, but it had that love in it. Cars 2 was aesthetically marvelous, but it felt like a small glove. The move didn't feel right. It did not have the Pixas shimmer and secret ingredient, love. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
superbatSep 18, 2016
WORST. PIXAR. MOVIE. EVER. Cars 2 is an unfunny, lazy, boring piece of **** This is a pathetic attempt by Pixar to grab people's cash. Big waste of my time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
psbrown1989Sep 29, 2011
Ok this movie was hilarious, stop hating on Larry the cable guy. he maybe low brow but he's funny ok? stop trying to be so sophisticated and laugh you stuck up jerks. as for the violence and death of CARS!!!! its rated PG for a reason morons,Ok this movie was hilarious, stop hating on Larry the cable guy. he maybe low brow but he's funny ok? stop trying to be so sophisticated and laugh you stuck up jerks. as for the violence and death of CARS!!!! its rated PG for a reason morons, it stands for Parental Guidance, which mean you guide your child into the theater and if they don't understand something you do your best to it explain to them when the movie is over. it is your responsibility to screen what your children watch NOT DISNEY/PIXAR. they have done their part by saying. "HEY, GUESS WHAT? THIS MOVIE IS ABOUT SPIES. SPIES SOMETIMES KILL PEOPLE. THAT'S WHY WERE PUTTING A PG RATING ON THIS MOVIE" just get over your selves you jerks. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
HappymonkJul 11, 2012
Cars 2 is Pixar's worst film to date, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It is a good film, but not a lot more, as some of the comedy isn't very funny and the plot isn't exactly top of the line. My main complaint of the film however is that itCars 2 is Pixar's worst film to date, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It is a good film, but not a lot more, as some of the comedy isn't very funny and the plot isn't exactly top of the line. My main complaint of the film however is that it feels disjointed, giving you no time to get adjusted to "Lightning's" storyline, while also at times not giving you enough time to really get into "Mater's" storyline. It's odd that they shifted the focus of the main protagonist to Mater, which, while isn't necessarily bad, some will find it very off-putting. The film is fun, and this is where it holds up, making it a 6/10, also it has a good plot twist that I did not see happening at all. All in all, it's a fun film that shouldn't be overlooked, but it should really be called something like "Cars: it's Materin' Time!" as the story revolves around Mater, giving a fun Spy based film with explosions and everything, but certainly no Pixar masterpiece like we should be getting given their track record. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JLWhiteHorseMar 3, 2012
Clear, concise, intelligent and humorous - such is Cars 2. Cars was never my favorite Pixar, but coming out of the theater after seeing the sequel, I found myself smiling over a clever, well-thought, simply entertaining film. There is noClear, concise, intelligent and humorous - such is Cars 2. Cars was never my favorite Pixar, but coming out of the theater after seeing the sequel, I found myself smiling over a clever, well-thought, simply entertaining film. There is no deep, emotional story, but for entertainment this is by far extremely enjoyable. The humor is intelligent (not crude, suggestive or shallow like so many other animated films), the story moves at a solid, easy to understand pace and the characters are engaging. Mater is a character that is easy to root for with his positive outlook on life and his compassion toward everyone around him. When it comes to giving a good example of a nonjudgmental attitude, Mater is hard to beat. Finn McMissile has many of the typical spy characteristics, but goes beyond what we stereotypically think of the "James Bond" character by showing kindness and respect toward others. He openly admits his own shortcomings/need for help, while remaining debonair through it all. He doesn't even show the womanizing side so easily associated with the "spy world" and instead shows his female counterpart a great deal of respect. Kudos to Pixar for their work on these characters. There is lots of "eye candy" in the depth of animation and the creative little touches to background motifs that make this world truly and mechanically unique. After seeing the film numerous times on various screens, I am still catching the little details placed in the film - all of which have never been of any suggestive nature inappropriate for a general viewing audience. This film also allows us a chance to look at some of our little idiosyncrasies in a fun way and gives positive messages such as friendship, compassion and honesty. While not for everyone - a caution to families with young children due to intense action sequences and suggested deaths - for older children through adults, Pixar's continued show of intelligent film making sets it apart from all other animation companies regardless of where the awards land. As for what I witnessed during my various visits to the theater for this film, everyone was fully engaged - laughing, cheering and generally having a good time. We all left with smiles, which I think says a lot for the film. My money will remain on Pixar. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
FlutterPie93Apr 5, 2012
I honestly don't understand why this movie has taken such a beating. Personally, it's my least favorite Pixar movie, and it does have its share of problems, but I still enjoyed it. Why? Because I knew it wasn't meant be a tear-jerkingI honestly don't understand why this movie has taken such a beating. Personally, it's my least favorite Pixar movie, and it does have its share of problems, but I still enjoyed it. Why? Because I knew it wasn't meant be a tear-jerking masterpiece like Up or Toy Story 3 - it was meant to be a simple, fun, summer comedy. And it succeeds at that. It doesn't have to be emotional or profound in order to be good. It's nice to take a break from all that crying for a change! (Not that there's anything wrong with Pixar movies making you cry.) Sure, it's not Pixar's best by a long shot, but just because it isn't the next WALL-E or Toy Story or Finding Nemo doesn't mean that it isn't good. Kudos to Pixar for branching out, trying something different, and proving that they still don't know how to make a bad movie! 8/10. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeDec 7, 2012
Very good sequel to a great animated film.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
CWCgamerAug 13, 2011
I saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the best soundtrack for a pixar and one of the best movies I've ever seen. This was the sequal to my favouriteI saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the best soundtrack for a pixar and one of the best movies I've ever seen. This was the sequal to my favourite childhood film and it was amazing! Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
3
jdxah123Jun 27, 2011
When there are parents and children up and walking around the theater literally during the entire movie, you know it's not holding anyone's attention. Most of the best jokes are in the movie trailer. We were very disappointed.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
CaptiosusJul 1, 2011
This movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adultsThis movie lacked a few things like: A coherent storyline, compelling or likable characters, and, generally, everything that made most Pixar movies memorable. It was clear that many people were losing interest in the movie, kids and adults alike, as people struck up conversations, or walked about. While watching, I couldn't help but feel that this was similar to early Dreamworks Animation movies that tried to copy Pixar's style rather than an actual Pixar film. All in all, it felt like a cash grab that purposely misled customers through their ads by not telling us that Mater was the lead in this film - not Lightning McQueen as the ads portrayed. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
4
AgentHeroesJun 27, 2011
Truly the weakest pixar movie.It emphasised on random subplots,it was entertatining but i expected alot more!!! plus there is no racing this time so...yeah
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
momof3boysJun 28, 2011
Ok I agree that the animation is really good, but the complicated plot was definitely not made thinking of a young (little kids 3-8 year olds)

Most of the reviews that gave them a 10 or a positive review was thinking as an adult but if you
Ok I agree that the animation is really good, but the complicated plot was definitely not made thinking of a young (little kids 3-8 year olds)

Most of the reviews that gave them a 10 or a positive review was thinking as an adult but if you remember that this movie is supposed to be for little kids, they failed tremendously.

I was completely shock with the amount of guns and violence, seriously for a pixar's movie, how can Disney allow this?

As a mom of 3 little boys who adored cars and their whole world and my wallet was all about cars they really messed it up. They were frightened by all the gun power of the first 5 minutes and they were lost in the plot.

Who ever made the plot (probably a James Bond Fan) totally forgot who his target audience was, young children!

Do NOT take your little kids to watch this movie unless they are over 8 probably or take them if you are one of those parents who could care less about the amount of violence their child's watches
The toy story short at the beginning is the only true terrific thing about the movie and the animation, the technical part.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticJun 24, 2011
There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun toThere are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action, adventure, and new fancy places. That's all I really enjoy myself watching this. Anyways, the story is more better developed that they make a new idea for the sequel that Lighting McQueen and Mater are going to the international world cup to win the race and then there are two secret agent spies that are facing with the bad villain who wants to destroy the cars who filled with oil. The voice acting did great and I really enjoy the new characters that they can bring more fun and more exciting to be decent and cool. The animation is pretty cool and the action scenes were awesome. I really like when the cars are chasing around with guns, explosions, and high-tech gadgets in everywhere that they race. But for my opinion, that I take it back when this movie will not be exciting as now and there's more that they came from where people think it's gonna be suck, so it's nice to make a better sequel once again for making a better cars animation. They know exactly what they can do for it and those animators are having fun for it. So that case, see this movie and see how fun that this movie will take more advantage for better animation, if you think so. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
1
genxmoviegoerJun 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Car 2, a John Lasseter film. This piece of crap does not deserve to where the Pixar label. The only redeeming quality of the film was the incredible location artwork. Lasseter vilifies the very industry that supplies the raw materials used to make all the plastic toys they hoped to sell. Pixar should not bother with Incredibles 2 if it will receive the same treatment. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
4
Bullet97Jun 24, 2011
I thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and funI thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and fun action, but everything else is so below Pixar's and even Dreamworks's level. It's very unfunny, Mater was so annoying, the story was so boring, thrown together, and hollow, and the whole movie is just a very mediocre and boring animated movie. C'mon Pixar. You're better than this crap. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
ReviewlationsJun 26, 2011
Pixar's first true bomb. Even technically, it's at best of average and inconsistent quality. The first few scenes in Radiator Springs made me gasp out loud at how hurried and lifeless it looked compared to the loving attention to detail givenPixar's first true bomb. Even technically, it's at best of average and inconsistent quality. The first few scenes in Radiator Springs made me gasp out loud at how hurried and lifeless it looked compared to the loving attention to detail given to the first film. With cutout facsimiles of the original characters, an overly complex, confusing and dialogue besieging plot, and devoid of the heart and wit found in every other Pixar movie, I look forward to the documentary made to reveal the truth about how this awful train wreck of a movie came to be. Unbelievably disappointing. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
The movie is overly creative with a complex story-telling that is not quite for the kids to understand. I know that Pixar can do better, and I hope they will.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
4
DrGhettoblasterJun 28, 2011
My 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount ofMy 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mind that Pixar went this route cause it's not there job to cater to young children. I am however disapointed that the MPAA approved a G rating for this film when it CLEARLY should be PG. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
3
heyitsmegrif4Jul 22, 2012
Okay Pixar has let us down completely, Cars 2 is boring, occasionally funny, and just terrible story telling right in the middle of it. And um where is all the heart Cars had which got it all the good reviews. Hmm Pixar can we trust you. AndOkay Pixar has let us down completely, Cars 2 is boring, occasionally funny, and just terrible story telling right in the middle of it. And um where is all the heart Cars had which got it all the good reviews. Hmm Pixar can we trust you. And most of all making another Cars means that this franchise has no place in the other world that Pixar has created. Which makes it the more disappointing. I give this film a 32% of a good movie. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
pisces4200Jun 24, 2011
Read some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as goodRead some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as good as the first movie, if not better. As usual pixar runs away with superior animation. There were lots of humor designed for kids and adults. This time around the movie was more centered around Mator rather than Mcqueen. I am going to go against the grain here and say that the plot and storyline were well laid out and put together quite well. If you like Pixar and the first cars movie, there is no reason you will not like this movie. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
ShaZayum1993Jun 24, 2011
I don't understand where all the hate comes from. This movie rocks! It's hilariously funny, it has a powerfully deep message, the characters are so lovable and relatable, and the movie is just so much fun! I thought the first Cars was better,I don't understand where all the hate comes from. This movie rocks! It's hilariously funny, it has a powerfully deep message, the characters are so lovable and relatable, and the movie is just so much fun! I thought the first Cars was better, but still loved Cars 2. Ignore the losers on Rotten Tomatoes! Cars 2 is definitely worth seeing (maybe even twice)! Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
1
diogoatJun 27, 2011
Very disappointing! Rambo is a kid story compared to this unbelievable Cars 2! If I knew the movie would be so violent I wouldn't take my son to watch it!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
rucknrunJul 5, 2011
We didn't make it to the end of the movie. My daughter was so bored she was running around. We had to leave and that did not bother me. I guess I will get it when it comes out on DVD but I am glad I did not pay for 3D.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaJun 27, 2011
Cars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie isCars 2 does not have the same flare or attachment to the story and characters as you would expect for a Pixar movie although the solid spy story and well used car puns keep this movie enjoyable. The mane problem I found with this movie is that it was so focused on it's story telling it forgot about the characters in it. While one watches this movie they will feel very distant from the characters but they will recognize the good story and it's complexities. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
loserb0iAug 1, 2011
While not the best Pixar film, still better than most animated films, and thourghly enjoyable
The haters rating it a 0 just because they want to see pixar fall is pathetic, nothing should deserve a 0
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
doughboy74Jun 28, 2011
I don't understand why this has low scores? The movie was great, watched it in 3D with my daughter and we both loved it! The locations, cars & story was great!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
JonathanMorganJun 30, 2011
There are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but IThere are many things that are just wrong with this movie. This movie was unwarranted. The first movie ended at a good note and didn't need any following, plus the story they went with is unnecessary. I don't know about most people, but I didn't need to see a movie where the characters travel to a World Grand Prix, which is pretty much a story line that could have been used as an epilogue for the first movie. The spy story line was fun for the first scene but quickly transformed into a pointless story line for the only purpose of giving Mater more screen time and creating situations that he can act "wacky" in. The movie also attempts to cover up the fact that it was made for money by making some half-assed message about friendship. However, the animation is great, which is no surprise for Pixar, so the whole movie is far from being ugly like some other animated movies (Gnomeo and Juliet for example). Some parts are enjoyable, and I wasn't quite depressed until I got out of the theater and stopped trying to create excuses for the film because it's Pixar. I hope Brave and Monsters University is better than this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
shimano6000Jul 16, 2011
This isn't bad, it's just not that good. Way different feel to the first, and pretty much feels like a cash grab. Not for younger kids, but not really sure who would enjoy it!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GifariOct 20, 2011
Loved it, found it the best out of all of the other films. It has a lot of action and is just plain wonderful. I really really hope they make a new one, Cars 3.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
TexasGamerDec 19, 2011
Part 2 falls flat on its face, the story plot is too deep for young minds, too much gun play for a childrens movie, my wife and I walked out about half way through. Probably one of the worst movies I have seen in a long, long, long time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewhunterFeb 5, 2012
"Cars 2" Has took away from me sweet 90 minutes, Which I will never ask back.
I really loved the world race thing,good job Disney.
A nice experience of relaxing movie, which combines action,fantasy, and extremely fun and epic cars world,
"Cars 2" Has took away from me sweet 90 minutes, Which I will never ask back.
I really loved the world race thing,good job Disney.
A nice experience of relaxing movie, which combines action,fantasy, and extremely fun and epic cars world, Which I wish to visit only in my dreams.
83/100.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
inuyashaloverJul 11, 2012
i loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2i loved this movie it was so beautiful in the lesson it taught that friends are friends and you cant expect them to change and i cant believe the critics hated it so much saying ooh it ventured from lighting mcqueen well i thought that cars 2 was great the way it was matter is the character most kids love not because he was a main character but because hes funny over all i would give it a 90 out of 100 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
PixarRulesAllJan 8, 2013
I'm honestly surprised by all the hatred this movie has received. Sure, it's not a GREAT movie, but is it terrible? No. It's a decent movie with a few funny moments and some spectacular animation, but it probably is Pixar's "least best"I'm honestly surprised by all the hatred this movie has received. Sure, it's not a GREAT movie, but is it terrible? No. It's a decent movie with a few funny moments and some spectacular animation, but it probably is Pixar's "least best" movie. Still worth seeing, though. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
WeAreOneJun 24, 2011
Terribly disappointing. Very little attention paid to the characters or the animation. Clearly a money grab. Avoid this movie at all cost, the studio should pay for the crap they have delivered.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
5
DDtcsJun 24, 2011
A plot somewhat long and boring, something that would use as a punishment in case my children do something wrong. Expecting much more than this sequel, very bad pixar.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
J-DubJun 25, 2011
Every great album has dynamic contrast... just like Pixar's now 20 year + output. Don't let the naysayers fool you. Cars 2 is an amazing action movie with heart and smarts and so much soul. There is so much depth in this movie. I don't knowEvery great album has dynamic contrast... just like Pixar's now 20 year + output. Don't let the naysayers fool you. Cars 2 is an amazing action movie with heart and smarts and so much soul. There is so much depth in this movie. I don't know how anyone could miss it. The movie does rehash some action, comedy and spy movie conventions, but what it also does is keep you invested in the characters - especially Mater. I never knew I could care so much for a rusty old tow truck! I think that anyone with an open mind to culture and diversity will embrace Mater as the lead, and invest in his character arc. In my opinion, the critics who are giving this movie poor reviews are not only missing the point, but are being left in the dust by John Lasseter's craft. Not every movie has to be Wall-E (which I ADORE) or some pretentious, art-house bag of air to have innovation, heart, soul and intelligence. Cars 2 is another milestone for Pixar. Go see Cars 2 and be a kid again... and an adult. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
SelaphielJun 24, 2011
This film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has madeThis film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has made 8 BILLION dollars in merchandise sales since it's release. Yes, 8 billion. $8,000,000,000. Really, they would be stupid not to make another one. They are, after all, a business. They're in it for the money. But they should seriously at least attempt to retain their artistic integrity. Since Cars, Pixar released not only their four greatest films, but four of the greatest animated films ever made. They broke their streak with this film. They're artistic geniuses, they're capable of so much more, yet they squander it on this trash. They sacrifice their honor in the name of the all-mighty dollar. So take your kids to see this piece of filth, buy them their Cars toys and backpacks and lunchboxes. Contribute to the artistic downfall of the greatest animation studio ever. This is a terrible film. I gave it an honest chance because Toy Story 3 was a sequel that outdid both of the previous films, proving Pixar can pull of cashgrabs while making a quality film, but this is a piece of trash. If Brave doesn't prove they can continue the quality we saw in movies like Wall-E and Up, I honestly will lose all faith in Pixar. Expand
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
0
doesitmatterJun 24, 2011
a loving comedy but its dumb why pixar u dazzle us with ur crative mind but not anymore i rather say go see KUNG FU PANDA 2 then this. this should be uses as a punishment than a gift
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
4
HfahmyJun 24, 2011
Big mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended forBig mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended for kids, they didn't understand it, if it is for grownups they didn't like it. There is no real storyline, scattered events, non-related, just to have the two hours gone, but very slowly, boringly. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
1
filmtrashreviewJun 25, 2011
I don't think I have ever or will ever again give a 1 out of 10 but Cars 2 deserved it. I mean Troll 2 and The Room were at least funny when they were bad. This film made me want to vomit. Larry The Cable Guys dumbed down stupid jokes areI don't think I have ever or will ever again give a 1 out of 10 but Cars 2 deserved it. I mean Troll 2 and The Room were at least funny when they were bad. This film made me want to vomit. Larry The Cable Guys dumbed down stupid jokes are only funny for a little while then they just become borderline retarded. Don't ever waste your money on such a horrible film. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
6
FalindrithJun 24, 2011
Let's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that theLet's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that the release date was move up a year from the original 2012 release date for unknown reasons. It seems that Pixar is under pressure to get movies out every year, rather than focusing on quality, which is quite honestly, a disturbing trend. It shows in the movie as well. The story is a blend of a spy movie with the normal Pixar themes of "don't ditch your friends" etc. The spy sections work well. The normal Pixar themes feel forced and unnatural in the context of the plot. Mater has his moments, but is not a strong enough or deep enough character to carry the movie and ended up being very annoying towards the middle of the film. The animation is as always fantastic, the sets were awesome, the water physics are getting much better, can't complain much there. That being said, Cars 2 is still a pretty fun ride. But it definitely wasn't given the attention that it desperately needed. Hopefully Pixar's just saving it for Brave, their next original movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
RicochetPhoenixJul 2, 2011
It is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only existsIt is a real shame to see Pixar finally release a bad film after such a wonderful streak of excellent animated films that are perfect for both adults and children alike. Cars 2 was just a completely unnecessary idea and obviously only exists for Disney to sell more toy cars to children. It's a shame, too, because Pixar is better than this. Cars 1 was average at best and by far the worst of Pixar's outings, yet they are forced to push out a sequel to it instead of more deserving films like The Incredibles. This film just shouldn't have been done and hopefully there will never be a Cars 3 because I don't want Pixar's legacy to be tainted further. Avoid this one. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
IronmongerJun 27, 2011
I will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have handsI will say that the movie was very good and worth seeing. On the other hand, i don't know if seeing it a second time is in my close future. I heard a review saying how it is hard to make a good movie like this because cars don't have hands and using front wheels as hands is a stretch. I halfway agree with that, but i still say you can't hate this movie. Go see it once, but I don't know about a second time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
utmamJun 25, 2011
There is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if youThere is absolutely NO way this film is a zero. Yes, it lacks the heart of the first one, yes Mater is the main character, and yes Larry the Cable Guy is an awful comedian, but this movie is still somewhat entertaining. For the record, if you hate Larry the Cable Guy, you probably will hate the movie as he gets about 80% of the screen time. There are a lot of things that kids will not get, but both of my daughters, 7 and 4, enjoyed it. It got a few chuckles out of me, and parts of it were pretty good. I actually really enjoyed how Pixar poked a little good natured fun at the James Bond franchise while trying to weave a story kids will enjoy. Still, rent it on DVD when it comes out, don't spend your money at a theatre to see this. As to the people who say the animation is terrible, I think you might have seen a different movie. I saw it in IMAX 3D and was blown away by the animation. The street scenes, racing scenes, and backgrounds are amazing. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
guardian210Jun 25, 2011
I'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good forI'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good for all ages. I saw this movie with my friend, and i'm really glad i did, because we we were laughing so hard the movie became a real bonding experience. Mater (voice by Larry the Cable Guy) makes the movie funny, going into the ladies room in japan, mistaking wasabe ice cream and going gonzo with the voice activated disguise machine is adds to the enjoyment of the movie. Love how they brought in popular T.V. shows in with The F/v Northwestern (Crabby, voice by Capt. Sig Hansen) . A message to those of you who didn't like this movie, "don't get your prop in a twist," and go see the movie again. " Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Soes72Jun 26, 2011
To all of you bashing this movie...REALLY!? Lighten up a bit, ok! Take a moment and think about who this movie is made for. It's not made for you, it's made for your kids. Pixar has set the bar very high, no doubt, but when it comes down toTo all of you bashing this movie...REALLY!? Lighten up a bit, ok! Take a moment and think about who this movie is made for. It's not made for you, it's made for your kids. Pixar has set the bar very high, no doubt, but when it comes down to it, they're movies are made for children. I just have to laugh at how people can be angry over a movie that is about talking CARS. Are you also going to tell me that movie is just too unrealistic!? When you see this movie, you should judge it by your children's faces afterwards and not by your issues with the plot or anything else. My 5-1/2 and 4 year old boys LOVED this movie and SO DID I! We will go see it again and I have no doubt it will be even better the second time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
raven720Sep 2, 2011
I consider myself a great Pixar fan, I have loved every movie since Toy Story but in this one, I can just say: I **** HATE MATER!!! .
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
SimbahhAug 7, 2011
Terrible Terrible ! I Adored Cars 1 , But this oh myy.. Can they really have Cars MURDERING each other in kids movie ? Im sitting there with my 4 year old tot and cars are murdering and carrying weapons , barking death threats oh my gosh itTerrible Terrible ! I Adored Cars 1 , But this oh myy.. Can they really have Cars MURDERING each other in kids movie ? Im sitting there with my 4 year old tot and cars are murdering and carrying weapons , barking death threats oh my gosh it was just WOAH ! Well who are we to talk , Pixars making MILLIONS AND MILLIONS off merchandising . Wait.. Oh ya ! Thats why Cars 2 was released. Oh the money (: Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesJun 27, 2011
I liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does notI liked the original Cars movie. This one is amazingly boring. I didn't laugh once the entire movie. The kids in the theater were restless as well. Very hard to follow, especially for kids. It looks spectacular, of course, but does not deliver on content. There is a lot of action and explosions, but lacking the heart of other Pixar films. This is the first Pixar film I haven't liked (although "Up" was barely acceptable for me). There is a 5 minute short before the movie featuring the Toy Story characters, and it is better than the feature film! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
AtTheMoviesJul 13, 2011
Cars 2 is getting far too much hate. It may not be as emotionally deep as say, Toy Story 3, but Cars never was that. Cars 2 is a fun international spy spoofing enjoyable movie. The animation is beautiful, the score is fun, and the voice workCars 2 is getting far too much hate. It may not be as emotionally deep as say, Toy Story 3, but Cars never was that. Cars 2 is a fun international spy spoofing enjoyable movie. The animation is beautiful, the score is fun, and the voice work is great. Do not listen to the critics... that is one of the first times I will say it. Cars 2 is a fantastic movie, that you should not miss out on. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
movies4prezAug 2, 2011
As a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convinced myself this was Pixar's way of apologizing and making up for it. Going into the film with incredibly lowAs a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convinced myself this was Pixar's way of apologizing and making up for it. Going into the film with incredibly low expectations (for both my memory of the first and poor reviews critically) the film was still worse than I would had anticipated. The characters are one-note, we never see anything endearing about these characters or really get to know them on a personal level. They do not have the instant lovable quality of any other characters which is not just because they are cars, Wall-E made robots look cute and cuddly after all. For a studio as progressive as Pixar I found the portrayals of characters in the film to be stereotypical and unfair and bad representations of the countries in this film (as the plot takes place and features characters from around the globe.) Mater is the single worst character in Pixar's history and it is a slap in the face that they made him an even larger part in the sequel, which is no doubt the worst film in Pixar's history, it should have been scrapped or made straight to dvd. I have faith in them still, as I loved the Toy Story short before this atrocious film. Fingers crossed for Brave and all their future ventures. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
TheRaterAug 16, 2011
Disney/Pixar destroyed a great story with violence and lots of GUNS!

What happened? They destroyed a great story. Cars was a wonderful movie with a beautiful message and no violence. Now, Cars 2 is just an attempt to make a Hollywood action
Disney/Pixar destroyed a great story with violence and lots of GUNS!

What happened? They destroyed a great story. Cars was a wonderful movie with a beautiful message and no violence. Now, Cars 2 is just an attempt to make a Hollywood action film (supposedly for kids). Guns? Really? And then we complain about kids with guns?! The violence includes guns, shooting, explosions, death.. Furthermore they make Mater look as ignorant as the rest of the world sees us. There is also some alcohol...I will never buy this movie for my son, who by the way didn't enjoy this film as much as the first one any ways. People in charge of story lines are way off if their target are kids and parents who will pay for the crap they want!
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
meetacriticJun 25, 2011
As an ardent fan of the first Cars, I'm shocked at what an absolute mess this movie is. I expected to be a bit disappointed; I didn't expect to leave the theater shaking my head. By far the worst film ever released by Pixar, this oneAs an ardent fan of the first Cars, I'm shocked at what an absolute mess this movie is. I expected to be a bit disappointed; I didn't expect to leave the theater shaking my head. By far the worst film ever released by Pixar, this one officially breaks their magic streak. They took all the heart and artistry of the first movie, and just chucked it out the window on their way to cashing in on all the merchandising possibilities. Owen Wilson may as well have not even shown up, because McQueen is relegated to a minor character in this film, as Mater becomes the centerpiece of a ridiculous (and almost completely unfunny) spy plot. Many reviewers have commented this was aimed at younger audiences than the first film, but no children's animated film you will see this year (or possibly ever) does more to glorify gun violence.
Occasional glimmers of humor and clever touches are eclipsed by a bewildering, written-by-committee plot that tries to do too much and accomplishes too little.
Upon leaving my 5 year-old son asked me "What was that movie about...?" I honestly couldn't answer him.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
4
ZabbotJun 25, 2011
[adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies.[adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies. Overall I'd say this movie scores 1 from an adult perspective.

[child review] to be fair this movie is really just for kids. And viewed from that perspective is an entirely great movie. Lots of action, bright colors, and funny characters. From the child's perspective I'd estimate this movie would hit around about an 8. Thus, my score is the average of the two rounded down to the nearest number.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
myfajahas400Jun 29, 2011
I don't understand the negative reviews. This movie was great! Sure it wasn't as good as PIXAR's other movies, but I liked it. It was exciting, it was funny. For me, PIXAR's streak stays alive.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JacobNov 14, 2013
Cars 2 is a disappointment. If a studio such as Dreamworks or Sony Animation were making this I’d be more lenient. But this is Pixar we are talking about. The studio is much better than this. I don’t know what to say. I want to say this isCars 2 is a disappointment. If a studio such as Dreamworks or Sony Animation were making this I’d be more lenient. But this is Pixar we are talking about. The studio is much better than this. I don’t know what to say. I want to say this is good but I’m not really sure what they were thinking. I’m as baffled as the cars in the movie were when McQueen moves to the outside lane. The Toy Story short at the start of the movie was better the film itself. If you’re a kid or a Mater fan you’ll love this movie. However, anyone who believes that Cars 2 will be another masterpiece from Pixar forget it. Cars 2 is a disappointing movie that has made me lose trust in studio that until now has been flawless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Jul 15, 2011
I'm not sure what's happening with movie critics. Everyone was probably expecting to be touched emotionally like many of the recent Pixar releases. But the thing is, this movie never intended to do so. It was intended to be a fun actionI'm not sure what's happening with movie critics. Everyone was probably expecting to be touched emotionally like many of the recent Pixar releases. But the thing is, this movie never intended to do so. It was intended to be a fun action movie, and the movie does a great job of doing so. If you don't like that, go watch something else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FinnaticJul 10, 2011
More Pixar magic here. The detail in their movies is just plain incredible. It's photo-realistic at times. While marketed as Cars 2, this movie is really more of an extended Mater's Tales episode. There's plenty of laughs, sight gags,More Pixar magic here. The detail in their movies is just plain incredible. It's photo-realistic at times. While marketed as Cars 2, this movie is really more of an extended Mater's Tales episode. There's plenty of laughs, sight gags, and silliness to keep most anyone entertained. The use of 3D is smart and not in any way distracting from the story or artistic direction of the movie. I always come out of a Pixar film feeling like I got my money's worth, and this one is no exception. The short film that precedes the feature is just plain satisfying, as well. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
Lightning McQueen and tow truck Mater head to Japan and Europe to compete in the World Grand Prix, but Mater becomes sidetracked with international espionage as he helps two spies named Finn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell in an attempt to gainLightning McQueen and tow truck Mater head to Japan and Europe to compete in the World Grand Prix, but Mater becomes sidetracked with international espionage as he helps two spies named Finn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell in an attempt to gain back his friend's trust while trying to foil an evil professor's scheme. I was shocked to see the negative reviews it had from the critics, so I'm going to disagree with them by saying that this movie is as good as the first. What can I say about it? Acting...fantastic Animation...well done Action...very impressive Comedy...funny as h*ll The only problem that I had with the movie was the pacing because it was so rushed with no reason. Cars 2 is Pixar's amazing sequel to a good movie. Keep up the work, guys. 8/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
scrieciuJul 6, 2011
I heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People are complaining, but they forget that this movie is for KIDS. I was surprised that Matter had the leadingI heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People are complaining, but they forget that this movie is for KIDS. I was surprised that Matter had the leading role. I wasn't expecting that at all. But he was really annoying, especially when it's voiced by Larry the Cable Guy. This is probably one of the worst Pixar movies, including the first one. But why did they made a sequel to '' Cars " ? Why they didn't to that to a good Pixar movie, like '' Monsters, Inc. '' for example ? It bothers me a little. After seeing how terrible and boring '' Cars '' was, I would have never thought that they will make an other one. At least '' Cars 2 '' was more enjoyable. Also, I liked the fact that the world of Cars resembles our world. The animators did a good job on that. I liked how the makers made the cars holding a gun and stuff like that. Yes, there's action scenes with guns, which was way to violent for children. The imagination was there, but not the elements necessary to make a good and noticeable Pixar movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
TetsuoJul 25, 2011
You think that Pixar would learn there mistakes with the first one and try to improve it, the answer is no. Not only is the plot rediculous since it takes plot elements from The World is Not Enough and North By Northwest making it the mostYou think that Pixar would learn there mistakes with the first one and try to improve it, the answer is no. Not only is the plot rediculous since it takes plot elements from The World is Not Enough and North By Northwest making it the most unoriginal animated feature since Alpha and Omega. it doesn't even bother to develop the characters new and old.
Another terrible idea is Mater having more screen time. I mean c'mon he had more screen time in those Mater shorts. It tries to do a spoof of the spy genre but the jokes are to predictible and makes it looked like it was made in the sixties. Not even the supporting actors like Michael Caine (who's probably having nightmares of his experience in Jaws 4) and Emily Mortimer can save this from being overshadowed by another animated sequel (Kung Fu Panda 2) which I rather rewatch than see this again.
While Toy Story had great sequels thanks to great plots and character development, this you could considered as the black sheep of the Pixar canon.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TheQuietGamerMay 13, 2012
I personally believed that a sequel to Cars would be unnecessary, but Pixar's Toy Story movies have had fantastic sequels so I figured this one would be good, and I wasn't exactly wrong kids are going to love it but older audiences aren't andI personally believed that a sequel to Cars would be unnecessary, but Pixar's Toy Story movies have had fantastic sequels so I figured this one would be good, and I wasn't exactly wrong kids are going to love it but older audiences aren't and given Pixar's reputation of creating fantastic animated movies that both kids and adults love makes this disappointing. It's pretty funny even throwing in a few laugh out loud moments, and seeing you favorite characters from Cars return is welcome, I didn't find the plot or new spy theme interesting, and Pixar took an appalling turn by adding killing to the movie so cautious parents beware. Like I said before kids are going to love it for it's humor and returning characters, but older audiences are going to be disappointed with it's bland and predictable story and spy setting, and upset/shocked at the killing in it, but respect it for keeping they're kids entertained and it's lesson on friendship, all in all not the worst but not the best, and a huge disappointment for Pixar fans. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AlnORTIZJul 2, 2011
I went into Cars 2 yesterday with moderate expectations, this film went slightly above them. I can agree that this is not my favorite Disney Pixar film, but does it mean it's terrible? No. The visuals in this film look flat out amazing. TheI went into Cars 2 yesterday with moderate expectations, this film went slightly above them. I can agree that this is not my favorite Disney Pixar film, but does it mean it's terrible? No. The visuals in this film look flat out amazing. The voice actors did a fine job and the story is predictable. This is slightly better than Cars and my only real gripe is how this film should have been PG because it's actually really violent for a kids movie! But this film is alright for what it is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RicshawJun 26, 2011
I liked this one. I thought it was actually better than the first, which I enjoyed as well. I can't quite figure out why this is being called the worst Pixar film to date. Pixar films are kind of like Bond films- even the bad ones areI liked this one. I thought it was actually better than the first, which I enjoyed as well. I can't quite figure out why this is being called the worst Pixar film to date. Pixar films are kind of like Bond films- even the bad ones are still OK movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jacksparrow1234Jun 25, 2011
This movie was ok. Though I didn't think that the whole espionage story didn't really fit into the whole cars movie thing other than that it was fine. But I expected a little better on the story.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
Princess_PeachJul 31, 2011
This movie is a total cash in. Worst Pixar movie. The great thing about Pixar movies is that they appeal to a wide audience, but not this movie. If you have kids under 5 and want to take them to see an okay movie this one will suffice. PixarThis movie is a total cash in. Worst Pixar movie. The great thing about Pixar movies is that they appeal to a wide audience, but not this movie. If you have kids under 5 and want to take them to see an okay movie this one will suffice. Pixar should stop making sequels an go back to being original. (they got lucky with Toy Story and should stop with 3). There is no emotional attachment to the characters in this movie like there are in other Pixar movies and the dialogue is terrible. If you like Mater you might like this movie but I don't think you can have a movie centered around your comic relief. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
supersergiJul 17, 2011
Pixar's first terrible film. Mediocre storyline, broken script, useless 3D, bad voice acting, and more espionage than races makes from this sequel an absolute rip-off from James Bond.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
antenaJun 26, 2011
Pretty much mystified as to why some critics were so eager to jump on this one. Is it among Pixar's best? No. But it's a solid action movie full of great set pieces, and filled with fantastic auto-inspired design everywhere you look. Sure,Pretty much mystified as to why some critics were so eager to jump on this one. Is it among Pixar's best? No. But it's a solid action movie full of great set pieces, and filled with fantastic auto-inspired design everywhere you look. Sure, if you don't like Mater's schtick it will get tiring, but the spy stuff is great -- especially if you're a 007 fan -- and the movie expands the "Cars" universe beyond Radiator Springs. Funny, too. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
CinemaParadisoJun 25, 2011
How can someone not compare the sequels and in that department , part 2 does not make the cut with part 1. Where Cars 1 was funny and great in its character building department, Cars 2 puts too much emphasize on the secret agent plot,How can someone not compare the sequels and in that department , part 2 does not make the cut with part 1. Where Cars 1 was funny and great in its character building department, Cars 2 puts too much emphasize on the secret agent plot, forgetting that some of the best moments in part 1 were the quiet and thoughtful moments. It is still enjoyable and makes for some fun-filled 2 hours, but it won't stick as much and I am not sure making Mater the number 1 character really worked. Overall still a positive score as it is so well made , with tons of great animation ideas. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Sime88Jun 27, 2011
Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film Amazing film
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
pwnstarJul 5, 2011
This is a good movie, not a great movie. The first one is better but this one is still fun to watch especially if you watched the first one. It may not be Pixars best movies but people who enjoyed the first one should see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMachineJul 12, 2011
Definitely not what I expected. Previous advertising led me to believe that this movie would be essentially a night out for kids under the age of 7. But it turned out to be a lot more complicated and mature. Sort of like a dumbed-downDefinitely not what I expected. Previous advertising led me to believe that this movie would be essentially a night out for kids under the age of 7. But it turned out to be a lot more complicated and mature. Sort of like a dumbed-down animated anthropomorphic spy movie. It didn't really have that feel for cars anymore. Since lightning McQueen became more of a side character and mater became the head of the movie, it was almost like watching a different movie. Criticisms are that the bad guys weren't convincing and the plot was pretty messy. It sort of lacked that Pixar charm. Overall, though, go. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
petegutz2Jul 15, 2011
This movie is pretty much like it's predecessor in that it is full of slick visuals, light plot and sub-plot to keep children tuned-in. Unfortunately, my kids fell asleep halfway through. I enjoyed the movie. I enjoyed the pre-movie shortThis movie is pretty much like it's predecessor in that it is full of slick visuals, light plot and sub-plot to keep children tuned-in. Unfortunately, my kids fell asleep halfway through. I enjoyed the movie. I enjoyed the pre-movie short featuring the "Toy Story 3" gang even more so. Go figure! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JAmphJul 20, 2011
I have now seen the movie Cars 2 3 times and in between have refreshed my memory of Cars. Cars 2 is FANTASTIC!! It's funny, it's clever and it's the best sequel to any movie that has been produced in a very long time. I wondered whereI have now seen the movie Cars 2 3 times and in between have refreshed my memory of Cars. Cars 2 is FANTASTIC!! It's funny, it's clever and it's the best sequel to any movie that has been produced in a very long time. I wondered where Lightning and the other wonderful characters would end up after Radiator Springs. Total props to the creative folks at Pixar! Once again the talented people there have transformed a surreal place, time and characters to a mind blowing realistic world. To the people that have complained about taking the America out or not making McQueen the star attraction, for one, the movie is "CARS 2." Not Lightning McQueen. You all must have owned a lemon when you were much younger and you are bitter and jealous. For the ones that thought Cars 2 was "violent" for their children to see. I will not and would hope Disney would never apologize for the grown up interactions in the movie since Cars came out in 2006. Against your will your children have grown up and amazingly so did the characters and concept of the movie. Did your child enjoy ALL of the Shrek movies? What about the Toy Story movies? How about the Suite life of Zack and Cody? Regardless of what your personal, out of date opinion is of Cars 2 is, they seamlessly integrated new characters, an interesting mission with real world facts and may have even set up the chance for a spin off. What will you do then? Tell your child nothing changes? No one grows up? Good luck. Get over your self. Kids love this movie. So what's wrong with you? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MRaynAug 1, 2011
Not terribly bad, nor amazingly good. Pixar, surely, made a mistake with this one. Cars 2 brings back the first movie's characters in a new storyline and a new point of view. More than the last one, the cars are humanised while a mess is madeNot terribly bad, nor amazingly good. Pixar, surely, made a mistake with this one. Cars 2 brings back the first movie's characters in a new storyline and a new point of view. More than the last one, the cars are humanised while a mess is made right in front of you. On one side of the story, there's a GP - the only place where you can see McQueen - and, on the other, there's some kind of 007-ish thing happening - where you find a more stupid Tom Mater. Nevertheless, it's a funny and well-done movie. Of course, there are many better things to watch, but it is an option at worst. Just an option, not the best... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
AkkharDec 20, 2011
I have seen all Pixer films and its totally clear to me that this is the worst movie that they made , I can't believe an Pixer film could be this much worst . What did they just do ? The animation was good but the story sucked 100% and it wasI have seen all Pixer films and its totally clear to me that this is the worst movie that they made , I can't believe an Pixer film could be this much worst . What did they just do ? The animation was good but the story sucked 100% and it was less funny then any Animation film ever made . The starting was good (when L returned home) but after that all went to hell . Request to Pixer not to make this mistake ever please . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
buellerbuellerAug 27, 2011
What?!?!?! Pixar can make a bad film?! The Apocalypse really is near! LOL. I saw this while in Minnesota with my cousins, expecting an enjoyable experience. Sadly, it felt lie I was watching one of those straight-to-video Disney films theyWhat?!?!?! Pixar can make a bad film?! The Apocalypse really is near! LOL. I saw this while in Minnesota with my cousins, expecting an enjoyable experience. Sadly, it felt lie I was watching one of those straight-to-video Disney films they keep making. That doesn't mean it's unbearable. The jokes are kind of amusing, and it accidentally spoofs the summer blockbuster. I think it would have been good, if only Mater hadn't been made the main character. That really reminds you of Family Matters making Urkel the main character. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
skeletonking123Sep 10, 2011
Well Pixar has done it again. Cars 2 may not be the best Pixar has done , it is still fun to watch. Many new voice actors were brought in for this movie, Eddie Izzard, Jeff Gordon, Michael Caine, Jeff Garlin, Bruce Campbell and many others,Well Pixar has done it again. Cars 2 may not be the best Pixar has done , it is still fun to watch. Many new voice actors were brought in for this movie, Eddie Izzard, Jeff Gordon, Michael Caine, Jeff Garlin, Bruce Campbell and many others, my favorite was Michael Caine. Caine is good in most things, and this spy character he pulls off perfectly. AS with most Pixar movies the animation is top notch, and the final 25 minutes are great amounts of CG. The film does start out kind of stupid but it then gets really entertaining. My only gripe i have about the movie, is how it differs a lot from the first film, the first film was a racing movie and very heartwarming, this one is more of an action movie and spy movie than a racing movie, plus the plot is all over the place. But the comedy is still spot on with this movie, it still has all the original characters as the original, Mater, Sally, Flo, Ramone, Sarge, Filmore, Guido, Luigi, the only one not there is Doc Hudson. Now i was wondering how they were going to do Doc for the movie, if they were going to kill him off, or if they were going to get another voice actor for him like they did for Slinky in the new Toy Story. Speaking of Toy Story there is a fantastic short film before the movie that is about all the Toy Story 3 characters having a hawaian vacation. if you are looking for a decent animated film definitely check this out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Oct 16, 2011
Cars wasn't Pixar's finest hour but it had style, it was still clever, with some fantastically funny moments. It also had a novelty factor working in its favour. Cars 2 doesn't have that to fall back on and because it lacks the heart of theCars wasn't Pixar's finest hour but it had style, it was still clever, with some fantastically funny moments. It also had a novelty factor working in its favour. Cars 2 doesn't have that to fall back on and because it lacks the heart of the first its just a shell of a movie.
Cars 2 represents an amalgam of recycled jokes, ideas and images from every other film that came before it and because of that you feel empty after having seen it, as if you went to a nice restaurant expecting a big piece of meat but instead you got a salad.
Cars 2 moves away from the original in favour of turning the franchise into a comedy spy thriller, because that always works out so well (Get Smart, Johnny English 1 & 2). The introduction of Michael Caine's Finn McMissile does add an element of humour and entertainment but the fact that the film concentrates more on Mater (Larry the Cable Guy) than Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) seemed like a good idea but it eventually grates. Overall by moving away from Cars in favour of making the 2nd film more lively it has taken away some of the things that really did make Cars enjoyable.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
KirillionaireOct 24, 2011
It put several smiles on my face, i laughed several times, and I greatly enjoyed it!
I'm not sure how people didn't like it...
It isn't that I'm a die-hard Pixar fan and will like anything they put out. But, craftsmanship, quality, and an
It put several smiles on my face, i laughed several times, and I greatly enjoyed it!
I'm not sure how people didn't like it...

It isn't that I'm a die-hard Pixar fan and will like anything they put out. But, craftsmanship, quality, and an understanding for what really makes a humorous, yet not passively-aggressive-minded movie, shows through every frame of this movie
. I'm so confused as why people don't like it. It's brilliant!
If anyone from Pixar is discouraged by these ratings, and happens to be reading this, just keep doing what you've been doing. Don't let other people tell you who you are ;]
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Kieran91Nov 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the first time I have felt so let down by a Pixar film. Cars 2 exploded into the cinemas with such great expectations usually filled by the magicians over at Pixar, particularly after their first great hit with Cars; however, these expectations were not met and, subsequently, what was once a good idea has now been squandered.

Pixar should not be slated entirely, however; they still maintained their impeccable graphics, character reactions and humour input in Cars 2, yet the film lacked a general sense of any sort of storyline. We see our favourite character Lightning McQueen burst back into the fray near the beginning of the film when, without any sort of heads up, the audience suddenly discovers he has won the Piston Cup four times, is now officially going out with Sally and Doc Hudson has died. This is just the start of what created such a flat effort for a film; new character introductions were brief, the attempt at a storyline was sloppy and there was no effort to show how amazing Lightning McQueen was at racing. The whole film revolved around a brand-new renewable fuel for cars called Allinol and, ever since its introduction, conquered the whole film in every scene possible. Okay, so maybe the film was about Allinol and how it was going to be used to kill Lightning McQueen in a very dramatic way, but I just miss the ideology behind the original Cars. Another main problem lies with Lightning McQueen's recession into more of a background character; the main character becomes Mater who, in short, is a funny character, but his characteristic traits can only be stretched out by so much and 106 minutes is far too stretched. Pixar are now to redeem themselves and prove to their countless fans that they can produce another decent film with a great backing storyline mixed with characters you are forced to love and hate. Pixar's new film, Brave, now has very high expectations in order to excuse this below-par effort at a film, for never before have I been disappointed in a Pixar film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
moviefan11Aug 28, 2012
while theres not alot of character development in here it is still a site to see......................................................................
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
JmsbppJul 14, 2013
Pixar jamas ha logrado tan bajo desempeño en sus peliculas se supone que pixar se saca las mejores peliculas no las peores una pelicula que destroza la buena reputacion de Cars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
AmongstYouAug 26, 2013
I would rate this as a four if it were made by some other studio, but Pixar? We expect better!
The first Cars film was just boring, this one is insipidly stupid. My little sister who is barely past the age of six couldn't enjoy this film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
You may call it a crime to like "Cars 2", but I truly did. While its storytelling isn't spectacular and has similar elements that has been done before, it has visuals, humor, and well written scenes that somehow make up for it. "Cars 2" is aYou may call it a crime to like "Cars 2", but I truly did. While its storytelling isn't spectacular and has similar elements that has been done before, it has visuals, humor, and well written scenes that somehow make up for it. "Cars 2" is a kid film that isn't shallow and stupid, it's complex and full of fun energy. It could be the worst Pixar film, but it's better than nearly three-fourths of the animated films that come out today. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
BoogeeFilmGuyJul 13, 2015
I thought the first Cars film was a fun movie experience. It wasn't Pixars best, but it was still an enjoyable movie. This, however? I feel like this was made to sell merchandise so that Disney and Pixar could make some quick cash. I mean, itI thought the first Cars film was a fun movie experience. It wasn't Pixars best, but it was still an enjoyable movie. This, however? I feel like this was made to sell merchandise so that Disney and Pixar could make some quick cash. I mean, it made $27.5 million on opening weekend! Plus all the merchandise, both Disney and Pixar would be rolling in it! This film was a pretty lousy waste of time. Definitely Pi thxars worst film yet. It wasn't worth the price of admission. I found the race flag I got when I saw it in 2011 and I chopped it into little pieces. Was that too cruel? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeDec 27, 2015
Is it just me or did Pixar focus way too much on the action than on their beautiful moments they have done in the past? (Toy Story 3, Up, WALL-E, etc.) In this movie, Mater is the protagonist rather than Lightning McQueen. They're off toIs it just me or did Pixar focus way too much on the action than on their beautiful moments they have done in the past? (Toy Story 3, Up, WALL-E, etc.) In this movie, Mater is the protagonist rather than Lightning McQueen. They're off to Tokyo, Japan. After that, the movie went down too hard. This isn't James Bond or Mission: Impossible. We don't need a sequel to Cars. We don't even need Cars 3. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SilcaJul 20, 2016
I'm a huge fan of Pixar, but not of the Cars franchise. Despite that, I still think they were decent movies. The plot of Cars 2 is pretty unique and pays homage to classics spy movies. Does it fail miserably? I wouldn't say so. Despite theI'm a huge fan of Pixar, but not of the Cars franchise. Despite that, I still think they were decent movies. The plot of Cars 2 is pretty unique and pays homage to classics spy movies. Does it fail miserably? I wouldn't say so. Despite the lack of heart of most Pixar movies, this movie is surprisingly dark for their standards. Death is common and even torture is seen. While I think it's rather inappropriate for a family movie, I'm particularly fine with such themes and I kind of enjoyed it. The plot is not that good and I can't stand Mate, but at least we got explosions for some cheap entertainment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
E-moonJul 18, 2016
Ok i loved this movie and the last movie but heck doc hudson my favorite character was not! And yes I know he died of cancer but still its the people who wants him to be in the movie, they should have use picked a new voice actor and the carsOk i loved this movie and the last movie but heck doc hudson my favorite character was not! And yes I know he died of cancer but still its the people who wants him to be in the movie, they should have use picked a new voice actor and the cars 3 which is comming is roughly 1 year i really with doc hudson will show up he better show up! and that is the only reason why i gave this movie 8 and not 10 overall the action and violence well it was very mild and i'd say people are being irrational because the film it self is very good for example the kids who watched it when they were say 8 then cars 2 came out they will be 13 which fits perfectly but i do reccomend this film Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ShiiraAug 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A VHS copy of the musical "Hello, Dolly" is the robot's most-prized possession. "WALL-E", a lonely earthbound portable garbage compactor, makes a recording of the duet "It Only Takes a Moment" because the song moves him, inspiring the machine to hold his own hand, in imitation of the characters who have fallen for each other, from a long-ago past when the planet was habitable. Nothing green grows on earth anymore. The detritus of human civilization, bearing a color scheme that's nearly monochromatic in its brownness, is all that's left. Overrun by trash, entire populations boarded vast spaceships, leaving WALL-E behind with the endless job of minimizing waste into stacked cubes, while the planetary refugees floated around space in what are, essentially, movable countries, displaced indefinitely from their homes. But what does hardware know about love? How can something made out of microprocessors and integrated circuits develop a consciousness? At what point in time did "it" evolve and become a "he"? It's only a matter of time before robots like Eve(as in Adam &) supplant a human race made morbidly obese by generation upon generation of insentient living. Whereas "WALL-E" presents a dystopian take on our extrapolated planet that's easily identifiable, "Cars 2"(and "Cars"), obscures the nightmarish elements of a four-wheeled society through the audience's supposition that this largely inorganic world is an alternate one. Under closer scrutiny, "Cars" starts to look more and more Cronenberg-ian, in which the pornography of auto fetishism in "Crash" actually gets put into practice. Let's meet the Flintstones again. Similar to the animated series, with its parodic names like Rock Quarry and Cary Granite to corroborate the Jurassic Period setting, both films use car-centric names(Bob Cutlass, Brent Mustangburger) as a means of harmonizing its metal beings with this variant earth. But when it comes to places, in which Bedford becomes Bedrock, the conversion process stalls in "Cars 2" stalls, leaving the names of Paris, Tokyo, and London in its original incarnation, and furthermore, the landmarks of the cities(for instance, the Eiffel Tower) remain unaltered. Where are we, exactly? In "Planet of the Apes", the astronaut learns that he traveled across time, not space, when he discovers Lady Liberty in ruins, decapitated and rusting, along the shoreline of what turns out to be the Atlantic Ocean. Dr. Zaius' best efforts to perpetuate the long-standing notion of simian superiority is undermined by a chimpanzee, the archaeologist Cornelius, who unearths artifacts which proves that apes evolved from man during his cave excavations in the forbidden zone. "Cars" shares with "Planet of the Apes" the same conspiracy: the suppression of evolution. While remaining silent on the subject of man, despite the cars' admission that dinosaurs existed, they give themselves away, therefore deeming full disclosure of the timeline a moot point. Unlike Dreamworks, whose "Shrek" films employ a lot of pop culture references, Pixar avoids such anachronisms(the post-modernism of pastiche) yet in "Cars", Kenny G.'s "Songbird" scores a cheap laugh when a car gang puts Mack to sleep with the easy-listening jazz, causing the truck to lose his precious cargo(Lightning McQueen). This instrumental, like the videotape in "Wall-E", proves that man existed. Quite possibly, he's the missing link. Bolstering this theory, a VW bus, an auto-hippie, without any spoofing appellation, names Hendrix, after a military jeep voices his displeasure with the metalized version of "The Star-Spangled Banner". This is our earth, not some near-identical equivalent, like the one in the Tim Burton remake, where the film ends with a man staring aghast at the Lincoln Memorial, augmented with ape-like features. These cars are partly human. Vestiges of their humanity can be glimpsed in their faces. In addition to the eyes, Lightning has a tongue, while Mater sports buckteeth like a hayseed. And somewhere in the recesses of their "brains", these evolved vehicles remember sex. In "Cars", Mater throws Lightning into a homosexual panic as the tow-truck uses his hook on the auto racing car's undercarriage(read; sodomy). Likewise, the spy in "Cars 2", as suggested by the double entendre inherent in the name Holly Shiftswell, denotes a woman who was mustard in the sack. Unlike "Planet of the Apes", perhaps the conspiracy is an extra-diegetic one. In "Cars", Sally waxes nostalgic about Radiator Springs in the fifties. This history runs concurrently with the our timeline. What if she's lying? What if the conspiracy is the film itself, in which the narrators, both omniscient and first-person are fallible? In the climactic race for the coveted Piston Cup("Cars"), a blimp hanging over the stadium reads "Light Year". It's a clue. Exactly what year is it in this planet of the cars? Maybe these aren't Anno Domini times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrMar 16, 2012
In isolation Cars 2 will not have won over new audience, but should have tickled the audience of the first outing enough to long for a 3rd instalment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DrMovieDec 10, 2011
I did not think I would have liked this movie, but I was as funny as the first. They did not change any of the original cast and added a few new ones. The only think I didn't like is how they took mater and made him into a spy I don't see theI did not think I would have liked this movie, but I was as funny as the first. They did not change any of the original cast and added a few new ones. The only think I didn't like is how they took mater and made him into a spy I don't see the ties with the first movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
aaronpaul121Oct 3, 2012
Overall, it is a good animated movie. But this is not what I expect from Pixar. Complicated plot, occasionally cheesy voice acting and surprisingly basic presentation. The animation as always is fantastic. But still, I am very disappointedOverall, it is a good animated movie. But this is not what I expect from Pixar. Complicated plot, occasionally cheesy voice acting and surprisingly basic presentation. The animation as always is fantastic. But still, I am very disappointed with Pixar. I expect a lot more from them. I hope they will redeem themselves in their next films................. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Knicksfan7Jul 26, 2011
Finally saw this movie earlier today and to be honest, i enjoyed it. I almost didnt see it because of what everyone has been saying about it. It was good but it definitely is at the bottom of my list of pixar films. I went in with lowFinally saw this movie earlier today and to be honest, i enjoyed it. I almost didnt see it because of what everyone has been saying about it. It was good but it definitely is at the bottom of my list of pixar films. I went in with low expectations and i wasnt disappointed. Ive been a huge Pixar fan, but never a big cars fan, the first one was at the bottom of my pixar list and now the second one is there. This movie was decent ill give it that. I cant say it was a disappointment because you'd have to expect something in order to be disappointed and i didnt expect much because i never really liked cars and i didnt like the fact that they made a sequel to my least favorite pixar movie, and they shouldnt have. I know they are making a sequel to monsters inc (my fav pixar film) but that shouldve been thought of first before this, feels like they rushed this one into theatres, dont get me wrong, i did still enjoy it but they couldve spent more time on it and thought of a better storyline. I think alot of people disliked this movie so much because it was released right after toy story 3 which was really good and it set the bar real high for pixar. Anyways i still enjoyed this movie even though im not a cars fan. More like 5.5/10 but ill round it up to 6 because its Pixar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sangwon95Jul 20, 2011
"Cars 2" does not meet the normal standards of other Pixar films, like "Toy Story 3" or "Wall-E". However, "Cars 2" is a major improvement from the first one. The soundtracks are awesome and resemble those of real spy movies. Overall, "Cars"Cars 2" does not meet the normal standards of other Pixar films, like "Toy Story 3" or "Wall-E". However, "Cars 2" is a major improvement from the first one. The soundtracks are awesome and resemble those of real spy movies. Overall, "Cars 2" is packed with action, but contains jokes that are lame and few boring, tedious scenes. Although "Cars 2" does not meet Pixar standards, it does a better job than other animated films. Yes, "Cars 2" is not the best movie, but it is a wonderful movie to watch during the summer and blow away your heat and sweat. The extra price for 3D is worth it and the visual effects are stunning! "Cars 2" is a disappointment, compared to films like "Toy Story 3" and "Up", but still manages to make the audience packed with action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
Decent movie but one of Pixar's worst even though it's better than most trash out right now though. It has a few really funny moments that are rare in most animated movies of other studios.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KadeemluvmusicJun 14, 2012
I think Cars is one of the most overrated movies in the Disney/Pixar universe because I thought this was supposed to be an original look for Cars 2 (the same as the original Cars movie), but I find it a little less violent and the JamesI think Cars is one of the most overrated movies in the Disney/Pixar universe because I thought this was supposed to be an original look for Cars 2 (the same as the original Cars movie), but I find it a little less violent and the James Bond-type spy theme just isn't the type of script or design Pixar has hoped for. I loved how they done Toy Story and all of the critically-acclaimed movies that we shared and thinking of the great moments since Oscar night arrives. Cars 2 just wasn't in the Oscar picture, it was the first and only movie not to receive an Oscar nomination because of the bad criticism these critics and fans felt. So I'm hoping that Disney/Pixar could put Brave to #1. It's a new year and hopefully they'd better not make the same mistakes as Cars 2 did. Cars 2 is one of the big disappointments of 2011. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BEERAug 22, 2011
My 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount ofMy 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mind that Pixar went this route cause it's not there job to cater to young children. I am however disapointed that the MPAA approved a G rating for this film when it CLEARLY should be PG Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews