Cars 2

Cars 2 Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 356 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star racecar Lightning McQueen and the incomparable tow truck Mater take their friendship to exciting new places in "Cars 2" when they head overseas to compete in the first-ever World Grand Prix to determine the world's fastest car. But the road to the championship is filled with plenty ofStar racecar Lightning McQueen and the incomparable tow truck Mater take their friendship to exciting new places in "Cars 2" when they head overseas to compete in the first-ever World Grand Prix to determine the world's fastest car. But the road to the championship is filled with plenty of potholes, detours and hilarious surprises when Mater gets caught up in an intriguing adventure of his own: international espionage. Torn between assisting Lightning McQueen in the high-profile race and towing the line in a top-secret spy mission, Mater’s action-packed journey leads him on an explosive chase through the streets of Japan and Europe, trailed by his friends and watched by the whole world. Adding to the fast-paced fun is a colorful new all-car cast that includes secret agents, menacing villains and international racing competitors. (Disney, Pixar)

    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 19, 2011
    90
    The rare sequel that not only improves on but retroactively justifies its predecessor, this lightning-paced caper-comedy shifts the franchise into high gear with international intrigue, spy-movie spoofery and more automotive puns than you can shake a stickshift at, handling even its broader stretches with sophistication, speed and effortless panache.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    In terms of story and atmosphere and overall feeling, Cars 2 is a brand-new experience - and a distinct improvement.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 24, 2011
    70
    A fun, silly, kid-friendly summer popcorn entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    This savvy and sensitive company has unapologetically made a movie for (very) young moviegoers.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 23, 2011
    55
    The plot of Cars 2 is both overly convoluted and thin, and it folds in so much unvarnished toddler-instruction that it almost feels like an educational film.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    The movie has its own deficits - a lack of variety, originality, subtlety, clarity and plain old charm.
  7. Reviewed by: Jamie N. Christley
    Jun 22, 2011
    25
    A crass and uncharacteristically threadbare cash-grab.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 132
  2. Negative: 34 out of 132
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the bestI saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the best soundtrack for a pixar and one of the best movies I've ever seen. This was the sequal to my favourite childhood film and it was amazing! Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Very good sequel to a great animated film.
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) is offered a placement to race in a new international race circuit involving the greatest style of race cars.Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) is offered a placement to race in a new international race circuit involving the greatest style of race cars. However, there is one specific race car McQueen desires to beat, the Italian Francesco Bernoilli The hardly see eye to eye on the race track. The International races are located at Tokyo, Italy and London. Sadly, Mater has a problem. He must take part in a mission to stop the evil villains destroying the best cars with their lasers.

    Mater appears to have the spotlight throughout, unlike McQueen in the first installment. We see the rusty truck as a sidekick to McQueen as he sets out to be the hero and becoming a spy along with Holley Shiftwell (Emily Mortimer) and Finn McMissile (Michael Caine) whose voice acting is superb. A few action scenes reminiscent of James Bond films appear in the film which are very enjoyable and keep the older audience from getting bored. The moral message to this film is â
    Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    I heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People areI heard a lot of bad comments about this movie. My thoughts : it was average. Well it's definitely better then the first one. People are complaining, but they forget that this movie is for KIDS. I was surprised that Matter had the leading role. I wasn't expecting that at all. But he was really annoying, especially when it's voiced by Larry the Cable Guy. This is probably one of the worst Pixar movies, including the first one. But why did they made a sequel to '' Cars " ? Why they didn't to that to a good Pixar movie, like '' Monsters, Inc. '' for example ? It bothers me a little. After seeing how terrible and boring '' Cars '' was, I would have never thought that they will make an other one. At least '' Cars 2 '' was more enjoyable. Also, I liked the fact that the world of Cars resembles our world. The animators did a good job on that. I liked how the makers made the cars holding a gun and stuff like that. Yes, there's action scenes with guns, which was way to violent for children. The imagination was there, but not the elements necessary to make a good and noticeable Pixar movie. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    4
    My 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, andMy 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mind that Pixar went this route cause it's not there job to cater to young children. I am however disapointed that the MPAA approved a G rating for this film when it CLEARLY should be PG. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    3
    Okay Pixar has let us down completely, Cars 2 is boring, occasionally funny, and just terrible story telling right in the middle of it. And umOkay Pixar has let us down completely, Cars 2 is boring, occasionally funny, and just terrible story telling right in the middle of it. And um where is all the heart Cars had which got it all the good reviews. Hmm Pixar can we trust you. And most of all making another Cars means that this franchise has no place in the other world that Pixar has created. Which makes it the more disappointing. I give this film a 32% of a good movie. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2011
    0
    As a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convincedAs a major Pixar-Disney film lover, this film crushed my heart into a million pieces. I openly hated the first Cars film, but convinced myself this was Pixar's way of apologizing and making up for it. Going into the film with incredibly low expectations (for both my memory of the first and poor reviews critically) the film was still worse than I would had anticipated. The characters are one-note, we never see anything endearing about these characters or really get to know them on a personal level. They do not have the instant lovable quality of any other characters which is not just because they are cars, Wall-E made robots look cute and cuddly after all. For a studio as progressive as Pixar I found the portrayals of characters in the film to be stereotypical and unfair and bad representations of the countries in this film (as the plot takes place and features characters from around the globe.) Mater is the single worst character in Pixar's history and it is a slap in the face that they made him an even larger part in the sequel, which is no doubt the worst film in Pixar's history, it should have been scrapped or made straight to dvd. I have faith in them still, as I loved the Toy Story short before this atrocious film. Fingers crossed for Brave and all their future ventures. Collapse

See all 132 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.