Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 9, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 486 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
342
Mixed:
93
Negative:
51
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
WayzieW.Jun 9, 2006
It's difficult to empathize with a cocky plastic red race car. The storyline is very predictible and while the twists and turns are scenic, the movie feels a bit like taking grandma for a drive -- you have to be sure to stay on the main It's difficult to empathize with a cocky plastic red race car. The storyline is very predictible and while the twists and turns are scenic, the movie feels a bit like taking grandma for a drive -- you have to be sure to stay on the main roads so as not to jostle her. It ends up being a familiar trip and halfway through you'll wish you were on a roadtrip with a cooler and more off-beat group of people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AtticusJ.Jun 17, 2006
Yikes. Something went horribly wrong here. The CG scenery is pretty, but that can't compensate for the rest: forced voice acting, eye-roll-inducing moralizing, lame jokes, a predictable story arc (gosh, do you suppose the hot-shot Yikes. Something went horribly wrong here. The CG scenery is pretty, but that can't compensate for the rest: forced voice acting, eye-roll-inducing moralizing, lame jokes, a predictable story arc (gosh, do you suppose the hot-shot protagonist will make friends with the small town residents and learn some obvious Life Lessons?) and characters that all have personalities lifted straight from templates in the Big Book of Cartoon Stereotypes. Pixar's The Incredibles, by contrast, proved truly engaging to watch - all that attention to the characters' eccentricities and subliminal tics - and that screenplay was smarter than the spy-thriller/superhero genres it parodied. Where has that smartness gone? If you saw the trailer for Cars and had a negative gut reaction, trust your reaction and steer clear, despite what you know of Pixar. In aiming for the mainstream here, Pixar has sacrificed a large part of what makes its movies magical and unique, and the strange thing is that nobody much seems to have noticed the problem. As for me, I winced a lot and tried as best I could to just enjoy the visuals. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
1
JonS.Jun 29, 2006
American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if this is indicitave of what pixar are going to be churning out post-disney buyout then im thinking there is no hope for them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MikeD.Sep 10, 2006
Wow, what a disappointing bore! There was nothing clever, interesting, new or funny about this movie. (For adults - I'm sure kids will love it, however.)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MarilynBSep 24, 2006
I go to movies like this to review them. The previews make it look so horrible and kiddie-like that adults and teens and t-weens didn't want to see it. Frankly, the previews showed the best parts. The movie was unfunny, un-witty
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BlogDog123May 25, 2011
Cars tries desperately to be funny, but most of the jokes tend to fall flat. Also, I'm not quite sure how talking cars would be able to build the ragtag Radiator Springs anyway.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
GagaForGhibliMay 28, 2012
One Of The Most Uncreative Movies Of All Time!
My 5 Year Old Sister Could Of Though Of Talking Cars..
Very Very Overated! Movies Like This Make Me Mad That Noone In The USA Knows What Studio Ghibli Is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MovieGuysMar 26, 2014
Even when I was at the age range to like this movie, I thought it was tedious, painful to watch, and very unsatisfying. Anything that you want to happen doesn't. It's like the opposite of a feel-good movie.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews