Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 16, 2012
    80
    Considered as a whole it's a wonderful and hilarious phenomenon, most of it is executed to Dadaist perfection.
  2. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Mar 15, 2012
    80
    You expect the big joke in Casa de Mi Padre to involve Will Ferrell mangling the Spanish language. Instead, the movie is funny because of just how commendable the actor's Spanish is.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 15, 2012
    75
    This very funny spoof of telenovelas and classic Mexican westerns is decidedly offbeat and absurdly daffy.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 15, 2012
    75
    Casa de Mi Padre is at its best (a relative term, mind you) when it's at its silliest and most surreal.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 14, 2012
    75
    As with "Black Dynamite," many of Casa De Mi Padre's sharpest, most inspired gags riff on the source material's ingratiatingly amateurish production values and exuberantly incompetent stylistic choices.
  6. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 14, 2012
    75
    If you take the film on its own terms, as a kind of Elvis movie dipped in guacamole, it's quirkily engrossing. Ferrell is a good straight actor for the same reason that he's an inspired comedian: He commits himself to every moment.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 13, 2012
    75
    It's a funny movie, although rarely is the humor of the loud, obnoxious kind we have come to associate with Ferrell. It's not unlike "Blazing Saddles."
  8. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Mar 16, 2012
    70
    Is the result - a slapstick, bizarro melodrama where Ferrell plays the Mexican born and bred scion of a wealthy farmer - meant more for Spanish speakers or stoned and giggly Americans? It's a tough call.
  9. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Mar 19, 2012
    65
    The film feels ultimately hollow, perhaps because mocking soap operas is the comic's equivalent of shooting fish tacos in a barrel. In fact, the concept for Casa de mi Padre seems born out of one too many tequila-infused evenings in the Funny or Die writers' room.
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 15, 2012
    63
    Luckily, Ferrell is at his funniest being serious. Casa de Mi Padre, shot in 24 days for $6 million, is really an SNL-ish sketch stretched to feature length. But Ferrell is an hombre loco. Mi gusta.
  11. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Mar 15, 2012
    63
    The fact that the entire film is in Spanish, and Ferrell plays a Mexican named Armando, are two of the tamest elements in the movie.
  12. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jun 2, 2012
    60
    Grindhouse with giggles, this potboiler parody offers just enough to avoid being a curio – not least Ferrell at his straight-faced best. Arriba!
  13. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 13, 2012
    60
    The oddest thing about the movie - and perhaps the asset that will tip it over into the plus column for you - is that it's a bona fide scuzz-Western.
  14. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 13, 2012
    60
    The humor doesn't only target south of the border. Like any good genre product, Casa also smuggles in rude social criticism.
  15. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 12, 2012
    60
    This Spanish-lingo farce plays very much like an SNL sketch. The only problem is that it packs about as many laughs into its 85 minutes as a good skit does in eight or 10.
  16. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 12, 2012
    60
    A likable enough lark that rarely achieves outright hilarity.
  17. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 15, 2012
    55
    For a movie with a comedic premise this simple – essentially: can you believe we made a movie with a premise this simple? – Casa de Mi Padre can feel pretty exhausting.
  18. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 16, 2012
    50
    The giddy laughs that ensue, though sometimes inspired, are too few and far between.
  19. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 16, 2012
    50
    Really, Casa de mi Padre is a skit blown up to a feature flick, amusing for a while until its welcome wears out.
  20. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Mar 16, 2012
    50
    As a full-length feature, Casa is simply a funny concept that starts to go stale around the 10-minute mark.
  21. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Mar 15, 2012
    50
    If the project was intended to enlarge the comedian's audience, it may be a wash: for every prospective Ferrell fan who can't understand English, there must be an existing one who can't understand subtitles.
  22. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Mar 15, 2012
    50
    It's really strange, and it's really subtitled.
  23. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 15, 2012
    50
    A quick-sketch routine stretched - amusingly, absurdly, thinly - to feature length.
  24. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 15, 2012
    50
    More than anything Casa de mi Padre is an exercise - and to those who find it more clever than I do, a valid one - in tone-funny, as opposed to joke-funny.
  25. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 14, 2012
    50
    Teetering between folly and genius, this Will Ferrell comedy masquerading as a Mexican soap opera-cum-horse opera unfortunately levels off somewhere near the undistinguished center.
  26. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 14, 2012
    50
    The movie is only 84 minutes long, including credit cookies, but that is quite long enough. All the same, it's fitfully amusing and I have the sense that Spanish-speaking audiences will like it more than I did, although whether they'll be laughing with it or at it, I cannot say.
  27. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 15, 2012
    38
    It's a solid short film stretched to Silly Putty thinness.
  28. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Mar 18, 2012
    30
    It's deeply committed to its own weird conceit, diminishing returns and all.
  29. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Mar 15, 2012
    30
    Casa de mi Padre is flawed in that it wouldn't be particularly enticing in any language.
  30. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 15, 2012
    25
    With Casa de Mi Padre, it's often hard to tell the difference between when it's making fun of bad movies and when it's being one.
  31. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 15, 2012
    20
    It's an unfunny Spanish movie that worked best as a two-minute trailer.
  32. Reviewed by: Diego Costa
    Mar 12, 2012
    0
    You know a film isn't going to be considered high art when the guy to your left at the press screening is a reporter from Extra and the guy to your right lets out a loud "That's awesome, man" after each scene.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    3
    As one can expect, the offensively condensed and rudimentary Spanish-lingo, ethnic digs, spaghetti-Western gags, and inflated run-time all runAs one can expect, the offensively condensed and rudimentary Spanish-lingo, ethnic digs, spaghetti-Western gags, and inflated run-time all run stale...very quickly. Being a slightly more original "MacGruber," yet equally moronic, not to mention subtitled, "Casa de mi Padre" is a full-length (84 minute) feature, diced into 5-minute 'SNL' skits, that when split accordingly, will make for great Youtube popularity. Ultimately, Ferrell's inundated, comedic dexterity, even his hailingly hilarious, puerile ignoramus self can bail out this feebly built spoof. This is the kind of flick where the foreground action becomes so untolerable, so uninterestingly involving, that the incidental details become the focus. So much, watching the various cigarettes being rolled up activated more cerebral cognition. As for Ferrell taking the time to "learn" Spanish for the film, at least he can now communicate with the native Mexican youth; that's about it. Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    Will Farrell heads the mostly-Hispanic cast as the black-sheep son of a Mexican rancher, who gets involved with drug dealers and romance. ThisWill Farrell heads the mostly-Hispanic cast as the black-sheep son of a Mexican rancher, who gets involved with drug dealers and romance. This mild comedy spoofs cheesy '70s films and telenovelas, some of which is genuinely amusing. On the other hand, it helps to have an appreciation of the genres being parodied to appreciate all of the gags. Farrell plays sweet and dumb really well, but the jokes are often quietly witty, instead of laugh-out-loud funny. It's a cute curiosity that's entirely in Spanish with subtitles. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for an absurd cameo. Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    Again? We need watching a film of the patetic Will Ferrell? I hate all his films, and Casa de mi Padre is the worst, what is te reason? theAgain? We need watching a film of the patetic Will Ferrell? I hate all his films, and Casa de mi Padre is the worst, what is te reason? the comedy is terrible in this movie, the performance of Ferrell is horrible, with same faces, and the worst is the form to represent the mexican people, this film os the worst of the year. Full Review »